Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Wireless Plus STCK1000100 1TB Mobile Device Storage with Built-In Wi-Fi Streaming

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Dissatisified
Pros: Fast
Cons: Power button broke in few minutes.
very poorly designed, its stucked, the drive wont shutdown or the wifi.
Reviewed By:BrokenEgg,9/11/2014 1:36:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > G-Technology > G-Technology G-Connect 500GB USB 2.0 / Ethernet / WiFi Wireless Storage for iPad and iPhone 0G02148

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 They fixed pricing so this is a great item
Pros: Allows multiple connections to created wifi hotspot. Has a built in 500 Gb hard drive. Small form factor (2.5" drive). Allows pas through internet access when connected to a network.
Cons: Must be plugged in (either with adapter, portable battery or to a device) to work (no internal battery on this).
Setup can be tricky . (You must have a computer with wifi access - NOT ETHERNET - in order to setup this device).
Other Thoughts: I have now been using this for a few weeks and its is exactly what I have been looking for for years (didn't want to spend $ hundreds for a device).
Now that they fixed the pricing SNAFU this a great device at a good price.
Reviewed By:kcal63,8/11/2014 11:29:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What. A. Product.
Pros: What an amazing device. This is my first hard drive of this type and I love it. I have owned portable hard drives from buffalo in the past and they have not failed me yet. They also happen to be a bit cheaper than others, maybe because their name is more obscure, but thats not important.

First off, 1000 gigabytes is more than enough for even the most avid movie watcher. Hundreds of movies can fit on this device, same with TV shows. As far as ebook storage for an ereader or tablet, the number that can be stored is in the hundreds of thousands. Plus this device can be accessed from absolutely any device, not just portable devices like tablets or more specifically, ipads.

Mac, iphone, ipad, android, and windows all work perfectly with this product. Linux also most likely works, but I didn't have a version of it set up at the time to check.

The form of this HD is super thin and light which means leaving this in your purse or car and accessing it whenever you need to, say through your ipod to get some extra music for the day, it is always there.

Easily access all of your files and organize them from any device with a screen, and even easier through a laptop computer.
Cons: The price 100%. I completely understand that the price is justified since it's a new type of product which is extremely useful and combines old ideas to make new ones, which all costs money, but not many people are willing to drop over 150$ on a 1TB hard drive when they can just spend 80 and drop the wi-fi feature.
Reviewed By:axoh17,8/10/2014 1:05:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > G-Technology > G-Technology G-Connect 500GB USB 2.0 / Ethernet / WiFi Wireless Storage for iPad and iPhone 0G02148

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 good product, price is bait and switch
Pros: Good little device to use as a portable (semi) wifi network to stream content to devices like tablets and phones. (Needs to either be plugged in or have a battery attached to it).
Once setup its dead simple to use.
Cons: Price, they got me once, not this time, its a vendor bait and switch they advertise one price but when you put it in cart its $15 more.
The setup on this thing can be a bit complicated (needs a computer that has wifi access to the internet (NOT a wired ethernet connection, that won't work).
Reviewed By:kc,8/6/2014 10:46:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Wireless Portability of 1 TB of videos/music/photos
Pros: The Buffalo HDW-PDU3 Wireless Mobile Storage device does as its name implies. I am reviewing the device which has 1.0 TB of storage for videos, music, and pictures, or even data you can access. I have set up this device to wirelessly transmit videos I stored on it through the network to my Smart TV. I also downloaded the Buffalo MiniStation2 App to my Android smartphone for access to the data stored on this device.

1) The device does exactly as it is advertised to do. You can upload video, music, pictures, or data to it by attaching it to a computer through a USB connection. The device supports SuperSpeed USB 3.0. You can access the device wirelessly by using the devices SSID and passphrase. The stored files can be accessed from any DLNA supported device. The device also allows up to three simultaneous HD streams. I have tried streaming two videos from the device at the same time to two separate Smart TVs and there were no complications, though they were only 480p.

2) Secondly the device can be used to charge your cell phone since it has a battery charge life of 12 hours. This is great for someone like me who travels quite frequently. It's size is that of a Samsung S4/S5 smart phone except it is approximately a quarter of an inch thicker.

3)The device also transmits wirelessly its contents to your smartphone once you download the App. I have uploaded hours of TV shows and movies on to this unit and have enjoyed watching them on my smartphone during plane flights and hotel stays.

4) The wireless range is excellent. I am able to receive a signal from the second floor in my home to the other side in the basement.

5) The 3 year warranty is a nice benefit to have on a piece of equipment that is made for portability.
Cons: 1) Very poor documentation is provided on how to set this device up. It was mostly trial and error on my part.

2) The battery indicator light is either green or red. It would be helpful to know how close you are to being drained by adding bars or some other measure.

3) I could not set this up as a hot spot on our home network, but could only access it through the devices SSID and passphrase. Though it is advertised to be a wireless hotspot.

4) My USB Transfer speeds were around 27.8Mbps using a USB 3.0 connection. This was a little disappointing.
Other Thoughts: The product fills the need for portability of large amounts of stored videos, music and pictures. It's great to take with you when travelling on vacation or for business. I will rate this product as a 4 out of 5 eggs due to the cons I mentioned above.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/6/2014 5:56:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Wireless Plus STCK1000100 1TB Mobile Device Storage with Built-In Wi-Fi Streaming

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Could be better.
Pros: Easy once you get it setup.
Cons: Hard to setup at first and transfer rates and pretty slow wireless.
Reviewed By:jwingate,7/31/2014 11:38:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > G-Technology > G-Technology G-Connect 500GB USB 2.0 / Ethernet / WiFi Wireless Storage for iPad and iPhone 0G02148

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Mistake
Pros: Sounded good
Cons: Does not work like stated!
Reviewed By:Slick,7/17/2014 3:51:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Wireless Media Storage Solution
Pros: This device provides 1TB of wireless storage for your wireless devices (tablets, smart phones), as well as working as a media server for DNLA devices.

Buffalo provides a companion app that you can get on your device that allows you to connect to the Air and browse and play the content stored on the drive.

To connect to the Air, you have to connect to its WiFi signal. Through the app, you can also connect to another WiFi signal (your standard home WiFi, for example) to allow for Internet access even while connected to the Air.

You can also upload photos from your device to the Air, which is a nice feature. I don’t have to connect my phone to my PC anymore to get my pictures off of there!

You can charge your phone using this device too, which is cool if you need an extra bit of power to finish watching a long movie or whatever.

The compact design makes it easy to take with in a backpack or laptop bag. I can take this thing to work and have access to all of my music, excellent.

The 3-year warranty is pretty cool considering this is essentially an ultra-mobile HDD.
Cons: Where’s the documentation or instructions? I feel that Buffalo could have included more in the box in regards to documentation with this device. Instructions on how to use this device as a media server, how to use the companion app, or just anything more than what was provided. I had a lot of trouble getting this set up initially, which I feel would be resolved with additional documentation in the packaging.

Seems to me like the claim about this device being a “wireless hotspot” is a bit of a stretch. To make it a hotspot, it MUST be connected to an already existing wireless network. So yeah, you can connect a bunch of devices to it and get Internet access, but only if you already have a wireless network set up.
Other Thoughts: Take a look at the supported file types to make sure that your device is compatible with what you want to play. You may have to convert your media files into a more standard type if you’re using something different.

The Air is very useful if you know you’re going to need a large amount of media away from home or on the go. 1TB is more than most everyone is going to need.

With recent changes to the Android firmware, access to files/media on microSD cards has been limited. For example, some of my music player apps can no longer access music via microSD. This makes the Air even more useful as my phone’s capacity isn’t as big anymore.

I’m giving this product 4/5 Eggs. The device itself is worth 5 Eggs, but the difficulty of setting it up and the lack of documentation bring it down 1 Egg, IMO.
Reviewed By:Robert D.,7/13/2014 10:29:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Fills a need you did not know you needed
Pros: I got this as a review product, I really would not buy something like this, but looked interesting to test.

Simple to connect to using the App (make sure to get the right one, MiniStation Air2, or just scan QR code provided in setup instructions).
Lots of options and configuration options in the app menu. Power saving options, network settings and such are all there.

Easy to access when plugged into USB (just go to 192.168.14.1 to get into the devices software) or use as a regular drive and drag and drop.

This will charge my iPad 2, but not completly. It charged it from 50% to around 90%. Should give most phones a nearly full charge.

I am not sure on exact battery life, but streaming music to my phone and movies to my iPad for 6 hours was not an issue at all.

Has an auto uploading feature you can enable that every time your mobile device connects it will copy pics/vids to the device so you have an extra copy of them.
Cons: First unit I received would not charge. I could use it plugged in, but something was wrong with the battery/charging system.

You can not charge a device and use the hard drive at the same time. I guess it would just kill the battery to do both at the same time, but be aware of this.

No way to keep your phone connected to both the hard drive and wireless data service at the same time. Voice and SMS text still work, but no data connection, so no way to check e-mails and such when using the device.

You also can not use it as both a wireless drive and plugged into a computer. This kind of sticks since I would love to keep it plugged into my server so I could share with wired devices at faster speeds but be able to use the wireless whenever I wanted also.

As stated by others, I saw a pretty drastic drop in speeds when connecting to the internet through the device.

Tested on my iPad 2:

Wireless n connection to home network: 29.49 Mbps down/5.84 up

through device to home network: 11.69 Mbps down/4.34 Mbps up buffalo

so speeds are more than 1/2 as slow using the drive, so I am guessing wireless g?
Just FYI my home Wired speeds are 44 Mbps down / 6 Mbps up

No battery percent indicator. Would be nice to know if it is about to die, Just green = charged, red = dead. There is a section in the software for battery life, but it would not pull up for me when I click on it?

I had the white bars with video playback also. Hope they fix this in a firmware update. Needs to be black bars.
Other Thoughts: Although I initially received a bad unit, Buffalo sent me a replacement quickly. Hopefully they treat retail customers the same way. I contacted Monday evening via e-mail, replacement at my house Wednesday afternoon.

I do wish it was a little more rugged. While I don't expect it to survive drops and falls, the case seems a little weak for a portable device like this.

Maybe a rubberized coating or something on it? Not a con, just something that would make me more comfortable carrying it around in a backpack.

Power light has 3 options, Green is powered on for use (blue WiFi led turns on when WiFi is ready), Orange means you can plug in a portable device to charge it. No light is power off. You have to push the power button and hold it for it to switch between power options.

I plan on using this when we travel to let the kids stream movies/music to their portable devices so they don't fight over my phone with unlimited data.

This device is one that I am not really sure who will buy. It has lots of features, but still lacks a few for what I think it is. A lot of the issues could be fixed with a firmware update I believe.
If your one that finds you need a lot more storage when your on the go and want a simple interface, then this is it. It is a bit costly IMO, but some may find the storage and convenience worth it.

My overall score would be 3.5 eggs, but since I can't give 1/2 and egg, it only gets 3 from me.
Reviewed By:Blu,7/9/2014 7:54:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > G-Technology > G-Technology G-Connect 500GB USB 2.0 / Ethernet / WiFi Wireless Storage for iPad and iPhone 0G02148

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 not great but does what it advertises
Pros: does technically act as a portable wireless access point for internet if you have a wired connection available.

does allow you to stream media via the mobile app

can function as a usb drive

only got it because it came free with purchase of the router; probably would never buy it on my own--too many other little issues to overcome first. would say that it is a good early iteration for what they are trying to accomplish.
Cons: limited mobility because you need a hard line internet connection.

USB 2 only
as a HD is kinda small these days

would like a user interface when access data more like a dropbox situation.

can only work as a powered device. need external battery or plug.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/8/2014 12:21:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau