Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Network Print Servers > STARTECH > StarTech.com 1 Port USB Wireless N Network Print Server with 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Port - 802.11 b/g/n - Wireless USB 2.0 Print Server

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does what it says
Pros: It does what it says, connect a USB printer to an existing network. Can acquire an IP through DHCP or set as static so can accommodate just about any network configuration. I didn't use the wireless part so I can't comment on that. I used this as a temporary connection on a LaserJet 5035 that got hit by lightning and lost it's NIC until the company decides to get a new printer - worked fine for that except that none of the network features (scan to network folder) of the printer work any more.
Cons: None I can think of
Reviewed By:N/A,5/24/2015 5:52:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > STARTECH > StarTech PM1115UA 1 Port USB Wireless-N 150Mbps AirPrint Server - 802.11b/g/n USB 2.0 RJ45 (10/100 Ethernet) Wireless Ethernet 1 - USB A (4 pin) Female 1 - RJ-45 Female 1 - Wireless N (IEEE 802.11n)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Be careful'
Pros: Works as a wireless print server from my PC.
Cons: Star tech support confirmed my printer model is not supported and won't be compatible. There was no info re compatibility issues prior to purchasing. I would have returned the product but I have a second (but lnit a laser printer) that will allow the AirPrint to function. Check support before you buy.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/28/2015 5:53:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > STARTECH > StarTech PM1115UA 1 Port USB Wireless-N 150Mbps AirPrint Server - 802.11b/g/n USB 2.0 RJ45 (10/100 Ethernet) Wireless Ethernet 1 - USB A (4 pin) Female 1 - RJ-45 Female 1 - Wireless N (IEEE 802.11n)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 StarTech
Pros: Straight forward to set up. Allows wireless printing to my previously USB connected laser printer.
Cons: So far not able to print from any of my IPhone or Ipad at this time. Submitted to Startech support for answers.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Norm,

We wanted to reach out to you and apologize for the experience you had with our PM1115UA. We would like to clarify some things as well.

It seems you have been in contact with our Technical Advisor team regarding this issue. In order to print from an AirPrint capable device, such as an iPhone or iPad, the printer being used with the PM1115UA also needs to support the AirPrint protocol. Based on your case notes, your printer (Samsung ML 1670) does not currently support the AirPrint protocol. A list of supported printers can be found on our website, under the product support tab: http://www.startech.com/Networking-IO/Print/usb-wireless-n-150mbps-airprint-server~PM1115UA#dnlds.

We recommend checking for any firmware upgrades that may be available for this printer, in case Samsung has recently added this functionality.

Also, while the AirPrint functionality may not work with your printer, any other TCP/IP device should function properly.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused, and if you have any other questions feel free to contact us and kindly reference case number 353-222846. We’ll be glad to help!

Thank you.

Customer Support
StarTech.com
http://www.startech.com/techsupport

Reviewed By:N/A,4/25/2015 9:02:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > Hawking Technology > Hawking HMPS1U 1-Port USB 2.0 Print Server for Multi Function Printers

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Quit working
Pros: Worked great for 3 years
Cons: One quit working at 3 years, the other is still working.
Other Thoughts: I don't know how long they are supposed to last but I ordered another one.
Reviewed By:Abigayle,4/23/2015 12:53:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PS110U Fast Ethernet Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 does what I need it to
Pros: I bought this print server to share a Dymo Twin Turbo label printer. Prior to purchasing this item the printer was shared on a Windows box, and the workstation's sharing service and print spooler service were giving us problems. Using this print server, workstations can print directly to the printer without having to play nice with a Windows workstation's OS. The ability to avoid using Windows sharing might be particularly useful in a mixed-OS environment.
Cons: None. It doesn't make any difference to me, but this item is not wireless. It needs an wired Ethernet network connection.
Other Thoughts: I can confirm that this item works with the Dymo Twin Turbo label printer. I didn't see this printer on the hardware compatibility list, nevertheless, the unit is working as we need it to.
Reviewed By:Don St. Malo,4/6/2015 3:34:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far, so good
Pros: Easy, fast Setup on Windows7
Nice illustrated Accompanying Manual for SetupWizard
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Running an HP F4400 printer off of a wireless bridge with no issues.
Reviewed By:Rich,3/5/2015 8:40:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Product - Bad installer / drivers
Pros: Works great once you get the software / drivers installed.
Cons: The drivers supplied do not work with Win 8.1 Enterprise x64. I downloaded the latest drivers but they did not work either. When you auto run setup.exe a menu will show up. From that menu you select setup but nothing ever happens. I found that running it in compatibility mode was the answer.
Other Thoughts: Once I ran it in compatibility mode I watched the old windows 95/98 installer pop up and install the files. Must be why you need compatibility mode.

Once they ran the setup was easy as pie as it should have been from the beginning. Really could have gotten 5 eggs if I didnt have to spend so much time troubleshooting.
Reviewed By:akrytus,3/3/2015 4:47:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cant run the Setup.exe
Pros: Small.
Cons: Can not run setup on Win 8.1 Enterprise. I tried to run all the setup files form the CD and downloaded the latest drivers from their website http://www.iogear.com/support/driver/GPSU21%20Drivers%20Win8.1%20V3.7.1.zip which is almost 1 year old.

I attempted to look up the IP through DHCP and it is not pulling an IP at all. From what I read it looks like DHCP is the default. I cant find any documentation on default static IP.
Other Thoughts: I based this purchase on the reviews. This isnt a difficult task. Perhaps the software wont run on Enterprise? I know this version is limited to public use since I am a Microsoft Partner.

I am sure at some point I will figure something out, but until then 1 egg.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. The CD is a software wizard not a driver. There is an updated version of the wizard located at IOGEAR.com. The wizard is not even needed for configuration once the GPSU21 pulls a DHCP address and you make note of the IP address assigned. You can then log directly into the print server. There is no static IP. To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:akryus,3/1/2015 8:17:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21W6 1-Port USB 2.0 Print Server - Multi-Language Version RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Needs M$ for initial setup, unless...
Pros: See Cons - once past this stage, setting up the printers was a breeze using the IP address. I set the print server for static IP so it will always be the same.

I gave a 5 because it works great & sets up easy once you get past the M$ lockin.
Cons: Needs M$ for initial setup, unless your router (or something) will tell you the IP address the DHCP server assigned to the print server. Also, there is no docs on how to do the WEB access to set it up. But there again (from what I gathered), you need to know the IP address. To access, you use the address followed by :631. as an example... 192.168.0.100:631 as URL.
Other Thoughts: All in all, it seems to work great with all my devices that I have print capability with. W7 & Linux (fedora)
Reviewed By:Big Tux,2/22/2015 5:55:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WPS510U Pocket-Sized Wireless Print Server 802.11b / g USB 2.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad transmitter
Pros: Small, compact.
Easy to return when it doesn't work.
Cons: Defective transmitter.
No way to attach to your printer in a way that would keep the antenna up.
Power cable not long enough for certain situations.
No way to configure through a wired PC on your network.
Other Thoughts: This device came defective. It started transmitting, and almost finished the setup process, but then dropped its signal. I was attempting to configure using an Alienware laptop that literally pulls in 15 to 20 signals from all around my neighborhood, but this device would not show. I reset it a dozen times, every once in awhile it would show up while setting up, then it would disappear. Sent it back to Newegg after a chat with customer service. Tip: do not get your own RMA through the website, it doesn't provide the ability to get the free UPS return label. The UPS button asked for cash. I texted them, they sent a free UPS label via email link (with no struggle, text service with Newegg is great!) Because of the price I decided to get a refund. paying $60 for a $89 five year old personal laser printer to be wireless is not worth the bother. Will be shopping for an All in one solution that does everything wirelessly. Any ideas? Has to be a color Laser though....
Reviewed By:IT GURU,2/22/2015 6:05:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.