Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40039 PCI-Express 2.0 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's a roll of the dice...
Pros: When it works, it works well. Easy to install, and is also very lightweight. I have a Blu-Ray burner w/3D and a DVD burner, both connected to it, and have no trouble with either drive. When it works, the throughput is just as smooth and vast as can be, at least to me it seems that way, even when playing a Blu-Ray disc in 3D from my PC to my 3D HDTV.
Cons: There are no cable-locking notches to hold the SATA cables in place, which allows for them to come loose very easily. The card, somehow, also tends to slowly creep out of the PCI-E slot just enough to start causing a lot of issues with the motherboard (system freezing, disappearing drives, etc.), and you don't realize it until you get down in close proximity of it (it's such a slight creeping that it can easily go unnoticed for months, until you start having issues, for me it usually takes a few weeks). This happens much more easily in X8 and X16 slots, but happens in X4 and X1 slots as well.
Other Thoughts: I'm considering RMAing the thing, but am unsure simply because if they give me another one of the same model, it's still going to creep like this one and not have the cable-locking notches either, thus providing the same issues. Sadly, I can't get a refund from Newegg by now, so I'll see what SYBA says, as soon as I get my affairs in order and figure some things out. This card aggravates me to no end, and the fixes for these issues are so extremely easy to do that I honestly have no idea how they haven't been done by now. I know it's not an expensive card, but still there's no logical reason it should be made so cheaply and such important details be left out.
Reviewed By:Ronald S.,9/29/2014 9:41:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40039 PCI-Express 2.0 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent upgrade for older motherboards
Pros: I plugged this in to my Gigabyte X58 board since is only has sata2 onboard. I used a full length pci-e 8x slot and you can clearly tell at bootup that it's PCI 2.0 compliant.

After installing drivers in win7, I tested a Vertex460 plugged in to onboard sata2 vs this sata3 card and the speeds definitely increased. My read/write speeds went from ~270MB/s to 380-400MB/s. Although the drive is advertised of obtaining speeds up to 550MB/s, it was a modest increase over the onboard sata controller and I don't expect full speeds from a budget pcie card.
Cons: This card certainly doesn't deliver the same speed as a good quality onboard sata3 controller but it's a worthwhile upgrade for older PCs limited by sata1 or sata2
Other Thoughts: If you need extra internal sata ports or want a speed boost for an older motherboard, get this card.
Reviewed By:ZeshaunH,9/29/2014 12:48:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-SA3114-4R PCI SATA I (1.5Gb/s) RAID Controller Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 SYBA SY-3114-4R
Pros: Win7 automatically installs device.
Cons: Will not allow JBOD if installing in a company-locked motherboard. Some workarounds do exist for some boards by downgrading the BIOS, but was not availible for me. Bought a replacement and plan on keeping and using this one for a future server build.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/28/2014 11:06:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 644L PCI-Express 2.0 x4 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) RAID Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Startup SLOW, But working GREAT
Pros: I got 3 connectors filled with WD hard drives and the fourth connector filled with ICY DOCK ICYCube MB561U3S-4S 4 Bay USB 3.0 & eSATA(PM) Hot Swap 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/SSD External Enclosure... So in total I have 7 hard drives (12TB running thru card as JBOD)
Other then starting slowly when the computer is first stated, everything is good
Cons: IT takes a good 30 seconds to startup when first turning on the computer...
Other Thoughts: As I said above happy other then slow startup
Reviewed By:Mark G,9/28/2014 9:23:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > STARTECH > StarTech PEXESAT322I PCI-Express x1 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 2 Int/2 Ext SATA Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 low on ports solution
Pros: I was running low on SATA ports. this card helped solve the problem. easy set up. has worked reliably for past several months. I did not get this card for RAID - I just wanted more ports - which is what I got.

tolerates presence of other SATA cards of similar ilk.
Cons: none that I can see
Reviewed By:N/A,9/26/2014 3:52:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40039 PCI-Express 2.0 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: easy to install and setup
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: make sure you install in PCi 2.0 slot or the bios won't be recognized
Reviewed By:MAS,9/26/2014 9:01:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Intel > Intel RAID Twenty-four port Expander Card RES2SV240

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 One of the best choice
Pros: - Intel product
- Provide connectivity up to 20 SATA/SAS disks
Cons: Not cheap solution....for home
Other Thoughts: Just bought 2 of them...not cheap but allow to expand RAID/HBA cards (number of HD coonected).

Recommended
Reviewed By:gled,9/25/2014 3:59:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 2720SGL PCI-Express 2.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working on a FreeNAS build
Pros: Small, BSD driver
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: For my first NAS build, this piece was a nice addition. Running 8 2.5" 500GB drives off it.
Reviewed By:Jeff,9/24/2014 4:47:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI MegaRAID Internal Low-Power SATA/SAS 9240-8i 6Gb/s PCI-Express 2.0 RAID Controller Card, Single

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Has some quirks
Pros: It works well enough. I bought this because it said "low power" and because of the direction of the mini-SAS connectors. The pre-boot GUI is very nice and straightforward. I have not tested performance because I did not buy this for performance. I like how the UEFI in my Asus motherboard can read some (but not all) of the information of adapter. It immediately worked with 4x 4TB WD Red Pro hard drives.
Cons: Not all motherboards are compatible. I wanted a new server to replace my aging, but excellent, HP Mediasmart ex495 Windows Home Server. I had an older Core i3 in a Gigabyte motherboard and it would not work. I put it in an Asus motherboard and it worked great. Then I decided to use an older small 2.5" hard drive as my boot drive. I only had 1 mini-SAS to SATA cable, so I connected the 2.5" drive on the motherboard and installed Windows on it. I made sure to install the LSI drivers using the Windows setup process. But when Windows started, the drivers gave the common "Code 10" error. It would only work when the boot drive is connected to it.
Other Thoughts: I would neither recommend nor not recommend this adapter. I also found out that you cannot update the firmware unless the operating system recognizes it. So I do not know if the latest firmware has the quirks because I could not find out without it working.
Reviewed By:Wade,9/23/2014 5:05:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40039 PCI-Express 2.0 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: The usual...
Cons: Slowly dies with many errors delaying boot, then finally loses attached devices. May appear as HDD failing.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We are more than happy to provide all of our customers with a prompt exchange whenever a

product becomes defective.

SYBA offers an online RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a

quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within

24 hours (M-F)

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 09262014

Reviewed By:N/A,9/23/2014 8:15:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau