Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > AMD A68N-5200 AMD Fusion APU A6-5200 Quad-Core Processor Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Price was right, quad core, all the whistles and bells that I needed.
Cons: DOA
Other Thoughts: Bought this to run PLEX. Didn't know if it hat the power to transcode, but thought I would give it a try. When I turned it on, all the fans and lights in the case worked but the mobo wouldn't post, no beep codes, etc. Got a RMA for an exchange, but it was out of stock when Newegg received it back so they refunded me instead. It may be a good mobo, but i'll never know...
Manufacturer Response:Sorry to hear of your troubles, if urgent need for replacement, Biostar can assist you. Please don't hesitate to contact Biostar support for assistance. 626-581-1055 menu 2 or email support@biostar-usa.com

Reviewed By:Anthony B.,5/3/2016 7:11:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS KBN-I/2100 (V1.1) AMD E1-2100 Dual Core processor AMD Kabini (SOC) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Won't POST with hard drive attached
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Won't POST or do anything if there is a hard drive attached to one of the internal SATA ports. Tried multiple hard drives in each port.
Other Thoughts: Sometimes I can get it to POST/boot after resetting CMOS, but eventually it'll lock up hard and then after a hard reset, it won't POST or boot again, and I have to try a relentless cycle of resetting CMOS with and without the drive attached. Stay away from this if you want a functioning computer. Contacted ECS support online to relay the problem, no response so far in 11 days. I'll update this if anything happens.

UPDATE: Now it won't POST at all. Past the 30 day return period, so I'll have to hope ECS actually contacts me. It's been 15 days and counting since I contacted them.
Reviewed By:Justin L.,5/2/2016 6:19:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > BIOSTAR A68N-5000 AMD A4-5000 Quad-Core APU Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great little board for simple computing.
Pros: - I got this while it was one sale, so the price point for it was basically unbeatable for my fathers basic computing needs.
- Mini ITX goes a long way in decreasing power consumption, and of course space!
- Super quiet as there is no need for a CPU fan. You can buy one separate though as the board does have a plug for the CPU fan.

All in all this was bought for nothing but general computing (web browsing, some word processing) and was the perfect little board for that action, especially at the sale price that I was fortune enough to get it for.
Cons: - No front USB 3.0 support.
- No case fan support directly on the motherboard.
- When not on sale, a tad bit pricey.

In the end these are me being picky and hopefully helping someone else out who's looking at this board.
Reviewed By:Randle F.,5/1/2016 4:12:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock QC5000-ITX/PH AMD FT3 Kabini A4-5000 Quad-Core APU SOC Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Stay away, my first and last Asrock purchase
Pros: I didn't experience any
Cons: I plugged it in, got power but no post. I tested the power supply and it was fine, both on my multimeter and powering my desktop. I tried my desktops power supply with it but to no avail. I tried the brand new RAM in various configurations but no joy, tested the RAM in my desktop and my desktop wouldn't boot. Aha I figured the RAM was the culprit! So I put my desktops RAM into this board and still no boot. I put my RAM back in my desktop... it won't boot.. So not only did this p.o.s board kill 2 sticks of expensive RAM it also killed my desktops RAM too.
Other Thoughts: Seems great in theory but read the reviews thoroughly.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/29/2016 9:39:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Newark > Raspberry Pi 83-16561RK 3 Model B starter kit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's an okay kit. Love the PI
Pros: Comes with almost everything needed to get you up and running.
Cons: You will have to get your own DVI cable (but I knew that)
The plastic has some pegs that lock in the board. If you try to remove the board, especially since it's very hard to remove the SD card while it's in the case, the pegs will break.
Other Thoughts: The Micro SD card comes inside an adapter, which will throw some of the newer users (like me) for a loop. Apart from that, and the poor design of the plastic case, my biggest gripe was that the SD card quit working within days. I tried reformatting it and re-installing NOOBS, but the card was bad.
For my next Raspberry PI I think that I would just buy a kit with the board and the power-source, probably build my own case, and purchase the SD card separately. It's really no big deal to install the OS onto any SD card if you have a reader.
Reviewed By:Jon w.,4/29/2016 12:36:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Newark > Raspberry Pi 83-16563RK 3 Model B Project kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Wrong SD card inside
Pros: cannot say anything
Cons: Pi 3 takes sf mini card, the package includes a standard sd card that was for Pi 2
Reviewed By:Chenghua S.,4/28/2016 9:08:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock N3150-ITX Intel Quad-Core Processor N3150 (up to 2.08 GHz) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 nice little HTPC board
Pros: no fans -so its quiet. has enough sata/usb ports. not the fastest thing ever, but is adequate for the HTPC i built around it.
mythbuntu runs fine once a few tweaks were made (see cons). records ,transcodes, and displays HD video without issues.
Cons: had to disable the ASmedia SATA controller in bios. it was causing random lockups ... ;which is ok because i only needed 2 drives anyways (a boot drive and a storage drive).
Other Thoughts: i would recommend this to anyone looking to build a budget pc/HTPC. just remember to disable the asmedia SATA ports in bios. they may work in windows, i wouldn't know.
newegg build (remove spaces): https ://secure. newegg. com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=11684029
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/28/2016 6:26:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS KBN-I/2100 (V1.1) AMD E1-2100 Dual Core processor AMD Kabini (SOC) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good For What It Is
Pros: + Cheap
+ Relatively Low Power Consumption
+ Fanless CPU
+ My RAM Worked
+ Works just fine with Windows 7 Pro 64bit
+ Runs at an Acceptable Speed once you turn off all of the pretty desktop graphics options.
+ Easy BIOS Navigation
Cons: - Only 2 SATA ports
- Dual-Core processor is only 1GHz
- xPCIE ports basically worthless except for a WiFi adapter
Other Thoughts: I will be running this as an always-on file and printer server. It will likely sit idle 90% of the time.
I was worried that the RAM I bought wouldn't be compatible (Hyper X Fury) but it seems to work just fine.
I noticed a remarkable improvement in speed once I set the desktop for performance rather than appearance (basically turned off all of the desktop animations and shadows) and then changed the windows to "Classic mode"
I haven't had any issues so far. Now to figure out how I want to mount this thing in my desk.
Reviewed By:Brett A.,4/26/2016 10:40:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock N3150B-ITX Intel Quad-Core Processor N3150 (up to 2.08 GHz) BGA1170 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Little Motherboard
Pros: A great motherboard for building a HTPC.
Cons: The first motherboard I received died after a few boots. I did an RMA and got a new one very quickly. The replacement motherboard is working great.
Other Thoughts: I bought this to update my aging HTPC. The cost and size of this thing finally made me pull the trigger. My new build is small, silent and so far has played everything I've thrown at it without fail.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/26/2016 12:55:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900M PRO3 Intel Celeron J1900 2.0 GHz Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Seems Alright
Pros: Lower power board with plenty of expansion slots
Cons: 4-pin fan headers would have been nice
Other Thoughts: Linux drivers would have been nice. At least a third of the people reviewing this board are not running windows on it. I am monitoring the board with lm-sensors and conky via ssh, but i shouldn't have to.

The board has been up and running for two weeks now. I had to restart due to some configuration changes I made, but at the time of this review the system is at five days and six hours of continuous uptime. It is worth noting that I shut off everything I could in uefi. So I have no idea about most of the ports. However, the parts i am using work just fine with Untangle. Also this board is total overkill for what I am using it for, so not really taxing it. Average CPU lad is 1-5 percent.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/25/2016 5:06:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.