Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Innov8 8TB Desktop External Hard Drive - USB-C Powered - STFG8000400

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Huge "portable" storage
Pros: Built like a Tiger tank, think a brick with a USB connection.
Simple power/data over just USB
Good enough performance for data storage ~110Mb/s write speed for large files (1gb), 140Mb/s read speed to SSD
You don't need and goofy software to get up and running.
Included backup package works well and is easily programmable to set back up intervals and folder syncing.
Cons: This thing is heavy like "wow this thing is heavy" heavy. Apparently 8Tb of data weighs 3.4lbs... thats nearly 1/2lb per terabyte.
There is no place to store the USB cable when on the move unless you use the included overly nice packaging case
The drive is a 5900rpm drive and so is not really fast enough to fully utilize the USB 3.1 data transfer speeds.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this device only if you plan on adding some removable storage to your home network or data backup for the office. If you plan on having 8Tb on the go this may be just too heavy to lug around with you versus other large capacity solutions that due have a power adapter and have more universal USB connectivity. Overall though this is a very solid storage option that does simplify the power adapter situation.
Reviewed By:Christoph S.,8/23/2016 11:26:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop Hard Drive STCA3000101 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't Buy It (There is a class action lawsuit against Seagate for this hard drive's high fail rate)
Pros: Large size
Cons: - Hard drive fail
- Experience videos pause when watch videos
- Experience games crash (I install to another drive and didn't experience the same thing)
Other Thoughts: I really regret try to save money and bought this hard drive.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/22/2016 11:56:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Innov8 8TB Desktop External Hard Drive - USB-C Powered - STFG8000400

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Huge drive, both in capacity and in physical size
Pros: The Seagate Innov8 is built like a tank. The drive is encased in a heavy heat-sink. In my experience the reliability of external drives has been awful, every one that I've owned has died. I attribute this lack of reliability to heat. Unlike internal drives which are generally cooled by a fan, external drives are usually enclosed in an unventilated plastic case which traps the heat inside. Seagate has addressed this problem by enclosing the drive in a heavy aluminum heat-sink which should do a vastly superior job of cooling the drive. Obviously I can't say for sure what the long term reliability of this drive will be but I'm optimistic that it will be better than any external drive that I've used in the past.

The interface is USB3.1 using the new USB-C connector. A short USB C cable is included in the package. If you have a Skylake generation computer then you probably have a USB-C connector, if not you will need to purchase a USB-A to USB-C cable. USB 3.1 is capable of 10GBit/sec which exceeds the requirement of any hard drive by a factor of 6, USB 3.0, found on most modern computers, is also adequate for this drive.

The performance is decent for an external hard drive. I tested the drive using gnome-disks and sys_basher on a Skylake iCore7 system running Fedora 24. Sys_basher reporting read speeds up to 140 MBytes/sec and write speeds up 132MBytes/sec. The test summary is below,

Gnome-disks: I ran gnome-disks using three different transfer sizes, 1MByte, 10MByte and 100MBYte. The results are shown below,

1MB
Read 47.2 MB/sec
Write 20.5 MB/sec
Access 21.67 msec

10 MB
Read 132 MB/sec
Write 46.7 MB/sec
Access 22 msec

100 MB
Read 127 MB/sec
Write 114.1 MB/sec
Access 22 msec

Sys_basher: I also ran sys_basher which benchmarked the disk with file sizes ranging from 1K to 64M.

