Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > Netgear Broadband ADSL2+ Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with Century Link if you manually setup
Pros: Manual settings required. Easy to do. Connect computer with Ethernet cable and log in to modem for setup. NetGear technical service assisted and was knowledgeable.

Manual settings for Century Link:
Basic Settings
Does internet connection require a login? No
Router MAC Address: Use Computer MAC address

ADSL Settings:
VPI = 8
VCI = 35

That;s it.
Cons: Do not use auto setup for Century Link
Other Thoughts: Works fine.
Reviewed By:John B.,5/26/2016 6:49:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP – UniFi Indoor Wireless N300 Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Decent product but technical support is abysmal
Pros: Decent consistency
Cons: If you have any problems, like I did, tech support is not well trained and clear communication was impossible.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/25/2016 4:55:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Wasp > Ubiquiti UniFi PRO - wireless access point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid AP and controller software.
Pros: -Easy to deploy and mount.
-PoE injector included if a PoE+ switch is not available.
-Free controller software.
-Works great for laptops, tablets, smartphones, handheld computers, and forklift mounted computers.
-Seamless mesh while moving around our facilities.
-Can't beat the price for the level of performance and features we're getting.
Cons: -Must dedicate a single PC at each site to manage this mesh (not really a con since the software is provided for free).
Other Thoughts: We have deployed these at various locations for our company. This is a warehouse and office environment and these have been perfect for our needs. We purchased the appropriate PoE+ switches to power these devices for our main site. Remote sites we just used the power injectors and daisy chained two devices per run. We provisioned each AP in minutes and proceeded to mount these without issue. We were up and running minutes after devices were powered up. Longest part was running cable and mounting brackets to our warehouse ceiling beams. Otherwise no issues so far for the last year they've been up. I do keep these maintained with frequent firmware updates, which is a breeze to apply from the Unifi controller software.

To a previous reviewer complaining about incompatibility with their PoE switch, they didn't read the specifications for powering these devices properly. That's on them for not doing their research. The information is readily available. Sorry about the DoA, but that's just luck of the draw.
Reviewed By:Richard H.,5/23/2016 6:55:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-750DAP N600 Dual Band Wireless Access Point, Multifunction

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Extender
Pros: It stays connected, and boosted my signal in my house
Cons: None found so far
Other Thoughts: I had an old Linksys extender, and it kept disconnecting and I would have to reset it all the time. I bought this as a replacement and have had no problems thus far. Would recommend this to anyone looking for an inexpensive way to boost your wifi signal throughout your house.
Reviewed By:Mathew B.,5/22/2016 11:22:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > UAP-AC-LITE - Ubiquiti UniFi 802.11ac LITE Indoor 2.4/5GHz AP US/CA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than most consumer grade gear
Pros: My favorite part: Manage all devices from one software package.

I bought two for my older house that has poor materials for radio penetration. Both devices offer combined full coverage of the house much better than my old Netgear Nighthawk R7000 x2 setups, though the 5Ghz AC is 'slower' on the UAP-AC-LITE, I was never able to achieve AC1900 on any AC1900 devices I had anyway... usually never even close. The UAP-AC-LITE look much better (professional) than the R7000 in my opinion also.

The software is great. Manage all Ubiquiti devices you own from one software package. Setup is a breeze if you've ever configured a wireless router/AP before. Once I learned where to do the configuration at in the software, all the settings and terminology is the same as anywhere else. If you get stuck, use Google.

Wifi signal is rock solid and been going strong for two weeks now. No reboots required, no fussing with settings. The handoff between my two APs is seamless and never causes streaming music/video to stutter or drop.
Cons: The software package does require JAVA to be installed (this is how they get cross-platform compatibility). There really isn't a huge problem with this, aside from all the security issues that plague JAVA. The problem is what happens in the future when updates stop and new versions of JAVA change how things work. You can no longer access or configure your APs. I've seen this happens countless times -- old HP jetdirect cards come to mind.

Hopefully by the time support for these units is gone, it's time to replace them anyway.
Other Thoughts: Remember, these are only access points and not routers. They also require Power over Ethernet. The retail boxes DO come with a PoE 'injecter' adapter in case you don't have a switch with PoE ports. The boxes also come with various mounting screws for wall and ceiling attachment.

Do buy these if you are tired of consumer grade wireless and just want something that isn't flashy and just works.

Do not buy if you are not comfortable or capable of setting up WiFi yourself, there are no flashy hand holding wizards or webpages to walk you through the setup.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/21/2016 8:10:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business WAP4410N Wireless Access Point 802.11b/g/n up to 300Mbps/ PoE/Advanced Security

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not good for business
Pros: none
Cons: Dies after 1.5 years
needs to be reset quite often
cant handle more then 10 clients each
Other Thoughts: I bought 10 of these thinking they would work out. After a year of complaints I decided to throw these in the trash where they belong.
Reviewed By:Mitul P.,5/20/2016 2:15:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EAP1200H 2x2 802.11ac Ceiling Mount Dual Band AC1200 High-powered Long-range Wireless Indoor Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 High Quality
Pros: I installed one of these in a small law office with approximately 8 users, all of who immediately connected their cell phones as well as a number of laptops. Everyone got a strong signal and was able to connect immediately. This is my first experience in many years with even entry level enterprise grade WiFi equipment and I could not be happier with it. The unit was installed on the dropped ceiling in the center of a 1,500 sq. foot office and connected to power via a TP-Link TL-PoE150S power over ethernet injector through a Cat6e ethernet cable.
Cons: The instructions are limited and not for beginners. All of the controls in the web browser interface were fairly clear, but you have to know what they mean ahead of time as they do not give you any paperwork or even a URL for instructions that explain them. Still, nothing in the browser-based control panel is proprietary so it would be quite easy to figure out with the help of the web.
Other Thoughts: Comes with a power supply but not a PoE injector. So if you plan to use it at a great distance from an electrical outlet, you may also want a PoE injector.

Also comes with a variety of mounting clips and screws for typical installation locations.
Reviewed By:Andrew B.,5/19/2016 4:09:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks UAP-AC-LR-US 802.11ac Long Range Access Point

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked Great for about a week....
Pros: Fast, simple to setup, Great POE adapter option
Cons: It worked great for about a week and then the POE Power injector stopped lighting up and is not sending power to the Access Point. I pushed the reset button on the POE Power injector but still not light or power. This is pretty frustrating because I just received this product and am already having problems with it. Sending back for RMA.
Other Thoughts: Waiting for the RMA to come back from Newegg to see if the Replacement is going to stay working for longer than a week.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/18/2016 9:55:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business WAP371-A-K9 Wireless-AC/N Dual Radio Access Point with Single Point Setup

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible Signal Strength
Pros: Great feature set, AC Future-proofing
Cons: Signal Strength.
Other Thoughts: This product is highly recommended if you are going to be in the same room (as another reviewer mentioned)... If there is anything in-between (i.e: DOORS, small walls... ) signal drops... 20 feet away and the signal drops to 5.5 Mbps... I had to go out and purchase an LAP, 1242, with 2.4 and 5.0 signals and I'm 2 concrete walls away, 30 feet ... and that thing reaches with 72Mbps authentication. I am very disappointed with this product, (past return dates =/)... I have to reset the clients constantly to maintain connections as well, my printer having so much issues with this AP, tried everything / static IPs, static MAC etc, could not maintain a connection with this... so much degradation of service as you move away.

Advice: Get some of the Cisco LAPs, maybe even get an Autonomous IOS which would allow you to configure them without a WLC.

Hope this helps.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/16/2016 3:02:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business WAP371-A-K9 Wireless-AC/N Dual Radio Access Point with Single Point Setup

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Cisco access point
Pros: works well, easy to set up. I have multiples in a warehouse setting using the single point setup
Cons: Average range in metal walled warehouse situation with inventory racks to the ceiling, going to add my third for better coverage
Other Thoughts: would recommend Cisco small business product line
Reviewed By:Robert G.,5/16/2016 10:29:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.