Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl B-108-8CM245-NHD 8 Channel H.264 Level, 8 Day&Night Cameras, 10.1" LCD Surveillance DVR Kit (No HDD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works as advertised
Pros: Easy setup, basic interface and easy to use! Mouse is a plus!
Cons: A bit difficult to use the netdvr program for remote monitoring, if there is no one to teach you how to read the directions in absolute detail. You can not get it right without reading every sentence....
Other Thoughts: If your are looking for great quality on a budget, this is the system for you!
Reviewed By:j.clow,10/16/2014 2:17:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KDF6-SARAZ8ZN-NHD 16 Ch DVR & 8 CMOS 480 TVL IR Cam Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: The Cameras work fine
Cons: Firstly the least amount of time you can set to record is 15 minutes, so I have to review every 30 seconds or 2 minutes of motion in 15 minute increments. Secondly and most importantly, the camera records fine until there is a person(s) directly in front of it, and then shows a blank screen, I tried it for several cameras and several DVR systems installed at different locations and got exactly the same result.
I contact customer service and their suggestion is for me to leave it on continuous record. That would really NOT help in reviewing footage for any issue, and store that mush more useless footage,
THERE IS NO POINT IN HAVING A SECURITY CAMERA IF WHEN THERE IS A PERSON(S) MOVING IN FRONT OF IT DOES NOT RECORD.
Other Thoughts: Only wish I could give a minus rating!
Reviewed By:N/A,10/14/2014 1:54:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD3468B Complete 16 CH HDMI Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY Eight 520TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD) - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great system for the price
Pros: price, easy to set up. HDD was easy to install, 1 T hdd still has not filled up. Plenty of room in case to add more storage. nice interface with mouse.
Cons: cooling fan is a bit loud, not much camera range at night.
Other Thoughts: Great entry level security system. Plug and play. I would buy again.
Reviewed By:stiches,10/13/2014 4:15:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD3468B Complete 16 CH HDMI Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY Eight 520TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD) - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 P2P Made installation Easy
Pros: Simplicity in getting remote viewing to work. I did have a couple of false starts, but the written instructions are pretty good and the online videos are pretty helpful. The included camera quality is pretty good, but not great. Huge storage capability. The two internal bays permit up to 6 terabytes. 16 channel capacity and 8 standard cameras come in the package. Price...unbelievable at $150. Sorry I didn't buy two. Comes with rack mount ears to mount in standard 19" rack.
Cons: Cameras won't install themselves. Cabled connections require crawling through attic, but wireless cameras require power, so not much difference. Standard cameras resolution not HD, but then they aren't promised to be. They probably meet their specified 520 line resolution.
Other Thoughts: After two prior installations which required port forwarding to the internet, which I never figured out, this system actually worked and worked well. I can now monitor the system from my laptop, Android phone and wife's iPhone. Camera resolution is a bit lower than I'd like, but optional high resolution cameras are available I may purchase a couple. I plugged in the 4 cameras from an earlier failed installation and found them to be inferior to the LaView cameras which had far less video noise and better night vision capabilities. The noise in the old cameras was bad enough that it would give false motion alarms, so the LaView cameras will monitor critical areas. All-in-all, I'm very pleased.
Reviewed By:Rusty's Dad,10/12/2014 8:50:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD3468B Complete 16 CH HDMI Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY Eight 520TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD) - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Excellent system. Others said it took 2 hours to install but it took me 2 days. Drilling holes for wires and going up and down in attic. I guess that might be because I am 72 years old and did it all by myself.
Cons: No cons
Other Thoughts: I recomend this system.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/12/2014 3:13:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Aposonic > Aposonic A-BR21B4-CF 4 Ch H.264 960H Real Time DVR with 4 x 700 TVL Day & Night Camera, Mobile Viewing, Mac OSX Fully Supported

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great support
Pros: Customer service at Aposonic was grreat. Responsive to my email, quick to fix the problem.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: When I received my kit, two of the cables were defective. However, when I contacted Aposonic, they immediately responded and immediately shipped two new cables to me, without delay or cost. I am very pleased with how they handled the problem.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/10/2014 7:26:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KDV2804W1 8 Channel H.264 Level 960H 8CH HD Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY 4 x 1000TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 nice package
Pros: great setup for the price. excellent camera resolution. everything is included even the stencil stickers for mounting the cameras
Cons: this isn't a professional grade system but it is more value than you pay for
Reviewed By:N/A,10/9/2014 9:48:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4 Channels sPoE NVR w/ 4 Day/Night Outdoor HD 720P IP Camera System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good system - Take your time with the setup
Pros: Great picture during the day
Pretty simple initial setup
Good cable lengths - 2 50 footers and 2 80 footers
Good interface
Smartphone setup is a breeze
Cons: Cameras have trouble with spaces that can be both light and dark.
While initial setup was simple, getting it tweaked how I want it took quite a while.
The computer or internet viewing is not so simple as the smartphone one. It involves logging into your router and opening ports etc etc.
One of my cameras fogged up, or smoked up when we started using it. I tried to contact Newegg about it and nobody replied. Neweggs email customer service these days really SUCKS. The camera goes in and out of being clear or fogged but it is mostly okay now.
Other Thoughts: Initial setup is great. Test the cameras, then mount where you want and run your cables carefully. Plug in your box and hook it to a monitor, then plug in the provided mini mouse. Put a hard drive in the box and the on screen guide will help you format it and set it up. Boom - you're up and running already!
What you need to do next is up to what you're looking for. The resolution out of the box is down from the max - so I had to go to each camera and right click and set each one to the max. Then I set up the motion recording and full time recording info. I blocked out the street where cars go by so it wouldn't start full recording every time a car drove past (without motion it records in like 4 second intervals to save HDD space - then with motion it's in full video record mode). My smartphone setup was a breeze and it worked 100 miles away when I was showing someone - so that is great. Setting it up so you can view it from a laptop or any web browser in the world - NOT so simple. It involves logging into your router and opening ports and allowing this and that... not for the inexperienced computer person at all.
I tweaked each camera for the best coverage but they have light and dark problems... for example I have one under our front entry which is covered. It points towards the covered front door to see who is there - but the angle is so wide that it also covers the front yard some too... well, under the cover is darker and out in the front yard is full light. So it tries to compensate for the light by darkening the picture but then it's tough to see the people at the front door - depending on what time of day it is and what light it is outside.
The night view is pretty decent but don't expect to read a license plate or perfectly see a strangers face with it if there is much distance at all. It does the job of being a deterrent by itself and would certainly capture a crime within it's viewing range, but it would probably not be good enough footage to prosecute someone unless they were point blank.

Make sure you TEST each camera BEFORE you mount it. One of mine smoked a little inside it before clearing away. The camera was foggy and continues to occasionally fog up. I'm still not sure what is wrong and Newegg WILL NOT ANSWER my emails about it. I've also tried contacting the manufacturer and not heard back.

Overall this system is great for the money. Good cameras, very easy setup. You can get up and recording on all 4 cameras in less than 90 minutes depending on where you locate the cameras and how you hide your cables. The tweaking can be done over time as you get used to your system. I do recommend this system - just make sure you test everything before you install it... you don't want to have to undo all that work! =-)
Manufacturer Response:Bret,

We would like to thank you for your feedback and work with you directly to make Zmodo products and service better for you. With your Newegg invoice we can create a RMA to send you a replacement camera for the defective one. Our customer service can be reached at 866-551-6881 Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm CST. We can also be reached by email at newegg-support@zmodo.com.

Best Regards,
Zmodo Sales and Support

Reviewed By:Lighthouse,10/7/2014 9:07:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Defender > Defender BlueLine 21171 Ultra Hi-Res DIY Security System, 8CH x 4 Camera 500GB HDD Pre-Installed

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Stuff And Quality
Pros: WOW Cant Believe The Quality Of This Setup.. Everything In The Package Is Awesome. Video.Dvr.Easy To Set Up Plug And Play. Run Your Wire Placement And Mount Cams Away You Gooo.
THANKS NEWEGG AND DEFENDER BLUELINE
Cons: No Stickers Waaaa....
Other Thoughts: I Took Out The 500 GIG HD And Put A 1 Terabyte In .So Now 4 Years Record Time.. Not 2 Years Yaaaaaa.. I Happy.
Reviewed By:12PK-WILD,10/6/2014 11:14:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD5188D-T1 Cube Series 8 CH Security DVR Cloud System w/ 1TB HDD Easy DIY Eight 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great value
Pros: Good cameras, small footprint DVR, high quality hard drive (Western Digital Purple Series), excellent support via telephone and YouTube videos, P2P works great.
Cons: System clock gains 15 minutes every week and has to be reset frequently, no video saved to dropbox - only snapshots when motion detection is activated. Like many others have learned, this system was shipped set up for PAL, which looks like all cameras have lost vertical sync when booted up. It's an easy fix by accessing the menu and changing to NTSC, but that's the reason this system has an overall lower rating by people who claim to have "high technical knowledge". Smart phone APP only works on my iPhone via the port forwarding, and the WIFI has to be turned off. It can work using WIFI using a different setup, but the phone must be using the home network.
Other Thoughts: This is the best value for an 8 camera video system that I've found. Image quality is great, even at night. Night infrared systems like these cameras use work best if there is some ambient light available. In my backyard there is a 60 watt bulb on at about 70 feet from the camera, and the night view is fine. The P2P connection does not require port forwarding, and works GREAT on my laptop. The APP for my iPad makes aiming the cameras a breeze, since you immediately see on the tablet what the camera is viewing.
I'm 66 years old and knew very little about networking, but the phone support and the excellent videos available from LaView made this project a rewarding one. If I can do it, so can you. The hardest part of the project was not any technical issue, it was stringing the wires throughout the attic (over 100 degrees up there) and fishing them down through the wall.
Reviewed By:Raven FAC,10/6/2014 5:48:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau