Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S-1TB 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera w/ 1TB HDD Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 everything is there to make it good, but its not
Pros: -Everything you need for an easy install
-Cameras are small and somewhat esthetically acceptable
-Cameras powered by the network cable, no need to supply electrical outlet at every viewpoint
-good basic kit for a home in a low risk neighbourhood, as making camera visible is a deterrent on its own (as long as they dont know all the trouble it is to actually access what ever was recorded or if the recording actually had visible images)
-enough cable length supplied to cover normal sized house from every corner
-Zmodo community forum can help you solve some minor issues
-Zmodo has some youtube video with good help to setup things like router programming.
Cons: -Mounting brackets are weak and screwing holes come in pre-stripped so get yourself some white electrical tape to secure them into position.
-Image quality gets terrible between total darkness or total brightness. (Dusk and dawn)
-Sometime the cameras get stuck into blurry grainy vision until next light level change (next day...)
-Archaic unfriendly UI from Zviewer is incomplete, some functions can only be accessed trough Internet explorer ONLY which will give you tons of error before you can actually get it to open. (you need to configure lots of things in internet options)
-playback on computer is not Hi-Res unless you figure out how to download from the internet explorer window as native Zviewer app will not let you download it
-Mobile app is terribly designed, lacks access to recording if you are away, virtually useless if you are not home. it will give you lots of "network error detected"
-Mobile app playback (when home) does not allow for fast reading, so you better know exactly when it happened if you want to review it or waste a day watching
-briefly put, you better hide the NVR so they don’t steal it, but you'll need quick and easy physical access to it to operate it and get videos out of it (and a monitor hooked to it)
-Movement alarm is either extremely paranoid or totally blind.
-Rebooting cameras to prevent them from crashing SHOULD NOT be done during nighttime because they wont come back on in night mode.
-No NVR access for linux users, even though the whole darn thing is probably programmed in linux
-ZMODO service is nonexistent, no reply to emails, no answer to the "live chat" fortunately they have a community forum.
-4 channels only, impossible to add cameras to the NVR
Other Thoughts: I wish I had not been so stressed because of the break-in that lead me to buying those and waited to have an extra 150$ and get the lorex 8 cam kit

worst of it is most issues (except for the brackets) could be fixed by minor firmware and software upgrade of all components. But Zmodo is so absent from the game, we do not know if any of this will ever be fixed
Reviewed By:Rick leRenard,5/1/2015 7:06:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV- KDV1404B6BP Complete 4 CH 960H Security DVR System w/ 500GB HDD Easy DIY 4 Infrared Surveillance Cameras

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent system, next to no docs, cameras are ok
Pros: Good value, but I guess you get what you pay for...
Cons: I'm not sure if I would buy this again. The documentation is a joke. The interface seems like it's capable of a lot, but there is literally, NO documentation for the GUIs. Taking one star away for that, and another star for lackluster camera performance.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/29/2015 9:31:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Aposonic > Aposonic A-BR1B4-C250 4 Ch 960H Full D1 DVR + 4x 700TVL Bullet Cameras + 500GB pre-installed HDD with Mobile Access Surveillance Kit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 mixed bag
Pros: price
Cons: had to replace 2 of the 4 cameras in 2 years and the DVR seems to be of low quality, the picture cuts out several time / day, i.e. it says 'no connection', then magically re-appears for hours, then at some point will disappear again
Other Thoughts: good product when it works...which unfortunately has not been a consistent characteristic of my unit
Reviewed By:N/A,4/28/2015 9:02:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S-1TB 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera w/ 1TB HDD Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hard Drive Failur
Pros: I wrote a review after 1 month of ownership - all was good.
Cons: Now it's close to 3 month, and the Hard Drive has failed. I'm getting "No storage medium!" message, and all recording are gone. Rebooting the device does nothing.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Gregory,

Sorry to hear about the hard drive issues you are experiencing. If you can give us a call, our support will gladly work witih you try and get this issue resolved. Our support hours are 8am to 8pm CST and can be reached at 217-903-5037. We look forward to hearing from you so that we may work with you directly.

Best regards,
Zmodo Sales and Support

Reviewed By:N/A,4/27/2015 12:19:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KHI8-YARUZ4ZN-1T 8 Channel H.264, 960H DVR Security System w/ 1TB HDD and 4 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 false
Pros: arrived
Cons: does not have audio capability. Had to return it. Was a waste of my time and resources
Reviewed By:N/A,4/27/2015 11:32:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD5144B Cube Series 4 CH D1 Security DVR Cloud System w/ Easy DIY Four 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Laview Cube
Pros: OK cameras, OK night vision, cheap when on sale
Cons: Low resolution cameras but better then some entry level ones.
Other Thoughts: Bought this guy on a good sale becuase I'm getting tired of people coming into my yard and drive way to steal things and walk to the park 2 houses away.
Cameras have good daylight video, and OK night time mono video. Resolution could be better as it's hard to see face details or license plates but overall you can see fairly clearly what is going on and the latest versions of their software for windows and Android work well.
Was easy to instal a spare 400 gig drive I had and cameras were easy enough to run wires and install.
Plan to get some better resolution cameras for it someday and see how it does but a great starter setup for the money when on sale.
Reviewed By:Dartman,4/25/2015 12:01:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD514FD7S 4 Channel H.264 Level CUBE Plus Advanced Face Detection 4 Channel DVR + 4 x 700TVL Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 UPDATE #3
Pros: I had ordered other cables and hooked them up to the cameras and they look as great as the first ones , the picture during the day and night are perfect
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: If you get this unit , just order some "LTS LTAC2125W" they are 125 foot long but it's the best cable I've ever got for my security system
Reviewed By:Jeff R,4/25/2015 3:06:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > SHIELDeye > SHIELD Series RSCM-0704B042 - 4-Channel, H.264-Level DVR Surveillance Kit + Four 700TVL Cameras - Night Vision Up to 65 Feet, Remote Viewing Supported (HDD Not Included)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 UPDATE
Pros: My last review I said that the cameras that come with this unit were bad , I used a thicker cable on a couple of them and they don't look that bad now , they are still a little grainy at night but I can get use to it , I've seen a lot worse but like I said I only got this unit for the DVR because it's basically the same unit as the "LaView LV-KD514FD7S" And it's a nice unit
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: I would still recommend this unit , just get thicker cables or use your old cameras if they have a good view
Reviewed By:Jeff R,4/25/2015 3:00:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Buy
Pros: - Easy setup both with installation of the cameras and networking.
- Smartphone viewing
- Camera quality, very clear picture
- Price, can’t beat it.
Cons: - Like people suggested, need to weatherproof the connection between cameras and cable. I used electric tape to cover it up.
Other Thoughts: I’ve had this system for a couple days now and I am very impressed with everything this system has to offer. I installed the system myself and have been able to set it up to for remote viewing just fine with little effort. The camera quality is very great and you can clearly see what the camera sees on your smart phone. I still can’t believe the overall quality of this system with such a great price, one of the best deals I have found on newegg.
Reviewed By:Brandon C.,4/22/2015 11:17:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-NVR104K All in One Surveillance NVR Kit w/ Pre-installed 1TB HDD, 2 x HD PoE Outdoor IP Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not Ready For Prime Time
Pros: Sleek looking, well built
Cons: No app to view this from your smartphone, only web interface - which needs a plugin, so its not mobile ready either. The setup interface is kludgy, you really need a monitor attached to do it right. DDNS also doesn't seem to want to work.
Other Thoughts: A good first go but definitely not a fully baked product!
Manufacturer Response:Hello JoeyF,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the TV-NVR104K. Your feedback is important to us as it helps guide future development and resolve any issues that may arise. Please note that we are in the works and an app should be available shortly. We will have our engineering department look into the issues you experienced.

Regards,
Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:JoeyF,4/20/2015 5:27:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.