Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST500LM021 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop Thin Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Decent Drive
Pros: Decent Hdd, No errors detected from the start. Runs, works great and no issues installing in a laptop with Windows 10 running.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Thinner than most 2.5" drives however if your laptop uses any type of mounting bracket then it should work just fine. If it relies on fitting into the slot with any bracket, may want to be a little cautious, although you could always put a small folded piece of paper or two to help support if it wiggled any.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 8:36:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K100 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model) Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good drive
Pros: Using as cache in unraid. Fast enough to saturate gigabit connection. Using 2 in a mirrored pair. With no direct airflow, temps are 22-28c.
Cons: none yet
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 6:06:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still A Great Hard Drive
Pros: Fast boot-up and program loading.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is a follow up from my review in May. I use this drive in my Asus laptop. I was running Windows 7 at that time and am now running Windows 10 since the end of July. The performance is still superb. I highly recommend this drive for its speed and reliability. And I got it from NewEgg for a great price.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 7:39:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I ordered this drive...
Pros: I ordered this drive... 4 business days later I received it followed by installation into my laptop... 1 week later... this is my whole experience

First off, get yourself a usb to sata adapter compatible with mac, in my case, an agestar adapter (newegg ID: 9SIA4991C86923) I got a program called "Carbon Copy Cloner" for mac, you can get it from just about anywhere, I myself got it from softpediaDOTcom. I then created 2x 500GB partitions, keeping OS X and all my media seperate, which sort of speeds up the boot process, and then cloned my macintosh HD partition.

I removed the battery, as required, switched out the drives, turned my macbook on, and at first i didn't think it worked, for it sat there for 2 minutes before the apple logo popped up, I guess it was reconfiguring the firmware, but 2 or 3 boot ups later, I definitely noticed speed up in my boot times, a good 15 seconds off, switching from sata 2, to sata 3, and the built in SSD is just gravy on top of it all.

To top it all off, it has the original seagate logo, the one we all know and love.
Cons: I asked and watched, it didn't make any sandwiches despite the plea. At first I thought it was incapable, but what was I thinking, I looked around and didn't see any condiments to make a sandwich, it simply didn't have the supplies. So I went to the fridge and then to the cupboard for some bread and condiments, and sat it in front of the disk, 30 minutes later it didn't even try, so then I thought, maybe it really didn't know how. I quickly ran to my computer and printed out a step-by-step tutorial on how to make a sandwich and sat it there next to the drive and condiments, I thought "it shouldn't take longer than 10 minutes now".

20 minutes later I decided to show it how to make a sandwich, and finally I had my sandwich, but I asked of it to repeat what I just did. I gave it another 20-30 minutes to piece it together, I got back home from the store, it sat there unmoved, everything untouched. I decided to give up. I went ahead to switch it out with my other drive, and it's doing a fantastic job at storing my data, without even trying, so I can't be mad at it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 11:48:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 WD black 2
Pros: Fast SSD and small form factor. interesting concept.
Cons: Requires Software to show 1TB HDD, OS (Windows 7-10) will only show the SSD when first installed. Must Have windows upgraded to see both SSD and HDD as one drive, (not tested on Mac OS X) otherwise it will show as 2 drives.

Life Span: Bought 2. The one in my desktop is still runnng. The other drive had the HDD part start clicking a day later. Had to RMA the Drive. It has been 5 months since the replacement of the dead drive. The replacement Just DIED again. SSD boots windows but HDD freezes OS when the drive is accessed.

Was not able to software or hardware raid drives as it will only show 2 different SSD not the HDD. Can not be mirrored.

Both Drives were in stationary Desktops. No physical movement.
Other Thoughts: If the life span and the firmware could be better on these drives, they would be great for fast servers or mini media PCs, but if the life span is less than a year then it is not worth it. Now I have to RMA the second replacement drive again and pay shipping.
Manufacturer Response:Greetings DavidG,
Thanks for your time providing feedback of this dual drive. The Black² ships with the HDD locked was by design in order to facilitate proper installation of the Windows Operating System. Once Windows is installed, our installation software assists in unlocking the 1TB HDD and prepares the drive to be used within the Windows environment. In addition, we want you to know the Black² is supported with Mac 2012 or later with OSX 10.9 or later. Mac installations give the user a choice to install this drive as fusion (Core Storage) or dual drive. For your convenience, we placed links below for the Mac Installation Guide, Firmware Update for Mac and Installation software for Mac.
“Mac Installation Guide (pdf)”: http://bit.ly/1Ub4BbY
“WD Black2 Configuration Utilities for Mac (Fusion and Dual Drive Configuration)”: http://bit.ly/1PQdPK2
“WD Black2 Firmware Update for Mac”: http://bit.ly/1Jhb9AB

Although this is a dual drive integrating SSD and HDD, it is not a viable product to be utilized as a RAID array. This is outside the design of the drive; further, it is not possible to partition SSD drives because of its cell configuration as opposed to Sector configuration of a traditional HDD drive. It is important to know a RAID 1 or Mirror array, which each drive must be the same size; as the Black² is comprised of a 120GB SSD and a 1TB HDD in a single device, making this drive unable to exist as a Mirror RAID 1 configuration.

It is unfortunate to hear about your unexpected drive failures from your desktop configuration. We would be more than happy to replace your failed drive while it’s under warranty, however, further investigation may be need to determine why these drive failed in order to provide a good outcome.

Need Help? Please follow the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932.
http://bit.ly/18IaCvD

Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 4:30:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Spinpoint M9T ST2000LM003 2TB 5400 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Laptop Storage Drive
Pros: 2 TB laptop drive.

Stores all my data as a secondary drive.

Works as intended with no faults/easy install.
Cons: Slow - To be expected from a 5400 RPM drive.
Other Thoughts: I love Samsung, let's see how their drives hold up!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 5:55:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD10JPVX 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Dented during packaging
Pros: Good drive and good value.
Cons: After 10 years worth of orders from Newegg - hard drive packaging has improved, but still getting drives with dents in them. I don't think Western Digital boxes them up with dents. That means someone is moving a little too quickly and making mistakes during packaging.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2015 9:19:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K100 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model) Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hard Drive Died After A While of Use
Pros: This HDD worked really well, though it did die. It operated very fast and was extremely quiet, which are definite pluses.
Cons: It died after almost a year
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2015 7:50:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD10JPVX 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard DriveBare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Learning experience
Pros: Learning experience. I refuse to believe the unit arrived DOA and I'm experimenting using external adapters to experiment / learn how to use external adapters to access the drive.
Cons: This is the first time I experienced difficulty after a multitude of successful purchases. I believe the problem lies with my attempt at installing an internal drive in an external enclosure.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2015 9:48:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 decent-good performance on game systems
Pros: Snappy performance.
noticeable difference in terms of speed and performance compared to original stock HDDs
So far so good; no issues.
Cons: kinda pricey.
quality concerns (other reviews about SHDDs dying w/in 1 year have me nervous)
Other Thoughts: I'm getting annoyed with modern console gaming. Sticking PC parts in game systems is good, but not when the major manufacturers keep grabbing for the cheapest low quality junk that doesn't have enough space, reduces the performance of the machine, and the savings are never passed on to the end buyer (usually increased).

bought 2 of these drives and popped them into 2 game consoles I own. Difference is like night and day. The PS3 in particular (yes, you can put one in there) is like a different system. Huge improvement. The original 300 gb HDD was complete garbage.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2015 11:55:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.