Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > SCSI / SAS / InfiniBand Cables > STARTECH > StarTech Model SAS8087S450 19" (50cm) Serial Attached SCSI SAS Cable - SFF-8087 to 4x Latching SATA

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great cables
Pros: Much nicer than the highpoint cables
Cons: Wish the had locking connectors
Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 11:22:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SCSI / SAS / InfiniBand Cables > STARTECH > Model SAS808782P50 1.6 ft. Internal Serial Attached SCSI Mini SAS Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Cable
Pros: Great cable. Power and sas connection. Worked with our LSI 9260-4i perfectly.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:shaeboy,4/6/2015 5:16:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > SCSI / SAS / InfiniBand Cables > STARTECH > Model SAS808782P50 1.6 ft. Internal Serial Attached SCSI Mini SAS Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Cable
Pros: Excellent cable, allowed me to connect a MiniSAS 8087 Adaptec card to 4 SAS Hard drives while delivering power to them.

Very well packaged.
Cons: Not a huge concern but the power cables are thin, potentially limit current to the drive. Works fine but time will tell.
Other Thoughts: Overall I recommend this to anyone needing to connect SAS drives without a backplane.
Reviewed By:Evan,1/29/2015 9:44:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SCSI / SAS / InfiniBand Cables > STARTECH > StarTech Model SAS8087S450 19" (50cm) Serial Attached SCSI SAS Cable - SFF-8087 to 4x Latching SATA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked without issue
Pros: Worked immediately
Durable Attachments
Cons: None thus far
Other Thoughts: I bought this system to plug into my SuperMicro X9DAi motherboard for a RAID0 array of 4 250 MB Samsung EVO SSD drives. There have been some grumblings about SAS cables being incompatible with various motherboards and/or drives, so I bought with a bit of trepidation and the return-receipt in hand should I need it. But I plugged it in, it worked like a charm, I installed the operating system and software, and my machine is screaming fast now running on 4 parallel striped SSDs (wheeee!).

No complaints. It worked like a cable should. I'm a satisfied customer.
Reviewed By:Mike,12/31/2014 3:01:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SCSI / SAS / InfiniBand Cables > STARTECH > StarTech Model SAS8087S450 19" (50cm) Serial Attached SCSI SAS Cable - SFF-8087 to 4x Latching SATA

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Bang for Buck, Questionable HSF
Pros: I can get sustained speeds of about 650-800MBps. I am a video editor and I'm running this with 8 3TB Seagate 7200rpm Barracuda drives. The drives cost me about as much as the card did. I'm in RAID 6 (18TB) and the speed is way better than I could have hoped for.
Cons: The processor on this card is running over 75C at stock. After a while I even saw it hitting above 80C. I've done some research and the concensus is that the thermal contact and the stock HSF are garbage. I've seen others with this card who have replaced the HSF and their temps under heavy load drop to the low 40s, and at idle they stick in the mid 30s. I am antsy about replacing the HSF because I don't want to void the warranty. However, it's borderline inexcusable to ship a product that runs this hot out of the box.
Other Thoughts: I've had this over a month now, so far so good. I've added additional 80mm fans next to the CPU without modding the card and I have my temperature now down to about 45C at idle. I believe it took a few days/weeks for the stock thermal compound to break in on the card.
Reviewed By:Wig,12/18/2014 4:34:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SCSI / SAS / InfiniBand Cables > STARTECH > StarTech Model SAS729PW18 18" SAS 29 Pin to SATA Cable with LP4 Power

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: came on time
Cons: would not fit properly
Reviewed By:john,10/22/2014 11:14:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SCSI / SAS / InfiniBand Cables > SuperMicro > Supermicro 1.6 ft. Serial ATA / SAS cable w/ Sidebands Model CBL-0097L-02

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Perfect fit
Pros: They fit exactly as expected in my TC836-1200B chassis. I have been using them for just over a month with a HighPoint RocketRaid 2720SGL.
Cons: They could use a little cable management. All 4 connectors are separated. Maybe something like a nylon cable wrap to protect the individual cables.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/12/2014 1:30:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SCSI / SAS / InfiniBand Cables > STARTECH > StarTech Model SAS729PW18 18" SAS 29 Pin to SATA Cable with LP4 Power

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works fine for me
Pros: Connects hot-plugable sata (nearline sas) to older style 4 pin power cable + sata/sas controller
Cons: None obvious. If this were L-connector, ie very short leads from the drive, that would work better for my case (sunblade 1500) due to the tight clearances, but this works... though rubs against the case.
Other Thoughts: Have a PCI-x 4 port sas controller (SAS3041XL) which has only sata connections, and have old style IDE power cables, but needed to connect to some spare 3.5" hot-plug sata drives (also called "nearline sas"), and this worked fine.

I would also expect this to work if I had actual hot-swap sas drives (scsi drives with sata interface), for this controller supports them, but I have only the standard sata drive but with the hot-swap connector.
Reviewed By:Charles,6/23/2014 10:52:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SCSI / SAS / InfiniBand Cables > STARTECH > Model SAS808782P50 1.6 ft. Internal Serial Attached SCSI Mini SAS Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like it should.
Pros: The genuine Adaptec cables are difficult to locate and this works just as well after I used both brands.
Cons: None really, but this unit does not have the activity cable to put in backplanes and the Adaptec does.
Other Thoughts: I am glad these are much easier to locate. However, it took quite a bit of research to make sure they would work with the Adaptec 6405e controller with SAS 15k drives.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/16/2014 1:03:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SCSI / SAS / InfiniBand Cables > STARTECH > StarTech Model SAS70S4200 2m Serial Attached SCSI SAS Cable - SFF-8470 to 4x eSATA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Expensive, but worth it
Pros: The obvious question is why purchase this cable when no-name ones can be found on online auction sites for less than half the cost? Going cheap was, unfortunately, our fist choice. The generic cables were finicky about not being bent too much and the eSATA connectors were poorly made and lost connection with the slightest movement. We also found, after much debugging and data loss, that the off-brand cables were not shielded properly, which caused data corruption when an eSATA cable ran near or over a power feed.

StarTech's cable has no such problems. The eSATA connectors are perfectly molded, making for a secure fit. The cable itself is both flexible and well-armored with thick rubber insulation. We saw no problems with cross--talk or interference even when the cables routed through and over a stacked equipment bay.
Cons: It's expensive. Less costly, however, than first purchasing a cheap cable only to find that it causes data corruption problems.
Other Thoughts: Usage of this cable is necessarily specialized. In our case, it was to connect an older InfiniBand-equipped RAID card to single-disk external enclosures.
Reviewed By:DCP,6/3/2014 9:15:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.