Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 6TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External STEL6000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Seagate Backup Plus Hub 6TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives
Pros: My wife likes this drive for it's ease of use. It is easy to set-up and use. It is the only brand that works consistently for my wifes Mac.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have to thank Newegg for getting this drive to my wife in less than 14 hours. Our drive failed on Friday afternoon at 5:30pm. I looked for this drive at all the local stores and nobody had it. I ordered it from Newegg and it was here, at my house by 11am the next morning. Thanks Newegg!!! You saved me several days of grief. You are the BEST.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/26/2016 3:30:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100 Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 lasted less than 3 years ...
Pros: - lots of space for the money
- reasonably fast
Cons: - died in less than 3 years
- poor warranty (I was shocked that the drive was already out of warranty, what happened to 5 years?)
Other Thoughts: - I believe that this generation of products were heavily affected by manufacturing issues (fires, floods, etc.) in the far east around the time I purchased, so I cannot recommend the 3TB models just in case, however it appears that newer models are more reliable and so I will try again with a 5TB or larger unit as Seagate continue to be price / performance leaders
- very disappointed that Seagate no longer backs their drives for 5 years
Reviewed By:Kim L.,9/26/2016 6:55:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 16TB My Book Duo Desktop RAID External Hard Drive USB 3.0 - WDBLWE0160JCH-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice
Pros: The enclosure is easy to use. Drives will spin down when not in use. Fan inside. Quiet.
Cons: Will only work with WD and HGST drives of any size. My Seagates would not work.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/24/2016 8:02:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect so far! (4 TB)
Pros: - I've owned one for just shy of 2 months, and it has worked perfectly so far! Just placed an order for a 2nd one
- My boss has been using Seagate ext. drives for a long time (I think the same "Expansion" model, but 5 or 6 TB), and he swears by them
- I picked NewEgg over competitors such as Amaz-n because NewEgg has a very clearly stated warranty; Amaz-n is vague and seems to be hiding something
Cons: - None so far
Other Thoughts: I reluctantly jumped ship from my old standby "WD Elements 3TB" (which I own 4 of, and served me very well) because I wanted to go up to 4 TB, and at that time - if I remember well - 4 TB was the max size for that model (now they have 5 TB); I steer clear of the max size of any model.

- For the benefit of some people: TB = Terabyte = Trillion bytes (using powers of 10.) Most computers show sizes differently: they call it "TB" but that's sloppy for "Tebibyte (TiB)" (using powers of 2.) Those units differ somewhat; you're NOT getting ripped off with a smaller drive!

- For the benefit of some people: ANY storage device can fail without warning. Make people with always keeping 2 copies of everything that matters, on 2 separate drives.
Reviewed By:julian w.,9/23/2016 10:42:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB3000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Autorun didn't work.
Pros: For such a sparse "quick start" guide, it would have been nice if the installation/setup program worked. Maybe it's just Win10/64 bit that it doesn't like? I was able to find enough information already on the drive to get to the appropriate Seagate website and register the drive. After that, a format got me ready to go. Did a complete backup of my computer without incident.
Cons: So far none but the installation & setup.
Reviewed By:Gordon A.,9/23/2016 10:45:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Book Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBFJK0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cant turn off hardware encryption
Pros: Mine had a WD blue WD40EZRZ. Better price than buying just the internal drive.
Cons: You CANNOT turn off hardware encryption.
Other Thoughts: Hardware encryption is always on, whether you turn it "on" with a password or not. If the enclosure dies, you will not be able to recover your data as it will be encrypted. This is a very poor idea.

Bought one of these in a brick and mortar store. First one had bad sectors within 60 hours of use.
The replacement is randomly disconnecting. Im going to return the second one for fear of the enclosure dying.
Manufacturer Response:Hey There Anonymous,
Our apologies for this abnormal drive behavior, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We take our customer’s data security and accessibility seriously. Therefore, encryption can only be enabled (Turned-On) via our WD Security utility. If you have concerns about the health of this drive, it’s best to run the diagnostic tests from the WD Drive Utilities software.
“How to set up and use WD Security & WD Drive Utilities”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=10408

We would appreciate the chance to assist you further. You can contact us by phone or Email below. Be sure to mention this Newegg review on your initial contact in order to direct you to the proper team member.

Need Help? Please follow the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932.
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/21/2016 11:50:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 2TB My Book Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBFJK0020HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 NEVER AGAIN
Pros: WORKS WELL FOR AWHILE
Cons: POWER SUPPLY ALWAYS FAILS AND WHEN THAT HAPPENS....CORRUPTS HARD DRIVE SECTORS IN PLENTIFUL NUMBERS...IF YOU BUY ONE OF THESE MAKE CERTAIN YOU GET AN EXTENDED COVER IT ALL WARRANTY WITH DATA RECOVERY. LUCKILY WE ARE GOING TO BE ABLE TO PULL THE DATA OFF THANKS TO A LOCAL SAVVY TECH..... TAKE MY ADVICE...STICK WITH SEAGATE INTERNAL DRIVES. MUCH MORE RELIABLE!
Manufacturer Response:Greetings Arthur O,
We’re sorry to hear about this matter, but appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We would very much appreciate the chance to work directly with you, in order to gather more information about this unexpected behavior. We stand behind our products throughout their warranty period, and will gladly help determine the root cause of your particular concern and replace the misbehaving power supply or drive as needed. You can contact us by following the information below. Please, be sure to reference this Newegg review with the support team member, in order to help us provide a positive solution.

