Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio Desk 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive HDWC240XK3J1 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 As fast as it is loud
Pros: The drive itself (inside) is a fast big beast: heavy, but warm (51C steady) and noisy. This is a 7200rpm workhorse that farts.
Cons: The casing is just too light to dampen and tame the noises of the beast.
I keep having temperature alerts on my disk monitor tool, my other disks are at 38C while this one is a 51C.
Other Thoughts: I have it in a vented closet, and it makes the closet shake. I would absolutely not put that on a desk.

My other Seagate Expansion disks where dead silent compare to this one, but they died early (1 year) and were slower.
Reviewed By:Jeff Roses,7/31/2015 8:02:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D501TDB Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Airflow problem
Pros: Big size, nice price
Cons: I hooked it up and rand the first of my acceptance tests.
The airflow temp is now marked as failed.
Here are the SMART counters:

HD Tune Pro: Samsung D3 Station Health

ID Current Worst ThresholdData Status
(01) Raw Read Error Rate 113 100 6 57572928 ok
(03) Spin Up Time 94 94 0 0 ok
(04) Start/Stop Count 100 100 20 6 ok
(05) Reallocated Sector Count 100 100 10 0 ok
(07) Seek Error Rate 100 253 30 332015 ok
(09) Power On Hours Count 100 100 0 2 ok
(0A) Spin Retry Count 100 100 97 0 ok
(0C) Power Cycle Count 100 100 20 6 ok
(B7) SATA Downshift Count 100 100 0 0 ok
(B8) End To End Error Detection 100 100 99 0 ok
(BB) Uncorrectable Error Count 100 100 0 0 ok
(BC) Command Timeout 100 100 0 0 ok
(BD) Unknown Attribute 100 100 0 0 ok
(BE) Airflow Temperature 62 44 45 26409631782 failed
(BF) G-sense Error Rate 100 100 0 0 ok
(C0) Unsafe Shutdown Count 100 100 0 0 ok
(C1) Load Cycle Count 100 100 0 19 ok
(C2) Temperature 38 56 0 124554051622 ok
(C3) Hardware ECC Recovered 113 100 0 57572928 ok
(C5) Current Pending Sector 100 100 0 0 ok
(C6) Offline Uncorrectable 100 100 0 0 ok
(C7) Interface CRC Error Count 200 200 0 0 ok
(F0) Head Flying Hours 100 253 0 187926294036481 ok
(F1) Unknown Attribute 100 253 0 2348528 ok
(F2) Unknown Attribute 100 253 0 1303532167 ok

Health Status : failed
Other Thoughts: SMART says I should replace this drive, and I am now anxious about relying on it.
Should I ask for a replacement?
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 2:58:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D501TDB Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I must be lucky!!!!
Pros: Fastest Mechanical drive I've dealt with. I consistently get 185MBps writing data to the drive. I consistently get 190MBps reading from the drive. I use the drive for back up purposes. It does the job very well.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Anybody using a external drive in a non active cooled enclosure as a consistently connected device is asking for trouble.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 7:32:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Touro Desk Pro 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive 0S03503 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid performer
Pros: Dependable, fast, quiet.
Cons: Can't really find any
Other Thoughts: Have been using this as a main media repository and backup hard drive for over a year now. Thanks to the USB 3.0 interface it transfers very, very fast. I have other external hard drives attached for various purposes and the Touro has NEVER disconnected, not been found, or any other glitch that can haunt these types of devices. Also, it sits on my desktop and although I occasionally hear the HD chatter when it is active, it is so quiet that I have to give it 5 eggs for noise. All in all a very good purchase and will be buying again when I need more storage.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 1:01:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Lots of storage, mediocre speed
Pros: Lots of capacity for a great price - cheaper than buying a drive on its own. No setup required, formatted full capacity on WIndows 7 64bit. Easy to transport.
Cons: Transfer speeds of drives have not kept up with capacity so takes days to fill it up. Same as for any other drive really though.
Other Thoughts: Runs fairly warm but not excessively so far.
Reviewed By:Nikola,7/29/2015 9:53:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBWLG0040HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 WD 4TB External Drive
Pros: WD is a solid unit and works well if you need extra storage. I have used this unit on many different PC's and it works very well. At the time I purchased the unit it was on sale and that made it a good purchase. It works with both USB 2.0 and 3.0.
Cons: None so far...
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 6:43:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice looking drive
Pros: Really nice case. It appears to be quite solid. Likely I will order another one of these, as so far I have only placed an order for three. Definitely I will keep ordering another one of these drives every time the previous one is returned and the credit shows up.
Cons: The first one had a large bad sector, so was returned for replacement. The second one had a large bad sector, so was returned for replacement. I had to go on holiday, so the third drive had to be cancelled. I am now back ready to order yet another drive, to see if it has a large bad sector. After I return that one, I will likely just keep ordering these to see if any good ones were built.
Other Thoughts: Nice looking drive. Very nice case. Comes in a good sturdy box. Very good return labels, easily printed. Why cheat oneself out of an opportunity to see for oneself the quality Seagate puts into their drives? I most certainly shall not make that mistake. Seagate quality interests me greatly. Very consistent level of reliability.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Douglas M.,

We would like to talk with you by phone to determine the root cause and available resolution to the bad sector situation, as this is not typical or expected for our Expansion Desktop drives. A support case (#04957362 has been created that will reference your review and our response. Our support contact number in the US/Canada is 800-732-4283. If outside of this region, or for additional support options, please try us here under Product Support (choose your region):

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:Tavi,7/29/2015 12:20:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 2TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC2.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: Huge storage. Small form factor.
Cons: None! And I mean it.
Other Thoughts: Works exactly as intended and goes neatly on my closet shelf when I don't need it. It's tiny.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 11:50:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio Desk 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive HDWC240XK3J1 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Noise
Pros: It looks solid, I guess
Cons: I just got this in the mail, just plugged it in and backed up some files. It makes the grossest, most annoying sound I've ever heard a computer device make. I'm 24% into my backup progress and I cant stand it anymore, I'm in line on Newegg customer support to discuss a return, looking forward to getting my money back.
Other Thoughts: I'm really disappointed about this, my WD 2TB failed after 3 years and the warranty only came with 2, I was looking forward to the 3 year warranty after seeing all the others only come with 1. But instead the drive is loud and obnoxious and completely intolerable.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 10:32:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D501TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buy from a better known hard drive manufacturer.
Pros: Large capacity
Cons: I've owned this hard drive since April 2015. I was using this drive as a network drive connected to the 3.0 USB port on a Netgear Router. For a month or two it worked fine but began to disconnect (unable to find the drive in windows explorer) intermittently. Moved the drive to a dedicated 3.0USB port on my computer where it worked fine for a few more weeks but again began to disconnect with windows explorer unable to find it unless power to the drive was cycled. This is somewhat awkward to do as their is no power switch on the drive, the power connecter must be pulled. After a few weeks of this every single file on the drive disappeared. This happened while on vacation for a week with the computer but not the drive powered off. I have only been able to recover 19 of over 7,000 files on the drive, using a variety of recovery programs. I do not recommend this drive as I've found it unreliable.
Other Thoughts: Stick with a drive from a manufacturer with a longer history in hard drive manufacturing.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 10:29:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.