Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Thin Client Systems > Wyse Technology > Wyse Thin Client Server System Marvell ARMADA PXA 510 v7 1.0 GHz system-on-chip (SoC) 1GB No Hard Drive Dell Wyse ThinOS 909566-01L (T10)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Server 2012 RD Session Client
Pros: I setup 5 of these with 1080p monitors connecting to a Windows Server 2012 remote desktop session host. It is working out great. My not-so-tech-savvy users can't even really tell that they are connecting into a remote machine (remote machine is still local to building, on gigabit network).

It is RemoteFX capable. Watching 1080p video is tolerable, but 720p and below is just like watching on a local machine. (I am not sure how much of that is due to server vs client loading, though.)

Running basic knowledge user applications is just like running on a local machine (Web browsing, PDF view/edit, Quickbooks, MS Office)

I am able to connect analog and USB headsets, as well as USB flash drives, to to the remote machine.

Came with basic Dell USB Mouse and USB Keyboard, as well as a DVI->VGA adapter.
Cons: Cannot delete "default" connections.
This is a bit of a hindrance when dealing with a not-so-tech-savvy user base. If there is a button they should never click, it is better to just not to have the button. My way around this is to rename the unused default connection to "Do Not Click This", and actually use the other default connection and name it "Click This".
Reviewed By:N/A,9/14/2014 6:02:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Thin Client Systems > NComputing. Inc. > NComputing L300 Virtual Thin Client System for Windows and Linux VDI Solution

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Budget solution (video issues)
Pros: Cheap as dirt PC station, easy to install, can handle Internet/intranet browsing.
Cons: Flaky connection (regular loss of connection).
Average-poor reliability: every 12 hours, expect 20% of your stations to crash, requiring a hard-reboot of the device. Also, some of the USB and VGA ports will be unreliable too (expect 10% of your batch to require repair/RMA/trashing after 6 months).
Terrible video performance: scrolling 3 lines blurs the entire screen and freeze the station for 0.5 to 1 second.
Other Thoughts: If you really can't afford anything else and your users don't work on these stations for hours (on long and lots of documents), it might be an "okay" choice.

Otherwise, it's going to be a very frustrating experience for the users who try to work on it. In that case, it might be better to only get 2/3 or 1/2 of available stations, but actual computers this time.

Tasks:
- Checking their emails = OK.
- Checking a few information online (Internet/intranet) = OK.
- Writing a few emails, 1-2 pages documents = possible, but cumbersome.
- Working on documents with more than 4 pages, or with more than 3 documents = NOPE.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/5/2014 7:35:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Thin Client Systems > NComputing. Inc. > NComputing L300 Virtual Thin Client System for Windows and Linux VDI Solution

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Made my life easier
Pros: Easy to setup, extremely affordable (as you can see ^), compliant with all of my EDU software, secure, power savings, scalable and central management
Cons: The only con I can think of is that at first my video and audio was a bit choppy. I got in touch with the rep at NComputing who called me previously and he got me an engineer to solve my problem. They have quite a bit of server speccing guides that I missed
Other Thoughts: I would definitly recommend this to anyone in the EDU field since that is what I'm most well versed in. It's been very easy to use and setup. Plus i'm only managing two hot PC's instead 47 standard desktops.
Reviewed By:ITWizard,8/27/2014 2:33:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Thin Client Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP t510 Thin Client Server System VIA Eden X2 U4200 1 GHz 2GB RAM / 1GB Flash No Hard Drive HP Smart Zero Technology H2P25AT#ABA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: No moving parts means less wear and tear, works great as a RDP client.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Didn't care much for the HP Smart Zero OS setup, but I didn't investigate it completely because I've been imaging them with the HP ThinPro OS instead.

Wish I could get OpenVPN running on HP ThinPro.
Reviewed By:IT Admin,3/14/2014 1:04:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Thin Client Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP Thin Client Server System TI TMS320DM8148 ARM Cortex-A8 1GHz 1GB RAM / 2GB Flash No Hard Drive HP Smart Zero Core H2W21AT#ABA (t410)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Perfect for POE Kiosk
Pros: Small footprint, POE, Advanced configuration features
Cons: Slow video playback, limited resolution
Other Thoughts: If you have a POE+ and VM infrastructure, and need a small footprint kiosk, this is the device you're looking for.
Reviewed By:PDIT,2/7/2014 9:32:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Thin Client Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP t410 Smart Zero Client Server System TI TMS320DM8148 ARM Cortex-A8 1GHz 1G RAM / 2G Flash No Hard Drive HP Smart Zero Core H2W23AT#ABA

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 jmetz
Pros: affordable, does as advertised - currently have 10 of these and they are problem free
Cons: has dual monitor support but actually has one display shown on 2 monitors, not a real con but you have to get used to it
Reviewed By:jmetz,10/20/2013 6:06:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Thin Client Systems > NComputing. Inc. > NComputing L300 Virtual Thin Client System for Windows and Linux VDI Solution

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Don't recommend
Pros: not sure any exist. For a little more than each thin client cost I could build a good computer for school use (when you factor in the servers you need to run them in a school setting.
Cons: really buggy software. overpriced for what they are. you could buy google chromebooks or cuboxs that actually have their own processors and ram and storage. repeatedly have problems.
Other Thoughts: As a tech deploying these in schools, I have seen a lot of issues. Currently there is no way to setup a printer conveniently. Students have to pick their class printer from a list of others in the school and that is a real issue at any grade level. Every time we update the server software to a new version or roll back to an older more stable version we have to go around to each box again and do setup. On a more general note, some software our schools use doesn't run on thin clients periond.We have only deployed a fraction of them so far and have had techs and engineers from their company come down and try to help get their bugs straightened out. These things have cost us more time than they will ever save. If you must try thin clients use a more established company.
Reviewed By:shotgunman006,9/10/2013 5:02:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Thin Client Systems > Chip PC > Chip PC Thin Client Xtreme PC EX7500NG Thin Client RMI - Alchemy Au 1550, 500 MHz RISC (equivalent to 1.2 GHz x86 TC Processors) 128 MB DDR Windows CE CPN04328

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 RDP not
Pros: Size and power consumption are good - mounts to a wall - has dual VGA and DVI outputs - specs make it sound good

Good tech support from Chip PC - I contacted them about the issue and they were able to recommend a different unit (LXD8941) and provide a demo unit which works very well in our environment
Cons: Doesn't really live up to expectations in a Windows RDP environment - Using it with a terminal server and it is necessary to turn the user experience down significantly in order to get smooth scrolling action and reduce lag - Thankfully this particular user isn't too picky
Other Thoughts: Tech support said that this particular model works better in a Citrix environment
Reviewed By:ATScuba,9/9/2013 6:24:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Thin Client Systems > NComputing. Inc. > NComputing L300 Virtual Thin Client System for Windows and Linux VDI Solution

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good and bad
Pros: One of the cheapest thin client solutions, easy to deploy, good multimedia support when you "tune" the host.

We have these at several client sites and they seem to like them.
Cons: Must modify host using their performance guides (registry edits) to take care of video performance issues, night and day difference afterwards. USB support is horrible. Vspace software caused frequent blue screens on a terminal server at one of our client sites, no problems at other sites (Windows issue??).
Other Thoughts: I'm a huge fan of VDI and thin client use. I basically like this device, it has it's uses but due to it's limitations I prefer a higher end HP thin client. With the HPs I can't tell that I'm not on an actual PC, with the L300 it seems like I'm looking at everything through a lens so to speak.
Reviewed By:TDR-Sig,9/5/2013 10:12:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Thin Client Systems > Wyse Technology > Wyse Thin Client Server System Marvell ARMADA PXA 510 v7 1.0 GHz system-on-chip (SoC) 1GB No Hard Drive Dell Wyse ThinOS 909566-01L (T10)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Gets the job done.
Pros: Small, compact, includes everything you need and once you setup Wyse Device manager or TFTP server with you ini file its a breeze
Cons: Wish the keyboard and mouse were similar to the Dell PCs kits
Other Thoughts: It does come with a PS2 mouse however, there is a PS2 port built into the side of the keyboard so you only need 1 USB for both keyboard and mouse.
Reviewed By:techmedic,8/22/2013 12:28:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.