Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PS110P Fast Ethernet Print Server RJ45 Parallel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Replaced 11 year old Netgear Print Servers
Pros: When we have to print, we use 2 old HP 6P printers that were on old Netgear PS's. They finally died.
Newegg got the TP PS here pronto. Price was right,
Seems to do what it advertises. Set up required changing the subnet. Did not use the included SW.
Went to TPLink's site and downloaded the SW from there. Followed the installation instructions.
All computers in the residence can use the old reliable HP lasers again.
Happy Camper here!
Cons: None, so far.
Reviewed By:Russell H.,5/19/2016 6:12:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > D-Link > D-Link DP-301P+ Fast Ethernet Print Server RJ45 Parallel Port with Centronics connector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still great after all these years
Pros: Small size. Doesn't overheat like some other pocket printservers I've tried. Browser-based configuration page, so no need to install special software. Plugs directly into printer's centronics port, so no need to find extra room for this on some table or shelf.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: It's been 2 years since the last review of this product, so thought I'd "bump" this to show it's still relevant. This is the 4th DP-301P+ I've installed in the last 10 years, so the product has been around a long time. They've all been rock-solid reliable.

This is ideal for extending the life of old parallel port printers (in my most recent case, a HP Lasertjet 4200 that's still going strong) with modern computers that don't have parallel ports anymore. As an added bonus, every computer on your network can now use the printer and not just the one it's plugged into. Additionally, making it a network printer means its location is no longer restricted by the length of a parallel port cable.

I've also installed a handful of DP-311P printservers, the 301's wireless cousin, in environments where running a CAT5 cable isn't convenient. The 311's have also been reliable, though when it's practical I still prefer the stability of a wired network connection.

Tip: to avoid problems with computers losing the printer, some people will set the printserver from DHCP to a static IP address. But that can cause hassles if/when you later move the printserver to another network, so I recommend leaving it configured for DHCP and using your router instead to reserve a fixed IP address for the printerserver.

Warning: printservers don't always work with multifunction printers. It depends on the printer, but typically the print function works fine but scanning may not work.
Reviewed By:Dan G.,5/16/2016 2:29:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PS110P Fast Ethernet Print Server RJ45 Parallel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TL-PS110P
Pros: Works with my HP LaserJet 5l printer.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Works with win98, winXP and win7x64 using the HP LaserJet 3050 PCL5 driver. Used the telnet interface to set it up; didn't bother with the included CD-ROM. Great little device to keep a legacy printer going.
Reviewed By:Gregory N.,2/9/2016 4:52:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > LevelOne > LevelOne FPS-1032 Mini Print Server with 1 USB 2.0 Port

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works great, a little tricky to setup
Pros: Works great once configured.
Cons: If your default LAN segment is not 192.168.0.XXX then there is some pain in setting it up.
Other Thoughts: I used this device for a client to turn some USB Zebra label printers into networked printers. The devices default ip address of 192.168.0.10 will not work on my clients two different LAN segments. And the FPS setup utility would not install on Win10 or work correctly for me on Win7. I needed to assign static IPs. So I went into Network Settings, change adapter settings and for my wired adapter added an Alternate configuration for my internet protocal version 4 properties. Set the alternate static IP to 192.168.0.100. Then disconnect my laptop from my net work and directly connected to the FPS device. Waited for the alternate config to take effect (a min or two) then used browser to go to http://192.168.0.10 You can then use the devices web server to assign a static IP. Then reboot the FPS and put it onto the network. Reconnect your PC to the network. Then for any PC on the network you can setup the printer by doing a "add a new printer" and using a standard TCP/IP port.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey L.,1/26/2016 2:03:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Jetdirect 615n (J6057A) Print Server RJ45