Read
Size MBytes/Sec
1K 2.03
2K 4.42
4K 8.87
8K 15.78
16K 21.56
64K 40.55
256K 56.12
1M 92.32
4M 85.06
16M 99.10
64M 143.27

Write
Size MBytes/Sec
1K 0.02
2K 0.04
4K 0.09
8K 0.22
16K 0.44
64K 1.78
256K 7.11
1M 8.48
4M 32.41
16M 89.97
64M 132.17
Cons: The downside of the heavy aluminum case is that it's big and heavy. I think the tradeoff is worth it but this is very large case.
Other Thoughts: I'm a Newegg eggXpert. I've been designing computers since the 1970s, I specialize in high performance systems. Newegg provides experts with review copies of the devices but we receive no compensation and we are instructed to give honest reviews even if they are bad.
Reviewed By:Joshua R.,8/20/2016 7:21:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Innov8 8TB Desktop External Hard Drive - USB-C Powered - STFG8000400

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 The World's Largest External HDD
Pros: I reviewed Seagate’s new Innov8 USB 3.1 type C external hard drive. The main advantage of this drive is its copious 8TB of storage capacity. It’s also an external drive making this huge storage capacity portable. This is the first 3.5" external hard drive of its size that can operate from a single USB-C port. No external power adapter is needed, or included. Unless you own a Mac with the latest Lightening port, the next fastest available data port is now the USB 3.1 type C, 2nd generation. This new USB standard supports data transfer rates up to 10Gb/Sec.

Seagate also lists these additional advantages for the Innov8:

+ 8TB USB-C powered external desktop storage solution
+ Seagate Ignition Boost Technology
+ All-aluminum enclosure
+ NTFS driver for Mac
+ Features the new reversible USB type C port (I added this one - very nice)

Warranty:
Limited Warranty period (parts): 5 years*
Limited Warranty period (labor): 5 years*

*Note: NewEgg states 5-years, while Seagate’s website states only 3-years for the warranty?

The Innov8 was packaged in an impressive display box with a top lid that included a closure flap that is held shut by two hidden magnets. The box is lined with a dense dark gray foam rubber to help cushion and protect the drive while its being transported. A rectangular shaped bottom cutout was big enough to hold the owners manual and the included 1Ft long USB 3.1 type C cable. There was also another cutout at one end to make it easier to get your fingers underneath the drive to help lift it out the box.

This drive is fairly heavy at 3.3Lbs. The drive case is made entirely out of aluminum, with grooves machined into it to act as heat sink fins for passive cooling. The case features nice rounded corners, a front mounted blue activity LED and an overall heavy duty industrial appearance. The enterprise grade SMR HDD used inside the Innov8 is reported to use six 1.33TB platters. The Innov8 was very quiet while operating and only became slightly warm while in use.

The Innov8 external drive was simple to install. Just make sure you have the requisite USB 3.1 type C port available on your host computer. See the Cons section below for further details on that matter. The Innov8 provided 7.27TB of available disk space. The Innov8 ships preformatted with the ExFAT file system. It also had an “autorun” file that was designed to launch your default browser and take you directly to Seagate’s website. Once at the website the new drive owner is prompted to register the drive and to download a free copy of the Seagate Dashboard backup software.

Here are the Crystal Diskmark results:

Sequential Read (Q=32,T=1): 38.274 MB/s
Sequential Write (Q=32,T=1): 36.624 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q=32,T=1): 0.663 MB/s [ 161.9 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q=32,T=1): 7.011 MB/s [1711.7 IOPS]
Sequential Read (T=1): 41.732 MB/s
Sequential Write (T=1): 38.592 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q=1,T=1): 0.629 MB/s [ 153.6 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q=1,T=1): 6.530 MB/s [1594.2 IOPS]

Note the slow random read/write 4KiB results. This is probably due to the SMR recording method used to multi-layer the data on to the platters, combined with a lot of head seeks, a low RPM platter speed and a lack of NCQ support.

I next deleted the ExFAT partition and reformatted the drive to the NTFS file system and repeated the same tests. See the new results below:

Sequential Read (Q=32,T=1): 39.797 MB/s
Sequential Write (Q=32,T=1): 37.564 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q=32,T=1): 0.656 MB/s [ 160.2 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q=32,T=1): 7.009 MB/s [1711.2 IOPS]
Sequential Read (T=1): 41.523 MB/s
Sequential Write (T=1): 38.591 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q=1,T=1): 0.615 MB/s [ 150.1 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q=1,T=1): 6.958 MB/s [1698.7 IOPS]

Surprisingly there was little performance difference between the ExFAT and the NTFS file systems on this drive. After reformatting the drive to NTFS, the Seagate Dashboard utility could no longer recognize the drive on my system, rendering it useless. The free Macrium Reflect 6.x backup had no issues locating the new drive. I used it instead to backup my two SSD drives to the Innov8.

During the backup tests, transfer rates averaged a modest 250Mb to 292Mb/Sec, and took 32:48 to backup my C: drive with 69GB and over four hours to backup a data drive with 510GB of compressed backup data.

I read that the Seagate Ignition Boost Technology uses an internal battery to help boost the normal 5VDC USB power supply up to the 12VDC needed to kick-start the 3.5" drive’s 12VDC platter motor. Once up to speed the battery is no longer needed. So you should probably avoid powering this drive on and off too frequently, or you may end up draining its battery similar to a car.
Cons: The main con is the Innov8's limited connectivity due to having only one data port (USB 3.1 type-C) on its drive enclosure. While it might be fashionable to only offer a single port, it would have been more practical if Seagate had also included a standard round 5VDC power supply connector for those situations where only a USB-type-A, (lower power USB 2.0, or 3.0 host port) is available. They could then offer an optional AC wall adapter to allow the Innov8 to be used with older hardware.

A USB 3.0 type B port would have also been handy for attaching the Innov8 to present-day laptop and desktop computers. Using this type of port would again require an external power supply to power the Innov8. What would have been even more innovative in my humble opinion would have been for Seagate to offer a much smaller enclosure with two of their 2.5" - 4TB laptop drives stacked inside, using JBOD technology. That setup could probably be powered from a standard USB 3.0 host port, or using a dual USB-A plug hookup.

I am also surprised that this external drive does not offer any WIFI support? What about an Ethernet port so it could be placed on a network? This would be a great use for a drive this large.

To get around the need for a USB 3.1 type C port, I thought about buying a USB-A to type-C adapter cable, however Seagate’s Innov8 website states: “Using a USB-C-to-USB-A cable adapter will not damage the Innov8 product or computer, but using such an adapter is not supported.” Although the Innov8 should be backwards compatible with slower bandwidth USB connections, I suspect the power requirements of the Innov8 are the main issue here. My next thought was what about buying an active USB hub, with its own external power supply, but again Seagate’s website had this to say: “Can the Innov8 function while connected to a USB hub, dock, or dongle? Individual results may vary, but connecting the Innov8 to this kind of equipment is not supported.” What a bummer Seagate! I think it would be worth Seagate’s time and effort to do some lab testing and then recommend some alternative USB cables or hubs that will work reliably with the Innov8. This would make it more useful.

You will quickly find that the more commonly available USB 2.0, or 3.0 rectangular shaped “A” ports as seen on most computers, simply can’t supply enough power for the Innov8 to operate reliably. Even though USB 3.1 type C is expected to be adopted into the market fairly quickly, it will be years until today’s current crop of desktops, laptops and tablets are replaced with newer models capable of handling the new USB standard’s 5V/3A current needs. By that time 8TB or larger external hard drives should be pretty commonplace. I would also expect this 3.5" drive with its heavier power needs to more quickly drain the battery on any laptop or tablet device that is not kept connected to an AC power source. That leaves the only current realistic market for these drives to be either desktop computers or small servers that can handle the higher USB power demands.

Its fairly large and its heavy, this limits the Innov8's portability and overall utility. On the plus side you won’t have to worry about the Innov8 accidentally sliding off a smooth desktop.

The supplied one foot long USB 3.1 type C male to type C male cable was way too short to be used for anything but laptops. A 3Ft/1M long cable would have made a lot more sense. From what I have read there are only two laptop models currently on the market capable of supporting the Innov8, an Apple Macbook series and a Google Chromebook series. That is not a lot of laptop choices. As newer laptop models are introduced this Fall, the USB 3.1 type C interface should become more commonplace. Most mid to high-end desktops should be upgradable with a PCI-E expansion card like the one I used for my testing. (See Other Thoughts below).
Other Thoughts: When offered the opportunity to test the Innov8, the first thing I asked myself was what can I plug the Innov8 into? Since the drive was already on its way, I immediately ordered an IOGear model GIC3C2 PCI-Express, USB 3.1 type-C expansion card for my main desktop PC. The IOGear PCI-E card I ordered has two USB 3.1 type-C, with reversible connectors on its back plate. They are rated to support up to 10Gb/sec and can supply the 5V/3A power needed by the Innov8. A PCB mounted female SATA power socket on the IOGear expansion card needs to be connected to a spare SATA power cable inside the desktop PC. This avoids drawing too much power from the PCI-E expansion bus and possibly damaging the motherboard. The IOGear USB 3.1 type C expansion card installed and performed flawlessly. Highly recommended. Search NewEgg for it.

I encountered a strange issue with the Windows 7 File Explorer. I wanted to assign the drive a new drive label called “Innov8", versus the Windows default “Local Disk” label. After I hit “Apply” nothing happened. I repeated the command, still no go. So I viewed the drive using the Windows Disk Manager and the correct drive label was displayed. The “Safely Remove” icon also displayed the correct drive label. One forum site I visited recommended to unmount the drive and then try remounting it, this did not work. I next tried rebooting my system, again no go. I have seen this Windows bug before with flash drives that use the ExFAT file system, so after running the Crystal Disk benchmarks I decided to quick format the Innov8 using the NTFS file system. This solved the labeling issue in File Explorer.

Seagate’s website offered little to no information on the particular desktop drive that was installed inside the Innov8's case. I suspect based on the leisurely transfer rates that it must be a slower 5,400, or 5,900 RPM, SMR archival hard drive. The five-year warranty, if that is accurate, indicates it may also be an enterprise grade drive. The new USB-C standard still does not support AHCI (Advanced Host Controller Interface) mode, nor NCQ (Native Command Queuing). NCQ helps to speedup random reads/writes by allowing the controller to reorganize the data to minimize the amount of head movement required by the HDD. This is probably why the Innov8 did so poorly on the 4K random reads/writes tests in the Crystal Diskmark.

While the general trend in computing has always been toward smaller, lighter and faster devices, the Innov8 drive is kind of an anachronism. It utilizes a larger, heavier 3.5" HDD mounted inside a heavy, metal case, while offering limited connectivity. The 10 Gb/Sec, USB 3.1 type C interface seems wasted considering the slow HDD installed inside the Innov8. A USB 3.0 interface should have been plenty fast without the limited connectivity issues of the USB 3.1 type C interface. There is also the concern of putting all of your eggs into one big basket. Could you afford to lose 8TB of data should this drive ever fail? How would you backup the data stored on an Innov8? In its favor the Innov8 external drive has won a design award and it offers a large amount of storage capacity at an increasingly affordable price point. I would recommend that potential buyers hold off purchasing this drive and instead wait and see what the competition comes up with, then make your final purchase decision.

Assigning an Egg rating for this drive was somewhat difficult. Basically you have one of the world’s first and largest external hard drives, yet offering only limited connectivity and limited portability, inside a nice looking, yet heavy case, and with poor data transfer rates. You may also need to purchase a longer cable and a laptop style case to store this drive in, if you plan to take it with you on the road. I don’t see too many people wanting to go to all of that bother. I was also disappointed by the drive’s overall performance. So the Innov8's mostly likely usage scenario is either permanently resting on a desktop, or connected to a backroom router or mini-server acting as mass storage device. Given its slow read/write speeds, limited utility and lack of redundancy, I can only award it three eggs.
Reviewed By:William W.,8/18/2016 5:09:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 8TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT8000100 (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 FAILING AFTER FOUR MONTHS OF USE
Pros: - 8TB Capacity
- Great value for GB/dollar ratio (paid approx $200)
- USB 3.0 speeds
Cons: - Clearly not the fastest unit (most likely a 5400rpm drive inside)
- Has to wake up if idle too long; thus prevents "quick file retrieval" and takes extra ~30 second to access a file
Other Thoughts: *UPDATE AUGUST 2016*
Had this since April 2016, and now it's August 2016. Only four months of usage and now the drive randomly disconnects and have "I/O errors" when trying to write to it. I have to restart my computer every time to recognize it. Now I have to deal with the warranty process to get it replaced [possibly will be replaced with a refurbished model].
Reviewed By:Jimmy N.,8/15/2016 11:39:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA - Newegg won't return
Pros: Big drive, lots of data to lose.
Cons: Highly unreliable.
Other Thoughts: Copied 4 TB on a new drive and it stopped working. Looks like if you wait more than a month to open Newegg won't return. I suppose you could have Seagate send you a refurb even though you just bought the drive new two months ago. Used Seagate for years now I've been bit by a bad drive and no way to get it replaced. I would only store data on these drives that you plan on losing. Not happy at all.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/15/2016 7:06:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives Gforce3 Pro 2TB 7200 RPM USB 3.0 Aluminum External Hard Drive (GF3B2000UP)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Performance
Pros: Very reasonable cost. Worked for me straight out of the box. No configuration at all. I am using it plugged into my residential LAN router/switch/Fifi. Available just like a NAS. I use it as a back up and file server for all the computers in my home. I do not work directly (direct access) with this drive as an active workspace. Fills my needs exactly.

I can hear it click on from its sleep mode but it is very quite. Sound in NOT an issue with this drive.
Cons: Only con is the extremely bright blue activity light. I put a bit of masking tape over it. I can now (through the tape) see when it is on but kills the blinding laser beam effect.
Reviewed By:Daniel K.,8/15/2016 6:01:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 1TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive WDBZFP0010BBK-NESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible service
Pros: Have not find anything positive to speak about, very disappointed
Cons: They shipped me a drive that does not work at all. Now its my problem, I had to get it shipped back, still waiting to hear back for the refund.
Other Thoughts: When we buy online, we are at the mercy of malicious shops like newegg, where they will ship you something that does not work at all and it becomes your problem, not their.
Reviewed By:Mahmood R.,8/15/2016 11:12:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Over one year, no problems
Pros: I got this drive more than a year ago to use for backup for my system and for photos on two partitions. I only have USB 2.0 (late 2009 iMac), so I can't comment on speed, but the drive has been entirely reliable. I've had zero problems with it since day 1. It gets written to every day that I use the computer, and I have used it to go back in Time Machine without issue. My toddler even managed to get into the computer room and knock it over once with no negative consequences. I'd buy it again for sure.
Cons: Doesn't have Firewire 800, ha ha.
Reviewed By:Michael M.,8/15/2016 9:53:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Maxtor > Maxtor 4TB D3 Station Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 STSHX-D401TDBM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works great so far.
Pros: Been using this drive for over a month now with zero issues. Installed, detected, no problem. Seems fast. I consistently get about 85-90Mbps write speed on large file transfers. I like the design. Compact. Great price at under a $100. Comes with a good software package that will appeal to some. I didn't need it as I already had paid for back up software.
Cons: You get a non-standard USB cable (A to micro-B) that is ridiculously short at about 32.5". If you keep your PC on your desktop, you'll probably be OK with this length. If your desktop is under your desk, like with me, good luck in getting this short cable to reach.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this drive to others. Just be aware of the short USB cable. This is the only reason I deducted one egg. I ended up buying a 6' cable to replace it.
Reviewed By:Steven F.,8/12/2016 10:52:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.