Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Portable External  Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDR4000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Had to return product
Pros: Small size. No need for brick power supply--just uses USB to power drive.
Cons: Drive lasted a few days and then started acting flaky. I reformatted, fixed errors, etc. Eventually the drive would not mount to attempt further attempts at repair. I think it was just a bad disk.
Other Thoughts: Newegg let me return disk. I have ordered a different drive from Newegg. Good customer service!
Reviewed By:Dale D.,6/30/2016 2:46:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1TB Backup Plus Ultra Slim Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 Model STEH1000101 Gold

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 STUNNING >>> striking beauty w/ excellence…
Pros: Mind boggling science fiction, here and now > a device that stores and retrieves information reminiscent of art-deco style (pre WWII art/technology future-cast) mimicking a circa 1935 compact/cigarette case motif with capacity to hold 916,259,689 pages of plaintext (1,200 characters); assuming you’ve got one terabyte utilizable space.

A one terabyte external hard drive doesn’t get much more portable/affordable/practical than this - or - simpler to use > high-speed USB connectivity w/ seamless plug-and-play functionality. A Rolex® Submariner watch, iconic robust & functional design (13 mm) thick is thicker than this (9.6mm); remarkable considering it isn’t a solid-state drive > it’s got a motor, read/write apparatus, disk. Hard to believe how quiet it is, you almost need a stethoscope to tell its operating! I can attest its shock resistant; short cord plugged into my PC > falling on the floor didn’t faze it.

Seagate Dashboard backup software is there if you choose to use it, the product page explains it much better than I ever could. Personally, I’ve chosen to use it (not as proposed) conventionally, nevertheless, curious; I went through the install routine to check it out. During the process, I was taken to my Microsoft account, 200GB of complimentary cloud storage was added to my existing one drive account.

I currently have installed (2) Seagate hard drives; ST3000DM001-1CH166 [Hard drives] (3000.59 GB) on this system, which perform flawlessly; Seagate is a data-storage icon I trust > Seagate’s got another home run with the STEH1000101; I anticipate this will perform, likewise (without a glitch); only the test of time will tell.
Cons: Don’t attempt to install Windows 7 on this drive via an Intel Skylake platform without researching > Windows 7 install, Skylake platform using USB device.

It comes with a semi-rigid 18-inch USB 3.0 cable; odd drive end precludes using a readily accessible alternative.

Restrictions: You are not licensed to do any of the following (One) > Use the product to provide services to third parties.
Other Thoughts: This is surprisingly super neat; it easily can be placed into a pocket, mistaken for a wallet, influencing the following. This & comparable devices should be required (by law) to possess cutting-edge electronic article surveillance; to forestall data theft. We live in perilous times; ease of use, efficiency, and miniaturization makes it possible for anyone with access to pirate a mindboggling amount of data.

Uses are as varied, mine, safe harbour (free of Internet contamination).

Shopping Insight > Seagate 1TB Backup Plus Ultra Slim Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEH1000101 Gold. Vs. Seagate 2TB Backup Plus Ultra Slim Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEH2000101 Gold; comparatively the 2 TB version cost per gigabyte is much less.

Seagate’s got a winner here > all-in-all this is an amazing engineering/design achievement; more complex/precise than a fine Swiss watch; cost, less than a high school algebra textbook. You need to hold it in your hand to comprehend this accomplishment. I marvel at the creativity and craftsmanship this embodies; I’m sure you’ll agree….
Reviewed By:Donald D.,6/30/2016 12:12:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > ADATA > ADATA 500GB HD710 Waterproof / Dustproof / Shock-Resistant USB 3.0 External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model AHD710-500GU3-CBK Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Touigh Little Drives
Pros: Buying now my third I love these guys. Tough, durable, and definitely waterproof as one was in my bag when someone thought it would be funny to fill it with snow on a ski trip. Shook it off and let it get room temp. Still works years later. I was worried about leaving these plugged in all day since they sit in a row on my desk. But going on almost 5 years on my first one, they don't seem to have a problem. When I leave the house and think I'm going to need more storage I just grab and go.
Cons: The cable they come with is a bit stiff which is a little bit of a hassle depending how your setup is. That's more of a problem with Micro USB3.0 form factor though.
Other Thoughts: If anything, I would like to see some kind of latch or something that would secure the Micro USB3.0 connection so the cord doesn't jar loose in the middle of transfers. Not a huge problem but does waste time having to re-copy the files again.
Reviewed By:Dwayne J.,6/30/2016 9:04:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 2TB Armor A60 Shockproof and Water-Resistant Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model SP020TBPHDA60S3K Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Slow Drive, Cable too Short
Pros: Good Price
Cons: Cable is woefully short. It doesn't even let me sit the drive on top of my computer. I had to go buy another cable just to use the drive. The drive is also very slow to load; must slower than previous externals I have owned. Will not buy this again. Edit; drive Died after 6 Months. What a terrible piece of equipment this is.
Reviewed By:Display I.,6/30/2016 7:52:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 3TB My Passport Ultra Metal Edition Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBEZW0030BSL-NESN Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works fine but do not use WD software
Pros: USB 3.0 = fast transfers.
Very small for a 3TB drive.
Brushed metal looks cool (bottom is black plastic but who cares).
Cons: The drive makes a clicking sound once in a while that makes me nervous, but from WD forums it states that noise is the drive head parking to save power/prevent damage if dropped. If they say so.
Other Thoughts: Do not use the WD encryption software. It is not secure (Google it). If you use Microsoft Windows then use Bitlocker instead.

I am not sure how useful integration with Dropbox is. Most people use Dropbox for live files (files they access frequently), not exclusively for backups, so it doesn't make sense to me. If you are using Dropbox for backups only you might as well use Carbonite (unlimited space for 1/2 the price).
Reviewed By:Matt B.,6/28/2016 12:50:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA 2TB Canvio Connect Portable Hard Drive with 32GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive Value Pack (Club) USB 3.0 Model HDTC720CK3C1 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 USB 2.0 Flash drive??
Pros: -The price is fair
Cons: -This external hdd comes with a 32gb usb 2.0 hdd. Why usb 2.0 when the external hdd is usb 3.0?
Other Thoughts: -If this unit came with a usb 3.0 flash drive instead of a 2.0 this would actually be a good deal.
-USB 2.0 is so slow compared to usb 3.0.

SHAME ON YOU TOSHIBA.
Reviewed By:allstar c.,6/28/2016 12:02:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 Model STDR4000900 (Silver)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Always reliable. The provided backup software and cloud storage assure peace of mind
Pros: The drive has been tested and used with Mint Linux, ChromeOS, and Windows 8.1.
There is a very tiny hidden partition of Windows utilities that is used only by that OS. There is no need to format the drive, as it mounts and is recognised by all of the above-mentioned systems. Also, Seagate provides a 2 year warranty on its drives of > 4 Tb capacity.

The access light is very discreet, and you have to place your ear on the casing: it is indeed "whisper-quiet". Transfer of fairly large folders > 500 Gb is a matter of a mere few minutes. I already have ample cloud storage so that which is provided with this purchase does not affect my opinions of the product. In fact, I purchased it to have a reliable *local* backup of my data.
Cons: I was somewhat concerned that the drive would get rather hot to the touch. However, I do not have air-conditioning, and this was during very hot days during which I stress-tested the drive with very large transfers of directories that included nested sub-directories of four levels or more. It's _only_ for this reason that I accord a 4 out of 5 rating.
Other Thoughts: IMVHO, the heat problem was just during the "breaking-in" period of the new drive. After those first few days, this no longer occurs. One may choose to re-partition the drive. I have such confidence in this product, that I chose to keep a single partition. Having purchased this and other manufacturers' products in the past, I am convinced of the high quality and reliablity of Seagate products.

As such, I endorse this product as an item which one can buy with full confidence.
Reviewed By:John W.,6/28/2016 8:16:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB My Passport External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBBEP0010BRD Red - (CERTIFIED REFURBISHED)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Don't Know
Pros: It's WD external memory
Cons: The software it came with did not work.
Other Thoughts: Makes wonder if this product is going to reliable, time will tell, that's why i can only give it 3 Eggs and that's being generous.
Reviewed By:James B.,6/28/2016 12:41:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA1000400 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent External HHD
Pros: Easy installation. No issues.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Using it in my Xbox One and it works flawlessly.
Reviewed By:Cristian M.,6/27/2016 10:02:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Black My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBGPU0010BBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Had to update the USB 3.0 drivers
Pros: 1TB
Good price
Great warranty
Has comprehensive manual and software stored on the drive
Nifty "Quick View" utility in the system tray after installing the Utilities software
Didn't use the backup software so I can't comment on that.
Cons: Had to update the USB 3. 0 port drivers in order to make it play nicely.
Other Thoughts: My computer is 6 years old with the design of the motherboard probably being a few years older than that. With that being said, when I plugged the Passport into the USB 3.0 port it immediately wanted to install the SES driver, but it didn't. I was able to access the Passport anyway without it. But, after I manually installed the SES driver and rebooted, Windows 7 wanted to format the Passport. I did not think the Passport needed to be reformatted. So instead I visited the USB 3 maker's website, downloaded the latest driver and installed it. After another reboot, the Passport was accessed with no problem. However, the response was more like it was plugged into a USB 2 port. A 40GB copy process took 12 minutes. The copy started at 100MB/sec. then dropped to 60MB/sec. after just a couple minutes. I don't blame the Passport for this performance. I believe it is old technology trying to
communicate with new technology. Also, a mechanical hard drive cannot perform write operations at the speed of an USB 3 ort. So I cannot believe I will ever get the 5GB/sec promissed by USB 3. But, I am planning on upgrading my computer hardware and OS to Wndows 10. Will see how it performs after that. Overall, I am pleased with this purchase. I like Western Digital's products and would buy again.
Reviewed By:Carl B.,6/26/2016 8:55:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.