Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 / WiFi Wireless Mobile External Hard Drive STDC500402 Red

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Interesting concept, works fairly well
Pros: - Fairly fast as far as portable drives go
- Wireless access is interesting
- Quite rugged, I dropped it once or twice and it seems fine
- Set up is easy
- It has a nice form factor for carrying and holding
- Looks decent
Cons: - Insanely slow charging. The instructions talked about a wall charger but I didn't get one, may have just been my unit though.
- Battery life didn't last nearly as long as described, again it was hard to tell what my battery life was like.
- Switching between USB mode and WIFI mode wasn't very intuitive.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting product. It certainly lets you stream to your devices and in that respect it succeeds. The battery life doesn't really feel like it meets the intended purpose however. If you're on a long flight or roadtrip it will run out of juice quite early. Of course you could just plug it in, but at that point the wireless aspect is kind of useless.

I feel as thought at this price point it would have been more fitting to have a USB 3 connection to allow faster data transfer and power transfer.

The instructions covered any questions I had and using the device was straight forward enough. I really wish it had a battery meter on it though.

There is probably a concern that you could just reset the settings and disable the wireless security. I guess that's true, but you could just plug it into a computer too or steal it if you were holding it in your hand...

Speaking of holding it, it feels nice. It has a decent grip, but it's a bit slippery. Mine was red, and it was good to look at.

If you're looking for a portable hard drive that can wirelessly stream movies and music to other devices, I highly recommend this unit. It's a pretty solid choice for a portable drive too.

If you want a super secure external drive, this probably isn't what you are looking for. It's for media, not state secrets, and it works quite well in its niche.

Minus 1 egg for the relatively quick battery drain.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Andrew G.,

Battery life can be affected by a variety of factors. Here is a support link that shows how to optimize your battery life. While the article is written for our Wireless Plus and iOS 5, many of the suggestions are valid for this drive and other mobile devices.

http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/005649en

We wanted to note that there is a battery gauge for this drive by using our Media app under "Menu", then "Info".

The quickest way to charge the Wireless drive is using a tablet charger. Phone chargers would be slower and charging by USB by the computer would offer the slowest charging rate.

If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact our support staff and we will be happy to assist further:

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:BSprite,2/18/2015 4:57:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Wireless Plus 2TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Mobile Device Storage STCV2000100 Gray

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 wireless seagate 2tb
Pros: works wireless sometimes and can be taken with you
Cons: will not stay connected and is relatively slow
Other Thoughts: buy a regular external hard drive depending on your needs
Manufacturer Response:Dear Shawn,

We wanted to provide some suggestions for resolving any connection issues you may be experiencing with your Wireless Plus. Please reference the following support articles (one for iOS and the other for Android devices) under the header "Check your connections":

iOS:
http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/005139en

Android:
http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/005717en

If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact our support staff and we will be happy to assist further:

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:sshawnt1114,2/9/2015 2:23:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 / WiFi Wireless Mobile External Hard Drive STDC500402 Red

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Stream any format video to your iphone/ipad
Pros: I can finally watch any format video on my iphone or ipad by streaming off this device with one catch, you need to use a third party app that cost a few dollars. More on this on the con. Another benefit to this is it saves valuable storage space on my phone and ipad. I can just load the device up with videos and take it with me. This alone makes the device worth while for me as I my photos and documents are already backed up on iclouds automatically.




I simultaneously streamed three different 1080p videos on 3 devices (the wifi supports up to 3 simultaneous devices) and didn't experience any lag or loading issues

When you plug it in to a PC, while powered off, it acts just like a traditional external hard drive or flash drive. Drag and drop any files. My car headunit detected it any other flash drive would and played the files without any issue.

However, turn the device on then plug it in to a pc and it'll will only charge the unit and continue acting as a wifi hub. You can't use it's wifi feature and as a wired hdd simultaneously but you can connect to it from your laptop or pc over wifi to transfer files.
.

Battery life is good. I can't say for certain as I have not managed to drain it completely from a full charge from streaming nonstop but it easily handled a few hours of video streaming in a single session. With daily charging or charging between use the battery life should not be an issue. Any micro usb charger will charge the device.
Cons: Seagate's app only supports streaming of mp4 videos files for Apple users. When you try to stream any other format you'll get a window prompting you to either (1) download the file (then you can export them to third party app of your choice), (2) Open with Ace Media Player, (3) GoodPlayer, or (4) VLC which is NOT even available on the app store in the US.

Option (2) and (3) are not free and have only a few reviews on Apple's app stores. However they are only a few dollar. I decided to try Ace Media player, $2.99, and it works well enough. Struggles with subtitles at times and crashed couple of times on me in 2 weeks of use. I haven't tried the GoodPlayer app as Ace Media player works well enough. You are not given an option for any other media player.

The instruction manual is a joke. It just a few pictures on how to make the initial connection. There is no mention of how to turn on wifi security or anything.
Other Thoughts: Initial setup consist of turning on the device, waiting a FULL minute for the wifi light to turn solid, and connecting to it from your mobile device or laptop as you would normally do. Then, you can configure internet access and security (by default it creates an open network) from within the Seagate media app.

The Seagate app, at least the App version, is just barely adequate. Pros are you can see how many devices are connected and battery life remaining on the device by hitting the settings button.
It'll allow you to either view all the media by type on both your mobile device and the hard drive or navigate by device and folder. Latter being my preferred method. Supported files are open on the phone's native app. There's no bells or whistles but it gets the job done.

Features buried in the settings menu:
Language
Wireless settings
Auto Upload (for automatic backup, I dont use this feature as icloud already does that)
Remote access - Requires Seagate Central or Seagate Personal Cloud account to remotely access your device from anywhere. I haven't used this feature.
Report a problem: Send reports to app development team.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Woo,

For comprehensive support for your WiFi Wireless Mobile drive, please reference the following link listed below. This provides our complete user guide as well.

http://goo.gl/rm0yNE

We wanted to note that in the user guide under the header "Setting up and Using Your Seagate Wireless", there is a section entitled "Setting a Password for Your Seagate Wireless".

We also wanted to provide the complete user guide to our Media app:

http://goo.gl/Iu821f

If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact our support staff and we will be happy to assist further:

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:WY.Sim,2/4/2015 10:39:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 / WiFi Wireless Mobile External Hard Drive STDC500402 Red

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good device, horrible security
Pros: Small pocketable size - I fit it in my dockers pocket easily, it's a 2.5" hard drive in an enclosure with integrated battery pack.

Allows wpa and wpa2 - allows for a secure connection after initial login. Does away with horrible legacy wep standards.

The charge remaining indicator is awesome, letting you know how much battery life you have left. Although a minor con associated with this...

Easy connection, easy streaming via android.

Can connect to internet even though the device connects to your wifi. In the old days, you'd be stuck w/out internet access when connected to a wifi hdd.
Cons: I would have given this device a 3.5-4 star review, however, there is one huge insane security flaw. The device will allow you to protect your data by securing the wireless network connection. However, you can reset the wireless settings, thus removing the security, creating an OPEN wireless connection, any device can now connect to it, and has FULL access to your data. DO NOT put any sensitive information on this device if you have any intention of it being susceptible to theft or left alone for any period of time. Well unless you don't care if someone takes your information.

Given this huge security flaw, i'd recommend that you use this device for nothing more than media streaming.

2.4ghz only, it seems like when even entry level devices are 5ghz capable that this device could easily allow 5ghz connectivity. I assume that it's due to a minimal increase in power draw for the 5ghz connection that they do not allow it.

USB file transfers are not allowed...I could not transfer files over USB from my laptop to the device. While it might not seem like much, I received wireless averages of 3.02mb/s on transfers of my video files. Transferring to a USB 2 flash drive normally averages 20-40 mb/s on most devices. This would mean if you wanted to transfer 500gb of data it'd take 47.09 hours wirelessly vs 7.11 hours if you did it via USB at the slowest average or 3.56 hours at the highest.

Wireless connectivity, while I did not have any issues connecting and maintaining a connection, I do have issues with the speeds of connection. To my laptop w/in 1-2 feet of the device I got 72mbps max connections, to my cell phones 65 mbps max connections.

For wireless, I can change the ssid and add WPA security, however, you can not change the IP of the network created by the device.

Media wise, I had no issues with the device connecting to multiple android cell phones (gs1, gs3, note 2, note 4, one M8, and g3) but connecting to my laptop was less than stellar. The included videos would play over the wifi connection, but were choppy to the point they were unwatchable. The media I copied over would not even stream to my laptop, it would just download the file to my laptop.

The 60ish second startup seemed excessive.

The battery life was not what they claimed, I assume that they were claiming 6 hours of life if you're using it to look at one single picture and with no internet access through the device. I got about 3.5 hours with intermediate access and intermittent shutdowns.
Other Thoughts: This device is a pretty good device, it really is a welcome addition.

If you can overlook the major security flaw...then sure it's a great device. I wish they offered some data encryption and a separate password for encryption vs the wifi password. But all in all I can't understand how anyone would ever allow such a breach in security, in my opinion, you forget your wifi password and have to reset your device, then you just lose your data...or else have a second password on there that'll allow you to reset the wifi password w/out access to the data.

For me, I had to remove all my pictures and docs off the device and will use it solely for movies and music.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Ben,

The Seagate Wireless Wi-Fi connection can be protected with a password and WPA-level security. This password can be redone by pressing the reset button on the drive, which is the same as most consumer routers and Wi-Fi devices on the market today.

USB transfers are available on the Wireless drive. Simply press the power button to turn off Wi-Fi, then connect by USB to your computer. If you are using a Mac, then please install the included driver to allow writing to the NTFS partition. Here is a link to this driver:

http://goo.gl/UEoTQK

For comprehensive support for your Wireless drive, please reference the following link listed below. This provides our complete user guide as well.

http://goo.gl/FrXBxe

Regarding the issue of videos downloading to your laptop rather than streaming, try using the native browser (MSIE or Safari). Other browsers may need additional plug-ins to launch the media player in Windows or Mac OS.

If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact our support staff and we will be happy to assist further:

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Regards,
Seagate Support.

Reviewed By:str8moben,1/31/2015 7:26:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 / WiFi Wireless Mobile External Hard Drive STDC500402 Red

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Neat little drive
Pros: This is a neat little device. It's a wireless/usb hard drive with an internal battery pack. You can use it while on-the-go and don't have to necessarily take the charging cable with you. I have used it for about a week now. I've got my phone set up to automatically backup my content from my phone, directly to the seagate drive. It's working pretty well. You can tell it to do it only when charging, or just whenever it's on the same network. It's very easy to set up. Turn it on, download the app, connect your device's wireless to the Seagate Wireless, open the app, and configure. It's very simple.
Cons: The interface on the application could probably use some work, though. The web interface is also lacking a little. I'm used to a little more customization.

It's not USB 3.0. I know the point of this drive is to be a WiFi media drive, but being able to hook it to a PC and copy over USB 3.0 speeds would be great.
Other Thoughts: I like the drive. The colors are kind of neat, just for attraction purposes. I wish it was a tad smaller, and usb 3.0. The battery lasts for a few hours when fully charged. This should last you on any short road trip. I can see this being used in a car for kids to stream movies / music to their devices. The wireless range seems pretty good.
Reviewed By:reddog,1/30/2015 1:15:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Wireless Plus STCK1000100 1TB Mobile Device Storage with Built-In Wi-Fi Streaming

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not buy this Hard Drive
Pros: Seagate will honor the warranty. I have used it twice to get this drive replaced. It did cost me $9.95 for postage so Seagate would send me a new drive.
Cons: Do not buy this product. My third drive has just crashed. The first two drives had the same problem. The extra usb power cable would no longer charge the battery. The only way to charge the battery was to plug the drive into a computer. The battery life when streaming a video was about 3 hours. I did have both of those drives replaced by Seagate with the warranty that came with the drive. I had to pay $9.95 for shipping for the replacement drives.
Now my third drive froze while transferring files to my desktop. I could not eject the drive. I unplugged the drive and when I went to plug it back in the drive does not show up in either Mac OS X or Windows 8.1.
This is a bad design and should have been fixed before putting this drive on the market.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your money on this Hard Drive.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Ronald B.,

We apologize for the problems experienced with your 1TB Wireless Plus drives and would like to talk with you by phone to determine the root cause and available resolution to the problems. A support case (#04702899 ) has been created that will reference your review and our response. If from the US or Canada, our contact number for support is 800-732-4283. If outside of this region, please try us here under Product Support (choose your region):

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/contact-numbers/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:Ron,1/30/2015 11:16:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 / WiFi Wireless Mobile External Hard Drive STDC500402 Red

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little thing
Pros: Tons of space- 500GB might not sound like much, but most users would not have a problem loading all their vacation photos, family videos, and all your converted vinyls.

Portability- It is an extreme welcome to my network of other gadgets, as I can grab this on the go and take it out the house without having to deal with wires or worrying about connecting to other networks to access the drive.

Connectivity- Extremely easy to set up to your home network, do not really want to expand on this, as I'm sure there will be no problems at all.

Other Device compatibility- This feature is great, I use a couple of 3rd party apps to stream to the Chromecast on the network at times, but the Seagate app is lagless and feels very smooth overall. Have not tried to access it with more than 2 devices at a time, but have had no problems as of yet, and don't expect any.
Cons: Price tag is a bit high, but it was just released, so I'm expecting a price drop or capacity upgrades to 1TB and 2TB soon.

Network connectivity is a bit lacking for me, as I would have expected AC compatibility at this price point; however, I'm sure most people would not be affected. Only problem with this, is that I have to disconnect my controlling device form my 5.0GHz wifi, to then connect to my 2.4GHz signal and be able to access the data on the drive. Otherwise, it can also be accessed wifi-less for direct viewing on the controlling device.
Reviewed By:Ph4ntom,1/29/2015 12:32:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD My Passport Wireless 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI 2.5" External Hard Drive WDBK8Z0010BBK-NESN Black/Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Product
Pros: Very small form factor. Very light for a wireless Hard Drive solution

2-Year Warranty

USB 3.0 compatible

Includes SD Slot, if you have a high res camera this makes backing up the SD to storage very easy.

Easy to understand power light system
Blue = Full, Green = 75%
Amber = 50% Red = 15% or less.

Android & iOS apps. Easy to install and use on wide array of devices.

Drive comes with ExFAT file system.This allows interchangeably with both Windows and Mac OS.

Fast speeds over USB 3.0 for a removable drive.

Drive remains cool even under long term load.
Cons: No car charger included. (The corsair Voyager came with a lot more cables/adapters).

Battery Life not as good as compared 1TB Corsair Voyager. After 10 charges and streaming from driving I was averaging roughly 5 HRs 30 Min. The voyager is still getting 6+ after a 6+ months of use. Keep in mind when I do battery tests I keep the drive busy streaming 2 movies to 2 different PCs and keep playing different movies till the drive dies from low power.

Too be fair the Voyager Model is thicker and weights more. So it could have a larger capacity battery.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a solid drive. When compared to the corsair voyager it does have slightly higher R/W speeds. On average is was 5MB faster on the read and 3 MB faster on the write over USB 3.0
The fastest sequential reads were 120+ MB/s.....on average I was looking at 113-116 for sequential reads. Which is faster then the Corsair Voyager which lately been averaging 108-
Over USB 2.0 this drive gets 30-35 MB/s.

The SD card feature is great and easy to use. Simply stick in a SD card and as long as the drive has power it automatically backs it up. For serious photographers, or video takers this can be a great feature. By backing it up imminently you have a secure backup in case you lose an SD card , or simply you say filled a few SD cards you now have it all backed up in one place making file accessing and editting easier. Instead of getting at home and backing up the data then.

Wireless range was pretty good. Even at 90ft+ away signal was strong and reliable.
This drives wireless works well it allows for maximum of 8 connections to the drive. It says you can have 4 clients streaming HD off the drive. But how far the devices are and what files are being accessed come into account. Realistically you can have 3 people streaming different HD Movie files at the same times without ever experiencing lag. Once you get to 4 Different HD movie accessed at the same time sometimes it can bog down the drive.....but to be fair all the mechanical USB drives I used suffer from this (too much random accessing for a non SSD drive to sometimes keep up with demand). If all 4 people are watching the same movies then there is no such problem or if 2 are watching one movie and 2 are watching the other.

Overall a great product, I only wish it came with a car charger out of the box.
Reviewed By:John,1/14/2015 7:04:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EQ (HX-MTD15EQ/G2)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Overpriced Junk
Pros: None

I did pry it apart, like every other HDD enclosure its just plastic snapped together.

And to my assumption, you could put a SSD in it which would be really awesome if the rest of the product worked as advertised... but since it doesnt you would actually be degrading the SSD and probably anger some techno deity in the process.
Cons: TL;DR
"Dont Buy it, wait for the competitors Wireless Enclosures to start supporting DLNA"


Companion app for android has worked all of one time. Now it wont load any thumbnails or let me do anything but look at whats on the drive as a list.... which wouldnt be that big of a deal if i only had 8GB of music, but i have 200GB and other 600GB is video and every time time you back out it takes you to the Root Directory.

Its not DLNA compatible... its now 2015, are you telling me nobody though that might be a good thing to include?

The HDD thats inside the enclosure is a:
Samsung M9T Spinpoint 1.5 GB (5400 RPM)
Which is worth around 70-80 dollars at the most. But its overstock that they were not able to sell fast enough. The drive in this enclosure is almost year old... which means somebodies not selling as many HDDs as they thought they were going to.

The most expensive piece in the manufacturing of this product is probably the battery. :/

Again, dont buy it.
Other Thoughts: Did i mention that buying this product is bad? Dont believe the reviews on the blogs. There is a reason none of them have an accompanying video.... because they couldnt get theirs to work right either.

But hey, at least you can remove the HDD and expand your desktop/laptop storage... so its not completely useless.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/14/2015 5:55:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Corsair > Corsair Voyager Air 2 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Drive CMFAIR-VA2-1000-NA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Honestly - Piece of junk
Pros: Nice for a travelers media demands, when it works.
Cons: Poor Apple app design, poor programming, cheaply built.
Other Thoughts: First device programming failed after 2-3 weeks, The manufacturer replaced the drive which the internal USB connector broke after plugging and unplugging the USB cord about 5 times.
2 bad/broken drives in 1 month, really?! These are very cheap devices. Do some research and find a "Better" solution.
Reviewed By:Doc,1/2/2015 8:02:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.