Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Newark > Raspberry Pi 83-16562RK 3 Model B Media Center

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 As Described
Pros: Works perfectly for my programming practice, comes with everything needed to get started.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:George L.,9/30/2016 8:53:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS KBN-I/2100 (V1.1) AMD E1-2100 Dual Core processor AMD Kabini (SOC) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 50/50 track record on these
Pros: Low power consumption, reasonably good HD video for what it is.
Cons: Very picky with BIOS settings for particular OS's, limited driver availability, no response from tech support
Other Thoughts: Bought several of these for use as low powered clients around the house imaged identically. So far half of them have suddenly started exhibiting odd behaviour and end up not booting anymore after restarting them. Dead. No POST, nothing.

No response from ECS support when contacted for help.

Not recommended.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/28/2016 6:00:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS KBN-I/2100 (V1.1) AMD E1-2100 Dual Core processor AMD Kabini (SOC) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great for an NFS NAS server on CentOS 7
Pros: Price. Paid 17.99 after rebate, which came rather quickly. Very low energy consumption perfect for a file server. Completely silent as no fan is needed, would probably do alright as an HTPC also.
Cons: Bought this originally to build a pfsense firewall. For whatever reason pfsense did not want to boot on this hardware. Tried numerous times.
Other Thoughts: Built a computer for a family member with an ECS A785GM-AD3 "Black" edition MB 7 years ago and its been running everyday since. I've always had good luck with ECS so thought Id give this a chance. A couple days after I ordered this I found another combo deal with and MSI AM1 board + AMD Athlon 5150 for a ridiculously low price ($25) with the intent of rebuilding my file server on lower energy hardware. Since I couldn't get this board to boot PfSense I ended up using this hardware for the file server and MSI build for Pfsense. In the long run using this board & cpu for the file server was the right decision.
Reviewed By:Kyle M.,9/25/2016 12:02:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS BAT-I(1.2)/J1800 Intel Celeron J1800 2.41 GHz Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Mine worked fine
Pros: I keep seeing a lot of reviews of this that say they're so iffy but mine worked perfectly, the only issue I had was when I tried to used a 1x to 16x adapter to add a video card but then again this is not made for that, the celeron is surprisingly good in a normal desktop enviroment but I would suggest only using something like this for tiny servers/routing(pfsense) or maybe a small nas where you dont needs lots of ram, like not for ZFS stuff
Cons: While I said it wasn't neccesary it would be cool if this did work with a video card with an adapter (it might, it could have been my card) also I wish this had more memory slots as I do believe the chip supports dual channel and you do ever so slightly notice it when it's missing.
Reviewed By:charles n.,9/12/2016 6:19:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > MSI > MSI N3050I ECO Intel N3050 Dual Core 6W Intel Braswell Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent value for a low-power passively cooled build
Pros: This board replaced an Intel D525MW that had burned out. It uses even less power and seems to perform far better all-around on top of that. I had no issues with driver support on Windows 7 64-bit.
Cons: This board is a little sparse on USB ports and the PCIe slot is not x16 as with many modern mini-ITX boards. Most people don't even know what the COM port is these days, and that space could have been used for more USB ports or a second digital video output.
Other Thoughts: This is generally a good value for a low-power passively cooled motherboard. It has its trade-offs but it is generally a good choice.
Reviewed By:JODY B.,9/5/2016 1:11:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock N3150B-ITX Intel Quad-Core Processor N3150 (up to 2.08 GHz) BGA1170 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Total garbage
Pros: Works well, if I don't need to go into BIOS and make any changes. :/
Cons: - I can't go into the BIOS (Blank screen)
- I can't flash the BIOS with Instaflash (Blank screen)
- I can't flash the BIOS in Windows (Asks to reboot, then to blank screen)
- It needs to have a monitor connected to it, for remote control. Really?
- Only works with a monitor connected to it as teamviewer just displays an orange screen
Manufacturer Response:Dear Joseph,

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Mainboard has HDMI and D-Sub VGA output.
Please test with another known good monitor and cable to check if it address the issue.

If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:Joseph S.,9/2/2016 1:55:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock J3710-ITX Intel Quad-Core Pentium Processor J3710 (up to 2.64 GHz) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great board for power efficient NAS
Pros: I used this board as the heart of a small low-power NAS. The Debian (7 Wheezy) based OpenMediaVault 2.2.6 installed from an external USB-flash drive without problems and was able to detect the hardware perfectly. The processor is speedy enough for my NAS needs and even handles CPU/IO intensive jobs such as SnapRAID well. If you need to do transcoding of media files you may want to look for something a bit more powerful, but for general purpose it's more than adequate. The J3710 CPU supports hardware accelerated AES encryption which allows full encryption of all drives with minimal CPU load.

* low-power
* sufficient CPU
* fanless
* 4-SATA ports
* 4*USB 3.0 + 2*USB 2.0
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Here are the components I used for my NAS build:

1 x ASRock J3710-ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo
1 x G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (2 x 8G) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800) Laptop Memory Model F3-1600C9D-16GRSL
1 x SYBA SI-PEX40108 4 Port SATA III PCI-e 2.0 x1 Card
1 x SAMSUNG 850 EVO 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-75E250B/AM
5 x Seagate NAS HDD ST4000VN000 4TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive
1 x LIAN LI PC-Q25B Black Aluminum Mini-ITX Tower Computer Case
1 x SILVERSTONE SFX ST30SF 300W Small Form Factor 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Semi-Fanless Power Supply
Reviewed By:Heiko R.,8/25/2016 7:37:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock J3710-ITX Intel Quad-Core Pentium Processor J3710 (up to 2.64 GHz) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Runs cool without fan (only 6.5W CPU)
Intel J3710 CPU is top in Braswell line: http://ark.intel.com/products/codename/66094/Braswell#@All
Intel J3710 CPU scores 2157 @ cpubenchmark.net which is better than every (??) CPU <= 6.5 watts.
Cons: No VGA port but not a con if you can live without it or use HDMI-to-VGA adapter.
Windows 7 install required USB 3.0 driver to be slipstreamed into install DVD. Asrock includes slipstream utility.
Other Thoughts: Installed Windows 7 Ult. using DVD and PS/2 keyboard/mouse both connected to a PS2 splitter adapter. Worked perfect with latest downloaded drivers (filenames):
1) Intel Chipset (Chipset_10.1.1.14_Public.zip)
2) Realtek LAN (0022-Install_Win7_7100_07202016.zip)
3) Intel USB 3.0 (Intel(R)_USB_3.0_eXtensible_Host_Controller_Driver_4.0.6.60.zip)
4) Intel Graphics/Display Audio (win64_154025.4464.exe)

Linux Mint 18 “Sarah” MATE installed without a hitch. Both OS's run snappy.

Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD
APEX MI-008 Black Steel Mini-ITX Case
G.SKILL Ripjaws 16GB (2 x 8G) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800) F3-1600C9D-16GRSL
KINGWIN KF-251-BK 2.5" Dual Bay SATA Internal Hot Swap Rack w/ Keylock
Rankie 1150 HDTV HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter with Micro USB & Audio Port Cable (needed for my 4-port Avocent KVM that has only VGA)

Couldn't be happier. I'll be buying more of these for system builds. Apex power supply fan is not audible and CPU fan DOESN'T EXIST! Since I don't do a lot of HD video playback decoding, touching the passive CPU radiator literally feels like touching person's forehead with a fever (104 deg. F).
Reviewed By:Alan C.,8/23/2016 1:51:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock N3150B-ITX Intel Quad-Core Processor N3150 (up to 2.08 GHz) BGA1170 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good So Far - Pain w/ Win7
Pros: Robust Fanless CPU, Ample USB, Full 7.1 via optical/electrical, Great HTPC setup
Cons: Win7 Support
Other Thoughts: As others have discussed, this mobo & the intel chipsets are not install-friendly w/ Win7. Thus, be sure to note the following:

1. ASRock has a pretty straight-forward process for getting around this and installing windows 7 on their website.
2. The problem is that they do not prepare you for the fact that Windows will still not have the necessary drivers installed for both Network & USB at completion. This lack of detail in their steps is why I dinged them one rating pt.
3. If you are installing without access to an internal optical drive, this becomes tricky. In my case, I had a USB optical drive, which works during installation, but does not work post-installation, due to the driver issue.
4. Without access to USB or the NIC, the only way to get the drivers was to temporarily install another SATA HD w/ the files from the setup disc copied over. The setup app will not work correctly from the drive, so you have to execute the driver setup files manually. Be sure to locate the USB 2.0 hub drivers, which are there, but not readily identified like the USB 3.0 drivers.
5. As others have stated, be sure that you have a PS/2 mouse and keyboard ready. You may be able to wing it with just a keyboard, if you have an internal optical drive. However, you really need both to get through this process.

Overall, I don't think that there is any greater bang for you buck setup like this ASRock mobo/cpu combo, especially for someone trying to build an economical mini-itx home theater PC.
Reviewed By:Matthew B.,8/22/2016 5:15:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > AMD A68N-5200 AMD Fusion APU A6-5200 Quad-Core Processor Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very nearly perfect!
Pros: -relatively quick processor
-low wattage draw
-plenty of headers on the motherboard (USB, serial, audio, etc.)
-on board VGA and HDMI
-surprisingly good on board graphics chip, HD 8400 that can CROSSFIRE with most newer AMD video cards
Cons: -not many SATA ports
-slightly difficult to install front audio (the header was extremely close to other components, has very little room to work)
-CPU heat sync is tiny, doesn't cool the CPU enough under heavy load and computer can shut down due to thermal limit
Other Thoughts: I did a little experiment with this board where I coupled it with a R7 250 (2 gig GDDR3) and tried to play games on it, and it successfully played Dark Souls 3, GTA 5 and Rainbow 6 Seige.

if this tiny little thing can play those, than it can handle anything

I did notice that the little tiny heat sync didn't really cool it enough, and after about 10 minutes of playing games on it the system would shut down due to high temps, so it might be worth it to find a different/better heat sync if you intend to push the limits like I did

Overall 9/10!!!
Reviewed By:matthew t.,8/22/2016 6:24:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.