Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > ASUS > ASUS PIKE 2308 Flexible Storage Options for End Users

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Heats up and stops working.
Pros: This is great solution integrated with motherboard.
Cons: Card heats up in both P9D-C and P9D-E series boards. Applied all firmware updates, runs for days, then when you reboot it does not see it anymore. Tried a second card and it did the same thing.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/5/2016 6:14:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE110SS-RED 1x5.25" to 1x3.5" SATA/SAS 6.0Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Fair and solid BUT....
Pros: Solid construction
aluminum sides
LED illumination on front
screw holes for mounting a fan on the back
Cons: The screw and washer that holds the sata pass through circuitry failed to hold it in place. The circuit board slides into place in plastic rails and is held there by a screw and small washer. BUT the washer was too small to overlap the slide rails so the circuit board pulled out of place. I installed a larger flat washer and it works great.
Other Thoughts: Unless you're handy with a screwdriver and can repair things, this is a one use item. I like it but did not appreciate having to repair it in the middle of a build.
Reviewed By:Stephen S.,2/3/2016 7:10:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-2535DE-SA 3.5" to 2 x 2.5" SATA 6 Gbps HDD SSD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I like it
Pros: Aluminum chassis, feels solid, connectors appear sturdy. 'Lever' style mounts make it easy to add and remove drives.

The big plus, for me, is that both drives are powered from one SATA power connector, which saves cable mess and doesn't require you to try to get two SATA power connectors lined up so close to each other. SATA data ports are separate; but those cables are much easier to deal with
Cons: The "locks" on the drive bays are an unfortunate choice: they are too flimsy to offer anything approaching real security; but just strong enough that you'll probably end up snapping something if you lose the keys and need to open the drive bay without them. If you need real physical security, they are pointless. If you don't, they are just another thing to keep track of. A keyless latching mechanism would have been much more suitable.
Other Thoughts: I have no real complaints, this is a convenient, neat, and solid way to get 2.5in HDDs and SDDs into 3.5in slots. consolidating the power cables makes it nicer than mechanical-only adapters.

Do Not, however, buy it expecting some kind of RAID function. It doesn't do that, just passes each drive through to an SATA data connector. It doesn't claim to do anything else, so it is fine that it doesn't; but just don't expect it to.
Reviewed By:John P.,2/2/2016 5:12:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA TC-RPSL26 26" Sliding Rail Kit for Most Rackmount Chassis

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Measure Twice, Buy Once. And, do your homework!
Pros: Strong looking rails. The rollers/rails themselves seem to be very well built and most everything seems to be thick steel.
Cons: These are NOT "universal" rails...

1) These CANNOT be used for 1U chassis. Even though they bolt into a 1U slot, are physically just (barely) over 1U in height. So, you need at least 1.3U of rack spacing... which essentially means 2U to get the bolt pattern to line up.
2) These are just flat out too wide for any of the servers I currently own. I have several 1U Supermicro servers at 16 13/16ths inch (42.7cm) wide and a single 4U Rosewill server at 16 15/16ths inch (43cm). All my routers, switches, patch panels and servers are mounted or sitting in a 4 post 25U open frame StarTech rack (only one server previously had rails, the others were temporarily stacked... hence why I bought these). These rails barely fit onto the Supermicro servers (with some pushing and finagling) but, the server chassis ultimately needs to be at least a few mm narrower to fit properly without fuss (probably <= 42.5cm). In the end it wouldn't matter because even if I could get them to work they rails are over 1U in height. Given the Rosewill case is even wider, no matter how many times I altered the mounting on the server, I couldn't get it to work. When the rails were shifted to be wide enough to fit the chassis width, they were too wide to slide in and out of the rack cage (they kept hitting the vertical mounting post preventing the server from being pulled out). So, these are completely useless for my needs.
3) All the screws that came with the kit have countersunk screw heads. That works fine with their screwy washer system to attach to the front and rear rack posts... but really sucks for mounting the L-brackets to the rails. Those screws should have been pan or button head screws. Going along with that, there were no washers for the nuts used in mounting the rails to the L-brackets, so the tiny nuts tend to dig into the screw slot when you tighten them.
4) The L-bracket uses proprietary square washers which at first thought lets you slide your enclosure flush to the rack and potentially use another screw through the dog ear to hold it in place. However, although the L-bracket has extra holes drilled in it... none of them line up with the middle post hole! (trivial considering all the other flaws)
5) The release tabs that allow you to completely remove/detach the server has to slide over a screw slot. The tabs are just cheap plastic and get pushed into the slot when you try to slide them up/down for release. This prevents you from being able to push them far enough to conduct a release! Seriously? You can't mount any screws in that spot anyway, otherwise the tabs cant be move at all. So, why put a slot there? You could maybe put a piece of tape over the slot so the release tab doesn't fall in; but, that was some seriously poor engineering by iStarUSA.
Other Thoughts: In all, these unfortunately don't work for my setup. However, for others with appropriately sized chassis, they might very well work fine. But, given all the other flaws I noted above, I still can't bring myself to give it more than 2 eggs. I had high hopes for these and iStarUSA engineering fell through on delivering a good quality product. I'll be contacting Newegg to see if they can be returned/refunded.
Reviewed By:Craig H.,1/30/2016 3:55:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE340SS-BLACK 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" SAS / SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage - Black Handle

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 iStarUSA BPN-DE340SS-BLACK 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" SAS / SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage - Black Handle
Pros: Well made and works.
Good price on Newegg sale.
Cons: Fan too loud and uses nonstandard connector. So not easy to replace fan to make it quiet.
Other Thoughts: If you can deal with noise (may be you have loud case or graphics card and it may be ok) this really is a 5 star unit. I have a quiet case, so it looses two eggs.
Reviewed By:Ramasubramanian R.,1/29/2016 10:07:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RL-26 Heavy-Duty Slide Ball Bearing Rail

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 does the job
Pros: it works
Cons: little flimsy ... I have used much better rails... Super micro is still king!

Reviewed By:steven s.,1/29/2016 8:32:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA T-5K25TU-SA 5.25" to Slim ODD and 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage with USB 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terribly Dissappointing Product, STAY AWAY!
Pros: - looks nice, very functional for a single slot Drive
- USB 3.0 Ports included
- Cage for 2.5 Drive with direct to Mobo Sata input very useful
Cons: - no slim ODD included, which are hard to find as is for the high asking price this should have had it included

- also no screws or adapters to properly mount ODD once you get one. Slim ODD uses a smaller SATA power connector for laptop that is uncommon for desktop PCs so you will need an adapter in order to make it work with your desktop. again if it came with the -ODD to begin with this wouldn't have been a problem.

-ODD also did not properly fit the bay as described, i was forced to sand down the plastic in the front of the slim ODD in order for it to fit the opening for the drive bay, still trying to figure out what to use to screw the ODD into the bay after sanding since this junk didn't come included with screws.

- USB 3.0 ports require a 20 pin connector in order to work, although it was expected, the port on MOBO was already occupied with the Cases already built in 3.0 ports, so i was forced to purchase another internal PCI-E 20 pin connector to make these panels work.
Other Thoughts: On top of the already high $40 price point I was forced to put in an additional $50 just to get the Drives and conversion adapters for it as well as getting the ports to work. I had to do some elbow work to make the surface of the ODD Drive fit the bay, on top of that i still need to find my own screws that will grip and hold the ODD in place.

I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Reviewed By:Andy V.,1/29/2016 1:55:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RASA-13001 - 1.6-Foot (0.5 Meter) Multi-Lane Internal (SFF-8087) Serial ATA Breakout Cable

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Beware! Short service life
Pros: - Cheap (should have been a warning)
- 0.5 meter length
- Fairly flexible (compared to "better" cables)
- Red (if color matters)
Cons: Lasted 9 months in a case (without being moved) and then a channel died ( # 4)
Other Thoughts: I was a little leery going into this, as there were some comments about bad cables already here. Figured if cables worked when first connected, and then weren't moved around, they'd keep working. Right? Wrong! 9 months later, the screaming of the RAID card alarm indicated an array member had been lost. Figured "might be a glitch" so powered down, wiggled cables, powered back up, and the array starts rebuilding (missing member is back). "Time to finally order that spare drive."

A week later, 1 day after receiving the new drive, the alarm is heard again. Same drive (connector 0, channel 3 - the 4th drive). Swap out time, with a twist: new drive isn't recognized by card. It's the cable! Replace with original cable (a Highpoint, which was originally replaced because it was too long - 1 meter) and the rebuild starts on the new drive.

Moral of the story: don't expect cheap cables to last.
Reviewed By:Edward B.,1/28/2016 6:24:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO CBL-0307L SLI Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Flexible Sli Bridge
Pros: - flexible, perfect for when your gpu's are different heights
- installs easily
- was well packaged and arrived quickly
- sli works well with this cable
Cons: - price but I got it on sale so no real complaints
Other Thoughts: - for those who say you can find these cheaper elsewhere, I ordered 2 (due to doa reviews and I didn't want to chance a bad one) on another popular merchant website (in december) about a week before I planned on adding a second video card, (edit:it took over 3 weeks, 4 days after the one from newegg arrived) This arrived within days of ordering it and it works.
Reviewed By:Steve M.,1/27/2016 1:02:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Athena Power > Athena Power MR-125PB 3.5" HDD Hot-Swap Mobile Rack Converts 1 x 5.25" to 1 x 3.5" SATA/SAS 6Gb/s HDD with LED Indicator & 1 x 80mm Slim Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great solution for removeable server backup
Pros: Easy to install and use, great value for $$
Cons: NA
Other Thoughts: Got one of these for a swappable backup hard drive. The caddy for the hard drive is a great way to give the hard drive a little protection for taking offsite. Going to get a second one (mainly for another caddy insert) so I can switch between two drives. It would be nice if they sold the caddy separately, but the whole thing is cheap enough that I don't mind so much.
Reviewed By:McAllister Y.,1/26/2016 10:51:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.