Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP – UniFi Indoor Wireless N300 Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 4 months
Pros: When it worked, it was great
Cons: After four months of us in a house with 4 wireless devices, it stopped working. Came home from work today and my wife said there was a problem with the Wi-Fi. Checked the device and it appeared to be off. Unplugged and plugged it back in, no lights. Tried it off my PoE switch instead of the power adapter which came with it, still no go. Tried doing the reset button, nothing. Checked the web and the only "solution" was to update the firmware. Kind of hard to do that when it won't power up. If they don't RMA it, I won't do business with Ubiquiti again.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 1:28:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet Wireless AC Easy-Upgrader TEW-820AP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent Device.
Pros: Priced decently for what it does. It’s very small and light. It’s incredibly easy to setup and the setup wizard is very intuitive. Range is very decent for this device and speeds were good as well. It’s an easy way to add an additional WIFI access area for your home. It can double as bridge or client device for a wired only device, such as a smart DVD player or TV.
Cons: Where do I start? I feel like they just grabbed lose parts and threw this thing together so they didn’t go to waste.
First off it has a 100 Mbps Ethernet port. Now if your using this for internet access only and you have a 20-40 Mbps internet connection at your house, you won’t notice anything different and you will be just fine with it. If you are planning on using this to serve something that is going to chew through some data and were hoping that the AC would give you that throughput you wanted? Think again for this device.
The other issue I have with it is its lack of encryption. IT can only transmit on WEP and WPA and connect to using WEP and WPA. If you’re using a router that has WPA2 on it, you’re going to have to lower it to WPA-PSK if you want to use this as a client device.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a decent device that for the money will make a lot of people happy. If you’re looking to get your own Wi-Fi bandwidth and get away from all those other pesky wireless device in your home. If your device can access a 5GHz AC connection then all you need to do is add this with your existing wireless setup and you have your own access without sharing those loaded 2.4Ghz bands with the rest of your family. Or simply use it to allow other 5Ghz devices access to your network. (if you want)

If you have a smart TV in your bedroom but it only has an Ethernet connection and you don’t have a wired connection on that wall. This will do the trick. (Provided that you have a 5Ghz AC router already and one that is using WPA encryption) All you need to do is hook it up to your existing router and then put the CD provided in a computer and follow the steps. When it asks what you want it to do, you will select “client mode”. After that it will ask you to connect to your existing wireless connection and then BAM, you have that smart TV up and running.

I really like this device and think a lot of other people will love it as well. The 100 Mbps port won’t affect a lot of people as most people will be using this for internet only, and most of those people don’t have more than 50 Mbps at their house. Also the fact that this is pre-configured right out of the box and requires no extra effort to get this working (if you don’t want to change the default settings) will attract a lot of people. It has a lot to offer, and yet is lacking in a ton of areas as well. But the areas that it’s lacking in only affect the higher end of users, and this device is made for the masses. The people that want the best will look past this, and the people that just want an easy 5Ghz wireless option will love it.

One more thing. If I failed to mention this before. This will only connect to a 5Ghz AC connection and only devices that can use 5GHz AC wireless will be able to use it.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 7:11:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet Wireless AC Easy-Upgrader TEW-820AP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Interesting upgrade possibilities
Pros: Small
Extremely easy to set up and use
Single band 5ghz ac access point
Inexpensive
3 year warranty
Reasonable throughput
WPS button
Micro usb power port
Pre-encrypted correctly
Cons: 10/100Mbps LAN port (see other thoughts)


Other Thoughts (Continued, as I needed more room).

Initially I was a little unsure of what to think of this Trendnet product, was it just for upgrading an older single or dual band N router or could it be used to add an additional AC channel to a modern AC 1750 or AC 1900 router in congested environments! After all some of the latest AC3200 routers have multiple 5ghz ac streams and cost $300 or more.

When I received this device, I was disappointed by the 10/100 LAN port, thinking that this was a major design flaw, after all, this device has a max theoretical throughput of 433Mbps and the Ethernet port has a max throughput of 100Mbps! Then I got to think about how it was designed to be used and how most ISP's provide an internet connection that is below 100Mbps and realized that unless you had an internet speed that was faster than 100Mbps or wanted to transfer huge files across your network the Ethernet port would not be a limitation.
Other Thoughts: Installation was easy, I took the TEW-820AP out of the box and used the Ethernet cable to connect it to a free port on my router and then powered it up. I was able to login to the device using the default information provided to change its settings, however this was not required as everything was set up adequately. I was able to connect multiple clients to the new access point and get network and internet access.

WPS worked perfectly and to be honest I was happy with the default performance, even though it will not set any records.

My current router is a decent Asus AC66U (AC1750) that has up to 1300mbps on the 5ghz band and up to 450mbps on the 2.4ghz band, however this is maximum throughput and depends on many factors, the most important one is the client used to connect to the router.

The client I used for testing is a USB 2.0 client the Asus AC53 (AC 1200) that has up to 867mbps on the 5ghz band and 300mbps on the 2.4ghz band, however as usb 2.0 is limited to 480mbps this is the maximum that I can expect using 5ghz AC with this client.

I set up one of my laptops in my office that is 45ft from the router and TEW 820AP with 4 walls in between and then connected to both (one at a time) using my AC53 client and ran Totusofts Lan Speed software to pass files from my laptop to another pc on my network using first the 820AP and then the native AC channel on the router. All settings in the router were left on auto/default.

The TEW 820AP returned speeds of 70mbps and 88mbps (write and read) and the Asus AC66U returned speeds of 81.52 and 108.56mbps (write and read). This was not surprising and did not detract from my overall impression of the TEW 820AP. The router proved to be faster than the TEW-820AP at all distances, due to the fact that it has 3 high gain antennas and beamforming and the TEW-820AP has a single antenna and no beamforming.

Overall, I am impressed with this little access point. I have this set up in my home, connected to a switch that is 30ft from my router providing a dedicated internet connection to a single tablet and two android cellphones. To date I have had no issues streaming HD movies from the internet or my media PC across the new TEW-820AP access point.

New Dual band AC routers can be purchased for as little as $60 currently, so perhaps this product may be a hard sell, however for anyone looking for an easy upgrade to AC without disrupting their existing network, it is a great way to go.

I like this product; it works well enough, is extremely simple to install and set up without the need to take apart an existing network and comes with a 3 year warranty.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 11:45:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Linksys > Linksys LAPAC1750 IEEE 802.11ac 1.71 Gbps Wireless Access Point - ISM Band - UNII Band - 1 x Network (RJ-45)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Access Point
Pros: I was having so many problems with FIOS router and intermittent connection so I installed one in my house turned all the wireless ports off on router and now I have 100% connection all the time and from far away. Even my Sonos is happier
Cons: its big and blue light is bright a night
Other Thoughts: Every Fios owner should have one to replace Quantum poor performance
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2015 5:32:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet Wireless AC Easy-Upgrader TEW-820AP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice, tiny sized, 5GHz AP/client
Pros: Relatively inexpensive way to get 5GHz AC added to an existing wireless network which is the product’s intent.

This is a Realtek RTL8881AN based wireless access point that provides a single 5GHz stream via a single internal antenna and supports A, AN and AC protocols. There is a single 10/100 LAN port. There is a power LED/WPS button. It is quite small and low power and easy to carry around. I was able to power it off my laptop’s usb port in a hotel without having to use the provided adapter (which takes up two slots on a power strip). The device can also function as a wireless bridge/client to connect a wired device like a gaming console to an existing wireless network.

The advantages of the 5 GHz band is that it is less crowded and the AC protocol allows up to 433 Mbps speed per stream. It is more power-efficient for your portable device (newer phones/tablets) to use this protocol per unit of data. If you are using the older AN mode you can get up to 150 Mbps per stream. These data rates include protocol overhead. In real life, the real data throughput of wireless after accounting for the various inefficiencies is usually about a third of the stated maximum sync speed (unlike wired ethernet where you get more than 90 percent of the PHY layer rating). This is why the 100 Mbps LAN port is not a real liability here, though on the surface it would seem to make no sense to have a 100 Mbps LAN port on a wireless device that can communicate at up to 433 Mbps. The disadvantages of 5 GHz are usually a shorter range and less penetration through obstacles.

For comparison, residential cable internet in most areas can deliver about 50 Mbps. Though in some select areas this is increasing toward the 200-300 range.
Cons: Based on the current price, for about 15 bucks more you can get a full dual band router - two stream AC866 (433+433 on 5GHz) and two stream N300 (150 + 150 on 2.4 GHz). The decision on what to buy depends on your intended use and price.
Other Thoughts: I had no trouble setting it up. Range is good for a room or two and a drywall wall or two. Worked well in a hotel suite as a travel router for me so I could get 5 GHz when the hotel wireless was 2.4 GHz. I found the tiny size to be an advantage in that situation. Worked well as a cost-effective x-box wireless bridge also - at about 25 feet from my access point. To get to the setup wizard, I just connected it to my home network and typed “tew-820ap” into a browser window on a wired-in computer. Default’s are printed on the device front and back stickers. SetupWizard makes you pick a new router access password which is nice, then asks whether you want to run as an access point or client.. After you run SetupWizard once and pick access point, typing “tew-820ap” will get you the standard web dashboard for the device. MAC filters, WPS, and multiple SSID’s are supported.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2015 6:23:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet Wireless AC Easy-Upgrader TEW-820AP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice solution Easy upgrade
Pros: Trendnet

A few days ago I received this for testing and review. The idea is great just plug it in and upgrade to the latest greatest wifi protocol. I like the fact that it's designed in America but hate that we have it made in China. Also nice is how often do you see the USA contact number right on the outside of the box? Great idea. Also Trendnet offers 24/7 tech support so if you run into trouble help is just a phone call away. Setup is super easy plug in the the cables, you will see a red light and then it turns to green. Your now set to use it.
Testing download speeds showed a nice improvement over N. Usually about double that of N protocol. Your speed will vary.
Cons: Cons


There are several things I think can be done better. The case should have some better venting. Just a few vents on each side would probably help the longevity quite a bit. Heat it electronics worst enemy. Then there is the 100 Mbps Ethernet port, why limit the whole unit with the slow old port? Why not install a gigabyte Ethernet port?


Other thoughts

This is a inexpensive option to add high speed AC wireless to your system. It's not the fastest but it just works. It is well worth the price to add 5ghz to existing router. Because of the Ethernet port speed your not going to see full speed but truthfully how many have speeds over 100 meg for Internet anyway.
Other Thoughts: Other thoughts

This is a inexpensive option to add high speed AC wireless to your system. It's not the fastest but it just works. It is well worth the price to add 5ghz to existing router. Because of the Ethernet port speed your not going to see full speed but truthfully how many have speeds over 100 meg for Internet anyway.
Reviewed By:GaryBe,7/23/2015 11:15:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Cisco Systems, Inc. > 1700 Series AP 802.11ac CAP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quality and dependable AP
Pros: Just bought my second AP to extend coverage throughout the house. The 1700/2700/3700 series Cisco AP's are what I deploy at businesses. Its a very good line of AP's.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: You do not need a controller for these AP's. They are in lightweight mode by default, but you issue a single, short command to make them standalone.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2015 2:11:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet Wireless AC Easy-Upgrader TEW-820AP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 TRENDnet Wireless AC Easy-Upgrader TEW-820AP
Pros: Before I begin my review on this product, let me set the record straight on something. NewEgg DOES NOT PAY their Eggxpert Reviewers ANY MONEY for a review (GOOD OR BAD - ON ANY PRODUCT)!!! When they 1st asked me to become a reviewer, they told me that I could post ANY TYPE of review that I wanted to, either GOOD OR BAD! The only thing that they asked me to do was to be honest in my review, which I try to be. Now that this is finished, let's start...

I originally had somewhat "HIGH" Hopes for this product after reading the Product Descriptions on the box, but then WHEN I looked at the Specifications for this Product I asked myself, "HOW can they deliver on such outlandish claims? There is just NO WAY this thing can work AS PROMISED... Just NO WAY"!!!

After trying to use this Product for a FULL DAY, I have to admit that I see NO PRO's for it whatsoever.
Cons: Right off the bat this thing is a PAIN IN THE YOU KNOW WHERE to set up. First the Installation Program wouldn't work right it just kept coming up with an ERROR MESSAGES, again and again. Then the Instructions were printed wrong (or the Address on the ROM Chip) is wrong. In all I had a HARD TIME setting this thing up to run correctly and when I finally did get it working it just wasn't worth the time I originally invested in it to keep on using it.

It's a shame as this might have filled a gap in someone's usefulness for this type of product. I just can't figure out IF this was a "DESIGN SCREW-UP" from the GET GO or just some "BEAN COUNTERS" failure in that he decided to cut TOO MANY Pennies in the final Product... Either way, TOO BAD...

All in all, I found the following CONS and I consider it to be:

1. Hard to Setup, Configure OR EVEN Address - The instructions says that its address is 192.168.10.100, but it doesn't work at that address. That makes sense...

2. It ONLY has a 100mb Ethernet Port - REALLY??? NO Gigabyte Port???

3. It ONLY supports 5Ghz. channels.

4. It doesn't work with the 2.4Ghz. Band. Go figure...

5. It fails to forward NetBIOS in either client mode or WDS (Bridge) mode. Again, go figure...

6. It doesn't have ANY External Antennas. Really???

7. The AC Power Connector is only about 3 feet long. I guess they were TOO cheap for a longer cable?

8. Good luck trying to read ANY of the data on the bottom. You need a magnifying glass to read the printing on bottom of unit it's so small. We're not ALL 15 year olds with 20/20 vision you know. Come on now... Then again, smaller print is cheaper to produce huh?

This is definitely one of the few products that I have tested (and I've done OVER 42 Product Reviews so far) that I would categorize as "NOT YET READY FOR PRIME TIME". It gives some GOOD claims on the box, but there is "NO WAY" it can perform on its promises with the way it is built. Considering the lack of a Gigabyte Port plus all the Other Cons I listed above, it's just "Smoke And Mirrors" and that's all. I would have given this product ZERO EGGS if I could, but NewEgg has a 1 Egg Minimum Rating. I do wish they would change this policy.

Maybe, just maybe, if the Design Department would start anew and remedy ALL of the Cons I listed above, then possibly (JUST POSSIBLY) they might have a product that is worth buying. Until then, in my opinion, THIS is just junk! Nothing more! If I were you all I'd save my money and NOT buy this junk.
Other Thoughts: FINAL THOUGHTS:

Would I recommend this product for others to purchase? Are you serious? NOT in my lifetime!

Would I purchase this unit for myself? No way! I might be dumb, but I'm not stupid!!!

I am deeply disappointed that TRENDnet put out such a BAD Product. I have purchased their products in the past and have always found them to be GOOD Products that were worth the money I paid for them. That is NOT the case this time. Did you really expect to "Pull The Wool Over Our Eyes" with this "So Called" product?

I really expected better from you TRENDnet...
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you ran into issues with the TEW-820AP. The unit is a pre-configured access point that will receive a DHCP address from your existing network. If the unit has been physically connected to your network it will have been assigned an IP address from your existing DHCP server. If you cannot access it via http://tew-820ap you would need to check your DHCP client list for the IP address assigned to it. The http://192.168.10.100 address is the default address it will be assigned when no DHCP server is found. For example, if you connect your computer directly to the unit. We do apologize for the experience you had and your feedback is valuable to us and helps us recognize areas for improvement.


Thank you,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2015 5:19:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP – UniFi Indoor Wireless N300 Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Wifi AP
Pros: Moderately easy to setup for tech savvy people. I have had this product for over a year and haven't had any issue with it. I would for sure recommend this product.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2015 4:47:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ECB350 N300 High Power (29 dBm) Wireless Gigabit Access Point/CB/WDS/Repeater with Network Management Software

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Lasted Two Years
Pros: While it worked reception was very good.
Cons: After two years it stopped connecting at 300Mbps - even at 20' distance and clear LOS. Connection would bounce between 54-150Mbps, mostly at the lower end.
Other Thoughts: Wish it would have last longer.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/20/2015 11:28:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.