Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENH500 N300 Business-Class, Long Range 5GHz Wireless Bridge/Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Wireless Bridges
Pros: Awesome for linking buildings if wire could not be run. Very fast and stable links. 5Ghz is a plus - I'd never get a 2.4ghz bridge. Good price.
Cons: Nothing.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2015 6:17:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet Wireless AC Easy-Upgrader TEW-820AP

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Too hard to configure or access
Pros: 5ghz band
compact
Cons: Doesn't provide DHCP, must attach to DHCP server
Instructions wrong
Doesn't connect on 192.168.10.100
Setup wizard can't login (login fail all the time)
Other Thoughts: In the instructions it says the address is 192.168.10.100, but it doesn't respond at that address. You need to plug it into a network with DHCP and find the address it gets assigned.

The setup wizard will find it, but cannot login - you will always get "login failed".

When you find it on the network, you will get to a first time config. You can set it to client and if the network is up it will connect to the AP, and if you have another way to access it (a computer direct to the same AP), you can access them.

Out of the box it is in some kind of zombie mode, neither client nor AP - it won't serve DHCP over wifi or ethernet, but will request an IP over ethernet.

It seems to do better after it is out of this zombie mode into client or AP, but getting it there is painful

For config-once, leave for a year, probably not so bad. For use as a portable, it will be a pain, particularly if you leave it in client mode so there is no AP to set it - probably will need a factory reset.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2015 12:10:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WN604-100NAS Wireless-N 150 Access Point

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 WN604-100NAS
Pros: It worked for about 6 months but then it stopped working properly , my internet was significantly slower on this AP than on my modem with a built in router
Cons: my internet was significantly slower on this AP than on my modem with a built in router
Reviewed By:N/A,6/29/2015 2:23:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > D-Link > D-Link DAP-1665 Wireless AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Access Point

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent but many little problems and annoyances
Pros: Price. Dual band. Linux-based firmware. Stable. 802.11 A, B, G, N, AC

Works well. Haven't had any stability issues with it. Throughput is what I would expect. Seems to handle many devices simultaneously well.
Cons: Can only whitelist 20 MAC addresses. No SSL(!). Minor firmware annoyances/bugs/

I'm really surprised that you can only whitelist 20 MAC addresses. Even for a cheap AP that seems very low. D-Link said they were going to release an update that would allow 60 MAC addresses yet a year later and still no such update.

No SSL secured web interface!? Seriously?! This worries me as a security person.

Bad English in the interface. If you enter the wrong password you get a message that says "ERROR: The password is error." Some of the descriptions at the top of the page are awful like "You can enter the device name of the AP into your web browser to access the instead of IP address for configuration." Say what?

This thing cannot keep time to save its life. Even when configured with an NTP server it still gets messed up. And I'm not talking a few minutes, I'm talking a few months. It always seems to jump backwards one or two months! I've tried setting the time manually and it still messes up.

The Check Now button on the firmware page to check for firmware updates doesn't work. It always says it has the latest firmware even if it doesn't. You have to manually check on D-Link's site.

You have to reboot for EVERY change you make. This is ridiculous. It's Linux. Most changes should only require the necessary service to be restarted. It looks like lazy programming to me. Instead of writing the code to restart the necessary services I think someone just wrote a reboot function and called that every time a setting is saved. Come on seriously?
Other Thoughts: I may be nitpicking on some of these things but these really bring the quality of the product down.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2015 6:27:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-750DAP N600 Dual Band Wireless Access Point, Multifunction

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 failed after 1 month
Pros: Several modes (AP, WDS, etc.)
Easy to set up
Cons: Poor 5Ghx range
Dropped signals
Other Thoughts: I have several TrendNET networking devices (routers, range extenders, wireless USB adapters, etc.) and am quite proficient in configuring and using them. I bought a pair of these units with a promo code intending to broaden my wireless coverage across a fairly large multi-story house. After a month I noticed I had lost the 5Ghz signal in part of the house. I am 99% certain the 5GHz radio has failed. One unit still works properly and I copied the configuration file of that working unit to the failed unit, and still no 5GHz signal. I submitted a ticket a week ago on the TrendNET website, with the expectation of a response after 2 business days, and am still waiting to hear something. For the unit that is still working, the 5GHz coverage is poor and overall the boxes smell like cheap plastic. I almost wondered if something was overheating from the way it smelled, but no, it's not at all hot, just cheap.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/27/2015 4:47:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO WAP4410N-LA Wireless-N Access Point

