Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST500LM000 500GB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY Burn Notice (Literally)
Pros: It arrived in one piece and was packed well. Seagate used to make great products. I had many that worked great in the past.
Cons: I ordered this drive on 2/20/2015. It arrived a couple of days ago and looked like a great new oem drive for my laptop. I had noticed mixed reviews on these, but I decided to take a chance anyway(which was definitely a mistake). I installed it today and attempted to do a fresh install of Windows 7 Pro. It only showed 365GB and is a 500GB drive which is strange. Windows install would not load. Did a diagnostic check because I purchased new ram also. Ram works great. Opened up my laptop the hard drive was so hot it could literally burn the flesh off of your body. Had to wait for it to cool down before removing it. Tried my old hard drive and everything worked fine. I can't find a single good thing to say about this product. I recommend using an oven mitt if you receive one like this and need to get it out of your laptop or PC.
Other Thoughts: Made in China. I do not recommend buying Seagate anymore if you want a working product.
Reviewed By:PCFixerUpper,2/27/2015 4:47:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Scorpio Blue WD1600BPVT-FR 160GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice
Pros: Shipped fast, nice packing. Looks brand new. SMART showed it to be a fairly low hours drive.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Went into an Acer laptop. Formatted for Linux and works like a champ.
Reviewed By:schw32m,2/26/2015 6:04:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital WD VelociRaptor WD3000BLFS 300GB 10000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Enterprise Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Happy with the service
Pros: purchased drives and installed this week on server, delivery and product was excellent
Cons: shipped USPS would have preferred quicker method of shipping
Reviewed By:jim@lmfypc.com,2/26/2015 4:02:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate STBD2000102 2TB 5400 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Retail Kit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Faster than a what?
Pros: Large Capacity
Cons: 5400RPM
Other Thoughts: When I looked at this page I couldn't believe it a7200 2TB HDD for my laptop, AWESOME! But as always I run tests as soon as I get any HDD and take a guess what I found. Wait for it...wait...IT'S NOT A 7200 RPM DRIVE! Mislead, oh snap. This is the first time this has happened to me and I have been a customer a very long time. When the Seagate tech told me that it was indeed a misprint; well let's just say I wasn't very happy.

So again this is a 5400RPM drive!

When this drive first listed it an ad for a 7200RPM.
Reviewed By:Bastard214,2/26/2015 8:54:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus STBD1000100 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache 2.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Notebook Hard Drive -Retail kit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Faster than a what?
Pros: Large Capacity
Cons: Misleading Ad, 5400RPM
Other Thoughts: When I looked at this page I couldn't believe it a7200 2TB HDD for my laptop, AWESOME! But as always I run tests as soon as I get any HDD and take a guess what I found. Wait for it...wait...IT'S NOT A 7200 RPM DRIVE! Mislead, oh snap. This is the first time this has happened to me and I have been a customer a very long time. When the Seagate tech told me that it was indeed a misprint; well let's just say I wasn't very happy.

So again this is a 5400RPM drive!
Reviewed By:Bastard214,2/26/2015 8:51:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Fast, high capacity, SSD/HDD combo drive for a relatively low price when I bought it on sale. Can't argue with 99$ for a SSD with enough space to put my OS on and then a HDD for storage all-in-one for almost half the price of buying each drive separately.
Cons: The firmware update was a bit of a pain to do, as others have mentioned. Go to the manufacture website and download the new firmware, put it on a USB drive and then run it from there and it worked just fine for me.
Other Thoughts: Been running this drive in my new system for almost a month now, and haven't encountered hardly any problems whatsoever. Its quiet and fast and I can't really imagine running out of space with the 1TB HDD to store my files on. I have the OS (Win 7 Home Premium) installed on the SSD along with a few other essential files and my favorite game and everything is working perfectly.
Reviewed By:Nikaeta,2/25/2015 11:23:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar Z7K500 HTS725050A7E630(0J26005) 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Just don't...
Pros: None
Cons: Data loss / HDD failed.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2015 2:13:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus ST160LM003 160GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 They're refurb for a reason
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Defective, Costs to ship back, loss of time and money
Other Thoughts: These are refurb for a reason, they are non functional units. Luckily Newegg has a great customer service reputation.
Reviewed By:Chuck Norris,2/25/2015 10:40:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate STBD2000102 2TB 5400 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Retail Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Drive Specifcations
Pros: None
Cons: This drive is not a 7200 RPM drive. Seagate does not manufacture a 7200 in 2 TB. I got this directly from Seagate. New Egg must change their add and correct this with any customers that have purchased.
Reviewed By:Rod B,2/25/2015 8:51:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste of Time and Money
Pros: good price through Newegg and delivery was fast.
Cons: SSD becomes unrecognizable after using Acronis to transfer files to second drive.
Other Thoughts: I have purchased two of these drives in the last 6 months, and both times when transffering my files to the second drive I have lost all use of the SSD drive. I bought this in the first place because my old HDD was becoming unstable. After following all of the directions exactly as written, both times I have would up with just a single 1TB HDD with no SSD to run my OS on. As far as I'm concerned WD needs to find a better way of transferring files or stick with just building HDDs. Both drives have turned out to be nothing but a waste of MY time and money. I will not buy another dual Drive EVER AGAIN. I'll wait until I can find a good SSD and install it in my laptop and mount both of the now 1TB HDDs in a case and use them as back up storage.
Reviewed By:cobra,2/24/2015 8:50:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.