Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Steel (1.0mm SECC) HTPC 1800B Mini ITX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 looks like 600 dollar AV item
Pros: low profile, Nice legs, well designed, rubber hdd mounts, optical 5.25 slot, nice power/sign, not a high-beam hdd led, USB/OD cove/flap, well designed inside and out,
Cons: not a standard PSU (i elected to use the PICO-PSU) low profile (but that is what i wanted), no USB-3.0, some vibration when DVD/BD drive spins up! (i used the rubber grommets on DVD instead of SSD as the ssd does not vibrate)
Other Thoughts: this is by far the best HTPC case for the money (if you chose to use the PICO PSU) you can fit a small Micro-ATX MOBO.
i used this case for celeron 1820T and just bought another for my I-3 2100T setup using ECS MOBO's (they have the best fan control) SSD and Samsung 2TB 2.5" drives and BD writers !

those using rosewill low profile HSF run (not quiet !!!) but dead silent with CPU's never exceeding temps of 49 deg C.

wiring management if using something other than PICO PSU's can be a pain but well worth it!!!!
Reviewed By:Palgume,1/22/2015 4:06:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Red Wood Wood/Steel HTPC 8000 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Good
Pros: VERY FAST SHIPPING AND GOOD LOOKING CASE.
LOVE THE SIZE AND THE WAY IT WAS BUILT.
Cons: EVERYTHING JUST RIGHT
Reviewed By:N/A,1/20/2015 11:14:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum Panel & Steel (1.0mm SECC) HTPC 2800B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good HTPC case
Pros: -Decent about of room for a cpu cooler. Avoid a cooler that utilizes the space about the memory slots.
-Room for a full size graphics card. And possibly enough room for an sli/crossfire setup, but you will lose 2 hdd slots after you cut the bracket.
-Wire management is not the worst. Some planning and splicing will give you enough room for adequate air flow. Remove those extra power supply rails!
-Lots of hdd space, however I'm using 1 4tb hss and 2 120gb ssds in raid with a dual 2.5 to 3.5 adapter so I only require the two hdd slots below the slim disc drive.
Cons: -Air flow is a challenge. Adding a large enough graphics card literally creates a barrier in the case. Proper placement of fans designated as inlet and exhaust can dramatically help. Also pay attention to large clusters of wires around the psu, as they will restrict air flow.
-The power button. The power button sticks when pushed in certain directions, and can cause the system to hard reset in post. Can be an issue for overclockers as a hard reset can reset your overclock settings and lead to... headaches.
-front display. More hardware must be purchased to get this to display anything other than the stock display. From what i've read, the software has a huge lack of support.
-test fitting. This is a very tight case. Test fitting and relacing components becomes a huge hassle as everything must be removed, and in a specific order.
-slim drive. I had issues aligning the slim drive, and getting it to seat flush.
Other Thoughts: Good sturdy case that will house all your HTPC needs.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/18/2015 11:39:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > In Win > In-Win K2 BASIC Thin Mini-ITX Black case with 120W power adapter, heat sink - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Case - I bought 5 of these!
Pros: As a pc tech of 20 years, I consider the other 2 positive reviews (dated prior to mine) as accurate. So, In this review I will cover other information. For starters, this case does BEST with a Haswell Dual Pentium 3.2. The CPU is on par with a first gen i5, so do not underestimate this CPU. I say this because the heat from an i5 and i3 can be burning hot to the touch inside this case. Second, make sure you buy a sold state hard drive. Do your research and get a brand that is super fast. Also, Win 7 Pro will then boot in about 7 seconds. This case is a perfect HTPC Kodi box and I have even used it with Photoshop CS5 with no issues.
Cons: I have tried dozens of cases for mITX and Thin mini... and in my opinion this is the best case on the market. In-Win designers are genius.. but even so, they can improve the case in three ways. First, the internal USB connector to the front panel is too short. Some ECS boards will NOT reach and you will need to buy a USB extender and they are hard to find. I blame ECS for this, but whatever. Second, In-Win should include a little packet of thermal paste. As a tech, I bought a tub for $ 30 and it will last a century (not kidding.) and finally, I hope they do NOT discontinue the case (they run out constantly everywhere) and I would like them to upgrade the front USB ports so there are 4.. or at least one is USB 3. Finally, the front slot for a media reader is a total waste and should be eliminated from future models.
Other Thoughts: When buying a case that works with THIN mini ITX, In-Win got it right Other cases have good power supplies, but the power brick in those other cases are only 60 watts. This is going to be an issue with Haswell CPUs.. but NOT with this In-Win case. Ventilation can be improved with this case if they use the mini speaker ports to create instead some sort of air intake.. this would further push air out of the case and assist the internal blower. By improving the design, the case would not get so hot with the i3 and i5 Ivy Bridge and Haswell CPUs.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Robert,

