Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Document Scanners > Fujitsu > Fujitsu ScanSnap iX500 Duplex 1200 dpi USB/WiFi Color Document Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Scanner!
Pros: Easy to install and setup
Very easy to use
Wife approved!
Cons: Nothing major at this time, doesn't like receipts occasionally.
Other Thoughts: Wish it came with a management software for my PDFs - I have this scanner setup on a table at home with a spare PC. My wife and I throw our mail and receipts that we want to keep track on through it. Any mail or paper we want to keep a record of but not actually keep goes through it as well and then right into the shredder/recycle pile. It has helped us reduce the amount of paper clutter in the house.

We have probably 15-20 of these units at work and they work fantastic and that is the main reason I went with the iX500 for my home.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/26/2015 11:26:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Plustek > Plustek eScan A150 Sheet Fed Document Scanner

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Alright scanner, unintended features, possible security risk
Pros: This scanner scans documents (one or two sided in single-pass) without issue, is small and compact, and looks nice.
Cons: It won't write to the FTP server on my Seagate NAS (claims there's no write permissions, which isn't true).

If you know what you're doing, this scanner can also wreak havoc on network security (see other thoughts).
Other Thoughts: I feel this scanner is better-suited towards a more consumer-friendly atmosphere mainly because of the looks, but businesses shouldn't have any issue with it regardless.

This scanner is a bit more than meets the eye though. The scanner at it's core is running Android 4.2.2. It appears to be using a Rockchip-based board (RK30SDK). The scanner comes pre-rooted. There is no Play Store, and signing into a Google account doesn't help much at all.

As-is, you can only get as far as System Settings with just the scanner itself (by going into the Input configuration section). If you plug in a USB keyboard, you can easily break out of the scanner app by pressing Alt or Super Key + Esc (this takes you to a blank homescreen).

As for what you can do, you're free to install an alternate Homescreen (like Apex), you can play games (One Finger Death Punch (in guest mode) and osu!droid work great), and can update the su binary (by installing SuperSU).

But with great power comes great responsibility. On a more concerning note, you could also use the scanner for more "nefarious" things such as network hijacking and session spoofing, or any number of other root-only things, and if your network administrator doesn't know any better, this can be done pretty discretely on this scanner, and even be done remotely (after initial local access). So in-short, if someone has a long enough access to the scanner with a USB keyboard, you should probably expect the scanner to be compromised from a network security standpoint.
Reviewed By:Espionage724,5/11/2015 6:28:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Neat > NeatDesk 03264 Duplex up to 600dpi USB Desktop Scanner plus Smart Organization System for PC and Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Product lives up to Mfg. Claims
Pros: Excellent Product. High quality and lives up to manufacturer advertising claims. Very happy I purchased this product. Met and exceeds my expectations and hopes! Ordered on the fifth and received it on the 8th. Easy to install and to use. Newegg price and shipping cost were best deal and best service.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/9/2015 9:29:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Plustek > Plustek eScan A150 Sheet Fed Document Scanner

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Very buggy scanner
Pros: It's scans to FTP just fine. Hasn't failed once.
Cons: However, it doesn't always scan to a computer. It randomly won't find the eScan clients installed on our computers. We have to exit the clients on all computers, turn off the scanner, then restart the client software on all computers, then turn the scanner back on. Perhaps a firmware or client software update would fix this?
Other Thoughts: We have it plugged directly into our LAN, not using the wifi.
Reviewed By:Jeff,5/7/2015 9:24:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Plustek > Plustek eScan A150 Sheet Fed Document Scanner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Why you gotta lock us out
Pros: Simple, easy to use network scanner.
Scan quality is acceptable for documents.
No jams doing various household scans jobs. No more than like 16 pages, but some were folded in an envelope.
Android 4.2.2 with a fully functional usb port. I tried everything from wireless keyboards, mice, usb drives, all work as expected on an android device. Plug in your desktop keyboard and do windows key + B to bring up a web browser, then Google the appstore named after a rainforest
1 Gb storage for apps, 5.5 gb storage for data. I’m assuming this is where the temporary scanned images go.
Hardware powerful enough to stream video using plex, pandora, youtube, etc, although the internal speaker is sort of lacking.
Cons: Scan speed in color is kinda slow
No support for pages beyond legal sized. It just cuts off the rest of the page
The app the runs the scanner could use some updates. I’ve gotten it to lock up a few times which required a powercycle.
I’d really like to see a one-button scan feature. It takes way too many button presses to do one scan job.
No SMB support for scanning directly to a network share. You need to run a program on a PC somewhere to send files to it.
configuring scan to email via Microsoft Exchange 2010 using anonymous authentication throws an error, but yet it still works fine.
Physical keyboard required to break out of the scanning app
Other Thoughts: I really like this device. For it’s intended purpose it works pretty well. I can digitize my snail mail without booting my laptop. It would work equally as well in a small workgroup setting. Each user would just run the software on thier desktop, and when they scan they can select their pc from the list using the touch screen.

Breaking out of the intended purpose, it could really be sort of like a stationary android tablet. I’ve installed plex, pandora, and several other apps from the alternate app store, and they all work great. I don’t understand why plustek prevents you from exiting the scanning app to access the rest of the system. Give the community a SDK even so apps can use the scanner.

You could buy an android tablet and connect a USB scanner to it for less than the price of the scanner, and it would be basically the same thing. You’re paying probably $300 premium for their software, which really isn’t that great.

The nature of the default GUI being a captive portal and the small bugs that I’ve encountered along with the lack of 1-touch scanning are the only reasons I don’t give it 5 eggs. Overall, if you are looking for a simple scanner that doesn't require a PC, this will do it's job quite nicely.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/2/2015 9:25:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Plustek > Plustek eScan A150 Sheet Fed Document Scanner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Must have for small office
Pros: What a great product. Easy to use, easy software, apps that work! I’m actually pretty impressed. Fast scanning with text, articles, receipts, forms, etc. On par and maybe even slightly faster than my Fujitsu ScanSnap s510 (which is older, but still a work horse), great foot print too! This thing will not take up a lot of room on the desk! The interface is beautiful and well thought out. I really like that, easy to navigate and understand. Having an easy to use menu will make you actually want to use the device. Scanning from the network (wired and wireless) work GREAT! Nice and fast and the client application is light and does not use a lot of resources. EVERY small business owner should have something like this. It will make your life that much easier. The display! It’s great, easy to read and nice and bright! I like that. The ADF worked fine for me but I never really had more than 15 pages to scan. I was sending typical paper print outs from my laser jet. No jamming or binding. I also had pretty decent results when scanning titles and checks. I had one check feed weird and that made the scan look strange, but no other issues. I cannot begin to explain how nice it is to be able to scan a document and send it right to your phone or via email to someone. This thing is a MAJOR time saver in the small to medium business world! It will also make you more organized too, being able to archive receipts and registration cards, stuff like that!
Cons: The price keeps this thing limited to small business use. I can think of a number of home users (some personal friends of mine) that would want / could use something like this. But I do not think that they would get the most out of it. Scanning can take time depending on the amount of color and how the DPI is set, not really a surprise, but do not expect this thing to blow through a color scan like a high end scanner that you would find in an enterprise workplace. Warranty is only one year. This makes me sad, I know that it is more of a “retail” thing, but a device like this should carry more warranty life. I don’t really remember off the top of my head, but, I do know that other companies that make scanners like this have an upgradable warranty, which might be good to have if you are going to be doing a lot of scanning... But honestly, if you’re scanning more than the duty cycle of 1500 per day, you’d be looking elsewhere anyhow…
Other Thoughts: The one thing that I noticed right away was the documentation. I honestly did not have an issues setting this thing up, or figuring things out, but there will be people that think that the documentation is not that well done or even inexistent. Luckily the PlusTek website is VERY easy to navigate and has everything that you would need; docs, drivers, etc. So… Do yourself a favor and if you think that you’ll be buying this thing, head on over to the site and download the small 5.5MB user guide to check things out and see for yourself how easy this device is to use and how intuitive it is. Plastic cards, like drivers licenses and credit cards can also be scanned with this machine and they come out GREAT! Just make sure that you load the embossed face of the card up and remove the pad module before you load the card to scan. This is really a nice feature to have if you need to scan media like this. You can also do simple document editing on this device. It works, not the best, but you can do simple things which is nice. Flipping documents, adjusting brightness, cropping, etc, work pretty well and are time savers if you just need to get that scan quickly out to someone. I really liked that feature! Duty cycles seem pretty good with this scanner but only time will tell how long of life I will get out of it. I really think that this device will live a long life if dust is kept out of it (so when you are done using it, cover it with something) and not scanning documents with fibrous paper, you know, the cheap stuff… To get the most out of this device I REALLY urge you to read the documentation from PlusTek’s website. But shame on them for not including something in the box, a quick start guide is not good enough for most people and for the price you would think that there would be some kind of decent book to read... But other than that, this is a solid device for the most part and I REALLY like it more than my ScanSnap and I think you will too!
Reviewed By:Max F.,5/1/2015 11:51:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Plustek > Plustek eScan A150 Sheet Fed Document Scanner

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not Ready For Primetime
Pros: * Small footprint
* Nice looking
* Very attractive touch screen interface
* Fast scanning at lower resolutions
* Scans a wide variety of paper weights. It scanned plastic ID cards with no problem.
* It scans both sides with one pass.
* Basic setup scanning to USB was simple following the included guide. (a newer version is online with a bit more info)
* The hardware seems to be well built
* Able to run OCR automatically on a document before saving to your PC.
* You can save scanned files to the most popular Cloud services. (Maybe?)
* An OCR application and a document handling application are on the included disk.
* It saves documents in PDF and the standard image formats.
Cons: * Documentation is pitiful. Aside from the quick start guide and a separate sheet that gave WIFI instructions, there is none, neither is there any on their website. Although there is a OCR application and a document handling application on the included disk, along with the offer to sell you the super duper versions, there are no drivers and no link to drivers or anything else.
* You will have to push all of the buttons on the machine to find out what they do. Did I mention no instructions? You will eventually find the Client software that you can save to a USB to install on your computer.
* There is no firmware update (It really needs it) despite there being an update utility in the settings. The update utility asks for a USB drive with the update file.
* you cannot see the scanner from your computer, so no applications that allow you to import documents from a scanner will work. This includes the two applications that came with the machine.
* There is no way to save a document to Network Attached Storage. I will only save to Windows and Mac machines with the eScan client software installed. A work around is to save to a PC that has the NAS setup with an assigned drive letter.
* You can rotate or trash scanned documents, tapping the document opens additional utilities to crop and adjust the brightness of the document. There is a problem, however, there is NO save or cancel buttons on this page!!!! You are stuck. You must turn the power off and restart to get out of it!!
Other Thoughts: I am very disappointed. This is potentially a very nice scanner. My main complaints are software related and lack of documentation, which can be corrected. It does a good job of scanning to your PC and automatically running OCR before saving. It also saves scanned documents as a PDF file.
While it does scan directly to email, It is a bit difficult to setup. I'm not sure who would use this feature or why they would use it,when it is easier to scan the doc to my computer and send it from there. The same goes for saving to the Cloud.
Reviewed By:Bubba,4/30/2015 9:10:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Plustek > Plustek eScan A150 Sheet Fed Document Scanner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good scanner for your home office or small business
Pros: • The scanner has a small footprint, measures 12.5” by 7” sitting on your desk, about 10 inches high, much smaller than I expected.
• Vibrant 7" 1280x800 pixels with IPS wide view multi-touch color screen, it allows for touch scrolling as well, very impressed, wish my all in one printer/scanner/fax had such a nice interface
• No need to connect to a computer to transfer scanned files, completely standalone
• The built-in software is quite comprehensive, there are settings for sound, display, security and a whole bunch of other features
• Connect scanner either by Wi-Fi or Ethernet to your home or business network. Connecting to my home Wi-Fi network took me seconds, connection was stable and had now issues for my wireless computers to see the scanner after I installed the client on the PC.
• Full QWERTY on screen keyboard
• Documents can be transferred to the user via USB, PC connected via Wi-Fi or Ethernet network, mobile device over WiFi, email…need to have an email server set up, FTP and cloud, so many ways to get your scans across from the scanner
• The on board software have some PDF tools that you can use to combine and split PDF’s and TIFF files
• It has some cool features such as watermark, blank page removal, punch hole removal and blank page split, this can be found under scan settings
Cons: • Although the foldout “Quick Guide” comes in 13 languages the guide is very basic and poorly written, does not cover any of the setup and users instructions you would expect. The guide only tells you connect via Ethernet, does not mention connection via Wi-Fi at all
• CD Rom comes with no drivers, only has NewSoft PageMagaer and Abbyy FineReader. The drivers are available on their website, why not include it in the CD?
• Accessing higher DPI settings, above 400 DPI, you need to go into Advanced settings, makes no sense, why not include those option on the main menu under Quality. The same goes for Format and Color Mode as well, the main menu gives you two options, again you need to go to advance to access more options
• The scanner is not cheap, maybe for a small business but for home office it is much more expensive that all in one scanner/printer/color combo units on the shelves today
Other Thoughts: Even with the lack of a detailed setup/installation guide, setting up the plustek eScan A150 was a breeze, very straight forward, connect the power cord and in a few seconds you will see the nice IPS touch screen display. The on screen menus are all very laid out, intuitive and easy to navigate. Connecting to the WiFi to my home network took only seconds so no issue there.
Calibration was done without an issue, it took the first time unlike what another reviewer mentioned, I must say I nearly threw away the piece of calibration paper as it is not mentioned in the Guide at all
In order to send a scan to a PC over network you need to first download and install Plustek eScan client from the Plustek website, after you scan a document it will then give the option to send the document to USB, PC etc, if you choose PC it will then give you the option to choose the PC, the client name will come up on the screen, you can then send the document to that…simple as that. The scanner is not super-fast, especially at higher DPI, at 600 DPI in color it took a good few minutes to scan 10 pages, so don’t expect the scan speed to match that of a B&W laser printer, go make some coffee or drink a beer.
All in all a very nice scanner for either home office or small business
Reviewed By:N/A,4/29/2015 8:11:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Plustek > Plustek eScan A150 Sheet Fed Document Scanner

