Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W110 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Control/Schedule Your Devices From Anywhere

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Reboot router? Reset device
Pros: actually very little, see cons.
Cons: Eggxpert reviewer here, and I'm amending my previous review now that I've had more opportunity to see how this thing behaves during normal use. One of the flaws about reviewing products is that it's difficult to try to anticipate everything while I run it through my testing phase. Such as: power outages, or rebooting your router.

With a 100% success rate, every time there was a power loss to my router (either through a black out or a purposeful reboot) I also had to completely go through the process of re-adding the device using the MyDlink app to get it back onto the power schedule. The device defaults to "always on" when this happens. Given the hassle of trying to get this back up and running, I can't recommend it.

There is also no intuitive way to remove a device when this happens. After a power cycle on the router, I wasn't even able to access the settings for the device in the MyDlink app. There were a few times where I would be scanning for any available Dlink wireless devices, and not find any because there were no additional devices outside of what was already defined in the app, making it impossible for me to do anything outside of a hard reboot on the device.
Other Thoughts: In my original review, I considered giving this 3 eggs instead of the 1 I gave it (thanks to the ridiculous invasion of privacy). After discovering these design flaws, it gets 1 egg in earnest; you'd be significantly better off getting a scheduler that is based on a mechanical scheduler.
Reviewed By:Flynn,4/27/2015 6:49:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W110 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Control/Schedule Your Devices From Anywhere

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Remote power control: D-Link DSP-W110
Pros: Very easy to use once it's setup. Can control lights, alarms, cameras, anything you can plug into an electrical outlet.
The uses are limitless.

Can create a schedule for turning on lights, appliances, etc.
Can manually turn on lights or other devices while on vacation to scare away potential burglars.

The form factor is a good size. It doesn't take up much space and doesn't impose on the look of any room.

The APP is fairly easy to setup once you've explored the interface. Creating and saving schedules was fairly easy.
Cons: I didn't have any problem using the provided software for control but I would like to see it simplified some and take less input to create a new schedule.
Other Thoughts: I just love the idea of remote controlling my home's power, even if it is only 1 outlet currently.
I would like to see more devices come with this technology built in so we don't have to use these types of outlet-schedulers.
Reviewed By:GObonzo,4/21/2015 9:52:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W110 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Control/Schedule Your Devices From Anywhere

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent Device
Pros: To start with the pros on this device I will state that is was pretty easy to setup, however I did not use the WPS feature, I just set it up manually. It's fairly non intrusive space wise. It offers a grounded outlet, something you don't see on a lot of automatic timers, save for the heavy duty ones. The device has worked almost every time I went to use it remotely, the only fault came from my wireless router getting unplugged by accident. The status light tells you enough about what is going on to understand it's status, and there's a nice manual switch button right on the front that lights up when the outlet is active. I have been using it to turn my living room lights on before I get home and it's been a nice thing to have, so I can see when I walk in the door.
Cons: This device has to have an internet connection from my understanding, and with that, to turn it on and off there is a bit of a delay from when you trigger it on the APP and when it responds. I feel that the scheduling and management website could use a bit more features and controls over the device and not just rely on the APP for all of that. The position of putting the device on a schedule and the placement of the actual scheduling section is not intuitive. You have to go into the device, add the schedule to it, and then edit it in the app's settings tabs, which is where is seems other users got lost. I feel like D-Link should probably change the layout a bit so it's not so hard to follow.
Other Thoughts: The response time varies a bit on this device, the longest I think I waited for it to respond was about 30 seconds, with a normal response time of about 10 seconds. When it is not connected to the internet, the APP will alert you via a notification, but when that happens you cannot control it until the connection is re-established or you are physically there and push the manual button. It is a fairly simple device and it was not bad to setup and use. I am curious to see what I could do if I had a handful of these devices and had them all setup together on a schedule. I feel that this product could be improved in a few ways, but as it sits I am fairly happy with it. I would not mind seeing control software that works on LAN for it as well. Multiple controllable outlets, say a plug strip version, would be interesting if you could control them individually and do it by buying just 1 device.
Reviewed By:Nightwolfx03,3/18/2015 5:06:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > Honeywell > Honeywell RPLS740B1008/U 7-Day Solar Programmable Timer Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great switch
Pros: Installation was a breeze, but make sure you have all three wires to connect this switch.
All instructions were clear on how to program the switch (using lat/long, DST on/off).
Now I have both my motion sensing back porch light and carriage lights automated (dusk to dawn).
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,3/15/2015 5:40:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > Honeywell > Honeywell RPLS740B1008/U 7-Day Solar Programmable Timer Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Switch Timer
Pros: This switch was very straightforward to install (note you need a neutral wire). The ease of navigating the menus is commendable considering it only has 3 buttons.

Not having to worry about changing the timer for the seasons is a real plus. Adjusting the timer to match your latitude and longitude is simple with the general guide included and it ensures that you should not have to touch it again if you don't want to.
Cons: The schedule programming could use some extra customization for week days vs weekends. It's either all days, no days, or only individual days. The reason this becomes an issue is you only get 7 different programs so you have to put in quite a bit of effort into programming each individual day if you want different profiles on weekdays / weekends.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/2/2015 1:31:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W110 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Control/Schedule Your Devices From Anywhere

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor app quality, invasion of privacy
Pros: Easy setup with the WPS feature; although what D-Link product doesn’t have this. I used a tablet on my home network. The device is shaped such that it won’t block any of the other outlets in a standard 2-plug wall socket. I could see this kind of device having multiple different uses:

Non-programmable coffee pot? Set it to provide power for an hour in the morning.
Help waking up in the morning? Plug a desk lamp into this to turn on when your alarm goes off.
Curling iron/hair straightener? This ensures you won’t risk a fire hazard by forgetting to turn it off.
Heading lamps for reptile pets? Auto-set the day/night lamps (requires 2 devices)
Want to prevent kids from using devices at certain times? Use a hidden plug with the device.
etc.
Cons: Well, this is a pretty significant con; the tablet app wasn’t able to progress past the “choose a schedule you want to set up” portion of actually setting up a schedule. I could choose between 5 options: Basic 1, Basic 2, Advanced 1, Advanced 2, and Advanced 3. Selecting any one of them placed a Check in its corresponding bubble, and then… nothing. No “next” or “continue” button, pressing and holding on the option doesn’t bring additional menus, nada. I even logged on to my router to verify that the device was connected to the wireless network. Eventually I discovered that this area of the device setup was to choose between 5 pre-determined schedules as defined in the apps main settings menu; this generally seems like poor design to me. Personally, I’d prefer being able to set up the schedule for each device within the device settings. I suppose this could be nice for having multiple d-link devices on the same schedule, but I found it to be a little unintuitive.

You seem to be limited to the 5 schedules built in to the app. It also seems like you can’t have the plug operating continuously between days; i.e. you can set it up to operate up to 11:59pm on one day, then it will turn off for a minute and re-activate at 12:00am on the next day; could be problematic depending on what device you’re controlling. The scheduling just seems to be poorly implemented.

While the device is small enough such that it doesn’t block the second outlet in a standard 2-plug wall outlet, it will block at least one, possibly two (depending on which plug you need to use) on most standard power strips.

Also, am I the only one who actually reads the terms of service for the apps? Why in the living hell does the d-link app need to “view device activity, which apps are running, browsing history and bookmarks”??? How have we, as a society, become so complacent when it comes to giving away every last bit of privacy away to tech companies?
Other Thoughts: I was originally going to rate this device at 3 eggs due to the limitations of the scheduling portion of the app, but the unnecessary invasion of privacy the app “requires” caused that to drop to 1 egg. I recommend you look into the existing plugs which have a physical, manually settable timer.
Manufacturer Response:D-Link appreciates the feedback as we truly value the input and we are sorry to hear that you are encountering issues with the product. We will pass on the information you have provided to our Product Management team for consideration. Also, please make sure that you upgraded to the latest firmware on the smart plug. If you continue to experience the same issues feel free to contact our technical support team for assistance. They can be reached anytime by calling the toll-free number 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

Reviewed By:Flynn,2/28/2015 2:37:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W110 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Control/Schedule Your Devices From Anywhere

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Almost perfect!
Pros: To start, this device made me realize I am living in the future. Do most people have a computer in their pocket with more power than the moon landing system's back in the day? Absolutely. But turning on appliances in my home with said computer (phone) just made something click.

The Smart Plug thankfully only takes up one socket on the wall and would look at home in just about any room. It's simple enough to get started if you've used WPS before, and if not just read the instructions because they are actually quite good.

Connecting to the smart phone of choice is just as simple and allows you to then manual toggle the appliance of choice or assign a schedule. If you own any other D-Link "smart" devices you will see them in the application as well which is nice to see.

In the app however is where I started to see some issue...
Cons: The most annoying thing I have found so far, is anytime I open the application (Android) it will crash if it's already running in the background (or in memory). This forces me to kill the app first, then re-open it to get to the menu. I tried it on another Android phone just to make sure it wasn't me and it happened EVERY single time. It got so annoying I just made a habit of bring up my recent apps, killing it if there, then opening it from there.

The other issue I had, and I'm not sure where the breakdown happens, is there can be a lengthy delay when toggling the device on manually. When connected to a room lamp for instance, I would toggle the device on in the app, get a loading circle, and then anywhere from 3-7 seconds later the light would turn on.

I would assume since both the smart plug and my phone were on the same LAN there shouldn't be that much latency between action and result.

If D-Link resolves both of those issues then this thing would be a solid 5 stars! I do have hope because the device can download and install firmware all by itself once toggled in the application to do so, here's to hoping.
Reviewed By:Bryan K,2/22/2015 10:11:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > Belkin > Belkin F7C043fc WeMo Maker - Home Automation for the Tinkerer & DIY'er, Wi-Fi Enabled and WeMo App Controlled

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not for me
Pros: Easy to use. Included cloud service.
When you first plug in the WeMo Maker, it creates its own wifi SSID, that you will need to connect to with your phone or tablet (download the app first). From within this app, you tell the device how to connect to your real wifi SSID. A reboot and I was ready to go. The app told me that I needed a firmware update, so I triggered it and in a few minutes it reported for duty properly upgraded.
The app allows you to configure the Maker - both the relay (momentary or toggle) and the sensor (yes/no), and also allows you to set up some simple rules. The cloud service had some occasional connection issues and delays, but worked otherwise. Time, motion, home/away, sensing power are all ways things can be triggered, depending on which other WeMo devices you might have.

WeMo's measured power consumption was 1 watt at most (inside the limit of my ability to measure) and wasn't warm to the touch after several hours of on-time.
Cons: This device only has one controlled relay and one on/off sensor.

As mentioned, the sensor is only on/off, not analog (or serial/digital), so its use is fairly limited.

I tried the Maker in two modes of operation, one for raising/lowering my garage door, and sensing its state, and the second in pushing the power button of my PC.
Other Thoughts: This is not your starting point for wemo, it is fairly expensive and requires ability with electrics/electronics..
If you are using the wemo system for lights and other appliances, then this may be the swiss army knife you need to add some other capability that cannot be found in the other wemo gadgets.
Note about the sensor: Why you need a pulldown/pullup resistor. Why? Because the sensor input is so sensitive, that even when its not connected to a voltage source, a few stray electrons could keep it reading a voltage, giving you odd, unreliable readings. More technically, the sensor input is connected to the base/gate of a transistor in the WeMo which draws very little current, so the use of a pulldown/pullup resistor ensures the sensor stays at its "resting" voltage when its not being fed a signal, preventing erroneous readings. If you want the sensor to be normally seeing 0 volts, then connect a pulldown between the sensor and ground. When you apply 5 volts to the sensor, just enough current will flow down the resistor allowing the sensor to "come up" to 5 volts, and the sensor will be triggered. Disconnect the 5 volts and the remaining electricity will flow down the resistor, pulling the sensor back down to 0 volts. Its that simple. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pull-up_resistor
Reviewed By:Bandit1200,2/17/2015 12:42:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > Belkin > Belkin F7C043fc WeMo Maker - Home Automation for the Tinkerer & DIY'er, Wi-Fi Enabled and WeMo App Controlled

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great for Tinkers but has its flaws
Pros: The WeMo Makers integration with wireless network is incredibly simple to say the least. The app integration is a great touch as well and just like connecting the WeMo Maker to your wireless network, its incredibly simple to setup on your smartphone or tablet.

Amazing support for IFTTT coding that lets you create powerful connections with one simple statement: IF this, then that. Some of the easiest coding in my opinion.

The app is very useful when it comes to commutation with the WeMo Maker, simple clicks of a button to turn it on or off, even creating customized automation rules and schedules to fit your personal preferences is easy for anyone with this app.

Now it is only for low power devices so there are quite a few options to choose from in the low-volatage/amp range.
For example you can, create a trigger to open the pet door for your dog at sunrise or when you log out of your work email for the day and even connect it into a fully automatic 25rd belt fed NERF gun. With WeMo and IFTTT, your imagination is your only limit.

If you a DIY'er and have some background in simple programming and electrical design then this is the device for you.
Cons: Very little to no documentation on using this device and its supported outputs.

Very low voltage/amp devices are supported, it really could use some high capacity output.

Pricy for what you are getting

Another reviewer mentioned this but the app is definitely flaky. It was very easy to setup but after the initial setup and power down, I couldn't get my Nexus 7 (2013) tablet to reconnect back to the device. I had to reboot the WeMo three times for it to connect back to my tablet. Same thing for my phone.

Relay connections 24 V at 1 amp max (Good for one raspberry pi)

Sensor connections 5 DC at 100 mA max

This next part was confusing for me

[Powered by:
WeMo Maker™ PSU: 5 V 100 mA max
The maker receives its power from an outboard 5 V DC @ 2.1 A PSU via a micro USB connection. ]

Though on the USB PSU you get and Maker power input both are labeled with 5V 1AMP so does it only support 5V 100mA max ,5V 1AMP max or 5V 2.1AMP max? 5V 1AMP works great for me.

It can only control one device at a a time. Which when you like to tinker with things this is a bummer. I would like to see the option for more than one device.
Other Thoughts: For tinkers and electrical hobbyist this is a fun little device. Though price tag and flaky app/Maker wireless connection is a really bummer. Price is defiantly a little high considering I can pick up a small wireless arduino uno and case for cheaper than this and it could control multiple devices.

You will need to do some research before you buy one of these, as Volt/AMP support is tiny and the fact that you can control only one device is also a bummer.

Belkin you made a good product but there are definitely some flaws that should be addressed. And your documentation really really really needs to be improved at least give two or three quick tutorials for setting up common questions, such as lights, door locks, temperature sensors...etc. These quick like how-tos would greatly help anyone who is not a tinker and would like to get involved with electronics.

All in all I do really like this WeMo Maker but it does have its flaws and can be quite a bother.
Reviewed By:CeleriumMind,2/15/2015 10:03:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W110 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Control/Schedule Your Devices From Anywhere

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Smart plug works flawlessly
Pros: The plug is small and compact compared to some other smart plugs I have had. This plug does the job and is simple to set up.

No need to type in small numbers on a card, when you can scan them.

Save money by setting up a schedule for the plug.

Set the on and off timer.

WI-FI connection was solid and the plug was a bit away from the router.

The best part of this is that the APP actually works on Android 5.0 Lollipop. No force closes and works great.
Cons: The plug can not rotate to fit the wall outlet better. The plug needs to be with the heavy part facing down at all times to ensure the best fit and avoid electric arching.

Having a plug that can rotate to fit any wall outlet would be the best way to maximize this plugs ability. No eggs have been removed as this wasn't an issue but more a personal want to see on the next model.
Reviewed By:Anfeldt24,2/2/2015 8:07:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.