Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEX (SUPERCASE/ALLIED) > APEX DM-318 Black Steel Micro ATX Media Center / Slim HTPC Computer Case w/ ATX12V TFX 275W Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Had this for 4 years now and its still great!
Pros: Looks like it belongs in an entertainment center.
Case is easy to work with inside.
Drive caddy is very easy to take out.
Power supply lasts.
Hides drives behind a cover and the buttons don't break!
Cons: Has no 2.5" for a SSD, but there are so many convertors it doesn't matter.
Stock fan is a bit loud (so add $10 for quiet 80mm)
Other Thoughts: Here in 2016 its hard to get a good low profile video card, especially one that will really do 4K.
Reviewed By:James I.,8/23/2016 11:08:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Case ever
Pros: Easy access the inside
Good Manual
Light
Easy installation of mobo and drives
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Claus K.,8/22/2016 6:01:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum / Acrylic / Steel HTPC 6000B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is a GREAT case...
Pros: Solid, rolled edges, more room than needed for a HTPC case.

Anyone that gave a poor review was obviously using this for the WRONG application.
This is a rock solid case, well built, and roomy enough for a troop of Howler monkeys.

In twenty years of building PC,s, this is the best value for the dollar of any/all components I have purchased.
Buy this with all good confidence... You can't be let down. (unless you plan to store Chimps in it Howlers are as big as I would go.).
Cons: The bad reviews.

There are no cons. It's a HTPC case.
A good one at that.
Other Thoughts: I can't find my monkeys...

It's all good!
Z
Reviewed By:Ken M.,8/22/2016 2:55:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEX (SUPERCASE/ALLIED) > APEX DM-317-A Black/ Silver Steel Micro ATX Media Center / Slim HTPC Computer Case w/ ATX12V Flex 275W Power Supply

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent product at a "fair" price
Pros: This case was shipped quickly, arrived in excellent condition, and met most expectations. I would purchase more, but only at a lower price point.
Cons: While I am mostly satisfied with my purchase, and do feel the price was fair, upon receiving it, I would rate it, quality wise, as a 7 on a 1-10 scale. Perfectly fine but, in my opinion, this case should be priced lower. I have purchased cases by Rosewill, Enlight, and InWin, at lower prices, which I believe surpass this case in quality.
Other Thoughts: I do believe that most consumers would be satisfied with this case at the price point that it is offered at. I also believe that this is a quality case. Again, my only issue is that, personally I believe it to be slightly overpriced. At a $35-$45 price, I would have no problems in giving a 5 star review,
Reviewed By:Robert M.,8/18/2016 10:46:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Compucase > hec Black 0.7mm Thickness SECC Steel 7K09BBA30FNRX Micro ATX Media Center 300W Power Supply / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I own the predecessor...just wanted to throw in my 2 cents
Pros: I own this case in the previous version (only difference I can spot is my PSU is 270W.

This thing is going strong after running nearly 24/7 for over 6 years. Heck I had a CRT TV when I started using this as my HTPC. No complaints at all.
Cons: I would use a 3rd USB port on the front if it came with it.
Reviewed By:Evan P.,8/16/2016 9:20:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Compucase > hec Black 0.7mm Thickness SECC 7K09 Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case with 270W FLEX Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Going strong!
Pros: Thought I would write a review of this just for fun, since I was looking into the power supply form factor as I consider replacing the guts for an upgrade.

I've been running this thing almost 24/7 for over 6 years, and not one hicup. Still on the original power supply. Needless to say, no complaints!
Cons: Could use another USB port on the front. That's all I can think of.
Reviewed By:Evan P.,8/16/2016 9:16:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Steel ML04B Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great case! Don't listen to negative reviews.
Pros: Perfect size, full size ATX PSU, can fit just about anything in this!
Build quality is nice. Great ventilation for HTPC or low power desktop.
Cons: SSD bracket needs to be a little thinner for screws to grab properly.
Other than that, no complaints.
Plastic key to unlock the front, but it stays closed just fine without being locked. Magnet is plenty strong enough to hold the door up, but still comes down easily.
The screws provided are fine quality, but screw packet doesn't match with instruction book. Then again, if you have to have an instruction book to know what screws go where, you do NOT need this case.
Other Thoughts: I don't understand some of the reviews. Metal did not bend as I put a power supply in. Put down the drill.
Metal is not flimsy. It is not a Chembro server case, but I was pleased with how thick and sturdy the metal is. It is fine. Black paint is good too. Front panel looks nice.
There is no problem with the build quality folks! Even the fan grills on the one side that looks like it would be weak is completely fine.
DO NOT BUY THIS IF YOU DONT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING. This case is not for beginners or those who think they are computer experts. It is not a simple build. Case is slightly complicated and component selection is critical. You are not going to get a gaming machine into this. It is not made for this. Get the right size PSU, right size optical, watch your wattage on the CPU and you will be fine.

