Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > BIOSTAR NM70I-847 Intel Celeron 847 1.1GHz 2C/2T BGA1023 Intel NM70 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Plenty happy
Pros: Fast enough for what I need, act as a router.
Cons: I bought this to act as a hybrid internet gateway, and traffic manager. I use Linux mint on a 64 GB SSD and am happy.

Low cost, LOW power consumption, and good performance. If you want to watch movies I suggest a quad core, if just surf, this is the cheapest you can get.
Other Thoughts: Not per se a media center pc... but dummy terminal and basic internet client, and other base functions are easily handled. Get quality memory.
Reviewed By:Rory,1/30/2015 5:28:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-J1900N-D3V Mini ITX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for NG Firewall
Pros: Mini ITX with quad core. Untangle 11.0 installed without a glitch.
Cons: None that I have come accross
Other Thoughts: Will be using as a Linux server too..
Reviewed By:Sadmatty,1/30/2015 9:50:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900M Intel Quad-Core Celeron Processor J1900 Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for cheap build
Pros: -Cheap
-Relatively easy setup
-Plays 1080 easily
-Runs Ubuntu 14.04 with absolutely no problems or additional setup!
Cons: -Manual is unclear to a first-timer
Other Thoughts: -Intel Celeron isn't exactly a powerhouse, but I knew what I was getting
Reviewed By:PCBuild,1/24/2015 2:46:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > BIOSTAR A68N-5000 AMD A4-5000 Quad-Core APU Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little board!
Pros: This little board is amazing. No, it's not the fastest, but it does what it's designed to do and does it well. It's the perfect board for a media system or just a general home or office PC.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I installed this into an Apex M1-008 case and added a Samsung SSD and 16G of ram and it's surprisingly quick. Everything worked perfectly right out of the box.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 4:19:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q2900-ITX Intel Pentium J2900 2.41 GHz Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great HTPC board
Pros: I've been using this as the core of 4gb HTPC build since september (5 months) and it has been been a rock. 0 issues, using a Intel Premium 7260 IEEE 802.11n Bluetooth 4.0 - Wi-Fi/Bluetooth Combo Adapter for Notebook/Tablet OEM pack for wireless and bluetooth along with a PS3 BluRay remote.

Running XUbuntu and XBMC / Kodi 24/7 with a few Ubuntu hiccups, but so far nothing hardware related.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 12:49:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > NVIDIA > NVIDIA JETSON TK1 DEVELOPMENT KIT: Tegra K1 SOC, Kepler GPU w/ 192 Cores, NVIDIA 4-Plus-1 quad-core ARM Cortex-A15 CPU, 2GB Mem, 16GB eMMC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 NVIDIA Tegra K1
Pros: Has quite a bit of ability for development on the system itself thanks to the Ubuntu OS setup for the Tegra K1. Seems to do well with the processing of video for machine vision plus has OpenCV support.
Cons: Initial setup of the board and getting Ubuntu desktop took a little doing in the beginning. Has issues with Flash and HTML5 video in Youtube when using Fire Fox. (Found Google Chrome worked better) Could use better documentation on the panel header for connection of external power and reset buttons. Board is not standard chasis mount for computer cases.
Other Thoughts: I see quite a bit of potential for the Tegra K1 outside of the gaming and tablet industry. It still has it's micro controller roots which allows for connection to industrial machine and robotics world.
Reviewed By:Eb,1/22/2015 11:15:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Foxconn > Foxconn D180S Intel Dual Core Celeron J1800 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 1 worked great, other was DOA
Pros: Fast, inexpensive, low power, quiet. Great Value.
Cons: I purchased two of these, one was DOA.
Other Thoughts: ArchLinux works perfectly making these ideal for low-power servers. Make sure to follow the UEFI motherboard instructions during installation. The fan is audible, but pretty quiet; it is great for a quiet office, but not suitable for a bedroom/HTPC where I would only use a fanless PC or 120mm fan.

I've requested an RMA from Foxconn for the DOA motherboard (fan runs, but no video); I'll report back on their RMA process.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused, since it's within warranty period, we will be more than happy to help you troubleshoot the unit and if necessary, replace it with another unit.

please call us at your earliest convenience at 714-988-9386 for faster assistance

or submit your email to the link below (it is usually replied within 24 hours). Our hours of operation are from 830am to 530pm PST, Monday through Friday (excluding public holidays).

http://www.foxconnsupport.com/inquiry.aspx


Best Regards,

Foxconn Support Team

Reviewed By:LogicalDave,1/19/2015 7:33:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Intel > Intel BOXD525MW Intel Atom D525@ 1.8GHz (Dual Core) BGA559 Intel NM10 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 good value
Pros: runs win7pro nicely
Cons: none
Reviewed By:pwr_user,1/18/2015 11:09:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > BIOSTAR A68N-5000 AMD A4-5000 Quad-Core APU Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Almost perfect per spec but cooling an issue
Pros: * Inexpensive
* Quiet
* Small (Mini-ITX)
* Choice of HDMI or AGP display
Cons: As noted by others, the fanless heatsink misplacement fails to promote cooling (RAM blockage - see board diagram). Without a CPU fan inside of my Mini-box M350 case, Mobo/CPU/Radeon temps all rose consistently to ~70/75C (note that 80C is too high and 90C is critical). I remedied this by installing an old-ish Evercool 80mm CPU fan on top of the heatsink. Result: all 3 temps are now at 40-45C range.

I used standard CPU fan screws, not tape or epoxy like some more creative/fearless folks have done. Note that 80mm fits perfectly on the heatsink. I sized a 120mm fan but it was significantly too big for a standard (using screws) installation.

Now, all I need to do is find a somewhat quieter CPU fan.
Other Thoughts: The CPU fan is on all the time. I'll play around with the "smart fan control" of the BIOS or Linux until a get a happy balance between cooling and noise. On the other hand, anyone have a suggestion for a *QUIET* but effective 80mm fan? Thank you.
Reviewed By:Richard E,1/18/2015 10:56:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS BAT-I(1.2)/J1800 Intel Celeron J1800 2.41 GHz Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great combo board for tiny HTPC System
Pros: I was NOT disappointed by the performance of this board. For starters, I bought a budget PERFORMANCE SSD and a very respected name SoDimm at 4 GB at 1.35v Win 7 loaded in 6 minutes with a USB drive.. and this thing boots Win from start to finish in about 12 seconds. Mind you, this is a perfect low cost TV BOX... and anyone buying this board/cpu combo should 'know the drill.'
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: ECS makes several combo boards and I suggest looking at price versus performance. Remember that the power requirement on this set is close to 10w.. means a lot of cases that cheat you with a 60w power brick are going to be fine with this combo set.
Reviewed By:Robert K,1/15/2015 10:19:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.