Thank you very much for your valuable opinion on our K2. We will forward it to our R&D and Marketing department for improvement in the future. Thank you again and have a nice day.

Best Regards,
Customer Service
In-Win Development

Reviewed By:Robert K,1/16/2015 9:52:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SilverStone Milo Series ML07B Black Reinforced plastic outer shell, steel body Mini-ITX DTX Computer Case with PCI-E Riser

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wonderful construction
Pros: Clean design
Easily accesible space inside
Front USB ports

Looking to build a few of these HTPC's and this is the other case that I'm using. Would definitely recommend it to anyone trying to do the same. Check your size requirements as the case was a little bigger than I expected (though it still fit where I needed it)
Cons: None yet. Does require a fair bit of patience and attention to detail to install all of the components. Not sure that's a "Con" though.
Other Thoughts: Buy/Find a magnetic screwdriver with a long shaft. Two of the screws that hold the PSU enclosure in place are a bit difficult to get to and impossible to put back in if you do not have a magnetic screwdriver.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/15/2015 1:36:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Cheap full ATX HTPC case
Pros: -Can't get much smaller than this for a full ATX case without doing weird things like building an ATX Mobo sized box and mounting PSU, HDD, etc all directly over top of the motherboard, in a horribly inconvenient way.
-Cooling capacity is great for the size. Positive pressure design keeps things cool and clean
-Managed to fit TWO single 120mm AIO liquid cooling units in this thing, (1 for CPU, 1 for GPU with custom mount)
-The extra pci slot horizontally on top of the rest is a nice feature to have in a smaller case, for things like routing extra Mobo usb headers to a PCI bracket without blocking actual slots on the motherboard. The assembly for this isn't complicated like some reviewers have made it sound. If you can plop a cpu into a socket without bending pins, you can easily assemble this part.
Cons: -As with any smaller case, compromises are made for cable management.
-It doesn't have a real aluminum front panel. Save that for the next model up, I guess (GD10)
- for the size of it, they could have shoved a few more 3.5" or at least 2.5" HDD/SSD slots into the thing, seeing as it is marketed as an HTPC. On the other hand that's what NAS boxes are for.
Other Thoughts: I managed to fit two Cooler Master Seidon 120v's in this. One just barely fit just behind the PSU. (mostly modular, 165mm length). The other fit on the fan slot closest to the 5.25 bay, but with a slight modification. It overhangs the motherboard, and there wasn't enough clearance for 1 capacitor, which I resoldered with some wires to relocate it. Not really something most people would be comfortable doing, but impressive for a full ATX case this small.

@Frosty. If you're complaining about the video card vent, then you've pointed your fans in the wrong direction. Go look at the GD10. All 120mm fan slots are meant to be intake, hence the filters . Positive pressure designs are used in most if not all Silverstone cases. The positive pressure in the case will force air out of the video card vent, taking some non-exhausted GPU heat with it.

The design has almost no unused space. Once you add airflow into the mix, I'm not sure how they could have done it any better. What I mean is that since this is a full ATX HTPC case, most people should be either getting this case with the full ATX and triple 120mm intake instead of one of Silverstone's smaller mATX or mini ITX only HTPC offerings because they are recycling old full size components (which produce more heat than modern components), or they are building a medium duty compact gaming system (also more heat).
If you are building a strictly home theatre machine, you might also consider either the bigger GD07 or GD08 for more HDD space, or one of the much smaller Grandia series cases for a smaller form factor, keeping cooling/noise in mind.

Finally, a tip for anyone who buys this and is worried about cable management. you can route a lot of cables in between the front of the case and the front face-plate. This can be done by removing the front with a few screws, or with a bit of patience.
Reviewed By:ergohack,1/14/2015 11:29:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Grandia Series GD10B Aluminum HTPC for ATX / Micro-ATX / SSI-CEB Computer Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 fits atx
Pros: well built and lots of room for HDD and 1 SSD plus a full DVD
And my choice for using my old ATX asus z77 MB and gtx 550TI
as well ATX PSU
Cons: unable to install any real aftermarket Heatsink and Fan I had to go with stock intel heatsink
Other Thoughts: over all it works great for my HTPC
Reviewed By:N/A,1/13/2015 12:01:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Lian-Li > LIAN LI Black Aluminum PC-C37B USB3.0 Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 decent case
Pros: This case has a very classy appearance. The included fans are so quiet, you barely know they're running. It has a fairly solid feel to it and the layout seems logical. I threw in a standard sized Corsair CX500M PSU, a Gigabyte GA-H97M-D3H micro ATX MB and a core i5 with stock heatsink & fan and they fit just fine. It has its own optical drive bezel which is removable.
Cons: The raised threaded posts that you screw the MB into are in fixed positions. They connected with most of the MB screw positions, but missed an important one near the SATA connectors. I would prefer it if they had threaded holes in all possible positions and let my insert my own posts. There are no 2 1/2" bays. The 3 1/2" bays do not have the usual screw slots in them. They have something there - but it's not anything I've ever seen before. As a result, I was unable to properly mount the SilverStone 2 1/2" bay converter which holds my SSD. For the price, it could be sturdier.
Reviewed By:Brandon,1/12/2015 1:09:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Red Wood Wood/Steel HTPC 8000 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Update from first impressions
Pros: Well the system is set up and installing Windows now. The install was certainly not the easiest I've ever done, but I was able to get everything together. Even after 10 years of buying from Newegg, I have never had to return anything or had a single item that didn't work. See my "Other Thoughts" below for some details. But WOW this case looks nice. It looks like an old radio, even with the blue power LED on front. Aside from that, there's not really anything that gives it away at a distance. A trained eye will recognize the pink/green audio in/out on the front panel, but it looks very nice.

Windows is just finishing up the install. Overall the build was not easy but no HTPC build ever is, and if you do things correctly you'll find yourself with a beautiful, eye-catching HTPC.
Cons: Unlike many others, I was able to get the DVD drive to line up without issue. However, I do have one tiny (and easily solvable) issue: when trying to retract the DVD drive, it gets stuck every time on the internal buffers/whatever they're called. There's bits of plastic on the inside to prevent the DVD door from hitting the cover directly, and to help guide it, but they catch on the DVD drive each and every time. I can simply sand them down or find a way to avoid it. Not enough of an issue for me to take off an egg, and I expected issues with this case given the other reviews. But ultimately I am very, very satisfied with it.
Other Thoughts: Some thoughts for others as they build inside this case:

1. Remove the ventilation panel. It is difficult/impossible to install anything in the expansion slots with the ventilation panel in place. It's 2 easy to remove screws to remove the panel and it's easy as can be to install expansion cards (video cards, network adapters, etc).

2. Connect the power cables to the PSU before anything else if you're using a modular PSU (once it's in the case, that is). It's cramped in there once the HDD/DVD bay goes in, so make sure you don't need access below.

3. Cable management is easier than I thought it would be, however I did use a modular PSU and fairly light-weight parts that didn't need a lot of cabling, so it was straight forward enough.

4. Ensure that your setup has space for this case - it is VERY large and VERY heavy. Measure it first!
Reviewed By:Scott K.,1/10/2015 12:15:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Compucase > hec Black 0.7mm Thickness SECC (Japanese Steel Metal) ITX ITX200A Mini ITX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Clarifying some issues
Pros: The included PSU isn't as sketchy as other HTPC builds.

The side-fan is quiet and effective.

Easy to build in

- Supports large 3.5" Drives
Cons: There is a misconception that the PSU fan is loud, that is not the case. Because of the width of the case, most people will be using a stock CPU cooler. This is OK, but-- because the fan is so close to the enclosure, the noise is more audible, not louder.

Great fans that will fit this case:

CNPS8900
Scythe Kozuti
Noctua NH-L12
CoolerMaster GeminII
Other Thoughts: Don't be afraid of the case, it is well built and effective.
Reviewed By:Mike,1/8/2015 8:42:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.