Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Internal SSDs > OCZ Storage Solution > OCZ Vector 180 VTR180-25SAT3-240G 2.5" 240GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Overall great consumer SSD
Pros: Vector 180 240 GB solid state drive (SSD) comes with adapter for installing this in 3.5” bay of desktop, free copy of Acronis True Image 2014 HD cloning software, mounting screws and multilingual installation manual. Came with latest firmware installed, version 1.0.1. Downloadable SSD Guru software helps to maintain performance, update firmware and to check health status of Vector 180. Vector 180 features PFM+ (this abbreviation stands for Power Failure Management Plus) that prevents bricking SSD in case of unexpected power loss. Controller used in this SSD is proprietary Indilinx Barefoot 3, memory chips are 19nm MLC manufactured by Toshiba. Drive supports AES-256 encryption and warranted for 5 years. As always was quickly shipped by Newegg.
Cons: Housing is made of premium alloy frame with steel back and front panels instead of lightweight aluminum, like in case of Samsung SSD. Vector 180 weighs 115 grams compared to Samsung 840 Pro SSD that weighs only 54 grams. This is something you might want to consider if installing Vector 180 in netbooks. Only one of tests I performed on this SSD exceeded manufacturer specifications. Vector 180 240 GB scored 4942 in PCMark 8 benchmark suite (PCMark 8 storage bandwidth was 225 MB/s); AIDA64 results were: linear read 513 MB/s (OCZ claims 550 MB/s), linear write 472 MB/s (OCZ claims 530 MB/s), random read 347 MB/s, random write 443 MB/s; CrystalDiskMark showed linear read 545 MB/s and linear write 520 MB/s; Samsung Magician benchmark showed linear read 539 MB/s and linear write 511 MB/s, random read 87206 IOPS (OCZ claims 95000) and random write 90456 IOPS (OCZ claims 90000 IOPS).
Other Thoughts: I have owned this Vector 180 240 GB solid state drive for about 2 months before writing this review. For tests I have used system consisting of: ASRock Z97 Extreme3 motherboard, Intel i7-4790K processor running at 4.0 GHz, 16 GB (4x4GB) of Corsair Vengeance RAM, installed 64-bit Windows 7 Pro SP1 and enabled TRIM support. Software used for testing of performance: PCMark 8, AIDA64, CrystalDiskMark, Samsung Magician and Hard Disk Sentinel. Overall great SSD and I recommend this to my friends.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 4:48:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced ECO2 MKNSSDEC120GB 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not compatible with Unibody MacBook Pro A1278
Pros: Good price, good specs - just didn't work with my Macbook :(
Cons: I purchased the Mushkin ssd to replace a failed 500G hard drive in my model A1278 13" macbook pro. No matter what I tried, I could not get MacOS to recognize this as a bootable drive. I tried a Samsung 850 EVO ssd and it worked fine. I suspect the incompatibility may have have to do with poor Sata 2 backward compatibility for the Mushkin vs. the Samsung - which are both Sata 3 drives.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 4:34:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: It's an SSD, and it's bigger than the one I'm replacing (Samsung 830)
Cons: Did not come with a mounting adapter like the 830 did.
Other Thoughts: I used Norton Ghost to clone the old 830 over to the new 850 EVO, but, I forgot to set the new drive to "Active" so it did not boot into Windows the first couple of tries. But once I caught and corrected my mistake, everything was good.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 3:59:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 840 Pro Series MZ-7PD512BW 2.5" 512GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Died after 1 Year
Pros: Fast.
Cons: Died just after a year. Had to re-format and re-install 6 months in also.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 3:44:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced ECO2 MKNSSDEC240GB 2.5" 240GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great value
Pros: Very fast. Surprisingly fast to be honest. Easy to install, reliable so far.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Could have came with sata cable or 2.5" to 3.5" caddy but for the price I can't complain. And it was going into an Intel NUC so I didn't need those things anyway.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 3:23:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced Chronos MKNSSDCR120GB-7 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 another SandForce 200026BB drive
Pros: was fast when it worked
Cons: came home from work today to find my computer sitting at the bios prompt, the drive gave no indications of dying, and now just shows up as a SandForce with 33kb of space.............
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 12:46:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced ECO2 MKNSSDEC120GB 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after 90 days
Pros: Worked perfectly for 3 months without any issues.
Cons: This ssd was for my gaming rig--not my main set-up, fortunately. Turned it and was totally DEAD--NOTHING.
Other Thoughts: Have worked with SSDs ever since they came out--first time this have ever happened. Will not use another Mushkin ssd again.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 12:15:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced ECO2 MKNSSDEC480GB 2.5" 480GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Affordable Drive With Good Performance
Pros: Affordable 480GB capacity drive with good performance for the price.

Before we go any further, lets get the benchmark numbers out of the way. I tested the drive using CrystalDiskMark x64, AIDA64, and ATTO. Reads were tested with all three applications, writes were tested with CDM x64 and ATTO.

All numbers are in MB/sec across all tests.

***CrystalDiskMark x64***

100MB 5 Pass

Seq Read : 498.0
Seq Write: 340.3
512K Read: 436.4
512K Write: 335.2
4K Read: 28.36
4K Write: 19.94
4KQD32 Read: 224.7
4KQD32 Write: 96.72

1000MB 5 Pass

Seq Read : 506.4
Seq Write: 340.2
512K Read: 438.7
512K Write: 336.2
4K Read: 28.50
4K Write: 18.67
4KQD32 Read: 216.2
4KQD32 Write: 89.11

4000MB 5 Pass

Seq Read : 498.6
Seq Write: 339.4
512K Read: 435.0
512K Write: 334.5
4K Read: 28.63
4K Write: 16.19
4KQD32 Read: 186.1
4KQD32 Write: 80.29

***AIDA64 Read Tests***

256KB Block Size

Linear: 438.8
Random: 430.0
Buffered: 363.4

1MB Block Size

Linear: 500.0
Random: 495.4
Buffered: 486.9

8MB Block Size

Linear: 526.1
Random: 529.4
Buffered: 518.7

***ATTO Averages***

256K Read: 430
256K Write: 400
512K Read: 472
512K Write: 427
1MB Read: 510
1MB Write: 451
4MB Read: 526
4MB Write: 466
8MB Read: 536
8MB Write: 475

Average Access Time: 0.17ms

As you can see, it' has very respectable performance numbers for it's price point.

The drive was also tested against a couple other similar capacity SSD's from other manufacturers in real world usages based on OS load times and responsiveness, as well as video game load times. This Mushkin ECO2 SSD performs as expected, with no noticeable differences with other SSD's in it's capacity and price range.

It works great as an OS or games drive. Load times in games like Battlefield 4 and Hardline, as well as Call of Duty Advanced Warfare and others is spot on with it's competition.

As far as the drives longevity, I can't say to much about that as of yet since I have only had it up and running for a week. In that weeks time I have put it under a lot of stress with benchmarking and running multiple games on the drive. So far, no slowdowns or hints of any troubles. It's performing wonderfully. If that changes, I will post a followup.
Cons: None with this drive as of yet. Other reviewers say they had problems with drives running slowly or failing, and it seems as though Mushkin has addressed the problem and it no longer exists. They also seemed to have taken good care of their customers who did have issues with that batch of drives, so kudos to Mushkin for doing that.
Other Thoughts: The drive was tested on following basic hardware under Windows 7 Ultimate 64.

AMD FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
16GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 RAM

If you're in the market for an inexpensive high-capacity SSD, then you should be looking at this Mushkin ECO2 drive.

It performs quite well, and in the event of an issue, they seem to take good care of their customers. That is a huge plus in this reviewers opinion. While it's better to not have to deal with hardware issues at all, it does happen, and it's nice to know the company will stand behind it's product and do what's needed to correct the problem.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 12:02:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Crucial > Crucial M500 CT960M500SSD1 7mm (with 9.5mm adapter) 2.5" 960GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Revive an old system
Pros: Cut the boot time from 60 to 120 sec, to less than 20 secs on my old XPS 720
The best upgrade on this system ever
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 11:32:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced ECO2 MKNSSDEC480GB 2.5" 480GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Drive failed after less than 2 months of use.
Pros: Initial results were as expected, I swapped the drive into my iMac and went from there. Restore from Time Machine was fast, general operation fast as well.
Cons: However, after about a month I noticed the drive starting to slow down in day-to-day use. It started with programs opening slower, and then altogether started freezing and getting the "rainbow volleyball of death" for minutes at a time. And then one night, I simply shut it down for the last time. When I tried to boot it the next day, I was greeted with a white screen and no boot logo or startup sound.
Other Thoughts: After coming here, my suspicions were confirmed. My drive was a part of the initial run of drives with bad firmware. Instead of immediately leaving a bad review here, I quietly submitted an RMA on Mushkin's site and asked to be reimbursed for the shipping costs - citing how people who had left bad reviews had gotten much better customer service than the average service I was receiving; which would be acceptable if the product itself wasn't faulty when I bought it.

Since I had indicated that my drive was one of the defective ones, I was expecting to be treated like many of the reviewers here - either shipped a box to cover shipping the drive back, or overnighted a new drive upon submittal of my RMA since obviously, I'm experiencing DownTime because of this drive failure. But this is not the case. The drive will not be at the facility until Monday and only then will I even be contacted concerning covering the cost of shipping, and then the new drive shipped out. Obviously Mushkin's customer service department isn't made up of people with experience in the IT field, otherwise they would know that a week with a dead computer is unacceptable.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 11:07:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.