Silverstone hit it out of the park on this. I looked for months before settling on this. Glad I did.
Reviewed By:Steven H.,8/16/2016 4:41:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA Black / Blue SECC Steel / Aluminum X-MASTER-BL/500 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great Case, Terrible Fans
Pros: The case is pretty solid and I can place my 24" monitor on it with no problem.
Cons: The two 80mm fans in the rear literally disintegrated. That's right, the fan blades actually cracked in half , both of them, after about seven months. I have never seen anything like it before.
Other Thoughts: I am going to try to get Apevia to replace my fans since they were purchased in January and they have already exploded.
Manufacturer Response:You can do an RMA through us for the fan to get an exchange on it if you are still under our warranty period. You can contact Apevia's customer service at service@apevia.com or call at (909) 718-0789. We try to reply to all calls and e-mails as soon as we can.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/12/2016 3:22:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Grandia Series GD05B-USB3.0 Aluminum / 0.8mm SECC micro-ATX / Mini-DTX / Mini-ITX MB, 1x5.25", 2x3.5"+1x2.5"HDD or 1x3.5"+2x2.5"HDD, 3x120mm golf bladed fan, 11" expansion card capable HTPC Case with 2X USB3.0 ports (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Shape and Style for HTPC, Challenging to Build
Pros: This case is a great shape and size for a Home Theater PC (HTPC). It fits in my entertainment center perfectly, has adequate expansion options, and good air flow. It comes with filters for the fans, but more to follow on those in the cons section. The case is designed to make it easy to assemble and disassemble your build, which means swapping out components is pretty easy even if your build is a complex one. The acoustics are good once you've buttoned the case up, and the installed fans are not as loud as typical pre-installed case fans. The case appears strong and durable.

The internal layout is reasonably good. It could be better, but anything to improve the layout from its current configuration would likely result in a larger case. The secret to effectively using this case is NOT using all of the installation bays. I'll elaborate in "Other Thoughts" below.

Rubber grommets for hard drive installation aren't great, but they are functional and do the job. They will reduce hard drive noise and also serve to help minimize shock felt by the hard drives when you move the case or bump it. That being said, don't get stupid and stick a ten-inch subwoofer next to this computer then get bummed when your hard drives keep failing..

The power LED is the right brightness for most users. It's bright enough you can see it during the day, but not so bright as to be overpowering or even noticeable when watching a movie at night.

USB 3.0 ports on the front are nice and in a good spot for HTPC purposes.

Front fascia construction is very nice. The power and reset buttons have nice audible clicks and a solid feel to them.

I don't care what other reviewers say; this case has good air flow. The two adjacent fans should be used as supply with the single fan on the opposite side used as exhaust. This creates a sweep across the RAM, motherboard, CPU, GPU, and at least one hard drive/SSD. It creates a good sweep of air with minimal power, noise, and effort.

Paint on the entire body is a nice finish (two reviewers commented it was peeling – not so with mine and I don't see how it is possible).
Cons: The fans that come with it are louder than the fans I would want for any HTPC. If your HTPC is tucked completely out of sight (and thus out of earshot), then this won't be a concern for you. Also the preinstalled filters are installed on the inside of the case, versus the outside, except for the power supply fan which IS installed on the outside of the case. I removed all the pre-installed case fan screens and used Silverstone SST-FF122 120 mm fan filters as another reviewer suggested. They blend perfectly and will be super easy to clean.

The HDD LED is an enigma. It's behind the front fascia and completely invisible except when looking inside the case. You really only have the option of having a Power LED or a HDD LED, not both. They should have just provided one lead and labeled it "Power/HDD" to let the user chose. If you prefer to see your HDD activity, just put the HDD LED on the Power LED connector of your motherboard.

I really would have preferred a better mounting option for the power supply. The case allows for an inverted power supply, but with only three screws instead of four; I opted to keep the intended installation, which draws air from beneath the case and discharges it out the back. One of the hard drive mounts is directly above the power supply with vents on either corner, so an inverted installation would be perfect to improve the airflow around that hard drive. I opted to use positive pressure in my case such that air is always blowing out those two vents and thus over the hard drive (SSD in my case).

The rear exhaust fan mounts are not well designed. I purchased two Noctua 80 mm fans to install here, but they wouldn't fit. The fan housings were too thick to allow me to physically seat the fans there; the screw holes were never going to line up. If you're intending to install 80 mm fans, they need to have the smallest frames I've ever seen (I don't know that any exist).

The case management rubber tool that came with the case is absolutely worthless.
Other Thoughts: You have GOT to plan your build not only when assembling, but when purchasing your components. This case is more challenging than most from an airflow perspective because the power supply leads and almost any spare connecting wires are going to be in close proximity to the exhaust fan. Plan on the fewest components you can get away with, because cable management quickly becomes a nightmare. I bought a modular power supply to help with cable management, but I ended up using all but one module, which didn't really help me at all. You can help yourself by picking a motherboard that will allow you to drive all fans from the motherboard (mine could not).

Hard drives and SSD are installed inverted. This makes the use of angled SATA connectors impossible and places a bit of strain (not much, but noticeable) on the SATA/power connectors for SSD. It could be improved, but isn't worth listing as a con.

This case is not intended for high-power builds. If your video card of choice is GTX 780 or a GTX 980 Ti or any video card more than six inches long or higher than 60 watts TDP, you're looking at the wrong case (or the wrong video card). You should either be using integrated graphics or a very low-power GPU. It's very irritating to see reviews that are critical of this case because it won't work with these high-end video cars. IT'S NOT SUPPOSED TO BE USED WITH HIGH-END VIDEO CARDS!!! Further, if you even thought about installing water cooling in this case, you need to surrender any computers you have and go with pre-built PCs for the rest of your life. This is not a case for extreme builds, and everyone reading these reviews is dumber for having read your attempt. End of rant.

The ideal build for this case would be a motherboard with integrated graphics (or integrated via the CPU), a single hard drive, and possibly an optical drive. That build would be simple and easy. Because I often use my HTPC for other things, I wasn't able to get away with this (my integrated graphics are Intel HD Graphics 2000, which are pretty weak and I need the speed of an SSD and the storage of a mechanical drive). Also you could find a motherboard with an M.2 connector an install your OS on the M.2 SSD with a single hard drive as your storage, but that might be overkill for an HTPC. But even with the build challenges, this still looks like the best case in this category for now.

My build (a partial upgrade of a four-year old HTPC):

Asus P8H67-M PRO/CSM motherboard
Intel Core i3 2120T (Sandy Bridge, 35 watts TDP)
Corsair XMS3 2GB DDR3 1333 x 4
Zotac GeForce GT 730 w/ 4 GB 64-bit DDR3 (29 watts TDP)
Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 2.5-inch 512 GB SATA III SSD
Western Digital Black 1 TB 7200 RPM HDD
Orico Monster USB 3.0 PCI Express Card (5 rear USB ports, 1 internal USB 3.0 connector)
Corsair CS550M 550 Watt 80 Plus Gold Active PFC Power Supply
Noctua NF-P12-1300 120mm Case Fans x 3 (ultra-low noise resistors used on all 3).

Under normal conditions, my CPU runs at about 42 C and my GPU runs at about 50 C. Under heavy load the CPU runs at about 55-60 C with the GPU as high as 75 C. If I open the doors to the entertainment center, my temperatures drop about 2 degrees. This is well within the recommended ranges and could be easily improved with more aggressive cooling, but that would mean more noise.
Reviewed By:Arthur S.,8/6/2016 2:43:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum / Acrylic / Steel HTPC 6000B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Better than the bad reviews made it out to be.
Pros: It seems they finally fixed the biggest complaint most people had about the case, that being the optical drive not lining up correctly with the button on the front and people had to leave the screw out on that side of the hard drive rack. Well mine didn't have holes, but slots for the screws which allows you to slide the enclosure back and front then tighten it down.

Tons of space for like 6 hard drives or more.
Comes with an LCD screen, however it only displays "Home theater PC"
Internal 120mm fan is pretty darn quiet.
Cons: Now the bad. The lower door which conceals the USB ports and card reader uses the cheapest, crapiest plastic latch to hold it up. So cheap that mine arrived broken. Fairly certain the case I received was sent to someone else who returned it after they broke it, which was then sold to me as new when it was not.

Packaging stinks, mine arrived with the top slightly pushed in, and the expansion slot metal also pushed in. Both thankfully could fixed with a little pressure but still.

If you plan to load it up with drives like me, cable management is a pain, but doable.

PRICE!!!!!! I can't believe htpc cases cost so much! Normal at cases that are way better than this cost half as much, talk about price hiking for no darn reason!

Power supply can only pull in air from inside unless it pulls air from the back.
Other Thoughts: Other thoughts. Well first and for most, I'm pretty sure my case was used/open box and sold as new, arrived damaged and was packed by a blind man on a vodka binge. However I was able to make it work. It looks great, does what i need and the thing I was worried about most (optical drive lining up) has finally been addressed.
Reviewed By:Keith N.,8/5/2016 4:14:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.