Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech ESATAPLT2LP 2-Port Low Profile SATA to eSATA Plate Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Did not come with two brackets as shown in photo on Newegg site
Pros: Had proper connectors
Cons: Came with incorrect bracket for low-profile installation. It's hard to believe that Startech would get this wrong, but they did. Low-profile brackets have the retaining screw on the side opposite that of standard height brackets. Others had complained about this issue as well, but when I looked at the product photo on the Newegg site, it had two rear-panel brackets. I received only one and, of course, it was not correct. I want the seller to send me the correct bracket.
Other Thoughts: No, I would NOT recommend this to others as it will not install properly.
Reviewed By:Edward L.,9/23/2016 8:45:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech USBMBADAPT2 2 Port USB Motherboard Header Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for specific uses
Pros: Small and easy to use.
Cons: Wish the header was longer to get a more secure plug into the motherboard.
Other Thoughts: I hot glue these to the plugs inside machines to hide a USB Key for software licensing. (Yeah, those still exist today, sad huh...) Keeps it farther away from people who don't know what it is, so they don't unplug it thinking it's not useful then their software stops working. :)
Reviewed By:SCOTT W.,9/20/2016 10:50:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA II to IDE ATA133 Bi-directional Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great performer
Pros: With the help of reviews (and well-written, if small-printed instruction), was easy to plug in and transfer data from my old IDE drive to SATA storage. Cheap and effective for transferring data.
Cons: Took 10 days to arrive, but not the product's fault.
Instructions were a bit unclear about one point- when transferring from an IDE drive to the MOBO, you must attach the small 4 pin power connector from the Power supply to the adapter AND a large 4 pin power connector to your drive. This tripped me up at first.
Other Thoughts: If your computer isn't recognizing the drive after you connect the adapter, check the jumper switches on the adapter AND on your IDE drive- I am not an expert in this department, so I had to try several different configurations before it worked. I used this as a temporary adapter to transfer files from two old IDE drives. After transfer I didn't keep it permanently connected to the MOBO.
Otherwise, I highly recommend this data transfer solution!
Reviewed By:James M.,9/18/2016 5:02:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA II to IDE ATA133 Bi-directional Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 All data and no power makes me a angry boy
Pros: Very simple to use
comes with well translated manual
comes with free sata cable
Cons: No sata power
Other Thoughts: I have a old computer that wether I like it our not is my new rig with its terrible 1.1 ghs processer and no Hard drive, so since I didnt have IDE hard drives I just said to my self "I'll just get a IDE to Sata adapter" and I saw this one for 10 bucks and free shiping so I bout it, this was the first thing I have ever bout from newegg so I didnt know what to expet and guess what happend in shipping?, Is was miss shipped and it was a week before it got here so that was fun, but the adapter work nice enough but there NO SATA POWER so theres no way of using you drive unless your PSU supports sata out of the box so to speek then your motherboard most likely you moher board would have suppot for Sata makeing this adapter redundant so I had to use the PSU from my old Dell Dimension XPs 2 with is a custom form facter and it basicly a slab that went on the bottom of the case, so now I have a giant metal slab on top of my case the entire inside is filled with wires be cus of the PSU exesive use of adapters and the PSU Has caught fire, ok not that last one but you get my point, IF you need Sata power as well as Sata data look in to buying a PSU that supports it befor buying this adapter.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We're sorry to hear that you had an issue with this SATA to IDE adapter.

Most power supplies come with Molex Power cables. A viable option is to use a Molex to SATA power adatper as well in order to use a new SATA drive on an old system.

Please contact our support team to assist you with issues such as these by emailing support@sybausa.com.
Our technical support team is available to help 9am-5pm M-F. Feel free to contact us during those business hours.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.
- Regards, SYBA CST JA 20160926

Reviewed By:Jessica S.,9/17/2016 11:14:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Rosewill > Rosewill 4-Pin Female Molex to 15-Pin Male SATA Adapter (RA-MOLEX-SATA)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Connector!
Pros: Works perfectly, fits well, solves adapter problem without extra cable in the computer case.
Cons: Can't it be made even shorter? Not a problem, just an observation.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/15/2016 12:49:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA II to IDE ATA133 Bi-directional Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 does the job
Pros: i needed this to connect an ancient but functional IDE drive to a not as ancient but still fairly old dell system (talking ddr2 here people). This worked great. In this case i didn't notice a drop in performance compared to a drive connected directly to the sata port but this not might not be the case in more recently built systems.
Cons: no documentation what's so ever.
Other Thoughts: Set up an external drive in my teens for backing up programs and files. the drive was lighty used so its running well. I've since out grown the need to use that particular drive for backing up so decided to toss it in my old dell E521.
Reviewed By:alexis r.,9/11/2016 9:00:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Rosewill > Rosewill RCW-616 Laptop 2.5" to Desktop 3.5" IDE Hard Drive Adapter Converter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Did Not Work For Me
Pros: Low cost
Cons: Did not work. I bought an adapter to convert the drive to SATA. That worked fine.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend.
I would not purchase again.
Not worth the shipping cost to send it back.
Reviewed By:Michael C.,9/11/2016 4:24:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SY-ADA40093 M.2 & mSATA SSD Dual Connector to SATA III Interface Enclosure, 2.5" Form Factor

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked great for mSATA, but not for an M.2 SATA drive
Pros: mSATA drive worked great.
Cons: M.2 SATA (Samsung) did not fit the keyway at all. Forcing it will damage the adapter and possibly your drive.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this for people looking for a M.2 solution
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with your sata adapter.

This device was designed for a B key M.2 Sata drives only. M key drives will not work with this device such as a Samsung 950 pro.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.
Regards, Syba CST 302

Reviewed By:Dana C.,8/31/2016 12:25:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > VANTEC CB-STU3-2PB USB 3.0 to 2.5" SATA HDD adapter with case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Salvage Hard drives. Works great
Pros: East set up, inexpensive, Data saver
Cons: Cable to short
Other Thoughts: I had two perfectly good hard drives from dead laptops. Granted they were only 500gb. But, why waste them? Now, they are portable HD. It's easy to install and you get USB 3.0 speeds. The case gives decent protection.
Tip- Use a little elec tape around corners on inside of case before you install. It's just a little more shock absorbers.
I love these things. Saved me money and data. Time will tell how long they last. But, seems to be built w quality.
Only issue is length of cable. Way to.short. I can not set the hd's on top of case. They won't reach. So, they just hang. Hence four stars.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/29/2016 10:06:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > VANTEC CB-STU3-2PB USB 3.0 to 2.5" SATA HDD adapter with case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice HD salvage
Pros: Snapping in a 500 GB laptop drive was easy.
Cons: USB cable is very short. The HD will hang off back of a pc. Granted, this was inexpensive way to save an HD. I guess cable was cutting cost.
Other Thoughts: The plastic itself seems durable. Does protect HD. However, I would handle carefully
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/29/2016 6:40:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.