Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Internal SSDs > Intel > Intel 730 Series SSDSC2BP480G4R5 2.5" 480GB SATA 6Gb/s MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice SSD
Pros: Works well like an SSD should.
Cons: A bit too pricey compared to other SSDs. Wish there was a 960 GB version.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 4:56:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good, but not great
Pros: Excellent performance and price.
Cons: Poor support, very slow software updates
Other Thoughts: I bought this drive to run with Windows 10, seeing as I was running the tech preview. The installation went smoothly, the drive works great, but Samsung hasn't updated the Magician software to work with Windows 10 yet. Even now that Windows 10 has been released to the public, the Samsung Magician software still has not been updated to allow for the use RAPID mode, which gives a major boost to Samsung SSD performance. I could live without RAPID mode during the tech preview, but now that Windows 10 is live, Samsung has obviously dropped the ball.

If Samsung ever updates the Magician software, this drive will get 5 stars, but right now a 4 is all it's getting.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 4:37:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Data Rocket, ESPECIALLY if you install in correctly!
Pros: Easy to install
Data transfer went well
Almost set up itself for me
Samsung Magician SSD management software has a good GUI, easy to understand
Cons: None that I could see
Other Thoughts: I used Samsung's Data Migration software to setup my SSD and transfer data from my WD1002FAEX hard drive. From reading the comments/complaints about Samsung's Data Migration software, I fully expected to encounter problems. Nope - it worked flawlessly, no runs, no hits, no errors. For those who have complained about this software "freezing", stopping, or failing to complete. In some cases, you may have been a bit impatient with the software doing its thing. I watched the process for awhile, and noted it appear to 'stop". I just relaxed, walked away and let it do what it was designed to do, and it did.

To get the max performance out of this SSD, use the RAPID mode. My PC took 16 seconds from the appearance of the ASUS BIO screen to reach the Windows Logon screen. But, I didn't install this SSD to see how fast I could boot up my system. I have large MS Outlook PST databases, and occasionally run the compaction process to improve performance. With a standard hard drive, this could take up to four or more minutes, depending on the condition of the database. With my Samsung SSD? About 4 - 6 seconds. My games? Watchdogs, Metro 2033, Far Cry 3, Dishonored - all load and perform noticeably faster.
UPDATE (of a previous review I left in June) – this is worth reading, folks:
I was pretty pleased with the jump in performance I received after installing this drive, but was puzzled by the Samsung Magician’s Performance Benchmark’s figures:
Random Read/Write: 194323/92231
Sequential Read/Write: 6466/5244
Now, I’m technically savvy enough to know that these figures were bogus, and I planned to look at this issue later.
THEN – after a month, for whatever reason, my Windows 7 Update file became seriously corrupted (no, I don’t blame my Samsung drive). I could no longer install any additional Windows updates. With the Windows 10 upgrade coming, I ended up working with Microsoft’s Tier 1 & Tier 2 Support over a three day period to resolve the issue. After several attempts, they eventually downloaded an entire new copy of Windows 7 Ultimate for me to re-install.
The installation went fine, I was able to install all of the new Windows 7 updates, and all was well…
And then it got interesting. Samsung Magician’s Performance Benchmark decided it was going to give me TRUE performance figures, as follows:
Random Read/Write: 369/391
Sequential Read/Write: 65564/46905
Ouch! Way too slow - I repeatedly went through every possible system setting that I could change to increase performance, but I could barely get the performance up to 403/378 on the random/sequential Read/Write. Something was wrong, because this drive can do so much better performance-wise, I have SATA III ports, and I used a new, top rated OKGEAR GC18AUBM12 SATA III cable from Newegg…
I was thinking about calling Samsung Support, but before I did that, I decided to verify I had my SATA connection in the right port per the ASUS mobo manual.
No, I didn’t install it in the correct port; I wa
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 4:29:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Crucial > Crucial MX200 CT250MX200SSD1 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gbps (SATA III) Micron 16nm MLC NAND Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 problem from beginning
Pros: super fast ! good delivery ,like i want !
Cons: i buy this ssd to have more space . i got a kingston sv200 128 gigs. with this ssd they give you Acronis true image 2014 free,i say yes i'm will clone it to change ssd from 120 to 250 gigs ,but when i do it ,always stall. to respond from the drive!!!! sometime after 5 min and sometime after 30 min .. my pc go to 100 % from the drive and nothing came to the pc ,the controller are'nt good i think .
Reviewed By:franky lezard,7/31/2015 12:52:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very fast drive; hey, it's a Samsung!
Pros: Samsung quality, reliability, warranty. Very fast drive.
Cons: None that I can see at the moment. This is my fourth or fifth Samsung SSD, and they seem to understand how to make these things. See Other Thoughts, below.
Other Thoughts: Installed in a MacBook Pro early 2011 running dual boot Bootcamp Win7 with OSX.

Be aware that Apple purposely cripples the Bootcamp setup so that Windows 7 will NOT enable AHCI support - you're running in IDE mode at half speed so that everything seems faster on the OSX side: 250 Mb/s read/write on Win7, 500-550 read/write with an OSX boot. Yes, I know there are ways to hack around this, but the price of potential instability and no sleep mode when you close the cover is too high to pay for me. When I need fast disk I/O, like running Adobe CC for uncompressed video editing, I boot into OSX.

You just can't go wrong buying a Samsung SSD.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 11:07:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced ECO2 MKNSSDEC480GB 2.5" 480GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Spacious and fast; overall a good value
Pros: Great deal for the capacity and fairly fast. 3-year warranty should ease concerns over reliability, as it appears a bad batch of drives made it out of the factory with problems. I have encountered no such difficulties.
Cons: None. Good on Mushkin for owning up to the problems of the first round of drives and honoring warranties. Let it be a reminder to everyone to always back up your data.
Other Thoughts: The Mushkin Enhanced ECO2 480GB offers a lot of capacity for an SSD while also delivering solid speeds. Read performance benchmarks at 362 MB/s average. Write performance benchmarked at 323 MB/s average. I copied a 1.8 gig video from a Samsung 830 Pro in 9 seconds, that ought to be fast enough for this price range. Benchmarked on an ASRock based desktop PC. I'm trusting this drive for daily use with a new Windows 10 install.

Mushkin's SSD stayed quite cool under testing. It it always a good idea to make sure automatic defrag is disabled on SSDs (type dfrgui.exe into the Search bar from the Start menu, from there you can disable the schedule) That will improve the lifespan of the drive as defragging is unnecessary for solid state.

This is a great drive to use as a hard drive replacement in any PC. It's spacious and fast enough for all but the most demanding users. I highly recommend it.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 9:11:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Corsair > Manufacturer Recertified Corsair Neutron Series GTX CSSD-N120GBGTX/RF2 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) Manufactured Recertified

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Well
Pros: I have a Dell Precision laptop I wanted to dual boot. I needed a SSD drive on budget, hence why bought I refurbished drive.

My situation is unique. I didn't want both Linux and Windows on the 120 GB SSD, and I didn't want to run Linux on the internal spinning drive since it's my primary OS.

I bought a hard drive caddy that fits in the cd/dvd bay. This is where I installed the ssd. When I set up the dual boot and installed Linux, I put the master boot record on the ssd. If I take the caddy out to use the cd/dvd tray with windows, then windows still boots.

With this configuration, it has worked very well for the last year with no failures. I haven't done any benchmarks to compare it to my Samsung 840.

I would buy another refurbished corsair SSD.
Cons: not samsung
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 8:27:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great SSD
Pros: GTA5 has less pop in, and slightly better frame rates than my old HDD would allow. Plus, my OS boots up in seconds!
Cons: Not huge, but if you can get it for ~$90-100, it's worth it, especially with the 5 year warranty.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you have a sata cable, and sata port on your mobo that is rated at 6gigabits rather than 1.5 or 3 to get the full effect!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 7:49:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE120BW 2.5" 120GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Investment
Pros: Samsung makes great SSD drives. I dropped this into an older HP laptop for some better performance and to get a little more life out of the laptop. I run Xubuntu and the laptop gets used daily, including the use of virtual machines. I have yet to have any issues with this SSD.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 7:07:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > AMD Radeon SSD Radeon R7 RADEON-R7SSD-480G 2.5" 480GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good drive, still going strong
Pros: This drive was on sale for a great price about a month ago. I was hesitant based on the initial reviews but so far it has been a great SSD.

I use it for my Plex server and everything has been streaming very very well. Transfer rates are great, especially over our AC wifi.

The size and heat generation are very low which is another plus.
Cons: Not really a con, just worried that it may fail within the next few months, but so far going strong!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 6:45:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.