Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP651WI Pan/Tilt, Day/Night, 640 x 480 Max Resolution RJ45 Wireless IP Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 looks good but....
Pros: Looks cool.....
Cons: very hard getting to work, directions horrible.
Other Thoughts: I consider myself a tech person. was able get into device and configure but settings never stayed, could not access remotely after config. Sure there are better products out there.
Reviewed By:olddude,12/18/2014 7:55:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG SmartCam SNH-E6440BN Full HD 1080P Day & Night WDR 2 Way Audio Outdoor Wireless IP Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 samsung smartcam outdoor
Pros: - Extremely high picture quality. If your bandwidth allows, it can broadcast in true 1080 resolution.
- Relatively easy to setup. Power the camera on, wire attach to your router / switch, go to the Samsung smartcam to register, you're good to go
- Record continuous video footage for consecutive 3 days (32GB) and can be playback anytime. Auto-Loop SD card when it's full
- Send alert when motion alarm is detected, by email and/or iPhone/Android pop-up
- Very impressive night vision, super long range
- Record footage even when the network is down, since the recording is done from SD card
- No recurring rip-off monthly service fee like "Draw dropcam"
- Waterproof for sure (had storm hit the Bay Area on mid December and works like a champ when exposed with rain)
- Stable wifi network connection through stucco walls and siding, about 50 feet away from base, no drops ever since deployment
- Small profile, pretty stealthy if you want to hide it. Yet, the IR lights are clearly visible in the dark so not to stealthy but works as a criminal deterrence.
- Free apps for both iPhone and Android
- Sectional monitoring area so you can focus on certain coverage area instead of the whole screen
- Don't need to setup with DynDNS or register static IP to make it work. Samsung's Smartcam got you covered.
Cons: - No snapshot email notification. When I get the alert, I have to log on to the video playback, to trace what triggered the alarm. A snapshot of the triggered scene emailed to me would be great
- Expensive.. oh well, yes, I know I know.. you DO get what you pay for, but it'd be great that they reduce the price point a little bit
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think Samsung is better way to go than cheap no name IP camera or dropcam or anything wired dvr systems.
Reviewed By:James,12/17/2014 10:07:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-IBH13-W RJ45 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor Wireless IP Camera with QR Code Smartphone Setup

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Camera
Pros: Compact and very clear image
Cons: Base is not the best quality but can always be substituted with something stronger if needed. Configuration took a while as I did not use the ZMODO site to access the images.
Other Thoughts: If connected to your home network and remote access is needed you must enable port triggering and port forwarding. None of this information is in the documentation.
Reviewed By:Tominnh,12/16/2014 9:14:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-930L Cloud Wireless IP Camera, 640x480 Resolution, mydlink enabled

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 AR004296
Pros: AR004296 Great tech support..friendly service!!
Cons: no cons
Reviewed By:N/A,12/15/2014 8:51:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-5029L HD 720P Pan/Tilt Night Vision Motion Detection 2 Way Audio Wireless mydlink enabled Surveillance Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pretty good
Pros: Everything on it works as advertised.

good resolution, good night vision.

the sound pick up, amazingly good.

Motion detection works as it should.

Can save files directly to my Windows Server fileshare instead of SD card (though has file size limits in that mode)

Fun to spy on the wife and kids.
Cons: The built in speaker, for talking back to people isn't so loud.. but it does support an External speaker... so not a big deal.

Some features require Internet Explorer (kinda of annoying but no biggie)

I had to upgrade the firmware for a few small features, but it went off without a hitch over the wireless network and reboot and came back up on its own.

The files stored on the SD card can't be downloaded all at once, you must click them 1 at a time, or take the SD card out and put it in something to move the files off all at once.

Configuring everything can take a little fiddling, and there are some hidden restrictions but nothing too bad. (like file size without SD card to a network share)

I had trouble getting any 3rd party camera tools to support its features, however its not really needed since the interface lets you pretty much set it up for almost any situation.

My wife can still see it, its not completely invisible.
Other Thoughts: I am glad i read some reviews on some lower model cameras. People wished they'd spent a little more and got this one, and I can see why. This thing is a good deal on sale. I gave it 5 eggs because every single feature worked exactly as it was advertised. I didn't bother with the "CLOUD" part of it, nor did I install the software from D-Link, because thats only for it... if you have any tech knowledge you really dont need it with this camera, I was able to set it up so i can view it from my phone no problem without the camera having full access to the internet. Just some port redirection for my phone and configuration is all I needed.

Can't have my Living room shenanigans with the wife ending up on the next I-Cloud incident!
Reviewed By:Typo91,12/14/2014 11:37:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG SmartCam SNH-E6440BN Full HD 1080P Day & Night WDR 2 Way Audio Outdoor Wireless IP Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's just OK
Pros: Its waterproof its the first cam I have had.
Its working so far .
The storage device and wi fi connection is separated from the camera.
Its not that difficult to use of install but you have to stumble through it due to lack of instructions.
Cons: The software is kind of clunky especially the stuff where you to through a PC , There are practicality no instructions and the Tech department for cams for Samsung is unreachable most of the time for this product.
Even though the wi fi repeater is very close to my wi fi base station I am sometimes getting disconnects. Its very slow to hook up to the software but its Ok most of the time.

There is no audio only jacks in the wi fi pod where you could plug in a speaker. I have called tech support on this they are clueless.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned in another review there is a long cable attached to the cam itself. and its not detachable this was
good for me but I can see it will not be good for everyone.
The software is really clunky. Its slow to react and the options for halting playing and going on to the next segment aren't explained and leave a lot to be desired.
Did I mention lack of INSTRUCTIONS.
Reviewed By:ctuna,12/14/2014 7:49:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP551WI 640 x 480 MAX Resolution RJ45 Wireless N Day/Night Internet Camera

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst Tech Support EVER!
Pros: Cheap ... got it on clearance for $20.00 and it hasn't set my home on fire (yet).
Cons: TECH SUPPORT: Camera had beautiful pic out of box, but even set to record motion ONLY, records 2 frames every 3 seconds. Called tech support to show me where I may have missed something in setting up camera. Their first solution was to update firmware. Ok, that along with the inconvenience of climbing up to unmount the camera and connect to a network cable wasn't too bad. Update the firmware, reset the camera and all is good, right? No Way!!

Now the image is washed out most of the day. I have 12 hours of mostly white images taken at 2 frames every 3 seconds.

No help, multiple calls. Their solution is always reset the camera ... which I am getting tired of doing and in fact refused to do the last time I called. (same tech, same script, of course I should expect a different result)
Other Thoughts: I have actually installed surveillance cameras and DVRs for my employment, but we have not used IP cameras on any of our systems.

I needed a camera to monitor a small portion of my property which has had several attempted break ins. Figured for $20 I'd try an IP camera. This one was just a poor choice on my part. However, it does come with LOUSY TECH SUPPORT.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Smee,

We are sorry to hear that you are having an issue with the camera. Please email Adrian@trendnet.com with a link to this review and we will have someone assist you as soon as possible.


Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:Smee,12/12/2014 6:01:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EDIMAX > Edimax IC-7110W Cloud Wireless-N IP Camera, 1.3 Mpx Lens, 1280x1024 Resolution, Pan & Tilt, Night Vision, H.264, SD card Slot, Plug-n-View, Free EdiView APP for Smartphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk will die in 18 months
Pros: While it works, it's a pretty decent camera. The night vision is pretty good and covers a large room well.

Edimax looked like a promising company until they just started shipping half developed garbage.
Cons: I owned 4 of these cameras, they all suddenly died around 18-20 months I replaced 3 of them on warranty via Edimax and the replacements also died around the 18 month mark. Edimax refused to replace a second time. I got extremely tired of the RMAs.

They were all attached to either surge protectors or a UPS. This is obviously a quality issue in design or manufacturing. For $200+ I expect the camera to last much longer than 18 months.

The other thing I always hated about these cameras is that the sensor for switching to night vision is set too high. In a decently lit room, it will still change over. The camera switches to black and white when it does this and I hardly EVER saw color video in inside rooms, even with lamps on. If the camera was next to a bright light it would work.

The wireless radio is poor. I develop wireless devices for a living and I could not get these cameras to work consistently in rooms where any other wireless device streamed data just fine to either a SOHO wifi router or Enterprise grade AP. Experimenting with slightly higher gain antennas did not help. Even with -65bBm RSSI and over 25dB SNR, I would see intermittent choppy video. Wireshark+Airpcap and spectrum analysis tell me the RF environment is healthy but these cameras are not.
Other Thoughts: These cameras are junk. Avoid. Edimax is, in my opinion, making some poorly engineered devices so they can take your money and run when the devices start failing left and right. Serious vendors would want to investigate so many failures and fix it...I don't even think they are shipping buggy hardware and using consumers as testers, I think Edimax just has no plans to address at all.

I would spend some money on something with strong partnerships and externally driven development like Dropcam. You lose pan and tilt, but it works...
Reviewed By:N/A,12/11/2014 8:49:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-930L Cloud Wireless IP Camera, 640x480 Resolution, mydlink enabled

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I like them...
Pros: The camera's themselves are fairly thin if you want to remove them from the stands to make them easier to conceal. And once I figured out they needed a firmware update immediately out of the box, they were very easy to set up. The Iphone "lite" app and the Ipad mydlink+ app are both very easy to use and switch back and forth between cameras.
Cons: It took me a couple of hours before I realized the cams needed the firmware update. That was annoying. But my biggest stickler is the PC Software that you have to install if you want to view and/or record to your PC (and you can ONLY record to your PC, because the mobile apps will only let you take snapshots, no video, which is utter B.S.). It is bulky, and I constantly have to "validate" each days footage before I can replay it. And I have yet to get it to motion record on it's own, so I just set it to manual record and walk away each day.
The Main Viewer and Replay Viewer are full screen applications that you cannot resize. You can choose to look at multiple cameras at the same time, but you can't adjust the size of the application itself, which is annoying.

If they fix the mobile app not being able to record issue, I wouldn't care about the PC Application as much.
Reviewed By:Aza,12/11/2014 7:40:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-932L Cloud Wireless IP Camera, 640x480 Resolution, Night Vision, mydlink enabled

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working Great
Pros: Was able to get these up and running on my own.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,12/10/2014 12:31:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.