Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > In Win > IN WIN IW-MS04-01-S265 Black 0.8 mm SGCC Mini ITX (M/B cooler maximum 65mm) Tower Mini 4 Bay Server Tower with 265Watts 80+ bronze Flex ATX power supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid case, great layout and design
Pros: Removable motherboard tray
Easy slim ODD mounting
Hot swap trays are well built
Included hardware is organized in bags and labeled
60mm CPU cooler height
Power connector for a slim ODD already wired on
Included PSU is silent
Magnetic front door latch
Well packaged
Cons: Power led is pretty blinding. I may end up unplugging it since I'm using this for a HTPC
Other Thoughts: Case is very easy to work with. There's no 'build order' you need to follow since all hardware is easily accessible. Motherboard tray pops out with 2 screws and a latch.

The locks on the hot swap trays use just a regular hex head key, so no worries about misplacing the included key.

Originally I installed a Noctua NH-L9i with a 92 x 92 x 38 mm fan, which did barely fit. However changing to a 92 x 92 x 25 mm fan I got better cooling since the fan wasn't shrouded so much by the hot swap cage.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Michael,

Thank you for leaving feedback on our MS04 server chassis. We are happy to read that you are enjoying the case, and we hope it continues to serve you well. Thank you for choosing In Win.

Best regards,

In Win Development Inc.

Reviewed By:Michael S.,5/3/2016 6:43:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-1U100DR22 Black Aluminum / Steel 1U Rackmount Server Case FLEX 220W 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Quality case, but be careful on Mobo selection
Pros: Good finish, seemingly good quality case. I like the 1U form factor since I have some 19" rack mounts on my work desk.
Cons: -Lack of documentation with case, but not a big deal if you have built a system before.

-My biggest issue is that I bought a mini ITX board, knowing this is a Mini ITX case (as stated in Athena's own specs for this case), and the motherboard was too tall due to the sound outlets. I used an MSI H81I ITX motherboard. Just like the other reviewer who ran into this problem with the sound outlets being too tall, I desoldered them since I didn't need sound on this build, and after that I was mostly good to go, except the cover for the rear plugs (to keep dust out of the mobo) was also too tall for this case. I'm not sure whether to blame the case or the motherboard, but I assume that a mini-ITX board should always fit in a mini ITX case properly.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this case only if you contact Athena prior to purchasing and verify your motherboard will fit. Otherwise I would beware. I'm still happy with it, but I feel I had to hack it together and that wasn't the plan.
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer, thank you for your reviews on Athena Power RM-1U100DR22. We apologize about the chassis fitting issue happened to you. We strongly encourage that user who has the similar issue, please contact our Customer Service and Tech Support team via landline (626)810-5008 or email service@athenapower.us during our regular business hours (8:30am-5:30pm, MON-FRI).

Furthermore, according to a standard 19-in rack mount chassis specifications, the chassis outline height of a standard 1U chassis is 1.75 inch (44.45mm). This height is already including the thickness of material of chassis. Athena Power RM-1U100DR22 chassis material is T=1.2mm SECC, so the chassis inner height is around 42.05mm. User also need to notice the M/B standoffs height; it's around 4mm high.

Reviewed By:Michael G.,4/30/2016 7:52:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > Supermicro Superchassis Cse-504-203B 200W Mini 1U Rackmount Server Chassis (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing case when coupled with proper mainboard
Pros: Perfect case for a clean pfSense build using one of the newer 4 or 8 core Atom mainboards from Supermicro, if you don't need the front-facing I/O design of the CSE-505-203B. Case is well laid out, with many options for adding accessories.
Cons: Supermicro site can be a bit difficult to navigate and identify proper parts and accessories.
Other Thoughts: Previous commenter was incorrect. The correct case for the MBD-X7SPA-HF-O mainboard is the CSE-502L-200B not the CSE-504-203B being reviewed here. The correct mainboard(s) for this are the newer Supermicro Atom mainboards featuring the Rangeley series of processors. (C2550, C2558, C2750, C2758). I've personally used it in several builds featuring the MBD-A1SRi-2758F-O.
Reviewed By:Mark B.,4/29/2016 9:57:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO CSE-825TQ-563LPB Black 2U Rackmount Server Case 560W

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic rackmount case with 8 hot-swap bays!
Pros: Supermicro quality
Ample room for a variety of motherboard form factor
Quiet versus other solutions of the same form factor
8 hot swap drive bays
Variety of included cables and accessories
Excellent, easy to remove hot swappable fans
Cons: Doesn't include another set of the various length SATA cables that make backplane connectivity easier.
Other Thoughts: I decided to take the plunge on a SuperMicro rackmount case based on feedback from a variety of sources. Prior to procuring the CSE-825TQ-563LPB, I was using an inexpensive Norco 4U short-depth case. As my intended application for the system I was putting together was FreeNAS, the desire for hot swap bays moved from a "nice to have" to "mandatory". Navigating SuperMicro's site to ensure my motherboard selection wouldn't present any unexpected challenges took some time, as products that are not current don't seem to get the same level of attention to detail with respect to refreshes related to component compatibility.

Further searching showed another company that was selling a pre-assembled solution using this enclosure and the motherboard I planned on using (review coming soon, but it was the X10SL7-F-O). I took the plunge on this combo, along with some Seagate Constellation ES.3 drives to fill out the first four bays. Upon arrival of all of the components, I got to work putting it all together. This case is exceptionally well constructed, with power supply cable lengths that are optimized for SuperMicro motherboards (as others have noted). Outside of removing an adjustable plate and relocating some of the motherboard standoffs, nothing else required modification to bring the system to life.

As others have noted in various forums and reviews, the area behind the SAS Backplane can quickly get congested if you're using standard SATA/SAS cables. The kit included with this case is good for establishing 4 links, with the appropriate diversity of length for the distances between each drive slot. A second set of matching cables can be ordered for ~$30, and it is worth the investment if you want a clean install with optimized airflow. After 45 minutes, I had a fully operational server that makes far less noise than an outgoing HP DL360 G5. If this case is being installed in rack that will be stored in another floor or a closet, the fan noise won't be noticed.

The thermals have been excellent in a home office environment (sans datacenter-level HVAC), and the hot swap bays have already come in handy for an early life failure on a brand new drive. The recent influx of SuperMicro solutions has cleaned up my rack, right-sized my power consumption, and provided a remote office/branch office type of solution that businesses would desire. While this case may cost more than lesser offerings that don't come with comparable cooling, nor include a quality power supply, the overall value of this case can't be beat. There's nothing worse than going too far down the budget path and having to double your expenses to ultimately get what you should have purchased in the first place. You will not regret spending that little extra up front and getting all of the amenities that this case has to offer!
Reviewed By:James R.,4/27/2016 6:41:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-313SE-MATX Black Aluminum / Steel 3U Rackmount Compact Industrial Chassis - Black Bezel 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Took a chance ... and lost
Pros: It is inexpensive and has great reviews
Cons: The standoffs are too short for the mother board I bought - another reviewer posted the solution and I can move on with the build
Other Thoughts: No documentation included ?
Reviewed By:pj g.,4/27/2016 10:33:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-414L-7SE Black Steel 4U Rackmount High Performance 14-Slot Chassis 7 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Blast from the Past
Pros: Fits AT and XT motherboards.
Cons: Not sure if photos are correct. I don't know too many people that would have a need for this case, because the common motherboard today is ATX.
Other Thoughts: I got a great laugh out of this ad. This Ad made my day.
Reviewed By:Kevin H.,4/26/2016 2:08:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-4224 4U Rackmount Server Case with 24 Hot-Swappable SATA/SAS Drive Bays

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cheap!
Pros: It's Cheap! That's it..
Cons: One of the backplane's does not work and Norco never responds to support. I've emailed them twice, and NO matter what time you call them, they send you to voicemail. Due to their lack of response and service, I will NEVER buy NORCO products again. Worst Support EVER!!!!
Other Thoughts: Buy another brand. You might actually get tech support.
Reviewed By:Ixus S.,4/21/2016 2:54:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-450 4U Rackmount Server Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Simple and cheap
Pros: 4U Norco Case that Supports Full Size EEB motherboards (needed for my Intel CP2600S board)
Solid build, and I mean it is solid. I haven't measured the steel but it's probably 1mm thick. (Warning it is going to be heavy)
Potential to be rack mounted.
Cons: Rear PCI expansion slots have the one time cutaway covers. Possibly to cut down on costs. Given that the metal is quite thick I'll be finding it hard to remove once I get a PCIe expansion card like a NIC or Graphics card.
Opening it up and looking inside. The edges are a little on the rough side careful not to cut yourself. It's fine closed up. Don't carry when open. You'll risk hurting yourself (speculation based on observation).
Other Thoughts: OEM, no user-manual in the box (at least not in mine).
It's not light, nor flimsy.
Came with plenty of screws and other fixtures in the box.
You want a rackmount-able case for unconventional size'd boards? You found it. It costs as much as a typical mid-tower case without the frills of course. And it has two 120mm fans on the drive cages.
It feels really sturdy.
There is no visible cable management. I have not owned or worked in a server case before. Not sure if there are typically cable management in the case or not. Had to do with bundling cables together and laying them around the motherboard as much as possibly.
Drive cages are typical. It does have dampening rings for each set of screw holes per drive bay.
Note the bottom bay will be vary close to the bottom of the case. Take care to not over-stress your connectors.
It has a dust filter in the security door.
The locking mechanism is simple. It doesn't fit very well, you'll need to push the door with a little force to be able to "lock" it.
And apparently there are three potential network activity connectors on the front I/O. I only have two hooked up, no third interface on my motherboard.
Reviewed By:Johnny M.,4/20/2016 1:15:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Chenbro > CHENBRO SR30169T2-250 0.8mm SGCC, Hi-PS Pedestal Compact Server Chassis for SOHO & SMB Office 250W

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 nice 4 hot swap bays
Pros: better than qnap
Cons: just a tight little box, gotta beat the hell out of the sides
Other Thoughts: why spend 1500.00 + tax for a proprietary build with security issues when freenas is all that is needed
Reviewed By:FOR Y.,4/18/2016 2:12:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4500 - 4U Rackmount Server Case or Chassis - 15 Internal Bays, 8 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Buy!
Pros: -Very big
-Excellent cooling
-Lots of HDD bays
-Rails **(see other)**
Cons: -None
Other Thoughts: -A LOT of people have complained about having trouble to rail mount this case. I was nervous before ordering any rails for it, but after looking around plenty of forums I ended up buying the rosewill rails that were made for this case ( Rosewill RSV-R26LX - 26" 3-Section Ball-Bearing Sliding Rail Kit, mine was an open box item). These rails are a little more difficult to align since the screws do not screw into the L-brackets but instead use bolts to tighten. I left the rails mounted to my rack loose when installing my server case and I was able to mount it first try, then I just tightened everything up when it was fully installed.
I have a Dell PS38S 42U cabinet, I am not sure if the door has any extra room compared to other cabinets (this is the only one I have ever owned) but my door closes without issue, as many others said this was another problem they had. The bolts make the handles/ears rise off of the vertical rack beam about 1/3" but I do not need to have it flush.
All in all, no issues and I have an excellent case that I can slide in and out of my rack without any problems.
Reviewed By:Mark N.,4/18/2016 11:46:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.