Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA860RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender/Repeater with Power Outlet Pass-through, Dual External Antennas, Wall Plug Design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TP-LINK TL-WA860RE
Pros: Super easy setup, Just follow the instructions. or you can just plug it in where you want it and open a browser to 192.168.0.254. And then use admin/ admin for username and password. Then just input you wireless settings. super easy!!! Speed is amazing and very responsive. and we can finally get Wifi in the garage now!
Cons: Wish is was black. I hate beige or white appliances or devices.
just my preference tho
Other Thoughts: The Wifi LED indicator shows green for optimum range from you're router is achieved. solid orange if it is too close to you're router.
And flashing orange if it's too far away! Great Feature!!!. I have the range extender 100ft away from our router. And the LED indicator states it's still too close. I had my doubts this device had any power at all when I received it. I am completely blown away. for such a tiny device it's super powerful. Completely worth every penny!
Reviewed By:f3bandit,11/21/2014 4:27:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA860RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender/Repeater with Power Outlet Pass-through, Dual External Antennas, Wall Plug Design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good but roaming issues
Pros: Internet Connection: Verizon FIOS, 75MB Download, 35 MB Upload

Main Router it is extending is a CISCO EA6700

Phone Wireless Download speed comparison
Tested on a Samsung Galaxy S3

Connected to Cisco EA6700
Download 37.05
Upload 32.29

Connected to TP-Link TL-WA860RE
Download 25.05
Upload 24.97

PC Wireless Desktop speed comparison

Connected to Cisco EA6700
Download 55.59
Upload 59.39

Connected to TP-Link TL-WA860RE
Download 38.71
Upload 27.81

At first I was getting lower speeds but I adjusted the bandwidth from AUTO to 20MHz and that gave me about a 15% boost in upload and download speeds using the extender. I also did some tests to see if I could get it to extend in other parts of my home were the signal was weak and it did work. One issue I did have was that once a device connected to the extender within the home it would not let it go if the device moved closer to the CISCO router. So what end up happening was that I would get better performance in these corners of my home due to the extender but when I got closer to the device I would have poor performance because the extender would not release the device to the router.
Cons: - There is roughly a 30% performance drop when using the extender.
- Locks the device to the extender and does not release it when it is better for it to connect to the router directly
Other Thoughts: It does that it is supposed to do but has a few issues that could cause problems if you move around your home a bit. Cell phone users would be affected by these issues more than anyone else.
Reviewed By:David M.,11/21/2014 6:57:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WPA4220 N300 AV500 Wi-Fi Powerline Add-On Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent Add-On for exisiting Powerline setup!
Pros: This is not a stand-alone device, you must already have a starter kit or at the very least one TP-Link power line adapter for it to be able to work!

I tested this WiFi range extender kit add-on with an existing Power-line adapter Starter Kit #TL-PA6010 Kit and it worked fine once I had it setup and configured properly. After two weeks it has performed great with no problems. It does overlap with the signal from my router in the office, so it is hard to say if it has dropped the signal, but does not appear to have done so yet based on the WiFi signals at the other end of the house where I am using it.

It works exactly as it is supposed to, although setup was a little more involved than the simple instructions included in the box, which to me seemed to be a little incomplete.

I found that it was much easier to setup the device by downloading the management utility from their website, and manually configuring it with the utility through a hard-wire on my network. I did not bother with the WPS option.

A nice extra feature is this also has two RJ-45 jacks on the bottom of the unit for connecting a couple of wired devices such as a computer or internet capable TV set.

While I did not get the advertised speeds with the unit, this could be because of my electrical wiring within the house. Every network is different and since this is dependent on your home wiring, this will affect speeds in relation to the type of wiring you have in your house, and where the unit is located.
Cons: No software included in the box, had to download the management utility from their website. They did provide a small card with the default wireless settings, and included an address to where you could find the download for their utility for your device.
Other Thoughts: As stated per the instructions………..”You need an additional power line adapter or existing power line network to successfully use this device and extend an internet connection. “
Reviewed By:Robert D.,11/20/2014 1:13:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA860RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender/Repeater with Power Outlet Pass-through, Dual External Antennas, Wall Plug Design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Oddly Weak and Spotty
Pros: *TP-Link’s TL-WA860RE Wi-Fi Range Extender left me scratching my head and pointlessly troubleshooting for hours. Even though it’s a relatively simple device, I had high expectations, for most of TP-Link’s networking devices are terrific. Hence why the Range Extender befuddled me. I have trouble accepting the fact that this device performed as disappointing as it did, so I wonder if there is something defective with it as a whole, or as a singular unit. I did not ask for a RMA, because the device does not show any evident indications of a hardware defect; its faults don’t concern its function, but rather its performance. Meaning it worked, but it didn’t work well.*

- The Range Extender’s physicality is good enough; slightly looking like a robot with a face and arms, or maybe R2-D2. There’s a physical on/off button on the side of the unit, with a WPS button, and receded hardware reset. Also on the unit are indicator LEDs and a three-prong outlet pass-through, which solves the issue of outlet blocking by devices such as this. The antennae sour its aesthetics slightly, but do lend to a noticeable increase of signal range. The antennae can be folded upward and manipulated for directional purposes. I was able to pick up its signal in areas where some networking reach is absent. Lending to that, these external antennae provide a wide breadth.

- At the bottom of the device is a LAN port. This will allow you to extend your network by feeding off the Wi-Fi and converting it to a hardline for wired devices or better performance. If necessary you can bridge it then for even more wired connections.

- The Range Extender features a simple WPS setup to connect your host router to it, cloning the Wi-Fi SSID and extending your Wi-Fi signal reach. The WPS setup should be quick and simple; however, personally the WPS did not work for me. Ultimately I set it up the manual way through a browser configuration page, which I prefer and is also a rather straightforward process. Within the browser settings, the more advanced features can be tweaked and changed to your liking.
Cons: - Partly because of Newegg and a search for the solution to my home’s Wi-Fi deadzone design, I’ve gone through many different range extenders, repeaters, bridges, access points, and powerline adapters. All to increase the reach of the Wi-Fi signal through the house. Most did the job, and I had some complaints such as limited coverage, remaining deadzone areas, or frequent drop-outs. A typical problem is that the Wi-Fi signal is too weak that simple Wi-Fi range extenders like this have no chance of remedying the issue without drastic performance dips. The best solution eventually given to me for review was TP-Link’s own AV500 Powerline kit. I strongly recommend that particular product or a similar one rather than purchasing this.

- When I started my testing process, I turned off my existing wireless solutions for Wi-Fi in the office and rest of the home. I setup the Range Extender and moved it to an area where I’ve had range extenders in the past—roughly about 50 feet away with one partial wall obstruction between it and the main router. The signal strength read out decently, fluctuating between 4 to 5 bars in multiple areas. When I attempted—with a laptop—to open my web browser, it performed as though I were on 56K. I proceeded to attempt a Speedtest. The first few times I ran the benchmark, it couldn’t even complete. You can see the data and precise results in the “Other Thoughts” section. I assumed there was something wrong with the Wi-Fi from my main router. After checking and testing the primary Wi-Fi, I concluded that wasn’t the cause for the terrible connection speed. I then tried the LAN port at the bottom of the Extender. The results were just as bad, with frequent connection drops entirely. “Okay, maybe it’s just receiving a weak signal,” I thought, counter to my previous experiences with extenders in the same location. I then relocated it practically right next to the main router, less than fifteen feet away, and tried the tests again. I did receive better results, especially when using the Extender’s LAN port. The LAN port provided the type of connection I expected. However, using its Wi-Fi, I wasn’t getting any speed higher than 2mbps download. Needless to say, this was beyond subpar. Again, the exact results of my tests are logged in “Other Thoughts.” The performance of this unit makes it obsolete in my eyes, especially when much better solutions are on the market, such as the aforementioned TP-Link AV500 Powerline adapter. In my opinion, the advent of Powerline adapters has made traditional Wi-Fi range extenders like this obsolete. They perform dramatically better, plug right into the wall (like this), and don’t rely on large antennae.
Other Thoughts: With a 29mbps AT&T service, these are the results of Speedtest tests I ran. Included are comparison results against my primary router. The distance is also listed in parentheses. You’ll be able to see the decent performance of the Extender’s LAN when nearby the main router, and it’s disappointing performance both close and far from the main router. As well as the main router’s performance which proves it’s not to blame.

=Wi-Fi from main router (Without Extender) (15ft)=
1. Ping: 31ms | Download: 23.21mbps | Upload: 4.73mbps

=Wi-Fi from Range Extender (15ft)=
1. Ping: 35ms | Download: 2.29mbps | Upload: 4.59mbps
2. Ping: 41ms | Download: 2.18mbps | Upload: 4.68mbps

=LAN from Range Extender (15ft)=
1. Ping: 38ms | Download: 24.54mbps | Upload: 4.76mbps
2. Ping: 29ms | Download: 24.51mbps | Upload: 4.78mbps

=Wi-Fi from Range Extender (50ft)=
1. Ping: 25ms | Download: 0.12mbps | Upload: .09mbps

=LAN from Range Extender (50ft)=
1. Ping: 33ms | Download: 0.57mbps | Upload: 0.39mbps
Reviewed By:Twistedben,11/19/2014 5:19:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA860RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender/Repeater with Power Outlet Pass-through, Dual External Antennas, Wall Plug Design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked perfectly
Pros: The packaging was really compact and nice and protected the device very well. Everything was coated in scratch-protecting plastic that can be peeled off, which assures the device arrives in perfect physical condition.

My initial impression was very positive. The antennae were sturdy and stayed where you aimed them. The main body was tight and didn't feel cheap. I felt like I could hit it a dozen times while vacuuming and not damage it at all. The buttons clicked properly and seemed sturdy.

The default login of admin/admin is printed directly on the device itself. You can't get more convenient than that and it's the level of intelligent planning that I've come to expect from TP-Link. There is also a hard-wired domain reroute listed of http://tplinkextender.net/ where if you're already connected, it will take you to the configuration page. That helps people who can't easily determine the IP address of the gateway easily like from a smartphone.

The IP address of the device itself is 192.168.0.254 by default, which won't conflict with most router and modems' default of 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.1.254.

That original configuration wizard page is very nicely set up. The amount of wireless networks it picked up was very impressive. It was tied with the best dual-antenna USB adapter I've ever used and beats any laptop I've ever tested with from that precise location. The copy vs use same SSID and password determination was very obvious and easy to understand, unlike other repeaters I've configured in the past.

There really weren't any problems with the device at all. I moved it all over and never had it disconnect or need reconfiguration or anything. The signal quality improved greatly when I put it about 300 feet away from the main router and stood 600 feet away total so it did exactly what it was supposed to.
Cons: The initial setup wizard never even mentioned that I should change the default login password for the device. That's a pretty bad flaw but most people know to change it.

This is yet another device that doesn't have a gigabit wired port. The single bottom wired port is only base 100. Since it's primarily a wireless device, I get the logic on the cost saving but it's still aggravating if you were to use it for large print jobs or file sharing.
Other Thoughts: I noticed that when applying the settings and rebooting, the device took at least 15-45 seconds to do so. That's a little annoying but a slower CPU means less power usage so it makes sense. If I had to configure a large quantity of these, it would get annoying though.

I should mention that I've never gotten a single TP-Link product that hasn't worked perfectly. That's a pretty impressive track record.
Reviewed By:Des,11/19/2014 2:54:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Hawking Technology > HAWKING HAW2DR Hi-Gain Wireless-300N Smart Dish Repeater

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 hawking Extender
Pros: this product has been operational for 4 months without a hitch. Working with a HAWRN Router (have had more trouble with the router) and is a seamless fit. Use it in one building and shoots over to the other with no problems (more than 100' ) with low ping responses.
People game heavily in the other building.
Cons: Interface can be wonky at first. ( either use a different password and SSID or use static IP settings on the extender.
Other Thoughts: Once setup one will enjoy this unit completely.
Reviewed By:Ed BB,11/18/2014 2:41:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > Netgear EX6200 AC1200 High Power 700mW Dual Band Wi-Fi Range Extender – Desktop with 5 Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 worked for us
Pros: dual band quality, does what it says
Cons: no cons as far as I can see
Other Thoughts: have owned this unit for 3 months and here's the situation. my roommate has 5 acres and has a house with a trailer on the land. all cable, internet, and etc, is located in the house. I live in the trailer which has nothing.

in comes the ex6200. the trailer is 161ft away from the house, with trees and power line in between. couldn't connect with cable modem from Comcast, so we bought the netgear c3700 cable modem to replace it. once the c700 modem was in place, it was on like neckbone!

the modem does 2.4ghz at the house and 5ghz to the trailer and the extender has no problem with it. we have two laptops, and two smartphones hooked wirelessly to the extender. the house has the same.

download speed is 25mbps and upload is 6mbps. with that we can surf the internet, watch netfix and youtube, and download huge files (I've downloaded 5gig file and the like).

I can watch tv via the internet from the cable that's paid at the house. so we decided not to get cable for the trailer and saved big time by not having to add another internet connection to the trailer.

like I said worked for us. would recommend.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/18/2014 10:35:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA860RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender/Repeater with Power Outlet Pass-through, Dual External Antennas, Wall Plug Design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great 802.11n WiFi range extender, plus 1-port Ethernet bridge capability
Pros: The TP-LINK TL-WA860RE wireless range extender is a great device to expand the wi-fi coverage of your home network with relative ease. By placing this range extender in an opportune spot within your home you will be able to get enough energy to enable those wi-fi devices to be a normal part of your network. This range extender operates in the 2.4GHz band and is 802.11n ready - also backwards compatible with 802.11g and 802.11b networks. Additionally, there is a single fast Ethernet (100BASE-TX) port on the bottom of the device which will enable a wired device to be connected via Ethernet cable and available in a wireless manner on your network - a wireless bridge function.

After removing the range extender from the convenient and well-packed packaging, you merely plug in the range extender into a wall outlet near your wireless router. From here you can sync the range extender with your wireless network via a WPS push button (by far the quickest and easiest method), or by connecting to the range extender's web interface via a web browser after connecting to it wirelessly from a computer, tablet, phone, etc. Either method is simple and illustrated and documented clearly in the included quick-start guide. I connected the range extender to my 802.11n network via the web interface method in roughly 7 or 8 minutes – the WPS button should take someone a mere minute or two total.

After this initial setup it is recommended in the documentation to place the device roughly halfway between your router and the area in which you want to extend wireless coverage. This is completely subjective and dependent on one's home and the available wall outlets - though not terribly difficult. The range extender will actually indicate via a LED color and function on where it should be placed in terms of distance from the router. The signal LED on the device should be solid green in order to get solid connectivity and service, if the signal LED is solid orange the device is too close to the router and if the signal LED is blinking orange it is too far from the router. There is also an Ethernet LED which shows if the wireless bridge mode is enable with a device connected to the range extender via the wired connection, and a power LED that indicates if the range extender is powered on or off.

It's also a nice feature that the range extender provides an electrical outlet on the face of the device in order to still use the wall outlet like one normally would. Included in the box is the range extender unit, the quick start guide, a CD that includes more in-depth documentation if needed, and a single Cat 5e Ethernet cable.
Cons: The single Ethernet port for the wireless bridge connectivity is only a 100BASE-TX port. A Gigabit Ethernet (1000BASE-T) port would have been nicer and speedier; though Fast Ethernet is perfectly capable of streaming HD media across a connected 802.11n network. This does not warrant the loss of an egg in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: TP-LINK did a great job overall of creating a robust and easy to setup and use device. In my testing I was able to provide 802.11n wireless coverage to the entirety of my basement (with my router located 2 floors up). Before the use of the range extender I only had wireless coverage in a small corner of the basement.
Reviewed By:EggManiacMan,11/17/2014 3:16:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 As long as the power stays on
Pros: Works great as long as the power stays on.
Cons: Loses all settings and has to be reconfigured if it loses power. Either by an outage or by unplugging it. Instructions say settings save, unfortunately this was not the case for this one.
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer,
We apologize for the inconveneince caused.
We have known this issue and fixed it.
Could you upgrade the firmware and give it another chance?
The firmware could be downloaded from this link:

http://www.tp-link.us/resources/software/TL-WA850RE(US_V1.2_140804.zip

TP-LINK Support Force
support@tp-link.com
(866) 225-8139
http://www.tp-link.com/us/support
http://www.facebook.com/TPLINK

Reviewed By:Strickt,11/17/2014 2:02:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX2700 N300 WiFi Range Extender Essentials Edition

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good Price, Poor Quality
Pros: Good Price
Easy Setup
Really Does Boost the Wireless Signal
Cons: Connection is Unstable, and cuts out quite often
Other Thoughts: I got this thing for $40, which in my opinion wasn't a bad price. I needed the wireless signal in my house to go further than it had been, and in about five minutes I had the device working and was able to get a good signal throughout my house.

However, I noticed that about once every half hour the signal would cut out for around a minute. This doesn't seem like much, but if you're in the middle of uploading or downloading something it's likely to be interrupted and/or cancelled.

I'd say do yourself a favor and spend a bit more on a better product. I'm actually still using the device to boost the signal in my basement and outside, but for actual wifi use I got a more expensive range extender.
Manufacturer Response:Our apologies that you are having trouble with the EX2700 and want to help you with the performance. There are several options for us to assist. You can contact our support team at support.netgear.com, ask a question on our forums: forum1.netgear.com, or you can email us directly at newegg@netgear.com.

Be sure to get in contact with us when you can-- there is nothing more that we want than to earn your business again.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:N/A,11/17/2014 1:33:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.