Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X DVD-RAM 8X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-12B1ST/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Forget about the rebate.
Pros: It was shipped quickly.

It seems to be a good product, hard to tell yet.
Cons: They need like four separate things copied/printed/detached and sent by snail mail, and they will give you a faster rebate if and only if you agree to take less rebate, otherwise it is guaranteed to take months.

I don't even know if it works yet.

Have to fill out the paperwork within a day or the rebate is invalid.
Other Thoughts: They ought to just offer the better price, or compete on quality with other models.

If they spelled out Linux support, it would be nice.
Reviewed By:Ray,2/26/2015 8:51:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X DVD-RAM 8X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-12B1ST/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid!
Pros: Solid!
Cons: no
Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2015 10:02:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X DVD-RAM 8X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-12B1ST/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Does what it says it gonna do.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:FishNmo,2/25/2015 9:01:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-209DBK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So Far, So good
Pros: Got a good price on it. Read and write speeds are excellent. Lasted longer than other brands I've had in the past.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Haven't burned anything with this drive since I decided to go all digital with my movies.
Reviewed By:Glen E.,2/24/2015 8:06:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-16D1HT

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 ASUS BW-16D1HT fails to write
Pros: when it worked, for less than 2 months, was speedy. Actual rating would be far less than 1 star.
Cons: Suddenly failed to complete DVD/BD writes using 3 different media burning programs on 2 different computers and also failed image verifications of written-to media - after tray was recycled before verify, one program couldn't access the device. Missed return to NE by a few days, sent back to mfg for evaluation - same drive was returned to me shortly after with explanation that "Test ok". A total ASUS tech support bull$ht experience. Either the unit wasn't tested or wasn't tested properly or for long enough. A total joke.
Other Thoughts: I am an IT pro with over 20 years experience and know when a device is malfunctioning. Have been an ASUS client for many years (motherboards, burners, etc.). Will make a second attempt to get mfg off their dead butts and either repair or replace this boat anchor of a media burner. Barring that, I suppose there'll be litigation in ASUS's immediate future.

Newwegg - you need to be aware of this
Reviewed By:JimCO,2/21/2015 10:06:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-209DBK

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Drive for the money
Pros: It Works
Cons: Door fails after a while
Other Thoughts: Doors tent to fail after a year or 15 months
Reviewed By:MIke Mayhem,2/20/2015 8:25:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16x Blu-Ray BDXL SATA Internal rewriter with 3D Playback, Model BH16NS40

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Blu-Ray Burner
Pros: Nice looking. Worked very well when I first installed it. Have burned numerous DVDs with it. When I tried to burn a Blu-ray disk it would not recognize the disk. Never could get it to burn a Blu-Ray disk.
Cons: Started having trouble with it recognizing any disk. Eventually it would not recognize any disk I put in it. The only thing it has done consistently is to open tray and close tray.
Other Thoughts: Tried updating firmware but that did not help.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/20/2015 6:48:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X DVD-RAM 8X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-12B1ST/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after two weeks
Pros: Cheap after $40 rebate. Comes in nice box. Fast shipping. Newegg rocks as always.
Cons: Died after I ripped about 5 Blu-ray discs in the first two weeks. No longer recognized Blu-ray dics on my windows 7 machine. Popped it in my Vista 32bit machine and it didn't even see the drive. Very disappointed with this product. Not even sure if it's worth spending $$ to ship it back for repair/replacement.
Other Thoughts: Great while it lasted. Ripped Blu-ray discs a lot faster than my old 4x bdr drive. Should have packed it up and returned to newegg the first week but I had already mailed out the rebate. Oh well.
Reviewed By:Bruce,2/19/2015 11:10:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA BDXL Blu-ray Burner, Bare Drive, 3D Play Back (WH14NS40) - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great buy
Pros: 1.) Good value for price.
2.) Region 0 (Region-free) Solution
3.) Archiving M-Disk burn capability
Cons: I have another one of these, and after about a year, motor started getting noisy, and unit would periodically over-rev and squeal. But at the price, it can be replaced yearly, if necessary
Other Thoughts: When you install the software package, don't let it automatically install everything. If you install (or let the program install) the firmware upgrade, you will NOT be able to play all region DVDs\BDs without changing the default region...and it only changes 5 times. Upgrade will not accept the Region-free modification.
Reviewed By:Papa Squee,2/19/2015 1:40:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-16D1HT

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Rebate process designed to be as complex and impossible as possible. Horrible. Horrible. Horrible.
Pros: -
Cons: Horrible. Horrible. Horrible. Just bought this drive. Had a $25 mail in coupon mixed into the price. While I went thru the rebate process it got clear to me that the process was designed to be as annoying and complicated as possible. It ended up with an option where I could pay ASUS a fee to not have to wait 10 weeks for getting closure on this. Embarrassing and complete waste of my time. It is my mistake that I accepted to play the whole game of mail in rebates, but it really is on ASUS to so systematically make this hard to do.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

In behalf of ASUS I want to apoogize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused you. I understand the frustration if it were me I would be frustrated as well. If you want to talk to somebody about he rebate you can call this number 18888208964. If in the future you're going to need assistance with the unit please feel free to email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and put case # N150262607 in the subject line for your reference.

ASUS Customer Loyalty are dedicated in providing a good customer experience.

Thank you for choosing ASUS.

Regards,
Mark
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,2/16/2015 11:00:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.