Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless AP > D-Link > D-Link AC1750 Plenum Rated Dual-Band PoE Access Point with two Gigabit Ports and AP Manager Controller

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Non-Functional Advanced Features
Pros: The AC1750 has a solid chassis, is plenum rated, allows for trunking, and supports many SSIDs.
Cons: -VLAN interface very buggy and somewhat non-functional
-Guest network/ isolation features non-functional
-Firmware has only been updated once in a year
-Very poor user manual, minimal descriptions
Other Thoughts: I worked with D-link customer support for a couple hours, then continued troubleshooting myself for many more. The vlan interface failed to work properly even with 5 different configurations and 2 different switches. I believe the firmware isn't nearly ready for prime-time.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/16/2014 11:36:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > Netgear WN2000RPT Universal WiFi Range Extender Extend wireless network coverage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Total dud! Don't buy.
Pros: - Simple to set up
- Low price
Cons: - Doesn't maintain connectivity
- Needs frequent reset. At least once a day
- Locks up devices connected to it
Other Thoughts: I purchased this device to improve overall WiFi signal coverage in my home as the main WiFi router sits in one corner on the upper floor of the house. I had read the mixed reviews but since this was offered at a low price I thought of giving it a try.

The initial set up was a breeze and I set it up with the same SSID as my router so that devices could move seamlessly without having to be reconfigured. However, that's where the fun ended.

My family members started complaining that internet wasn't working and after some initial troubleshooting I found that the culprit was this extender. The moment I switched it off, the devices - laptops, iphones, etc. got working back to normal.

This set me on a discovery mission to zoom into the problem and get it resolved as I was bent on making this work!

After a lot of adjustments both on the extender side and the router side, I continued facing the problem. Reading up on the forums on the Netgear support site, I realized that there were a ton of people who had expressed exactly the same symptoms like what I had faced and also gone through very similar troubleshooting steps and had finally given up as there's an inherent flaw in this item.

Just go to the support forum on the Netgear site and search for WN2000RPT connectivity issues. There's a ton of posts by users on this topic.

BOTTOMLINE: Buy this only if it is FREE, not otherwise! It will end up in the junk anyway.

P.S.: Newegg customer service rocks. Refund was smooth. Will always be a loyal customer...
Manufacturer Response:Hey MS,

We are sorry to hear that the WN2000RPT caused you frustrations and that you have returned it. If you ever have any trouble with our products the first thing we recommend is contacting our support team at support.netgear.com. If the trouble continues then you can email us for advanced assistance at newegg@netgear.com.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:MS,9/15/2014 2:31:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA701ND Wireless N150 Access Point, 150Mbps, Multifunction, Multiple SSID

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome setup easy
Pros: Easy setup, Works fine with no issues
Cons: Didn't find one yet
Reviewed By:N/A,9/14/2014 9:20:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP Network - Wireless AP/Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Enterprise Quality and Support at Consumer Prices
Pros: I set it up quickly using only the quick start guide. It works perfectly, even auto-updated the firmware for me.

I emailed support late on a Saturday night with a question and had a human being's real answer (not just an auto-reply or "by the book" response) within several minutes.
Cons: You can only administer the device from one computer. For some this would not be a con as it makes the device more secure.

I did have a small issue getting the console to open on my Win 2012 server at first as the web interface uses java, but I quickly googled and found an answer.
Other Thoughts: This is a WAP, not a router. You will still need a router for NAT, etc.

Be aware it doesn't come with any Ethernet cables. You will need two to connect it to the POE injector and then to connect from that device to your LAN.
Reviewed By:Roberta,9/14/2014 8:04:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENH200 Wireless Client Bridge/Access Point Long Range 802.11 b/g/n up to 150 Mbps / 500mW High Power for Long Range

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Engenius makes great stuff. I'm using this to bridge an internet connection between two buildings.. about 100ft apart. Works great without any issue.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/13/2014 7:31:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ECB9500 Wireless Access Point / Bridge / Repeater / Router with Gigabit & 802.3af PoE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rock Solid
Pros: This thing is great as an AP, has many enterprise/managed features and Gigabit for a good price. I've had it for at least 5 years now. When properly placed covers my whole 3400 sq. ft. (2 story + basement) house.
Cons: Can't connect both PoE and outlet power and expect it to switch to whatever one is available without a manual unplug. Unable to set a management VLAN ID, management traffic is just untagged. Had one of the antennas get loose a couple years ago, but it still works.
Other Thoughts: I had an issue with the channel auto-detect feature and had to turn it off, I suspect this was due to a nearby AP that our devices were picking up but the AP couldn't see. It worked fine for years prior to that. Turning on VLANs disabled SNMP, but this seems to have been fixed in a firmware update years ago that I haven't installed yet.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/12/2014 9:57:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > Netgear WN2000RPT Universal WiFi Range Extender Extend wireless network coverage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like a charm!
Pros: Fast, Easy setup, nice interface. Plays well with my WNR2000 router.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: May buy another at $15 just for a backup. Hard to beat at just $15!
Reviewed By:jsdrums,9/12/2014 2:40:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Dell SonicWALL > SonicWALL 01-SSC-9289 SonicPoint-N Dual-Radio Wireless AP with PoE Injector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Easy to deploy and no issues in our enviroment.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/12/2014 2:06:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > D-Link > D-Link DAP-2690 AirePremier N Simultaneous Dual Band Gigabit PoE Access Point with AP Manager Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Access Point
Pros: This has been the best access point I have ever bought. I really have nothing bad to say about it. You can configure it to have the same SSID for both 5ghz and 2.4ghz.
Cons: The problem with running the same SSID for both radio's is the devices that attach droids, tablets, apple devices, all will prefer the 2.4ghz over the 5ghz every single time.
To prevent this I made the 2.4ghz radio a different SSID so that you can specify if it is device capable the frequency you want to run at.
Other Thoughts: Great Product.
Reviewed By:reminyo,9/12/2014 8:49:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-638APB N300 Wireless Access Point

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Meh
Pros: Good price. Decent web interface.
Cons: Very very slow. Even at close range with full signal.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Jared,

We are sorry to hear that you are having an issue with the TEW-638APB. Please update the access point with the latest firmware update found on our website. After the firmware update you will need to perform a factory reset finalize the process. See if you receive a better signal by trying different channels. If you have disabled the SSID broadcast on the unit, turn it back on. For 802.11n performance please make sure you are using WPA2 AES encryption levels. Placement may also help. Try to mount it as high as possible and avoid enclosing the unit in any type of shelving. If you continue to have issues please email Adrian@trendnet.com and will have someone assist you as soon as possible. Please include your contact information and a link to this review.


Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:Jared,9/11/2014 5:45:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau