Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E5-2630 v3 Haswell-EP 2.4GHz 8 x 256KB L2 Cache 20MB L3 Cache LGA 2011-3 85W BX80644E52630V3 Server Processor

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Too Slow for Video Editing
Pros: Runs cool. Uses less power.
Cons: Cannot outperform my 7 year old Core2Quad Xtreme clocked at 4.1GHz for basic video editing in Premiere. I'm experiencing dropped frames at 1080P and 4K resolutions.

nBench floating point performance comes up about 30% slower than my Core2Quad.

Cinebench R15 single thread performance is similar to my old CPU/machine. Not the upgrade I expected.
Other Thoughts: I'd really thought that Moore's Law would apply to CPUs, expecting a very significant increase in performance over my 7 year old Core2Quad. That this new system with TWO Xeon CPUs stutters and drops more frames than the aging Core2Quad system that it is supposed to replace, really left me speechless. This CPU should leave the C2Q in the dust, video editing-wise.
My peers are editing this same footage on Macbook Pro's with none of the problems I am having. The footage cannot be that difficult to decode and play back if a laptop can do it. Certainly a dual Xeon should be more capable than a laptop. But the results contradict the expectations.
I've spent all month with tech support for the various system component, and reached a dead end, and also exceeded the RMA period, so I am stuck with the monthly payments for this behemoth, even though it is nearly useless for the intended purpose. Other system integrators use Xeons in their high end NLE workstations, so I don't understand why common NLE apps perform so poorly on Xeons. My mistake was to try and clone one of those high end workstations and DiY it myself instead of paying someone thirty grand to build it for me, where I have recourse if it doesn't perform well. Oh well, it's only a year's income in financing that I am on the hook for now. Live and learn.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 9:08:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E5-2630 v3 Haswell-EP 2.4GHz 8 x 256KB L2 Cache 20MB L3 Cache LGA 2011-3 85W BX80644E52630V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Low power and efficient. Reasonable price.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: I have 2 of these running in a server board. This upgraded an old i7-920. The performance for running simulations is much greater than the 4x core count increase.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 5:34:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E5-2680 v3 Haswell 2.5GHz 12 x 256KB L2 Cache 30 MB L3 Cache LGA 2011-3 120W BX80644E52680V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Monstrous Power
Pros: I recently purchased a workstation with two of these and I can say: it's easily twice as much as a Core i7 5960x, and then some.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is for server/workstation level work. Gamers will do better with a fewer-core higher-clocked CPU.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2015 12:48:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon X3360 Yorkfield 2.83GHz 12MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W BX80569X3360 Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 x3360
Pros: put this in msi p45 neo 3 . works great. lower voltages overclocks to 3.4 ghz and low temps with no problem.great bang for the buck.runs fast .
Cons: nary a one
Other Thoughts: Wish they still made these mother boards. Mine is seven years old.Still going strong.Good chipset.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 11:28:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E5-2603 v2 Ivy Bridge-EP 1.8GHz 10MB L3 Cache LGA 2011 80W BX80635E52603V2 Server Processor

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 You get what you pay for
Pros: Cheap
Cons: When used in a single processor configuration it is a bit under-powered.
Other Thoughts: I needed a cheap CPU, I bought a cheap CPU. I should have bought a high-quality used CPU. C'est la vie
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 1:32:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > AMD > AMD Opteron 6376 Abu Dhabi 2.3GHz 16 MB L2 Cache 16MB L3 Cache Socket G34 115W OS6376WKTGGHKWOF Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Powerful, easy install, but noisy cooling
Pros: Powerful, easy to install/use.
Cons: Fans are noisy if you're not doing liquid cooling
Other Thoughts: I should have invested in liquid cooling, because when I run these babies at 100% capacity the fans are very loud! I realize most people buy these for virtualization, but I'm using them for data modeling/mining, which means I want to max them out as much as possible to get the jobs done faster.

So -- I love these, they're pure awesome. Be ready for some fan noise, however, if you're going to use them at full capacity and don't have liquid cooling.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 8:53:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1241 v3 Haswell 3.5GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W Server Processor BX80646E31241V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So hot, want to touch the heine
Pros: * Blazing fast computing speed
* Low wattage
* Good compatibility
Cons: * Costs money
Other Thoughts: I would buy this processor again for sure. Just simply fantastic. Working great with my ASRock mobo and GFX card in a gaming system setup. No installation or other compatibility problems experienced.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/11/2015 3:10:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E5-2630 v3 Haswell-EP 2.4GHz 8 x 256KB L2 Cache 20MB L3 Cache LGA 2011-3 85W BX80644E52630V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well
Pros: This processor does more with less power than my old I7-920. I expected twice the performance of the old processor, but it seems to be doing about 13 times the work with simulations as the old old one with half the power consumption.
Cons: I can't think of any cons.
Other Thoughts: I am using 2 of these in a server board. They run cool under full utilization. They each draw about 67 W according to a hardware manager program.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/8/2015 1:43:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1231V3 Haswell 3.4GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W BX80646E31231V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 CORRECTIONS TO MY PREVIOUS REVIEW
Pros: With my apologies, this is a HASWELL part, and the step up to on-chip GPU is the Xeon e3-1246v3.

I apologize for the errors in my previous review. We used to be able to edit these?

THIS IS A GREAT PART! :/
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,8/6/2015 5:09:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1231V3 Haswell 3.4GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W BX80646E31231V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Got it for cheap
Pros: I got mine for $225
It's practically an i7 4770 without the iGPU
Cons: i didnt get it for free
Reviewed By:N/A,8/6/2015 10:25:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.