Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Project Collaboration for mobile users
Pros: This is a hard drive solution that is good for those who might collaborate on site or at a field location. It is also applicable for students collaborating in person. By creating its own hotspot, it eliminates the need for a drive to be passed around as everyone can work off of it at once, up to 8 simultaneous wireless connections. This is easy enough as all you have to do is power up the drive and the wireless access point becomes available. The name and password for the device and hotspot can be changed. If you are in an area that has internet available via wireless as well, then you can use the hard drive as a bridge. This will keep your workgroup and hard drive separated from the network you are bridging to, essentially allowing internet only pass-through.

You can also click the power button really quickly and it will turn on the usb charging mode. This allows the battery in the module to power/charge what ever device you plug into the USB A port on the side of drive. Note, the USB A allows charging of external devices while the USB 3 port on the side is how you can direct connect to the drive as well as the battery charging port. For Formatting restrictions and usage restrictions due to the format are listed in other thoughts.
Cons: Price. I know that adding things such as a battery and two wireless cards (to allow bridging) will definitely make it cost more than a standard hard drive. If they bump the size to 1.5TB or 2TB it might be a little more tempting.

If you want to connect the drive to an existing wireless network so that devices connected the EXISTING network can see it, it doesn’t work. If you want to be able to connect to the drive wirelessly, you must connect directly to the drive’s wireless hotspot. This is a no-no for anyone that might use this around the office. I believe some people have gotten around this, though I was unsuccessful with OSX 10.9 and Windows 7.

You are also not allowed to change the DHCP settings that the drive assigns. Here is an excerpt from the manual. The IP address to connect to the drive for settings changes, etc. is always: 192.168.14.1
“Network addresses on the 192.168.14.xxx subnet are reserved for use by the MiniStation Air. When the Ministation Air is connected to a wireless router, the IP address of the router should be on a different subnet (anything besides 192.168.14.xxx). For example, 192.168.11.1 or 192.168.15.1 would work fine for the router.”
Other Thoughts: This is a great drive for groups that need to collaborate with large files off-site. If needed a user could add wireless data from a phone in the field by following these steps on the computer. You can also do this process via the smartphone app.

1. Power up wireless drive and connect to it.
2. Enable the hotspot/tether mode on a smartphone.
3. Open a web browser and go to the hard drive’s config page by going to 192.168.14.1
4. This will bring you to the settings page.
5. Click “Internet Connection”
6. Click the SSID that you wish to connect to then enter your key.


Formatting Restrictions:

“The MiniStation Air is formatted with NTFS by default. For USB connection, reformat it with FAT32 as described in this manual.
Notes:
If the MiniStation Air is reformatted with HFS+, files on it will no longer be accessible from your mobile device. If you have already reformatted the MiniStation Air with a different partition, use the procedure in this manual to reformat it with FAT32.

For wireless connection, reformatting is not necessary. Refer to the quick setup guide for how to connect your Mac to the MiniStation Air wirelessly.”
Reviewed By:LongEye,10/21/2014 1:11:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EQ (HX-MTD15EQ/G2)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 such a pity
Pros: Looks good
USB speeds are on par with what I'd expect from a newer USB 3 drive (100 MB/s read, and 70 MB/s write)
The included battery is neat, and will charge my phone a bit more than one full time (moto x)
Cons: the wireless media streaming future doesn't work. I've tried on two different phones, and one tablet
Because the wireless media streaming doesn't work, the device is too large and expensive for what it provides
Other Thoughts: I loaded ~300 gb's of movies on the device via usb, installed the app to my mobile devices, joined the wireless network and opened the app. It sat there "loading" (i'm presuming trying to index the drive) for so long that I lost interest and came back later. When I did, the app had displayed the list of videos. I selected one, the app displayed and error and closed. This happened 2 more times. The 4th time I tried, the app prompted me to download a firmware update for the drive. That failed to apply 2 times.

I decided to try a different device.

Same Results

I decided to try another different device.

Same results.

I lowered the number of video files to ~100 gb.

Same results on two different devices.

I've given up trying to get it to work, and for me it's just become a big external drive with a battery that can charge my phone in an emergency. A very expensive one at that though....
Reviewed By:hessmo,10/14/2014 4:54:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Patriot Memory > Patriot Memory Gauntlet Node Up to 2TB Internal Interface:SATA II External Interface:USB 3.0 Black Wireless Hard-drive Enclosure - Fits 2.5" HDD/SSD Wifi Storage PCGTW25S

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like a charm
Pros: Everything - especially as it eliminates the chance that the drive becomes disfunctional by wearing out a USB connector due to frequent usage...
Cons: No password protection when plugged in via USB connection cable
Other Thoughts: Extremely happy about this purchase - once I realized that it only takes drives of 2.5 mm thickness....
Reviewed By:Frustrated with LaCi,10/6/2014 12:07:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Corsair > Corsair Voyager Air 1TB USB 3.0 / Ethernet / WiFi Red External Hard Drive CMFAIR-RED-1000-NA

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nice device, not usable for me
Pros: Looks great, has nice bells and whistles
Cons: Lack of Security, Cannot enter static IP addresses, Customer service is unresponsive.
Other Thoughts: I have owned this device for quite some time now, but cannot use it for what I would like because I need to be able to enter a static IP address. I have also found that there is a lack of security on the device. Of course, I could put information that I don't care about on it, but I think it would make a better door stop if that was the case. If Corsair were to add this features in a firmware update, I would recommend this little device to everyone. Until then, I cannot recommend this to anyone.
Reviewed By:IT Guy,9/23/2014 11:22:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > G-Technology > G-Technology G-Connect 500GB USB 2.0 / Ethernet / WiFi Wireless Storage for iPad and iPhone 0G02148

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Needed something wireless to review
Pros: 500 GB of hard drive space,
WIFI access with external battery or USB Charger (did not know this when I bought it, thought it HAD a battery in it.)
WIFI does allow multiple devices to play multiple different videos at the same time.
Only gets hot when watching movies, it does get warm when viewing photos, but all externals get hot with continued use like copying and retrieving. this got REALLY hot watching videos though.
USB2 attachment
Ethernet Port
Cons: GET VERY HOT, so hot, that it will interfere with video your watching. I was watching a 2 hour movie and 80 minutes into the movie, the video "HD signal lost style", blocks and instant freezes, very annoying, until it stopped, my only course to fix is to disconnect the WIFI of the Ipad Air, then reconnect. This would allow me to get another 10 minutes of the movie in, and would have to repeat again.

From a hotel, I added an ice pack to the top side of the drive with the bottom facing up. I was able to get 3 hours of continuous video streaming in then, the air ports on the bottom of the drive do not vent enough heat out. Which is sad, but expected for the price.

I won't be able to watch movies for very long in the car unless the drive can be mounted to an AC port to cool it down.

I could have sworn the advertisement said it had a 2000+ mA battery in it, that would at least explain the weight, it is a chunky box for only a drive and mobo card inside it. Fortunately, I invested in a 10KmA battery before I got this device.
Other Thoughts: I'd still have bought this knowing it didn't have a battery. I needed the experience for a friend with several tablets they have cause they wanted me to fix an XP computer with a virus, and I talked them into just copying the data off to an external drive then ditch the computer since they never use it. This would just allow all their tablets to access it at the same time too.
Reviewed By:MarkRob,9/16/2014 7:23:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Wireless Plus STCK1000100 1TB Mobile Device Storage with Built-In Wi-Fi Streaming

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Dissatisified
Pros: Fast
Cons: Power button broke in few minutes.
very poorly designed, its stucked, the drive wont shutdown or the wifi.
Reviewed By:BrokenEgg,9/11/2014 1:36:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > G-Technology > G-Technology G-Connect 500GB USB 2.0 / Ethernet / WiFi Wireless Storage for iPad and iPhone 0G02148

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 They fixed pricing so this is a great item
Pros: Allows multiple connections to created wifi hotspot. Has a built in 500 Gb hard drive. Small form factor (2.5" drive). Allows pas through internet access when connected to a network.
Cons: Must be plugged in (either with adapter, portable battery or to a device) to work (no internal battery on this).
Setup can be tricky . (You must have a computer with wifi access - NOT ETHERNET - in order to setup this device).
Other Thoughts: I have now been using this for a few weeks and its is exactly what I have been looking for for years (didn't want to spend $ hundreds for a device).
Now that they fixed the pricing SNAFU this a great device at a good price.
Reviewed By:kcal63,8/11/2014 11:29:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What. A. Product.
Pros: What an amazing device. This is my first hard drive of this type and I love it. I have owned portable hard drives from buffalo in the past and they have not failed me yet. They also happen to be a bit cheaper than others, maybe because their name is more obscure, but thats not important.

First off, 1000 gigabytes is more than enough for even the most avid movie watcher. Hundreds of movies can fit on this device, same with TV shows. As far as ebook storage for an ereader or tablet, the number that can be stored is in the hundreds of thousands. Plus this device can be accessed from absolutely any device, not just portable devices like tablets or more specifically, ipads.

Mac, iphone, ipad, android, and windows all work perfectly with this product. Linux also most likely works, but I didn't have a version of it set up at the time to check.

The form of this HD is super thin and light which means leaving this in your purse or car and accessing it whenever you need to, say through your ipod to get some extra music for the day, it is always there.

Easily access all of your files and organize them from any device with a screen, and even easier through a laptop computer.
Cons: The price 100%. I completely understand that the price is justified since it's a new type of product which is extremely useful and combines old ideas to make new ones, which all costs money, but not many people are willing to drop over 150$ on a 1TB hard drive when they can just spend 80 and drop the wi-fi feature.
Reviewed By:axoh17,8/10/2014 1:05:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > G-Technology > G-Technology G-Connect 500GB USB 2.0 / Ethernet / WiFi Wireless Storage for iPad and iPhone 0G02148

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 good product, price is bait and switch
Pros: Good little device to use as a portable (semi) wifi network to stream content to devices like tablets and phones. (Needs to either be plugged in or have a battery attached to it).
Once setup its dead simple to use.
Cons: Price, they got me once, not this time, its a vendor bait and switch they advertise one price but when you put it in cart its $15 more.
The setup on this thing can be a bit complicated (needs a computer that has wifi access to the internet (NOT a wired ethernet connection, that won't work).
Reviewed By:kc,8/6/2014 10:46:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Wireless Portability of 1 TB of videos/music/photos
Pros: The Buffalo HDW-PDU3 Wireless Mobile Storage device does as its name implies. I am reviewing the device which has 1.0 TB of storage for videos, music, and pictures, or even data you can access. I have set up this device to wirelessly transmit videos I stored on it through the network to my Smart TV. I also downloaded the Buffalo MiniStation2 App to my Android smartphone for access to the data stored on this device.

1) The device does exactly as it is advertised to do. You can upload video, music, pictures, or data to it by attaching it to a computer through a USB connection. The device supports SuperSpeed USB 3.0. You can access the device wirelessly by using the devices SSID and passphrase. The stored files can be accessed from any DLNA supported device. The device also allows up to three simultaneous HD streams. I have tried streaming two videos from the device at the same time to two separate Smart TVs and there were no complications, though they were only 480p.

2) Secondly the device can be used to charge your cell phone since it has a battery charge life of 12 hours. This is great for someone like me who travels quite frequently. It's size is that of a Samsung S4/S5 smart phone except it is approximately a quarter of an inch thicker.

3)The device also transmits wirelessly its contents to your smartphone once you download the App. I have uploaded hours of TV shows and movies on to this unit and have enjoyed watching them on my smartphone during plane flights and hotel stays.

4) The wireless range is excellent. I am able to receive a signal from the second floor in my home to the other side in the basement.

5) The 3 year warranty is a nice benefit to have on a piece of equipment that is made for portability.
Cons: 1) Very poor documentation is provided on how to set this device up. It was mostly trial and error on my part.

2) The battery indicator light is either green or red. It would be helpful to know how close you are to being drained by adding bars or some other measure.

3) I could not set this up as a hot spot on our home network, but could only access it through the devices SSID and passphrase. Though it is advertised to be a wireless hotspot.

4) My USB Transfer speeds were around 27.8Mbps using a USB 3.0 connection. This was a little disappointing.
Other Thoughts: The product fills the need for portability of large amounts of stored videos, music and pictures. It's great to take with you when travelling on vacation or for business. I will rate this product as a 4 out of 5 eggs due to the cons I mentioned above.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/6/2014 5:56:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau