Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4500 Black Metal/ Steel, 1.0 mm thickness , 4U Rackmount Server Chassis, 15 Internal Bays, 8 Included Cooling Fans

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 good chassis and good value - until you rack it.
Pros: Over the last year, I've purchased four of these, though not from Newegg. All of them have shipped double-boxed and well padded and arrived in perfect condition.

The chassis itself is very sturdy steel, and most of the dangerous sharp edges have been smoothed out. The included fans are very quiet, and this is easily the quietest thing on my rack. Airflow and temperatures are very good.

The included drive mount cages are removable (take out two screws and they slide out the front) and hardware is included to mount 5.25 drives in their place.
Cons: The top panel is held in place by screws through the lips on the side. If your rack has a door in the front, it will probably interfere with removing this panel and you'll have to completely unrack it for service.

The included fans all have cheap 4p molex connectors that are difficult to connect, and the wiring from 8 fans goes everywhere. On the Logisys version of this chassis (CS4803BK, discontinued now), there's a fanbus PCB in the middle of the case. This chassis has the mounting tabs for the PCB, but it's not available for purchase separately.

The drive cages use plastic tool-less rails, but in order to actually access the back of the drive cages you'll either need to remove the cages from the chassis (they slide out the front) or remove the center fan mount bar. (This one is more "observation" than "con".)

Rail kit is not included, which is actually a pro in disguise because the railkit for this chassis is TERRIBLE. The rail kit hardware is made of cheap metal that will try to shave itself right into your fingers during installation, and it doesn't work well on square or round post hole racks. The trick to getting it to rack at all is to hang the rail off the insides of your posts, with the center of the rail straddling 2U and 3U. I ended up mounting the rails to the posts with some bolts from the hardware store with tapered heads that somewhat self-center in the square post holes in an attempt to mitigate the sloppy alignment. The rails don't lock in a fully extended position, either - you'll want a second pair of hands when it's time to load the server into the rails.

The chassis itself takes up every last bit of 4U, which means you can't put it on a generic shelf unless you sacrifice more RU. If you rack this next to anything else, expect it to rub and scrape paint. If you're using the railkit's hardware, you'll probably need to lift the rear of the chassis to get an alignment that will allow you to push it into the rack.

If you install more than one of these, the locking front panels will actually compress against each other and be blocked from opening by the panels below it. To open the panels, you have to open them all, starting at the bottom of the stack.
Other Thoughts: By itself, the chassis itself really deserves 5 eggs for build quality and value, but as a rack unit it has some very annoying shortcomings. I'm only deducting 1 egg because I don't need to rack/unrack very often.
Reviewed By:saeraphas,10/28/2014 12:40:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4500 Black Metal/ Steel, 1.0 mm thickness , 4U Rackmount Server Chassis, 15 Internal Bays, 8 Included Cooling Fans

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What's Not To Like?
Pros: Delivers everything it promises and then some. What it might lack in refinement it more than makes up for in value and practicality.

It's sturdy, great air flow and cooling and the 15 hard drive capacity is hard to match with out spending a lot more money on more elaborate gadgets.
Cons: Any complaints I might have are the most trivial in nature the most significant being the cross bar where the fans are mounted behind the hard drives could benefit from some cut outs one the sides or lower corners to facilitate running of cables.
Other Thoughts: I wish this product had been available many years ago as it would have saved me a small fortune and much aggravation.

I've been running an UNRaid server for several years now and constantly struggling to find a way to utilize as much of the twenty-five (25) HDs support as possible. Spent far to much money stuffing drives into similar sized cases or larger with various cages and devices and never got this close to this much capacity and always had cooling issues.

One (1) Parity Drive, One (1) Cache Drive and Thirteen (13) Data Drives = Thirty-Nine (39) Terabytes of fully protected media ... easy peasy. With HD prices constantly dropping and capacity increasing Fifty-Two (52) Terabytes is just around the corner and the sky is the limit ... or is it?
Reviewed By:Uncle Dirt-Nap,10/28/2014 6:12:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA E-40 Black Steel 4U Rackmount Rugged 15" Compact Chassis 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid well built case
Pros: The metal is thick and sturdy.
Well designed for such a short case.
Did not cut myself once putting it all together(which is very rare).
The front fan filter is a very nice touch(it does restrict flow a little but that is expected).
Cons: No rackmount equipment included except the holes on the front, if you want it to slide into/out of a rack you will need to supply your own rack slides.
Other Thoughts: The system I put into the thing used huge power supply(EVGA 750w Gold modular) which made it very difficult to get the blue-way player in since they but (tried to use the correct word but was denied due to inappropriate word) up together.
I also put in a Asus GeForce GTX Titan Black which has power connectors on the top of it, this made it so that I had to remove the build in hard drive tray and put the SSD's in the drive cage with the Blue-Ray.

a Great case, it did handle all the gear I threw at it and keeps the system nice and cool with low noise.
Was a bit of a pain fitting an ultra high end multimedia system into it but for a 15" deep rackmount it is amazing to have it fit at all.
Reviewed By:Yohon,10/26/2014 1:01:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-340 Black 3U Rackmount Rackmount Chassis Standard ATX power supply 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 The good and the bad
Pros: Shipped well (double boxed)
sturdy case
Lots of storage capacity
Cons: Initially, description suggested that a power supply comes with the case, but it did not.! Newegg was responsive and changed the wording.
.
ATX motherboard does fit but part of the motherboard is under the power supply. This results in the loss of 2 expansion slots and difficult access to some motherboard connections. I would say that this case is not truly compatible with an ATX motherboard, thus I will be returning the case.
Reviewed By:MIH,10/22/2014 12:15:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-430 Black 4U Rackmount Super Short Depth 15.25" Server Case 6 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good value for Small Studio
Pros: I purchased these chassis for radio station automation, and digital audio recording. They are very simplistic, and have been providing service now for three years. The internal fans are very quiet, and I have one only 8' away from an announcer and the noise is not picked up by the microphone.
Cons: I wish it had more USB connections on the front, (has only 1), and it would have been nice if there were more LEDs to indicate multiple drives. These are minor complaints. If using a screw gun or power screwdriver, the handles will get in the way.
Other Thoughts: If you are a musician or work in radio broadcasting, this may be a good low cost alternative especially if you run three drives or less on your system.
Reviewed By:Fredv,10/18/2014 5:07:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4411 Black Metal/ Steel, 1.0 mm thickness, 4U Rackmount Server Chassis, 12 SATA Hot-swap Drives, 5 Included Cooling Fans

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nice chassis with poor drive bays
Pros: The chassis is very roomy and easy to lay out. It handles a full compliment of drives and a full AT server board easily. I like the build quality and think it is a good option for a server on a budget
Cons: The drive bays are unusable. Of the available slots at least half of them would not access the drive unless you nudged the drive in an out a tiny bit until it lit. Then the least bump or touch would cause it to go down. AND LOSE DATA. Some drives (Samsung 1tb) would never work.

It was so bad I bought 3 new iStar BPN-DE350SS and 1 iStar BPN-DE230SS and gutted the old cages out. With tiny modification the iStar cages fit. It all works great now, plus I have enough space for a DVD drive (vertically). It cost as much to fix as the chassis cost to buy, however.
Other Thoughts: I do not recommend this chassis unless you want to spend another $370 fixing the drive bays. Very sad this great chassis used terrible bays.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Thanks for the feedback we will pass it along to our QA and Design teams.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Thanks for the feedback we will pass it along to our QA and Design teams. In the event that you are having troubles please do not hesitate to contact our support team at the number below.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:txNgineer,10/18/2014 1:53:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA E-306L Black Aluminum / Steel 3U Rackmount Server Chassis 6 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Spacious but compromised
Pros: Spacious interior, fan barrier front-to-back cooling, maximum front drive bays (6 5.25" & 2 3.5").
Cons: Flimsy and poorly engineered rack mounting details, noisy fans all wired for Molex 4-pin power supply connections.
Other Thoughts: For a 3U rack mount chassis you couldn't get more interior space than this one. And the front is almost completely dedicated to drive bays, so you couldn't get any more front drive bays either. Unfortunately these pluses must be weighed against the rack mounting details, which are barely more than flimsy imitations of real rack mount equipment.

When you look at the chassis you are immediately confronted by the very peculiar looking rack ears. Later you find out that they not only look peculiar, but they are virtually useless as well. I will come back to that.

Looking at the sides of the case, there are tapped mounting holes for standard rack slides. For a chassis of this size, use of rack slides is just about mandatory, so the mounting holes are good news. Until you look more closely and try to use them. They are tapped for relatively tiny 6-32 screws, whereas serious rack cases of this size and weight would be expected to have 10-32 mountings, as do the rack slides themselves. And when you look even more closely at the tapped holes you discover that they are only tapped into the sheet metal of the case sides -- there are no bushings backing them up. This is a recipe for stripped threads (already one of my mounting holes is stripped) and for weak, easily broken attachment of slides to the case.

