Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Complete Failure in Less that 1 Year
Pros: Price
Cons: Drive has completely failed. The drive was used in a home environment, never moved or dropped, sat on my desk, never abused, nothing spilled on it, and was treated gingerly. It no longer powers up fully and just keeps making a strange clicking noise, and the power light doesn't turn on. I've tried several power outlets and it doesn't make a difference. There's a lot of valuable data on there and a complete catastrophic failure like this with about a year of gentle use is completely unacceptable.

I planned on getting another drive in about a year or two from today, to back-up this one, in case it failed, but it should've never happened that soon. All sorts of valuable data is likely gone forever. I always trusted Seagate until this and will now likely consider other options.
Reviewed By:mmadallas,3/30/2015 5:17:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 3TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Storage WDBWLG0030HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works
Pros: I can't speak for the durability of the drive, but so far it has been plug, and play. Windows 7 backup doesn't work on it. Windows problem I think. I haven't used the trial backup software, so I can't rate that either. Works as a back up drive, as it should.
Cons: I need to track down why Windows 7 is unable to backup to the hard drive. I used another back up utility that seems to work fine.
Reviewed By:Toebender,3/29/2015 1:07:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives 2TB eSATA/ USB 3.0 GFORCE3 USB 3.0 ESATA Aluminum External Hard Drive GF3B2000EU Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Overheating and thrashing
Pros: No fuss set up.
Cons: DVR is constantly writing to drive and its overheating. I can hear the heads thrashing on one second cycle and the case is vibrating.
Other Thoughts: 58 days of service is all for this drive. I do not recommend it.
Reviewed By:itsmebobo,3/29/2015 1:22:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 6TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT6000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 seemed ok until I added another internal drive.
Pros: lots of space, price not bad, 100M+ read rate
Cons: slow write compared to the 3tb version. the 3tb had consistent write speed of 100M+ until it was 75% full. this 6tb runs closer to 60M when empty. also, when I installed a new secondary drive, the external drive lost all my data. no idea what happened. luckily this is solely used as a backup to my internal 6t drive which is still fine. currently recloning to the external drive. not overly trusting this drive now... will be 5 hours to copy the 2.5tb to it again.
Reviewed By:olds97_lss,3/28/2015 7:47:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > LaCie > LaCie D2 Quadra 5TB External Hard Drive - Retail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 don't waste your money
Pros: none
Cons: loaded with bloatware. Is not plug in play, you have to install software to use it. Owned for 3 weeks before it completely died, would not power on any more.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/27/2015 3:35:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio Desk 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive HDWC130XK3J1 Black -Retail

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works fine with one slight issue.
Pros: Price was great, Drive has been reliable and serves up good speed for streaming video.
Cons: Required purchase of an add on card for USB 3.
Other Thoughts: I bought this initially as a long term storage device not considering speed. I later decided to push the drive to see how well it could work with all the right parts, so I bought a USB-3 adapter card, as my Motherboard is of pre USB3 design. The drive does work with USB-2 but is a bit sluggish when connected there.

Since putting all the parts together (USB-3 adapter/USB-3 drive), this USB-3 drive has become my primary storage and server drive for all of iTunes purchases and other video that I stream to Apple TV in my home.
Reviewed By:JonW,3/27/2015 11:26:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 6TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT6000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 1 month review
Pros: It works. It is plugged into a Synology Rackstation RS812+ and being used for scheduled backups.
Cons: None at this point.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 6:04:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 3TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC3.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 In reply to John M.
Pros: Has been rock steady for me , despite the fact that I have it sitting on the floor next to my desk and have kicked it several times.
Cons: Their instructions can actually be confusing to new users . Anyone with any tech savvy will probably do as I did and just repartition it and reformat it from within Windows and dump the tools they provide.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure by what you mean "A Buffalo Drive inside" ... Buffalo doesn't actually manufacture hard drives. They make the external units . They use drives from Seagate , Western Digital , or Toshiba , depending on who gives them the best discounts for buying in bulk and also gives good performance in their product.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/25/2015 7:20:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Errors Galore
Pros: None
Cons: No internal fan. Overheats quickly resulting in read/write errors. The included skinny data cable is under capacity.
Other Thoughts: I have 2 of these drives & both have read/write errors occurring anywhere from 1 to 15 minutes after connecting. I tried a test where I replaced the supplied skinny data cables on both drives with stockier USB 3.0 cables I had but this measure only reduces errors for the first few minutes immediately after connecting. Just a fews minutes after connecting the errors begin.

When errors occur, the error handling routine asks if you want to try again or skip the file being processed. Trying again always results in a failure of the current file being read or written. Sometimes I'll even get a message saying "you must reformat this drive before you can begin using it".


In the reviews here one person (kudos to him) said he buys these external drives, opens them up and removes the drives within to use as internal drives. I followed his lead with one of my 2 drives and plugged the removed Seagate drive into an Orico external hard drive docker that I bought on NewEgg (it came with a fat data cable). I had no errors after approximately 60 minutes straight of copying a large volume of data to the Seagate drive while it was mounted in the Orico external docking station, not one error. My conclusion is that cheap parts chosen by Seagate are causing data errors. My 4 TB drive appears to be working fine once I removed it from the error ridden Seagate external housing. Cheap parts, i.e. skinny cable, no internal fan (and possibly the internal USB 3.0 circut board) = data errors.

I killed the warranty on 1 drive (so far) but I wasn't about to go through an RMA scenario with Seagate just to get a refurbished drive as a replacement having the same issues.
Reviewed By:I've been taken,3/25/2015 1:53:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard DriveSTSHX-D501TDB Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Internal use
Pros: Large, what else is there to say, it functions fine and has a ton of space
Cons: The case is rather difficult to open in order to extract the HDD and use it internally.
Other Thoughts: don't forget to change it to a GPT if you're going to use this internally.
Reviewed By:Screwyluie,3/25/2015 12:09:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.