Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) External DVD Burner Model SE-218GN/RSBD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SAMSUNG DVD Burner
Pros: it works fine
easy to install
looks good
nice rubber pads at the bottom and platic brush on the top cover
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: light weight
Reviewed By:N/A,11/25/2014 3:53:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 3.0 12X Blu-ray Burner Model BW-12D1S-U/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 NOT Rip Locked, Awesome Drive
Pros: Currently ripping Oblivion Blu Ray at 4X ~17M/s so this drive IS NOT LOCKED at 2X, previous poster must not be doing something right. I love ASUS and will continue to honestly support them so long as they continue to make quality products.
Cons: Power switch on the back is designed to match the spaceship design, would prefer a normal rocker switch, not worth removing an egg though.
Other Thoughts: Power cords have Velcro straps for keeping things neat, a little plus that makes me happy. The rubber feet on the drive and stand are very solid and keep the drive from moving around and dampens vibrations.
Reviewed By:Danimalx23,11/24/2014 3:08:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Ultra Slim External DVDRW Model GP60NS50

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unreliable
Pros: Compact, works OK when it worked.
Cons: Unreliable, lasted only a few days and a couple of uses.
Other Thoughts: This worked OK the first time I used it, but went to use it a couple of weeks later and kept getting disc errors. First I thought it was the DVD itself, but another external writer worked perfectly with that disc. Now it has errors on every disc, will read a few files but not all, and all of those discs are OK. This is constructed similar to a laptop drive, and I've had laptop drives last for years without a glitch. Perhaps it's just a rare bad unit, but I thought I'd post this since it failed so quickly and had not been treated roughly at all. The lens is clean (blew it with air to be sure) but it gets errors on every disc. Perhaps the manufacturer will cover it, but I waited too long for Newegg to exchange it as defective, so I may just look for a different brand.
Reviewed By:Gary R.,11/24/2014 12:40:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > LITE-ON USB 2.0 External DVD Drive Model eTDU108-32

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice Little Drive
Pros: Inexpensive at 14.99 and does what it's supposed to do. A single USB connection is all that is needed. Most others I looked at needed two.
Cons: Like others, the 3 or 4" USB cable is kind of absurd. I think the mfg was thinking the only use would be with it lying on a table directly beside a laptop computer. I solved the issue with a USB extension I have.
Not crazy about having to slide a button to the side to open it and a mechanical drawer would be easier, but I figure that would have added to the cost or caused the mfg to cheapen the drive in some way. It also might have taken more power than the singe USB connection gives.
Other Thoughts: I bought this from Newegg's e-B-a-y store. I would like to see purchases on that site become part of my Newegg account on the main site.
Reviewed By:CEG,11/24/2014 9:11:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Super-Multi Portable DVD Rewriter with M-DISC Model GP50NB40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super External DVD Drive
Pros: Works as described, really compact size!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,11/23/2014 11:16:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > Lite-On EBAU108 External DVD-Writer - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 no problems yet
Pros: Small
Light
Works on both PC & Mac
Cons: none yet
Other Thoughts: Just what you would expect for an inexpensive external USB drive.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/23/2014 8:39:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) External DVD Burner Model SE-218GN/RSBD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works for me
Pros: Lightweight and easy to travel with. Fills the bill for a second drive to manage region 2 and PAL DVDs.
Cons: Not the sturdiest drive on the planet, but for my uses it doesn't need to be. Has been fine packed in with my other tech equipment without special protection.
Reviewed By:travelagain,11/23/2014 7:55:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 3.0 External 12X Blu-Ray WriterModel BW-12D1S-U LITE/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome
Pros: burned my first blu-ray using this drive.
Love it.
Drive is cool looing to.
Cons: the switch on the back of this is bad design. Just leave it on.
Other Thoughts: If you want to burn BD-Video, you will need some more powerful software. I downloaded the Cyberlink software and it works well.
Reviewed By:Tech Junkie,11/22/2014 2:29:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 Slim External DVD Writer Model SE-208DB/TSLS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great external
Pros: Works great. Had no problem being discovered.
Cons: -
Reviewed By:Tech Junkie,11/22/2014 2:26:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 3.0 External 12X Blu-Ray WriterModel BW-12D1S-U LITE/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Performance
Pros: Writes above 6x for most BD, Still operates at 2X for BD-RE disk. Works better under Linux using KB3, KB3 has no problems with any functions using BD and BD-RE. Have not used any DL disk and probable will not unless they are rewritable. (all rewritable operate at 2X)
Cons: The Power is switch is operable with practice, Hoever the eject button is not usable with you index finger, drive ejects hit finger and re-closes. Most of the time I have to use a wooden tongue depressor trimmed for the purpose. Come on Asus , How can you design something this badly!
1 egg off!!!
Other Thoughts: I don,t use this that often, but the eject button is an aggravation!
Reviewed By:oldgeek,11/21/2014 3:53:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.