Later, when you try to install the chassis, with slides, into a rack you discover that those peculiar rack ears are mounted to the case sides by tiny screws even smaller than 6-32, which means that they are mostly for show -- they couldn't possibly support the weight of the case by front mounting, leaving slides (or shelf) as the only options. But wait, there is more. Because the front space of the case is totally dedicated to drive bays, there is no place for the rack ears to be attached. So they are attached to the sides of the case, as I said before. But when you install the case with slides and push the case into the rack you find out that the mountings collide with the rack slides, leaving the front of the case sticking out by about an inch. Solution: remove the rack ears. This allows the case to become nearly flush in the front, but it looks kind of stupid. Conclusion: the iStar engineers designed more of a looks-like-a-rack-server case than a serious one.

The interior barrier with 4 80mm fans is great for cooling, but the fans themselves are very noisy and probably cheap in construction. They are wired for 4-pin Molex powering from the PSU; there is no way to attach them to speed-controlled motherboard fan connectors either. I replaced them with 4 Thermaltake fans with 3-pin MB connectors. By making a custom cable I also powered the 2 60mm fans at the back the same way. Together, these changes cut noise at the front by 5.5 dB, which is more than it sounds like.

In conclusion, the case is installed and doing OK, but it is a seriously compromised bit of engineering. Buy it only if you can tolerate the issues.
Reviewed By:cognitive93,10/17/2014 4:21:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-250 Black 2U Rackmount Server Chassis

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Awesome case for the price
Pros: This case is very good for the price.
Everything in the case comes apart with simple hand tools
Front and rear drive bays allow for use of either ATX or 2U power supply. Pretty nice design consideration
Cons: The case cover could use a vent for ATX Power supply users. The power supply can get hot spots and cause extra heat for the front facing hard drive bay due to the fact that most high powered supplies are vented on the top rather than the rear.
Takes a lot of time and thought to figure out how everything goes together. VERY tight fit with ATX power supply.
Other Thoughts: Over all I like the case a lot. It works great for my home KVM test lab. I had no issues fitting standard ATX components in it (except the power supply, I may eventually drill out the top cover to make a vent for the power supply I chose)
Reviewed By:therealsethgriffin,10/15/2014 6:57:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Ark Technology Inc. > ARK IPC-2U238 Black 2U Rackmount Server Case 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice smaller rack mount case
Pros: Low price, clean looks, rigid metal, rear mounted power supply option, plenty of ventillation, front mounted usb ports, plenty of low profile PCI expansion slot openings.
Cons: The 80mm fans were sleeve bearing fans, but at this price point thats to be expected. I replaced them for under 10 dollars with some longer life ball bearing fans. Not too big of a deal.

My first case came damaged in a perfectly packaged box. Must have been dropped in the factory?? Newegg sent out an advanced replacement. Service here as usual is second to none.

Blue light is obnoxiously bright. Not a real con to me, but for someone that might be using this thing as a home theater pc, they would most likely put a piece of tape over it.

No major flaws in my opinion that I would knock off an egg for.
Other Thoughts: I built a small firewall box (runnning PfSense software) with this case. I like the fact that the power supply is connected to the rear of the case, unlike some in this size niche that mount it in the center of the case. The case is pretty solid and very clean looking.

Overall, I am very happy with it and would recommend this case.
Reviewed By:mosestech99,10/14/2014 9:16:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-DD3U36E608 Black 1.2mm Steel 3U Rackmount Server Case 600W 80 PLUS Bronze 6 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 waste of time and money
Pros: It's made of steel
Cons: Alignment issues when attempting to install a 5 1/4" device, fixed standoffs that do not match the mounting points for my ASUS Z9PE-D16, low quality/low performance fans, power button on the external face of the case (defeats the purpose of having security features), power supply is low output and noisy
Other Thoughts: Another user complained about similar problems. I should've taken heed. But, i took a chance since i needed to hit a specific budget cost. By the response from the manufacturer and their poor grammar, its obvious that their technical knowledge is low. It's hilarious how they speak of requiring fixed standoffs in order for the motherboard not to come loose in industrial environments. The pain in removing the 5 1/4" brackets, installing the devices, and remounting the entire assembly just to find out that it doesn't line up is frustrating in itself. Remove the assembly, repeat the process over and over again until everything looks good should be a show stopper for anyone. To sum up this case in one word -- horrible.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your review of our product. Providing a quality product is an important facet of our business at ACPC.
Athena Power RM-DD3U36E608 is designed for being compatible with standard ATX motherboard form factor and up to E-ATX size. We understand some users will face an EEB form factor motherboard screw holes cannot align chassis standoffs designed for standard ATX form factor, so we have clear product specifications in our product page: http://athenapower.com/product/ipc-rackmount-chassis/3u-rackmount/rm-dd3u36e.
If users encounter when using the ACPC products have any question, we encourage and welcome users can contact our Customer Service at: 626-810-5008 or E-mail to: service@athenapower.us

Reviewed By:GreenPRC,10/13/2014 9:34:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau