Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERPro-8 EdgeMAX 8-Port Gigabit Router fiber-enabled, rackmount

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Extremely Fast/Flexible Router + Great for QOS and Traffic Shaping
Pros: I actually use this router in my home, and it is quite fast and provides me with an excellent stable connection. I had been using an ERLite for the past 3 years and I've upgraded to this because Ubiquiti recently added support for fq_codel. My ERLite could manage to support about a 70Mb connection down running fq_codel before running out of CPU horsepower. This beast can do up to 300, providing me with a rock solid 150/10 connection to Comcast with no bufferbloat and excellent stability. Should have enough gas for Comcast's initial push into Docsis 3.1 or their next speed upgrade over the next few years.
Cons: Will need to upgrade again to run fq_codel or whatever the next implementation is by Ubiquiti to support a 1Gb connection.
Other Thoughts: I replaced the fans with Noctua 40mm fans because the noise profile, while not overly loud, was annoying.
Reviewed By:nicholas f.,2/4/2016 6:06:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL USG40 Security Firewall w/13 Months UTM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Half the Advertised Throughput
Pros: This is a full featured, albeit a bit complex, firewall/security device. It's extremely flexible and full featured. It has met all of my needs except one.
Cons: The advertised throughput of 400mbps cannot be realized. I've got all UTM services disabled and I'm only using basic firewall functions yet my internet speed is being cut in half. I've contacted Zyxel support and they really haven't provided any solutions, just some basic troubleshooting steps that failed to deliver any improvement.

Below are the consistent results I've observed in my testing. The actual throughput seems to be about 50% of the advertised. Instead of 400mbps through the firewall, it's maxing just below 200mbps.

Speeds before installing Zyxel USG40: Down-387mbps; Up-322mbps
Speeds after installing Zyxel USG40: Down-198mbps; Up-193mbps
Other Thoughts: If I would have known that the advertised speeds weren't accurate, I would have bought the USG60 or the USG110. Now, it looks like I'm buying one of those anyway and I've got a very expensive paper weight (USG40).
Reviewed By:Brian H.,1/27/2016 4:42:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL VFG6005N 4-Port Wireless N Gigabit Firewall Gateway

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice Entry-Level Firewall with Decent WiFi Range
Pros: This is a nice entry-level firewall that I would recommend for home use or very small office setting. It's in the same price category as non-firewall routers, but with the benefit of added security.

Setup was quick and straight forward. I've used this unit for over a year, and I had one or two firmware updates in that time. Updating the firmware was a simple process.

The WiFi range isn't huge, but it was actually a bit better than I expected for such a small unit with small antennas. The antennas are removable, so you do have the ability to install larger antennas.

ZyXEL tech support is excellent and US based.
Cons: The unit is all plastic and very light weight.

If you have a lot of walls, other obstacles, or need a large area to be covered by WiFi plan on either upgrading the antennas, getting a WiFi extender or access point, or consider a higher model that has a larger WiFi range.

For anything above a home or very small office setting, you should consider a higher model unit that is more suited to those types of applications. This unit is not designed for huge amounts of traffic or for anything beyond entry-level security. If you need more levels of security you will need to look into higher models.
Other Thoughts: I always recommend using at least an entry-level firewall, whether it's in a home or office setting. With so much personal and financial information on your computer and transferred online, it's worth the extra security. You should also always use a full Internet security suite, not just an anti-virus. And yes, you can use software firewalls, like those included with Internet security suites, and a hardware firewall together. It's just another layer of security and protection.

I used the ZyXEL VFG6005N for over a year. Then I upgraded to the ZyXEL ZyWALL USG20W. I had the ZyWALL USG 20W for two years, and now I just upgraded to the ZyXEL USG40W. I've been very happy with each unit and the US based tech support.

System Information:
ASUS P8Z77-V PREMIUM
Intel i7-3770K
Zalman CNPS9900MAX
Arctic Silver 5
EVGA GeForce GTX 670 SC 4GB
4 x 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3 1600
Corsair Force Series GS 240GB SATA3 SSD for SSD Caching
2 x Seagate Constellation ES.3 2TB SATA3 HDD in RAID 1
2 x ASUS BD-RE Burner
Corsair AX1200i 1200W PSU
Cooler Master HAF X Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
4 x ASUS VS247H-P 23.6" LED Backlight Monitor
Reviewed By:Steven K.,1/24/2016 7:11:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL VFG6005N 4-Port Wireless N Gigabit Firewall Gateway

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Incorrect Documentation / False Advertising....DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM ZyXEL
Pros: - I got it at a good price (<$50)
- (If they actually worked) it has nice features like the VPN and the Firewall features
Cons: - The documentation that comes with this and what is on the Zyxel support pages is WRONG / INACCURATE. There is NO KNOWN WAY to make the L2TP/IPSec VPN work on this device.
- VPN does NOT WORK
- Advertisements for BitDefender PERMANENTLY on your router status page
- The entire Zyxel support page is worthless as there are no KBs on this device, no forum entries, no NOTHING.
-- Which is ironically in contrast to the people on OTHER forums with this device who are complaining of it not working and the poor support from Zyxel....it makes me think they removed all traces of this mess up from their website
Other Thoughts: According to some other reviews there is a "secret" / "unreleased" firmware version that *may* fix some of these problems, but unfortunately its no where to be found and getting Zyxel support to actually help you is almost as bad as working with Comcast or TimeWarner
Reviewed By:Scott S.,1/17/2016 11:17:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Fortinet Inc. > Fortinet FortiGate-60D / FG-60D Next Generation (NGFW) Firewall UTM Appliance Bundle with 1 Year 8x5 Forticare and FortiGuard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Hello,

I purchased the fortinet 60 D a year back, how to renew the forticare?

Regard,
Cons: Hello,

I purchased the fortinet 60 D a year back, how to renew the forticare?

Regard,
Reviewed By:N/A,12/26/2015 6:08:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20W 802.11n Wireless Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Well Respected Brand
Pros: For the money, a good fit hands down
Cons: If you never have to call or contact ZyXEL customer support for any help or product information, this is the perfect unit for you. Calling or contacting them is a nightmare and they don't seem to reply to email very well either.
Other Thoughts: There are models that do not respond in the web security to https: but they don't tell you this and make you purchase upgrade system. If you are trying to block facebook for instance, this isn't a good model to buy. You need to spend some $$ on the upgraded versions.
Reviewed By:Mark O.,12/20/2015 10:30:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > Dell SonicWALL Network Security Appliance 2600 (Hardware Only)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Works as intended. Imported old settings from NSA 2400 Sonicwall and had zero issues in the transition.
Cons: Doesn't included rack mounting screws, just hardware.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/17/2015 5:42:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO ASA5505-BUN-K9 Cisco ASA 5505 10-User Bundle

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not deal with this reseller
Pros: None
Cons: They are selling overseas products that Cisco will not warranty or support. When you look for the cheap price you get what you pay for. They will not reply to any requests.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/9/2015 2:40:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20 Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Faulty WAN port
Pros: Easy to configure, was up in minutes
When it does work, it works well
Cons: 1) Feels almost too light, like a SSD, gives it kind of a chintzy feel

2) WAN port will randomly die between every 20 to 40 days. Have to power cycle the router for it to come back online.
I quote right from the main router log:

"Connection error has occured
NTP update has failed with server 1.pool.ntp.org
Port 1 is down!
Interface wan1_ppp is disabled
Interface wan1 dead, related policy route rules will be disabled.
Trunk SYSTEM_DEFAULT_WAN_TRUNK dead, related policy routes will be disabled"
Other Thoughts: Will be replacing this with a Buffalo or Sonicwall very shortly
Reviewed By:N/A,12/9/2015 6:49:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > Dell SonicWALL 01-SSC-0575 VPN Wired TZ300 Gen 6 Firewall Secure Upgrade Plus 2 Year

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Firewall device Plus
Pros: Stable device utilizing VPN and security apps. Configuration on these devices is easier with new wizards but this is not recommended unless you have a good working knowledge of Sonicwall. This is new model this year and so far has preformed as expected.
Cons: As always, the renewable software and firmware license costs keep you paying for the device long past the original purchase.
Other Thoughts: It is a stable device. But I really do not prefer Sonicwall devices since sometimes they require tech support to help manipulate the simple tasks into compliance. Like the router changing the ports despite the rules and services proper handling of the port forwarding. The solution, create a new rule to handle the router mishandling.
That's why I don't prefer them. I'd prefer a different solution if I could find a better one without requiring a huge learning curve.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/27/2015 7:05:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.