Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Coboc > Coboc SATA-AD-LP4 erial ATA/SATA 15 pin Male to Molex LP4 4 pin female Power Adatper for Hard Drive,M/F

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My pc case came with external hard drive port but to power it was an ata plug
Pros: Plug it in and the drive powered up and it works great.
Cons: It does stick out and you need to make sure your power cable is not pulling down on the drives power port. On my power cable I use the middle connector and hooked the first connector on the empty drive above it to keep it strait.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/1/2016 6:05:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA to IDE (IDE to SATA) Bi-Directional Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Old IDE HDD access is easy with this.
Pros: -Works
-Easy to install
-Comes with almost everything you'd need to get those old IDE HDD running on your new motherboard. Power and SATA cable
It's as fast as your HDD most likely due to it using SATA to connect to the Motherboard. Current IDE to USB products I saw would be slow in comparison to this. I didn't see an IDE to USB 3.0 but no matter IDE to SATA is faster anyway.
Cons: Didn't come with a jumper. Not a BIG deal, but without one you're most likely out of luck getting this thing recognized. Your old HDD should have one on it already but mine didn't (rigged it) and since its needed why not throw it in the package they cost nothing.
Other Thoughts: Regarding the jumper, most the problems I see people having with this product is forgetting to use the jumper on the HDD. So, install the jumper (usually on the first two left-most pins as you look at the HDD from behind. Here's a lousy diagram ( [:] : : : ), the two closest to where this device would be installed not next to the power input. Also, regarding the wire it comes with to power the device, you probably only need one power input even thought it has two, I imagine they did this for those rare devices (thoughtful) that require more juice but one should be fine for most users.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2016 5:15:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Rosewill > Rosewill RCW-616 Laptop 2.5" to Desktop 3.5" IDE Hard Drive Adapter Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great adapter
Pros: I needed to connect an old ide laptop drive to my computer and this allowed me to do it perfectly.
Cons: none other than after a year of abuse i finally broke a pin off haha not a con really as I was decently rough with it
Other Thoughts: if your looking for one of these this is a good one to get. and it was pretty inexpensive
Reviewed By:Brandon V.,4/29/2016 10:50:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech SLSATAADAP Female Slimline SATA to SATA Adapter with Power

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic product
Pros: Works great, need to buy some more so i can have extras. decent quality.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I recommend them if you need to use your laptop cd/dvd drive in a desktop or make a redneck case to make it an external drive.
Reviewed By:Brandon V.,4/29/2016 10:36:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > Vantec IDE to SATA Converter - Model CB-IS100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not work
Pros: Nothing, havn't even been able to use it
Cons: Does not power up whatsoever. This thing is a waste of money.
Reviewed By:MARK D.,4/28/2016 5:10:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech 9 Pin Serial Male to 10 Pin IDC Motherboard Header Slot Plate Adapter Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works fine
Pros: works, easy install, cheap
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: bought this out of want vs need. my mobo has a com port somi figured id take advantage of it. tested by using an old ti83 i still have that connects to pc via serial instead of USB like newer calculators
Reviewed By:N/A,4/27/2016 9:24:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA40077 mSATA SSD to 2.5-inch SATA Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unreliable SATA connection; USB does not work
Pros: None
Cons: Bought for use with Samsung 1TB EVO mSATA card. These cards work in inexpensive USB 3.0 adapters purchased elsewhere.

The USB connection does not work. The SATA connection works only with short 6" SATA III cables. Did not work with the 18" SATA III cables that work fine on other drives.

I own two of these -- a bad purchase.

Reviewed By:BRIAN M.,4/24/2016 5:10:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > VANTEC CB-STU3-2PB USB 3.0 to 2.5" SATA HDD adapter with case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product!
Pros: Very easy to use.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Would definitely recommend to a friend.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/17/2016 5:37:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > INSTEN > Insten 675691 SATA to IDE / IDE to SATA 2-in-1 Converter Cable

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Insten 675691 SATA to IDE / IDE to SATA 2-in-1 Converter Cable
Pros: nothing it did not work
Cons: did not work
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/15/2016 8:24:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > SIIG, Inc > SIIG SATA-to-IDE Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what it's supposed to do in a small space
Pros: Fits nicely in my tower case without requiring me to leave the side panel off, like the previous adapter did because it was way too bulky. The Siig is almost flat so there are no issues with space, and I have used Siig products before, so I chose it based on its reputation.

The adapter also performs nicely, does as advertised, comparable to the bulkier previous adapter. No issues so far on connectivity or read/ write operations. Transfers files as expected for an ultra dma 66/100/133 ide device. If anything comes up when I hit the six month or more mark, I will come back and edit this review.
Cons: Not really a con, but when inserting the 40-pin plug into the hard drive, be careful not to push directly on the back, because the pins come through the other side of the pc board, and could puncture your fingers. Or maybe wear rubber gloves when pushing in the plug.
Other Thoughts: This item provided a much needed solution for me to keep using an out-dated PATA drive on a newer main board that has no native support for anything but the newer SATA standard. Eventually, the drive will be replaced with a SATA drive, probably a 3 or 4 TB drive, but for now, it's extra storage. Thank you New Egg and Siig for providing a great solution that requires no installation drivers or anything extra other than the adapter, the power cable adapter and the SATA data cable!
Reviewed By:MCP,4/9/2016 4:24:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.