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 nowhere near the bang for buck expected
Pros: The unit is compact. The screen is of sufficient size to easily hit the buttons you want without much worry of hitting the wrong button. It appears to have a screen protector already installed on the screen, which means it is protected from the moment you receive it. It can scan the front and back of a page simultaneously. It includes abbyy finereader, I have used this software in the past and it exceeded my expectations. The ability to load multiple pages and walk away is very convenient. It's nice to be able to select where to send it. a pc, usb, phone, server, or cloud.
Cons: unfortunately this list is long.

*the scanning on anything but 200 dpi is painfully slow. Even cheap printer/scanner combos will out pace this and at a higher resolution.
*After scanning the interface is slow and very laggy. Sometimes an error will pop up saying it has stopped responding.
*Even though Abbyy Finereader is included, it requires a computer to use it. I imagine it being included is part of the reason it costs so much more than similar units.
*the capacity of the loading tray is less than half the stated capacity.
*There are many quick access settings on the main screen, but they are limited. Only 2 file output types even though it is capable of 6. Only 2 color types, even though it is capable of 3. 2 dpi's though it is capable of 5, And the paper size must be selected from the advanced settings menu, and is not even present on the main screen menu.
* the unit includes an extra feed assist pad. While this sounds great at first, it implies that it will wear out and need to be replaced, and eventually the second one will need to be replaced as well. I was unable to find it online.
Other Thoughts: At first glance the unit seems like a good deal. Lot of features, and the promise to make work a breeze. The units slightly wonky interface, and painfully slow performance quickly prove this to be false.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/29/2015 2:12:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Document Scanners > Fujitsu > Fujitsu ScanSnap iX500 Deluxe Bundle Scanner for PC and Mac (PA03656-B015)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 ix500 Scansnap Deluxe
Pros: Fast & wireless are the two biggies, also has usb3.0. I bought after reviewing comments and researching for some time.
Cons: No "batch capability" built in to the programming through Scansnap. It also has no Twain drivers but I knew that. (but it should)
Other Thoughts: This may not be a fair appraisal of the scanner since I only had it unboxed and set up for an hour or two. I have no doubt that it might be all others have raved about. Certainly the wireless is a plus.

This unit was for a home-office environment that does both Real Estate and Lending.

So they took return and I bought the fi7160, which is double the money and not wireless but does have usb3.0 and Does also have Paperstream which contains both Twain drivers And various batch filing including some complex capabilities. It is also even faster and a lot gets done in a little time......paper then goes right into the shredder after dealing with just once!

PS-the return was very quick and professional, Thanks NewEgg!
Reviewed By:BC,4/28/2015 7:01:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.