Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPX-124-SA 5.25" to 4 x 2.5" SATA 6 Gbps HDD SSD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Defective by design
Pros: None that I was able to find
Cons: Contraption is extremely flimsy -- inserting the drive tray requires careful positioning, and, since there are no guides to speak of it might take few tries to get the drive into the backplane connector. "Hot-swap" nomination, under the circumstances, is the bad joke.

In the unit, I have received, only one of four slots actually recognized the presence of the drive and, even that one was giving me drive errors. I was stupid enough to put boot drive into it and was rewarded with the drive corruption and the need to recover from backup. An I have used flashlight and the mirror on the stick to make sure that drive is actually plugged into the backplane before trying.

Conclusion: do not buy.
Reviewed By:Alexandre K.,7/28/2016 8:16:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPX-124-SA 5.25" to 4 x 2.5" SATA 6 Gbps HDD SSD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Feasible alternative to full metal drive cage
Pros: Supports 7mm-12.5mm thick drives, so plugged in Kingston SSDNow V300 Series. Plenty of vents for regular HDD or hybrid SDHC running RAID. Has blinking lights? Good tech support service line with quick feed back on my build.
Cons: Really got to read the fine prints. Almost went for 15mm drives plus this unit (on sale) but pull back after reading it only supports 7mm - 12.5mm height drives. MOLEX connectors? Really? Good thing unit comes with the converter.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/27/2016 11:40:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-Slider 24 24" Length 2U-4U IPC Rack Mount Case Slider Rail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 B+ rails for a C- Price
Pros: Cheap
Do the job
should fit any 2U-4U athena case
Cons: Mounting holes weren't perfect for a 4U/24 Bay athena case... the rails could have had more screw holes
Not as easy supermicro "toolless" rails...
Other Thoughts: I took a chance on these rails, despite the negative reviews. I'm glad I did... for the price on NewEgg these are a steal. We have a number of different railsets in our data center. These are much better than most, and the cheapest set we own. They didn't fit perfectly on our 4U athena case, but they fit decently. They appear to have no problem handling the weight of a very heavy server, no issue! They slide reasonably well also, no problems there. I'll definitely buy these again for any future athena cases.
Reviewed By:Theodore D.,7/21/2016 8:46:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE340SS-BLACK 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" SAS / SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage - Black Handle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with Enterprise SAS disks as well as SATA
Pros: The internal drive connectors work with SAS disks where the power and signal connectors are one rather than split. Heavy duty, fan noise is present, but civil. Got at a great price on sale, they were roughly 'two for one'...and heck, they even look good.
Cons: If your case has wide tabs to support the edges of the 5.25 drives, then you *could* have trouble getting this in. It has grooves, but they aren't extra deep. The door latches for the drives could be a bit more refined, but I haven't had anything eject itself on me yet.
Other Thoughts: I had access to some 2TB disks from an enterprise array that was being retired, and a used IBM 5015 (LSI) RAID controller with cache and battery backup. Because of the SAS style internal drive connectors this bay worked well with both, and most other alternatives would not have. In another case I am just using SATA ports from the MB, and standard SATA II/SATA III disks, and that worked perfectly as well.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/21/2016 7:43:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS-RED Trayless 2 x 5.25" to 3 x 3.5" SAS SATA 6 Gbps HDD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love this
Pros: Easy to install, works great, saves space, great way to have information available without dedicating drives to a particular computer, more drives in a smaller case.
Cons: Not yet.
Other Thoughts: Some things working on Windows 7, don't work on Windows 10, and I don't want to keep 2 drives in the computer with two OS' because of Murphy's Law. I've been there. The hot swap trays are great for that.
I can also use Linux, any version, without tearing the computer apart just to play.
Reviewed By:James F.,7/18/2016 4:13:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPX-124-SA 5.25" to 4 x 2.5" SATA 6 Gbps HDD SSD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Cheap and disappointing
Pros: - Cheap
- Looks "ok"
- Might be "ok" for four SSDs, not ideal for 9-15mm HDDs
Cons: - Completely plastic... plastic trays, plastic enclosure, plastic rails.
- Does not fit 4 x 15mm hard drives, not enough vertical space.
- Does not fit 2 x 15mm hard drives unless you snap off two pieces of plastic railing.
- Easy to break.
- Trays will break if you put in and out.
Other Thoughts: I bought four of these when they were on sale -- really excited. But they're severely underwhelming and I would never buy them again. Spend more money and get a nicer metal one, you won't regret it.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer:

Thank you for purchasing our item and for your feedback that will help us to continuously improve our design and production processes.

As for your specific review regarding BPX-124-SA, the specification states that it supports 7mm-12.5mm thickness drives. We are not sure why you put 9mm-15mm then addressed the issue with 15mm drives. If you had the 9mm, this case will support those drive heights. If you've had the 15mm drives then those will not fit according to our specs. Please contact our tech support in the future if you have any questions regarding the specifications. You can call or email. We respond promptly.

We can also suggest additional purchases that will optimize your purchase of this cage. For example, you can consider the RP-3HDD2535E simple drive rack that can give you extra flexibility when it comes to drive thickness and form factor.

Thank you!

Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/18/2016 12:50:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE350SS-RED 3 x 5.25" to 5 x 3.5" SAS/SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 nice, could use some design improvements
Pros: fits in my 4u rack
I'd say it's a good build quality
Cons: the sata power connectors are far too close for cables that don't have a sata connector terminating them. taking off two eggs for a design choice that could potentially damage the sata power sockets since torquing them is rather easy. almost happened here but went with two separate sata power cables to keep it safe. (still snapped off a nonfunctional piece of the connector though) next iteration, could the power connectors be stacked 2 - 3 mm further apart, thanks.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/17/2016 7:08:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPU-124DE-SS 1 x 5.25" to 4 x 2.5" SATA/SAS 6.0Gb/s Hot-Swap Backplane RAID Cage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Has issues
Pros: Looks great and installed easily, I found it easiest to slide in after installing a 5.25" Blu-ray drive beneath the bay this unit was installed in. The red backplate makes it easy to spot the connector locations in the dark.
Cons: The lights on mine are flashing red non-stop regardless of the LED switch position, something is clearly faulty with my unit.
Other Thoughts: The manual for this product does not have any appendix with LED codes to indicate what the red flashing lights mean. I already swapped out all of the SATA data cables and SATA power cable, giving it a dedicated power cable from a different port off a modular power supply but no dice. I hate having to deal with RMA.
Reviewed By:Patrick J.,7/10/2016 8:57:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS-RED Trayless 2 x 5.25" to 3 x 3.5" SAS SATA 6 Gbps HDD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does the job and well
Pros: Allows the mounting of a third drive where there was room for only 2
Various colors available if that's important to you. I lucked out, the sale cage matched my color scheme, but I would have purchased it regardless of the color
Cons: fan is a bit noisy and not locks not secure enough to prevent unauthorized drive removal

some reports of backplane failure, so I'm not using this to support my boot drive ( I was lucky enough to grab a Half XM case which has its own hot swap tray system and that is where my boot ssd resides)

depending on your build, you might run into some cable management issues
Other Thoughts: if you are critically short on drive bays, this system can be a lifesaver.

might have a problem with some cases, the fit is very tight, so watch out for the day ruining sharp metal edges on your PC

grab it while it's on sale, it's an easy buy. This product is available in a wide number of variations, more colors, more or less bays, but the common theme is, a two drive bay gets three positions, a three drive bay gets four and so on.

istar makes a bunch of neat products, similar in the "I got that oddball stuff you want" I've come to expect from startech.

A PCI-e riser that gives you two pci-e16 AND a pci slot for example.

I have a PCI card I have to run in a rig without a pci slot. I used the st solution which was a full on pcie->PCI adapter card.
Reviewed By:Peter P.,7/9/2016 6:51:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE350SS-BLACK 3x5.25" to 5x3.5" SAS/SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 LOUD, but so far pretty effective.
Pros: Easy install/removal of HDDs
Ability to "Lock" lever to avoid accidental opening
4 HDDs off of two SATA power plugs
Plug it in & it works
Cons: LOUD - even at the Low setting
Non-standard fan & plug sizes makes upgrading fan complicated
Very deep back (there's not much they could do about this though - it's about as shallow as could be)
Other Thoughts: If you want a quiet HDD cage, don't get this unless you're willing to spend $ for a quieter fan and ~30-60 minutes replacing it. Also, make VERY sure this will fit in your case. This backs into the case at least 8-1/8" - could make thing very cramped depending on where it goes in relation to you power supply/motherboard connections.
Reviewed By:tim s.,7/8/2016 3:25:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.