Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Grandstream > Grandstream GXV3601HD 1600 x 1200 MAX Resolution RJ45 High Definition IP Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice hardware, but does not support HTTPS
Pros: The camera hardware seems pretty sturdy and it has a decent feature set for the cost.
Cons: The camera does not support HTTPS as stated in the product description. The firmware update process is rather opaque -- there is not "upgrade firmware now" option/button. It seems to rely on an automatic upgrade setting with a minimum wait time of 60 seconds. Weird
Other Thoughts: Would almost give it a 5 it it came with the HTTPS that was promised.
Reviewed By:Jim H,9/19/2014 10:47:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-5222L HD 720P Pan/Tilt Night Vision Motion Detection 2 Way Audio Wireless mydlink enabled Surveillance Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Camera, Amazing Price
Pros: The unit itself is fairly lightweight which made mounting this to the wall with the 90 degree wall mount that came with the unit a breeze.

Wi-Fi setup was a breeze since my wireless router has WPS. I simply pressed the button on the router waited for it to blink then did the same on the camera and I was in business. After a few days I wanted to hard wire the camera in so I would get a solid frame rate with bit rate. So I ran an Ethernet cable to the camera and whamo my video quality was rock solid (22fps @ 2200 mbps) on my phone 4gLTE (strong signal) and Wi-Fi I would get 30fps at 44mbps for comparison. All of these values I monitor off of my Lumia 1020 so I am not sure how you would be able to do an apples to apples on your end. Sufficed to say that this camera is buy far the best I have owned and the easiest that I have setup.
Cons: none
Manufacturer Response:We want to thank you for the feedback as we greatly appreciate the input and we are glad to hear that you are satisfied with the product. If you ever encounter any issues please give us a call at 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for being a D-Link customer.

Reviewed By:PWO,9/18/2014 8:13:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Axis Communications > Axis 0288004 Q7401 Video Encoder

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good product
Pros: great for analog to IP conversions
Cons: Power plug way too big, 110v/9v
Reviewed By:kramerhd,9/18/2014 5:25:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Grandstream > Grandstream GXV3611HD 1600 x 1200 MAX Resolution 5MP CMOS Sensor RJ45 High Definition Fixed Dome IP Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great device and great price.
Cons: I haven't seen a better device in this price range with PoE
Reviewed By:N/A,9/17/2014 8:07:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Zmodo > Zmodo PKC-IBH13-P RJ45 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera with QR Code Smartphone Setup (w/ 48V 1A POE Adapter)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Fell short of expectation
Pros: Good price for a 720p outdoor camera that includes a PoE injector.
Cons: Does not support FTP despite having FTP listed in the product description! Note that I'm not nit picking some random RFC that the camera doesn't implement in its FTP client. Plain and simple, if you want a video clip to be FTPed somewhere when a motion alarm is triggered, this camera will not do it.

It also runs hot. Surface temperature of the camera enclosure was 115 degrees F after running 2 hours in my garage. I would have to guess it will fail pretty quick if it runs a few months at this temperature.
Other Thoughts: Camera might be fine for someone with a dedicated monitoring computer (Zone Minder?), but that doesn't work for me.
Reviewed By:JoeBoese,9/17/2014 8:42:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-IBH13-W RJ45 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor Wireless IP Camera with QR Code Smartphone Setup

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good product
Pros: Considering the price, the picture quality and the night vision are very good.

You wont find a 720P outdoor IP65 Weather Proof camera with a better quality/price value than this.
Cons: The web application requires internet explorer (activeX). This is VERY annoying when running linux.

There is a noticeable delay in the video stream, nothing too long but definitly present. (15-20 seconds through a wifi connection)
Other Thoughts: The good thing is, you can easily connect directly to the video stream with the good url using ffmpeg or vlc and bypass the horrible web application.
Reviewed By:vincelab,9/16/2014 1:29:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-5029L HD 720P Pan/Tilt Night Vision Motion Detection 2 Way Audio Wireless mydlink enabled Surveillance Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: HD video, pan and tilt control, night vision, and good mounting hardware.

The video is clear in HD.

The SD slot is nice for internal recording. There are several options on how to record to the SD card. You can set the camera to record when motion is detected, or take a picture when motion is detected.

Setup was very simple. Signing up with DLink Mycloud was super easy and pairing the camera with it was painless. There was not even any require to install software on my computer, the download simply runs and does everything you need.

Connecting the camera to my WiFi was very easy. The setup walked me through it, I picked my SSID and put in my password and the camera connected to my WiFi right away.

The two way audio is fun.

This camera streams the video in several different formats. By default is streams in 1280x720, 640x360, and 320x176.

The configuration page that you get when you browse to the IP address of the camera on a computer is very nice, and offers a lot of tweaking options.
Cons: I was a little disappointing to find no ability to record to a computer or external network storage bundled with the camera. I had to go out and find my own solution. I ended up finding a piece of software called iSpy, which is free. This allowed me to connect to the camera over the network and record from it though a PC onto my network storage. But even this was a little tricky to set up, as originally the software would not detect the HD stream, it would only record the 320x176 video stream. It took an hour of trial and error and manual setting up the connection to the camera in the software to finally get the software to record the HD stream.

No matter what I did, I could not get the MyDlink app on my android smartphone to detect the camera as a local camera. This meant I was stuck watching the camera on the app in remote mode, which leads to my next issue.

When viewing the camera in remote mode using the smartphone app, you can not watch the HD video stream. You are limited to the low quality video.

Controlling the camera's pan and tilt is almost impossible with the smartphone app. It is very laggy, and will just stop responding after a short time. Controlling the camera through the web interface built into the camera works though, but this obviously isn't an option if you are away from your home.
Other Thoughts: I think with some software tweaks this camera can be perfect. I really think the camera should come with some kind of software to record video to your PC. DLink shouldn't expect people already have a DVR or always record to the SD card.
Reviewed By:Newtekie1,9/15/2014 6:54:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-5029L HD 720P Pan/Tilt Night Vision Motion Detection 2 Way Audio Wireless mydlink enabled Surveillance Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good hardware, software not so good
Pros: Good mounting hardware is a plus, as is wireless and night-vision operation. The night vision actually works--I was expecting a gimmick, but the image quality is quite acceptable.

It can detect motion and either take snapshots or video when motion is detected, recording digital output on a microSD card. It can email you when motion detection events occur.

It has a smartphone app for iPhone, iPad, Android, and Windows phone, which when combined with a "mydlink cloud account," gives you remote access to your camera, including the ability (which sometimes even works) to pan, tilt, and zoom.
Cons: There are numerous cons. First, the software is buggy. Motion detection won't actually turn on when wireless is enabled; although it appears to turn on, it won't work. You have to enable motion detection with a wired connection to your network--after you enable it while wired, you can then go wireless and it still works.

Actually getting automatic recording from motion detection set up and working was a serious pain, requiring numerous trial-and-error attempts both from the software, the mydlink camera web page, and the firmware web page of the camera itself.

The smartphone app is seriously slow, and the camera will stop responding to pan and tilt commands from the smartphone app entirely after the first few seconds of use.
Other Thoughts: This could be such a wonderful product. It will work as described but setting it up requires serious patience and determination and is likely to prove frustrating for non-technical owners.

If the firmware and software were fixed and actually worked dependably and well, this would easily be a five-star product. As it stands today, I actually feel that the three stars that I am giving it may perhaps be more generous than it actually deserves.
Manufacturer Response:We appreciate the feedback as we take the input into great consideration and we are sorry to hear that you encountered issues with the product. We will pass on the information you have provided to our Product Management team. For future reference, if you ever run into any issues, feel free to contact our technical support team for assistance by calling 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

Reviewed By:James P.,9/14/2014 8:41:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP311PI (v1.0R) 10/100 Mbps PoE Port Outdoor Vandal Resistant 3 MP HD Dome Day/Night IP Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great camera - on daylight only
Pros: It's a power over Ethernet camera that is very compact and doesn't stick out much once mounted. The field of view and resolution is excellent and the daytime pictures just brilliant. Works like a charm on blue iris
Cons: Unusable night vision. Worked with tech support at trendnet with no sucess. All suggested setting changes, camera mount tweaking and lens cover optimization did not solve the issue.
A technically same camera IP-310 (bullet style) will delivery you a incredible good nighttime picture. The dome version IP-311 doesn't, because of reflections.
I'm still hoping to get this worked out or returned and exchanged to the IP-310 style, but as the 30 days have already passed, I don't know what solution we are going to find with trendnet and newegg
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you are having an issue with the TV-IP311PI. We have attempted to recreate the issue you are describing here and unfortunately are unable to reproduce these results. Please email Adrian@trendnet.com with your invoice and case ID’s and we’ll have someone help you out as soon as possible to resolve this issue. Please include your contact information and a link to this review.


Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:Blacky,9/14/2014 12:26:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Foscam > Foscam FI8906W Outdoor Wireless IP Camera 4mm Lens

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Low resolution and narrow angle
Pros: Relatively inexpensive, has wifi (even though I don't use it), good night time visibility
Cons: The resolution is quite frankly very sub par and doesn't even allow for a decent picture to actually identify people on your property.
The housing is huge, but mostly empty.
The biggest downfall however is the camera viewing angle. It has a 4mm lens, but the field of view is nowhere near what other cameras do with 4mm. I upgraded to a 2.8 manually and it's actually ok now. Upgrades are yay as it is a standard lens that can be purchased online
Reviewed By:Blacky,9/14/2014 11:51:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau