Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENS500 N300 Long-Range 5GHz Outdoor Wireless Bridge/Access Point

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good for what it does
Pros: I'm using 2 of these to connect networks between houses on private property. Both antennas are indoors, one shooting thru a single exterior wall with brick, the other shooting thru the better part of a roof (bonus room over garage). These have been installed for a year and a half now without any issues in bridge mode. Client uses it for streaming movies between houses and accessing a NAS for a home business. Original plan was to mount outside but they get adequate signal being indoors and 400ft apart so we've never moved them!
POE, though using non-standard POE adapters so you cannot buy a generic replacement if one were to go out.
Fairly simple setup once you figure out what "mode" you need to use for your application. This could be described better in documentation. Searching online yielded a few examples as to what each mode was really intended.
Cons: The Ethernet ports are only 100Mbs.
Non-standard POE, have to use EnGenius brand should one go out.
As other's have stated, only Wireless-N.
Status indicators on the back.
Other Thoughts: Just as a mounting tip..I used an adjustable plastic flag pole mount bought at a local hardware store. Then I zip tied the antenna to the section the pole would insert into. This zip ties allowed me to turn/twist the antenna left/right and the flag pole mount also lets you adjust the angle up/down. Since I mounted both of mine indoors and no one can touch them this works. Not sure I would attempt the same thing if mounted externally but I'm sure it would work fine as well (as long as you used thick enough zip ties). Cheap plastic tends to weather horribly and become brittle. It's actually contoured on the back a little for pole mounting and I see folks mounting these with huge satellite mounting brackets and satellite poles. You don't need to support 40lbs so go with a flag pole mount instead (use a PVC pipe if you need to extend). If worried about lightening get an adjustable metal flag pole mount so you have something to ground (with optional ground wire of course).
Reviewed By:Chris C.,8/26/2016 8:48:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR N300 802.11n WiFi Range Extender (WN2000RPT)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Heck ya..this works great!
Pros: quick n easy...boost connectivity significantly.
Cons: none so far...
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/25/2016 1:00:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > UbiQuiTi NanoStation LOCOM9 N150 900 MHz Indoor/Outdoor AirMAX CPE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not your average PtP gear :-)
Pros: Compact, status lights on back, comes with mast zip ties. The range, throughput and latency is WOW. I was seriously not expecting to get signal through a qt mile of dense woods and 2 houses with guessimate aim using the signal indicators.

All connectors are covered by a plate. Comes with PoE injector [24v]
The GUI has a basic and advanced view option and a spectrum analyzer built in.
Bad Flash recovery is easy provided you are technical and know what tftp is.
MUST UPDATE THE FIRMWARE BEFORE DOING ANYTHING ELSE.
Cons: Would be nice to have it be standard 48v PoE, but a $25 adapter fixes that issue.
The firmware update on the website is a pain to find, but once you get it, you'll be fine. There is a "check on the web" firmware update feature in the newer releases.
Other Thoughts: for the price, its a no brainer. Get ethernet drops where ever you need them.
Reviewed By:WILLIAM K.,8/24/2016 11:14:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Network UAP-AC-PRO 802.11ac PRO Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A solid performer in home environment
Pros: - Very stable uptime
- Consistence of range and signal. Greater coverage area compares to a typical consumer hybrid router
- Easy setup
- Free controller software
- Real-time online chat built into the controller
- Standard PoE compliance
- Highest link speed of 868Mbps (measured feets from WAP)
Cons: - Random drop off and reconnect with no apparent reason
Other Thoughts: I purchase this AC-Pro to replace my Asus RT-AC68 wifi portion of the router. Asus wifi has given me grief in every few months, in which it has to be rebooted to restore the wireless functionality. I have quite many wireless devices (upward of 20) that can make request to WAP at any moment. Although I have never made effort to test the access point inrush ability, by observation the Asus wifi is choked up due to the huge volume of request made by all devices and decided going to "freeze" mode. This is annoyance. Also the range could not cover the entire house (3k-sqf/2 floors). That leaves several dead spots at the fringe of coverage.

