Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV- KDV1404B6BP Complete 4 CH 960H Security DVR System w/ 500GB HDD Easy DIY 4 Infrared Surveillance Cameras

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 it broke before it was a year old
Pros: Price
Cons: It's hard to set up but after set up does work well. The DVR died at 10 months. It was on a uninterrupable power supply so it was just poor build quality and not from a power surge. I wish I could return. For android you have to use IVMS 4500 app to view. When remote connecting even on the lan it's hooked up to I constantly had lag on it showing the video feed on my phone. I'm pretty tech savvy so I kind of enjoyed figuring out how to set up, but still overly buggy in the software. Also the DVR completely died after 10 months.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend you buy something else or buy the warranty. No just buy something else, I'm sure dealing with the warranty would be a headache. I've ordered a replacement of a different brand.
Reviewed By:Beau S.,5/22/2016 10:29:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Q-See > Q-See QTH4-4CP 4 Channel AHD Surveillance DVR with 4 x 720P Day / Night In / Outdoor Security Cameras

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great cameras
Pros: Quality, functionality, easy to install and operate, all metal housing, real life color
Cons: Non at all
Reviewed By:N/A,5/21/2016 9:39:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV- KDV1402B6BP Complete 4 CH 960H Security DVR System w/ 500GB HDD Easy DIY 2 Infrared Surveillance Cameras

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible video quality and motion detection is awful!
Pros: Live view looks good.
Cons: Menu system is really bad; not intuitive at all, non-responsive.
Other Thoughts: I found out the hard way what a piece of junk this is. I had a camera set on the side of my garage to watch the driveway with motion detection. A suburban came in and stole my utility trailer in the middle of the day. The camera footage is so blurry you can hardly make anything out. I have it set on the highest resolution. The recording stops less than half-way through the crime without seeing the people as they get out of the car, break the lock on the trailer hitch, hook it up, and drive off. RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE CAMERA! All you can see is the suburban pulling up, a person getting out of the far side, then all is gone. I'll be lucky if the police can do anything with it. I'm getting rid of this garbage and getting a better unit. DO NOT GET THIS OR YOU WILL BE SORRY.
Reviewed By:Allen S.,5/20/2016 5:28:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > SAMSUNG TECHWIN AMERICA > Samsung 4 Ch. HD Home Security System SDH-B3040 / 720p / 4 Night Cam / 1 TB REC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Easy to use and set up. Camera's work great at night. The first night i had them on, i thought i had the lights on outside. Even in the dark i can see my entire yard. it you will need to go to Samsung support to download instructions and software to see the camera's anytime, from anywhere.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:David C.,5/17/2016 3:04:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P86A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 6 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great surveillance system for the budget-minded
Pros: -Kit includes everything you need to get going
-The long pre-made CAT5e cable made setup and testing easy
-Easy to use NVR OS. Menus make it simple to setup each camera and view live or recorded video
-Easy to install HDD(s)
-Great cameras; autonomous and robust in functionality. POE is a must. Night vision is excellent.
-Cameras mount easily and tuck-up under the roof nicely
-Easy to setup iPad viewing and remote control
Cons: -Video output is VGA and HDMI only, which limits where you can place the NVR without additional hardware to extend transmission to monitors
-Lack of audio from cameras - not a show-stopper but would be nice to have
Other Thoughts: -This is a robust system, uses ONVIF standards that should make it easy to integrate with other cameras and equipment
-Would recommend for intermediate / technical person. Not really out-of-the-box ready for someone that doesn't have some networking and configuration skills
Reviewed By:Shanon M.,5/16/2016 2:09:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P84A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 4 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great IP Home Surveillance System. Highly Recommended!
Pros: - Plug and play IP camera system.
- Full 1080p resolution.
- Easy plug and play set up after you install a hard drive.
- Great quality bullet cameras.
- IP cameras look great at night as they have a red glow due to the leds for Night vision.
- Great technical support.
- Great remote viewing app for Android.
Cons: - The waterproof connecters for the cameras can only be used if the provided CAT5 cable is and a standard CAT5 end is used. I had to purchase CAT5 crimpers and terminal ends to do so it added to the overall cost.

