Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Device Server > STARTECH > StarTech NETRS232 1 Port RS-232 Serial to IP Ethernet Device Server - DIN Rail Mountable

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Stable device, bad software.
Pros: the device itself is great. very stable
Cons: the software is absolute garbadge. i did not manage to get it to work reliably. in the end i setup the telnet client on the device and used a different software i found online.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Tal,

Thank you for taking the time to review our NETRS232 device. While we are happy the unit is functioning as intended, we are sorry to hear that you experienced problems using the accompanying software.

Customer satisfaction is very important at StarTech.com, and we are always looking for ways to enhance the customer experience. Would you be able to provide us with more details regarding the software issue you encountered? This feedback would be greatly appreciated.

At your convenience, please contact us while referencing case number 303-224221. It will be our pleasure to speak with you!

Thank you.

Customer Support
StarTech.com
http://www.startech.com/techsupport

Reviewed By:N/A,4/27/2015 10:40:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Device Server > Lantronix > Lantronix WB2100EG2-01 Wireless Device Server

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: This product works great and is very stable. We need it to be continuously transmitting (from RS-232 to WiFi) and it succeeds at it.
Cons: The necessary software to configure and use of the Wireless Device Server can be hard to use.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this product. The only thing I suggest to improve is the control interface/software.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/23/2015 6:40:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Device Server > STARTECH > StarTech NETRS232 1 Port RS-232 Serial to IP Ethernet Device Server - DIN Rail Mountable

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Serial over TCP ...not bad
Pros: Very stable device.
has features for UDP server or client and TCP server or client features.
native telnet as well as reverse telnet, with rs232 setup over telnet control (setting baudrate etc)
Cons: Included virtual port software was absolute garbage.
in the end used a native add on to our systems to integrate it via telnet
Other Thoughts: overall it was a good device.

take note, there are two versions of this. this one and one which is not din mountable. for some reason this one is cheaper. although both have the same feature set.
Reviewed By:masterit,2/15/2015 7:41:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Device Server > Lantronix > Lantronix UD2100002-01 UDS2100 2-Port Device Server

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Use Firefox to configure
Pros: Relatively easy setup, hardware seems rugged, easy IP assignment using free downloadable DeviceInstaller software
Cons: The DeviceInstaller software uses IE to configure the device, but doesn't work without changes to the IE settings.
Other Thoughts: Once an IP address is assigned to the device using the DeviceInstaller software, use Firefox to configure it. IE won't refresh the settings, and prevents changes from applying.
Reviewed By:CatatonicBug,9/30/2014 10:32:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Device Server > Silex Technology America, Inc. > Silex SX-3000GB-US 10/100/1000 Gigabit USB Device Server

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Latest firmware serves dongles
Pros: Finally, with the 1.1.1 firmware update this thing serves Avid Media Composer dongles properly (Sentinel SuperPro and UltraPro). We are using it on Mac OS 10.6.8 and 10.8.5 clients. Old firmware used to drop the dongles randomly, kicking users off. We are using two self powered hubs to serve a total of 11 dongles at the moment (no external power on the hubs!) and it works like a charm.
Cons: None since the firmware update!
Reviewed By:farhadd,3/4/2014 11:42:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Device Server > Silex Technology America, Inc. > Silex SX-DS-3000WAN Dual Band 802.11n Wireless plus Gigabit Ethernet USB Device Server

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Easy setup and works greats, as expected.
Cons: Have to setup each computer individually.
Other Thoughts: The person that mentioned you have to manually connect devices is correct for devices other printers but all such devices I've seen work the same way. I only been able to set up printers for auto connect and don't know of any other device(s) that will do the same. So other than that plus having to setup individual computers... works great.
Reviewed By:Old Techie,12/1/2013 1:04:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Device Server > Perle > perle 04030124 IOLAN DS1 Device Server

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great!
Pros: This device works perfectly for our application. We 3 of these set up to let our analog modems talk to out Virtual Servers. The TruePort software that comes with it is essential to making this run properly
Cons: It did take a little while for me to figure out how to configure the software to do what I wanted it to do. Once I did though, it worked great
Other Thoughts: I would and do recommend this item
Reviewed By:Robomatic Smasher,6/27/2013 8:31:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Device Server > Silex Technology America, Inc. > Silex SX-DS-4000U2 High Performance Gigabit USB Device Server

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Good
Pros: Performs the task as advertised. I use it to network a Graphtec vinyl cutter, even though it is not on Silex's list of supported devices.
Cons: The application running in the system tray has settings to "connect" or "disconnect", but it does not work if connected. I leave it disconnected and the device functions fine.

Support is nearly nonexistent. I found a number at Silex.com and left a message.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/21/2013 9:38:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Device Server > Perle > perle 04030124 IOLAN DS1 Device Server

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: inexpensive, easy to setup
Cons: You have to use their software to initially set it up.
Other Thoughts: I had this up and running quickly once I realized that I had to have the software to assign an ip to it.
Reviewed By:Zcubed,6/5/2013 12:43:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Device Server > Lantronix > Lantronix ED41000P2-01 EDS4100 4-Port Device Server with PoE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: This box does a fantastic job. It allows access for up to 4 serial devices on a network. They are very reliable and are easy to use. The only settings changes I have had to make are the Static IP address and the Baud rates for the various devices.
Cons: I personally haven't been able to set one up using the serial port like I can with the 1 and 2 port UDS models. However the PC software works well and solves that problem. You will need a network with DHCP so it can assign itself an IP Address for the PC Software to find it however.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/31/2013 8:44:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.