Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Rosewill > Rosewill 4-Pin Female Molex to 15-Pin Male SATA Adapter (RA-MOLEX-SATA)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 The smell of smoking rubber is stuck in my brain
Pros: Affordable, fits both ends
Cons: First time I used this to power a Molex-accepting fan controller with my SATA power cable, I instantly smelled smoke and saw one of the wires melting on my fan controller. I quickly turned my power supply off and unplugged everything. There were char marks on the male SATA end of this adapter
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure if it's entirely the fault of this adapter as I had removed one sata plug and moved another on my power cable while sleeving, but the power connector on my cable did not melt and suffered no visible damage. After a quick internet search, it appears that the culprit in most internal melting incidents is an adapter between different plug types. I don't have other devices to test this adapter out on with stock power cables. The second egg is for benefit of the doubt.
Reviewed By:Ron C.,2/1/2016 11:14:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech 35BAYCF2SAT Compact Flash Card to SATA Adapter with 3.5” Bay Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good idea ... but not compatible with some motherboards.
Pros: Nice design in terms of mounting options and easy to install.
Cons: Did not work on my production workstation. Tried several sata slots and configurations. Tested CF on my other workstation that has a built-in CF reader running same OS and CF is good. CF-drive showed up in bios and Windows OS on production workstation ... but could not initialize or format CF card. Tried this adapter on an older motherboard that I have and worked. From my experience, this device is not compatible with all motherboard.
Other Thoughts: Not happy with the results. Wasted allot of time on incompatibility issue that the manufacturer should have known (manufacturer boasted otherwise) -or- probably knew that this device has limited use. I do not recommend this device.
Reviewed By:Edward K.,2/1/2016 8:31:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SY-ADA40092 2.5" SATA III to M.2 (NGFF) SSD Enclosure with Complete Screw Set

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid m.2 > 2.5" adapter solution. Looks good and works well.
Pros: Installing the m.2 chipset and closing the enclosure is easy enough. With an intuitive lightweight design, this enclosure manages to be reliable and rugged, without sealing the m.2 SSD in a heat-trap. The solid black housing is durable, and sleek looking - at first glance you would never guess it was an adapter enclosure.
Cons: While it is capable of SATAIII speeds, it seems limited to burst transmission at these speeds. A half-dozen seconds of 300+ MB/s, followed by a few seconds of ~100MB/s, then back up. Appears that the device's chipset is only capable of SATAIII speeds from a cache, not as a constant throughput speed. Not a dealbreaker, as this adapter is the only way i can use my m.2 SSD. But these fluctuations are enough to anchor the average I/O speed into the realm of really fast SATAII. Still fast, but not the 475MB/s i know my m.2 SSD is capable of.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product to anyone wanting to use an m.2 SSD they have laying around, and cant use otherwise.
Great as an adapter for game or media storage - booting an OS from it, the speed fluctuations are noticeable in normal operation. Still WAY better than booting from a traditional HDD though.
(I have a similar mSATA -> 2.5" adapter with SATA connections AND a mini-USB interface. A feature like this would have been a great addition.)
Reviewed By:Patrick D.,1/31/2016 11:00:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA to IDE (IDE to SATA) Bi-Directional Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Bi-Directional adapter - incomplete
Pros: good interface functionality
Cons: Adapter makes for a tight squeeze in some installations.
Didn't come with power cable adapter to allow older drive to function with newer power supply.- action figure sold separately!
Other Thoughts: Would have been an acceptable price - if it had been complete and worked right out of the box.
Additional power cable was available at additional cost and wait time!
Reviewed By:Ralph C.,1/25/2016 8:03:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA to IDE (IDE to SATA) Bi-Directional Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 fantastic product
Pros: Works exactly as advertised. Perfect for my need, adding a 240GB SATA drive to an aging MSI Master2-FAR7 motherboard, replacing the RAID 0 array the OS sat on. This little perfectly designed adapter fit the need perfectly. Simple, easy to use. Will likely order another to have on standby.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I read others reviews about this thing not working and was concerned about purchasing it. It works exactly as advertised. Very satisfied.

Edit: I purchased a 2nd one of these to fit a LITEON SATA (I) CD/DVD drive in a MSI Master2-FAR7 dual 246 opteron machine running WinXP Pro. I used the first to mirror the OS from a RAID-0 wd raptor disk arrangement I set up years ago to a Kinsengton SATA (I) 240GB SSD. Both the original and the 2nd installed with ease and work flawlessly, when I installed the 2nd instead of going into BIOS like I should have I went straight into the OS. My LITEON CD/DVD SATA drive was immediately detected. Great value for the price, exactly what I needed.
Reviewed By:Richard W.,1/24/2016 9:23:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech SLSATAADAP Female Slimline SATA to SATA Adapter with Power

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does exactly what it's supposed to
Pros: It's a SATA to SATA+Power adapter. Not much more for it to do. It works exactly as expected, and you will probably need one of these if you are using a slim optical drive in a desktop PC.
Cons: None. Product does exactly what it was designed to do and does it just as well as anything else.
Other Thoughts: This product is a must-have if you are building a PC with a slim optical drive in it like I was. You won't be able to connect the SATA and SATA power cables separately - they must be adapted into the "Sata+Power" form.
Reviewed By:Samuel F.,1/23/2016 5:51:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech PATA2SATA3 Bi-directional adapter converts IDE to SATA or SATA to IDE

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great and reliable product to extend life of IDE drives
Pros: Among the various offerings for similar products, I chose the StarTech PATA2SATA3 on account of other StarTech products I've used in conjunction with user-reviews of this same item. It works as one would expect, and the transfer rates reported in my Stablebit Scanner software for my WHS-2011 server system are consistent with those expectations.

I purchased the PATA2SATA3 specifically for connecting 500GB Hitachi IDE drives mounted in a hot-swap drive bay to my server for on-the-fly backup.
Cons: Really, the only "Con" I have for this product is the shortcoming of all such IDE-SATA3/SATA3-IDE adapters: they require some extra mouse-clicks and choices within Windows Device Manager when you want to use the "Safe to Remove Device" icon that otherwise provides easy removal for SATA devices configured for the built-in MSAHCI driver of Windows.

But I solved that problem -- explained in "Other" below.
Other Thoughts: I had previously purchased this product and RMA'd it for refund when I discovered the shortcoming already mentioned.

A little further internet research convinced me that the PATA2SATA3 could be hot-pluggable for a StarTech IDE hot-swap bay if its 5V power-source could also be powered down when you turn the key-switch on the bay to unlock the drive. Some gurus -- one UK user in particular -- had managed to (solder) connect an IDE-SATA converter similar to this one by locating a particular pinout on the bay's own little circuit-board.

Instead, I discovered two things: (a) the hot-swap bay had a rear plug to add a small 35mm cooling fan to the bay, and (b) the little power-plug connection for the fan powers down when one turns the keyswitch to unlock a drive caddy. So the solution to making the PATA2SATA3 hot-pluggable only required purchase of a 5V regulator from Radio Shack, soldering together a connection wire with appropriate plugs for the StarTech adapter and the fan connection so that 12V power is converted to 5V.

This all works like a charm, and has been working just fine for more than a year now.
Reviewed By:John B.,1/21/2016 7:23:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech SATA to LP4 Power Cable Adapter - F/M

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice adapter to convert Molex accessories to SATA power!
Pros: 10 second install.
StarTech Quality.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: For those who needs to install an accessory that has a Molex connection for power, this does the trick. Simply install to the accessory & then to the SATA power adapter, usually an extra HDD power connection. Presto, it works!

In my case, had ordered a Rosewill 3.5" to 2.5" converter & it included a fan that needed Molex power, My PC has none of these & this worked perfectly for the job, cooling my SSD by more than 20C. A $5 investment that powered the accessory, likely prolonged my SSD's life by at least a couple of extra years, Maybe longer.

Have always been a winner when choosing StarTech accessories for my computers :-)
Reviewed By:Charles T.,1/20/2016 12:15:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > Vantec IDE to SATA Converter - Model CB-IS100

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 works but...
Pros: It works and enables me to use ide hdds/DVD drives. Easy to install and doesn't take much room
Cons: Nine times out of ten, when I have it connected to my motherboard, regardless if the sata port, it will cause one or two of my data drives to not be recognized by the system. Not sure if its a compatibility issue with gigabyte boards or just the converter but I have to reboot a few times to get all drives going (250 gb m2 as boot, 2 2tb, 11tb)

I've started just leaving it unplugged unless I need it
Other Thoughts: Wish I could leave it plugged in, but I rarely need it and with the hdd issues it causes for my storage drives just not worth it. If you need data off an old ide drive this is perfect, but would recommend replacing it with a data drive asap
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,
We try hard to provide excellent customers service. If you have questions about our products, or anything that are not functioning the way it is advertised, please feel free to write to us for assistance at support@vantecusa.com. We will try our best to support and answer your questions. Thank you for looking into our products.
Best Regards, Vantec

Reviewed By:legguar,1/20/2016 8:12:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Apricorn > APRICORN VEL-SOLO-X1 Performance SSD Upgrade Kit for Desktop PCs and MacPro

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good product, company did not honor rebate
Pros: good product, easy to setup, bootable
Cons: company did not honor rebate, I included original UPC code from the product packaging and original invoice. Rebate was rejected due to 'no UPC code submitted or not an original; all required purchases not identified on receipt'.
Other Thoughts: If you can accept not receiving your rebate and want to pay the full price, it is a good easy to use product
Reviewed By:Fei X.,1/17/2016 8:26:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.