Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Corsair > Corsair Voyager Air 2 Plus 1TB USB 3.0 / Wireless Wireless Drive CMFAIR-VA2P-1000-NA

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A Neat 1TB Drive
Pros: Can be used over USB, ethernet or wifi.
powered by a built-in battery.
can act as a wifi router for up to 8 devices.
Can be used with an app for mobile devices to stream music/video directly from the drive.
Can be used as a CIFS/DLNA server (DLNA functionality not tested by me)
Supports ntfs/ext2/ext3/ext4 in multiple partitions.
According to Corsair, supports hpfs as well.
Supports Google drive and Dropbox
Cons: The battery and internal HD are not meant to be user replaceable.
When connected through USB, the drive seems to draw bus power. This isn't enough though to keep it running, and the battery will run down eventually unless the separate power cable is also connected to either the AC charger, or another USB port. The user manual does say the drive will charge through the USB connection if it is powered off.
The app (at least for android) can be used to stream from the drive, but cannot be used to emulate a second drive as if it was attached to the device.
No support to act as a ISCSI target.
The built in CIFS server has no support for LVM2.
Only supports access points which use PSK for wifi pass-through.
Battery charge level isn't indicated in the web interface or mobile app when the drive is plugged into AC power.
The drive cannot have a static IP set for using ethernet or wifi pass-through. Also, to know what IP address is assigned to the drive, you have to check your dhcp server's logs, or specifically setup your dhcp server to assign a static IP to the drive based on its MAC address.
No internal security. Anyone connected to the drive's wifi access point or on the same ethernet network as the drive has access to everything on it, and can add to or delete files from it.
No IPv6 support.
Other Thoughts: This is a multi-function drive. You can use it as a regular USB drive (including querying SMART status). When the drive is connected through USB, both ethernet and wifi are automatically disabled.
You can also use it over ethernet or wifi on your home network, or you can use it over its built in wifi with mobile devices when you're on the go. Corsair says the built in battery can power the drive for up to seven hours. It has been somewhere between five-six hours in my experience with about the same amount of time needed to recharge. I don't have any USB 3.0 machines here, and my network is 100 MBPS based. Having said that, transfer speeds over USB and ethernet are what I would expect. Connected to the drive over wifi, read/write speeds are at about 50 MBPS using a laptop with a wifi card which is 802.11N capable. This drops to about 40 MBPS if the drive is set to provide access to the internet via ethernet pass-through. Read/write speeds drop significantly though if the drive is set to provide access to the internet over wifi pass-through. Transfers start at about 300 KBPS, and peak at about 20 MBPS. When using wifi pass-through, the wifi connection is fully filtered/firewalled on the incoming side. So devices connected to the drive, including the drive itself are safe from unwanted external connections from the wifi network to which the drive is connected in wifi pass-through mode. I am using the mobile app on a nexus 5 running android 6. The app is very much like the drive's web interface. The app does well enough when streaming music. If I try to seek through a flac file though, the app will at times stop playing the file altogether telling me that it can't play the file. Playing videos with the app is hit and miss for me. Some videos open in the app itself. Most open in mxplayer. Others crash the app, or cause my phone to reboot. I am not sure what the determining factor is here, since videos with the same file extension and video format play fine, and others don't. I am a user of the talkback screen reader, and noticed that a lot of the buttons in the app aren't labeled. I was able to figure out what most of them do, and label them myself, though I shouldn't have needed to do that. As for uploading/downloading files using the app, I found I'm better off doing that using the samba/CIFS route instead. When using the app, it is necessary to either configure the drive to provide connection to the internet using ethernet/wifi pass-through, or to disable the data connection on my phone. Otherwise, the phone ignores the wifi connection to the voyager air due to no connection to the internet, and the app can't find the voyager air. This is an issue caused by android itself, rather than by the app. The voyager air has rudimentary support for Dropbox and Google drive. I cannot however seem to choose what will be synced from either service; the voyager air will happily sync all the contents from both services. With the voyager air connected to the same LAN as a laptop running the Dropbox client, the voyager air seems not to be able to sync over my LAN; it syncs from Dropbox directly. The voyager air seems to be running linux/busybox as its operating system according to some web searching. Shame on Corsair for not giving advanced users the option of logging into the voyager air's operating system over ssh to expand its flexibility. I can for example envision the ability to mount a LUKS container within the drive itself, and allow that container's contents to be shared over CIFS. The previously mentioned web searching provides other such scenarios, if only ... In conclusion, if you are someone who travels a lot, and you want to have your vast collection of music/movies with you in a small compact device, which also doubles as a wifi router, the voyager air is for you. On the other hand, if you are technically savvy, putting something like this together from an older computer, or even a raspberry pi which would give you more flexibility, is probably a less expensive superior choice.
Reviewed By:Gregory N.,2/8/2016 4:52:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1.5TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EU (HX-MTD15EU/G2)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Wireless, But Not The Best
Pros: Has a decent amount of space.
Transfers over USB are fast
Battery life is decent
Cons: Transferring files to and from the drive over its wireless connection is extremely slow.
Not really more useful than a wired external HDD
Can be difficult to turn on and off.
Larger, heavier, and more expensive than 2 TB external HDDs.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this external HDD is nice, but it tries to be more than a simple external HDD by adding wireless features that aren't really that useful. Over wifi multiple devices can connect to it at the same time, but the transfer speeds aren't very good, and it can be inconvenient to use. If you connect to the drive over the wired USB 3.0 slot, it is considerably faster, and you can remain connected to a general WiFi connection for Internet usage.

