Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Fractal Design > Fractal Design Node 605 FD-CA-NODE-605-BL Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Media Center/HTPC case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great case, but had some QC problems
Pros: - Beautiful
- High quality materials
- Room for a decent number of drives
Cons: - Can be tight to work in
- Some very slight fitment issues with the optical drive not sitting flush with the front panel ( very minor)
- Cable management can be difficult with a lot of drives/graphics card
- I had a pretty glaring QC issue (see below)
Other Thoughts: This is the third time I am writing this because NewEgg insists on expiring logins within seconds, so I am going to be brief in hopes that I don't lose everything again.

This is an excellent case, very beautiful. When you pull it out of the box you know that you have something special. That being said, I did have one of the fan leads from the 3-way fan controller that had gotten smashed under one of the screws for the power button or fan controller switch or something, and sheared in half, leaving only two working leads and exposed wires that could have potentially lead to a short, and damaged components had I not discovered it.

This is a pretty glaring issue, so I am knocking a star off. That being said, I understand that things sometimes happen, and will hopefully be able to build in a Fractal case again in the future, at which point they can prove me wrong.

A couple quick points of advice for building in this case;

1. Measure measure measure! Be 100% positive of your component sizes before ordering this case. There is not much leeway.
2. Make sure that your GFX card has power connection (if present) on the side, not the top. I had to make a very hard bend in order to prevent the cross brace in the middle or the case top panel from interfering with the power connection.
3. Use straight-ended SATA cabled with retention clips to avoid connections coming lose after installing the drive cages. It was not fun in the slightest to fish around between the drives, graphics card, and cross brace trying to reconnect a SATA cable that came loose.
Reviewed By:Jesse F.,5/29/2016 10:21:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum skin reinforced plastic front panel, 0.8mm SECC body MILO Series ML03B Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very nice HTPC case
Pros: Good build qualify. Integrated cable management. Plenty of space for normal HTPC components (SSD, HDD, Optical drive). Uses a standard PSU.
Cons: The front panel fit is odd.
Reviewed By:David M.,5/29/2016 10:12:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 3.5 Stars: Some really good things and a few really bad things...
Pros: The layout of this case is great. I can hold 2 hard drives, an optical drive and a full size ATX mother board.
I like the fact that I can orient the power supply to intake air from either the outside of the case or the inside.
Others have commented that the side of the case where the power supply resides is a bit empty. (The Optical drive and two hard drives are installed on the other side.) I think this is a pro because I can put as large an ATX power supply in the case that I want and I have plenty of room to put cables.
The design of the case is pretty much perfect. I wouldn't change anything.
Cons: At least one other user discussed how the finish of the case was sub par. I too saw what look like paint bubbles on both the top and side of the case. This one fact makes me question SilverStone's quality control and I'm probably going to think long and hard before I purchase another SilverStone case.
Also, the strength of the case metal is less than what I'm used to. It's a bit flimsy. The purchase of this case reminds me why I like to build with Antec cases. This case reminds me (a little bit) of the $35 cheap case my son did for his build.
The logo.
Other Thoughts: There aren't that many decent looking ATX desktop cases out there. With the con's mentioned above, this case should probably be $20 cheaper than what it is. But like I said, there aren't many ATX desktop cases out there. So, I'm kinda stuck with what I've got. Because of the finish issues (i.e., the paint bubbles), and the logo, I'm seriously considering vinyl wrapping the case in gunmetal brushed aluminum. I would also vinyl wrap my optical drive.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/14/2016 11:33:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum Panel & Steel (1.0mm SECC) HTPC 2800B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nice case
Pros: Better size than the 5000 series to fit home theater shelves
Cons: Bad QA & customer service - disappointed the screw holes for mounting the upgraded LCD i purchased have no threads, all the other holes do. I called the support number and was hung up on by Chris when i said Hi... It would seem trying to return this and wait for shipping & RMA would not be worth the effort if the replacement also doesn't have threads. Seeing how this is a key feature i may try to tap the holes myself.

