Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Pice
Pros: Great sale price at the time of purchase.
250gig SSD
Samsung name that you can trust.
Cons: Drive comes with nothing but a manual, quick install guide CD, and the drive.
No mounting screws.
No SATA cable.
No power adapter if needed.
Other Thoughts: Samsung is definitely a name you can trust. Their hardware and products across all mediums are solid and trustful.

I purchased this drive to replace the one that came with a PC I bought at the same time as the main drive.

The lack of mounting screws was disappointing, as the screws that typically fit any drive did not want to fit this one at all. I had to go through a bin of random screws to find some that would actually fit this drive and hold it in place.

There is no cables included with this drive so be sure to buy an extra SATA cable if you need one! Also a power adapter if you need one as well.

This drive came with an instruction book on how to copy existing files over to this drive using a USB adapter that is not even included. Seems kind of odd to include anything like that when the parts needed are not included with the package.

Overall a great buy, great and solid drive and performs well.
Reviewed By:atom0s,4/17/2015 3:04:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Corsair > Corsair Force LS CSSD-F120GBLSB 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sweet Little Drive
Pros: Corsair is a well-known DRAM manufacturer, so it is logical they have expanded into the SSD market. I seem to be seeing their name on more and different electronic products.

This drive is remarkably small and light; the smallest 2.5 inch drive I have seen. The lightness is attributable to the plastic casing. I hope it holds up, it seems pretty sturdy. There are no moving parts, so it should be fine.

I cloned my old hard drive to this drive using Windows System Backup in Windows 8, and it was up and running immediately. Control Panel, Save backup copies…, System image backup. Then remove the source drive and replace it with your new drive. Then boot your system with a repair or installation disk and restore the image you just created to your new drive.

Or there is plenty of free disk cloning software out there. Other than Windows I would suggest using some flavor of UNIX DD.

I installed the Corsair drive just like you would install any SATA drive. I don’t know why some are having issues, there is no difference in the installation, as far as I can tell.

There are 2 tweaks you should make in Windows to maximize the life of your drive. Turn off automatic defragging and stop the creation of the page file. Each block of an SSD drive can written to only a finite number of times, so limiting unnecessary writes is important.

The 120 GB (less than 112 GB formatted) is adequate for day-to-day use, but if you have a lot of music or graphics to store, you will need and external USB drive. Fortunately 500 GB USB 3.0 external mechanical hard drives can be had for $50 - $60.

I have been running SSDs in two of my systems for over 2 years and so far no problems.
Cons: The life span of SSD drives is still unknown. I have not heard of issues, but they have only been widely used for a couple of years.

This drive has slower read and write speeds compared to other SSD, but I would expect this from a small inexpensive drive. Still it is much faster than a mechanical drive.

There were no instructions included. There was no mounting hardware, not even a screw!

Fortunately for me they were not missed by me but some users might not have necessary mounting hardware.
Other Thoughts: This drive would be perfect for replacing a failing drive in a laptop or desktop. I guarantee if you are moving from a mechanical drive you will feel like you have a new machine.
Reviewed By:vplite,4/17/2015 2:21:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Replacing an 840 Evo
Pros: Fast
Cool and quiet
Easy to set up
Cloning software included
Good price
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Love these drives. Upgraded from an 840 Evo. Not really any reason to be honest, however I decided that I was going to give my sons computer a boost by upgrading his slow HHD to a speedy SSD. It made sense to give him my year old 840Evo and upgrade to the 850Evo in my rig.

The 850 Evo is slightly faster overall, but it is considerably faster with the random read and writes. It does not suffer from the slow down issues that the 840Evo has (although I have not noticed any issues with the 840Evo).

All in all a great drive. I really like the Samsung SSD's.

I have nothing bad to say about these drives.

Buy one today, no real reason to hold back if you have a slow HHD. Capacities are increasing and prices are dropping. At $189 for 500gb you can't go wrong.
Reviewed By:Footman,4/17/2015 1:52:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SanDisk > SanDisk Ultra II SDSSDHII-480G-G25 2.5" 480GB SATA Revision 3.0 (6 Gb/s) Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Finally replaced HHD
Pros: Fast
Cool and Quiet
Easy to set up
SSD optimization software
Good value
Cons: No cloning software
Other Thoughts: Bought to replace a slow HHD in my wife's computer. I have been running SSD's in my main computer and my laptops and love the speed.

I finally got around to replacing her slow HHD. What a difference, her computer boots up in 20 seconds instead of 2 minutes and programs open quickly. I expected this, she was extremely surprised.

SanDisk have a good reputation, the drive was a good price and I have not had any issues with my other SanDisk drives.

Fast, quiet and great value. I would have liked some included cloning software, however Todo Easus Free works well, just remember to optimize for SSD when cloning.

Recommended.
Reviewed By:Footman,4/17/2015 1:45:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced ECO2 MKNSSDEC120GB MKNSSDEC120GB 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 adorable
Pros: discreet
silent
decent storage to price
sleek and elegant
Cons: doesn't make sandwiches
didn't come with a sata cord.
Reviewed By:deamonkimmes,4/17/2015 12:42:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow V300 Series SV300S37A/120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 OK drive
Pros: Price
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:wmckin7,4/17/2015 12:36:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 2nd review- update. Fixed the problem with bootup
Pros: I was having problems with BIOS sometimes not detecting the 850 EVO drive during boot up.

Problem was that I had the drive plugged into my secondary SATA3.0 6Bb/s Marvell 88SE9128 controller. It runs of the South Bridge and not directly off the Intel chipset. The slight delay in initializing the Marvell controller during boot causes bios to not see the SDD in time to boot off of it. Doesn't always happen but often enough.

Set your BIOS configuration to AHCI and not IDE or you'll have problems in the long run with drive efficiency degrading.
Cons: None at all! :)
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2015 12:14:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XP941 Series MZHPU512HCGL-00004(0) M.2 512GB PCIe Gen2 5Gb/s up to 4 lanes MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not as fast as I thought it would be
Pros: Faster than my old 4 drive RAID-5 setup.
Cons: Don't get me wrong, it's a lot faster than my old 4 drive RAID-5 setup, but it's not "BLAZING FAST", at least in my computer. Not worth the money in my opinion. I would have given it 4 eggs, but the price vs. performance isn't there. I could have installed 2 - 512 GB Samsung SSD's in RAID-0 and it would have been a LOT faster than this thing.
Other Thoughts: I have this installed in the ASRock Fatal1ty X99M Killer LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 motherboard with an Intel Core i7-5820K Haswell-E 6-Core CPU.
Reviewed By:Wetjet,4/17/2015 12:05:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow V300 Series SV300S37A/120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Does what I want it to
Cons: None as of yet
Reviewed By:BrapYeah,4/17/2015 11:09:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Q Series Pro HDTS312XZSTA 2.5" 128GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 BEWARE, CANADIAN BUYERS
Pros: I have the non-Pro Q Series 128GB drive (HDTS212XZSTA). It was a great drive while it lasted...
Cons: ...but just under a year and a half into the "3 year warranty" the drive started giving problems... It would randomly stop working and would require a power cycle to make it reappear -- Windows would freeze, disk errors in Event Viewer, and the computer would be unable to find a boot device if allowed to restart itself. Toshiba Canada will not warranty the drive, although their name and address is on the back of the box. Toshiba USA will not warranty the drive, as it wasn't purchased in the United States. IF YOU'RE IN CANADA, DON'T BUY A TOSHIBA SSD. YOU WILL NOT HAVE A WARRANTY.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2015 10:49:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.