I tried to think of a real world use scenario for this device that would be more useful than a wired external HDD, and the only one I could think of is if you were traveling in a car on a long trip with several people who want to stream videos. In that case, it would be nice, but it would not be helpful in any other situation. Even if multiple users needed to access files on the drive at the same time, it would be far faster and easier to connect the drive one by one to each system and transfer than to do it over the network.

Although the drive has nice build quality, the added price of the not so useful battery and wifi features make it a tough sell, and I would honestly recommend users look into other external drives.
Reviewed By:Michael S.,1/13/2016 2:52:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1.5TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EU (HX-MTD15EU/G2)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 not bad
Pros: I bought two of them ,both working well ,easy set-up,it can connect to my home wireless as a hotspot,connect toTV(my TV connectewd with a internet cable), my iphone,ipad ,Lenovo Android PC connect to home wireless in a same time and they all can work with it. .
Cons: it does not work with outdoor wireless hotspot by internet provider company because it does not has a "MAC wireless address"
The hotspot needs the MAC wireless address.

Other Thoughts: none
Reviewed By:KAM W.,1/1/2016 6:30:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD 1TB My Passport Wireless Portable External Hard Drive - WIFI USB 3.0 - WDBK8Z0010BBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Western Digital just don't care.
Pros: Wireless plus USB Connection is nice. Price is fair.
Cons: I've had to RMA one of these drives already. The drive's disc stops spinning after having about a minute of no activity. This would be good if it didn't take it so long to start back up (sometime up to a minute of waiting for it just to start). Contacted Western Digital about this idling and they pretty much said I made it up. Had I not had two drives doing it I would've believed them. The idling only occurs when used via USB. Using it wirelessly under high performance mode works but only via WiFi. WiFi is better but slower than USB so it's a lose-lose situation. The Windows Store app hasn't been updated on forever and dispite a low rating Western Digital refuses to update it so good luck with connecting to it via any Windows phone or tablet.
Manufacturer Response:Hey There Anonymous,
Thanks for your feedback regarding the Black² drive. It is regrettable hearing about this unexpected behavior with this drive. We would like the chance to further discuss your particular environment this drive was installed, and the type of failure encountered in order to determine the root cause of this concern. We may be able to help get your drive operating as designed after some troubleshooting or assist you with replacing this drive under warranty. If you wouldn’t mind spending a little more time with this to discuss the manner and steps you took to get to this point with one of our Support Team members, we would appreciate the opportunity to provide a solution. Please follow our contact information below and be sure to mention this New Egg review as reference.

Need Help? Please follow the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932.
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:N/A,12/31/2015 5:51:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1.5TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EU (HX-MTD15EU/G2)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A bit complicated to setup correctly
Pros: A "Samsung Wireless" App is available on Google Play for download. It my be simpler to configure the device via the App, but I chose to configure via my laptop using a web browser.
I later used the App to update the Firmware from Firmware Version: 0.2.7.0 to 0.2.9.2 just by selecting Yes (twice, once to download, once to install) which popped up automatically.

The device (properly configured) essentially acts as a Range Extender. That is, the device connects WiFi to your Router. Your Laptop or Phone connects WiFi to the device. This allows you to access the files stored on the device, and browse the internet at the same time. When you carry the device away from your router, you still have access to the files on the device via WiFi.

You can also connect to the device through your Router. The App also provides an interface to switch your WiFi "back an forth" between the Device and your Router.

The device comes with the coolest A/C adapter / charger I have seen for international Wall Plugs.
The charger is quite small, just under two inches square, by just over one inch thick (i.e. 1 15/16" x 1 15/16" x 1 3/8"). Its is USB 3.0 and provides 2.0 Amps of charging current at 5.0 volts.
The US wall plug is built into the charger (and folds in and out). Three additional wall plug adapters are provided (for the UK, Europe, Asia, etc).
The additional wall plugs slide into the US plug (while folded into the charger) keeping the total size quite small.

The device appears to be running a mini version of Linux (e.g. configuration files are saved as ".tar.gz").

Lots of storage (1.5 TB). The drive inside is Seagate ST1500LM010. Three disk platter, five head, 5400 RPM.

The battery can be used to recharge your cell phone (or any USB device).
Cons: Setup is a bit complicated. I suggest first making a copy of the Instruction Manual by attaching the device (via the USB cable) to a PC or Laptop and accessing the hard drive (as you would for any USB attached storage).
At this point you can load content (i.e. Images, Audio, and Video files) to the device by simple "drag and drop".

Powering the device On and Off (when not connected via USB 3.0) is not obvious. Here is what I did (after some struggling):
1. Press (and hold In) the power button for Three seconds.
2. Wait for the Status LED to blink slowly in Blue (not solid or Green).
3. Connect to the device's WiFi with your Phone or Laptop, using the default Password of ten zeros (i.e. "0000000000").
4. Open your Web browser to URL http://172.25.0.1/.
5. Navigate to Settings, Device, Advanced, System, Wireless, WiFi WAN. Using the menus, enter your Routers SSID and Password.
- Wait for the device to connect to your Router. You can now connect your Phone or Laptop to your Router's WiFi and navigate to the device using the URL your Router assigned.
6. Navigate to Settings, Device, Advanced, System, Wireless, Settings. Using the menus, set the SSID and Password for the device's WiFi Server (i.e. for security, change the defaults).
- If something goes wrong, and you can no longer connect to the device's WiFi, you can connect to your Router's WiFi and navigate back to the device.
- If all else fails, take a Paper Clip and press and hold IN the Reset button on the bottom of the device, until it powers off (about ten seconds).
Other Thoughts: The multiple meanings of the green/blue solid/flashing LED was not obvious to me at first.

To Power On:
If the USB cable is connected to Power, the Status LED will be Solid Green. If not, the LED will be Off.
Press and hold down the Power On/Off button for Three seconds.
The LED will flash Green once, then begin blinking Green fast, then solid Green, then begin blinking Blue slowly.

To Power Off:
The Status LED will be blinking Blue and slowly.
Press and hold down the Power On/Off button for Two seconds.
The Status LED will begin blinking Green and fast.
If the USB cable is connected to Power, the the LED will transistion to Solid Green. If not, the LED will turn Off.

