Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO CBL-0307L SLI Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's a bridge, it works...what more do you need?
Pros: Links up my two NVidia GTX 960 cards (long story...) successfully for SLI.
Cons: None - it works.
Other Thoughts: No lights, no fancy graphics, no frills, but if all you need is a bridge to connect two NV cards together this works just fine.
Reviewed By:Chris B.,9/25/2016 1:47:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Finisar Corporation > Finisar 10Gb/s 850nm Multimode Datacom SFP+ Tranceiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Woeks
Pros: Fast
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I bought this because it was one of the least expensive on Gigabyte's qualified vendors list for my board. Works like it should.
Reviewed By:Brian H.,9/25/2016 4:24:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS-RED Trayless 2 x 5.25" to 3 x 3.5" SAS SATA 6 Gbps HDD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Windows 10 Pro install issues but then works like it should
Pros: Love the hot swap features, lets me backup various projects to HDD storage, swapping drives as needed.
Especially nice to work with home movie files saved on various HDD.
Cons: Windows 10 Pro would not see newly installed drives without reboot, which is why I gave four eggs otherwise it would be a 5. Manual does not help much, iStar website does not have a knowledge base to search.

But here is a fix-it that worked for me: I have Windows 10 Pro Retail with ASUS Crosshair V Formula A-Z main board, to which I installed this iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS 3-bay HotSwat bay. Enabling the Sata ESP in BIOS, as a chat forum advised, for each of the SATA cables I hooked to the bay, did not work for me. I had to reboot every time for the drive added to the HotSwat bay so that Windows 10 would acknowledge it. Having Device Manager search for newly installed drive did not work for me either. Until I also reinstalled the SATA drivers for my main board. After that the mainboard saw the the newly installed drive like it should, and opened File Explorer for the HotSwap drive shortly after installing a HDD drive into it. Plus the drive now shows up to safely eject it too, on the task bar hidden icons window.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to friends, with caution that Windows 10 Pro just might not work proper with it right off the bat. But on chat forums most say that it works with Windows 7 Pro very well.
Reviewed By:Linda D.,9/24/2016 1:23:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Adaptec > Adaptec 2279800-R ACK-I-HDmSAS-4SATA-SB-.8M Cable

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 1+ years of service, no problems yet.
Pros: Converts SFF-8643 to 4x SATA. Works with bridging an Areca ARC-1883i with typical consumer SATA drives.
Cons: I have no idea what the extra 10 pin 5x2 connector is for.
Reviewed By:Nathan C.,9/22/2016 7:40:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > STARTECH > StarTech CMVELC1U 1U Velcro Horizontal Server Rack Cable Management Panel - 4 Loop Cable Organizer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 As advertized
Pros: Comes with everything you need
Cons: Doesn't have vertically aligned holes
Other Thoughts: Holds cables as advertised what else could you want
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/19/2016 8:23:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPU-124DE-SS 1 x 5.25" to 4 x 2.5" SATA/SAS 6.0Gb/s Hot-Swap Backplane RAID Cage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Seems excellent, except for fan noise
Pros: High-quality aluminum construction. Have enclosed three SSD's--all working well. Throughput as advertised.
Cons: One door would close completely only when locked. If you lock the doors, you will not want to lose the odd keys. You must be careful installing the drives lest you mess up, which means that rapid changes will be unlikely. The only real negative for me is the significant fan noise from the cage's small fans. For these reasons, one less egg.
Other Thoughts: I have a Corsair Air 540 case and, besides the two GPU-side 3.5” hot swap bays, the "four 2.5” tool-free SSD drive cages," actually a hard-to-position plastic cube sitting above the power supply, make drive changes a pain. So I waited for this to become a shell shocker again to purchase. Looking in, out and all around, the construction of this box is excellent, beyond expectations. If you read the instructions, the LED lights are well explained, and if you are careful the installation of the cage and the drives is routine. But my Air 540 case was nearly silent previously, and now there is the noise of these little fans. Not bad, but distinctly noticeable. If you're running HDD's you'll need the fans, but with my SSD's, I'll have to disable the fans. The company oddly has an on-off switch for the LED's, which doesn't actually switch off the LED's, but merely causes them to not blink--yet a far more usable switch to turn off the fans is not provided. I imagine that they don't want anyone who installs HDD's to think they can switch off the fans. Perhaps they should make an SSD only version.
Reviewed By:Mark M.,9/18/2016 3:30:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-SATA-Cage-34 - Hard Disk Drives - Black, 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" Hot-Swap - SATA III / SAS - Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: Price, function and looks. It fit perfectly in my media center server. Very bright, blue LEDs, but my server has a front cover, so it's not so bright, but it looks really nice.
Cons: Plastic HDD trays (sleds). But I knew that going in due to price.
Reviewed By:AARON B.,9/15/2016 4:05:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-SATA-Cage-34 - Hard Disk Drives - Black, 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" Hot-Swap - SATA III / SAS - Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product for the price
Pros: Installed in Rosewill 4U server case, popped right into space, easy cable connection on back of unit. Large fan, moves sufficient volume of air without being loud.
Cons: Can't find a location to buy extra drive trays, either on Newegg or directly from Rosewill. Not having a drive ready to replace a failure kind of defeats the purpose of a hot-swap cage.
Other Thoughts: Great, inexpensive way to join drives together, in or out of a case.
Reviewed By:James S.,9/12/2016 11:57:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RL-26 Heavy-Duty Slide Ball Bearing Rail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Near useless in my 4 post 24U rack due to design of rails interfering with rack
Pros: "Designed" for my Norco case - read in other reviews that other rails wouldn't fit without drilling a new hole pattern
Cons: -Server on rails does not slide into rack due to ~1mm interference on each side of rails
-Junction of rails mounted to server <-> ball bearing slides is cheap / plastic - pops out easily as you try to jam server in
-Eventually got past the 1-2mm clearance problem with a combination of bending and jamming. Was able to get the dremmel out or return the rails
Other Thoughts: -I have SuperMicro cases, KVM and a UPS mounted in this rack, none had any issues
-General cheap construction / long install process (not "quick-rails" by any means, but to be expected at this price point)
Reviewed By:Christopher H.,9/8/2016 12:54:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS-BLUE 2 x 5.25" to 3 x 3.5" SAS / SATA Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Excellent Swap Cage With Some Problems
Pros: Drives run at rated transfer rate. The cage is well made and not having to use drive trays is a real plus. The 2x3 cage expansion for 3 drives in a 2-drive position really helps in the smaller mid towers.
Cons: Drives run hot in this cage. It uses a very small ventilation fan and has very little opening in the rear to allow heat to vent out. Performance drives run 45-47c while other case drives are 35-36c.
Other Thoughts: If not for the heating problem, this would easily be a 4-5 egg item. That said, recommend this cage if using lower power drives like 5400 rpm. Since must use higher power 7200 rpm drives, looking for a way to engineer better air flow.
Reviewed By:Robin M.,9/2/2016 10:44:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.