Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY 256GB Turbo USB 3.0 Flash Drive (P-FD256TBOP-GE)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Slow for writing
Pros: Inexpensive, easy to use, and read speed is decent.
Cons: Slow writing
Other Thoughts: I own a few of the 128GB version of this and they work very well for both reading and writing. My application is mostly writing and exclusively on Linux.

My first one failed almost immediately and PNY replaced it quickly and easily under warranty. The problem is.... this thing is much slower than the 128GB versions. I have only run this under Linux so maybe there is something about the 256GB version that communicates poorly with Linux. It is fully encrypted and using a file system not supported on Windows (ext4), so I have not tested it there. I just know that with this drive I need to pretty much start my process and then just leave.

If you do mostly reading, or do not try to write a few GB at a time, this may work fine for you.

To put it into perspective, I just ran a backup and it generated a summary of 111MB in size. This summary file took 1 min 45 seconds to write. In other words, a bit over 100KB a second to write the file. I am basing this off logs, so there may have been some processing time to generate the file (all in memory and the stats are a simply dump of internal structures), but it will not significantly affect the time.

By the time this is generated, a significant amount of work has been done, so, if things heat-up and then slow down to prevent over-heating (I said if, I have no idea if this happens) then that will certainly be in play. Regardless, I consider this slow for my uses.
Reviewed By:Andrew P.,9/23/2016 12:16:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Corsair > Corsair 128GB Voyager Slider X1 USB 3.0 Flash Drive, Speed Up to 130MB/s (CMFSL3X1-128GB)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 80mb Sustained Write
Pros: - Transfers at 80mb sustained write to, on USB 3.0
- Nice, clean and functional design
- Tactile feel is nice
- Excellent slider cover design
- Excellent price while on sale
Cons: - 1 out of the 3 I ordered only wrote at 38mb/sec, RMA in process
- No incentive on price when not on sale
- Historical failure rate of Corsair USB flash drives for me is 2 failed out of 6
- Advertised "Speed Up to 130MB/s" has not been accurate for me - 80MB/s is still decent enough however IMHO
Reviewed By:Darek R.,9/23/2016 9:33:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > ADATA > ADATA USA UV128 128 GB High-Speed USB 3.0 Capless USB Flash Drive, Blue/Black (AUV128-128G-RBE)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: - Nothing
Cons: - Has a max write speed of a few KB/s
Other Thoughts: - It's either a garbage product or it's a faulty device
- Do NOT waste your money on ADATA
Reviewed By:Christopher B.,9/22/2016 3:27:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > ADATA > ADATA USA UV140 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive, Blue/Black (AUV140-64G-RBE)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Both have broken in the same place
Pros: - big and fast
Cons: - Both have broken in the same place, the thin plastic surrounding the USB tab
- After having to register on the ADATA site then multiple emails, I have to mail it back for inspection to determine if it will be replaced. No thanks, I will eat the $9.25 I spent.
Other Thoughts: Would NOT recommend, would NOT buy again, wish ADATA made it easier to get them to stand by their product. As for alternatives, I've actually had great luck with ADATA's AUV series.
Reviewed By:Edward V.,9/22/2016 11:48:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > ADATA > ADATA DashDrive Series UV128 32GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive, Black/Yellow(AUV128-32G-RBY)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works!
Pros: It holds 32gb.
It was free (great price)
It's pretty durable. (see other)
No useless software for backups like some other drives.
Cons: It didn't come with a little lanyard or Keychain connection.
Other Thoughts: So, I had it for all of a week and was a little disappointed it didn't have the lanyard loop with it. It does have a spot for it, but nothing to actually connect it. In short, instead of it being attached to my keyring of flash drives, it made its way into the washing machine. Then the dryer. Amazing still works fine. Pretty impressed.
Reviewed By:Keith L.,9/22/2016 5:23:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 32GB Blaze B05 USB 3.0 Flash Drive (SP032GBUF3B05V1K)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Best price for storage and speed
Pros: Knowing I spent under 10 bucks:
-Transfered (Copy from drive) a 115MB file with 150 file count in about 2 seconds -- a good rate!

-29.4 GB out of box is as good as it gets for this price
Cons: -Transfered (Copy to drive) a 115MB file with 150 file count in about 10 seconds -- rather disappointing compared to the advertised speed.

-The slider to expose the USB is made cheaply. A cap would have worked better and prevented dust build-up.
Other Thoughts: -it will be worth your $10, if that's what you're after. The only reason I wouldn't buy a second one is because I have goals of keeping things for decades and I'm not sure how well this cheap plastic & exposed USB will hold up.
Reviewed By:Khaleel O.,9/21/2016 6:10:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > SanDisk > SanDisk 128GB Ultra Fit CZ43 USB 3.0 Flash Drive, Speed Up to 150MB/s (SDCZ43-128G-GAM46)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good for plug-and-forget secondary storage for a Macbook Air
Pros: - Small size
- Large storage capacity
Cons: - None out of the box
- I haven't owned it long and while I hope for the best and don't like to predict failure, even though this is my new 'backup', I still keep a backup of what's on it - as I do when I transition to a new storage product
Other Thoughts: I got this to replace an even smaller (by a few mm) 'PNY' brand 32GB drive I purchased about a year ago at Best Buy. My Macbook Air only has 256GB storage so I keep a flash drive plugged in to act as secondary storage. I will be waiting for this product to be on sale again and buy another 1 and see about RAID configuration to tread them both as a second 256GB drive. It's a remarkably cheap way to double the storage of my Macbook Air without any noticeable different in its size/weight.

5 egg rating is based upon physical size, storage capacity and purchase price. Exactly what I wanted so how can I fault it?
Reviewed By:Marc L.,9/21/2016 12:57:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY 128GB Turbo USB 3.0 Flash Drive (P-FD128TBOP-GE)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 used it 2x, ONLY 2X! ...and it permanently failed
Pros: good ergonomic design
Cons: it fails after two uses, warranty is only 1 year and I am just outside of it. Will never buy PNY again
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Your feedback allows us to better serve our valued customers.
Please contact our dedicated support hotline at 888-316-1194 or e-mail us at championfocus@pny.com so we can further review the situation and determine an appropriate solution. Please include Issue # 637992 and product in the subject of your e mail or refer to issue 637992 if calling.

Champion Support.

Reviewed By:DAVE M.,9/20/2016 2:40:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > ADATA > ADATA DashDrive Series UV128 16GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive, Black/Yellow (AUV128-16G-RBY)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't waste your money
Pros: Price if they worked
Cons: Bought a 3-pack and tried to move 6gb of data onto flash drive. First 2 failed around 2.5gb and felt slightly warm to the touch. They were no longer recognizable by the computer. Last one I decided to move only 1gb at a time and was successful. Moral of the story, if you're going to buy these cheap, low quality flash drives, don't move more than a gig or 2 at a time or they will become junk.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/20/2016 1:30:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Team Group > Team Group 32GB C143 USB 3.0 Flash Drive (TC143332GW01)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Best stay away
Pros: It makes sure you know how to use data-recovery software.
Need a headache? You found it.
Cons: 2 drives died in less than 5 months of VERY light use...
Other Thoughts: The best tip I can give is : try the next cheap/well-rated USB key.
Reviewed By:Bernard S.,9/20/2016 12:01:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.