Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ HT2050 Full HD 1920 x 1080, 2200 ANSI Lumens, Dual HDMI / MHL inputs, Lens Shift, 6X RGBRGB Color wheel, Optional Wireless HDMI Connectivity, 10W Speakers, 3D Ready, Whisper Quiet operation, DLP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Quality Problems
Pros: NONE
Cons: o Unit initially would not remain on for more than 5 minutes, overheating triggers a shutdown.
o After allowing it to cool down, repeated attempts were not successful, to the point that shutdown now happens within a minute or two of startup.
o There appear to be 3 fans. All seem operational. This is a very noisy unit however.
o Air vents were not blocked and room temp was normal 70 degrees.
o Could only conclude unit was defective.
o Existing wiring in place is composite. Do not know if that is what causes the overheating problem. Not practical or easy to run HDMI.
o BenQ HT2050 was intended replacement for a 15 year old Toshiba TDP-MT500.
o BenQ noise level appreciably higher and picture quality not an improvement over 15 year old Toshiba. Major disappointments on both fronts.
o Unit is poorly designed, poorly engineered.
o Lens cap will not seat properly.
o Feet on the bottom of the unit make bracket installation tricky and cumbersome.
o When ceiling mounted, engineers did not allot for the lens cap to be stored without the retaining string easily getting in the way of the lens.
o Bolts needed to secure the unit to a universal bracket are not standard size, so a trip to a hardware store is necessary.
o Overall, a miserable experience, wasted weekend.
o ITEM IS REPLACEMENT ONLY, NO REFUND. I have asked NewEgg for a replacement unit.
o However, this was the first, and it will be the very last, BenQ product I buy. A major disappointment.
Other Thoughts: I can only say that I am perplexed as to why the unit will not operate. I worked with it for many hours, trying to examine every possibility. This thing simply must be a defective unit. And, the no refund policy makes me wonder if overheating is a common problem occurring with these units.

I should point out too, this unit seems to be getting rave reviews. Again, very perplexing given the overheating issue, loud fans, not so hot picture quality. However, I am forced to use composite wiring. Maybe a significantly better experience is available via HDMI? It makes me wonder though if the reviews I'm seeing around the internet are not bought and paid for by BenQ? So, tread carefully if you are thinking about buying this unit.

I will circle back around and update my review after my return and replacement experience and hopeful operational use of the unit at some point.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey W.,5/22/2016 1:17:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > LG Electronics > LG PF1000U Ultra Short Throw Full HD 1920 x 1080 LED Home Theater Projector Smart TV compatible Portable Size

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Projector You Can Live With
Pros: If you ever wanted to watch sports or a movie on a really large screen at home you will understand the attraction of this compact, high quality LG projector. No need for a ceiling mount with a bunch of wires running to it, and no need for a real noisy fan. Just plug this shoebox-sized unit into a power outlet, connect an HDMI cable from your computer or an antenna wire and away you go. Actually, you don't even need those. The PF1000U has built-in Wi-fi so you can connect to your wireless router and use the internet, Netflix, Youtube, Spotify, HULU and more right away. Also, since we have Comcast internet and cable TV, we can use wi-fi / internet to log in to Xfinity.com and watch lots of TV shows, movies etc. online.

Picture quality is crisp and bright with very good color. We've been kinda spoiled for several years watching our excellent Pioneer KURO plasma TV. While the projector's color isn't exactly like the plasma's, it's very acceptable right out of the box. And, if you like to tinker with it, there are individual color settings to play as well as the usual contrast, brightness, etc. You can get a pleasing result if you simply point the projector at a smooth white wall as long as the wall is nice and flat. There's even some paint mixtures you can roll on or spray on the wall to enhance the picture. Best results are usually obtained with a matte white projector screen having a "gain" of around 1.0 to 1.1. On the top of the projector there's a manual focus knob you can rotate to fine-tune the sharpness of the picture. Focus range is limited but effective, no problem.
Watching a live MLS soccer match, a bit of NASCAR and a golf tournament convinced me that the projector can handle fast action well. Can hardly wait for football season.

Small, built-in speakers provide sound that's clear enough for voices and dialog but not much else. Big picture, small sound. However, you can use optical or analog audio-out jacks for external speakers of your choice, and Bluetooth connection is quick & easy with your favorite wireless speaker. There's also a video/audio sync. feature to help ensure that voices and lip movements remain synchronized.

The so-called Magic Remote is simply an air mouse that you wave around to control everything including the onscreen keyboard which appears when needed. It feels awkward at first because i've never used an air mouse, but after a little practice i'm OK with it now.

Of the built-in apps we mainly played around with Netflix and Youtube. While their menus look different here than on our PC, we quickly got used to navigating around the sites. Would it be nice if everything was exactly how we're accustomed to? Yes. Does it matter much? No, because you can adjust to the app's style very quickly.
Cons: Lighting in the room is an issue with projectors. If you must have some light in your room then the picture's contrast and color will always be less than ideal. Projectors have always struck me as rather useless in the living room or den where we normally watch TV and movies. Most of the time the picture is too dim and the color too washed out (except for after dark). Just think of walking into anyplace other than a movie theater where a projector is running. Be it a museum, public building or a sports bar you look up and think yeah ok, big picture, but my TV at home looks a lot better. The LG PF1000U puts up a pretty good effort, making a watchable, if somewhat pale, image in daylight. Better than some i've seen, but it's no match for those $10K models from Sony and others. I lowered a shade or two on the windows casting the most sunlight into the room and that allowed me to happily use the projector for internet, email, and some TV. Dark scenes do suffer some, but anything reasonably bright on TV is OK to watch. Same with the output of our computer.
Other Thoughts: Regarding picture brightness and contrast:LG suggests this model is well-suited to throwing a 100-inch image. In a dark room it can even go bigger and still look good depending on your chosen screen (avoid high gain screens). For our room an 80-inch picture is ideal for the available space. This actually provides us with a slightly brighter picture because the projected image is spread over a smaller area. As a result, it handles ambient light a little better. Or, you can adjust the projector's Energy-Saving feature (choice of 3 settings) which dims the picture slightly in steps and also reduces the fan noise to a quieter level. The fan noise is a bit intrusive at the Minimum Energy-Saving setting (brightest picture), but markedly less noisy at the slightly lower settings. If you're really sensitive to fan noise you could prop a throw cushion near the front of the projector (but not touching the projector because of heat) to muffle the fan sound.

This projector is small enough that you can easily move it to whatever location is convenient. Use your laptop's HDMI-out jack, or connect a TV antenna wire for local stations, or connect wirelessly with your phone or tablet. We're planning on mounting an Elite M80UWH pull-down screen above the room's largest window. When the screen is down/open it will totally block the large amount of ambient light from that window.

Will the LED bulb really last 30,000 hours like they claim? Will it retain sharp focus and crisp color? Tune in for an update to this review in about 5 or 10 years and see ....
Reviewed By:Andrew M.,5/21/2016 7:49:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ MH530 Full HD 1920x1080 3D Home Entertainment 3200 Colorific Lumens Projector HDMI 1.4a Built In Speaker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent home or business projector
Pros: Lightweight and compact
Bright image with 1080p resolution
Energy saving features extend bulb life
Cons: Weak speaker (no surprise for a projector so not worth an egg)
Other Thoughts: When I first started training professionally 16 years ago the projector I traveled with was so big it should have had a trailer hitch and wheels. On top of that the bulb didn’t throw out much light (I always had to dim the lights wherever I was training) and the projectors of the day were hugely expensive.
The Benq MH530 is an excellent example of how projectors have improved over the years. Setup is as simple as it can be, the image is bright with high definition, yet the unit is compact and light so will travel well, even when flying. In addition to HDMI it has all the traditional input/output connectors, so if you’re connecting to an older computer that only has a VGA video connector or S-video it will work just fine. The projector also has the standard keystone corrector for squaring up the image, and zoom/focus functionality, and it has an “Eco” function which dims the light under certain situations to save energy and extend the life of the costly bulb.
I tested the unit with a Surface Pro 3 tablet and a mini Display port to HDMI cable, and ran a PowerPoint presentation and an MV4 video. Naturally any standard PowerPoint presentation shouldn’t be a challenge because the computer is doing all the work, but I tested with one I created that has embedded video clips with sound and it displayed flawlessly. As with all projectors of this type the speaker is weak but the Benq has in/out audio ports so I was able to hook up external speakers (the “in” port is for a patch cable if you’re connecting with VGA since that cable doesn’t carry the sound signal). Then I played the MV4 video, still hooked up to the external speakers, and the projector showed its chops as a home theater device: excellent image filling a wall and sound filling the room.
This is an easy product to recommend, it offers top notch performance and features at a reasonable price. Five eggs.
Reviewed By:Cecil S.,5/21/2016 9:03:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ MH530 Full HD 1920x1080 3D Home Entertainment 3200 Colorific Lumens Projector HDMI 1.4a Built In Speaker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great projector for any use
Pros: This is sold as a "Business Projector" so I wasn't expecting much, but wow was I impressed. The colors are vivid and the it is very bright even in a well-lit room. I threw it up on a wall in my living room and it looked amazing, it even has adjustments for wall color which worked really well. I cannot stress enough just how clear and crisp the picture was

It weighs just over 4lbs so it is easy to take with you or move around if you do plan to use this for presentations. The built in speaker is sufficient for a media presentation, but you do not want to use this for watching a movie.

It supports a number of inputs though I would thing the majority are going to use either D-sub from a computer or HDMI, but if you have some older gear in your office that require S-video or composite they have you covered there as well.

Setup was very easy, the controls are intuitive and the remote works really well.

The built in height adjustment was quick and easy to use, I would say that as long as you have the unit at least 3ft off the ground you should be able to align it with any screen.

Boot up time is only a few seconds from a powered off state and while the fan noise is noticeable at start up I didn’t notice is much once I was paying attention to a movie. I would still not want to sit right next to it if you plan to use this for entertainment only.

You will want to keep the projector about 10 - 15 feet from the screen so keep this in mind if you have distance constraints

Just for fun I connected up my Roku streaming stick and it worked perfectly. It makes for a nice compact entertainment unit. It even supports 3d if you happen to have some 3d Bluerays. My kids were amazed that I could turn a wall into a movie theatre. Just need one of those outside blow up screens and I can have the neighborhood over for an outdoor movie night.
Cons: Internal speaker is a bit lacking
Replacement bulbs are expensive

Other Thoughts: Do keep in mind that like any projector the lamp will eventually burn out. A replacement lamp for this unit right now is going to set you back around $150 so plan for that when you are figuring out your costs.

I feel like I should have been able to find more that I didn’t like, but I just couldn’t. I think the price is reasonable, the quality is good and the performance was stellar.
Reviewed By:Christopher D.,5/20/2016 4:51:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > OPTOMA > Optoma HD141X 1920x1080 FHD 3000 ANSI Lumens, 16:9 Aspect Ratio, Dual HDMI / MHL Input, Built In Speakers, Audio Output, 3D Ready Cinematic DLP Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect Picture Quality, Amazing Reliability, Unbeatable Price
Pros: - Crystal clear 1080p
- Large screen size from short distance
- Fantastically bright
- Amazing contrast
- Tons of options and customization
- Built in speakers are loud
- Plug and play
Cons: None, really. You will need to open it up and suck all the dust out every six months or so. But that's no problem, a few screws and the top comes right off.

Other reviewers say the fans are loud but with a movie playing you definitely can't hear it. I suppose if you're watching something without sound you would hear it but just barely.
Other Thoughts: I've owned this projector for a year and used it pretty much every day. Probably average a eight hours a week. You wouldn't be able to notice though. It's as bright as ever with no signs of dimming at all.

This projector has worked out so well I've convinced two of my friends to buy it as well. They've loved it too.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/14/2016 10:38:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > OPTOMA > Optoma HD25-LV HD 1920 x 1080, 3500 Lumens, Comprehensive Inputs, SRS Surround Sound, 3D Ready Home Theater Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Projector
Pros: This is our main TV and does an awesome job. During the day it works great due to it's brightness if fights off most in room light. It is quite, can't say anything about heat since it is hung. Good zoom, can get 8ft wide screen in a 14ft room.
Cons: None, I mean it does everything it says it will on the box, and does them well.
Things it could do (but doesn't because it doesn't cost 3 x what it does)
No physical lense shift, higher refresh rates at 1080p (I do not use any sources that do anything more than 60hrz at 1080 so I am happy),
Other Thoughts: I have owned this for 2 years now and have replaced the bulb once, thats over 4 or 6 thousand hours or use.
I only use this on eco-mode and have not needed to use the full 3500 lms . We use this for all TV/Streaming viewing for the house it gets used all the time.
I didn't mention on the pro's because this is optional but the 3D is great. Until DirecTV canceled the 3D channel we used it several times a week. 3D looks great from any angle.
Reviewed By:Joe H.,5/8/2016 5:52:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > LG Electronics > LG PF1000U Ultra Short Throw Full HD 1920 x 1080 LED Home Theater Projector Smart TV compatible Portable Size

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Blown away.
Pros: The size of this ultra-short throw projector makes it simply appealing as something easy, and it is a nice discrete out of the way device. In my situation it is placed on a TV stand positioned fifteen inches from the wall.

Ultra-short throw projectors aren’t all over the place so this is something I am particularly happy about. It’s packed with multiple useful ports including 2 HDMI ports, 2 USB 2.0, 1 fiber optic, a cable coax antenna, and more including composite/AV inputs.

The adjustable feet make finding the perfect setup easy. No more trying to balance a stand or use books to try and get that projector just right. On the other hand, if you decide to mount this from above it has a very simplistic setup for this as well as the ability to flip the image easily. Using the focus wheel is simple to adjust the image and easy to find the perfect adjustment.

The ability to plug directly in to your network is nice, but somewhat situational. If the home network is configured near it, I would say this is the optimal setup if applicable.

There is an IR receiver in both the front, and rear of the unit, these are in place to give awesome balance and control to the excellent LG Magic remote. I found using this remote was simple and easy. It is very steady while trying to use it.

The remote features an awesome scroll wheel, voice control features and other basic functions. The DLP/3D button is pretty self-explanatory if you have 3D glasses, sit back and enjoy some 3d movies or games!

Blue tooth connectivity in a projector of this caliber is something I expect, and it delivers. I use BOSE Smart Touch to provide the sound for the shows and games I play using the projector. It’s nice to be able to link up, have no large mess of cables, and provide high quality surround sound with ease (provided you have Bluetooth speakers.)

The unit appears to auto adjust perfectly depending on the amount of light with its perceived brightness. This makes watching in daylight, at night time, or with ambient lighting easy and acceptably fine in my opinion.

I was worried about the magic remote being easy to use, however it was very simplistic. It has such a nice balance and navigating with it in and out of apps is very simple and not overly intuitive. The layout, when you hit the home button, is an easy squared grid and simple to navigate. When I tested through its smart capabilities it was without using any of the user manuals. I wanted to see how simple it would be to ‘pick up and play’ and it is very simple. Great work LG.

While it’s a projector at its core it truly feels like a smart TV. While it has quite a range of features and functionality making it very awesome, go ahead and plug that Roku in, or FireStick. Or even a USB loaded with your own movies. I have streamed on it from the laptop also.
Cons: I had a lot of good to say about it (more than I even wrote, the list is huge, good job LG), I am excited about it. It is awesome but here’s the bad…. And even the bad truly isn’t that bad.

The bulb is 1000 Lumens, its great even in sunlight I can see what I want to watch but largely washed out. A more powerful bulb would be amazing, however 1000 lumens is nothing to turn the nose up at.

Next bad, Make a cover for the bulb/mirror! It’s a dust pit, it will cause problems over time. A little fitted cover for when it is not in use would be awesome. Maybe in future models one that automatically closes and opens with power.

Speaking of power, unless it is unplugged it is in perpetual standby mode. I am not a fan of that. Off should be off.

Quieter nicer fans exist, implement this and it’s a real winner. While it’s a smaller device it requires to be cooled, and the fans in this unit are LOUD. Luckily sound from the shows, or games, or what have you drown out the fans. SSO bearing fans are the way to go for quiet performance LG.

For a premium price (while still very affordable for what it is and can do) throw in an HDMI cable!
Other Thoughts: Very deserving of a red dot award, and five eggs on Newegg from me. The cons were not ‘con enough’ for me to take away anything from this awesome projector. The team that designed this, and implemented it did a very nice job.

Lots of very cool smart features, but will probably go largely unused, somewhat of a waste on projector, but very cool to have, not a good or bad thing, almost just right for the price. Great job, great product LG. I would highly recommend this for those seeking a projector.

I would not fault it for the built in speaker quality, it’s a very nice addition to this already excellent product. I would however say, if you are going to add one, with the way sound technology is, maybe make it a little more grandiose. A small thing (and most anyone who gets this device won’t use the built in anyways) that goes a long way, like using SSO bearing fans for a more quiet performance.
Reviewed By:Matthew C.,5/3/2016 5:22:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > Acer H5380BD 720p HD Ready, 3000 Lumens, HDMI/MHL Port, 2W Speaker, 3D Ready, DLP Home Theater Projector

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great projector...
Pros: Giant, 110" tv screen! Good resolution, bright picture
Cons: A few weeks ago the bulb went BOOM after 3,846 hours (that vast majority of those hours were in Eco mode). Literally heard a loud pop, and found the bulb to be in a million shards of glass inside and outside the unit. Poor black levels (this may or may not be negated by using a screen versus the wall I am currently projecting on). The setting that controls overscan always comes up on Auto, which cuts off the edges of my hopper dvr, so I have to manually change it to underscan every time I power up. Fan noise is fairly loud when you are not in Eco mode. Eco mode often has a slight flicker to it.
Other Thoughts: I bought this instead of a new led tv, just to see how it'd work out as a regular every day tv. It works great! The black levels as I mentioned aren't great, but you get used to it after a bit and then don't notice so much, 90% of the time. When watching a colorful show it looks like a gigantic plasma television. For the price you can't beat it. As to whether or not this works out as a cost effective replacement for a large tv, we'll see. I was able to buy 2 replacement bulbs on a prominent online retailer's site for under $100, so provided the projector itself continues to work, I should get a few more years out of it. Then, the big 75+ inch LED tv's might be in my price range.
Reviewed By:Chad L.,4/27/2016 5:59:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > ACER H7530D Full HD 1080P 1920x1080 2000 ANSI Lumens Home Theater DLP Projector

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Overheating Issues
Pros: Really great for the cost, it worked well for the most part, very bright, good colors.
Cons: - As of now, it's basically unfunctional. It will turn on, but 15-20 minutes later it will get incredibly hot and shut down. I have tried improving the ventilation, placing it near an additional fan - and that will get it running for a bit longer
- I had issues with colors getting stuck on one channel, and white vertical scan lines showing up. Replacing the lamp didn't help much.
Other Thoughts: Ultimately, I regret this purchase. It was my first experience with a high resolution projector, but the constant heating issues, color problems, and periodically I'd get vertical white scan lines that would only go away with a sharp tap to the top of the device made it a frustrating experience. Considering the cost compared to other projectors though, I suppose it was fine.

I do not recommend purchasing this device though, I imagine that there are much better devices available for less money that have fewer issues.
Reviewed By:Jaden C.,4/6/2016 3:58:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ HT2050 Full HD 1920 x 1080, 2200 ANSI Lumens, Dual HDMI / MHL inputs, Lens Shift, 6X RGBRGB Color wheel, Optional Wireless HDMI Connectivity, 10W Speakers, 3D Ready, Whisper Quiet operation, DLP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than a 70+ inch 1080p TV
Pros: Looks great on 135" screen. Keystone correction gives minimal distortion. Fan is pretty quiet. Rainbow effects are minimal. It works great for gaming with no noticeable input lag.
Cons: Pain in the urethra to set up, but that is to be expected with wall-mounted projectors
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/27/2016 9:28:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.