Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials 64B 1-2CPU

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Awful Service at Microsoft
Pros: NewEgg was the only pro.
Cons: The installation media I had received was corrupt or had a bad sector. None of the systems I had could read the disc. After contacting NewEgg, they informed me to contact Microsoft. After being transfered 8 times I was told that I had to pay $500 to speak to a tech about exchanging the software disc. Guess I just wasted $400.
Other Thoughts: I guess the DVD will make a great coaster for my drinks and a reminder of why I should have stayed with Linux.
Reviewed By:Scott M.,5/2/2016 9:45:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials 64B 1-2CPU

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome replacement for SBS or Home Server
Pros: No data deduplication.
Cons: The pinpoint info or add-ons seem to be forgotten afterthought.
Other Thoughts: Works great in the many installs I have done. I use it myself for my personal use.
Reviewed By:Stephanie C.,4/12/2016 1:10:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials 64B 1-2CPU

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy to install for Small Business with a single server but a hassle returning for a defective DVD
Pros: Sets up easily, especially with the Dashboard. But this is going into a small business with less than 20 employees primarily as a file server but also running the SonicWall Analyzer software.
Cons: None for the size of this customers business.
Other Thoughts: The problem was with NewEgg returns. It took nearly 2 months of eMails with NewEgg to finally be able to return the product because it contained a defective DVD that no drive would recognize let alone read. After 3 weeks of eMails I finally got a person who promised to resolve the issue but it still took a month for them to get back to me .. I had to eMail them to get the RMA. The experience makes me hesitate to purchase from NewEgg anything that may possibly be defective. Note: this was the first time I ever got a Microsoft product with a bad DVD .. I have been in the business for more than 20 years. This is also the first time I had to get an RMA from NewEgg from whom I have purchasing products for the last few years. I ended up purchased from another supplier in order to meet my customer's schedule.
Reviewed By:Thomas S.,1/26/2016 5:05:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials 64B 1-2CPU

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stupid limitations imposed by MS
Pros: It's kind of like a 2012 R2 OS, not sure if that is a pro or a con though.
Cons: Essentials is horrible. Has to be the sole domain controller or it can be a member server as long as there is an Essentials server as the sole domain controller. Still has all the annoying limitations of small business server.
Other Thoughts: All I needed was a WSUS server for a small business. The description says it can be a member server but if you research this you will find it has to be a member server on a domain with a 2012 R2 Essentials server as the sole domain controller. You can remove the essentials feature and join it to a 2012 R2 standard but that voids the license. Lame.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2015 9:32:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials 64B 1-2CPU

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 DHCP and DNS????
Pros: Does what you need.
Cons: You will have to install DHCP and DNS to get Active Directory to work properly. Very odd. Windows 8 interface. Very odd.
Other Thoughts: I don't know why but it will not backup to a partition on an internal drive. The drive must be dedicated to backup. I installed on an SSD and it backs-up to another internal mechanical drive. I need to rethink this.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/31/2015 2:05:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server Standard 2012 R2 64-Bit - 5 CAL - EDU

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good product
Pros: A good product for small to medium sized businesses. Great for file and printer sharing. We use it for updating servers that run Windows databases and once you are use to the new interface it is easy to use.
Cons: New GUI makes it difficult to setup until you get use to it.
Other Thoughts: A good product for small to medium sized businesses. Great for file and printer sharing. We use it for updating servers that run Windows databases and once you are use to the new interface it is easy to use.
Reviewed By:GEORGE F.,4/9/2015 5:26:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2012 - 5 User CALs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: What is there to say, If you need these you need them.
Cons: No cons at this time.
Other Thoughts: What is there to say, If you need these you need them.
Reviewed By:GEORGE F.,4/9/2015 4:58:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Home Server 2011 64-bit - OEM

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 is really nice
Pros: really good it donsent have the AC/AD but simple to for some one that has no experience
Cons: really good it donsent have the AC/AD but simple to for some one that has no experience
Reviewed By:N/A,2/26/2015 11:26:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server Standard 2008 R2 SP1 64-Bit (1 - 4 CPU, 5CALs) - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Windows Server Standard 2008
Pros: Not too much to say about the product, it's Windows Server 2008.
But Newegg had great pricing and FAST delivery which definitely helped me make a deadline for a customer.
Cons: Nothing to mention, everything went smoothly
Other Thoughts: Typical Quality Newegg service and shipping, Fast and Reliable
Reviewed By:RICHARD U.,2/16/2015 5:04:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2012 Essentials

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Faster and more reliable than WHS 2011
Pros: - Significantly faster for all aspects than WHS v2 (2011). Mapped drives come up instantly without the brief pause that occurred with WHS
- Servio works well with PS3...more reliable with less erros
- VPN integration allows me to map my surface pro 2 via cellphone to all connected drives...works flawlessly with very little setup
- Suppors Surface Pro 2 backup...I haven't been brave enough to attempt a restore/rebuild of my SP2
- Metro interface (which I loved after 3rd month of Win8) works...even if a little odd in server setting. It basically puts all critical apps on one screen and your interface is integrated across your desktop, surface pro, and server interface
- Supports ios apps for monitoring/connecting.
- Ability to do remote desktop from web (I think?) but you must choose remote desktop OR folder view
- Has domain capabilities...for those who know how to take advantage of...
Cons: - Cost....but benefits have definitely been worth every penny!
- Remote connect gives you two different methods...but unfortunately you choose which one you'd like. Therefore, going to http://server.homeserver.com will take you to standard folder view OR to a remote desktop...I wish you could choose your interface each time you connect.
- No graphical drive apps unlike some of the apps that could be used in WHS. A little tedious using the numerical table view
- Some of the server folders can't be deleted easily.
Other Thoughts: Don't hesitate if considering purchasing versus WHS....worth every penny!
Reviewed By:Nevin,12/12/2014 6:18:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.