Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > My Passport Ultra Anniversary Edition 1TB USB 3.0 premium storage with style Model WDBTYH0010BCG-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great portable HDD if Looks are important to you
Pros: USB 3.0 means that performance is good - more than sufficient for a portable HDD (see "other thoughts" for the numbers).

Price is good for a 1TB external HDD

The drive's build quality is very good, and it really does look nice aesthetically. The drive's looks are clearly the selling point, and if they matter to you, you can consider this a 5/5 option and probably the best on the market right now.

3-year warranty is great, and I've always had good experiences personally with WD's warranty service.

Basic encryption is a nice feature, and cloud storage will be useful to some folks (though I personally try not to back up data to the cloud for privacy reasons).

Drive runs cool and is silent when placed on a firm surface (you can hear it spin if you pick it up in your hand while transferring data, though)
Cons: I'd love to see the use of a 7200 RPM drive instead of the 5400 RPM drive used here, in order to achieve even better performance that would be more comparable to a modern desktop HDD.

The encryption options here are quite basic. While I imagine it's enough for the vast majority of users, if you are concerned about serious encryption on your data, you may want to look elsewhere.

While not a specific con, I didn't find anything other than aesthetics that really made this drive stand out from the crowd (and the 1TB external HDD market is quite crowded). As such, I'm only rating this drive 4/5 eggs.
Other Thoughts: This is a competent 1TB external HDD for portable use that happens to also have great aesthetics. If you care about how your portable HDD looks, this is the drive for you. If looks don't matter to you, this is just one of many competent options on the market, and doesn't really stand out in any way. If looks DO matter to you, then this is one of the best options you have.

Performance #s from CrystalDisk Mark:
----------------------------------------------------
Sequential Read : 117.238 MB/s
Sequential Write : 116.963 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 42.583 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 57.252 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.516 MB/s [125.9 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 1.372 MB/s [334.9 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 0.578 MB/s [141.2 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 1.401 MB/s [342.1 IOPS]
Reviewed By:JLM,9/30/2014 8:12:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > My Passport Ultra Anniversary Edition 2TB USB 3.0 premium storage with style Model WDBEZW0020BCG-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pure Class
Pros: Very Classy design: Sleek and light: Works like all WD Drives, without fail.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Good price for a quality product that looks great as well.
Reviewed By:DP,9/28/2014 6:03:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Elements 1TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive WDBUZG0010BBK-NESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 WD digital elements 1 TB external hard drive
Pros: sorry to say none
Cons: the drive has backup software on it so makes it easy to use how ever when you try and restore your system. It may as well be written in an unknown language. My experience with this hard drive has been all bad.and i can not recommend this hard drive to anyone that needs it for or to back up their system... My experience with this hard drive SUCKS !!!!!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,9/27/2014 11:40:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra Metal Edition 2TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable External Hard Drive WDBEZW0020BSL-NESN Silver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Drive Glitchy Software
Pros: This little drive has a super small foot print and is fast. Good on weight as well as feel of the outer hard case. It has a micro texture of the metal case that is very nice, it kind of has this cross grain feel, it definitely gives you a bit more control while holding on to the surface, nowhere near slippery . Soft rounded corners are very nice and it is very shiny so if you're like me and buy into the shiny factor then this drive has that appeal locked down. It has a pin hole blue light next to the cable connection that does show the HDD status and it's not that harsh piercing blue; it's a soft light blue which is a big bonus for me when transferring files late at night in low light to not have a blinding blue light coming off the drive. It is plug'n'play and you don't have to install the WD Smartware to make it work. That is what I had to do as you will read in my cons section - I had a lot of issues with the WD Smartware but once I blew that out and used this just as an external drive, it was great and fast, I just wished I would have gotten the software to work for me. I am using VirtualBox as my virtualization software so if anyone knows if this was part of my issue, please leave a review saying so, I do check back from time to time. I think that overall it's a good drive, I can't give it 5 eggs because of the software issues but if you're very comfortable with WD Smartware then this is the upgrade for you.
Cons: Where to start??? I really really dislike the WD SmartWare, it is way too bulky and took almost 5 minutes to install and while it was installing it updated my .net. I really hate when third party software updates my windows software to do menial things like external storage. I also disliked that the SmartWare was aggressive about what it thought I should update rather than what I wanted to update. You do have two options when installing the software. I ran both options and the more advanced option of the software was still more or less aggressive about scanning my installed hard drives and telling me what I should back up. The biggest disappointment was when the software kept crashing when I left it open and unattended for a more than three minutes. I had to uninstall the SmartWare to really use this drive as a backup source. I am using a windows 7 virtual machine that is running on virtualbox 4.2. I also came across some very interesting information about SmartWare and MAC not working properly, I will leave a link to the forum where I found this information on and will allow you to read the conversations that have taken place. The metal case only covers the top and the sides of the device and not the bottom. The bottom does not even have a non-slip coating or feet so please be careful that it does not fall off your desktop with its short 19 inch cable. The cable is even a bit shot for laptop use in my humble opinion. I was not really able to test this drive the way I wanted to, there are many feature of the software that did not work for me seeing as how I had to blow the software out to make the drive work. I would bet that many of you out there reading this review would not have the issues that I have had and would be much happier than me, but that is just a guess. I am running three virtual machines on my one tower and not sure if that has something to do with the software glitches or not so please read as many reviews as you can before taking just my word on things
Other Thoughts: I can't really give you a speed test here as I can't get the Smartware to work properly but it does move files quickly once I created my own file on the root of the hard drive.
Link to chat about Time Machine and MAC issues
http://community.wd.com/t5/My-Book-Live/Issues-with-Time-Machine-new-backup-must-be-created/td-p/251252/page/11
"I know that this link is for MY Book and this item is a My Passport but they chat about the Smartware"
Over all for an external its nice, it's small and it's fast what more do you really want, it's not meant to be a NAS system, it's just a back up. I am Happy.
Reviewed By:Willisp,9/27/2014 8:39:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST TOURO S 1TB USB 3.0 High-Performance Ultra-Portable Drive 0S03694(HTOSPA10001BHB) Gray

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 nice drive for xbox one
Pros: fast drive, sleek looking
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: use as an external for my xbox one. i run all my big games that have long load times on it. it is faster drive than the internal on xbox one. load times using forza 5 were 10-12 seconds faster than internal drive when loading a new track which makes a big difference.
Reviewed By:Husher,9/27/2014 7:36:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > ADATA > ADATA DashDrive Durable Series HD710 500GB USB 3.0 2.5" Water & Shock Proof Portable Hard Drive AHD710-500GU3-CYL Yellow

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terible Drive and Poor Design
Pros: None
Cons: The USB port WILL fail on you. Constantly disconnects and connects. Mine finally broke from normal wear and tear through 2.5 years and now ADATA is not following through with their warranty.
Other Thoughts: You will regret buying this if you do!
Reviewed By:N/A,9/27/2014 1:40:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > ADATA > ADATA DashDrive Durable Series HD710 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Water & Shock Proof Portable Hard Drive AHD710-1TU3-CYL Yellow

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 STAY AWAY - Flawed Design
Pros: None
Cons: Update from my previous review. As I mentioned before the USB port was flimsy and now has completely failed me. ADATA will not cover data backup but won't warranty my drive either. I want my data first before I RMA the drive and ADATA mentioned they would give manager approval as long as I had a data recovery business complete this. They call in and they tell them they will not warranty the drive...And now I cannot get a hold of their support to talk either.
Other Thoughts: Find a different drive to purchase and just take care of it. I should have known this was a mistake from the beginning.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/27/2014 8:07:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > LaCie > LaCie Rugged Mini 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" External Hard Drive 301558 Orange

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good drive but not really rugged
Pros: Bright orange rubber guard makes it easy to find. Small and easy to use.
Cons: USB cable is not up to par for a rugged device. Reliability is no better than most other drives that I have used. Drive failed when I needed it most causing lost productivity.
Other Thoughts: I gave this drive three eggs because it failed after less than 100 hours of actual usage. The actual age of the drive is three years but it has been handled with care and never subject to any condition that could be remotely considered rugged. I use this drive for backing up my laptop and to store software that is needed to restore my laptop while not in the office. I purchased this drive thinking that a rugged rated device that is treated gently should be reliable for years and in the most critical moments. As it turns out while I was in Russia recently and needed to access one of my virtual machine files the drive would not connect or give any indication of activity even after trying multiple cables and other PC's to rule out my laptop and cable as the source of failure. Ultimately this drive is no more reliable than any of the dozen others that I have used over the years. Would I buy it again? Most likely yes since it works as well as any other external drive and is competitively priced. I just wont trust it to work when I need it the most.
Reviewed By:Richard,9/27/2014 7:56:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 500GB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive STCD500102 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for my needs
Pros: Works very well. As an architecture student, I already have the hard drive at half capacity and it's been treating me well so far. I've used it for many things and I haven't ran into any issues as of yet (even after taking a little beating here and there from being transported from home and school in my bag). Oh yeah, USB 3.0!! Transfer of files is practically instant
Cons: None so far, will update if any arise.
Other Thoughts: Definitely recommended. This portable hard derive definitely satisfies my space needs!
Reviewed By:N/A,9/26/2014 9:19:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > My Passport Ultra Anniversary Edition 1TB USB 3.0 premium storage with style Model WDBTYH0010BCG-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Advanced Format NCQ USB3 HDD
Pros: Easy to use and instant hardware encryption with provided software in the HDD. Only password is needed and the user is able to auto unlock. Therefore speed is not affected by encryption.

Sequential Read : 117.553 MB/s
Sequential Write : 112.156 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 46.757 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 83.180 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.635 MB/s [ 155.1 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 2.215 MB/s [ 540.9 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 0.773 MB/s [ 188.7 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 2.272 MB/s [ 554.7 IOPS]

The drive is sturdy and has a modern look to it.
Able to be instantly upgraded to WD SmartWare Pro.
Product registration process was easy and built into the utilities.
Drop-Box login was also seamlessly built into the utility.
The software setup was easy as only a single EXE file was enough.
Cons: Does not support BitLocker encryption as speed is extremely slow..
There is no firmware updater utility as with all HDD's.
Even though the HDD uses Advanced Format and NCQ, the drive itself is over a year old and is only SATAII with 5400RPM. The buffer is only 8MB.
The drive was formatted with MBR and not GPT.
The USB cable is fairly short about 20".
No specs in user manual and detailed specs not included.
Other Thoughts: The external enclosure cannot be propped open. I would use it exactly as it is intended for, sort of like a flash drive. It looks like SATA connection is impossible with this drive. The little reset hole by the USB port did not work when the drive is not connected or powered on. This is not a slim 2.5" drive. The price is a little expensive for what you get. I would say it is lot better or versatile for the end user if this had an SSD inside.
Reviewed By:ZheYangMikeangs,9/26/2014 7:59:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau