Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Chassis > Logisys Computer > Logisys CS4801H Black 1.2MM Steel 4U Rackmount Industrial Server Case 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nice case, Horrible QC
Pros: Well build, good chassis for the $$
Cons: The first one I ordered was missing the backplane the motherboard mounts to, I requested a return and ordered a replacement. When the second one came in it was missing the hardware bag with the screws, standoffs, CD rails, CHASSIS KEYS, etc...
Other Thoughts: I was able to make one whole chassis by purchasing two...but come on, Logisys - YOU NEED TO STEP UP YOUR QC!!!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 8:17:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Antec > ANTEC ATLAS (W/O PSU) SMALL ROBUST SVR CHASSIS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Better than Average Chassis
Pros: This chassis is roughly the size of a mid-tower PC chassis, but with better construction and cooling. The main cooling impetus is a single 120mm bulkhead fan, which moves a lot of air without being noisy.

Assembly is not a problem with this chassis and while compact, it's surprisingly easy to build. The overall construction is solid and the chassis has an attractive appearance. The availability of USB ports at the front panel is a nice feature.
Cons: We deducted one egg for this chassis because past experience has demonstrated that the stick-on rubber feet tend to come off. Plastic feet attached with screws, as was done with older Antec chassis, would be better.
Other Thoughts: Previous versions of this Atlas chassis included a power supply, which we found to be a negative—Antec power supplies have had a history of being failure-prone. That has limited our use of this chassis, as we knew that eventually the power supply would fail. Now that a "bare" chassis is available, we will purchase a number of these for future builds.
Reviewed By:BILL B.,7/29/2015 1:50:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-231 Black 2U Rackmount Server Chassis 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Solid case but many annoyances - NOT 40mm FANS!!!
Pros: Solid construction
Plenty of space

No frills but the case does its job just fine.
Cons: Replacing the fans is a tremendous pain, I've never had to undo so many screws just to get at some fans. Plus the fans are junk. They work but they're loud and within a few months they started making grinding noises.

The description is incorrect regarding the fans. THEY ARE NOT 40mm FANS!!! I read everything and ordered some 40mm fans to replace the 3 in the case and when I opened it up I was surprised to find 50mm fans.
Other Thoughts: Do yourself a favor and replace the fans when you build for the first time, they're a pain to replace. Furthermore, mine came with 50mm fans. I don't want to tell you to default to that in case there are multiple models of this case out there but you might want to wait until you open yours up before you order.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 8:34:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-Z2600 - 2U Rackmount Server Case / Chassis - 4 x 3.5" Internal HDD Bays, 3 Included 80mm Cooling Fans

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A case of frustration
Pros: It comes in black. Fits a standard ATX power supply. Really trying to find good things here...the power and reset buttons work
Cons: I work as a network engineer and used to do computer repair professionally and this is the most frustrating case I have ever worked in (well...maybe a gateway is worse). It says it supports four HDDs and it does, but only after doing a mix of tetris and a jigsaw puzzle. The drives near the top of the MB sit too close to the cpu heatsink and the plugs BARELY fit. The sata cable for the top drive is doing a 90 degree turn sideways right out the gate.

One of the fans doesn't work, but not because of power. No, it is because the casing for the fan is too small and the fan blades are essentially getting stuck.

There is a small lip at the back of the case that sits over area where the screws for cards go in. It makes it very difficult to get any cards installed. If you try to put a card into a slot directly, the bracket hits the lip and prevents it from going in all the way. So you end up having to kind of jerry rig it in there.

For all intents and purposes, the top cover sits directly on the cpu fan and heatsink which just suffocates it and shoots up my cpu temperature 10 degrees C within a matter of minutes. The only way I can keep the cpu cool is by keeping the top cover off. I know another reviewer talked about cutting a hole in the cover to solve this, but c'mon...really?
Other Thoughts: I got this to house a small proxmox server at home and while it all functions fine, there's this thing in the back of my head about this awful case it's sitting in with no cover. It took me nearly three hours to get everything situated nicely in this case which is just absurd. I will return it once I get a replacement ordered.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2015 9:16:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Ark Technology Inc. > ARK 4U-500-CA Black 4U Rackmount Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Just okay
Pros: Decent design and looks good, strong
Cons: Build quality is poor. I wasn't able to remove some of the screws. The front face / cage hits the handle bars when coming down; this is because the handle bars weren't assembled perfectly straight. No instruction manual and not much help available online either. Airflow is also somewhat of an issue but I don't think there are a lot of options on what they could have done better.
Other Thoughts: I'd probably look for another manufacturer the next time I need a server case. The build quality was disappointing.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2015 12:55:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4412 - 4U Rackmount Server Case or Chassis, 12 SATA / SAS Hot-swap Drives, 5 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Bag for the Buck!
Pros: Nothing comes close to the value you get.
12 Hot swap drives!
I have had it running 24/7 for the last 8 months without any issues.
Great for virtualization, each VM gets its own drive.
Swap in a new drive whenever you want to, without any disassembly or any host OS down time.
Noise: Comparable to Dell or HP tower servers that are about the same 4u size.
I would defiantly recommend it for a lab environment.
Lots of room.
Lots of flexibility.
Cons: I have no complaints.
Other Thoughts: It is big, this is by no means a bad thing.
Just realize how much room it will consume before you buy.

I will be buying a few more of these cases here shortly.

I’m actually on Newegg to buy a cable for a hardware RAID 1 SAS card out of my soon to be decommissioned Dell T300. I will be installing the card to utilize the last 4 drives that my Mother Board refuses to recognize (This is completely a Mother Board issue).
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2015 4:25:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-2106 Black 2U Rackmount Server Case 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid 2u case
Pros: Everything aside from the cons :)
Cons: No instructions, as per Norco usual.

The 5.25" bays are very tight. I don't know if the issue is this case or the quad SSD hot swap I was trying to insert, but it was a struggle to get it inserted at all.

Neither of these issues were bad enough to knock off an egg.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/20/2015 12:53:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA S-35-DE5RD Black Aluminum / Steel Tower Compact Stylish 5 x 3.5" Hotswap Trayless mini-ITX Tower - Red HDD Handle

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for NAS
Pros: Small and compact, but with reasonable ventilation. Accommodates, but does not include a 120mm fan, don't forget to buy one.

Five trayless SATA hotswap bays - awesome

Has a full height expansion slot header

Nice exterior finish, glossy black with brushed metal
Cons: Accommodates a power supply that is intended to be mounted with one side facing outside, but this case has it mounted internally, using an included IEC power extension cord. This works, but the power supply fan does not blow outside. Also, the mounting location causes the cables to come out on the opposite side from where the ATX header is on my motherboard. I had to buy an ATX extension cable to reach it.

Chintsy construction, the cover is made of scary thin sheet metal and the drive bay door hinges have a lot of slop. Construction does not feel strong and solid.

No reset button. How can you leave out the reset button?

More expensive than other options
Other Thoughts: Other than the power supply shenanigans, I'm happy with this case.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/19/2015 3:38:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D Value D-214-MATX Black Steel 2U Rackmount Compact Server Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Satisfied
Pros: Compact, 2U, micro ATX rack-mountable case with full ATX PSU capability, which seems like a new or new-ish concept. 2 "advertised" 3.5" drive bays, but actually the two internal drive cages have holes for a total of four 3.5" drives. Four 3.5" drives won't fit but I'm using 2.5" drives with 3.5" adapters. I'm also using a shorter depth mATX board. With my adapter I was able to put four 2.5" drives in one cage, leaving the other free for four more 2.5" drives! I don't plan on doing that though. Your results may vary, as your motherboard must not be the longer type, and may also depend on choice of drive adapter.
Cons: Like another reviewer mentioned, there are a lot of screws involved in installing or changing the front fans! I'm not taking any eggs off but will just say it was a test of my dexterity for sure.

Edges not rolled, but not nearly sharp enough to cut me (*whew*). I tested two motherboards and both seemed to barely line up with the screwholes. Seems like the PCI slot grooves (which hold the motherboard side of a PCI card backplate) protrude just a hair too much. MINUS 1 EGG for that.
Other Thoughts: I initially installed an AMD FX8320E with AMD's included OEM heatsink/fan which is very weak (no heatpipes). I skipped installing front 80mm intake fans (MISTAKE #1! LOL). I placed the rig on a wooden shelf and closed the case (Mistake #2!). The whole thing got pretty warm LOL.... as did the shelf! The motherboard mounts right to the bottom of the case, not like many cases which have a mobo tray of some kind, and then a back or bottom cover. Not necessarily a bad thing, but don't skip the front fans!!! A PSU which has an exhaust fan on the back might be preferable also, as there's no actual exhaust fan locations on this case. Again, not docking any eggs for any of this.

I got this on sale and overall I'm satisfied. I'm using this as a dedicated FreeNAS box (AMD single core Sempron 35watt CPU, 4 x 320GB 2.5" drives, FSP 350watt PSU which has an 80mm exhaust fan). I put two 80mm fans in front. Plenty of perforated holes in the back; I can feel air coming through. System runs fairly cool.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/18/2015 4:21:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Habey > Habey EMC-600B Black Heavy duty 3mm aluminum Server Chassis 60W

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Quiet but hot
Pros: Small, includes a fanless/noisless power supply
Room for 2x2.5" drives
Cons: HOT HOT HOT!! I have my home firewall in this which has a low voltage core solo processor. The CPU runs around 88-90 degress. The CPU fan runs at nearly max RPM all the time trying to keep it cooled down. I'm going to get a couple of 40mm Noctuas and attach them to the side to bring in fresh air
Other Thoughts: Don't use this with any high end CPU. Keep it to fanless/low power.
I wouldn't recommend mounting more than 1 drive on the included mounting plate anyways. It's just not worth killing what little cooling you have.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/14/2015 4:41:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.