Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 3TB My Passport Wireless Pro Portable External Hard Drive - WiFi AC, SD, USB 3.0 - WDBSMT0030BBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Came infected with virus in installer, does NOT have Mycloud function
Pros: Packed with lots of various, cool little features. But missing some, see cons.
Cons: 1) Installer program for Windows on the drive itself comes infected with a Bitcoin Mining Virus! Was caught by every computer I plugged it into directly.
2) Unlike the non Pro model, you DON'T get your own "cloud" with this. Unless you consider carrying it around a "personal cloud". Get the non-Pro version and you can access your files from anywhere. Or you can open up your ftp port ... but don't expect to be able to set the login credentials, it's open to the world.
Other Thoughts: What a waste of money
Reviewed By:Justin A.,1/14/2017 10:51:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra 12TB 2 x 3.5 inch hard drive bays, hot swap capable, tray-less design 12TB My Cloud EX2 Ultra 2-bay NAS WDBVBZ0120JCH-NESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Wrong item shipped?
Pros: Clean appearance
Easy to set up
Cons: My product came showing about 2TB of apace in a raid setup, but I purchased the 12GB model, not the 4Gb.
Other Thoughts: Order mix-up? Its not obvious from the order history or the invoice.
Reviewed By:samuel m.,1/13/2017 5:41:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 0TB My Cloud PR4100 Pro Series Diskless Media Server with Transcoding, NAS - Network Attached Storage Model WDBNFA0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Easy to Use, but MASSIVE DESIGN FLAW
Pros: -> Simple to administer.
-> Fast
-> Plex Server transcodes very well
Cons: This thing is saddled with a massive design flaw. It apparently cannot communicate to external USB drives that use the UAS protocol. (USB Attached SCSI). This is a new protocol that is starting to proliferate with fast high capacity external devices. If you plug one of these drives into your PR4100 NAS and the entire thing locks up. Presumably kernel panics. It becomes unresponsive. Drops off the network and the only way to recover is to power cycle. I could work around this if they would publish a compatibility list for external drives like they do for the internal drives. However they do not. Also, the manual mentions nothing of this quirk. You can only read about it from the forums where a staff member published a link to the public service announcement. the thing that will steam you is there is no indication if this is something they are going to fix. So Now I am constantly locking up the PR4100 because even some of my USB thumb drives are using this newer protocol for faster transfer speeds. This is a disaster. I would presume this could be fixed with a firmware update by downloading a newer linux kernel. To my knowledge other devices do not have this limitation.

The PSA can be located by searching for "My Cloud Pro Series Not Accessible After Connecting a USB Attached SCSI (UAS) Device" Answer ID 15167
Other Thoughts: considering the massive flaw this thing has, and the lack of information to how WD will fix this. I will discard it through the auction sites and look at competitors offerings.
Manufacturer Response:Greetings Steven G.,
Thanks for the time providing this feedback. UAS devices are currently not supported on a My Cloud PR 2100 and PR4100. Please follow the link below for more information.
“My Cloud Pro Series Not Accessible After Connecting a USB Attached SCSI (UAS) Device”: https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=15167

It’s a good idea to follow our community forums for Recent Solutions, Product Notices, Announcements, and My Cloud Product Status.
“WD Community”: https://community.wd.com

Support Case Number: 122816-11676090

Need Help? Please contact us at 1(855) 556-5117.

Reviewed By:Steven G.,12/27/2016 7:15:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD Diskless My Cloud EX4100 Expert Series Network Attached Storage - NAS WDBWZE0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it
Pros: Super easy to set up
User interface is supper easy
Cons: None at this point
Other Thoughts: So i am not tec savy at all, i can plug in a computer and hooke up the cables right ( most of the time), but if anything gose wrong i am on the phone with my brother ( who works with networking and computers for a living) constantly. Asking him always to help... my current computer is almost 10 years old that has had several problems with, and my brother has kept it going.
So I wanted my own cloud and i found this one and love it... not too expensive, easy to expand, and setting up in a raid 5 was supper easy. I didn't have to call my brother at all. This is a geat system ( well so far ) but only time will tell if it was truly worth it.
Reviewed By:david s.,12/22/2016 2:23:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 0TB My Cloud PR2100 Pro Series Diskless Media Server with Transcoding, NAS - Network Attached Storage Model WDBBCL0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent NAS. Very intuitive and easy to use.
Pros: -Plex hardware transcoding
-RAID 1 reliability
-Enough features to satisfy most users
-Fast network speed
-Very easy to use
-Easy to back up
-Quiet
-IPv6 support
-Populated drives come with WD Red drives
-Very easy to maintain
Cons: -Somewhat limited when compared to building your own server
-May still be complicated for novice users
-May still be expensive for some people
-2 and 4 drives may be limiting to some users who require huge amounts of space
Other Thoughts: 2x WD 6TB Red Drives. Drive is connected to a UPS (Highly suggest you do this to prevent an abrupt shutdown and to protect from surges).

I love this drive. I had a DL2100 before and it served me very well for a year. The problem with that unit came when I decided to throw all my Blu-rays on it. Transcoding was slow and I constantly got the "you're device is too slow" message from Plex. The PR2100 is a great improvement. It can transcode 1080p Blu-rays without a hiccup. I have yet to try 4K since I do not own any 4K monitors or TVs. I prefer these units to building a server because of their small footprint. It just sits in the corner, quietly, doing it's thing. It does not consume a lot of power or put out a lot of heat and it is easy to forget it's there. The price and feature list is reasonable when compared to building a dedicated machine.

The OS is incredibly easy to use. It is very intuitive. It's packed with enough apps and features to keep most users satisfied. It's very easy to access on the road from your computer or phone. As long as you have good cell service or are connected to a decent internet connection, accessing and transferring files is fast. From what I hear, the Time Machine feature works flawlessly. It also sends alerts by email if there is a problem. The app on the phone can be set to automatically back up your photos and movies. The only real maintenance is dusting it out and checking the drive status every so often. You can also quickly and easily create additional backups via an external hard drive.

Network speeds are very fast. My main system has an Intel I219-V NEC and I get around 115MB/s read/write speeds. Results vary when transferring a ton of little files, but that is typical for any file transfer. When considering that the theoretical limit of Gigabit is 125MB/s that is pretty good. The processor is very fast and the drive is quick and responsive. The 4GB of RAM is plenty for this unit.

Overall, I am very satisfied with this product. It is easy to use, fast and leaves a small footprint. It is extremely easy to maintain. It is packed with features and apps and handles Plex extremely well. It provides automatic backup via RAID 1 for peace of mind in case a drive fails. You can even easily back up to an external hard drive if you want for an additional back up. It even notifies you when something is wrong via email. It's nice to have one place for all your files that has the redundancy of RAID 1 instead of every device having its own storage. This is originally why I entered the NAS game. My files were all over the place and there were 2-3 copies of my library since every device had its own copy. Keeping all devices up to date was a huge hassle. WD has made it very easy to organize and safely store my data.
Reviewed By:John T.,12/19/2016 11:24:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 8TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0080HWT-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Interesting
Pros: It is an Ethernet only connection. Was hoping for a usb 3 connection to go along with that for moving a lot of data on it, but gigabit Ethernet seems to work fairly well. It is basically a NAS so any of my computers on my network can access it's data.

Just starting to figure out the cloud part of it. Very interesting aspect.
Cons: Thought the Ethernet was a con at first, but am getting used to it.
Reviewed By:Charles C.,12/18/2016 4:47:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra Diskless 2 x 3.5 inch hard drive bays, hot swap capable, tray-less design 2-bay NAS WDBVBZ0000NCH-NESN Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works. Sort of...
Pros: This product is OK in the sense that the cloud feature and other features will work once you set it up.
Cons: However, at least as of now you can hardly access its settings and the only solution seems to be to enable SSH and adjust the setting via its terminal interface. It needs to be noted that if you are to turn on this option prompts that you will be voiding the warranty by doing this.
Having the only viable way to adjust this device also be a way to void the warranty is unacceptable.
Other Thoughts: If it was simply a case that the device performance was slow in terms of transfer speeds I would just assume my workload was too high and I should have bought higher end components.
However, this is not the case here. The only viable way to set this device up requires you not only void its warranty; it also requires you to have a skill set that if you do not have it are likely to need that warranty.
For me, this device works enough that I am not compelled to purchase another device, but if I could do it over again I wouldn't.
Two eggs because it will work, but the user experience is pretty horrible. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere even if you have to spend a little more.
Reviewed By:William B.,12/11/2016 1:23:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 0TB My Cloud PR4100 Pro Series Diskless Media Server with Transcoding, NAS - Network Attached Storage Model WDBNFA0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great NAS with powerful features
Pros: Fit and finish is good. Latest Intel chip works great in this application to transcode video from different resolutions on the fly. Able to upgrade the RAM easily, using readily available DDR3L SO-DIMM's. Upgraded to 16 GB using Crucial memory with no issues. Very fast at handling multiple tasks. Easy to use interface to configure the NAS and check health status. Improved mobile app works great, can remotely access public & private shares easily (once port forwarding is setup). Front panel display does provide useful information. Can encrypt entire volume. The NAS apps I cared about were available to download & use for home networking media sharing.
Cons: Limited 3rd party apps support, such as those provided with Synology & QNAP NAS units. Encryption is for the entire volume, instead of being folder selectable. Hard drive sleds a little flimsy.
Other Thoughts: Great NAS for the price, compared to the other big names in the home/SMB NAS space. While you don't get all of the granularity to control every facet of the NAS, it is simple provides modest control over the NAS. 3rd party apps are limited, but all I needed was Plex, Squeeze box Media Server & Anti-virus, so I'm happy. I have 4 HGST 5tb HDD'S installed and it is fast (if not a bit noisy at times). Pair this up with a fast upload Internet connection, and you have a great media server to access from anywhere.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/10/2016 10:05:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 32TB My Cloud PR4100 Pro Series Media Server with Transcoding, NAS - Network Attached Storage Model WDBNFA0320KBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to set up and to use.
Pros: Really fast and stable connection i have tried from different computers from my Mac to my Chromebook, then my work computer and also my iPad and my iPhone and i can access my docs and even play videos from my devices. I Love It!
Cons: Unit most be on to access it, Should came with sleep mode so unit doesn’t have to be on all the time.
Manufacturer Response:Hi David,
Thanks, for your interest in the My Cloud PR4100 NAS, and the time providing this feedback. It’s correct, the device must be on and ready, to be accessed locally or remotely. It’s important to know, the drive includes the Wake on LAN feature, enabling the drive to wake when being accessed. This allows the Drive Sleep mode to conserve energy, while maintaining accessibility. Additionally, this device includes a Power Schedule feature; allowing scheduled shutdowns. We’ve provided a link to the User Manual below. For more information, please refer to page 73.
“My Cloud PR4100 User Manual (PDF)”: http://products.wdc.com/library/?id=1518&type=25&cn=4779-705142&lang=en

We’re available to address any further questions or concerns you may have by phone or Email below. For your convenience, we’ve created a case for you as a point of reference to this Newegg review.

You can contact us and reference the support case number below.
Case Number: 110716-11542572
Need Help? Please contact us at 1(855) 556-5117
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:David L.,11/6/2016 8:11:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD EX2100 (WDBWAZ0000NBK-NESN) My Cloud Expert Series 2-Bay Diskless NAS with Dual-Core Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great NAS Device
Pros: - Easy to setup and configure
- Rich feature set
Cons: - The only con I have found was the UI for the power scheduling was somewhat confusing. After you enable it all of the options are set to "ON" as indicated by the Blue dots. If you only want it be on at certain times then it is best to set all of the Dots to Black and then select the time(s) that you want the unit to powered "ON"
Reviewed By:David S.,10/23/2016 7:05:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.