Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS814 Diskless System 4-bay Rackmount NAS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 unstable
Pros: lots of features
Cons: Unstable. Unit crashes regularly and is under warranty. Support gives you the runaround for months and won't return calls.

Definitely not an the level of product they claim.
Reviewed By:notAfan,1/6/2015 8:27:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RKS1314 Rail Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Flimsy piece of junk, easily bends.
Pros: Snaps into the racks ok with a single screw to hold it which is nice.
Cons: This is the cheapest and most flimsy rackmount kit ever. We bent one side of it trying to put it in, and I've done hundreds of these and never had that happen.
Other Thoughts: Since really there isn't another choice since it's designed for the Synology, I wouldn't recommend it if there was an alternative.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/6/2015 9:34:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS814 Diskless System 4-bay Rackmount NAS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Synology
Pros: 1U, quiet, RAID 5, many capabilities, 2 LAN ports, and flexible. Not much more that you can ask of a NAS. One of my personal pros is it uses an ARM processor. Setup was easy. There seem to be regular OS updates, which are painless to apply. Adding more capabilities is also painless, assuming you know what you are doing. Works nicely.
What I REALLY like is that I know what drives are going to it, AND I get to choose. WD Red Pro 2 TB in my case.
Cons: The mounting "ears" can only be attached to one spot. When using a two rail only rack, as I am. It would be nice if the mounting ears could be placed so the attachment point aligns with the center of the HDDs. I was able to "reverse" them so part of the HDDs stick out the front. This is NOT a deal breaker, for me. Your mileage may vary.
Also I could only use two (2) screws instead of four (4) to attach the HDDs into the sleds/carriers. It still works, but I would like to be able to use four. Again NOT a deal breaker.
Other Thoughts: Like anything that is new to you, it will take some time and work to know how to use it.
Would I buy another one? Yes, I would, or a different model.
Would I recommend it to a friend? In general, yes, but we all know those friends that just can't handle anything, so no to them.
I would like to see one that is made for 2.5" drives, especially SSDs. it could be totally silent.
Reviewed By:Oeno-Master,11/30/2014 9:18:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS2414RP+ Diskless System RackStation Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good for General Stuff
Pros: Its good for file servers and other general type of servers like DC, DHCP, DNS .
Has great UI and its really easy to install.
Performance is great.
Great for Price
Cons: Does not have 10gb support.
Needs SSD cache drives to run something more powerful like heavly loaded SQL server etc.
Reviewed By:ZivaTiva,11/15/2014 9:36:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS2414+ Diskless System RackStation Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dissapointment
Pros: Low Initial cost
Cons: Unreliable hardware and POOR Warranty Service. This unit is only 5 months old and I've spent most of today trying to get a warranty unit shipped that they agreed to replace yesterday. They just told me it wouldn't ship until tomorrow and that it would be 5 business days before it arrives. I have never been treated so badly on a warranty in my over 20 years in the IT field.
Other Thoughts: Look elsewhere for reliability and TCO.
Reviewed By:Charliefred,10/30/2014 2:01:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RKS1314 Rail Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: They work, are sturdy, and they are quick rails. Most models are toolless, and they include the screws for those that aren't.
Cons: The clips are a bit fiddly, and the slides feel a bit cheap. They don't slide quite as smooth as they ought to, and they don't have clips to retain the unit in the rack, unlike most OEM server rails. Not terrible, but for the price I expect better.
Other Thoughts: Overpriced! Oh well, if you need them, you need them. Still, there's no reason that Synology shouldn't include these - it stands to reason that if you have a rackmount NAS, you're going to be needing the rails.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/28/2014 10:31:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation III 4-Bay 4 TB (4 X 1 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable Network Attached Storage (NAS) - TS-RX4.0TL/R5

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Colossal pain
Pros: Lots of space for storage
Cons: Does not play nice with Active Directory
Other Thoughts: I have spent a lot of time fighting with this thing. For the price I would have been ahead in time and money had I purchased a new server and configured it. Connecting to Active Directory should not require jumping through this many hoops.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/15/2014 12:54:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RKS1314 Rail Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: None
Cons: Too long, Will not work with some racks.
Other Thoughts: Wasted money.
Reviewed By:Joe,9/14/2014 3:55:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS814+ Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very good
Pros: Good, fast and stable
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/14/2014 3:51:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TS-2RZH48T12D 48TB TeraStation 7120r Enterprise-Class NAS & iSCSI Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Only for small IT environments
Pros: Easy to use web management interface
Easy to setup for small IT environments with no subnets
Good warranty program
Good health monitoring features
Cons: The Active Directory integration requires the Buffalo to be in the same subnet as the domain controllers in order to work properly. We have 10,000+ users in our environment and adding user permissions was painfully slow. You cannot assign share permissions for computer accounts, event if they are part of a group, so if you have any services running under the Network Service account, you cannot give them access and the services must be reconfigured.

The firmware update tool in the web interface checks for updates on a server in Japan that does not contain the most current software updates. Always go to the website and download the latest update and then apply it through the web interface. ALWAYS update the firmware to the current version before you start setting up this product because support always recommends wiping the configuration back to factory default after a firmware update to avoid problems and it will be the first troubleshooting step that they ask you to do. So if you spent a lot of time on your configuration, all that work will be lost after the upgrade.

The iSCSI support has some limitations as well. The Buffalo has four gigabit ethernet ports but don't expect to be able to connect a server to each with each on their own subnet and have it work reliably. If you are connecting multiple servers, be prepared to buy a triple speed switch and to place all the servers on the same subnet. If you setup each interface on its own subnet, the IPs of all active interfaces will be pushed out to all the iSCSI clients and each client will try to connect one at a time to each IP until it hits the correct subnet. This means that one server will connect right away while the other three servers will go through one to three three minute TCP timeouts until they are able to connect. If you plan on having the storage available for use on startup by a system service, this will create a serious problem as the storage won't be available for three to nine minutes after the service fails to start. So you will need to manually start the services making use of the storage after a reboot.

If you are using iSCSI and set a management IP on a separate management network, then the iSCSI clients will also try to connect via the management IP. If you configure the management IP to not respond to iSCSI, then you end up with the three to nine minute TCP timeout issue mentioned above.

The lack of an isolated management IP and other design choices in both the Active Directory integration and the iSCSI demonstrate to me that while the product has some Enterprise-level hardware characteristics, the software is similar to their consumer line of the products. This is definitely a product for small, simple IT environments. The product has no knowledge of subnets or isolated management interfaces.

For the price, a Dell server with Windows Storage Server might be a better choice.
Other Thoughts: For the price, a Dell server with Windows Storage Server might be a better choice.
Reviewed By:StorageAdmin2600,7/30/2014 8:04:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.