Other Thoughts: I have had no trouble with the 5000B which i've had for a few years
Reviewed By:Rich W.,5/11/2016 2:28:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Milo series ML05B Black Acrylic Front Panel, 0.8mm SECC body Mini-ITX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great case, but make sure all parts are included.
Pros: My build was straightforward with this case as I have one SSD, no cards, so not a lot of cabling and easy with mini-itx board.
Cons: Didn't include the 4-1 bracket so when a few months later I complained, I gave Silverstone my invoice from Newegg and they wanted to charge me for the bracket that they left out (perhaps this was a return by someone else).
Other Thoughts: Not going to go with Silverstone on any more builds given the company's attitude for me. While this case makes it as an HTPC, it would be nice to have a mount for my slim optical drive, but without the 4-1 bracket, it cannot be put into my build.
Reviewed By:Marc I.,5/8/2016 10:06:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum / Acrylic / Steel HTPC 6000B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great HTPC Case Idea, Good Implementation, So-so QC
Pros: It is hard to find an HTPC case that works perfectly for what you want because there aren't very many "horizontal" cases in circulation and everyone's needs are different. This case suited my needs very well.
- Full ATX
- Case fans are provided (and are actually quiet!)
- Optical drive bay for a blu ray drive
- Special space for an LCD display manufactured by the same company (nMEDIAPC)
Cons: This case is difficult to work with because everything has to sit PERFECTLY in order to work. For example, I have been having problems with the optical drive because there's no way to screw it into the bracket so it sits loose and if it doesn't sit PERFECTLY then the drive won't fit through the bay and retract. When it retracts it jostles the drive, knocking it out of place and preventing me from opening it again. I'm still trying to figure out a permanent solution to this. Another example is graphics card placement. The size of the case greatly restricts the size of the graphics card you can use (though there is enough room for 2, or 3 if that's your thing, as long as they're not too long) and so at this point in time I couldn't even dream of getting an NVidia 970 or 980 since there are none in production right now that fit inside the case.

A major con is the LCD panel. It will only work (without personally modifying the case) with nMEDIAPC's proprietary LCD screen, the model PRO-LCD. The thing is, they don't produce PRO-LCDs anymore. I emailed the company about this and they responded by telling me a workaround - buy a PRO-LCD-S or PRO-LCD-B. They are just PRO-LCDs mounted with screws onto brackets. I purchased a PRO-LCD-S and sure enough I was able to unmount the LCD panel from the bracket and then screw it into the case. This success aside, it would have been nice if they offered an option to include the screen with the case at added cost.
Other Thoughts: It's hard to say whether I recommend this case to others. It works for me (mostly - still working out the optical drive issue), but it won't necessarily work for you. I do think that it is one of the best, most feature-inclusive cases available in the "horizontal" variety, meaning you don't have to give up a lot of things you'd normally get in a "vertical" case. Do your research before deciding on the case you want.
Reviewed By:Stephen B.,5/4/2016 11:01:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Grandia Series GD10B Aluminum HTPC for ATX / Micro-ATX / SSI-CEB Computer Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great HTPC case
Pros: - Turned my 2009 ATX gaming PC into my new HTPC
- Can fit a Hyper TX3 cpu cooler as long as you don't install a DVD/BR drive.
Cons: - Can't fit a CM Hyper TX3 with a DVD drive installed. Had to switch to an AMD Stock cooler
Other Thoughts: Buy it!
Reviewed By:Michael B.,4/25/2016 11:09:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA Black SECC Steel / Aluminum X-MASTER-BK/500 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Gets the job done I suppose
Pros: Compact design
Solid Enough build,
Cons: Power supply was DOA
Provided standoff screws did not fit any of the screws
Other Thoughts: If you already have a power supply and spare standoffs like I do, this is one of the better slim towers I have worked with. As a PC technician I have handled more slim towers than I can count and at least this one is a pretty simple design.
Manufacturer Response:You can do an RMA through us for the power supply to get an exchange on the PSU if you are still under our warranty period. You can contact Apevia's customer service at service@apevia.com or call at (909) 718-0789. We try to reply to all calls and e-mails as soon as we can.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/20/2016 2:30:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA Black SECC Steel / Aluminum X-MASTER-BK/500 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Perfect Fit! But...
Pros: - Very sharp looking
- Shiny black finish
- Fits ATX and full height components!
- Tool less rails are adjustable
Cons: - Cable management is non-existent
- Blue LED on front is BRIGHT!
- Difficulty removing front panel
Other Thoughts: I expected this case to have some shortfalls purely based on what I read in the specifications. The cable management is non existent in the case. I first tore the entire case apart and made some basic changes to how it was configured. Since the M2N SLi Deluxe board I was repurposing had some requirements on where the cables needed to be, I did a few changes. First of all, I took one of the 80mm fans off and rotated it by 90 degrees so that the power cable was on the opposite side of the audio jacks on the back of the mother board. I then routed the cables under the board and had the connectors come out under the power supply. The next change I made was to remove the front panel and route the front panel cables across the front bottom edge of the plastic and come into the case to the left of the external 3.5" slot. This made it so that I could mount the 500Gb internal drive in that slot and barely make the SATA and power cables pop out before the edge of the motherboard. Finally, I placed all power cables that were not needed under the power supply, and connected the case fans under that area. This left the entire center area open for air flow. I plan to install 2 more 5Tb drives in the future in a raid 1 configuration so that all of the movies we have converted down are protected from loss in the event a drive fails.

The main cons of poor cable management and difficulty in removing the front panel are the reason for the 1 egg knock down. If there was better cable management, and maybe there was a quick release method for removing the front panel, I would give it 5 eggs without a question. Anyone who complains about the size of the case simply did not pay attention to the specifications listing. Also, the power supply is designed for an HTPC, not for a gaming system, so nobody should be complaining in that aspect. Granted, the switch is a bit inconvenient to get to, but in all honesty how often are you reaching to the back of any PC to turn off the switch in the back? I did check the switch after pulling the front panel off, and mine was already in the on position. The location of the power supply seems to be perfect, as it is away from any major components, and has a good spot to push out the hot air without affecting anything else.

I would highly recommend this case to anyone that wants to build an HTPC and use standard ATX components. I was able to take all of the components from an old tower system and place them in this case, nothing new to buy! It took a little trial and error to adjust the depth of the DVD drive so that it was lined up at the right depth for the front panel. The tool less rails provided have many adjustable locations to make this simple. I do wish that all bays were tool less installs, but in all honesty it wasn't hard to mount the hard drive once I rerouted the front panel cables.
Reviewed By:Anthony M.,4/11/2016 5:30:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Fractal Design > Fractal Design Node 605 FD-CA-NODE-605-BL Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Media Center/HTPC case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great HTPC
Pros: This case is attractive and the best quality i have ever seen in a computer case! the case is made of solid heavy steel. and it looks like a piece of stereo equipment which is what i was looking for, and it fits 120mm fans, so it can still get good airflow and yet be quiet. which is also another reason that i bought it. when listening to high end audio, you can't have your computer sounding like a vacuum cleaner. It has a fan speed controller located on the right side, when paired with a few quiet fans this case is practically silent.
Cons: The fans that come with the case are decent but could be a bit quieter, i can hear them in a quiet room. the white metal brackets that hold the hard drives in place could be a bit more sturdy. also, when using a cd/dvd rom drive you cannot fit a full atx motherboard in this case.
Other Thoughts: I have purchased other cases in the past through online retailers and sometimes when they arrive they aren't the same quality as the images lead you to believe. (cough cough Lian-Li) I found this case in a local store on display and as able to check it out. i could tell this was a much higher quality product than the other ones i saw, so i bought it right then. if i had known at the time it was available here @newegg i would of bought it here and saved some money.
I bought this to fit in my entertainment center with my stereo equipment, and it does nicely. it looks great. if i ever have a need for another one like this i won't hesitate to buy it again, this time it will be from newegg.
Reviewed By:john m.,4/9/2016 11:57:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.