Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > ADATA > ADATA 1TB DashDrive Durable HD650 External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model AHD650-1TU3-CBK Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 plug and play
Pros: fast, seems to be well built, time will tell
Cons: be aware that it's formatted in FAT32 if you intend to use to backup windows 7 to 10, you have to format in NTFS, but not a big deal for most :)
Other Thoughts: might just buy another, if price is right :)
Reviewed By:Ronald G.,9/21/2016 11:55:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 2TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA2000400 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 My First Unacceptable HDD in 5 years.
Pros: Normal excellent NewEgg price, rapid delivery and efficient return process.
Cons: Extremely slow data transfer and overheating. Not recognized by media player.
Other Thoughts: I started transferring large files to this drive as a backup and to play video files from. After about 4G of data was transferred using a USB2 connection with a Samsung laptop using Linux Mint the transfer rate had slowed to less than 2Mb/s and the drive was hotter than I am used to with my 5 other drives. I tried transferring using a new Lenovo laptop and a USB3 connection with the same result. Additionally, my media player would not recognize files on the drive. Returned for a refund, splendid NewEgg service as usual.
Reviewed By:Bob D.,9/21/2016 10:58:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDR2000102 (Blue)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead on arrival
Pros: - unable to say since product did not work
Cons: - computer would not recognize the drive; tried it on 3 different machines connected directly to USB 2.0 and 3.0 ports and to a powered USB 3.0 hub
- probably was a crashed head, the shipping was poorly done. the inflated plastic bags to protect the product were all flat so the drive probably took some damage in shipment
Other Thoughts: - newegg online return process was simple
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/20/2016 7:00:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA4000400 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 good hard drive --- bad usb cable
Pros: -fast when used with a good usb 3 cable
Cons: --here in Canada, the price is not cheap
--the usb 3.0 cable who came with the hard drive was not good
Other Thoughts: When i have received the drive, i've tested it right away and i saw there was something wrong. The writting speed when plug in usb 3.0 port was only 20 Mb/s. I try on another computer and it was the same thing. So i've asked for a RMA. After asking for the RMA, i've decided to read reviews on the product here on the site and discover there was some reviewers who has the same problem. They fix the problem by swtching the usb 3.0 cable who come with the hard drive with another one. I did the same thing and the writting speed is now around 100 Mb/s. So i will keep the drive and buy a usb 3.0 cable
Reviewed By:Richard G.,9/17/2016 11:35:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA 2.5TB Canvio Basics Hard Drives - Portable External USB 3.0 Model HDTB325XK3CA Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 2.5tb at the price of 2tb
Pros: -Fast writting speed
--2.5Tb at the price of 2Tb (Canadian customer)
-work well, no problem for now
Cons: i have no con for now. I will update if necessary
Reviewed By:Richard G.,9/17/2016 11:09:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA4000400 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead on Arrival
Pros: I like the shape
Cons: Dead on arrival
Other Thoughts: I buy a ton of harddrives for my work, so I dont always open them right away. I got this 8 months ago and it was stored in its packaging wait for use. Now I need it, and its DOA and past the point of return/exchange. Bummer, I have to write it off.

But I DID do some troubleshooting to make sure the drive was indeed dead. The cable powered up and showed other drives just fine, and I tried it on three devices across multiple platforms, and none would even register the USB connection.

The drives status light failed to ever turn on to.

So, I have a nice shiny plastic brick.
Reviewed By:Kevin K.,9/17/2016 2:17:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Game Drive for Xbox One USB 3.0 Model STEA4000402 - Green

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 What you see is what you get.
Pros: -Great amount of storage. Without this it was too easy to run out of space with just 500GB and had to . Now I have no concerns
-I didn't notice any difference in load times between this and the internal drive
-Set upt is easy. Plug and play
-No power adapter needed. Just the USB into the xbone gives it all the power it needs
-Price has been dropped from $200 to $150 where it should have been from the start
Cons: -I don't know why they made this drive green. Xbox is black and white now
-While set up is simple, my I had to restart my Xbox twice before it properly recognized the drive
Other Thoughts: Just a rebranded hard drive but missing some features you would get form a normal seagate portable
Reviewed By:Robert S.,9/17/2016 9:01:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA4000400 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far very satisfied.
Pros: Runs off USB port power, no external power supply needed.
Small, Lightweight, especially compared to the equivalent 3.5" drives.
Blue Power/Activity light not overly bright.
Fairly fast data transfer rate for 5400 rpm drive. I usually get between 60 to 110 MB/sec speeds.
Diamond pattern on case resists fingerprint smudging.
Cons: USB Data Cable WAY TOO SHORT, have to set drive on top of computer to reach USB ports, so it partially blocks exhaust fan on top of computer. Come on Seagate would it kill you to include a 3' Cable. It's always better to have too much cable than not enough.
Other Thoughts: I've used this drive since Feb 2016 ...a lot, copied thousands of files to and from it, and so far it has performed very well.
It is very quiet, and only gets slightly warm during long usage. Normally it is at room temperature.
A couple of times when I was writing data to it, it locked up and I had to disconnect and reconnect it to the USB port. This was when the drive was almost completely full, and once reconnected it was fine and no data was lost or corrupted.
Even with these minor hiccups, I liked this drive enough to purchase the 4TB Back Up Plus Model when it went on sale.
Reviewed By:TERRY H.,9/16/2016 6:44:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 2TB Berry My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBBKD0020BBY-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fast external expansion option for the XBox One
Pros: Price when it's available as a Shell Shocker
Warranty listed on box
No external power connection required
Cons: To get warranty listed on box, a support case will need to be opened with WD
Other Thoughts: This drive provides room for growth for my Xbox One library. As its the Ultra, the faster spindle speed helps cut down on load times. As noted in other reviews, the WD warranty was "off" by a year. Opening a case and providing the necessary proof of purchase allowed customer support to correct this issue on the back end.
Reviewed By:James R.,9/16/2016 8:51:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Elements Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBUZG0010BBK (Certified Refurbished)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nifty lil bugger. Great price!
Pros: -Small size
-USB 3.0
-Nice read/write speed for a USB drive
-Cheap
Cons: -It's refurbed. But it looks & behaves brand new so far as I can tell
Other Thoughts: Will probably have my mother buy another to keep her PC backed up
Reviewed By:Robert W.,9/15/2016 6:18:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.