Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra 8TB 2 x 3.5 inch hard drive bays, hot swap capable, tray-less design 8TB My Cloud EX2 Ultra 2-bay NAS WDBVBZ0080JCH-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love my cloud
Pros: Easy to set up and use
Cons: nothing as of yet
Other Thoughts: I would recomend
Reviewed By:scott p.,9/24/2016 7:39:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio AeroCast 1TB Wireless Portable Hard Drive HDTU110XKWC1 Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Toshiba Canvio Aerocast 1tb wireless drive
Pros: seemed well constructed
Cons: Regardless of promo literature, they do not seem to have an app for PC's, only for wireless devices. One review (possibly bogus?) suggesting that a "bridge" to allow internet access was easy to do, was optimistic at best. I'm not an IT techie and what few forum suggestions I could find were over my head. No tutorial or instructions on how to set up a bridge. I bought this to use as a NAS home cloud, but without the PC app, and instructions on setting up a bridge, it was worthless for that use. I could use the one wifi connection on my PC to connect to this drive wirelessly (which worked fine), but in so doing lost my internet connection. Not acceptable.
NewEgg was happy to send me an RMA, but restocking fee of $20 on a $70 part? I kept it as a remote drive, which you can access with USB cable.
Reviewed By:Jay R.,9/22/2016 9:05:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 3TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0030HWT-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Could not get it to work
Pros: - Easy to send back
Cons: - Never worked
- WD customer service not worth the time
Other Thoughts: Don't take my word for it. Just Google: "wd before you RMA your device" and click the FIRST RESULT. Read Western Digital's own lengthy community thread on what you have to do if (when) the setup doesn't work for you. Then read this one if you have Windows 10: "Compilation of Windows 10 Issues and Potential Solutions." Compilation! Potential! But the key reason I am writing this review is because the description gives you a false impression of the WD technical support experience. Here it is: "I'm sorry your unit is not working. Reboot it please. <long wait> Still not working? Send it back." So I did. I still love Newegg though.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Joseph,
We regret hearing you received less than the world class support experience we strive to provide our customers. Unfortunately, there wasn’t enough information gleaned from this review in order to locate you in our system. However, we would like another chance to wow you with the support experience we strive to provide. If you would please reference this Newegg review, along with your previous case number with our My Cloud support staff; we’ll be sure to escalate you to our next level of support. We’re sure we can help setup your My Cloud to be discovered and accessible on your Windows 10 PC. We’ve placed our contact information below, for your convenience.

Need Help? Please follow the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 566-5117.
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:Joseph G.,9/12/2016 1:31:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 3TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0030HWT-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Product!!!This is my second one.
Pros: Great capacity, affordable price and it is "WD".
Cons: Nothing is wrong with WD,
Other Thoughts: I have internal hard drive WD and now 2 of this Clouds, work like a champion, access from any part of the globe with reliable security and speed.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/11/2016 5:04:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 3TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0030HWT-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Well as Cloud Storage for Music
Pros: It does what I bought it to do which is to store all of my music which is streamed to my Sonos speaker. Transfers are a bit slow but it works great for its intended purpose. I think it is a fairly inexpensive option for this purpose.
Cons: Slow Transfers.
I have tried to back it up to a WD Passport but the My Cloud crashes every time I try. I'll need to purchase another My Cloud for Backup of my music and pictures.
Reviewed By:Susan F.,9/1/2016 11:21:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD Diskless My Cloud EX4100 Expert Series Network Attached Storage - NAS WDBWZE0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 excellent product, easy to setup and use.
Pros: fast and easy to setup , love the hot-swap ability and a few tweaks to the setup and the transfer rate is insainly fast.
Cons: I upgraded from an earlier edition, from Western digital that had built in media streaming, wish this one did as well, not a big deal just mapped the media folder to my computer and can share from there.

Other Thoughts: love the flexibility to put what ever size Hard drive i want in it.
Reviewed By:Gary S.,8/21/2016 2:02:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 8TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0080HWT-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great device
Pros: Works fairly well in Ultimate Edition Linux (writing software to auto detect it) I am by hobby an Operating System Architect & Leading Programmer. I see at peak 110 MB/s via avg 90 MB/s, 80 at the low. Make sure you have Gigabit. Cables mean a ton, do not bottleneck yourself. I had cat5e and was a horrible product. I have a Netgear Nighthalk 8000 router, pay attention to the color of the lights. Ordered Cat 7 cable. Cat 6 right now. I have been writing custom firmware for this bad lad. Turn off all features you do not need. I do have Iphones in house and flicked off Itunes serving. I have Winders devices in house and can not find it in Win 10, ironic is it not; even hard wired.
Cons: I have a Quad Core Atom running Win 10 (Voyo V2) used as a media center in the bedroom and can not find the NAS even with Western Digitals software & hard wired. It has a USB Netgear AC 6200 wireless adapter, I am currently fighting with, because the integrated is something to be desired. The built in wireless works, but causes it to cut out in HD & 4K, not the fault of the product until I get connectivity.
Other Thoughts: I have attached a 6TB USB3 Hard disk to it and functions perfectly. The My cloud portion of it works well, unless you want to access your control panel. It is limited on ram, when you strip services it is a rock solid performer. I am robbing it of an Egg because it does not play well with Windows, it's intended environment. Probably should have robbed it of 4 eggs. 90% of my house uses Linux.
Reviewed By:Glenn C.,8/19/2016 11:57:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio AeroCast 1TB Wireless Portable Hard Drive HDTU110XKWC1 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Auto backup SD card alone
Pros: Convenient
Cons: .
Other Thoughts: If you fail to backup SD card automatically by the wireless hard drive alone, try this:

On your first SD card backup, open the app, turn on the drive, connect wirelessly, then insert the card into the card slot. On the app main interface, click the Backup button.
On the Backup SD Card window, select the Auto Copy box. After the selection, the app starts backup immediately when the app is opened and connected. ( No click on the Start Backup button.)
After the backup, close the app with the Auto Copy box is selected.

Now you can backup SD Card by the wireless hard drive alone without connecting to a device. Next time, just turn on the drive, after all indicator lights stop blinking, then insert the card. The drive will Auto Copy alone.

If this procedure does not work, rename the SD card first, then repeat the procedure.
Reviewed By:wi,8/18/2016 4:16:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0040HWT-NESN

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked Great for about 2.5 Years
Pros: -Setup was easy, I connected it to PCs, Macs, and Ipads on my home network.
- Storage was enormous, more than enough for my needs.
Cons: - Unit failed without any warning after two and a half years. I am now looking at a couple of hundred dollars to recover the data from the drive.
Other Thoughts: Based on this i am not sure if I could reccomend to someone. If I was sure there was nothing on the drive that I would ever need again I would just bin it. But I put a lot of stuff on it and I am afraid that some valuable data might be on there.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Michael,
It is unfortunate to hear about the untimely malfunction of your My Cloud; we understand how trying it can be to potentially loose data.
We would like to follow-up with you on this review to investigate and troubleshoot the drive to determine if the data can be accessed again and retrieved, while resolving this experience with a positive resolution. Please contact us by email or phone and ne sure to mention your Newegg details with the first agent you speak to so we can connect you with a product specialist.

Need Help? Please visit the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:Michael F.,8/3/2016 2:09:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra 4TB Private Cloud Storage - NAS Storage WDBVBZ0040JCH-NESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unreliable, and slow.
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Mycloud server goes down every 10 days, and you can not remotely access data, it also impacts the internal usage of the server as well at times. Very unreliable. I will never ever buy another NAS device from WD. Also very slow read/write, nothing like they have advertised.
Other Thoughts: Stay away from this NAS device, very unreliable, Synology offers much better and reliable NAS devices. The reviews for this NAS device seemed okay originally when I ordered it, but in the past month their server has gone down three times, and when you call them, they start talking about how you should modify the DNS on the NAS device, and re setup your device again. This is very annoying, if you're looking to get a dependable NAS server, you should definitely stay away from WD NAS devices.
Manufacturer Response:Hi mehdi,
Your feedback provided to us is appreciated.
Below you will find some helpful Knowledge Base articles from our support site to assist with checking for a firmware update and assigning a Static IP. Please also try disabling the Power Save feature and mapping to the My Cloud to rule out that from causing the described behavior with connectivity in your environment.
“How to update the firmware on a My Cloud device”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=10440
“How to configure a My Cloud or My Cloud EX4 drive with a Static IP”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=11384
“How to map a My Cloud or NAS device”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=2676
http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=2686

We advise connecting the My Cloud and your computer directly to the back of the router via Ethernet for troubleshooting purposes to improve performance and connectivity locally, and also checking that port forwarding is setup correctly in the event the router and drive are not aligned for remote access.
“When transferring large files to or from a WD NAS device, performance may be slower than expected”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=5736
“How to configure port forwarding on a My Cloud, My Book Live, or My Book Live Duo”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=8526

Please allow us the opportunity to help you on this by getting in touch with our staff and referencing this Newegg review.

Need Help? Please visit the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:mehdi a.,8/3/2016 12:40:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.