Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Signal Routing & Distributions > IOGEAR > IOGEAR 4-Port 4K HDMI Switch with RemoteGHDSW4K4

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 4-port HDMI switch unit
Pros: This does the job, as I was lacking a couple of HDMI connections on my tv set. What is really nice is that one of the connections is in front, great for plugging in my laptop and phone.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Comes with a remote control.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2015 5:52:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Signal Routing & Distributions > Gefen > Gefen 8x8 Crosspoint Matrix for HDMI EXT-HDFST-848CPN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as advertised
Pros: Machine has 8 HDMI inputs and 8 HDMI Outputs. You can display any of the inputs to any output you want. It lets you have only one input at a time per output; however you can make whatever combinations of inputs/outputs you want. Even lets you have one input on all outputs. The signal seems strong even when you have all or one.

You can save macros on the system for quick switching. There is a built in web-server to use that makes this easy.

The device is rack mount and sturdy. It can also sit out on a desk if that is how you have your setup.

The machine has not crashed even once. It is very stable.

The push buttons are nice. There is enough room for tape labels if you are frugal with space and use small type without margins.

I have one hooked up with mac minis, windows PC, a chrome cast, an apple TV, a DVD player, and a receiver that does HDMI output. I used cat6 to HDMI converters to reach some of the TV's that are far away. I have TV's on all of the outputs however sometimes I will temporarily attach a PC monitor. So far no issues with any of these technologies.
Cons: I'd make sure you have a firewall on this one as the built in web server is not encrypted. Someone else in your network and anywhere in between may be able to get your login password with the correct tools. You can only have two users on this.

The onboard screen is not very intuitive and low resolution. You're better off using the web console for administration.
Other Thoughts: This is professional grade gear.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/23/2015 9:42:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Signal Routing & Distributions > STARTECH > StarTech 3 Port HDMI Auto Switch w/ IR Remote Control VS123HD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 basically worthless
Pros: few, if any
Cons: Doesn't auto switch as listed. IR remote spotty at best, non-existant at worst.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Daniel,

Thank you for taking the time to review the VS123HD.

We are sorry to hear about your trouble with the auto switch feature. The way the VS123HD auto switches between HDMI connections is by sensing whether an HDMI connection is active or not. There are some HDMI based devices that do not always appropriately power down the HDMI connection; to test this you can try removing power to the connected HDMI device. If it then switches to the next powered port, this likely indicates the device does not remove power from the HDMI connection. This behaviour can often be changed in the power settings of your HDMI device.

With regards to the IR remote support, please be sure that the IR sensor has a direct line of sight to the remote.

Please do not hesitate to connect with us at StarTech.com if you require further assistance, and kindly reference case number 303-243151 when doing so. We will be more than happy to assist you in troubleshooting the auto switch function and IR connection.

Customer Support
StarTech.com
http://www.startech.com/techsupport

Reviewed By:N/A,6/14/2015 3:59:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Signal Routing & Distributions > matrox > Matrox DS1/HDMI Thunderbolt Docking Station for MacBook Pro and MacBook Air

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Done with Matrox
Pros: It kind of works, when it's not bugging out.
Cons: This will be the last Matrox product I ever purchase for personal or professional use. I got this dock for use at work. I write software, so I depend upon multiple monitors for work. This seemed perfect at first glance, however, I started having issues with what I thought, were related to my MacBook Pro. The unit refused to boot past a black screen sometimes. I attributed this to a Mac error until one day I unplugged the DS1 dock. Low and behold, the Mac instantly booted. Turns out, this dock can keep the unit from booting occasionally. I can deal with that issue. The larger issue to me is that the video randomly drops out on the monitor hooked to the DS1. There is no rhyme or reason to this happening and it's quite annoying.

