Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WN2500RP-100NAS N600 with 4 Port Universal Dual Band Wi-Fi Range Extender-Desktop Version

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't Extend
Pros: Easy to setup
Cons: Simply doesn't extend range unless you have a really low end router. My 3 year old Netgear router can be seen farther than the extender. Very annoyed and frustrated I wasted $90
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 6:12:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not useful
Pros: None
Cons: Did not noticed any improvement in speed of internet. The speed of internet without using this and with using this is same. Return costs: $3 restocking fee + $10 return shipping . So think twice before ordering.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 9:58:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Belkin > BELKIN F9K1122 N600 Dual-Band Wi-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works
Pros: Small, fits in one outlet slot
Cons: Range wasn't great, runs really hot
Other Thoughts: There's not much to this device from Belkin. In the box comes the extender, a CD and the instructions. It’s a pretty pleasant looking device, albeit with a rather bright LED. It’s nice that it doesn’t take up a lot of outlet real estate, as you can plug in another regular sized plug with it (although not another wall wart sized plug). It’s also nice that the antennas are moveable in a semicircle around it.

After setup it didn’t work initially but after a few minutes seemed to “kick in” and work. I’m not sure what the lag was all about. Speeds were as good as when connected to my router, but after trying multiple plugs it just didn’t extend my range all that far. Like many of these devices, walls still block them badly. There’s a rather amusing line in the instructions:: “Once setup is complete, place the extender off the floor and away from walls and metal objects.” Great, how do I plug this device into the wall and keep it away from walls? If you can manage to get an ethernet cable to the remote area, then this would work well to extend your wifi network, but at that point it’s simply a wireless access point and there’s a lot better options. I give it three eggs simply because it does work, and it does extend some. If you need just a little more range and are ok that the speed drops off, and are willing to spend $100 to get it, then this devices is for you.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 5:01:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX7000 AC1900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent addition
Pros: Best access point on the market.
Strong stable signal in a very noisy city apartment, 866 Mbps on 5ghz band on an Intel AC 7260 in room, 268 Mbps through 3 walls, 2 rooms away (stone walls)
Best solution without replacing your ISP's router to allow AC speeds on your network. Allows multiple HD streams to playback flawlessly
If you plug into existing network, device is given/accessible through assigned ip,
5-port gigabit switch
Netgear has an android app to check local wifi channel/signal strength and usage. Download and use it if you want to check wifi noise/activity in your area or setup for optimal usage.
Cons: If failing to read setup instructions (like myself) and you plug into your network before running through setup, log-in procedure setup using web browser will loop endlessly on itself. Solution: access via IP address given or unplug lan, setup via wifi and plug in.
Other Thoughts: Yeah, the power brick is a bit larger than others, but this unit has power and is a welcomed necessity.
.
.
.
"..It doesn't matter "who" is from "where." it only matters that we're all Human"
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 5:49:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > ZyXEL > ZyXEL WRE6505 Wireless 11AC Universal Wi-Fi AC750 Range Extender and AP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Works a few weeks
Pros: easy set up
Cons: connection drops, poor ZyXel tech support, doesn't support gaming consoles (at least the one I got)
Other Thoughts: I got his a few weeks ago and set it up really easy, it worked well for about 6-10 days, then it started to drop signal even if it was in the same room with the modem, I checked all the settings in the modem, restored to default, configured everything again and once again this time in 2 days it started to drop the connection if I had my laptop connected to it and if tried to connect a PS4, Wii U or the Galaxy S6, but the laptop connects perfect, I decided to contact ZyXel support and they blamed the modem, I checked all settings IP's, DNS, MAC,routing, DHCP, every single thing but still the same so I got a brand new wireless N/AC dualband modem and still have the same problem, a friend of mine lend me a Netgear extender and now everything is working perfect, I don't recommend to get the ZyXel extender, it doesn't work well for a long time (not even for a month) and the support is really poor
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 1:38:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys RE6500 Wireless AC1200 Dual Band MAX Wi-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Range
Pros: Easy setup, extended the range of the Netgear N router by double. 5 bar signal on my laptop from about 300 ft away from the router. Areas of the house that had 1 bar to no signal at all now have full 5 bars. Download speeds were the same as when connected directly to the router, so it's very efficient with no apparent loss in speed.
Cons: Can't figure out why, but the wireless computers connected to the extender randomly pop up no internet connection warnings. The computer shows full connection to the extender, but does not connect to the internet. I unplug and reset the extender and then it works fine. It has done this 4 times in about a month...kind of annoying to stop what you were doing and have to reset, therefore the 3 egg rating.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully I'll figure out the issue because when it is functioning properly, it works great!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 8:36:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > D-Link > D-Link DAP-1520 Wi-Fi AC750 Dual Band Range Extender

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 same your money for another wireless router
Pros: Setup is some what easy
Nice esthetics
Cons: Does not support mac address filter.
Drops signal every night around the same time and have to restart them.
Download speed is not the as fast when on the extender.
Not worth the trouble better of purchasing a 2nd wireless router
Other Thoughts: I will be returning to new egg for another device. D-Link please feel free to contract me.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 7:34:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys RE4100W-4A Wireless N600 Pro Wi-Fi Dual Band Range Extender with Built-In Audio Speaker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very easy to setup range extender
Pros: - Works with all 2.4 Ghz/5 Ghz band Wi-Fi AP hotspots/routers
- Extends both 2.4 Ghz/5 Ghz bands
- Figures out automatically which networks should be tied together for extension (even with different SSIDs)
- Very good range even with challenges with building materials and whatnot
- *Incredibly* easy to setup. Plug into wall socket, use little quick setup guide, then go.
Cons: - Very minimal setup instructions
Other Thoughts: There's an ethernet port on the side of the range extender that I haven't gotten around to trying out. I have no idea if it's used to repeat the connection over ethernet, or to provide network services over ethernet after extending the wi-fi internally. But it's there if anyone wishes to use it.

There's also a 3.5 mm jack for playing remote music (maybe through AirPlay or UPNP?) I haven't tried this either.

What I have tested out is its ability to repeat my 2.4 Ghz and 5 Ghz networks in my house - I live in an older house with lath and plaster, with my router in the living room, which kills my 5 Ghz traffic in my room if I'm not right next to my wall. However, after plugging in the range extender in a power outlet on my wall, I get good connectivity now to the 5 Ghz band, plus I get pretty decent internet performance from it as well (around 50 Mbps tested over to speedtest.net. I have a 1 Gbps symmetrical fiber connection.)

There seems to be only one firmware release, and that's back from July 2014 - I was hoping there would be more up to date releases maybe to improve performance back to the host AP, but it's not a big deal. This device seems to be very, very stable once it gets a connection.

I highly recommend this product to anyone looking for an easy AP range extender.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 3:51:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys RE4100W-4A Wireless N600 Pro Wi-Fi Dual Band Range Extender with Built-In Audio Speaker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than others I've tested
Pros: - Works as advertised.
- Maintains signal. No drop outs.
- Excellent range extension and even coverage.
Cons: - Not enough setup instructions included with unit.
- Little dodgy finding more detailed instructions, which still are incomplete.
- Experience setting up routers helpful.
Other Thoughts: So I compared this with a previously tested model: TP-LINK RE200 AC750. Same setup by plugging into bathroom wall backing into my home office to extend Wi-Fi range both sideways through double wall and up through floor.

Setup was not intuitive. You need to plug the unit into LAN or directly into a laptop/desktop, then plug into AC where the extender can get a clear signal from the original router.

When unit stops flashing and becomes solid green, you can find the I.P. address of the extender in your computer's Network control panel and then open a browser to get the extender's web page up. (Don't forget to change the password etc.)

From that point, it's pretty intuitive to setup your options. This unit if quite smart at setting itself up. Once that's done, you can disconnect the LAN, and just plug the unit into any AC outlet withing range of the original router, and it will happily do it's thing.

I found the Linksys to be both more stable at maintaining an extended signal (the TP-Link would randomly disconnect or freeze at times), and it transmitted a more powerful extended signal compared to the TP-Link. On occasion, with the TP-Link, my phone or laptop could get confused as to which signal it was trying to access, the original or the extended and so it might look connected, but no data would transfer. That does not happen with the Linksys. Once it's plugged in, it appears bulletproof.

Now, one idea I wanted to share was to answer the question: If my original wireless router uses "beam forming" which, in essence, detects what direction your wireless device is and "shapes" the wireless signal to aim more of the total signal in your general direction how is that effected by the range extender?

What I noticed with the TP-link was, because the extender was triggering the original router to "beam form" to it... when I was on my laptop located in the opposite direction, I could no longer get the "boost" in signal strength after a few seconds that I would get without the Extender plugged in. So the beam forming was being "wasted" on the Range Extender and creating weaker signals in the opposite direction.

But I think I've found a solution. The range for 2.4 GHz (at the margin) tends to be better than the 5 GHz signal, particularly through walls. So basically, I turned off repeating for the 5 GHz signal in the Linksys setup page. Voila... the 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi is beam formed to the extender, and the 5Ghz is beam formed to my laptop on opposite side of the house, and I get the benefits of both.

In general I'm very please with this product and would recommend it.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 11:09:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Amped Wireless > Amped Wireless TAP-EX2 HighPower Touch Screen Ac750 Wi-fi Range Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It works well
Pros: Works well
Strong signal boost
Looks good in the office
Cons: Touch screen is a little flaky
Don't count on the automatic settings
Other Thoughts: Overall it works, but I couldn't get the automatic settings to work. It would find my wireless network, but then it would lock up. Once I put everything in manually, it worked. It also takes a long time between settings. We have a 3700 sq ft office, and had good signal on the weak side once it was up.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 8:53:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.