Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock C70M1 AMD Dual-Core Ontario C-70 APU Supports AMD's Cool 'n' Quiet Technology UMI 2.5 GT/s AMD A50M Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not really low power
Pros: None
Cons: This motherboard is consuming 24 watts when idle. My other setup with Asrock AM1H-ITX + AMD quad core 5350 with same SSD, same gold 80 plus power supply and same kernel configuration is 16 watts when Idle. I tried all power modes tried freebsd, rhel, ubuntu but same results. So don't know what this 9 watt claim is.

Also the AM1H-ITX comes with all solid capacitors this m/b doesn't.

I am returning these in favor of AM1H-ITX.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/24/2016 6:20:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900-ITX Intel Celeron J1900 Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 BSOD during windows 7 setup. Always
Pros: unknown
Cons: Unknown
Other Thoughts: I set it up and put it in place. It then stopped working and the more I worked on it the worse it got. It will not boot. It starts boot to the windows screen then BSOD's. windows 7 repair works for a few seconds then BSOD's Restore does the same
I tried fresh install of windows 7 after CLEAN ALL the hard drive and it did the same. BSOD error's are different. I moved the mouse once and it said it had USB error. Next time it says completely different. No consistency except never passes boot or windows 7 update.
It ran great for the first 2 days of setup, then total failure. Nice MB except for this.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Calvin,

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
For the BSOD, please load the BIOS setting default.
Test with single memory module, switching another memory if problem still persist.
Install fresh Windows 7 again to check if it resolved the issue.

If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:Calvin T.,5/23/2016 10:51:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Newark > Raspberry Pi 83-16560RK 3 Model B with case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Valuable product to reduce cost and increase functionality in ones home
Pros: I purchased this on a Monday and had it within a day or two. The unit was easy to put together and, as always, fun to tinker with.
Cons: One unit I received however did not function as designed and would reset half way through booting, regardless of what OS or image I had installed on an SD card.
I am in the process of returning it for replacement.
Other Thoughts: From past experience, I would definitely suggest this for the technically savvy, who are interested in reducing cost, or playing with a new project. There are so many ways one can reduce cost with this; By creating an ad blocking DNS configuration, or by creating a wireless controller to install inexpensive APs in the home, or even a local file server, all are available and (relatively) easy to configure on a raspberry pi depending on the OS you install.
Reviewed By:Kyle M.,5/22/2016 6:08:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock N3150B-ITX Intel Quad-Core Processor N3150 (up to 2.08 GHz) BGA1170 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice little hypervisor
Pros: - Low power
- Quad Core
Cons: - Integrated NIC doesn't play nice with large scale uploads. Constantly drops traffic when it's pegged.
Other Thoughts: Using this as a low power hypervisor running HyperV for a basic network infrastructure. Pfsense/Apache/VPN/DNS/DHCP. ESX doesn't play nice with this board, even if you slipstream realtek drivers into the ISO while installing, the BIOS doesn't provide correct header information for the ESX installer and fails to launch an interactive install. Not sure if that's VMWare's fault or ASRock. Latest BIOS doesn't correct problem. You can either script that out or use a serial cable to console in, however I opted for a more supported route and went with HyperV. Running Windows Server 2K12 w/ 16GB of RAM, CPU temps with Case fan and 4 Linux VMs running are about 20C idle. Rarely spikes past 40C, have never saw it get past 50C. Using a case 120mm case fan.

Integrated NIC is awful at anything more than menial traffic. Experienced constant drops while performing large, data intensive uploads. Luckily I had a server class PCI 1x Dual Port network card laying around and that fixed the issue.

Performance is better than I expected. It's no speed demon, but other than an absurdly long Windows Update (3.5 hours) on a stock server 2012 r2 iso, it seems to handle running my VMs well along with a firefox browser session with mulitple tabs, putty, winscp.

Also installed Windows 10 Preview build on it, was a little disappointing, but works well for light office work. Anything more and I would advise against considering this board. But for only a 5 watt processor, the workload performance is impressive.
Reviewed By:Brian B.,5/18/2016 7:26:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Newark > Raspberry Pi 83-16560RK 3 Model B with case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Probably the best in-stock deal
Pros: + So many compatible projects and massive community
+ Powerful enough to run lightweight OS's fluidly
+ Kodi and Emulation
Cons: - Massive packaging for the tiny Pi. Seriously, the Pi and case maybe take up 5% of the box volume.
- Still no pins for a power/reset button. Gotta solder them yourself
Reviewed By:BYRON K.,5/16/2016 6:17:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock D1800B-ITX Intel Celeron J1800 2.41 GHz Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like a champ. Bought this to put together a new machine for my CNC router, thus needed the parallel port. Added memory and loaded up win 7 32 bit (required for CAM software), and everything
Pros: - easy set up.
Cons: - none so far.
Reviewed By:Paul A.,5/14/2016 7:01:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > AMD A68N-5200 AMD Fusion APU A6-5200 Quad-Core Processor Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for what it is.
Pros: A quad core processor already attached to a motherboard at this price? Yeah, that's why I got it. The instructions are very clear, it was easy to install, and has a highly configurable BIOS. Yeah, I don't know a whole lot about this stuff, lol.
Cons: My case had a power cable for the USB 3.0 on the front of it, but there's nowhere to plug it in on this board. But I wasn't expecting EVERYTHING to be compatible with a mini ITX board, so I can't complain. The built in USB 3.0 on the board works perfectly though.
Other Thoughts: If I were building computers for other people, I'd probably buy this board again - but probably with a different case.
Reviewed By:Joseph K.,5/14/2016 10:50:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock N3150DC-ITX Intel Quad-Core Processor N3150 (up to 2.08 GHz) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great board for a freenas box
Pros: good price and features
Cons: no ECC support but i knew it when i got it!
Reviewed By:FREDERIC B.,5/11/2016 9:34:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS KBN-I/2100 (V1.1) AMD E1-2100 Dual Core processor AMD Kabini (SOC) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Seemed like a good OpenELEC box.. but DOA
Pros: Seemed like a cheap way to roll my own OpenELEC box.
Cons: Dead on arrival. Won't post. Known good PSU and RAM so it appears to be an issue with the board itself.
Other Thoughts: Newegg covered return shipping.
Reviewed By:Chris H.,5/10/2016 2:36:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Intel > Intel BOXD945GCLF2 Atom 330 Intel 945GC Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 still running...!
Pros: nice small low power CPU/board combo.
Cons: wudda been nice to have a second PCI slot.
Other Thoughts: This baby was my network router/firewall box for 5 years. Ran Fedora Linux. I put an DEC21042 network adapter in the PCI slot. Along with 2 SATA drives, an 80GB and a terabyte unit for logs.
Reviewed By:Edward F.,5/9/2016 9:52:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.