Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > ASUS > ASUS RP-AC68U Dual-Band AC1900 Wireless Repeater / Access Point / Range Extender / Media Bridge with USB 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 RECOMMENDED Super Stable Home Run!! Works very well... Thanks ASUS
Pros: RECOMMENDED Home Run!! This was sooo easy to set up We are getting wired speeds 60' from the router in a very crowded environment.
We did however put this on a UPS power pack to protect it from summer lightning strikes and power outages just for good measure.
Set it up in about 10 min and it is rock solid. For best results, do not use the DHCP instead go for the static IP address. We are using this as a wireless bridge with an ASUS AC router, and are getting speeds beyond what we were hoping for. It never drops the connection it is rock solid, with these speeds we have some future proofing built in.
We paired it with the ASUS Dual-Band Wireless-AC3100 Gigabit Router RT-AC88U These two items are so well paired to each other that getting the max speeds was easy as pie. We did leave the old WIFI N-router in place to serve the older devices on the 2.4 band. This freed up the ASUS for 5Ghz service on AC band only with the newer standards, we turned off the 2.4 band.
It seemed that serving older devices really pulled the speed to a crawl, so the kids, guests, IPADs and Smart phones get to use the older N-router. This really freed up our bandwidth and seems to make max use of our internet connection without interruptions. We have a VOIP, computer and printer hooked up to this as well as a media center, with no Lagg whatsoever. Did I mention this is set up 60' from the source router? Take a look at the speed test. Well worth the money.
September 2016 UPDATE.. Flawless, and Stable!! Has not been offline since set up. I do have it on a UPS Power Pack in case of power outage, and am using Static IP so no issues there. We Live near large office complex, very crowded air space. NO ISSUES!!! Forget the negative reviews, they have not done the set up correctly. RECOMMENDED
Thanks ASUS
Cons: Not easy to set it up only if YOU DO NOT READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!!!!
Other Thoughts: I posted the above review before else ware posting here because this is the very best Media Bridge I have
ever used. Here are a couple of tips:
1. Older Wifi N system, leave it in place, connect the older stuff there as it will pull this speed down on the newer AC devices.
2. Get a AC WIFI router that can match the speed offered by this device ie. ASUS Dual-Band Wireless-AC3100 Gigabit Router RT-AC88U .
3 .Stop Whining about how you cannot get this system to work. It is the fastest one out there. We are connecting a IP phone, Desk top System, printer, NAS. 60' from source.
4. Use a static IP set up for stability, get a UPS power supply.
5. Disable the band you are not using. We found the 5G worked best in out crowded environment.
6. Leave all of your old equipment on the old N band, just plug it into your new AC router Ethernet port and now you have a second network for the kids and guests.
7. Get a USP and please do your homework before bashing a system you know little or nothing about. This system is SMOKING FAST !!!! There are tons of tutorials on the net to help you set it up right,.

RECOMMENDED
Reviewed By:christopher s.,9/30/2016 8:21:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-Link > TP-LINK RE580D AC1900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Restarts for no reason
Pros: -Great internet speed (while on)
-easy to setup took me about 2 minutes
Cons: -Restarts for no apparent reason in mid use.
-If I didn't have this problem it would be a great product
Other Thoughts: edit- I found out that it disconnects often if you don't have a static IP address, it now works flawlessly with no problems
Reviewed By:Sawyer M.,9/27/2016 12:17:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Belkin > Belkin F9K1015 N300 Wi-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Extender works well enough, but difficult to recommend
Pros: WPS Setup
Simple to install
Add up to 5000sqft wifi range (theoretical)
Small and compact design
LED Status light
Cons: Single band N300 extender
Poor throughput
Other Thoughts: Let’s get this out of the way immediately. As a rule I am not fond of single band extenders, using a single radio, best throughput estimate will be immediately halved, as the radio needs to take up twice as much airtime (halving the throughput) as it needs to both receive from the router and then transmit to the client on the same band. Wireless extenders are best used to get wifi to areas where the wifi signal is compromised, extenders should not be used to increase throughput due to the initial 50% throughput reduction.

Newegg specs are a little misleading as they indicate that the device operates on 2.4 and 5.0ghz, however my testing shows similar throughput to another N300 single band extender I also own. WPA is supported even though WEP is only listed. Also, there is no Ethernet port.

Setup was pretty easy. The extender was plugged in to a power outlet that was within range of the router, then the wps button on the extender was pressed along with the corresponding wps button on the router and a connection was made and the extender could be used. I also setup the extender manually by using my laptop to connect to Belkin.setup in network and following the instructions to connect to the router’s 2.4ghz band in a browser.

The extender has 2 status LED’s, one near the wps button and one above the Belkin Logo, making it easy to understand the extenders current status.

As far as testing was concerned, I used my laptop positioned 55ft from my router with the extender positioned near to my laptop. I connected the laptop to the wifi network directly via the router and then indirectly via the extender and tested throughput using Totusoft’s Lan Speed Test.

When connected directly to the wifi network via the router throughput was measured as 62.35mbps down and 51.70mbps up and when connected to the wifi network via the extender throughput dropped to 19.62mbps down and 16.98mbps up! I have an excellent AC2600 router and noticed no worthwhile extension of range using this extender.

The Belkin extender is made well and works well, so no eggs off. It was easy to setup and use, it’s great value, however I just can’t recommend a single band extender, there are much better ways of extending a network. Repositioning a router, tweaking the router channels, or buying a new AC router would be my first suggestions and if buying a new router is too expensive then I would look at buying a Powerline kit instead of the extender. Powerline would be slightly more expensive than a single band extender, however throughput would be higher and more stable.

I can’t fault this product, however the science behind this product makes recommendation hard.
Reviewed By:gregory b.,9/27/2016 8:02:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product !
Pros: easy setup
had to manually setup, no big deal
worked as described, customer was happy
price was great too
Cons: none at this point
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/26/2016 10:54:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-Link > TP-LINK RE355 AC1200 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is an awesome product, setup is a breeze and it works phenomenal!
Pros: Literally one-button setup. All I did was plug this in, hit the WPS button on my router, hut the WPS button on the Range Extender - and BAM! done! Seriously THAT simple!

Also has a web UI for additional configuration if you're a power user (like myself).
Added gigabit Ethernet port is also a HUGE plus!
Cons: Doesn't cook me breakfast, had to find a girl to date and convince I needed regular feedings
Other Thoughts: Seriously this thing is so simple to setup, and the addition of a gigabit Ethernet port is really awesome. I'm currently using this to provide my parent's house with WiFi from across a field. The extender is 307' away inside of a barn, and the house is 168' from the barn and has full WiFi coverage.
Reviewed By:Chris M.,9/25/2016 5:35:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-Link > TP-LINK RE200 AC750 Universal Wireless Dual Band Range Extender (Wall Plug)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Barely works
Pros: I've used it in 3 different locations to boost wifi range or tie in a desktop.
Cons: Barely provides any bandwidth. I get about 1.5Mbps through the 2.4GHz band and no connectivity on 5 GHz. I'm only 1 room away from the router and my laptop gets more than 10x the speed.
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend, but haven't found anything better yet
Manufacturer Response:Hello Andreas,

Thank you for taking the time to review our range extender.

Please note that WiFi extenders are designed to extend the range of WiFi but will decrease wireless speed around 40-60 %. To ensure you get the best signal make sure after setting up that both the 2.4G and 5G lights are green which shows the bands are connected to the router for proper extension.

Please offer our support team an opportunity to assist you with this. At your earliest convenience, please send an e-mail including your contact details to our Support Team at the address below so we may have a Support Agent follow up with you for assistance.

Please reference case number 160928-033073.

We thank you again for your feedback and certainly hope this experience will not discourage you from checking out more of our great networking products in the future.

Best Regards,
TP-LINK Support Team
support.amazon@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Andreas S.,9/24/2016 7:57:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WN3500RP-100NAS N600 WiFi Range Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 didn't work ... but does now
Pros: None...now that it works, it's a very good device
Cons: Sadly, this device doesn't work and stalls when setting it up. I'm not sure why, but after repeated attempts, I give up....gets very hot.
Other Thoughts: It took a while, but I finally got it to work. To be fair it works well but it gets super hot very quickly. Have edited my rating to reflect this.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/23/2016 6:39:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > ASUS > ASUS RP-AC56 AC1200 Wireless Dual-Band Repeater / Access Point/Media Bridge

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not a bad device, but shop around
Pros: Asus is in my top brands of peripherals, both inside and outside of my PC case. The Asus router I had used in the past was a let down, however, and I was excited to see if this could redeem it.

The device was generally pretty easy to set up – WPS is always a plus. For the purposes of testing, I tried using WPS, but also reset the device and manually configured it with a new SSID (so I knew where I was connected). The user interface is generally pleasant and isn’t too difficult to use. The body of the device features two large antennae, though who knows if they really have much of a positive effect on the bottom line. At least they look technical…

When placed properly, the device does extend your wireless network strength – I saw an extra 3-6 db of strength, depending on the device and what side of the wall I was on. That was on 2.4 GHz; I generally don’t bother with the 5 GHz unless I need to.
Cons: The device isn’t particularly small, and without a power pass-through, it eats up both outlets on a standard duplex. You could always get a power extender (1 foot cable) but now it is either dangling haplessly or laying on the floor, neither of which are ideal. Long story short, at this price point, it definitely should include a power pass-through.

Also, the price. There are lots of choices out there and paying this much seems like a stretch, when you could just bite the bullet and buy some Cat6 and wire yourself a jack so you can put a proper wired access point in. At the current price, my improvement is somewhere around $19-$33 per dB signal strength increased. Quite frankly, that seems a little steep to me, especially considering you are losing half of your throughput capacity in the process (see below).
Other Thoughts: The concept of a range extender is simple – it connects to your existing wifi network (somewhere well within the reach of your existing router) and pumps out essentially a matching signal, allowing you to extend your network a little further. The downside of this is that by being wireless in and out, your maximum throughput is only 50% of what it would be connected directly to the router (because the repeater has to wireless send data back to the router over the same channels). What this means that for data-intensive tasks such as streaming 4k on Netflix or downloading large files, you’re better off just moving closer to the router or wiring in.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Dean,

Thank you for your time on posting this review, we are sorry to hear that you are not fully satisfied with the ASUS repeater. Please allow me to assist you.

The repeater has a rotating main plug for flexible positioning in any power socket. Also it has two external antennas that you can also adjust to enhance Wi-Fi signal coverage and boost your Wi-Fi.

The customer can also find the best location for the RP-AC56 using it's signal indicator. For best results, RP-AC56 needs to be within range of a stable router signal, and should be placed between the router and the location where you need better wireless coverage. RP-AC56 works best when it is receiving a strong wireless signal from the router.

Just to check are you experiencing the issue with both the 2.4 and 5GHz frequency? how far are you from the repeater when you're trying to connect your wireless devices. Please make sure also that the repeaters firmware were up to date or try to reset the repeater to see if the issue will still exist.

For further assistance or if you want to discuss this matter with me, please email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and put case #N160975901 in the subject line for a reference. I'm here to help you and all others with these issues, as our customer loyalty department dedicated to bringing a resolution to all issues related to our products.

If ever you want to call our representatives please check link below for the contact numbers.

http://www.asus.com/us/support/CallUs

Thank you for choosing ASUS.

Best regards,
Jerry A
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Dean M.,9/23/2016 4:45:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > D-Link > D-Link Wireless Range Extender (DAP-1320), Wireless N300, One-button WPS set-up

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage Product
Pros: Great way to throw away your money.
Cons: Plugged unit in, got red light on unit. Never able to access to set up. Instructions indicate red light means defective unit. Newegg won't take back.
Other Thoughts: Save your money and buy a Netgear extender. Both Newegg and Netgear support Netgear products better than DLink supports theirs.
Reviewed By:Gary M.,9/22/2016 2:23:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EDIMAX > EDIMAX EW-7438RPn Mini N300 Mini Wi-Fi Extender/Access Point/Wi-Fi Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No problems.
Pros: Using as an access point to stream to a Roku TV. Works great with no hiccups, no issues, no buffering.
Cons: None about the device.
Went on sale 4 days after purchase, but isn't that always the way?
Other Thoughts: Little bit of a bother to set up. Plugged it into wired network, had to connect to it via wireless laptop; change configuration to access point; it works perfectly for my needs.
Reviewed By:Brian M.,9/21/2016 12:25:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.