The UAP-AC-Pro is in service for over a month and so far it held up well. The dead spots existed before with Asus are no longer the problem. The signal in these areas are hovering around -70dbm which still giving the device 144Mbps (5Ghz) and approx. 40Mbps link speed. Both radio bands' signal is (almost) evenly distributed, provided the power level must be experimented to get the desire effect. My setup was medium for 2Ghz and auto for 5Ghz. With this setting the AC device has fair chance of utilize the 5Ghz band more often when in range. Only one (may be small???) problem I often see is the WAP random drop-off and reconnect. It may sound bad but the drop-off and reconnect happened within < second, so I never see much of an impact in performance. I contact online support but get no satisfactorial answer for this problem. If anyone has a good explanation for this, I am all ear. Over all, it is a good investment for home environment if you have high volume of wifi traffic or just want a stable wifi service. My Asus router is doing the routing function and hand off the wifi function to Unifi. The whole setup workout quite well.
Reviewed By:Tam N.,8/24/2016 6:15:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ECB350 N300 High Power (29 dBm) Wireless Gigabit Access Point/CB/WDS/Repeater with Network Management Software

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent range
Pros: Having had good luck with the EnGenius ens202 and ens200, I tried the ecb350 and was not disappointed. This transmits at 29 dBm, compared to 26 for the other models, and it did seem to have a little more range than the already impressive other units. The ens202 and ens200 are mounted outdoors on rooftops, and the ecb350 matched their range even though sitting indoors on a table. Any of these three units will transmit hundreds of feet through open air, and, from reading other reviews, seem to penetrate multiple walls as well.

Though I didn't use it, it's nice to have the option of using PoE to supply power – handy if you want to stick it up in an attic.
Cons: Yeah, the interface should remind you to "apply" the changes you've made – it's easy to overlook or forget. They probably get a lot of tech-support calls over this.
Other Thoughts: Having already invested considerable time learning to configure the other EnGenius units, I was happy to find the same interface used on the ecb350. If this is your first EnGenius product, and if you're not an IT professional, be prepared for some head scratching. It's all logically laid out, but, as others have noted, there's no handholding. I'm still not sure of the difference between some of the six different operational modes, but repeater mode is working as expected.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/22/2016 10:21:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EnStation2 N300 Long-Range Wireless 2.4GHz Outdoor Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Complicated setup and unreliable
Pros: It's cheap
Cons: -overly complicated setup process
-1st unit I got filled up with water the first time it rained
-need daily attention to keep the connection on
Other Thoughts: It seems like every day I'm having to do something to keep them working. Sometimes it's a simple reboot, other times I have to reset to factory defaults and go through the whole setup process again.

I have had other EnGenius products before and been very happy with them. This one is a huge mistake.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/22/2016 7:55:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-LR-3, UniFi AP Long Range 3 Pack, UniFi AP-LR 3-Pack PoE 300 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable and elegant
Pros: Super easy setup with downloaded software. Excellent software management suite.
Cons: First time I installed was a bit confused, but once I downloaded the software and got started it was a snap. Sometimes it's hard to adopt existing units if network addressing differs.
Other Thoughts: I've come to rely on these for customer installs. Super easy to install the hardware, relatively innocuous looking. Happy for the provided power injectors.
Reviewed By:David V.,8/22/2016 7:49:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ECB300 N300 High Transmit RF (up to 29 dBm) Wireless Access Point/CB/WDS w/ AP Management Software

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst piece of junk I've had
Pros: Will work sort of if you can get it to work in the first place.
Cons: This router can barely project a signal through paper thin walls on a good day. If you want a decent signal, remain within a five foot radius of this machine. If you can decide what mode you like this router to be in, it will kick you out and shut down after you select a mode. Then in order to get back in, you must factory reset it. If you manage to stay logged in for more than five minutes, you can then customize the routers settings. If you get it into the mode with the right aettigs there's about a 50-50 chance the computer, or other devices will even recognize it as a valid source of internet and its about a 90% chance that it will just tell you its a big as connection that's very limited. Overall, if its internet you're after, you came to the wrong spot.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2016 12:04:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EAP300 N300 Business Class Indoor High-power Long-range 800mW Wireless Access Point/WDS Bridge/WDS AP with Smoke Detector Housing & 802.3af PoE Support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Versatile and affordable with one flaw
Pros: Meets the description
Cons: Interface doesn't apply settings until you select the log of pending changes and apply them (after already "applying them"). This step is sensible for IT but is not described properly in documentation, and gave me a bit of a headache before realizing what was happening.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/19/2016 6:29:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > UbiQuiTi NanoStation LOCOM2 N150 2.4 GHz Indoor/Outdoor AirMAX CPE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Range
Pros: Haven't had it very long but its range is fantastic. It's not crazy fast compared to what most people want in a WAP but being able to listen to music over WiFi through a barn and woods for such a low price in an outdoor access point makes it worth every penny.
Cons: Not the fastest WAP you'll ever own
Other Thoughts: For someone just looking in passing note that its only a 5+km range and that the NSM2 model is 13+km and that it is a 120 degree directional WAP with just a "small" bubble of coverage behind the front on the access point so if you want to blanket all the land around you in wireless you'll have to buy multiple to cover all your angles.
Reviewed By:Robert H.,8/18/2016 9:15:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.