Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives G-Force3 Pro 3TB USB 3.0 Aluminum Desktop External Hard Drive GF3B3000UP Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Drive has failed after 7 months and little use
Pros: Price per Gig was decent
Cons: Started to copy files and drive now inexplicably shuts down during file transfers.
Other Thoughts: Got a lemon or is their something more systemic with these drives
Reviewed By:Jeffrey S.,6/27/2016 2:59:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 3TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT3000100 (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't Do It!
Pros: None
Cons: I went through two of these, bought before all of these negative reviews were up. The first one worked once, then stopped working. Same as everyone's reviews- could hear whirring and noise, but unrecognized drive to my computer. Didn't exist.

Newegg replaced it for me, so I tried the second one. Same exact story. Died/ become unrecognizable after one use. Had a family friend who BUILDS computers try to save my data off of here, and he couldn't retrieve a thing.
Other Thoughts: DON'T DO IT!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/27/2016 11:47:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > LaCie > LaCie d2 Quadra USB 3.0 5TB USB 3.0 / 2 x Firewire800 / eSATA External Hard Drive LAC9000481U Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great products
Pros: I have used this brand of backup drive now for over 8 years. I have two other drives which I have managed to fill up. They are not on constantly and have been good so far. There is a fan that is run to keep the drive cool. Easy to use. Drag and drop or hook up for automatic back up from your laptop. I use a Macintosh and Time Machine to back up my drive. I highly recommend.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Kimberly W.,6/26/2016 4:55:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio Desk 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive HDWC130XK3J1 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Six months and it is still running well
Pros: I have been using this drive a little over 6 months now. I plugged it in and it does what it is supposed to do. No muss no fuss :)
Cons: No cons
Reviewed By:DON C.,6/25/2016 3:01:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 4TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC4.0U3 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't Work Work With XP
Pros: None
Cons: Despite Buffalo's email & phone reps telling me they were still using the XP chip set AND the box stating XP compatible; they are now using the non-XP chipset & XP will only recognize it with partitioning software to create multiple small partitions.
Reviewed By:Geoffrey R.,6/24/2016 4:56:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Runs very hot, unsuitable for many workloads
Pros: - These drives are a relatively good value for capacity, and so far have worked well with the UASP drivers on my arch linux install with kernel 4.5.7.
Cons: - These run HOT. A brief period into a linux "badblocks" test, smartctl reported them at ~60C, whereas the SMART "fail" threshold on the drive is at 45C. I was forced to point a fan at them to keep them below 40C.
- The drive inside appears to be a Seagate Archive series, which are not suitable for many uses.
Other Thoughts: Be aware that these are SMR disks, and as such are unsuited to many workloads where data is modified in-place or written in small chunks. I am disappointed that this was not mentioned anywhere in the item description, as it would have changed my purchase decisions. Advertising this as a general-purpose "expansion" disk is very misleading.
Reviewed By:Mitchell J.,6/24/2016 8:20:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives GreenDrive3 3TB USB 3.0 Aluminum Desktop External Hard Drive GD3000U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This Brand is great!
Pros: I have never had any problems with Fantom Drives. They are reliable and all mine are still working after many many years. The new 5TB is same quality. After some really bad experiences with Lacie Drives, I took a chance on this brand about a decade ago. Still happy with the quality and reliability!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is a great product and I am a fan. Glad to know there is a reliable brand out there.
Reviewed By:Daniel S.,6/23/2016 2:02:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB2000300- CERTIFIED REFURBISHED

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Happy
Pros: Easy set up. Looks like new.
Cons: Nothing that I've been able to find.
Other Thoughts: Bought this to use as an external drive for my DishTV Hopper. Worked right off the bat. I buy quite a bit of refurbished merchandise and have been totally satisfied. Have never had an issue and I love saving money.
Reviewed By:Frank T.,6/23/2016 10:54:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Big honking drive.
Pros: These are reliable. I had 8 1tb in a server. This is faster and frees up 7 slots. For storage these can't be beat. I ordered yesterday and they are already half full today. Must have had them on the truck waiting for me to push the button.A+++++
Cons: For what it is it can't be improved. Sure there are faster drives but with this I can watch a movie across my network wirelessly and have no glitches. Buy a SSD for the C drive or an intensively used one and populate the rest with these.
Reviewed By:Patrick M.,6/22/2016 12:05:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 so far so good
Pros: Works fine.
Cons: nothing now
Reviewed By:Chen Y.,6/20/2016 11:12:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.