Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP321PI 1280 x 960 MAX Resolution Cable Outdoor 1.3 MP HD PoE Dome IR Network Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not quite ready for prime time viewing
Pros: Supports PoE or a direct 12v hookup ( it is clearly noted that a 12v supply is NOT included)
Fully weatherproof Ethernet connection
Solid dome weatherproofing using torx attachment screws to deter tampering ( wrench provided)
Moisture Absorbent packet installed in dome-nice touch
Great Night Vision Illumination
Tamper proof ( to a point there are software triggers, no physical switch)
THREE year warranty-----out-standing
Trendnet view pro included, could save you thousands of bucks on a large install.
Cons: Motion Detection basically unusable
Software selections confusing and buggy
Price Point. MSRP is high, often discounted
App Software for iOs has operational issues
Learning curve is steep
I spent far more time then I cared to trying to get this product to fill my simple needs of watching a door and reporting when somebody appeared. I got notices every time a bug flew thru the field of view, sensitivity control seemed to be all or nothing.
Motion sensing would stop at random, requiring a reboot
Software would often crash camera when reviewing captured video
----------------------------------------------------------------------
I've got more then enough to say here...I'll continue to the next field....
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have lots of cameras around my home. I use a mix of systems including some PoE IP cameras, a couple of cloud based single cameras and an old analog system, So I consider myself pretty well versed in this area.

The TV-IP321pi is a solid dome camera, but there are too many gotchas to suggest that anybody below the “ I am an expert” attempt to integrate this camera into a bigger system or even use it as a single security camera

Trendnet Supplies a pretty potent bit of software for this product called Trendnet View pro. Has support for up to 32 cameras and it’s the type of product somebody would find useful managing a dozen or more cameras spread out in a large facility. It’s a number one reason to go with Trendnet products, similar products cost quite a bit (you would be surprised). However there is one important fact that ANYBODY considering this particular product should know.

Trendnet has a couple of camera product lines. This particular line is NOT cloud based. In simple terms, you CAN get it to work outside your home network, but it requires above average skills networking.

It is however well documented on the Trendnet website as to which cameras are supported by which versions of their software.

From my 20 years’ experience is software, I can tell you that managing three teams developing three variants of a package is an absolute nightmare. Having the same team working on three variants is EVEN WORSE. Then the App teams.

Work with more than one class of Trendnet products and you’ll get frustrated fast.
Other Thoughts: continued....
----------------------
DDNS support was expanded from what a previous reviewer encountered. Now supporting both Dyn and No-IP services. I set my camera up with the dyn service and was able to access the camera image on my iphone when outside of my home network. Had to dink around with the sub-stream settings and the iOs app was constantly claiming the video is in the wrong format for the first twenty minutes or so, then no problems at all. Odd. I ended up getting better results with the sub stream image set to mjpeg 352*240 variable b/r medium quality and 10 frames per second. That should save somebody a few hours.

The Android version of the Trendnet app appeared to be far more stable with rock solid video feeds from inside the home network. My android phone isn’t used as a telephone. So I cannot comment how well it does outside the home network. I would expect it to be fine. My HP tablet had too old of a version of the android OS to allow the install.

Considering the erratic email notifications (when you can get them work reliably and not start to cry wolf (sends and image (and lots of them) when there is no obvious intrusion into the detection zone) and I’d say again that as a manned surveillance product, great, to expect notifications when the kids come home or UPS drops a package, not so reliable.

You always want to upgrade the firmware in a camera system to the latest version before you install it. Do a hard reset on the hardware itself after updating the firmware. I had unreliable operation of this system until I did a hard reset after updating the firmware. Getting the firmware update in was painless. Some obvious UI improvements, most notably the “Test” button for the email setup to attempt to send out mail. Still a long way from finished if anybody asks me.

The MSRPt is on the high side of dome cameras, couple this with the various issues I encountered and I can again only suggest this camera as expansion to an existing network of Trendnet camera products.

It has great potential, but software issues hobble the camera to the point I would have returned it.

I have the opinion that this product line is best suited for experienced IT and system people. A novice will be brought to tears setting up access to NAS/Samba file storage (no storage on the device itself). It took almost an hour to prepare a 64GB flash drive sitting in my TP-Link Talon router’s USB3 slot. Frustrating that it appeared “Stuck” at 88%, while it was continuing to write files to the flash drive. Imagine how much time I wasted dinking around with all that stuff. I had been using the flash drive for installers and such beforehand with no problems.

Bottom line:
I’ll give the Trendnet IP321 three eggs for an outstanding image quality and night vision illumination and the basic product design. Software issues however are serious and severely limits what I would suggest you use the particular camera for. Perhaps in the next rev, they will finally get it right, but until then, carefully consider why you want this particular camera.
I was going to rate this product poor. I’ll have to take a little of the blame here, but the Trendnet developers sure appear to make a whole lot of assumptions about user skill levels and didn’t provide much in the way of guidance (by example would have helped lots) or perhaps a simple explanation why a NAS device has to be “formatted” before the IP321-pi could save video to it. Not formatted, it just has to set up its file system. All other data on the drive can remain

Final Thoughts:
Solid hardware by a committed company. I’m sure whatever firmware issues made my life difficult will get resolved up to the cameras end of life status arrives. The firmware needs a lot of work. Sorry Trendnet, but I depend on and rely on consistent and reliable operation for email and motion notifications

Good software values if you run a Trendnet camera system, you could hang a dozen of these around your property and have all the video feeds running displaying on a large monitor, just like you’ve seen in Hollywood surveillance rooms. That alone is worth the price of admission, as a good surveillance camera management package can run well over a thousand bucks.
I’d say for an Average Joe who just wants to know when somebody was at his front door for whatever reason, look into offerings by other vendors.

Don’t buy because of a deep discount makes something look like a deal. Read the reviews and come to your own conclusions. My conclusion is that since I need reliable motion notifications, I cannot use this product for its intended purpose. I’ll be watching for the next firmware update, hopefully I can give this camera a couple of more eggs after that happens.
Reviewed By:Peter P.,8/24/2016 12:40:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Amcrest > Amcrest IPM-721S WiFi Wireless IP Security Surveillance Camera System, HD Megapixel 720P (1280TVL) - Silver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Wasted four hours of my life trying to get this garbage to work. Don't waste your time.
Reviewed By:Timothy M.,8/21/2016 1:30:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Foscam > Foscam FI9803P Outdoor HD 720P Wireless Night Vision IP Security Camera (White)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Foscam F19803P
Pros: Very easy to setup. The wireless works over 150 feet away. The images are really clear. The price is scary LOW.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: I wish there software would support other manufactures. The majority of my cameras is Foscam, but I do have some reallink, trendnet, and hikvision.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/21/2016 5:12:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 130 degree View, Night Vision (Special Offer 12 Month Cloud Storage w/ 7 day Playback)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Object movement screenshots
Cons: Playback function does not work
Other Thoughts: This is a good basic device if you wanna log-in to app and see LIVE action, but good luck trying to go back in time to check something, Playback function does not work, even with the cloud... however, you can do old school, take off the Sd Card and plug it to your computer to view the files..
Manufacturer Response:Hello Valued Customer,

We’re sorry you’re having trouble viewing your playback video. Many customers use our products because of how easy it is to view footage on their smartphones, tablets, laptops, and computers. We care about the experience our customers have with our products and our EZVIZ Experience Team would love to help you figure out what’s causing the problems with your system and answer any other questions you might have. Give us a call at 1.855.MYEZVIZ (693.9849). We love to help!

Best Regards,
EZVIZ Technical Experience Team

Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/19/2016 8:09:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > SHIELDeye > SHIELDeye RSCM-15701W 1280 x 720 MAX Resolution RJ45 High Resolution Wireless IP Camera with Easy Installation and Night Vision

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome IP camera
Pros: Great resolution, app keeps up with DSL router IP address changes, dependable
Cons: A little clunky setting up
Other Thoughts: I'm slowing phasing out my Foscam's with these. They are just as good as Foscam, way cheaper and the android app automatically detects and adapts to DSL router changes. I've not had any issues with connectivity. Instructions are a little difficult to understand but once setup they are solid.
Reviewed By:George C.,8/16/2016 8:17:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Amcrest > Amcrest IPM-721S WiFi Wireless IP Security Surveillance Camera System, HD Megapixel 720P (1280TVL) - Silver

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Easy Setup but not ery reliable feed.
Pros: - Good looking camera. Fits well in the family room.
- Fast and easy setup.
- Connects easiliy to wifi and phone (iPhone and android)
Cons: - Very unreliable connection. Have to re-boot it at least once a day.
- Too many logons and passwords needed. One for the amcrestcloud, one for amcrestview and one for amcrestsupport.
- still unclear why camera disconnects frequently.
Other Thoughts: - would not recommend product
Reviewed By:Farid R.,8/15/2016 8:27:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 130 degree View, Night Vision (Special Offer 12 Month Cloud Storage w/ 7 day Playback)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Using the EZVIV Mini for 3 weeks now and it deserves 4 stars
Pros: - Setup was really easy and fast. Downloaded the free app from Apple app store and it took only a few minutes to get the camera up and running.
- Free Cloud storage for 1 year. I wasn’t sure about the cloud service at first because it required credit card. However, the activation still went through even though I didn’t provide the credit card information during the process. I also inserted a 4GB mini SD.
- Picture quality is decent in daytime w/ wide angle. Comparable to the 1st generation DropCam we have since 2 years ago. Like to be able to zoom in and still clear shot.
- It’s a very small camera and takes up little space. Surprised at such high quality daytime images from such a small device.
Cons: - Poor picture quality during night time. It just isn’t very clear. I have it facing the street.
- The “gallery” option to see the cloud and storage recordings needs improvement. It takes a minute for the images to load on the phone app. It freezes while waiting for them to load on the computer browser.
Other Thoughts: Over all, I’d recommend this product. I got it on sale for ~70 dollars. It’s a very helpful tool for home security.
Reviewed By:Yayen H.,8/13/2016 10:10:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP762IC (v1.0R) 720P HD Wireless Day/Night Micro SD card, 2 Way Audio Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 solid choice for cloud viewing at night
Pros: Free cloud based remote viewing software. Works even behind restrictive firewalls (for a limited time)

Very simple and easy setup, so long as you are not on windows 10

Comes with mounting screws

Audio is surprisingly clear. It will pick up very faint noises.

2 way audio is neat

Once I connected my phone directly, I was then able to view it over the internet from a remote location without any manual port forwarding or difficult setup.
Cons: If you are on windows 10, don’t plan on using the software. You will have to find it manually on your network either by guessing or looking at your dhcp server. Or use windows 8.1 earlier. This is more a Microsoft problem than a Trendnet problem.

If you are behind a firewall and your phone can’t talk directly to the camera, the connection will get proxied through Trendnet’s servers. This great for quick viewing, but there is a time limit, presumably because it’s costing them bandwidth on their servers to pass the traffic to you.

Need an external speaker of some kind for 2 way audio to work.
Other Thoughts: What a nightmare it was trying to get this setup using windows 10. The software on the disk and online is not trusted by windows, so the OS blocks it. Despite significant effort to try to force it to work, I wasn’t able to get it to work. I ended up just tossing the software and using the web interface to set it up. It will try to install a plugin, but it’s only required if you want to view video. You can still complete the setup without installing anything.
Once it was setup it worked beautifully. There was maybe a 3 or 4 second lag in the video over the internet, but it worked well even with minimal upload speed. It was still connected over 100 ft away from my wifi router.
If you need what it has (wifi, motion sense, night vision), and don’t need was it doesn’t (poe, built in speaker), then it’s a great choice at the current price listed on newegg. For the full MSRP though it might be a bit expensive for what it does.
Reviewed By:Edwin P.,8/11/2016 5:38:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-2136L 1.3MP 720P HD White LED W/ Color Night Vision Wireless Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Features
Pros: + Several video configuration features with easy access on iOS.
+ Motion detection.
+ Two-way communication.
+ Three resolutions: 240p, 480p, 720p.
+ Snapshot button.
+ SD card for playback.

I primarily used the iOS app to test the camera and I really liked the features available. A row of buttons is displayed below the video stream. The buttons allowed me to change the resolution of the video; turn on the camera’s mic so you can listen; turn on the mic on your phone so you can speak through the camera speaker; turn on/off/auto the light; and take a snapshot.

The image is a little fisheyed to pick up more of the viewing area than a standard lens. The 240p is choppy, but very usable resolution. The 720p resolution is pretty sharp, but you’d be filling up the storage if you decided to save that resolution to the SD card.

Enabling motion detects will send a push notification to my phone when it detects movement. How cool is that?

This is a very nice IP camera with a lot of features to fit many needs. I am impressed with its features.
Cons:
- Difficult to configure initially.
- Lost wifi configuration.
- Lost contact.
- A little top heavy.

I have had difficulty setting up the camera. I started with the iOS app to connect and configure the camera. I followed the instructions step-by-step, but I had to do the steps twice before the camera was recognized on my ethernet network. I could not configure the wifi using the iOS app. The option to configure it was available, but the action would time-out when I tried to enable it.

I was able to configure the wifi using the Windows software, but I had to run through the configuration steps twice to get it to work. However, at some point my camera was no longer accessible by wifi and I had to plug it back into the ethernet. My router may have lost power causing issue, but that is speculation.

I’m going to crack an egg for my difficulties with configurations. I have a slow internet connection which may be a factor, but I have no way of knowing due to the lack of error messaging.

The base is a little too light for the camera to be simply placed on a flat surface without fear of instability. The base does have screw holes so that i can be mounted, which is probably the primary intent of the design.
Other Thoughts: I have a 3Mbps Internet connection which may be the root of my problems listed in the cons. I cannot say for sure. I am pretty sure that I could not access the video stream from outside of my network due to my poor internet speed. Again, not 100% positive though.

A firmware update begin as soon as the camera had access to the Internet.
Reviewed By:Brian D.,8/10/2016 10:58:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-NC220 Wireless Day / Night Surveillance Home Security Camera Motion & Sound Detection 300 Mbps Wi-Fi Expansion

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Decent product for the price.
Pros: Works well, resolutions could be better, but not bad for the price. Night vision works, as does email alerts, and cloud streaming.
Make sure you change the default password!
Cons: None that I have seen.
Other Thoughts: Sure! A decent cheap camera.
Reviewed By:adam p.,8/9/2016 8:37:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.