Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Disc Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Fine while it lasted.
Pros: Worked exactly as it should for almost a year and a half.
Cons: Blu-ray reading failed 5 months out of warranty under moderate (2-3 Blu-rays read a week).
Other Thoughts: Another 7 months and I would have found it passably acceptable, given the cost.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/25/2016 1:01:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Yay! Optical drive
Pros: What can i say about an optical driver. It reads CD, DVD, Blu-rays, it works out of the box, and you will bore yourself to death if you make this piece of equipment the centerpiece of your computer.
Cons: Not quite as exiting as the rest of the computer
Reviewed By:JOSE M.,5/18/2016 8:03:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage
Pros: -WIN 10 has pre-installed drivers
Cons: -Works intermittently, if at all
Other Thoughts: I purchased the BC-12B1ST 10 moths ago at the time of this writing. I wanted to add Blu-Ray capability to my HTPC even though most of the entertainment in my home is streaming media, and this product wouldn't get used very often.

Setup was easy enough, as WIN 10 already has the drivers installed. However, a few weeks in, I tried to play a DVD and WIN 10 would not recognize the drive. Upon restart, I saw that it was not being recognized in BIOS either. It would power on, open the tray and even spool up a DVD or BVD. But as far as the system could tell, there was no drive attached. Testing it on my two other machines with different SATA cables narrowed the problem down to the BC-12B1ST itself. I have eliminated environmental factors (dust, excessive heat, moisture, etc.) as a cause as well.

I had given up, and left the drive on my desk with plans to RMA it. About two weeks ago, I tried using it on a whim, and it worked just fine, as it had when I first installed it. Two days later (when I called my girlfriend into the living room to boast that I had "fixed" it,) it was not working again. Only this time, it would not even power up. This is the state it has remained in since then, and the RMA period for this product has expired. This piece of garbage is now an expensive paperweight.

I started buying ASUS products over 10 years ago and I believe their build quality has steadily declined since then. It's at the point now that buying their PC components is a risk. I wish I had purchased form Samsung or LITE-ON.
Reviewed By:Scott G.,4/26/2016 9:39:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 perfect
Pros: does everything i'd want it to
Cons: not 100% silent
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/25/2016 3:58:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as intended
Pros: - plays Blu Ray disks without issue
Cons: - does not come with a program that plays Blu ray movies. you need to provide one yourself.
Other Thoughts: the only thing that really bothered me about this was the fact that it doesn't come with a blu ray compatible program. instead it included a burning program. it's not even a burner. I took an egg away for this. i ended up paying another $50 for corel WinDVD pro 11 which plays the blu rays without issue. the picture quality is amazing so no issues there. I would imagine that a lot of that has to do with my graphics card and monitor.

Additional System information:
*Case: RAIDMAX Scorpio V ATX-503WB Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
*Power Supply: EVGA 220-G2-0850-XR 850 W Fully Modular Continuous Power Supply
*MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-970A-UD3P (rev. 2.0) ATX AMD Motherboard
*Processor: AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0 GHz Desktop Processor
*CPU Cooler: ZALMAN CNPS9500A-LED 92mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler
*Wireless:ASUS PCE-AC56 802.11ac Dual-band Wireless-AC1300 PCI-E Adapter
*Graphics: GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 970 4GB XTREME GAMING OC EDITION
*RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 F3-1866C9Q-32GXM
*Optical Drives: ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner
*SSD: ZOTAC 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive ZTSSD-A4P-120G (OS)
*HDD: WD Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Disk Drive 3.5 Inch - WD10EZEX (DATA)
*OS: Windows 10 Professional
*Other: 5.25' PC Universal Media Dashboard Panel 4 fan speed controller
NZXT CB-LED20-BU Sleeved LED Kit - Blue, 2 m
Cable Set for EVGA B2/G2/P2 Power Supply / PSU (Blue) - EVGA 100-CU-1300-B9
CyberPower CST1300ALU 1300 VA 810 W UPS
Logitech G633 Artemis Spectrum USB Circumaural RGB 7.1 Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Logitech C920 USB 2.0 certified (USB 3.0 ready) HD Pro Webcam
Reviewed By:Thomas B.,4/23/2016 8:52:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Disc Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Works just like it should.
And the finish on the front is a nice brushed aluminum look.
Cons: None as of right now.
Other Thoughts: Would Recommend.
Reviewed By:Jeremy B.,4/15/2016 8:19:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Disc Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Works, no issues
Cons: Does not come with player software. Ensure you know how your going to play it. You may need to buy third party software.
Reviewed By:Brendon D.,4/10/2016 1:53:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Disc Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Did not read all Blu-ray discs
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Would not recognize all BD discs, about 50% of discs would not even register they were in the drive. These same discs we recognized fine in several other blu-ray drives. RMA'd unit - I am off to try a pioneer unit.
Other Thoughts: Tried 2x Asus units both died after 3 discs, this one only recognizes about 50% of BD inserted in the drive. Dunno whats going on with quality control - I am going to try a pioneer next.
Reviewed By:Kyle T.,3/28/2016 10:02:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 didn't come with cable needed
Pros: Came quickly in the mail
Cons: Once it came, it didn't come with the cable I needed to install it in the pc
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2016 7:40:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No RipLock! Perfect for Creating your Personal Digital Library.
Pros: As I said in the title, does not have riplock so it will read discs at their rated speeds. I've seen up to about 30-40 MB/s. Great for ripping all those blu-rays you own to your NAS to watch on your Raspberry Pi 3 or Nvidia Shield TV or whatever else you got going on.
Cons: This bad boy is noisy, don't expect quiet operation here. I personally don't care about the noise since it's all about the performance.
Other Thoughts: I definitely recommend this product to anyone trying to convert their physical media to digital, Blu-rays and DVDs alike. It'll do the job like a champ. Sadly, I can't give you the write performance/quality of the drive since I don't use it for that function. You'll have to ask someone else. Definitely will be buying another if I ever need one.
Reviewed By:Christian D.,3/18/2016 1:23:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.