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked great, at first...
Pros: Multiple antennas, high data speeds, good brand, nicely packaged hardware
Cons: Faulty in every way. The web-based UI is terrible and the options you have upon SSHing in aren't very good either. Can only disable WEP via SSH command, and isn't even truly disabled then. Access point will sometimes fail to transmit anything - the SSID is broadcast and clients can connect, but they can't go anywhere. It won't even talk to the router at this point. This is generally fixed with a reboot. After tolerating this for a few weeks without any fix in sight (I tried a lot, a myriad of settings combinations and firmware versions) it started completely fail. The SSID would just stop broadcasting and even if it did clients could not connect. A hard reset would fix this - for about 2 hours. I will never buy one of these again, or anything else from CISCO that isn't enterprise level equipment. The support I received from CISCO was non existent, too.
Other Thoughts: I thought I was doing great by trusting CISCO for one of their first delves into small/home business. I buy all CISCO gear for a large enterprise network that I manage and I never have a problem. In the rare event of a problem, their support is amazing. They just don't back this product at all. It's like they weren't even trying. They just wanted a quick surge of cash at the customer's expense.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/26/2015 7:16:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-815DAP Dual Band Wireless Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Dual-Band Access Point
Pros: I have owned this item for over 1year, and have had only 1 problem with it, that the system will not broadcast dual band SSID, once I updated the firmware to the latest version, and reset to factory spec's then reprogrammed it with my LAN, I have had zero problems with this unit.
Cons: Comes with older firmware installed. Other than that... None.
Other Thoughts: Once you receive the device, update the firmware ASAP, you will not have any problems. I highly recommend this access point.
Reviewed By:DAVID D.,6/26/2015 4:03:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EOC-5610 802.11a/g Outdoor High Power 600mW Bridge/Access Point with Dual Antennas

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Old School
Pros: None
Cons: Windows XP and older support.
Other Thoughts: Don't even bother with this unit if you're running anything newer than XP. There is absolutely no support or guides to lead you to enable this device on a network.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 7:14:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-814DAP AC1200 Dual Band Wireless Access Point

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 TEW-814DAP Weak Firmware
Pros: Works as an access point (that's all I've tested). Setup was fairly easy, but someone in the category 1 or 2 of tech knowledge might have some difficulty. I did not use WPS.
Cons: Signals are rather weak -- has a hard time reaching 2nd floor from first floor, esp. in the evening. User manual says to "Use the wireless adapter’s site survey tool to determine the best antenna orientation for your wireless devices," but the trouble is, there is no site survey included in the firmware setup program. Says it's under the "Wireless" menu item -- it's not.
Other Thoughts: It sure would be useful to have the site survey tool. I can't really do a real setup taking into account the environment without a site survey tool, so my evaluation has to default to only 3 eggs, probably should be 2. Was this an oversight by Trendnet?
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 6:41:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UniFi AP-LR, UAP-LR, UniFi AP-Long Range 11b/g/n 300Mbps MIMO 600ft PoE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for SoHo/SMB
Pros: I work for an outsourced IT Company, and our AP of choice for our smaller single AP clients is always Ubiquiti.

Amazing cost to performance ratio, enterprise reliability, and easy setup (if you have any sort of technical expertise). These are set it and forget it units -- I have about 10 running at a remote site with NO CONTROLLER and they perform flawlessly. Radio separation is very far, so client handoff is not really an issue, but not a single one has dropped configuration or needed a reboot in the past year they have been deployed.

Hands down, if you are looking for a high powered, long range, low price, single-band 802.11N access point, look no further. Meraki, Ruckus, etc. can't even come close to the same price point (though those are really designed for scale-out environments).
Cons: No ethernet cables in the box (One patch cable would have been nice to add), no activity indicators on the network ports (on either the injector or the actual AP itself).

The software setup could probably be designed a bit better, but once you have the controller up and running it is very stable.
Other Thoughts: My installation method is as follows;
1. Download the UniFi controller software from Ubiquiti
2. Beofre installing, disable antivirus and your local software firewall
3. Install UniFi controller and start it up.

Assign your computer's LAN port a static IP address of 192.168.0.1, subnet does not matter, nor does gateway really.

Fire up the discovery software and it should see the unprovisioned access point.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/24/2015 9:14:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.