Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great buy
Pros: A lot of storage space, Great Price
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,6/3/2015 5:36:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good luck
Pros: High capacity, fast
Cons: One died just after 30 days, of course.........
Other Thoughts: I bought 2 of these not long apart.
The first one I bought, which has hardly anything on it is still going.
The second one I bought came with a different power supply than the other, which leads me to believe it was actually a refurb.
Of course that is the one I had written over 4 TB's of data to.
I bought it on 4-25-15 and it died on 6-2-15, not long after the newegg warranty ran out.
I have my data backed up because I didn't trust these without some time behind them.
Good thing.
Now I worry if I have to buy back ups for my backups.
Not sure if I should expect the other one I bought to fail also.
I have used seagate drives for years with almost no failures.
Had a couple fail recently.
I may have to start looking for another storage solution.
Really super disappointed in the one that failed just beyond warranty.
Especially as it shipped in the same box as the other bought less than a month apart but with a totally different power supply.
I gave it 2 eggs because one of two still works but I am now afraid to write data to it.
Buyer beware
Reviewed By:N/A,6/2/2015 6:16:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 2TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT2000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed right out of the box
Pros: Only pro is that I have the previous model which worked fine until damaged
Cons: SW loaded when I connected to my computer but when you try to back-up it gets to 2% and then stops and there's no way to get it to finish the backup
Other Thoughts: This is probably infant mortality but there are too many highly rated vendors and models to try another one of these
Reviewed By:N/A,6/2/2015 4:28:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unreliable write speed
Pros: Best $ per TB
Cons: Not sure what's going on but the drive frequently becomes very slow in the middle of a large write (300GB). Estimated time went from over an hour to 20 hours!
Reviewed By:N/A,6/2/2015 11:21:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB2000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worthy of my Data!
Pros: The Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 drive is a fantastic unit. With digital photos, games, movies, tv shows, mobile device backups, and much more to store on modern-day machines, it's nice to know that you can plug in a drive as additional storage or for redundancy of data as is my case. This drive is advertised as working with Windows 8/8.1 but it's a USB controller connected to an HDD so it will work with any machine with a USB port regardless of OS. The drive runs cool to the touch even when running my Mac OS X Time Machine backups. I also transferred 1.2TB of data in bulk between my machine and then copied all of the data onto other redundant storage --the transfer was exceptionally quick. I was actually surprised how fast the drive read and wrote over USB 3.0 since it is a standard spindle drive and not an SSD.

The unit is simple, plug it in, format to desired file system, and off you go. I've reformatted this unit 5 times now (Mac OS Journaled, Mac OS Journaled Case Senstive, exfat, FAT, and NTFS) and each iteration worked as expected.

I ran CCleaner's free space cleaning on the device and it performs as well as internal drives on most of my other machines. Would definitely buy a higher capacity drive in the future should the need arise.

A+, Seagate!
Cons: No native ability to upgrade/replace drive. I'm sure you could pop the unit open and put in a new HDD if you wanted to increase capacity or replace it with solid state storage but that's a known factor going into purchasing this unit and not worth taking away any stars.

The only real complaint I have is the size of the power plug. The transformer is enclosed in the plug itself which means the plug becomes a huge monstrosity taking up multiple slots on my power strip. Having the plug either be modular (think laptop power supply) or formatted like a slim plug adapter (eg. macbook pro charger/netgear power plugs) such that the unit would only take up one space and just would end up being tall, this would be much better.
Other Thoughts: Overall I'm very happy with the unit. I currently just leave it as extra storage on my CloudStation NAS which seems to be the best use for me. The CloudStation has 2.0TB as well, so this is a simple redundant drive. I would definitely recommend these units to friends and family looking to expand storage capacity on a laptop or otherwise.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/2/2015 11:06:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives GForce3 Pro 2TB USB 3.0 7200RPM External Hard Drive GF3B2000UP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WOW! That was fast!
Pros: This USB 3.0 is fast!!!
Cons: Not enough reviews and haven't used it long enough to determine if it will last for a long time.
Other Thoughts: Over the past 3 weeks I decided to replace my old Vista 2008 HTPC build with that $240 Zotac Zbox Nano PC (with Bing lol) that comes loaded with all those USB 3.0 ports on the back. It only had a 60gb SSD in it so I got this to compensate for it's small storage. Then I bought the Kingston Digital 16gb USB 3.0 Data Traveler Thumb Drive. Dumped a couple GBs of video onto the Kingston thumb from my NAS then transferred thumb to this 2tb Fantom storage. Got 128 MB/s transfer speeds. True Story! From USB 3.0 to USB 3.0. Wouldn't have believed it if I didn't see it!
Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 5:19:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard DriveSTSHX-D501TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Should have done my research
Pros: Not a bad paperweight...
Cons: Oh probably the fact that it doesn't work, for me or anyone else. Don't buy a Samsung (Seagate) drive, go Western Digital.
Other Thoughts: This drive is a completely failed piece of trash. Newegg sells plenty of good drives, this is not one of them. Samsung has become one of my least favorite brands over the last couple years, it's unfortunate.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 5:02:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard DriveSTSHX-D501TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Fails Samsung Complete Drive Test
Pros: Nice price for 5TB drive.
Cons: 3 Drives - all 3 tested BAD using Samsung Tools (Complete test).
Short test indicates drives are good complete test drives are bad. Tried running Seagate Tools on Drives had similar issues short test good complete test bad. Ran test on three different computers all usb 3.0 all failed.

Recommend all buyers of this drive to run complete test on the Drives they purchase. .
Other Thoughts: How can I get so many Drives and all of them fail the drive test that Samsung includes with the drive? Is their quality control that poor?
Reviewed By:N/A,5/31/2015 6:50:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard DriveSTSHX-D501TDB Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent
Pros: Pretty good value for the size, works fine on USB 2.0.
Cons: I'm not sure if it's a compatibility issue on my computer's side (running Windows 7 Home Premium) or a problem with the drive itself, but it does not work with my computer over USB 3.0. It constantly disconnects.
Other Thoughts: Like most drives, they call it "5TB" on the basis of 1,000,000,000,000 bytes/TB, while Windows calls it more like 4.5TB on the basis of (1024)^4 bytes/TB
Reviewed By:N/A,5/31/2015 5:25:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked great until it didn't.
Pros: Plenty of storage space. Took a year to even put a dent in the capacity with HD game capture footage.
Cons: Like many other reviews on here say, the drive just randomly stopped working. At first it wasn't always recognized by my PC, but now there's no power to it.

Wasn't a fan of having a separate power cable. Less cables to mess with, the better.

Seemed like the drive would get a little on the warm side despite sitting on my desk right by an AC unit.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/31/2015 5:02:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.