Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR SRX5308-100NAS ProSafe Quad WAN Gigabit SSL VPN Firewall

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 NetGear SRX5308
Pros: Very Easy to setup. Good Value. U need ur ISP make sure set modem for Internet to bridge and pass-through mode and add static IP from ISP. This will make life much easier. Do not use Dead peer unless you really need it, cuts down speeds by constant ping checks. Enable Auto Initiate on remote sites only if u use more than one for IPsec tunnel leave the hub unit to just responder. Again saves on traffic and congestion issues.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: For this price I'm going to order a cold spare to have around for just in case, it's cheap enough even though they have good warranty we cannot afford the down time.
Make sure you read the instruction manual pdf carefully. The VPN client to device little tricky only because I read too fast then saw I had to reverse the local and remote ID on the client. Works great and fast.
Reviewed By:Happy Tech,2/25/2015 10:01:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV320-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent RV320
Pros: Super fast, easy to setup. I set this up using Verizon USB LTE card and 100/25MB Cable connection. VLAN was easy to setup and routes great with my 6 Cisco 3750 switches. Connected 22 VoIP Cisco SPAs wtih out a problem all tagged. 6 AP's and over 80 devices. Setup 6 G2G tunnels, SSL VPN, and L2TP/PPTP 4 different groups and a few remote machines. Great little router for cheap m0ney. Tried to beat this thing up and max it out but it keeps on going without any problems for 8 months now.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:TVPC,2/24/2015 4:57:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Fortinet Inc. > Fortinet FortiGate-30D Security Appliance Firewall FG-30D

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Can't give negative eggs
Pros: cheap
Cons: i am a fcnsp that has worked with many fortinet models. this one is by far one of the worst i have ever touched.
Reviewed By:Noclssgt,2/23/2015 7:52:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO ASA5505-BUN-K9 Cisco ASA 5505 10-User Bundle

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very outdated software included
Pros: I've always liked Cisco, and this device does work for the most part for my intended purpose of linking a remote site via VPN to our primary corporate site.
Cons: The device comes with VERY outdated software. For a purchase made in November 2014, mine came with ASA version 8.2(5) which was released May 23, 2011. The included CD has 8.3(1) which was released March 8th, 2010 (yes, earlier, go figure. All that info is here on Cisco.com: http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/security/asa-5500-series-next-generation-firewalls/products-release-notes-list.html).

In my opinion, it should have come with 9.3(1) which was released in July 2014, 4 months prior to the purchase date. I understand if Cisco cannot put that CD in the box, because it is possible Newegg stocked prior to that date, but Cisco should allow buyers to download the latest software within the first 90 days of purchasing the device. I've scoured the Cisco website, and they clearly state that a valid support contract is required. Which brings me to my second beef.... No support other than "Community" support via the forums is supported. My particular ASA has an issue with not properly recognizing the local-host count. I have 4 physical hosts with 4 unique MAC IDs behind the ASA, but when you do a "sh local-host" it says there are 10 at some times, other times I check it says there are 7 or 8. I scoured the web and upgrading to a new ASA version should remedy this, but since that is not an option for me, I'm stuck with a heavy paper weight.
Other Thoughts: I actually have two ASA5505s that are identical. I have a 5540 at the primary site and a 5510 at the disaster recovery site. The 5540 and 5510 do not exhibit any of these issues. So I would advise staying away from the 5505.
Reviewed By:chuck,2/23/2015 12:18:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZWUSG100PLUS 600Mbps Firewall with 50 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, 6 Gigabit Ports (2 x WAN, 4 x LAN/DMZ) with 1 Year AV, IDP, Content Filtering and AntiSpam Included

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Easy to setup if you are used to the ZyEXL firewalls. Throughput is very fast, firmware upgrade was seamless, seems like unlimited rules and port forwards available (currently have over 50 rules/fwds).
A great piece of hardware for our small-medium sized business.
Cons: None yet
Reviewed By:N/A,2/23/2015 11:08:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV325-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Does not Aggregate Load Balance
Pros: Nicely made. Quality connection. Good fail over/overflow load balance
Cons: Does not Aggregate Load balance. If say you have 2 10mbps isp/wan connections the best speed test you will ever get is 10 mbps. TP-Link, Peplink and others will Aggregate Load balance and give you 20 mbps. Extensive interactions with tech support resulted in them agreeing that it does not currently aggregate load balance and stating that they are now working on software that will allow it to do so.
Other Thoughts: No idea why a unit that costs 4-5 times as much as TP-Link and about the same as Peplink from one of the major USA makers of routers and switches doesn't provide aggregate load balance. If it did, it would certainly be a better competitor for folks looking to use this as a load balancer.
Reviewed By:Doc Pecos,2/23/2015 9:11:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco ASA5505-50-BUN-K9 ASA 5505 50-User Bundle includes 8-port Fast Ethernet switch, 10 IPsec VPN peers, 2 Premium VPN peers, 3DES/AES license

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not supported by Cisco
Pros: Our first one, worked well. This one was backup, which we ended up needing one day. That is when things went badly.
Cons: Registered with Cisco. Would not connect to internet but internal networking possible. Contacted Cisco for support. They refused to help because, according to Cisco, Newegg is supposed to sell a support package with this item and Newegg did not send us a support package. Not sure we can return this defective product.
Other Thoughts: Cisco software for setting up VPN a nightmare, even for our IT tech. We bought a different non-Cisco product and the VPN was up in no time.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/23/2015 4:35:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV320-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 This device was a huge disappointment
Pros: Let me start by saying this product does have some great features for it's price point. VLAN support, Active Directory authentication, PKI(.X509) and so on. The main feature supported by this device, the feature that really made me want to buy it, is the VPN functionality. I wanted to be able to access my home office securely while I'm away at work doing what I do best.
Cons: The frustration I have with this device is the constant VPN connectivity issues. When I connect to the device using the VPN client software that ships with the device, I'm always getting disconnected and sometimes, the device will not let me reconnect again. After doing some investigating, I found that when I am disconnected from the VPN server, the device loses it WAN IP configuration and fails to automatically reconfigure it's WAN IP. I have to manually go into the web interface for the device and renew the WAN IP, very annoying. I upgraded the device to the latest firmware version (1.1.1.19) and still, I'm having VPN connectivity issues.
Other Thoughts: My thoughts to whoever may be considering this product is this. If you are looking for a simple, affordable VPN server solution, I would not recommend this device. I would, on the other hand, recommend this device to anyone who needs a decent firewall appliance. The firewall feature in this device is excellent, as well as some of the other features, in my opinion.
Reviewed By:digitalMage,2/11/2015 11:27:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV220W-A-K9-NA Network Security Firewall wired and wireless connectivity for a small office

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's a Cisco
Pros: This thing is rock solid. The interface takes a bit of a learning curve, but everything is there... somewhere. I've pushed 800+ Mbps consistently over a 1 Gbps internet connection.
Cons: The first thing I did was update the firmware. Out of the box, the firmware was 2 years old.
Other Thoughts: Very glad I got this router.
Reviewed By:David R,2/10/2015 10:50:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO ASA5505-BUN-K9 Cisco ASA 5505 10-User Bundle

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do NOT Purchase
Pros: None
Cons: The worse IT purchase I have made in 30-years. Could not access the console with Putty or any other terminal software. Took days to get into the "archaic" ASDM. Finally achieved success by installing an outdated JAVA Development Package. It would not accept anything else. Contacted CISCO support during this process and they wanted to charge me $$ just to talk to tech support even though it was under warranty. That was the last straw -- it's boxed up and ready to ship back to Newegg. This will be the last CISCO purchase I make.
Other Thoughts: Newegg also has Netgear units that compete head to head with CISCO. Installed their product today; had a configuration issue; contacted support; got help within 15-minutes "NO HASSLES"
Reviewed By:Viper,2/10/2015 5:05:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.