- Remote viewing wasn’t the easiest to set up. Customer service was very helpful though and assisted with guidance on how to establish remote viewing.

- DVR is a little loud as the power supply fan runs at 100% all of the time.
Other Thoughts: Overall I am very satisfied with this IP surveillance system and would highly recommend to anyone looking for one. IP system is the only way to go. I purchased this system on sale for $400, for the sale price, no other competitor came close this system. I run a 2TB WD purple drive in this unit. I also connect this DVR to my home network using a WRT54g configured as a repeater using DD-WRT so my remote network viewing settings were slightly more complicated than most.
Reviewed By:Alejandro C.,5/14/2016 9:34:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P84A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 4 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great quality and value
Pros: Easy to set up using the POE ports and the included 100' cat 5e cables. I had my surveillance up and running in no time.
Cons: Wish I had a few more cameras, but I can add more which is great.
Reviewed By:Aren S.,5/14/2016 12:24:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P84A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 4 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to Setup and as Described Plug and Play.
Pros: The picture quality and the easy accessibility of the plug play feature of the NVR makes this a good purchase. The user manual may look unwieldy at first, but overall the nvr setup isn't that complicated. You can also use their LaView App to view the camera or another third party app to view it via mobile app. Night vision on the IR mode works very well as well.
Cons: The manual maybe a bit cumbersome on how to set it up. Maybe a quick reference diagram particularly for this model on the software side, but the online video does help. The exhaust fan is quite loud. Not sure if they can tone down the noise, but I keep it in a closed area.
Other Thoughts: For the quality of the built this system is worth a purchase.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/13/2016 10:12:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P86A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 6 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice Surveillance System - Good balance of price and functionality
Pros: Bought this to replace my Logitech Alert system which was great but was getting old and not extendable at a reasonable cost
This system has a good deal of functionality and is relatively easy to set up using the base functionality
True POE capability made it easier to install the cameras around my house - pretty much plug and play
NVR setup was straight-forward and pretty much intuitive - plugged in cameras, gave them a couple of minutes and all were identified and sending video
A lot of options to choose from regarding set up - both a plus and a minus as it takes some time to get acquainted with how everything works
LaView support using email was very responsive and generally helpful
Cons: System Documentation was pretty poor - particularly regarding the camera settings -basic manual and online videos but much was without great detail and somewhat outdated
Configuration of NVR was very easy - configuring the individual cameras was more complex
Need to have a good working knowledge of networks and subnets to effectively use the camera functionality which provides more capability than just using the NVR
Motion detection is very flexible and there are multiple options but difficult to get it to the balance where it still picks up motion without an overwhelming number of email notifications
While the weatherproof connections to protect the Ethernet cable connection to the camera are included, they cannot (to my knowledge) be used without removing the Cat5e connector from the included cable - requiring you to attach a new connector.
I did find it near impossible to connect with LaView support on the telephone so went with email instead. Suggest if you have questions don't ask too many at one time as I often only got partial answers in email responses.
Other Thoughts: I did a good deal of research before I purchased this system as I didn't want to spend a great deal of money but also wanted a good solid system that would incorporate a good deal of the more recent technology. This sytem gave me the balance I was looking for.
Overall very pleased with the system - took some time to fine-tune and to understand all the functionality but well worth the time and effort
I suggest time spent in some of the security camera forums (like ipcamtalk.com and others) where I found a lot of detailed information about setting up the system and cameras
Reviewed By:Christopher O.,5/12/2016 7:01:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KHI8-YARUZ8ZN 8 Channel H.264, 960H DVR Security System with 8 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 dissapointed with ZMODO
Pros: the cameras look decent, easy to hook up, and plenty of cables 8 x 60 , price
Cons: one page of instructions, no remote ( thats my fault, i assumed it would come with one since the other 2 did )
no HD so that was another expense , and the mouse is junk..., ive owned 2 other zmodos and was pleased with both, this one is built on the cheap.
Other Thoughts: no i would not recommend to anyone, and no i would not buy this one again
Reviewed By:JEFFREY M.,5/3/2016 8:34:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.