Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport 500GB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 2.5" Portable Hard Drive WDBKXH5000ABK-NESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dies right after warranty expires
Pros: USB 3, USB powered, comes with cable, works right out of the box
Cons: Comes formatted in NTFS (better if it was exFAT)
short cable
dies at around 25 months
company is not responsive
Other Thoughts: Used this as a data back-up. Learn my lesson if I want reliability DO NOT buy Western Digital. Lesson learn (and it was really pricey).
Reviewed By:Lesson Learned,5/22/2015 1:31:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 500GB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive WDBPGC5000ABK-NESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DEAD - WD My PassPoS Drive
Pros: USB 3 and usable with USB 2 machines. Easy to install (ie PLUG and PLAY), OK speed, comes with a USB 3 cable (although very short), compact (fits on almost any pocket) and it does not need external power as it can use power from the USB port
Cons: Unreliable, poor company support, short warranty, short cable. This drive died with less than 100 hours of usage (use for back up and hen disconnected). Worthless utilities (when you check it says it is bad and that is it does not tell you what to do next or what course of action to take).
Other Thoughts: Got this drive for backup. It traveled once (one way) from the office to my house were it stayed. Plug it in to back up my personal laptop. Provably had about 50 hours of usage (ie plugged in) but for sure less than 100 hours. Yes, the drive was disconnected properly every time (ie it was "ejected" before it was disconnected, must of the time the laptop was shutdown when it was disconnected). Tried to use it today to check on some old files and the drive is DEAD (I can not even reformat it). It has being over 2 years so the drive is out of warranty. WD does not respond to emails. Learned my lesson AVOID Western Digital.
Reviewed By:LAcountyDigitalUser,5/22/2015 12:50:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable External Hard Drive STEA1000400

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Speedy, compact
Pros: Ready to go out of the box
Compact
Fast
Cons: Not the greatest value
Other Thoughts: This portable drive from Seagate is a nice entry into the market. It’s 1 TB size (931 GB formatted under Windows NTFS) is roomy for such a small package. It’s also very speedy when connected to a USB 3.0 port. The textured surface is a nice touch and it’s very lightweight, making it an easy addition to any laptop bag or “go” bag.

Here’s a few numbers. All speed tests performed in Windows 8.1 and transfers were from a solid state drive.

Plugged into a USB 2.0 port, a single large file (1.1 GB) took 36 seconds, averaging 30.5 MB/s. A large folder of photos (5.8 GB) took 2 minutes 40 seconds, averaging 36.4 MB/s. Not too bad on the old USB 2.0.

Plugged into a USB 3.0 port, a single large file (1.1 GB) took 12 seconds, averaging 91.7 MB/s. A large folder of photos (5.8 GB) took 1 minute 1 second, averaging 95.6 MB/s. Pretty awesome when it’s time to do a backup.

Overall this is a great little drive, but I must remove one star for the lack of value. The drive is $69.99 at the time of this writing. With several competing drives at double the size for only $20 more (even from Seagate!), I’d recommend the larger size.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 8:57:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable External Hard Drive STEA2000400

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So much data - and it fits in my pocket!
Pros: Super portable
Impressive transfer speeds
Solid build
USB powered
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: I remember back to the days of the giant 5.25 floppy disks, which held a whopping 1.2mb, yes megabytes. It was amazing that "so much" data could fit on such a "small" disk. Though, those disks were vulnerable to, well, almost everything! Even the slightest magnetic field, heat, or liquid could permanently destroy them - and you didn't dare bend them!


Nowadays, I can take this 2TB Seagate drive, drop it in my pocket, and access mountains of data, video, music, and/or pictures from a variety of devices. Isn't technology grand?!

I've used many USB 3.0 hard drives, both portable, and well, others you wouldn't want to lug around. Many USB 3.0 drives are so slow that they perform the same with a USB 2.0 port, which is unfortunate, and can be a huge waste of time.

Transferring files to this drive was very fast, and obviously made good use of the USB 3. Often overlooked are the read speeds, so I was sure to test those as well by streaming different HD videos to 4 different sources at the same time. This has caused major hiccups with several portable drives in the past, so I've found it to be a good test. This drive handled it flawlessly, and really, really impressed!

It's a good fast drive, at a great price. If you are looking for a portable, look no further!
Reviewed By:Ricky F.,5/18/2015 10:15:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power Armor A60 1TB USB 3.0 Shockproof and Water-Resistant Portable Hard Drive SP010TBPHDA60S3K Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Rugged External Drive
Pros: The A60 has a great read/write speed since it uses the latest USB 3.0 interface. It is backwards compatible with USB 2.0. I tested an older USB 2.0 drive and found the A60 to be about five times faster. It thus saved me precious time backing up to and from the hard drive when transferring mass data files. It has a hot plug and play functionality. This means that it connects to just about any USB slot on your computer and is ready to go immediately. When in use, there is a blue LED light that blinks on and off, indicating data transfer. If an external drive is to be truly portable, it is going to have to stand up to a few bumps and bruises. The A60 has been drop tested directly onto a concrete floor. It has withstood falls from 1.2 metres. That is my definition of durable. It certainly lives up to its "Rugged" moniker. The drive is compact and light weight. It weighs in at around 250 g. It comes with a 30 cm USB 3.0 connection cable which is held by two sliding brackets attached to the sides of the drive. This cable-carry design makes the drive convenient to use on-the-go. With it attached to the drive, you should never find yourself without a connecting cable. The drive is powered via the USB cable which again cuts down on the amount of cables needed for it. This makes it a perfect travel companion. As for appearances, the A60 is composed of a shock-resistant silica gel. The cover of the drive is a very hard plastic and, as such, not susceptible to dents and scratches. There is a flap over top of the USB slot to further protect that interface.
Cons: The connecting cable is attached to the main frame with some connecting brackets. I often found that these would detach when removing the cable from these brackets and they are not that easy to reattach. It might be a better design to have the brackets open to the side rather than up.
Reviewed By:Marcel,5/18/2015 3:20:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Elements 1TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive WDBUZG0010BBK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just perfect for my photos!
Pros: Slim, quick, decent size, decent price.
Perfect little backup drive!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Big fan of WD portables. So far no problems. Can't say the same about the competitors that are SEAhawks fans.. hint.
Reviewed By:Locke,5/17/2015 11:32:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power Armor A60 1TB USB 3.0 Shockproof and Water-Resistant Portable Hard Drive SP010TBPHDA60S3K Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: The A60 has a great read/write speed since it uses the latest USB 3.0 interface. It is backwards compatible with USB 2.0. I tested an older USB 2.0 drive and found the A60 to be about five times faster. It thus saved me precious time backing up to and from the hard drive when transferring mass data files. If you use it as your Time Machine drive, you will notice a great speed improvement. It has a hot plug and play functionality. This means that it connects to just about any USB slot on your computer and is ready to go immediately. When in use, there is a blue LED light that blinks on and off, indicating data transfer. If an external drive is to be truly portable, it is going to have to stand up to a few bumps and bruises. The A60 has been drop tested directly onto a concrete floor. It has withstood falls from 1.2 metres. That is my definition of durable. It certainly lives up to its "Rugged" moniker. The drive is compact and light weight. It weighs in at around 250 g. It comes with a USB 3.0 connection cable (30 cm long) which is held by two sliding brackets attached to the sides of the drive. This cable-carry design makes the drive convenient to use on-the-go. The drive is powered via the USB cable which again cuts down on the amount of cables needed for it. This makes it a perfect travel companion. As for appearances, the A60 is composed of a shock-resistant silica gel which makes it able to withstand crushes and shocks. It has an internal anti-shock hard drive suspension that is able to absorb a great deal of bumping and keep on working. The cover of the drive is a very hard plastic and, as such, not susceptible to dents and scratches. There is a flap over top of the USB slot to further protect that interface.
Cons: The connecting cable is attached to the main frame with some connecting brackets. I often found that these would detach when removing the cable from these brackets and they are not that easy to reattach. It might be a better design to have the brackets open to the side rather than up.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/17/2015 7:19:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST TOURO S 500GB USB 3.0 High-Performance Ultra-Portable Drive 0S03698(HTOSPC5001BHB) Gray

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent portable drive
Pros: Reliable (so far) with great performance and no setup needed.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Alan in Toledo,5/17/2015 5:26:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST TOURO S 500GB USB 3.0 High-Performance Ultra-Portable Drive 0S03733(HTOSPC5001BDB) Silver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 wish it were quieter
Pros: good price, quite fast
Cons: *noisier than I expected (louder than my Chromebox), but perhaps that's because of the high rotation speed..
*not Linux friendly on USB 3.0 with kernel 3.19 (see below)
Other Thoughts: this was not seen at all on USB 3.0 on my re-purposed Chromebox on an Arch Linux with 3.19 kernel until UAS was disabled for the device. I had to use an usb 2.0 hub to even get the USB Vendor/Product IDs for this device so I can "quirks" it for the usb-storage module.. Then it finally appeared when plugged back in the usb 3.0 port.
Reviewed By:Geo,5/15/2015 7:59:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST TOURO S 500GB USB 3.0 High-Performance Ultra-Portable Drive 0S03733(HTOSPC5001BDB) Silver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fast and small
Pros: Thin and light. Much faster than my old USB 2.0 drive. Great for backing up an ultrabook.
Cons: Touro backup software is not very good. able connection on drive is a bit cheap.
Other Thoughts: Very happy with the speed of backing up my ultrabook. Went from 2-3 hours with my old USB 2.0 drive to about 30 minutes or less with this drive. I use a free sync software so I can just backup what I want without compression or anything (documents and pictures). So far very happy getting it for $39 with free ship.
Reviewed By:GadgetMan NH,5/15/2015 1:32:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.