Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product as I expected was totally easy to set up
Pros: I owned a previous older model for 7 years needed a new one for a new build and was just as I expected install set up was a breeze
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: If on a budget and just building your own system and need a controller card you can not go wrong with this model
Reviewed By:Jose V.,7/22/2016 3:43:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just worked
Pros: - Plugged it into a Dell Precision 690 running Win Server 2012 R2. The Dell's controller recognized only 2TB of a 6TB drive. It showed up as 6TB when cabled to the SYBA. Formatted down to 5.46TB with 64KB allocation size. It just worked.
Cons: - no Cons
Other Thoughts: - Would recommend, definitely.
Reviewed By:Michael L.,7/22/2016 5:04:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Very confusing information
Pros: If you simply need a few extra SATA III ports to add mechanical drives to your machine then you will probably be pleased with this card. With Windows 10 it is plug and play but you don't get the optimum performance from the card. With the Windows 10 default drivers the fastest read speed with a SSD drive that I saw was 393 MBsec measured with ATTO. If you use the Windows 8 Marvel 92XX drivers from the included disk then I saw speeds of 403 MBsec. Using the default SATA III ports on my ASUS Sabertooth X58 board the measured speed was 413 MBsec. The specs for my drive is 540 MBsec read speed and 460 MBsec write speed.
Cons: The user's guide for this controller card indicates that it is a PCI-Express X2 interface that is compatible with the X4, X8, or X16 PCI-Express slots. The card actually requires a PCI-Express 2.0 - X1, X4, X8, or X16 slot. The instruction manual also indicates that you can press the CTRL key plus the M key to activate the RAID utility. This card does not appear to support RAID at all.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this card thinking that it would allow me to see the maximum speed of my SSD drive so I am really disappointed with my purchase. If the user's manual had not stated that it required a X4, X8, or X16 socket then I would not have purchased the card and instead would have opted for the SI-PEX40057 card instead. If you are looking for true SATA III speeds then look at the PEX40057, PEX40062, or PEX40063 instead of this card.

This was my own fault because the listing on NewEgg.com says that this card has a Marvell 88SE9215 controller so I should have known better since that only supports X1. Again to reiterate, if you are simply wanting to add SATA III ports to your machine for mechanical drives and have no desire to establish a RAID array then this is an inexpensive card that will probably fit the bill.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We're sorry for the confusion the title might have had for you. This is indeed a PCI Express x1 slot for version 2.0 slots. We're sorry to hear that you are not reaching the maximum speeds of your SSD. If however you are not constantly moving large files, then we ask that you focus y our attention to the 4K read and write speeds of your SSD, as those are the speeds that matter and are used for giving system the quickness that users go for.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.
- Regards, SYBA CST 20160722

Reviewed By:Virgil B.,7/21/2016 5:50:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40089 PCI-Express 2.0 2-port SATA III, PCI-E, x1, Revision 2.0, (Full & Low Profile); ASMedia Chipset, RAID

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't waste your time
Pros: cheap
Cons: DOA. This part doesn't cost enough to waste my time with an RMA. Should have read more reviews,, as it seems I am far from the only one who got this part DOA. I'll never waste my time with SYBA again.
Other Thoughts: I'm really get sick of this. Lately I have about a 25% DOA/failure in the first month rate with neweg parts.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We're sorry to hear that you had trouble with this controller card. It's concerning to hear that you have a high percentage of DOA items. We ask that you contact our support@sybausa.com in order to figure out what maybe causing your components to not be functioning. Make sure that card the card is properly inserted to the PCI express slot and that the drives attached to the card are initialized through disk management.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.
- Regards, SYBA CST 20160722

Reviewed By:Alexander C.,7/20/2016 2:34:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI 9300-8i PCI-Express 3.0 SATA / SAS 8-Port SAS3 12Gb/s HBA - Single--Avago Technologies

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Whoa.. IO has never felt better
Pros: NO RAID
Real HBA
PCI Gen 3
Works awesome with Windows Storage Spaces
Cons: cost?
Other Thoughts: I'm using this on my whitebox hypervisor. Since ESX doesn't let you do anything with storage system i decided to use hyper-v and windows storage spaces. My storage space is a combo of ssd and hhd which is called a "tiered pool". With a TP windows puts the "hot" files on SSD and "cold" on HHD. I've also configured each volume with its own SSD write cache (storage space parameter).

Result: Super fast VMs. No disk contention, no exhausted disk caches, no more lengthy disk queues.

This is a great freaken product.
Reviewed By:Rich N.,7/17/2016 4:29:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > STARTECH > StarTech PEXESAT322I PCI-Express x1 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 2 Int/2 Ext SATA Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as advertised
Pros: Jumpers to select an internal or external SATA port, any two can be active at one time
Cons: not compatible with SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M6GNC 4-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier JBOD Tower (no eSATA card bundled) - the purpose for which I purchased it initially
Other Thoughts: N40 server from HP, WHS2011 - one internal disk was seen OK but the external enclosure from SansDigital did not see any disks. Other cards have seen one disk. Seems there is a compatibility issue between the specific module of SD tower listed above and Asmedia 106x chip used in this card
Reviewed By:Luc P.,7/16/2016 8:37:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-SA2PEX-1E1I PCI Express SATA II (3.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised
Pros: Installed in a N40 G7 server with a bracket mod to connect a SanDigital external 4 disk enclosure - SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M6GNC 4-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier JBOD Tower (no eSATA card bundled)
Cons: no low profile bracket included, only full bracket, requires mods to use in low profile server
Other Thoughts: No built in drivers into WHS2011 but the bundled driver disk had the right info (SI 3132 chip). N40 mini server from HP
Reviewed By:Luc P.,7/16/2016 8:31:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Addonics Technologies > Addonics M2 PCIe SSD - PCIe 3.0 4-Lane Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works, with some adjustments
Pros: - Works with an M.2 SSD drive, with no apparent loss of speed.
- No software installation required, just plug and play
- Metal backing can be swapped for a shorter backing(included) if you have a smaller case.
Cons: - I'm not sure if this card is the culprit but I encountered a slight bit of difficulty getting this to seat in the slot properly. The metal part that goes into the back of the case seemed like it was off just enough to push the card up out of the slot. A little bit of bending of the metal backing finally enabled me to get it to seat (enough to work). My other PCI cards are just fine so I suspect it is this card.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a great option if you don't have a native M.2 slot on your MB, or need an extra one.
Reviewed By:ANTHONY D.,7/15/2016 12:20:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40108 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 Low Profile SATA 4 Port SATA III PCI-e 2.0 x1 Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Functional, Easy to Install
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/13/2016 7:12:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Addonics Technologies > Addonics AD5HPMREU USB 3.0 HPM-XU 5-port Serial ATA Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 EASY TO USE
Pros: USING THE ADDONICS 5 PORT HPM-UX WITH SEAGATE NAS 1 TB FOUR DRIVERS IN ISTARTUSA HARD DRIVE CAGE WORK FINE.
Cons: THERE ARE ERROR LED PIN HEADERS ONTHE HPM-XU UNIT BUT THERE IS NO WAY ATTACH THEM TO HARD DRIVE CAGE WITH OUT MODING THE CAGE. THE DRIVE ACTIVITY LED ARE PART OF THE CAGE.
Other Thoughts: IT WORK FINE BUT CHEAPER TO BUY CAGE WITH HARD DRIVE POWER SUPPLY AND BUILD IN CONTROLER.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/10/2016 10:30:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.