Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech IDE4044 2.5" to 3.5" IDE Hard Drive Cable Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Adapter
Pros: A great adapter choice to put a 2-1/2" IDE/PATA hard drive in a desktop computer that originally had a 3-1/2" IDE/PATA hard drive.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/19/2015 7:01:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech IDE2SAT25 IDE 40 Pin Female to SATA Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works, BUT ...
Pros: A DVD hooked up to it is recognized by windows.
Cons: A DVD hooked up to isn't recognized by Roxio Media, Magic ISO and other burner software.
Other Thoughts: Nice idea, but useless in the end.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/18/2015 2:14:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA40077 mSATA SSD to 2.5-inch SATA Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Adapter
Pros: Does exactly what you want it for. It ALSO has a little USB out on it which means you could technically use this as an external drive, though the Msata is exposed so i would suggest you don't.
Cons: No cons.
Other Thoughts: Great adapter, no loss in speed.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/16/2015 1:01:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > Vantec IDE to SATA Converter - Model CB-IS100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Can be a bit tricky
Pros: It woks.
Cons: A bit slower than my IDE-USB3.0 converter.
Other Thoughts: I use it to fit my WD 80G IDE drive to test out Windows 10 tech preview. Windows 10 won't boot when in SATA mode. Windows 7(installation disc) has the same problem. But when I switched it to an older WD 20G drive, it booted up okay. When in IDE mode, everything works fine, but it's a hassle to have to change the BIOS setting every time I switch the OS (and the hard drive).

The solution is to load vendor SATA driver(works in my case, MB: Asrock Z77 Pro4-M), but Windows 10/whole system is not responsive during boot-up, so the trick is to unplug SATA cable while the system still hangs (the system will respond and enter setup screen), plug it back in, and load driver. (Don't use Asmedia SATA port if you have the same MB.)

Unplug SATA cable, boot Windows installation disc up, and then plug it back in won't work (at least in my case). Windows setup program will complain a mismatch with BIOS detection and refuse to continue.

Everything works fine with Linux(Ubuntu).
Reviewed By:N/A,7/12/2015 2:34:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA to IDE (IDE to SATA) Bi-Directional Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great!
Pros: It works! Installed in January, and 6 months later, it's just chugging right along, 24/7! (Connecting a SATA drive to an IDE MoBo)
Cons: So far, none! (6 months and counting.)
Other Thoughts: I bought this so that I could use a SSD drive in a legacy IDE machine. It's been running 24/7 for six straight months, playing music. No glitches, no hiccups! MUCH faster than the system it replaced!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/8/2015 9:27:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > INSTEN > Insten 675691 SATA to IDE / IDE to SATA 2-in-1 Converter Cable

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 nothing!!!!
Pros: none come to mind
Cons: tried every combination of jumpers, ports, controller settings and nothing.
Other Thoughts: seems to be a recurring issue. Also my item didn't look the same as the sample (no LED light and board was red).
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 12:49:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > INSTEN > Insten 675691 SATA to IDE / IDE to SATA 2-in-1 Converter Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not all Sata drive work
Pros: It works well if you know what you are doing. I have bought these for years. I like to put SSD on them. It still amazes me when you make a old machine move like lighting. You have to remember Master/Slave and Cable select.
Cons: Not all sata controllers can handle anything less than 3 gig or 1.5 gig per second. IDE at most move at different speeds ATA-4, Ultra ATA/33, ATA-5, Ultra ATA/66, ATA-6, Ultra ATA/100, ATA-7, Ultra ATA/133 Your bios has to recognize the hard drive and its capacity. Updating the Bios might help but only if it can be.
Other Thoughts: Most reviews of this product I assume come from novice computer people. I used to buy these by the bag load. I have had only two bad ones and they were packaging snafu. If you don't have the time to figure out if your sata drive will work buy a PCI sata controller instead. Just sayin'
Reviewed By:N/A,7/3/2015 12:33:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SI-ADA40066 50mm (1.8") mSATA SSD to 2.5" SATA Converter Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: Works.
Cons: Is not a normal 2.5 inch ssd size, meaning it wont fit into any 2.5 to 3.5 ssd adapter. It will just float loosely in your case.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with this adapter.

Our tech support team is happy to assist you with any necessary information pertaining to the dimensions of this device.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 07172015

Reviewed By:N/A,6/29/2015 12:49:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > Vantec IDE to SATA Converter - Model CB-IS100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 The danged thing doesn't work
Pros: None, it doesn't work. ... But at least I got some cheap, uselessly short, and utterly outdated cables from the packaging.
Cons: It doesn't work! And, unrelated to it not working but still irksome, the cables that came with it are short, cheap, and won't work with anything else except this useless piece of crud that doesn't work!
Other Thoughts: Two weeks, I've been trying to instal a new MoBo and CPU into my computer. Multiple hurdles in the process have slowed it considerably and now, the part I've been waiting 4 days to arrive for, the FINAL PIECE that would allow me to proceed and finally have a working, seriously upgraded compy... and it doesn't work.

A pox on the makers. Oozing and painful.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/20/2015 12:01:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SI-ADA40066 50mm (1.8") mSATA SSD to 2.5" SATA Converter Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good little adapter
Pros: Works as described. I had not problems with the clips. Works with the Plextor M5M mSata SSD.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If you're using Windows 7, don't forget to use the "Disk Management" utility to format the new SSD (Start => Control Panel =>Administrative Tools=>Computer Management=>Disk Management). Otherwise the disk won't pop up under "My Computer".
Reviewed By:N/A,6/19/2015 9:52:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.