Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WPA4220KIT Advanced 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender, Repeater, AV500 Powerline Edition, Wi-Fi Clone Button, 2 LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I’m impressed! A cheap solution to a vexing problem
Pros: First some background – I have been a firmware engineer in the telecom industry. I’ve written drivers for Ethernet cards and firmware with Wi-Fi. I probably know more than most, but still would not consider myself an expert.

First the setup was really fairly easy to setup and run. If you are doing generic web browsing or basic streaming you’ll probably find this a fairly decent device. You can setup the range extender via your browser and if you’ve setup a web based router you should have no problem.

I set it up to go from my router in the basement up two floors on the other side of the house to a bedroom where the connectivity isn’t that great. I connected a laptop (wired and wireless), and a tablet and Wi-Fi phone connection. All worked fairly well given the previous problems I have had.

I was getting somewhere in the range of 30-50MBps depending on how I was connected and the test time. Under best case scenarios you can sometimes about 80-90% of the rated speed with Ethernet but in practical terms of real use what I saw was reasonable.

As 4K TVs (Quad HD) are coming into existence this holiday season, it is worth noting that Netflix is now streaming at Ultra HD and the connections will require about 15Mbps, so this device could realistically handle one or more connections (good!).

I like the two Ethernet plugs on the Wi-Fi as opposed to one which often isn’t enough and forces you to buy a switch and eat another valuable wall socket to plug it in with.
Cons: The cons listed really didn't affect my rating very much because the price of this device if fairly low. Product designers are always vexed by the cost of perfect vs. good enough. In my opinion they struck a nice balance.

First it’s only 100 Mbps which is still okay for most applications but if you are using it between you and your online storage you will find its really not all that great. If you have multiple streaming devices on the other side you may find it’s also not that great.

I do video editing and download lots of very large software bundles and logs, I would not consider using it on the other side unless speed wasn't really much of a consideration. My guess is that I am probably not an average user in most cases however.

It’s also stated that line suppressors may cause problems – this may be an issue for some though I use a whole house suppressor at my fuse box (the only way to go). But if you are in an apartment or can’t do something like this, you may find this to be an issue.
Other Thoughts: I think it’s important to note that even though the throughput is rated at 300Mbps that you will see at maximum 100Mpbs speeds as you are connected via a 10/100 port when wired. This should mean that you can connect several clients running at full speed before you start to take a performance hit. As I had no way to test this, I don’t know how it would work – but theoretically it should be okay.

I believe this device is going to end up connected to large flat panel TV on the wall and a Roku and small dedicated PC to use on the screen. I've often had dropouts that I believe are related to my (existing) Wi-Fi connection and believe this device may make it more stable.
Reviewed By:mandinga,11/26/2014 10:55:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WPA4220 N300 AV500 Wi-Fi Powerline Add-On Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I’m impressed! A cheap solution to a vexing problem
Pros: First some background – I have been a firmware engineer in the telecom industry. I've written drivers for Ethernet cards and firmware with WiFi. I probably know more than most, but still would not consider myself an expert.

First the setup was really fairly easy to setup and run. If you are doing generic web browsing or basic streaming you’ll probably find this a fairly decent device. You can setup the range extender via your browser and if you've setup a web based router you should have no problem.

I set it up to go from my router in the basement up two floors on the other side of the house to a bedroom where the connectivity isn’t that great. I connected a laptop (wired and wireless), and a tablet and WiFi phone connection. All worked fairly well given the previous problems I have had.

I was getting somewhere in the range of 30-50MBps depending on how I was connected and the test time. Under best case scenarios you can sometimes about 80-90% of the rated speed with Ethernet but in practical terms of real use what I saw was reasonable.

As 4K TVs (Quad HD) are coming into existence this holiday season, it is worth noting that Netflix is now streaming at Ultra HD and the connections will require about 15 Mbps, so this device could realistically handle one or more connections (good!).
I like the two Ethernet plugs on the WiFi as opposed to one which often isn't enough and forces you to buy a switch and eat another valuable wall socket to plug it in with.
Cons: The cons listed really didn't affect my rating very much because the price of this device if fairly low. Product designers are always vexed by the cost of perfect vs good enough. In my opinion they struck a nice balance.

First it’s only 100 Mbps which is still okay for most applications but if you are using it between you and your online storage you will find its really not all that great. If you have multiple streaming devices on the other side you may find it’s also not that great.

I do video editing and download lots of very large software bundles and logs, I would not consider using it on the other side unless speed wasn't really much of a consideration. My guess is that I am probably not an average user in most cases however.

It’s also stated that line suppressors may cause problems – this may be an issue for some though I use a whole house suppressor at my fuse box (the only way to go). But if you are in an apartment or can’t do something like this, you may find this to be an issue.
Other Thoughts: I think it’s important to note that even though the throughput is rated at 300 Mbps that you will see at maximum 100 Mpbs speeds as you are connected via a 10/100 port when wired. This should mean that you can connect several clients running at full speed before you start to take a performance hit. As I had no way to test this, I don’t know how it would work – but theoretically it should be okay.

I believe this device is going to end up connected to large flat panel TV on the wall and a Roku and small dedicated PC to use on the screen. I’ve often had dropouts that I believe are related to my (existing) wifi connection and believe this device may make it more stable.
Reviewed By:mandinga,11/26/2014 10:28:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA860RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender/Repeater with Power Outlet Pass-through, Dual External Antennas, Wall Plug Design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Extend your wifi without losing a outlet!

Once you get this thing setup it does exactly what it's supposed to. Extends your wifi.
Has an ethernet port but don't expect any miracles with packet loss
Signal is pretty reliable and range is decent.
Cons: WPS as many others have said does not work. The first time i plugged this in and tried the WPS option it looked like it was trying to connect but never did. After about an hour, i used option 2 in the manual.
Other Thoughts: Other than the WPS not working this device is great. I can go out in my yard and to the road without any issues and speeds fast enough to watch youtube or twitch without any issues.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/26/2014 8:56:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA860RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender/Repeater with Power Outlet Pass-through, Dual External Antennas, Wall Plug Design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Two good products in one
Pros: My 802.11n 2.4GHz (single-band) devices were having trouble staying connected 100 feet or more from my router. This single-band range extender did indeed extend the range of my network, allowing me to use the devices further from the router.

Also, it worked well as an Ethernet adapter for wired-only devices.
Cons: - This device is not about speed. Range extenders by necessity result in lower speed than a direct wireless connection, and this one is limited to 2.4GHz 802.11n networks, the slowest currently-used standard.

- The WPS one-button setup did not work, but thankfully, TP-Link provides a very easy way to set the device up by logging into it wireless. I'd advise simply skipping the WPS approach all together, since you'll spend many minutes looking at the blinking lights wondering whether it's going to connect. Just do it the fool-proof way and log into the device (method 2 in the instructions). It literally took less than a minute, or about 1/10 the time I spent trying to get WPS to work.

- if you just need a range extender, this two-in-one device is probably a little costly.
Other Thoughts: Tested 100 feet from AC1900 router:
Using TP-Link wireless: 6.5Mbps down, 3.4Mbps up
Using TP-Link wired connection: 14.6Mbps down, 6.2Mbps up

These results are not that impressive, but this is on a 2.4GHz 802.11n network in a location where my 802.11n 2.4GHz clients would not otherwise work. So the device is doing it's job - just don't expect miracles. From the very same location, my dual-band 5GHz 802.11n devices easily top 60Mbps.
Reviewed By:Termie,11/25/2014 3:35:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA860RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender/Repeater with Power Outlet Pass-through, Dual External Antennas, Wall Plug Design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 As described,smooth
Pros: Extends wifi, can use as a wired connection, can use as power outlet/cheers!
Cons: none at all
Other Thoughts: I have used, reviewed a few of these products and they have all worked fine a couple harder to set up but all worked.
Th TL-WA860RE gave me the ability to use the power outlet also and that is a big plus when you are a tech filled home/business but what I also found nice and what separated this from the others was 2 things and they are the green light showing best connection and the power outlet pass through.
The Green signal light actually ended up exactly in the same spot I spent 30-45 minutes on another one to find the best spot saving a lot of time for someone who has never had to do that.
The hard wired connection was just awesome and I used it to revitalize an old connection for a Netflix device we use for a projection system we enjoy for movies and I can say it's smoother and faster than the old one.
I set it up using both wps and manually and both worked well with of course a little more difficulty doing it manually as would be expected.
All and all this thing worked great with much more flexibility than others I have used and would recommend it for anyone searching for a simple extender
Reviewed By:Dean,11/25/2014 6:32:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA854RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender, Repeater, Wall Plug design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Get something else
Pros: When it works, i would get really good speeds, my room being the farthest from the router in the living room.
Cons: Constantly drops connection, can't hold a solid connection for more than 10 minutes. 5 months ago, it started off working great, ended up wasting my money on junk.
Other Thoughts: Save yourself the money and get a different extender.
Reviewed By:Jolee,11/24/2014 10:49:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA860RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender/Repeater with Power Outlet Pass-through, Dual External Antennas, Wall Plug Design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Well built device with some quirks
Pros: The unit is well designed, a lot of thought put into the overall design of the unit. TP-link is becoming one of my favorite network device designer, their product tend to have great mechanical design features. I love the multi-functional nano router I purchased a while ago, this wifi range extender is no exception. The unit is well thought out, it provides both Wifi range extender function as well as a wifi bridging function via the RJ-45 jack on the bottom of the unit, so the same unit can provide extended range for both wifi enable device as well as Ethernet devices. Additionally, the designers are thoughtful enough to provide a 15 amp outlet pass-through fully conforming to standard 120v single outlet current rating, so you don't even have to sacrifice an outlet to use this device, very nice.
The unit is easy to set up. The quick guide is a bit vague regarding second mode of set up (which is done via the default AP under factory default mode), but overall the unit is very simple to use. This unit is up and running under 5 minutes once it's taken out of the box in my case. I place this unit two floors away from my home office and I intended to use it to both provide wires access to the a network switch inside the entertainment center in the basement as well as a wifi signal booster for the general basement area which normally has less than 50% wifi signal strength for most wifi devices.
Once the unit is set up in the basement, I was glad to see the signal quality was superb between the TP-Link range extender and the wifi devices. I was able to connected at the full 300mbps link speed on my trusty Thinkpad T430s system in the basement (prior to this extender, average link speed is about 78-104mbps). Casual browsing using the range extender felt speedy and responsive from just normal use. However, throughput tests demonstrated a different story, see "Cons" section below.
Cons: After the simple setup, I was quite encouraged to further test out this unit for its primary function of extending the wifi signal to far corners of the house. I have a good sized home with ~3000 sqft above ground and a fully furnished basement level which has a home theater room and game room for the family. My normal setup has a TP-link nano router in client mode connecting the game room entertainment center to the home office router, and a gigabit electrical line network connecting the home theater to the same home office router (which is a cisco unit with Wifi connected to a cisco small office gigabit switch). My ISP is Time Warner, which delivers 30mbps DL/5mbps UL rated bandwidth to my house. On the gigabit switch directly connected to the cable modem to the Cisco router and the gigabit switch, I get about 35 mbps DL/and 6mbps UL via the wired gigabit connection on my Thinkpad T430s, and full gigabit speed within my little "intranet".

On the TP-Link nano router for the Game Room, I normally get a throughput of 10-15mbps DL with the wifi link connection at 104mbps. The electrical line network to the home theater is normally good for about 20mbps DL. Both device could handle full 5 mbps UL without issue.

I replaced the TP-Link nano-router with this TP-Link range extender, using speedtest.net connecting my thinkpad T430s via wifi, I observed a sustained DL speed of about 7 mbps. Strangely, even when I connected directly to the small switch in the game room via CAT6 patch cable, I still only observe about 7-8mbps DL throughput. This despite of a full 1 gigabit wire speed on the Ethernet and a full 300mbps wifi link between the Thinkpad and the TP-Link range extender.
I repeated the same test in my home theater, replacing the electrical line network adapter with the TP-Link range extender, and saw an even more reduced throughput down to 2-3 mbps. The home theater is even further away from the home office router, so it is not a surprise that the link bandwidth was even lower than the game room.
I start to suspect the room for this reduced wifi through put is because the same unit has to split bandwidth on both Rx from the router and the Tx to the wifi devices, a quick scan using Linux clearly shown the Tx and the Rx channel of the TP-link range extender operates on the same wifi channel, so it seems the unit has to split time/bandwidth on the wifi unit in order to extend the range of the system. Which in this case, significantly reduced the available uplink bandwidth to the router/internet as a result. Using the TP-Link nano-router in Rx only client mode, the DL bandwidth is almost exactly twice as much what I observed on the TP-Link range extender. This makes this range extender less ideal for high bandwidth applications.
Other Thoughts: Avoid using method 1 in the quick guide to set up this unit. Push button WPS mode of connecting a wifi device often reduces the key space for the encryption so even if you use WPA2, the access is more vulnerable to brute force pin attacks, so DO NOT use method 1 to set up the system. Use method 2 or use the RJ45 jack directly to set up the unit. Make sure to use a long and secure password this will prevent the range extender from becoming the weak link in your home network setup.

Also, I have seen several reviews here commenting about the current handling of the unit on the AC outlet. It is clearly written on the the back of the unit that the maximum AC output current from this unit is 15Amp, which is the same as a standard single outlet according to electrical code. This on a standard 120V AC system will deliver up to 1.8KVA of power, and conforms to a single home use outlet current rating. So it should be fine for any normal home appliance system rated for a single outlet current rating at 15 amps beyond which point your home circuit breaker would trip, not sure what all the concerns are all about.
All in all, this unit will serve quite well as a pure wifi access range extender in that if placed in an ideal location, it will serve well to extend good quality wifi signal to further range (just as what the unit is designed to do). However, when doing this, the overall system could most likely see reduced link bandwidth between the range extender and the upstream router due to the simultaneous Tx/Rx operational nature of the range extender unit. If what you need is to extend wireless range in a very large home and you have no other method of doing that (in the case of a wifi nano router in client mode or a electrical line network), then this range extender would be the right solutions, just be mindful that you will not see the full bandwidth to the internet as a result. But as an easy to setup and convenient way of fully covering a large home with wifi service, it serves its purpose quite well, and will do it without sacrificing any AC outlet in the process.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/24/2014 9:34:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA860RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender/Repeater with Power Outlet Pass-through, Dual External Antennas, Wall Plug Design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Range Extender
Pros: Easy GUI setup
Power outlet pass through
External antenna
Package
Cons: WPS
Other Thoughts: The packaging for this TP-LINK Wi-Fi Range Extender/Repeater is simple. Similar to most smart phone packaging, the box slides out of a sleeve and is opened easily in seconds. The Range Extender/Repeater is about the size of a standard electrical box. It is large enough to cover both outlets on a standard 2 plug electrical outlet or block the ground receptacle if plugged into the lower outlet. However, it does includes a power outlet pass through so the outlet can still be used. I was able to run a floor lamp using the power pass through without issue.

TP-LINK advertises one button setup with WPS, however, I was unable to get this feature to work. I attempted the WPS setup unsuccessfully on three different routers that I have used WPS with in the past. After giving up on the WPS option, I quickly found the alternative was very easy. When plugged in, my laptop was able to find and connect to an unprotected network named TP-LINK. Once connected, the Range Extender/Repeater automatically opened up the setup page in my browser. A few easy steps later it had my wireless network saved.

I positioned the Wi-Fi Range Extender/Repeater to extend my wireless network to my garage and porch. Before the extender, Netflix and music streaming was choppy or low quality. After the extender, music streaming did not skip and Netflix looked good on my iPad.

I would recommend this extender if you need a compact extender while keeping an outlet open.
Reviewed By:Brandon H,11/24/2014 7:35:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EDIMAX > Edimax CV-7428nS N300 Universal Wireless Bridge for Smart TV, Blu-ray, NAS, and Gaming Console, With iQ-Setup for Hassle Free Installation; Green Technology for Energy-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works
Pros: Price
Cons: None really, could use some more weight to help keep stable when network cables are plugged in.
Other Thoughts: Works as advertised and easy to set up via the web interface.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/24/2014 12:55:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Works great.
Cons: more detailed instructions
Other Thoughts: I realized it works better to use the same SSID. most devices will auto switch to the stronger AP.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/24/2014 6:44:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.