Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 130 degree View, Night Vision, Works with Alexa using IFTTT (Special Offer 12 Month Cloud Storage w/ 7 day Playback)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera
Pros: The EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera is a truly great affordable home or office WiFi Home Security Camera. The setup process is so easy to setup, and the app for my Android phone works great, is does not glitch or freeze up. I had no problems what so ever during the install process, and the product registration process. The EZVIZ app is good it seems to support up to 8 cameras and supports 64GB micro SD, Cloud Recording with Free 12-month subscription with 7-day cloud storage for the first year, and with the EZVIZ Vault 1TB for better physical storage, which I would recommend for a better cost effective solution. The 720p cameras resolution is a must have and has a zoom function and you can zoom in anywhere on the image, and has lots of great features like 30 ft. night vision, and the 115 degree viewing angle, all works excellent.
Cons: The EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera is so good and has a very competitive price point, small footprint, and with that being said I can truly not think anything bad to say.
Other Thoughts: The EVIZ Mini Camera is a good quality wireless camera for the money, I have had other wireless cameras in the past and the EVIZ is a lot better, these wireless cameras have come a long way in the past few years, although I have seen other multi wireless camera kits for around the same money, but that being said I would definitely recommend the EZVIZ, it has good quality resolution, solid build quality, and the app works great without issues, the only thing that I did not like is the cord length, other than that it really is a great product, I will be enjoying the EZVIZ wireless camera for the next few years.
Reviewed By:michael b.,9/26/2016 6:23:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Foscam > Foscam C1 Indoor HD 720P Wide 115° Viewing Angle Night Vision Wireless IP Security Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Camera must be rebooted every 1 to 3 days
Pros: Supports local network destination for captured videos/photos.
Cons: Requires reboot every 1 to 3 days.
Image quality leaves a lot to be desired.
Other Thoughts: I ordered this a couple months back. The main reason was it's support for storing footage on a a local network resource (FTP, in my case) and the reasonable price. After a couple months of use, I'm giving it two stars.

The video quality is ok. I have the camera mounted in a window next to my front door, and it aims outside through the window. The video quality is fine, but it does lack a little bit. For this reason I've deducted 1 egg.

My biggest issue is one others have posted about. It periodically goes blind. The video feed is all black, and the camera must be restarted to regain a video feed. This occurs every 1-3 days, making it unreliable as a 'set it up and forget it' monitoring device. For this reason I've deducted 2 eggs, as this is a critical flaw in the camera's purpose, in my opinion. If I'm away for a few days, the camera eventually becomes nothing more than a small power drain.

9/26/2016 UPDATE: A firmware update applied last week appears (so far) to have resolved the issue of the video feed black. I applied the updated firmware about a week ago, and so far the camera is still working fine. This is the longest it's gone without needing a reboot. Updating my rating to 4 eggs for this.
Reviewed By:Jared D.,9/26/2016 11:20:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 130 degree View, Night Vision, Works with Alexa using IFTTT (Special Offer 12 Month Cloud Storage w/ 7 day Playback)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Home security through mobile app
Pros: I actually like the EZVIZ app that works with the device. You can easily manage multiple EZVIZ devices from a single view, although I was only able to test with the individual camera.

Quality is good, very clear 720p image. You can set the quality to hi-def, standard, or basic depending on how you clear you need the image. Captures movement well, with options to scale motion sensitivity up and down.

It has the option for cloud storage or Micro SD. The cloud storage option is nice and has a free period, but I like the option of using local storage as well.

You can turn the lights on/off on the front through the app. Good if you want the camera to be relatively inconspicuous.

The app has a lot of other interesting features. Image encryption, audio, notifications, and night vision all make the device very useful in a large number of scenarios.
Cons: The Wi-Fi setup was clunky. You enter in the Wi-Fi credentials into the app on your phone, and push them to the camera either through NFC (or “push” as the app calls it) or via a QR Code that is scanned. Both of these options timed out without saying either success or failure, but I was able to browse and stream the camera’s view to my phone so I’m assuming it worked.

Is bright white really the best color for a camera used for security? It really catches the eye, and would be easy to see even with the front lights turned off. I get that this isn’t for outside monitoring, but it’s still easy to see. For me this is a con; I’d rather it be inconspicuous.
Other Thoughts: The cable is 5ft and is USB. It comes with a USB plug so that it will work in any outlet.
Reviewed By:Robert D.,9/25/2016 12:22:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > WeMo > Belkin NetCam HD+ Wi-Fi enabled Camera works with WeMo, includes Night Vision, All Glass Wide Angle Lens, and Infrared Cut-off Filter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far it is a bust can not set it up. Follow up it works.
Pros: I am a newer expert reviewer and was given this to review so cost was zero.

Got this to work . I can see and hear and so far it is an okay device.
Cons: here is a knock against Apple no9t this product but it needs to be mentioned. I have an iPad the app for this device is not in the apple app store under iPad it lists under iPhone Only. The app under apple iPad section does not work. I finally found a youtube video with that explanation . Don't know who to blame but looking for an iPad app under iPhone only is not a good way to list an app that can use either iPad or iPhone.




So far it does not connect to my iPad. I went to app store downloaded the mac app for it and I fail to connect to it
Second problem the instructions to connect are really poor. The camera has a serial number a mac id number and a nightcam
id number. I would assume you use the nightcam id well that id does not work. Neither did the serial number or the mac id.
So I went on you tube to find which number to use.
I viewed four videos on you tube and it so far seems to show me that my iPad and my 3 Apple desktops and my Apple Laptop are not enough to set this up I need an iPhone. Or I could go with an android smartphone and a microsoft tablet.

I will spend some more time seeing if I can get the app to download via my iPad since I was looking to go the Apple route vs the microsoft route. I do have an android cellphone and I do have a microsoft tablet but the tablet runs windows 8. It may be I would have to get a different phone to a different tablet to set this up.
Other Thoughts: Follow up yeah after a few days of trying different ways I finally got the right app loaded it works. Frankly It is too low end for real security but it can help for some people.



It would be nice for some clear requirement instructions as to what you need to get this to work. Pretty disappointed as of now.

I put 3 stars since it does appear to power up. If I can load the right app on the iPad and get this to work I will follow up

this with a more complete review. I can only say as far as I can tell you need an iPad and an iPhone for this to work.

it is possible that an iPad with full cellular would work. my iPad is wifi only.

the package states iPad,iPhone, or iPod touch with iOS 5.0 and a wifi router with internet are needed which I do have.

Frankly annoyed that it is not easy so far.
Reviewed By:Philip A.,9/24/2016 9:01:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 130 degree View, Night Vision, Works with Alexa using IFTTT (Special Offer 12 Month Cloud Storage w/ 7 day Playback)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nicely constructed but POOR video quality and feed
Pros: -Nice form Factor and Construction
-Magnetic base
Cons: -issues pushing WIFI setting to camera
-poor video quality
-poor night vision video
-laggy live video feed
-doesn't always show up in APP
-2.4gHz G/N WIFI
Other Thoughts: WOW. Do not believe these reviewers giving it 4-5 stars. I am an Eggxpert reviewer and giving my unbiased opinion and review. This item is flat out horrible. The physical item itself is nicely constructed but that’s about it. The quality in video is absolutely horrendous and you cannot make out any detail. After all the purpose of this product is to detect and record video- what purpose does it have if the video is so bad you can't make out any detail in your recordings??? When viewing live video from your app (on iphone 6) there is tremendous LAG and very poor video quality (I have 175/15Mbps ISP speeds using Linksys EA7500). And that is not mentioning the claimed “night vision” which is no better than a video recording of a pitch black video. The only thing I liked was there was a timestamp and micro SD card slot for recording. The app itself had trouble pushing the wifi signal setting to the camera itself. It miraculously worked after trying for hours. I do not recommend. NEWEGG customers deserve the best products and this is certainly nowhere near the best.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Amennie,

We’re sorry to hear you weren't happy with the video resolution. By default, the cameras are set to stream at the lowest resolution to lower bandwidth and data usage. The three settings are Basic, Standard, and Hi-Def. You can change these while viewing the camera. While you're at it, make sure you have the most up-to-date version of our app. The latest release updated the camera load process to make it more responsive. You can do this by setting up your mobile device to automatically update apps or by downloading the EZVIZ app from the App Store or Google Play. If you have more questions or want help, give the EZVIZ Technical Experience team a call at 1.855.MYEZVIZ (693.9849). We love to help!

Best Regards,
EZVIZ Technical Experience Team

Reviewed By:Amennie T.,9/24/2016 12:39:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 130 degree View, Night Vision, Works with Alexa using IFTTT (Special Offer 12 Month Cloud Storage w/ 7 day Playback)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 nice hardward design, easy setup, many errors in playback
Pros: Free cloud storage is pretty cool

720p is great for good indoor light (decent for low light, acceptable at best for night viewing)

The packaging was very nice for a brand i've never heard of before

Camera was tiny, was not expecting it to be so small

Runs off USB, so I was able to connect it directly to my in wall USB ports, rather than needing the AC-USB adapter

Very minimal power draw

Sweet mounting package, it has two wall anchors and a metallic/magnetic base that connects to the back of the camera
Cons: I didn't like the reliance upon the app for setup, i'm a PC guy & would prefer to not mess around w/ apps and accounts for everything. I swear that I have 200-250 different accounts. Here is one more...

Minor gripe, but it seriously took 1.5 - 2 minutes to remove the plastic wrap on the AC adapter. I get you want your product to look sweet, but my ac adapter taking on a few scratches is the least of my worries...i'd rather have had scratches on it than spent 2 minutes peeling bits of plastic off in chunks.

64 gb max for micro sd storage is a bit dismal. Seems like they're trying to push people to the cloud...which may not be a huge deal for some, but I prefer local storage, which is why my 5 other cameras all store on my server with push clips to my cloud storage.

I didn't like the intrusive access rights on the cell phone app - it demanded access to device & app history, identity, location, photos/media/files, camera, microphone, wifi connection information, and device id/call information permissions.

The app was very odd, in some places you clicked on the prompt, in some places you clicked below the prompt. That should have been fixed in beta pretty easily! So for Enter Email Address you had to click in the line below, for re-type your email address you had to click on the same line. Very confusing at first...

The app required that I enter the WIFI credentials into the app, then waited about 3 minutes of holding my phone on the camera for it to "push credentials" to the camera. It was very odd in the way that it worked. But sitting there holding the phone and camera together for 3 minutes was seemingly odd.

Then getting into date formatting, I went in to switch it from the default to yyyy-mm-dd for better sorting, but that too was a bit confusing...it switched to a scroll based mechanism...very odd.

Then we get into the playback, captures, and recording. This is where my long list of pros slowly begins to drop my rating down from a 4 star camera (too many cons for this price point) to a 3 star camera. I ran into so many errors that I'd never be able to trust that my video captures were going to work when I needed them to...in my other 5 camera systems I rarely ever experience errors and most times it's due to connectivity issues.

That said a few of the errors I got during my time w/ the device...
381102
245405
260015
245404

There were more errors that I got, but did not screenshot because by that point I decided I was not going to use this camera.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it might be a decent entry level camera...but for me there were just too many things that prevented me from trusting this camera.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Ben,

We’re sorry you’re having trouble viewing your playback video on your device. However, since our last firmware update, the Mini can now hold microSD cards up to 128GB. To update the firmware, go to the Home page on your app, press the > above the Mini, and click on "Device Version" to upgrade your firmware. You can do this from anywhere since the camera will use the Wi-Fi network it's connected to for the update. If you have more questions or want help with your camera, give us a call at 1.855.MYEZVIZ (693.9849). We love to help!

Best Regards,
EZVIZ Technical Experience Team

Reviewed By:Ben M.,9/24/2016 12:31:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Foscam > Foscam FI9900P Outdoor Full HD 1080P Wireless Night Vision WDR IP Security Camera (Silver)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Camera
Pros: Easy to set up, stores to the cloud with Android interface as well as on the computer
Cons: Nothing
Other Thoughts: It is recommended as it is easy to set up I had this running and sending to the cloud storage in 20 min.
The only problem here is that this price is twice the normal price. I do not know why this vender would try to sell at 2X the price???
Reviewed By:christopher s.,9/24/2016 12:24:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-NC200 Wireless Surveillance Home Security Camera Motion Detection 300 Mbps Wi-Fi Expansion

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great price...it all goes down hill from there...
Pros: The camera is mid sized for entry level cameras.

It has an amazing entry level price point for a decent camera.

They say that setup is easy...
Cons: There were so many things that I did not like about this camera. I spent way too many hours searching for workarounds and assistance. For the setup to be so minimal, it sure did not work as easily as they portrayed.

For reference, I'll just get this out of the way, i've got a current security camera system in place that has 5 different cameras from 3 different brands...including TP Link. There are a couple LAN cameras and a few WIFI cameras. I have never had an issue that I could not fix, at the very least w/ the help of my ole pal google.

In any case, I was rather dismayed that I needed to connect this camera to the LAN to set it up, why do I need a LAN line for a WIFI camera? Didn't make sense to me, but I wanted to connect this to my guest network, as I always do when testing/reviewing products. However, my guest network is WIFI only. So I was relegated to disconnecting lines from my switch and then consequently connecting my cell phone to my wired only network.

This didn't work (even after creating a WIFI SSID for the LAN), so I tried to set up a vpn connection from the switch, this didn't work either. So I tried to put it on my business LAN that runs my other two wired IP cams. This two did not work for reasons I was never able to discern. Each time I'd get the camera to green light, i'd use the app to attempt to connect and i'd get a page that said 'oops no camera found'. I finally went back to my home network & connected the camera straight to my router and was able to find the camera. However, my office already has a camera, I don't want another switch in the office, and i'm out of ports. So I ran a few tests on the camera and uninstalled everything.

More cons include the reliance on the app. I am still old school and prefer not to run everything on my phone. I prefer setup on a PC and administration/maintenance from the PC. I have an air card and vpn into all my networks, so i've got as much connectivity from my computers as I would from my laptop.

Another issue I had w/ the camera is the intrusive app access. It pulled, Device and app history, identity, location, photos/media/files, microphone, wifi connection information, and device id/call information. In my opinion it's an insane amount of permissions needed to admin a camera.
Other Thoughts: To be honest, this would have received a 1 star review, however, at $30 the price might work for others. I am also assuming that most of my issues surrounded a complex network and in homes that have one single network, it'd probably work stellar. However, it just didn't work for me.
Reviewed By:Ben M.,9/24/2016 12:01:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 130 degree View, Night Vision, Works with Alexa using IFTTT (Special Offer 12 Month Cloud Storage w/ 7 day Playback)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Simple device that works.
Pros: This security camera is built very simple. Not quiet plug and play, but close enough to plug and play.
Excellent night vision and magnetic base means easy to mount.
Cons: The camera cannot be setup or viewed without opening cloud account with EZVIZ. This was the biggest downside for me. While this camera is capable of cloud recording, it can only be done through EZVIZ cloud which is paid service.
Camera recording appears to be encrypted and pretty secure. However, all bets are off if EZVIZ account is hacked. Hope EZVIZ keeps their server very secure.

This camera may be too simple. It lacks many options that are common on other security cameras. There are no recording options. It is set to record only when motion is detected and cannot be changed. Also cannot change motion sensitiveness of the option.
Only available option is WiFi setting, encryption code, and where to record (microSD or cloud).

While night vision is excellent, normal color recording is not so good. It is about same as 500 lines analog security camera. Not too bad, but not HD quality I was expecting.
Other Thoughts: There may be a compatibility issue with Linksys router. I was unable to setup WiFi connection through EZVIZ app. I had to contact technical support to set it up. What I was told to do is change WiFi setting to 802.11g only mode instead of mixed mode. I was told the camera doesn't support 802.11n. After changing WiFi mode, I was able to setup immediately. After the camera is setup, changing the mode back to mixed will work fine.

The camera also appears to be running Linux and 4 ports are open.

Following is a scan result.

Running: Linux 2.6.X|3.X
OS CPE: cpe:/o:linux:linux_kernel:2.6 cpe:/o:linux:linux_kernel:3
OS details: Linux 2.6.32 - 3.5

PORT STATE SERVICE VERSION
554/tcp open rtsp Hikvision 7513 POE IP camera rtspd
8000/tcp open http-alt?
8200/tcp open trivnet1?
9010/tcp open sdr?


There are no built in web interface and any settings are viewings must be done through EZVIZ account using their smart phone app or web site.
I tried connecting to rtsp stream, but it requires user name ans password and I was unable to figure out those information.



Overall, this camera is well designed and built. Just need a way to setup and view without using EZVIZ account.
Reviewed By:Byoung O.,9/23/2016 5:48:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 130 degree View, Night Vision, Works with Alexa using IFTTT (Special Offer 12 Month Cloud Storage w/ 7 day Playback)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice small low cost camera
Pros: Easy setup (only 3 basic steps)
720P fish eye (115 degree) view
Micro SD card local storage (also can have cloud storage 1st 3 years free).
Night vision
Indoor camera
WiFi (2.4GHZ)
Android and iOS
Cons: Doesn’t play with other cameras or security apps.
Other Thoughts: I placed this indoor looking outside through a window, view of anyone coming for going from the front door. The camera breaks up the video files to keep them small and date / time stamps them so you can look through the ones you want. It auto switches from day/night vision and does a good job of seeing things about 30 feet out.
Reviewed By:David N.,9/21/2016 6:08:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.