Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Sonnet Technologies > Sonnet RACK-MIN-2X RackMac mini - 1U Rack Kit for 2 Mac mini Server

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well with minor alteration
Pros: -pretty cheap for a rack mount
-fits 2 mac minis
-has physical power button switch
-has usb 3 reach around
Cons: -the front has slots for super drives, which haven't been part of a mac mini in a while
-instructions on opening the case are pictographically represented (no words) make sure if you buy this you remove the middle screw on the bottom of the unit to open.
Other Thoughts: all in all this unit does exactly what I wanted it to do.
Reviewed By:Timothy O.,8/29/2016 6:23:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA TC-RPSL26 26" Sliding Rail Kit for Most Rackmount Chassis

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great Rails
Pros: Simple to install, cheap, does what it was designed to do
Cons: Some of these will ship without screws to assemble them, kinda annoying because I need to find screws and nuts to put them together. Doesnt seem to work well with 1u cases, however if you are aiming to use 1u cases I fail to see why you would be getting these rails.
Other Thoughts: If your rails dont come with nuts / bolts, or screws... just head down to home dept, they are simple enough, its just mounting equipment. I prefer IBM's mounting hardware, its easier to install, however you are paying for it, so if you are looking for cheap rails that are easy to install, these would work fine.
Reviewed By:Cory K.,8/20/2016 12:30:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE110SS-BLUE Trayless 5.25" to 3.5" SATA SAS 6 Gbps HDD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great option for removable back-up hard drives in desktop computers or servers.
Pros: - Door latches keeping drive secured.
- Easy installation.
- High quality looks and feel.
- Good ventilation keeping drive cool.
Cons: - Some people might argue it does not support 2.5" drives.
Other Thoughts: - I would recommend this rack for having removable hard drives in desktop computer.
- It does not have its own mini-fan for cooling. It might be needed if your PC does not have enough fans to move enough cooling air. This was not a problem for my PC with (6) six 120 mm fans (4 exhaust + 2 intake).
Reviewed By:Pedro G.,8/10/2016 6:47:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE110SS-BLACK 1 x 5.25" to 1 x 3.5" SATA / SAS 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 was broken on installation
Pros: none
Cons: Power plug in port was really recessed. Reason pcb board was broken in two. Poor design probably why it was so cheap. I usually don't buy highly reduced items, but I liked the looks for my new computer build. Looks can be deceiving. l learned my lesson.
Other Thoughts: Needs a redesign with more support for the pcb board. The rest of the design is ok. Looks great.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/9/2016 4:30:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPX-124-SA 5.25" to 4 x 2.5" SATA 6 Gbps HDD SSD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hot Swap your SSD'S
Pros: So easy to swap out multiple images as well as fast change data sources. Buy one and you'll want every machine you ever own to have one! I do.
Cons: Could ship with 90degree (one end) SATA cables and power adaptor4pin to 16 pin.
Other Thoughts: Yes, I recommend this product!
If they could incorporate my con comments it would be that much nicer!
Reviewed By:walter m.,8/7/2016 2:30:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Athena Power > Athena Power BP-1225U32SAC USB 3.0 Super Speed 5.25" Drive Bay Extended Backplane Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Impressive module!
Pros: When I got it, my first impression is: It's heavy! It’s made by really durable steel, but only front plate has black coating. Checked up the backplane module, it’s impressive! The 2.5”HDD caddy is awesome because of the plenty of vent-hole, anti-vibration springs, HDD status LEDs and security lock. Looked up the backplane of the hot-swap module, it's integrated with dual channel connection (4 SATA 7Pin) and a SATA power connector. After talk with manufacturer’s tech support, this backplane not only supports SAS & SATA interface but also enterprise grade 2.5”HDD. Wow! It’s amazing with this range of price! By the way, the USB can use as USB3.0 and also USB2.0, so I will use one side of them being USB3.0 and another side is USB2.0, since there is just one USB3.0 connector on my mobo.
Cons: The USB cables are bended and stored inside of this unit; I have to take off the top lid then pull out the 2 USB cables.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/6/2016 6:47:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > ASUS > ASUS PIKE 2008 Flexible Storage Options for End Users

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Card Overall
Pros: Handles Raid 0, 1, and 1E
Passes unconfigured drives through to the OS. (Unlike the 2008/IMR which does not)
Allows for raid expansion
Cons: Does not support raid 5 or 6
Can only expand raid 1 configurations
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure of the maximum number of logical drives this card can handle. The 2008/IMR, which has the same hardware but different firmware was limited to only two. But the firmware on this card is more simple so perhaps it can handle more. Clear documentation on this is hard to find.

I chose this because my previous raid card, 2008/IMR would not allow me to configure more than 2 logical raid volumes and did not pass unused disks through to the OS.

This card is good if you want to have your primary OS on a raid 1 and then use software raid to configure your other drives. Also, I would consider this a good candidate if you are making a homemade NAS box and already have an ASUS board.
Reviewed By:Jared T.,8/5/2016 4:53:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO SS-500 5-Bay SATA / SAS Hot Swap Rack Module

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great product, fan is super loud
Pros: - Easy to install
- Works great
Cons: - Fan was super loud, might of been a bad bearing. I pulled the fan out and replaced with another 80mm quiet fan and then ran the cable straight to the motherboard fan plug.
Other Thoughts: It is a great unit just needs a better fan
Reviewed By:Carlos C.,8/2/2016 10:22:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPX-124-SA 5.25" to 4 x 2.5" SATA 6 Gbps HDD SSD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Defective by design
Pros: None that I was able to find
Cons: Contraption is extremely flimsy -- inserting the drive tray requires careful positioning, and, since there are no guides to speak of it might take few tries to get the drive into the backplane connector. "Hot-swap" nomination, under the circumstances, is the bad joke.

In the unit, I have received, only one of four slots actually recognized the presence of the drive and, even that one was giving me drive errors. I was stupid enough to put boot drive into it and was rewarded with the drive corruption and the need to recover from backup. An I have used flashlight and the mirror on the stick to make sure that drive is actually plugged into the backplane before trying.

Conclusion: do not buy.
Manufacturer Response:BPX-124-SA has 4 power indicators, which are marked HDD1, HDD2, HDD3, HDD4. As long as they plug into the hard drive correctly, the power LED will indicate Blue. It shouldn’t be too hard to position the drives, since the tray’s handle will click on the housing. Check out our installation video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Z6gkNGg4N0

Also, did you try to connect the power and date cable to the drive directly to see if your drives actually works. If it’s our product issue, we can issue RMA replacement.


Thank you,
iStarUSA Group

Reviewed By:Alexandre K.,7/28/2016 8:16:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-Slider 24 24" Length 2U-4U IPC Rack Mount Case Slider Rail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 B+ rails for a C- Price
Pros: Cheap
Do the job
should fit any 2U-4U athena case
Cons: Mounting holes weren't perfect for a 4U/24 Bay athena case... the rails could have had more screw holes
Not as easy supermicro "toolless" rails...
Other Thoughts: I took a chance on these rails, despite the negative reviews. I'm glad I did... for the price on NewEgg these are a steal. We have a number of different railsets in our data center. These are much better than most, and the cheapest set we own. They didn't fit perfectly on our 4U athena case, but they fit decently. They appear to have no problem handling the weight of a very heavy server, no issue! They slide reasonably well also, no problems there. I'll definitely buy these again for any future athena cases.
Reviewed By:Theodore D.,7/21/2016 8:46:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.