Once I got used to it, I liked it.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,12/22/2015 5:52:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Corsair > Corsair Voyager Air 2 Plus 1TB USB 3.0 / Wireless Wireless Drive CMFAIR-VA2P-1000-NA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Well satisfied .. Recommend you consider
Pros: USB 3.0 / Network cable connections, Wire Less connectivity, battery or electricity

Password access protection ( recommended ) for w/l device connections
“ Pass through “ internet access for w/l connected devices
After drive software setup, Apps install were not required on other connected devices for my intended purposes
Cons: 2.0A power - takes several hours for battery to fully charge ( out of the box )
Other Thoughts: When setting up device features - there is lag time before each change is saved ... longer than instructions state .. patience. Device re-cycles after setting change ... instruction state approx. 90 sec. re-set / re-cycle time ( wait for complete restart before continuing or attempting drive access ).


Initiating internet pass through - placing drive anywhere within range of router signal, serves as an extender for other w/l connected devices …. Chinese tablets now have ext. storage and internet without mSD card size limitation or being limited to 15 - 20 feet distance from router. Apps are available for devices, if desired.
Drive / App software does not play all currently available formats … Devices have preferred apps installed

NO w/l feature when drive is connected via USB cable ... cannot attach and use drive as a w/l attachment / connection.
Network cable connection ( router ) does permit w/l connectivity to other devices

TV's, Tablets, Cell phones all have full access to storage and files, also have direct internet access through this device
I have NOT tried " streaming " ability as advertised - this was not the intended purpose
Reviewed By:Robert V.,12/20/2015 10:23:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1.5TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EU (HX-MTD15EU/G2)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Needs Work
Pros: >Pulls double duty as a device charger and portable hard drive
>Charger is the best included charger I've ever seen.
Cons: >Android app is clunky, and not very functional
>Mobile devices have to access the files through the app.
>No universal windows app
>Battery life leaves something to be desired
>Can be picky about actually turning on the device wireless
Other Thoughts: This is one of those devices that tried to do everything, so doesn't do anything all that well. It's most redeeming feature is the included charger. It is a hefty USB charger, with a standard North American plug, but it also includes a few European and Asian plug adapters that snap securely onto the charger. It is a business man's dream.

But the drive/power pack itself? leaves a lot to be desired. Turning the wireless on and off should have been done with a slider, instead of a push button, because it takes it a couple of minutes to boot up the wireless signal. So you push the button, the wireless doesn't turn on right away, so you push it again, and end up canceling the boot. Once you get the wireless connected, if you are using a mobile device, you have to download the file to your phone or tablet to access the file. Kind of defeats the purpose of having it on an external hard drive. And there doesn't seem to be a way to transfer content from this drive to your mobile device over USB. So with such a heavy reliance on an app interface for mobile devices, you would think Samsung/Seagate would offer an effective mobile app - but no. Both the android and iOS apps were very 'watch a movie' focused. So regardless of what kind of folder structure you set up on your drive with your desktop, the apps ignored it and instead have pages for videos, photos, documents, etc.If you have a word document that goes with some pictures, so you've stored them in the same folder, you are out of luck on mobile. Have to find them separately. To compound this, there is no Universal Windows App (UWA). I know what you're thinking: "who cares?" I care. I have a Surface tablet that I love, and accessing files through the surface tablet mode on wireless was a trick without an app. Also with Windows 10 on Xbox, that is a whole class of device that could make use of this kind of drive - but can't with a UWA for it. All in all, the only environment where storage functions in a user-friendly manner is on desktops, where it is treated like a portable hard drive, instead of a glorified toy.

Ignoring the software, the way you access the device wireless is annoying too. You have to leave whatever WiFi network you are on, and connect to the network this thing broadcasts. Back to using your data plan, if you normally would have WiFi for that, where ever you were. Without a Bluetooth connection, this drive is kind of handicapped. Enough wireless chips these days come with the ability to do both, so at $90 for a portable hard drive, there is little reason in my mind why it couldn't. But it doesn't.

As for the battery, it's alright. It did its job, so long as you don't ask it to do anything else. I have a larger capacity mobile battery that is lighter and thinner, and can charge tablets as well, that I am going to stick with - but having both a portable battery and portable hard drive in the same housing is a good idea. The trouble is don't even try to charge your device and access content at the same time - the battery will die really quickly. And don't bother trying to charge a device after transferring a lot of content, or transferring any content as fully charging a device. Using one ability of the device essentially limits the other - so at that point, why not stick with the very nice USB charger that they include (if you have a choice)?
Reviewed By:Michael B.,12/20/2015 7:11:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1.5TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EU (HX-MTD15EU/G2)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Neat OTG media solution
Pros: An absolutely brilliant solution for providing a media library to a car full of kids. It streamed movies to five different devices at once as advertised. Has a sleek appearance and very small footprint. The USB3 connection makes transfer of files to device extremely fast. WiFi pass-through is available in app settings. Device comes with an additional female USB port for charging your phone/device. Browser interface is fast and responsive
Cons: You cannot use this drive wirelessly while attached to a computer. Samsung Wireless Android app wants lots of personal, and I would think unnecessary, information. It took me a while to get used to the Samsung app. The device’s battery indicator is in the App/browser; I would have preferred a physical indicator on the drive itself. The battery is not user replaceable. Drive has a spinning platter so you shouldn’t be too rough with it. I’m not sure who is actually responsible for this drive? It has a Samsung name but Seagate’s name is also featured in the manual.
Other Thoughts: While this media drive is listed as 1.5TB, per normal, you’ll only see 1.36TB of usable space. Device only has one button (unless you count the reset button), and one indicator light. There is no physical copy of the manual, only a digital copy on the drive. Battery should last for up to seven hours in theory, though it will last less when streaming higher bitrate video. All-in-all, this is a decently priced and convenient way to bring a large amount of media with you when you’re travelling.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/15/2015 9:26:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD 2TB My Passport Wireless Portable External Hard Drive - Wi-Fi USB 3.0 - WDBDAF0020BBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY
Pros: None really
Cons: First one the wifi kept going offline.
Warrantied.
Second one same problem.
WD wouldn't handle a return, Newegg refused the return because the serial number didn't match (of course! I told you I warrantied it!)

Now, the second one, blew a capacitor while sitting idle on my desk. Case cracked open from the force, drive is toast. Wasn't even using it, but it was plugged into my laptop at the time. Just sitting there...
Manufacturer Response:Hello There Devin R.,
We regret hearing about your replacement drive concerns and the unexpected problems with that return, but we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Please know this is not the class of service we try to achieve. We would like very much if you could follow up with us directly so we can make this right with you. Please contact us by phone or Email below and be sure to mention this Newegg review with the support team member on your next contact along with any previous case information for reference.

Need Help? Please follow the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(855) 842-5370.
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:drowland1976,11/25/2015 11:25:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1.5TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EU (HX-MTD15EU/G2)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not a useful Media Streaming Device
Pros: Price for storage may be the only pro for the drive - but I haven't checked prices on ESATA HDD's lately.
Cons: This is basically a drive with a minimal GUI that handles some file types - but not well at all when it comes to streaming. I tried to work with it, loaded the firmware updates for the drive and I suspect the GUI but it does not respond or even function for "streaming" adequately. Doesn't work with WIN 10 via wireless to its IPv4 address through Chrome. It does not work with Android except through its GUI - and what file types does the GUI support adequately???
Other Thoughts: In my estimation, the 'device' needs to have an OS on firmware that is adequate to the task of streaming movies properly. I has to work with browsers that can stream with sound consistently and also in-turn cast to TV's etc. Gee, it would be worth $150+ if it worked because $100 obviously does not buy the "mobile media streaming device"; it's a misnomer!
Reviewed By:N/A,11/19/2015 6:20:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.