Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > LSI > LSI LSI00264 MegaRAID LSIiBBU08 Battery Backup Unit for 9260/1 and 9280 Series--Avago Technologies

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Woudn't run my servers without it
Pros: Cache boosts performance, this battery protects the cache.
Cons: Expensive for tiny, cellphone sized battery
Other Thoughts: Will buy another soon for my Lenovo servers
Reviewed By:Martin H.,5/27/2016 2:15:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS-BLACK 2 x 5.25" to 3 x 3.5" SAS/SATA Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hits every requirement of mine
Pros: It works, it looks nice and it installs very easily. It is nice to have both the power and the SATA signal cables on the same side (the side with the removable computer case panel). No tools at all required to mount drives in the bays. They seemed to have thought of everything. The clearances are a little looser than other similar products so it is fairly easy to insert the drives without hanging up. Personally I like that it came clean with no USB ports or anything other than what I needed, a three bay removable drive case. I have been using it for several weeks now and no problems to report.
Cons: I think the fingers that push the drive off the socket is plastic so I would advise not using any significant force to open a bay. Fortunately the force required to unplug a drive is not excessive. I have seen some that you could suspend the drive off the sockets!
Other Thoughts: Others have complained about the fan noise but I don't hear it myself even on high but I come from the "old school" that believes you don't have enough fans if the case isn't hovering just off the floor. I have had it only for a couple of weeks but unless there is some long term reliability problem, it should do what I need for a long time. I mainly use it for back ups, testing drives, building new systems, and for moving files to new drives before permanently installing them.
Reviewed By:Joseph N.,5/23/2016 2:11:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE340SS-BLACK 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" SAS / SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage - Black Handle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I just love these things!!!
Pros: these things are pro quality. I used to use supermicro cases for my workstations with sleds for the drives. Now I use an old Z800 with this cage. add hba and you have a very robust and flexible workstation. you can get this under 40$ on sale w rebate. the feel of this box is first class. The fan is not noisy. use heatsinks from old velociraptors for ssd adapters. Drives pop in and out so sweet. hot swap works and drives show full bandwidth. SAS works. It really makes the machine.
Cons: no cons. I had to remove the fan cover and trim the fan a bit to clear PSU in Z800, but this is a unique case.
Other Thoughts: I not only recommend- but I buy these when the price is right for gifts.
They also have a single unit that can be had for under 10$ on special.
I keep some on the shelf.
Reviewed By:Bruce O.,5/15/2016 11:07:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE350SS-BLUE 3x5.25" to 5x3.5" SAS/SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I love this hot swap hard drive bay.
Pros: I got this one for my 5 disk 3U NAS server.
- Converts 3 5.25" bays into 5 3.5" hot swap disk bay.
- Metal build, no cheap plastic here.
- Really good looking and well finished (you can choose the color you like).
- Disk fits perfectly with a click.
- Key protected.
- Fan cooled with fan controller.
- Activity and inserted indicating led with control switch.
- Fits perfectly
Cons: None, this product is a state of art one!
Other Thoughts: I really recommend this bay, I may be upgrade my NAS to 10 disks due to this miracle!
Reviewed By:Patricio R.,5/13/2016 7:05:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RL-26 Heavy-Duty Slide Ball Bearing Rail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent rails, better than istarusa
Pros: I'm not sure what's wrong with some reviews here, maybe Norco had a bad revision of these and went back to the original design, but these ARE ball bearing rails (In Canada at least).

They are heavy duty and strong, not thin like istarusa version. Compared to supermicro ones, they seem similar in quality. Mounting is easily achieved on square hole posts with the alignment piece.
Cons: Price, could be cheaper.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/9/2016 12:33:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-SATA-Cage-34 - Hard Disk Drives - Black, 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" Hot-Swap - SATA III / SAS - Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product. quite pleased as to how easy it was to install
Pros: easy to install
extras screw and SATA cables were included.
Easy to see LED lights that indicate drive activity.
easy to read documentation
Cons: No cons observed.
The price went up significantly this week.
Other Thoughts: - even with the price increase, well worth considering.
Reviewed By:Mukesh M.,5/9/2016 8:25:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPU-350SATA-SILVER 3x5.25" to 5x3.5" SAS/SATA 6.0 Gb/s Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Former fan of istarusa, but their quality is slipping
Pros: These are great enclosures when they work. The older ones have lasted forever. During a recent freenas build (3x of these backplanes purchased mid-January 2016), I opted to install these tried-and-tested units for my 4th NAS and have discovered that the quality isn't what it once was. It took a month or two to accumulate parts and drives, by which time the newegg exchange timeline had apparently lapsed.

One of the units was defective immediately out of the box with a SATA port not working on the backplane but drive worked when plugged directly into sata cable, while three others (2 new, one old) worked flawlessly. After three weeks of use, the defective unit has dropped several activity and power LEDs and lost two more bays. The backplane board is definitely defective.

I'm now feeling sketchy about the other two new ones, while I'm completely confident that the older hardware is going to continue to work.

Long story short, when you're dealing with nearly a hundred TB of your own personal data, code, security footage, digital media files, photos, etc. You don't want to take chances.

My suggestion would be to look elsewhere until the quality issues are addressed or this item is replaced with a design that hasn't been cheapened to the point of being a hit-and-miss.
Cons: Hit and miss quality now, when this used to be a rock-solid backplane. The trays are still as sturdy as they have ever been, but sata bays tend to just not work and fail quickly over a short period of time.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure if this is a global trend with istar, but I certainly hope not. I'll be contacting them about an RMA, but not until after I receive a replacement from newegg that I'll have to pay for out-of-pocket.
Reviewed By:William S.,5/6/2016 8:42:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE350SS-BLACK 3x5.25" to 5x3.5" SAS/SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Sturdy
Pros: Latches and drive engagement feels positive. No "plastic doodads" begging to be broken. Fan quiet for it's size and speed adjustment works well.
Cons: Orientation of drive is not obvious without another drive to reference, have to peer inside the unit to reference the SATA connector. Not sure there is really a solution to this problem. SATA cables come straight out the back and positioning relative to fan housing prevents the use of right angle SATA cable.
Other Thoughts: Fan housing protrudes, check overall length against your proposed installation.
Reviewed By:ADAM O.,5/4/2016 12:42:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > LSI > LSI LSI00411 1m Internal Cable SFF8643 to x4 SATA HDD (mini SAS HD to SATA data port)--Avago Technologies

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Product received in perfect condition
Pros: Worked perfectly at first installation
Cons: no problem encounted
Reviewed By:Alain L.,5/2/2016 4:53:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > SuperMicro > SuperMicro AOM-TPM-9655V (Vertical) Trusted Platform Module

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Provisioning issue
Pros: Appeared to be the specified order.
Cons: Was planning to use this with a SuperMicro X9SAE-V board. SuperMicro documentation says to ask their support for the Intel Provisioning Utility in order to provision the TPM for full functionality such as use with Intel TXT. However, SuperMicro support didn't want to give me the software and suggested I use the pre-provisioned model, AOM-TPM-9655V-C. "C" is for client, in contrast to server. Since this isn't available at newegg I had to look elsewhere.
Recommend getting a pre-provisioned model if you don't have access to the Intel Provisioning Utility. Check on the SuperMicro documentation for your board to see if you need the -C or the -S model.
I think this issue should be covered in the product description.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Stuart B.,4/29/2016 4:42:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.