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 HP Jetdirect print server (RJ45)
Pros: Received the item promptly, installed it right away, and it works perfectly.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Totally satisfied with this product and the supplier.
Reviewed By:John B.,1/26/2016 10:40:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TE100-P1P Parallel Print Server RJ45 IEEE 1284 Male Centronics (DB-36)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Network setup tricky but worth the $$$$
Pros: Stable and works well with HP LaserJet 6MP and Mac OS 10.X. Web interface straight forward (remember to click "save" after changing settings). Was able to update firmware easily however package requires a reset back to default factory IP address.
Cons: Tricky to setup if a network newbee. Beware that the print server IP address is manually set to 192.168.0.1 by the factory (big customer service oversight specification by the FW engineers) If you don't know what the means and you're not familiar with your private network setup (managed by a router) do not connect this print server directly to your network. This will likely cause the network to go down because of conflicting IPs. Also experienced some printing errors because the interface is default set to fast. The slow setting resolved all by print error issues.
Other Thoughts: If your computer NIC IP is set DHCP with a gateway address of 192.168.0.1, you will need to disconnect your router from a network and manually setup an IP for the NIC to another IP (i.e. 192.168.0.5, subnet mask 255.255.255.0, gateway=192.168.0.10). You can also use a cross over cable to connect the NIC directly to the print server. Access the server via a web browser by typing in the IP address (192.168.0.1) and set to the server to Automatically Assign IP. Reconnect the router, set your NIC back to automatic DHCP and power off/on he print server.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/26/2016 8:55:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Frustrating server
Pros: - Works sometimes
Cons: - Functionality
- Features
Other Thoughts: Disappointed in this server's functionality and features. Have to keep resetting the server in the web browser because the printer stops before finishing its job or the printer doesn't even respond. I had issues setting this up with the included software so I set this up manually. I wish I would have just used an old router (with usb) to work as a print server.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. The software is only a wizard to help with configuration and is not needed. Once the DHCP IP address is obtained ( this can be done by logging into your router) you can log directly into the GPSU21 for configuration. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:George B.,1/15/2016 11:01:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Print to USB port on printer from Ethernet LAN.
Pros: It does work as an Ethernet to USB protocol converter for printing (Computers on Ethernet LAN have print drivers defined with the IP address programmed on the GPSU21. The USB port is connected to a Xerox Phaser 3610 and print jobs work and the printer can be managed from any of the computers)
Cons: IOGear technical support said the GPSU21 must be connected to a printer in order to be configured. It would be easier to manage if it did not require a printer to be connected to the USB port.
Other Thoughts: Did not test if a USB hub could be attached to the GPSU21 to provide multiple print connectivity nor did I try connecting it to storage devices. This GPSU21 replaced an old HP JetDirect box after our HP 5 with a parallel port was replaced was the inferior Xerox Phaser 3610 (the Xerox is a cheaply put together product - thin plastic walls output tray that is too short for legal, etc).
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR. The GPSU21 is a network device. This pulls a DHCP address when it is connected to a router or switch. You can get this address by logging into your router or by using the software wizard. You could then access the GPSU21 from your web browser using the IP address or use the software wizard to find the GPSU21. For this procedure the printer does not have to be attached . To complete the installation and have your printer on the network so it can be shared, it would have to be attached. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:William W.,1/11/2016 11:38:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PS110U Fast Ethernet Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not a bad product
Pros: Inexpensive, small.
Cons: May require some more knowledge about networking than other options. Doesn't appear to support scanning.
Reviewed By:Brett J.,12/30/2015 2:44:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Print Servers > STARTECH > StarTech.com 1 Port USB Wireless N Network Print Server with 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Port - 802.11 b/g/n - Wireless USB 2.0 Print Server

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Hampered wireless functionality
Pros: Unit is easy to configure with included software provided your configuration computer shares the network subnet. Unit can connect to most any wireless network regardless of transmission methodology.
Cons: The WiFi capabilities of the unit make it a good fit for environments with only one wireless network subnet and SSID or where it's the only such device on a network such as a small home WiFi network. The problems arise in facilities where there is more than one active SSID, when channel hopping is required, or when DHCP connectivity absolutely has to work and static addresses can't be used.

The device does not reliably poll DHCP. In my case, I could not get it to hit the active DHCP server once, regardless of setup. No other devices on the large network where I'm employed have any issues obtaining DHCP provided addresses. Strike one.

No reliable DHCP capabilities means that I could only get the device to attach using a static address defined on the unit. That means the unit can't build a DNS record and one has to be built manually so no stateful naming. In large operations where there are dozens and dozens of printers this is a huge issue. Strike two.

The units are easily configured for WiFi networks with one caveat; no channel hopping. The channel must be defined along with the SSID and the encryption methodology. I verified that the device will lose all connectivity if attached to a WiFi network, then moved within the range of a different LWAP running on a different channel but using the same SSID or if the addressing LWAP changes channels to avoid interference. Strike three.
Other Thoughts: These units seem like they'd be perfect if one needs to add wireless connectivity to a printer in a small office with a very simple network or for a home printer. That said, most decent consumer grade printers come with WiFi options installed out of the box. Those options will usually be just as easy to install as the StarTech unit which makes me wonder what market StarTech is aiming for with these devices. They're definitely not robust enough to be used in large scale environments with their channel limitations and their unreliable DHCP polling.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/16/2015 7:21:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.