The deal breaker for me was when I contacted Matrox and explained this issue and they started out by initially telling me there was no known issue with these units. A few more emails in, after I repeat my issue over and over to the exact same tech (as well as replying back and including the original text), it's clear he a- doesn't care, b- doesn't read my replies. He ends on a note saying that they have contacted Apple about the issues regarding their thunderbolt docks and claim these issues to be related to Apple. Funny, the first email stated they knew of no issues with these units, and now all of a sudden, they have known faults that, of course, aren't faults of their own. He ended the email by letting me know that I'm beyond the warranty period, the DS1 is now discontinued and superseded, and that also even if they had agreed to RMA my unit, the problem "might not even be resolved". So, it's clear to me they care little for their reputation or for their customer service. Goodbye Matrox - I'll find another company to spend my cash on who actually cares about their customers and their CS reputation.
Other Thoughts: I will never again purchase anything from Matrox. Their customer service is by far one of the worst experiences I've had.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/4/2015 10:08:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Signal Routing & Distributions > STARTECH > StarTech 3 Port HDMI Auto Switch w/ IR Remote Control VS123HD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than expected
Pros: We have an older LCD TV with only one HDMI port, but we connect a PC, chromecast and BluRay player to it and switching was a pain. This has totally solved that problem perfectly. It comes with a dinky remote which is largely unnecessary as it does a great job of switching to what you are using (turn on the BluRay and it switches to that, load something onto chromecast and it switches to that, set the compy to display through HDMI and it pops up).
Cons: It would be nice if it came with more ports, but if you only need 3, this is the thing.
Reviewed By:Bizzenya,2/22/2015 9:36:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Signal Routing & Distributions > IOGEAR > IOGEAR Long Range Wireless 5 x 2 HD Matrix PRO GWHDMS52MB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Out of the box...
Pros: ...it worked!

It sets up its own wifi connection automatically, so there's nothing to configure. The most difficult part was getting the plastic protector off the batteries and getting them into the remote (just kidding)

I purchased this to drive two monitors (65"/32") in the front and back of the main room at our local makelab. I have a ChromeCast, an Apple TV, input from our data rack's KVM (VGA->HDMI adapter also from Newegg) and an extra HDMI cable attached for laptops that can't connect to the ChromeCast or the Apple TV.

We're only going about 30', but the signal appears to be strong. I would suspect the advertised range of 200' is accurate.

The delay is minimal, only a few milliseconds, and it works great showing the same video on both displays or showing different input on each. We can even have audio turned up on both and the delay is barely noticeable.

I will probably get a few more receivers in the near future so that we can put monitors in the rest of the rooms.
Cons: My only slight complaint is that it sometimes takes five seconds or more to react to channel changes. It isn't "instant" when you change inputs.
Reviewed By:Oz,1/19/2015 8:54:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Signal Routing & Distributions > STARTECH > StarTech 2 Port DisplayPort Video Switch with Audio & IR Remote Control VS221DP

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Startech 2 Port DisplayPort Switch
Pros: Seems like a sturdy product, quality parts and connectors, look good.
Cons: didn't work out of the box. Tried re-reading manuals and went online looking for details or what I might be doing wrong, before considering the product failed. I am an experienced systems administrator, but still we all make mistakes so I researched. I even tried several work-arounds to get this working, with no luck.

I contacted support from the OEM and after one reply to check connections (or similar), I heard nothing again.

Sadly, this is too expensive a part to recommend "giving it a try". Startech does have some good products, but I think this may have simply been a DOA and it was Customer Support that really failed here.
Other Thoughts: Use a well-known OEM until this provider matures in customer support. There are other options, some perhaps a little more expensive, but post purchase care is worth it.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/18/2014 5:34:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Signal Routing & Distributions > Belkin > Belkin HDMI 2-to-1 Switch B2B091-C00 - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow
Pros: Simple, small, auto-switching = great. Much to my surprise you can even change the primary port from 1 to 2 and back.
Cons: If you mind the little blue (and somewhat bright then either tuck it behind your equipment or don't buy. Personally I would stick it behind the equipment
Reviewed By:madmanperez,5/18/2014 11:09:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Signal Routing & Distributions > Cables To Go > C2G TruLink 4-Port VGA/USB 2.0 KVM Switch 35567

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Good quality, beefy product. Works as advertised. No lag time between selections.
Cons: USB connects to the front of the box which looks off to me. Would make the wiring more tidy if connects were on the side or rear.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/14/2014 12:20:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Signal Routing & Distributions > STARTECH > StarTech 4 Port Component Video Switch with Digital Audio and Remote CPNT410IR

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Piece of JUNK! (for lack of better word)
Pros: Wastes a lot of your time by auto switching to inputs all by itself. Have fun figuring out why!!
Cons: Wastes a lot of your time by auto switching to inputs all by itself. Have fun figuring out why!!
Other Thoughts: Finally got to install this for a client but since I've had it for 35 days I'm stuck with it. Another win for China!
Reviewed By:N/A,3/8/2014 10:04:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.