Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP320PI 1280 x 960 MAX Resolution Outdoor 1.3 MP HD PoE Bullet IR Network Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Only local machine video capture?
Pros: It was relatively cheap and the resolution is fairly decent.
Cons: The mounts are a minor pain to adjust, but once you move things a couple times it wasn't much of an issue.

The only way I seem to be able to configure these things in order to save video is to use a browser and hit the record button. I can't seem to get the camera to dump the video feed to a file on an FTP server, a NAS, or a Win7 or Server2008 file share. The TENDnetVIEW Pro software is anything but pro and seems to lockup and require a restart after I change almost any feature. When I use the TrendNet server software, all it seems capable of doing is sending jpg files. I am quite confused as to why they would bother to include an FTP option if you can't add video files.

*I have tested the FTP with by transferring some switch configs to it, so it isn't a firewall.
Other Thoughts: I am not sure why I keep giving TrendNet a chance...

I am going to give this a couple more days, but after that I am going to have to conclude that they (or their software) is defective and return them.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/2/2016 12:38:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Amcrest > Amcrest IPM-721S WiFi Wireless IP Security Surveillance Camera System, HD Megapixel 720P (1280TVL) - Silver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very Happy So Far (Updated 4/29/16)
Pros: Good picture quality and wifi reception.
Seems like Amcrest is security conscious since it forced a firmware update at first setup.
Cons: You have to download a plug-in to watch the live video stream in FireFox.
Lastpass doesn't work with the browser login page.
Other Thoughts: I have owned this camera for about a month now. Before this one I had always bought D-Link cameras. I was looking for something less expensive that I could put outside in a well covered carport (this camera is not rated for outdoor use). The carport is a good 30+ feet from my house and the wireless signal has to go though one interior and one exterior wall before traveling the 30+ feet to the car port. I am able to pull an average of 25-30FPS in black&white mode over the wifi and there is only occasional lag in the video, which I think is acceptable for running a 720P video over wifi that far and though walls.

Before purchasing this camera I purchased a D-Link DCS-5029L for in my kitchen to watch the back door. The Amcrest IPM-721S is superior to the D-Link camera in every way and it cost about half as much (the D-Link DCS-5029L is currently listed for $149.99). Recently my D-Link has actually had issues and I'm in contact with them to try and get an RMA.

During initial setup the camera automatically downloaded the latest firmware (which I think is great). This leads me to believe that Amcrest is security conscious about it's I.O.T. (Internet Of Things) devices. The fact that lastpass doesn't work in FireFox for the browser login screen also hints at this, though this could also just be a bug.

**One important thing to note. When you first setup this camera the video quality is bad. It took me some time to figure out that the default FPS is set to a very low setting. You have to login to the camera, go to Setup > Camera > Video and in that screen there are drop down boxes for the FPS for both the main stream and the sub stream, you want to set both of those to the max of 30 and that will fix the bad video quality.

I'm using this camera as well as my other D-Link cameras in ispy on a dedicated computer. This camera definitely took the most time to get setup correctly in ispy since the video URLs are not what I was used to with the D-Link cameras. I'm currently using the MJPEG URL http://usernamehere:passwordhere@IPaddresshere:80/video/mjpg.cgi

-UPDATE 4/29/2016-
I have purchased a second one of these cameras to replace the D-Link DCS-5029L in my kitchen that after only two months of use has become so blurry and laggy that motion detection in ispy no longer works. The Amcrest camera I put up in the carport is still working fine.
Reviewed By:Phillip T.,4/29/2016 6:12:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-2630L Full HD 180-Degree Wi-Fi Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Hard to setup
Pros: Nice wide clean view
Cons: After wasting a lot of time what I ended up doing for camera set up...
I held the reset button until the LED flashed Red real fast.. Once it started flashing orange I ran the app on the phone and everything went smooth



Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2016 9:54:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Foscam > Foscam FI9803P Outdoor HD 720P Wireless Night Vision IP Security Camera (White)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Easy to Install - VERY Difficult to Setup Wirelessly
Pros: Good picture LAN wired. Easy to install LAN-Ethernet.
Cons: Quick Installation Guide is WORTHLESS.
It says it is outdoor and then gives a less than 5 foot chord hard-wired into camera with connections which need to be protected from the weather.
Wireless setup is EXTREMELY difficult. CD and online owner's manual is better than the Quick Install Guide, but misses A LOT in translation from Chinese to English. FOSCAM Client software is not easy to decipher and use, though with hours of playing around with it, you can get the cameras to work - wired via Ethernet LAN. Been over a week and I still cannot get them to work wireless.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely would NOT recommend this product. The tech support is non-existent. Nobody answers their tech support phone. Nobody answers their tech support emails. Their "live chat" is not actually a live chat. It is email, which they do not answer. The English to Chinese translator must be on holiday. Save your money, read reviews of other more expensive cameras here on Newegg and buy only 4 or 5 star rated cameras.
Reviewed By:Leland L.,4/27/2016 7:01:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP762IC (v1.0R) 720P HD Wireless Day/Night Micro SD card, 2 Way Audio Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage
Pros: Inexspensive
Cons: Too many motion false positives to count.
Won't record video to SD card.
Won't recognize SD card
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time or your money if you're looking for a solution that includes recording video. I own 2 of these turkeys.

It doesn't recognize any of 32 GB micro SD cards I've tried. And yes, I tested the cards and they work fine. When you insert the card into the camera, it creates it's own folder. But then the setup tells you the card doesn't exist.

The false positives are crazy. I've even set the sensitivity down to 75%, and it still sends images via email all night long.

Look elsewhere for a wireless camera.
Reviewed By:Steve Z.,4/25/2016 2:59:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-2630L Full HD 180-Degree Wi-Fi Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very large and nice quality camers with Great wide angle viewing but constantly disconnects from my remote app
Pros: Quality Build, excellent wide angle viewing
Cons: Very difficult to set up
Constantly disconnects and is rendered useless remotely
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this camera based on my experience.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you very much for the feedback you have provided us and we want to apologize for the issues you have experienced with the DCS-2630L. Please make sure that you have upgraded to the latest firmware. If that does not resolve your issues then we recommend that you contact our technical support team by calling 1-877-453-5465. Our technicians will work with you to ensure that your problems are resolved and that you are satisfied as a D-Link customer.

Reviewed By:Rob R.,4/25/2016 8:11:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > SHIELDeye > SHIELDeye RSCM-13601B - Day & Night Wireless IP Camera with 2-Way Audio, Pan & Tilt, and Easy Installation

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not simple, but not hard if you know what you're doing
Pros: - Wifi is fantastic
- On the fly monitoring/voice from Cell phone anywhere
- Can take a static IP
- Pan Tilt Zoom for $50
- Had for over a year and still working just as good as day 1 even after a few "mishaps with children"
Cons: - I use my phone to watch my mischievous kids if they aren't listening and half the time I open the phone app, none of the "controls" light up, sometimes I have to close and open it 4-5 times before they enable.
- Audio is pretty staticy and not very good


Other Thoughts: - I don't record anything with these just use for "on the fly" monitoring when wanted. So they work perfectly for that.
- Software wasn't the easiest to find as it didn't come with any but I managed to find some listed on Rosewill's website that I was able to add the camera to and setup recording no problem on Windows 10.
- for a $50 quick purchase I am happy with them. I would not rely on them for full security. I have 4 camera system from Nightowl that records and is a lot better quality, which of course had a bigger price-tag. But for inside I just use cheapy cameras that are Wifi and I can move around and setup when we take vacations or weekends away! They work great for that!
Reviewed By:Joseph K.,4/25/2016 7:41:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini 720p HD Wireless Home Security Cloud Camera with 12-Month Subscription to 7-Day Cloud Recording included

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Simple Wi-fi Camera
Pros: Image quality is pretty good within the limits of the design (see Other Thoughts below).

Fairly easy to set up compared to the Chinese Wi-fi camera i compared it with.

Camera can be manually tilted or swiveled to point it where you want to view.

Two-way sound lets you hear as well as see what's going on, and you can talk back.

Works well under most lighting conditions, even in the dark.

At EZVIZLife website you can register more or less anonymously (any email address will do). Then you can simply click to enable or disable free online recording for 1 year. A microSD card inserted into a slot on the camera itself allows local, private recording.

You can click to enable or disable motion-sensing recording and restrict it to certain hours if desired. You can click to enable "alert" messages to the EZVIZ app on your phone.
Cons: Image quality is limited. The camera has a fixed focus lens without any optical zoom. This means that, while the zoomed-out whole room view looks clear and detailed, it gets fuzzy when you use the digital zoom to see something up close. An object near the camera can look detailed, but when you zoom in on someone or some thing across the room it will be fuzzy. All these affordable 720P cameras seem to have this trait. To overcome this you would need a 1080P or 4K UHD camera, ideally one with optical zoom. A quick search will reveal these are much more expensive.

The blinking blue light on the camera is both annoying and a dead giveaway to anyone in the room that the camera is active.

With online recording you are trusting that the recorded video and sound are safe and secure on the "cloud" server. Do so at your own risk. Of course, if it helps you catch a burglar - great!
Other Thoughts: I compared this EZVIZ camera to a Xiaomi Yi wi-fi camera. Image quality and sound quality are similarly good within the limits mentioned above. The Xiaomi was a a real pain to set up, mainly because the app store leads you to a Chinese-only app for setting up and using the camera. Eventually, i found an English language version of the app after much searching. The EZVIZ is clearly ready for primetime, whereas the Yi is a work in progress. One advantage of the Yi is its price - $29.

Overall, both wi-fi cameras are useful as a baby-cam, a pet-cam or an indoor security camera. You could, of course, stand one on a window sill to keep a watch on your porch or deck or yard.
Reviewed By:Andrew M.,4/23/2016 11:07:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini 720p HD Wireless Home Security Cloud Camera with 12-Month Subscription to 7-Day Cloud Recording included

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good product easy to use and affordable price
Pros: It works and I can see my garage from my phone very clear
Cons: Good enough
Reviewed By:Xincong h.,4/22/2016 8:56:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini 720p HD Wireless Home Security Cloud Camera with 12-Month Subscription to 7-Day Cloud Recording included

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Truly Mini
Pros: * The EZVIZ Mini Camera isn’t groundbreaking in anyway when compared to what is already on the market. There are plenty of small cameras out there for you to place anywhere with a Wi-Fi connection. Despite the lack of anything truly intuitive, the camera does its job and works as expected. *

- The EZVIZ Camera itself is indeed “mini” as its name alludes. It is even smaller in footprint than my Logitech C930 webcam, which is quite a feat for a fully functioning camera. It covers almost an entire 120 degree span and has quite a lot of flexibility to it with the ball bearing stand, allowing it to be placed or hidden nearly anywhere. It is powered by a single cord to a wall wart USB outlet. There is an indicator light located on the front of the camera that may give away its position if not covered up. The indicator light informs you of various light patterns and colors to report the status of the camera. There is also an IR light for night vision recording and a hard reset button. The EZVIZ Included with the EZVIZ Camera is a magnet that you can attach to the bottom of the camera’s stand to allow mounting, along with double-sided adhesive. Also packaged with it are two screws and corresponding mollys for wall mounting; as well as a comprehensive quick start guide.

- The EZVIZ Camera sports an extremely easy setup that most of us have become accustomed to concerning Wi-Fi smart devices such as this. It pretty much consists of downloading an app, creating an account, scanning a QR code, and adding the camera to the network. Using the app, you can utilize all of the EZVIZ camera’s functions.

- Within the EZVIZ app, there are up to four cameras that can be connected and controlled from one hub, and this easy expansion to four different views at the touch of the finger is a welcome addition. You can mute the mic on the camera (see Cons), flip the video playback, make it full screen, or zoom (which quickly pixelates, understandably). You can also begin recording the camera’s image, which will save on the SD card you inserted into the device, change the resolution from basic to standard to high-def, and snap a quick picture that’ll save as a gallery, viewable right from the phone or later on when the SD card is retrieved. The pictures are pretty good quality, just like the video recording.

- The 720p Camera looks good enough. There’s a slight lag but not as a drastic of a delay that other devices tend to produce. Text on shirts can be clearly read, the light level is rather admirable, and it focuses pretty well. The mic picks up nearby sounds just as well too (See Cons).
Cons: - Though the camera resolution and clarity is above par, it doesn’t necessarily look like 720p. The footage can be grainy and the fish eye, though understandable, can be a turn off. However, if you’re using this to keep an eye on an area of your home like your office or what have you, it will more than suffice, as peoples’ faces are easily seen. Although, setting up the EZVIZ camera to overlook outside of a window is not a good idea. Screen frames over windows blur the camera’s focus and clarity, and distance and light rapidly diminishes the picture quality. Also, occasionally the camera will lag during an entire 10 second block and then will speed across the frames to catch up to real-time.

- The lack of included rubber mounts for the bottom of the stand is kind of disappointing. It slides around easily and you will have to either buy standoffs for the bottom or make up your own in order to keep it in place.

- The EVZIZ isn’t the most budget friendly camera. There are other alternatives for cheaper prices, but the 720p integration is nice.

- An SD Card will be required, as it doesn’t come with one. For the price, the least EZVIZ could have done was include a small 4GB SD Card for quick setup and install.

- The camera’s mic will not mute no matter how many times I try to mute the sound. It seems like my fingerprint just doesn’t register. The sound playback is there, but it’s also very tinny. Don’t expect spectacular audio playback and to be able to listen in on conversations; it just isn’t happening with the EZVIZ.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, the EZVIZ Camera is a simple device. It doesn’t have many bells or whistles, and a consumer will know whether they need something like this or not. It isn’t for everyone as a must have device, but may be for consumers who want to keep an extra eye on their office, bedroom, or an area where a safe is located. The EZVIZ is definitely NOT a home solution for security and monitoring; if you’re looking for security and home monitoring, look elsewhere. But if you need a cheap solution for monitoring a small area of your home or elsewhere, the EZVIZ may be just for you, and I can say that it will certainly do its job well. From its simple setup to its small form factor and its bare-knuckle design, it will serve its purpose well.
Reviewed By:Benjamin B.,4/22/2016 3:04:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.