Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA4000400 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hard to Believe.
Pros: It is hard to believe that Seagate has packed 4TB of space into such a small package. The drive is formatted with a GPT partition so that you have access to all of the space on the drive. Should you choose to reformat it as a MBR partition then you will only be able to access 2TB. The drive works very well and I am completely satisfied with this purchase.
Cons: The USB 3.0 cable is a bit on the short side. <update 7-20-2016> There seems to be a compatibility issue between the Gigabyte GA-Z97-HD3P motherboard and this drive when a Logitech wireless keyboard and mouse are plugged in to one USB 3.0 port and the 4TB drive in the other. If you unplug the Logitech unified receiver then the drive works fine or if you plug the 4TB drive into a different USB 3.0 port the drive works fine. The two ports are connected to the 20 pin USB 3./2.0 connector on the motherboard. I have not been able to pinpoint what is causing the incompatibility issue, but I wanted to mention it since some are reporting errors and other problems using this drive.
Other Thoughts: You can store a tremendous video and/or music library on this drive and still have space left over for a bunch of backups. I am not real fond of the diamond pattern of the case, but I can live with it. I don't think that you would regret purchasing this drive if you are looking for a large drive.
Reviewed By:Virgil B.,7/21/2016 5:56:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Game Drive for Xbox One USB 3.0 Model STEA4000402 - Green

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Ugly, but fast and tons of storage.
Pros: A HUGE amount of storage for installing games. I quickly installed my games on to this drive and loading games installed this drive felt just as fast as they were on the internal hard drive. Set up was easy, just plugged it in and it was ready to go. This also works well on my Windows 10 computer and showed up as a regular 4TB hard drive.

I've had a bunch of Seagate External drives and they have been running very well and have stood the test of time. This is similar to my old externals, just a bit thicker and green.
Cons: On a technical level, this drive is very good.However, it is an ugly shade of green that would have been appropriate 14 years ago for the Original Xbox, today the tacky green is just out of place. The current XBOne is primarily available in black, and the XBOne-S will be white, this doesn't match either machine and is kind of an eyesore next to my machine.

It would be nice if it was a bit easier to hide, but the USB 3.0 cable is pretty short, which makes hiding it if your using the side USB port a bit of a pain.
Other Thoughts: The ugly color and short cable are minor issues considering how much storage and quick this external hard drive is. Would be nice if Seagate differentiated this drive more from their standard PC external drives, outside of the Xbox logo on the top. Maybe removable plates for the top and bottom so we can change the color of the drive to best match the owners XBox would be a nice addition.

As it stands, it's a solid drive that performs well, but a standard Desktop USB 3.0 4TB drive would do the same thing, and they tend to cost less and have a less polarizing color.
Reviewed By:Rauel C.,7/19/2016 11:45:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1.5TB Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STBX1500401 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Was good while it lasted...
Pros: Fast transfer speed, massive storage in small package, Aesthetically pleasing...
Cons: Failed in 17 months...
Other Thoughts: Started displaying I/O errors after about 16 actual months of little to moderate use... I have over 12 external/portable HDDs so this did not receive excessive use...
Reviewed By:William F.,7/19/2016 7:39:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1TB Backup Plus Ultra Slim Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 Model STEH1000101 Gold

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Small, distintive looking product with the speed to back it up
Pros: It is a very thin but attractive case.
The White LED is very unobtrusive, yet easy to see from most any angle.
The gold color is not glossy at all, a very satin finish to it.
The dimples break up what would otherwise be a plain surface.
After transferring 20 gigs of data (110-115MB/s read and write) the case was right at 104°F, barely warm at all.
Very portable. It is more inconvenient carrying the cable than the drive itself.
200 GB online storage for free (for 2 years) through OneDrive, setup is simple if you already have it setup.
Cons: No built in security. Yes it is easy to find online, but should be included IMO.
Price is too high. You can get double the capacity for just ten dollars more with the 2 tb model. This is the reason for 1 egg off.
Other Thoughts: I am now using this plugged in to my router as a central storage location. It is thin enough to fit under the router, so it takes up no extra space. Kind of a shame to hide it though since it looks so nice.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/17/2016 8:58:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB My Passport Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBBEP0010BBK Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great price and all three I bought work.
Pros: -cheep and received in good condition.
-portable
-USB 3.0 works with not wire finesse.
Cons: -The drives inside are really USB and not SATA so you can not pop them out and into a computer. The IO controller is made to be USB and nothing else.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/17/2016 5:34:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Black My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBGPU0010BBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dangerous to USB 3.0 Bus
Pros: none
Cons: failed after three uses. returned, and replacement also failed.
Other Thoughts: I used this HDD with Gigabyte GA X99 SLI mobo. This HDD burned out the USB 3.0 Bus by drawing over 900ma. I replaced the mobo, and the replacement WD 1TB MyPassport burned out the 2nd GA X99 SLI mobo in exactly the same way. This was a very expensive and time consuming experience.
Reviewed By:David F.,7/17/2016 4:38:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1.5TB Backup Plus Slim Hard Drives - Portable External Model STDR1500101 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 i like
Pros: small
design
Cons: have small gab between upper and lower plates
did not get the complete two years warranty, had to ask Seagate then ok, but spend time


Other Thoughts: seagate logo is different from the product description, old version?
Reviewed By:PARK S.,7/17/2016 4:36:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Game Drive for Xbox One USB 3.0 Model STEA4000402 - Green

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Seagate drive with XBOX proprietary branding
Pros: • Arrived quickly from newgg.com. Well packaged item, lots of cushioning.
• 4 TB capacity. NFTS formatted capacity is 3.63 TB.
• I connected this hard drive to my Windows 10 Pro PC. The drive is completely bare. There is no software installed on this drive. The drive is NFTS formatted out of the box.
• I transferred about 2.13 TB of data from my NAS to the drive (over gigabit LAN and through USB 3.0 port on my PC). I also transferred some data from SSD drive on my PC. In both cases the transfer speed hovered about 108 Mb/s. Not bad for mechanical drive.
• Standard 18 inch USB 3.0 cable is included.
• Very visible “Designed for XBOX” branding.
• Branding matches my Xbox One.
• The easiest and least expensive way to add capacity to Xbox.
• No power cable needed, the drive receives all the power it needs through its USB 3.0 connection.
• Once connected to an Xbox, the drive gets recognized and formatted very quickly by the console.
• Xbox one games will install and load slightly faster from this external USB 3.0 drive.
Cons: • The product box indicates 1 Year warranty for the US. When I went to Seagate website and tried to register this drive for warranty purposes I received the following message that the drive is out of warranty. I contacted Seagate via email and I was told that this was not “saleable unit” and to contact “your point of sale”. Apparently, since my drive is a review unit, it does not have warranty. Always make sure to register your drive with Seagate and keep your receipt.
• Price premium and lack of 200 GB cloud storage that comes standard with similar Seagate Backup Plus Slim drives.
• No information is available on what specific advantage this XBOX-branded drive holds over Seagate Backup Plus drives. Seems like this product was intended for sale as Microsoft product rather than Seagate’s.
Other Thoughts: • I have an Xbox One with 500 GB of internal memory. Xbox One can simultaneously use two external drives such as this 4 TB Game Drive for Xbox. Prior to attaching this 4 GB Game Drive to my XBOX, I already had 2 TB Game Drive version working with my XBOX. Both drives work seamlessly and both drives are simultaneously recognized by my XBOX One. I now have a total of 6 TB of external storage. Each drive appears by itself on XBOX. Since a single game can take up close 50 GB of storage, it’s easy to fill up Xbox’s One drive fairly quickly. External hard drives, such as this Game Drive for Xbox is the quickest, the easiest and the least expensive way to add large amount of storage to your Xbox. Once I connected the external drive to my Xbox, the Xbox formatted the drive and asked me if I want to install new games and other content by default to this external drive. I said yes and that was it for the setup. Now I have almost 4 TB of additional Xbox storage.
• Unfortunately, it now appears that Microsoft shelved plans to rollout OTA DVR functionality in Xbox One. However, getting large external hard drive for your Xbox One still makes a lot of sense. 4 TB Game Drive for Xbox will not disappoint you and it will satisfy your console’s storage needs for a long time.
Reviewed By:Pawel K.,7/16/2016 6:12:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Elements Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBUZG0010BBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 plug and play super portable
Pros: i use them all the time for single projects
they are inexpensive and small and light wight so they are super portable
i have found they are quite durable
i used to buy the tough grade ones for work sites
after one took a 1 story fall and worked as if it never happened i was sold
Cons: the usb cable is short
Other Thoughts: great for on the go or even plug and leave environment
i have many customers that back up all their data and put this in their safe
love western digital
Reviewed By:Russ C.,7/15/2016 4:44:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Fast 4TB High-Performance Portable External Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDA4000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No Good and it have two hard drive inside box also have two years before not working STAY AWAY!!!
Pros: lot storage of video, picture, audio, etc
Cons: after not work anymore I decide to open box and I find two Hard drive inside and it not from Seagate hard drive It is Samsung hard drive. It seen broad (where between connect usb to Hard Drive) may not working anymore.
I was reformat on those Hard Drive it work fine but problem are loss all data need broad in order to work
also it can cause computer problem when plugin the 4TB fast HDD Portable Drive when it not working it will blackout or freezer some app that just Windows 10 more problem than Mac
Reviewed By:Michael C.,7/15/2016 2:53:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.