Need Help? Please follow the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932.
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:Arthur O.,9/21/2016 9:00:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 4TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive WDBWLG0040HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Western Digital at this price i could'nt pass it up
Pros: A decent 4TB generic harddrive will cost $95.00 so for a brand name external drive this can't be beat. It's quiet and very fast.
Cons: It's difficult to know if you have turned it off using the on/off button. There is not a separate indicator light and with the push on/off button you can't tell which state it's in. Annoying but not enough to pass up this deal.
Other Thoughts: I use it as my media drive for my Wifi. I have 250 albums and 300 movies available anytime anywhere I have Wifi.
Reviewed By:Charles B.,9/20/2016 4:20:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 8TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT8000100 (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 FAILING AFTER FOUR MONTHS OF USE
Pros: - 8TB Capacity
- Great value for GB/dollar ratio (paid approx $200)
- USB 3.0 speeds
Cons: - Clearly not the fastest unit (most likely a 5400rpm drive inside)
- Has to wake up if idle too long; thus prevents "quick file retrieval" and takes extra ~30 second to access a file
Other Thoughts: *UPDATE AUGUST 2016*
Had this since April 2016, and now it's August 2016. Only four months of usage and now the drive randomly disconnects and have "I/O errors" when trying to write to it. I have to restart my computer every time to recognize it. Now I have to deal with the warranty process to get it replaced [possibly will be replaced with a refurbished model].

*UPDATE SEPTEMBER 2016*
Finally got around to processing the warranty. I had to pay shipping one-way, and they shipped me a replacement. It may be refurbished; I'm uncertain. No fancy packaging like a retail one - the replacement arrived in an ordinary brown box packaging.
Reviewed By:Jimmy N.,9/19/2016 4:55:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good product betrayed by a bad warranty
Pros: Sturdy packaging. It’s a hard disk drive, an item not well known for it’s tolerance for shock and impact. The packaging reflects this.

Clean elegant aesthetics. The enclosure has a very nice look to it and doesn’t use that awful high gloss plastic that’s only marketable use is for collecting greasy fingerprints. The single LED DOES look nice, and fits with the uncluttered look of the enclosure, but it’s positiong is problematic (see Cons).

Plug and play. Pretty self explanatory. The quick set up guide lists two steps: 1. Attach power cable, 2. Attach data cable. Up and running in about 30 seconds.

No gimmicky applications included, just a preconfigured external hard drive.
Cons: Indication LED is top mounted, rather than the standard front mount. Why even put an LED on it if it’s just going to dictate where you’re able to place the drive in order to be able to see it?

Housing feels like it’s made of very cheap plastic. Very rarely do I receive items for review that I have to give negative marks on quality, at worst, it’s a split, but this whole drive’s housing is made of some very flimsy plastic. I seriously think one major impact to the housing would shatter it. I own another Seagate external drive which is made of much much sturdier plastic, it is a year older than this one however.

Only has rubber feet to support it being stood up vertically. Maybe they want to discourage people stacking stuff on it? I don’t know, but depending on where you maybe forced to place the drive, it would be highly advantageous to not force you into one positioning option.

Running the included setup application fails to take you to the Seagate product registration page (which is where I suspect it’s attempting to take you based on the URL). Fairly easily worked around, but why do I need to do that?

1 year warranty is a joke. I started buying hard drives back when they came with 5 year standard warranties across the whole industry, a 5 year warranty today would be absurd, but I don’t see the average user using this drive up and throwing it away even inside that span. I certainly don’t think it’s OK for Seagate to throw their hands up and say “Well, we can’t guarantee the lifespan of this product for more than 12 months!”. That kind of rationale speaks volumes more to me than my other (fairly) petty gripes with this product.

On top of the above point, the drive enclosure has no visible hardware indicating how it can be opened up. Appears to be non user serviceable, in other words.
Other Thoughts: Some real world benchmarks. The files transferred consisted of a mix of large single archival files, and lots of small media and data files. The typical mix of things that a user would want to transfer in the real world. My computers C:\ was used for the transfers. It is a 256GB Samsung 840 Pro series SSD.

100GB transfer onto the drive at an average speed of 75MB/s over USB3.0

100GB transfer onto the drive at an average speed of 12MB/s over USB2.0

100GB transfer onto my C:\ drive at an average speed of 90MB/s over USB3.0

100GB transfer onto my C:\ drive at an average speed of 30MB/s over USB2.0

My final thoughts on this drive are simple: the warranty is not to be trusted. The drive I received is perfectly functional and has been working flawlessly for the better part of three weeks, but in a culture of planned obsolescense, I don’t have a great feeling about only having one year of protection for something that easily has a five year useful lifespan, minimum. I went and looked at Seagates offerings for standalone 8TB drives, and they all have the (current) industry standard 3 year warranty. Considering that, my advice would be to buy a stand alone drive and an external enclosure. It’s unforunate, because I like the all in one plug and play package, and besides my beef with the warranty, my other complaints were fairly minor. However, considering the fact I’m sacrificing two years of warranty protection for the plug and play simplicity, I would go a different route.
Reviewed By:Kyle K.,9/19/2016 4:49:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.