Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Audio Video Converters > STARTECH > StarTech MSTMDP123DP Mini DisplayPort 1.2 to Triple Head DisplayPort Multi Monitor MST Hub

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It worked
Pros: So I received a free sample of the Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort Multi-Monitor Splitter - 3-Port MST Hub in order to complete a review. And first things first, while DisplayPort is an extremely underrated technology, HDMI has become the standard for HD display chords, so a majority of people will find the HDMI version of this product to be significantly more useful.
That said this product aimed to turn a single mini DisplayPort into 3 DisplayPorts, allowing for a computer to use 3 additional monitors. This splitters gets the job done and it succesfully integrates into Windows 10 display settings extremely well. Additionally, the product has a solid, compact design, which you notice right when you take it out of the box.
My favorite secondary feature was the multiple power adapters, which allowed the splitter to be used all over the globe! And as far as design, the material used for the cord leading to the mini DisplayPort was extremely firm and stiff, which lead me to believe it would last a long time (I`ve only had the product for 3 weeks).
Cons: One negative is to use the splitter, you have to use its included power supply, which is pretty bulky. Lastly, I never needed to use the integrated scan function and there wasn`t any instructions in the provided manual, so that seems like a wasted capability.
Other Thoughts: Overall, StarTech`s Mini DisplayPort Splitter worked as advertised and successfully expanded one mini DisplayPort to 3 DisplayPorts!
Reviewed By:James T.,8/28/2016 1:54:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio Video Converters > STARTECH > StarTech MSTMDP123DP Mini DisplayPort 1.2 to Triple Head DisplayPort Multi Monitor MST Hub

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A great active Displayport Hub that's easy to use!
Pros: Pro`s - This DisplayPort hub is easy to setup and use. Once configured its performance is reliable.
Cons: Con`s - Uses an external power adapter for its 5v power supply. It`s something else to plug in to an already crowded power strip. It`s also difficult to tell if your monitor is DisplayPort compatible without researching on the internet.
Other Thoughts: I received a free Startech Mini-Displayport for evaluation before writing this review.

Unpackaging the MSTMDP123DP was simple and straight forward. The package includes the MSTMDP123DP and the external power supply. For testing I used a MS Surface Pro 3 with the SP Dock running Windows 10. I set up several different types on monitors for testing.

1st Monitor was an old 17` LCD with 1280x1024 resolution. I used a DisplayPort to VGA adapter. The monitor was detected and worked as expected.

2nd monitor was a newer 27` LED with a 1920x1080 display. I used a DisplayPort to DVI adapter. Windows recognized the monitor and made it available for use but I saw no display on the screen. After power cycling the DisplayPort hub the image appeared on the screen and all 3 displays worked.

3rd Display was an older Plasma TV with a 1024x768 resolution. I used a DisplayPort to HDMI adapter. Again Windows recognized the monitor and made it available for use but I saw no display on the screen. After power cycling the DisplayPort hub I still had no image on the screen. I did some research and realized the older Plasma TV was not DisplayPort compliant. I decided to try a newer LED TV with a 1920x1080 native display. The device was recognized and the image appeared on the screen.

All 4 displays worked well. I tested images, videos and games on all the displays and saw no noticeable performance issues between the native screen and the monitors attached to the hub. I restarted the Surface Pro and power-cycled the entire system. Each time all of the displays came back on and performed as expected.

Suggestions -
1- And integrated USB power cable to power the MSTMDP123DP would be awesome.
2- Adding an LED indicator to each port to warn users if the display is not compatible.

Overall this is a very useful device that is easy to set up and performs well.
Reviewed By:Charles F.,8/28/2016 10:33:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio Video Converters > STARTECH > StarTech DP2HD4KS DisplayPort™ to HDMI® 4K Audio / Video Converter – DP 1.2 to HDMI Active Adapter for Desktop / Laptop Computers – 4K @ 30 Hz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for laptops on home entertainment systems
Pros: easy to setup
no configuring required
no software to install
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I actually received this as a free sample and immediately began using it. Previously I was using a very convoluted homemade setup to make the DisplayPort of my laptop to work with my HDMI television. I always assumed that the only way you could get use out of a DisplayPort was to hack together a DisplayPort and the HDMI cable together. This adapter actually takes all the guesswork out of it. No moving parts, no tabs to break off, no random power cable to trip over. This adapter is both amazing and useful. I don`t know why I didn`t research this product sooner. The adapter works flawlessly, there is nothing to configure. Immediatly after connecting the adapter to my laptop and the HDMI cable from the adapter to the TV my computer immediatly picked it up as a second monitor. All the settings are built into my computer and there is no adapter software to install. Suck a simple little concept but it does wonders for my home entertainment system.
Reviewed By:Bryon H.,8/26/2016 5:59:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio Video Converters > STARTECH > StarTech HD2VGAE2 HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter for Desktop PC / Laptop / Ultrabook - 1920 x 1080

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works for a few minutes but keeps blanking my monitors. Returning it
Pros: Fast shipping from Newegg and it semi-works
Cons: Only works every few minutes and screens and windows get reset
Other Thoughts: I used this to connect a second monitor to my Dell Vostro 260 desktop with integrated Intel graphics with Windows 10
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/25/2016 12:01:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio Video Converters > VisionTek > VisionTek 900639 DisplayPort to Dual Link DVI-D Active Adapter (M/F)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 did not work with apple cinema display
Pros: nothing to say here
Cons: did not work with apple cinema display
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/24/2016 11:03:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio Video Converters > Coboc > Coboc EA-AUD-DIG2ANA SPDIF Digital Coax & Optical Toslink to Analog Stereo RCA L/R Audio Converter Adapter Metal Cover - 2CH-LPCM 24-bit/96KHz DAC

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice and again but.
Pros: Very simple to install, just plug and go. Small size.
Cons: Toslink cable connection is tricky. Need to wiggle the connector a bit to get the optical to line up without audio hiccups or static. Another device with a bright red LED. Manufactures really need to tone down the LED brightness. Make sure you don't forget to get your cables and adapters also.
Other Thoughts: Really nice device. Wish I could have given it 5 eggs but as it seems to be with this stuff is theirs always something not quite as it should be. Would recommend this if you need Digital to Analog Stereo audio.
Reviewed By:JOSEPH L.,8/11/2016 8:35:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio Video Converters > Syba > SYBA SY-ADA31025 VGA to HDMI Converter with Audio Support, up to 1920 x 1080 Output Resolution

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Video output is OK
Pros: Beats buying a new computer to get an HDMI output.
Cons: Audio cord is too short for HP Elitebook laptops. Save yourself time and buy an extension with this device.
Manufacturer Response:On behalf of Syba, please accept our thanks for choosing our products.
Please be assured that our interest in your complete satisfaction. It is our sincere desire that you are completely satisfied with your product and the service you receive from our Team.
If you cannot give us a completely satisfied rating for any reason, visit support@Sybausa.com so we can better serve you as our valued customer. As a reminder, our business hours: Monday ~ Friday, 9:00am ~ 5:00pm PST

Reviewed By:William K.,8/10/2016 2:04:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio Video Converters > Coboc > Coboc VGAUSB2HDMI Portable VGA to HDMI Adapter with USB Audio & Power - Analog to Digital Converter(ADC)-1920 x 1080 and 1600X1200 Resolution

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Great
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Gary H.,8/6/2016 9:55:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio Video Converters > Syba > SYBA SY-ADA31025 VGA to HDMI Converter with Audio Support, up to 1920 x 1080 Output Resolution

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works perfect right out of the box.
Pros: 1) Super easy installation.
2) Well written, easy to follow quick setup sheet.
3) Works exactly as described by SYBA and Newegg.
4) Supports 1080p resolution(s).
5) My laptop really looks fantastic on our 44" 4K UHD TV.
6) Very reasonable price.
Cons: Zero problems.
Other Thoughts: When we bought a new 44" UHD 4K TV for our bedroom, we knew that it did not have a VGA (PC) connection on it. Our previous 32" LED TV ended up in our daughters bedroom when we brought home the new 44" UHD 4K TV. My laptop does not have a HDMI port on it- Just a VGA. I needed a converter that would take the laptop VGA and Audio and make it able to use one of the HDMI ports on the UHD TV.
Enter the SYBA SY-ADA31025 VGA to HDMI Converter with Audio Support, up to 1920 x 1080 Output Resolution. I knew that I would not get 2K or 4K out of this device- so my expectations were realistic. Honestly I just wanted to get my laptop back on the big screen. After a quick update on the video drivers for the laptop- I'm now running a full HD at 1920 x 1080 resolution.
I've got to be honest here- WOW! It looks and sounds better than I ever could have hoped for. Ever.
The converter has some sort of built in magic.... That's how my wife describes the clarity and color depth....It's Magic.
She can play her games on fullscreen with zero lag or frame skip.
Okay, I'll agree with my wife on this one- There is some kind of wonderful hardware in the converter.
I'm a retired I.T. manager and Network Engineer. So, I've always understood that the hardware we often purchase is tested under "ideal" conditions for specifications.
When you buy this product- keep your expectations realistic. No, It won't take a 800 x 600 VGA signal and boost it to 4K UHD. That's not what it's designed for or able to do.
But- what it does- is exactly as described and detailed in the specifications.

You will be pleasantly surprised when you use this product.
The price is very reasonable.
Thank you SYBA for an outstanding product that fits my needs and budget perfectly.

Understand that it will take you UP TO 1920 x 1080 resolution.
If your output device (laptop, netbook, htpc or desktop PC) doesn't support full HD (1080p) you simply will not get that on your input HDMI.

Yes, I do recommend this product.
Reviewed By:CLIFFORD V.,8/3/2016 3:57:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio Video Converters > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GDPDVIW6 DisplayPort to DVI Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work unless you have a DP++ port.
Pros: None that I can think of.
Cons: It was not clearly described that this is a passive adapter and not compatible with a majority of Displayport outputs on popular video cards. For my application, and I suspect many others, this is just a doorstop!
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for your experience. The GDPDVIW6 is a passive adapter best utilized for viewing content from your DisplayPort Enabled device on a DVI display or projector. Since it is not an active adapter, we do not advertise that it be used for applications such as video streaming. Your comments will be sent to the product manager for review. Since the unit is backed by IOGEAR's limited life time warranty feel free to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:John W.,8/3/2016 11:09:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.