Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives Robusk Mini 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Shock Resistant Portable External Hard Drive FRM1000

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nope
Pros: nothing
Cons: it didn't work, at all. bought two. neither worked.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 12:47:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive STDR2000102 Blue

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Power Issues - Gave it away
Pros: Blue
Cons: The HD does not work when other USB devices are being used on the adjacent port of my laptop.

Could the problem be my laptop isn't supplying enough power to the USB ports? Absolutely.

Have I had problems with any other combination of non-Segate USB drives or devices? No.

Just to be clear, I am not using the drive with a USB hub.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 12:34:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 2TB USB 3.0 Game Drive for Xbox STEA2000403

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Speedy, spacious external HS for Xbox, Xbox 360, and/or PC/Mac
Pros: Tiny form factor, 5400rpm 2 TB mechanical HD inside. The HD inside is a Samsung Spinpoint drive; which have generally been more well received, well reviewed, and overall a better mechanical HD from what I’ve seen over the years. It is USB 3.0 native with a cable included but can also be used with USB 2.0.

This drive offers a ton of space if you’re increasing your Xbox 360 or Xbox game and media collection. Just plug the thing into your console and it works. The bright green color scheme compliments the casing of the factory Xbox and Xbox 360.

You can also use this hard drive as just a regular external hard drive on a PC or Mac. Just plug it in, format appropriately and use it to store whatever you want.

The thing is quiet. You can only hear the drive spinning and the drive head moving to read/write if you put your ear up to it; otherwise, you won’t hear it during normal operation.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: My transfer speeds on the USB 3.0 bus on my PC were to be expected for a USB 3.0 drive. The limiting factor is the spinning speed of the drive at 5400 rpm. This allows for quiet operation and lower heat; meaning longer life.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2015 3:57:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG P3 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable External Hard Drive STSHX-MTD10EF

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY, DIE FAST, LOST DATA
Pros: USB 3.0, pretty fast when it work.
Cons: As my Newegg order history show, I bought this SAMSUNG P3 1TB external drive on 08/01/2014. It stop working around 08/01/2015.
If you have 1TB of useless data and you do not care if you will lose it or not, go ahead and store it on this drive.
This drive was not put to heavy use. It is mostly used as a temporally storage or for transfer large data.
Warranty is a joke for hard drive, so the 3 years warranty is useless. While try to get the warranty for my hard drive, I find out that I have to RMA to the drive the Seagate?! And here is their statement:
"DATA ON RETURN DRIVES WILL BE LOST. Your original drive will NOT be returned. All data and software will be lost. If your warranty claim is justified, we may send you a recertified replacement unit. If not, we may retain your unit altogether. Either way, you will lose any data on the unit. The replacement drive will be low-level formatted. If you need the data on the drive and do not have a backup copy, you may want to consider data recovery services before sending the drive to Seagate for replacement."
So, I open up the external cover hoping that I can connect the drive to SATA to get back my data. Well, turn out the drive have a special PCB made for USB 3.0 only!! Not a normal SATA 2.5" drive!
Other Thoughts: The point of buying an external hard drive is to back up your data or to expand you storage space. I know saving your only copy of data on an external drive is a dump idea, but I do not have a choice. I was traveling with my MacBook Air with only 128SSD and a Camera with 8GB memory card. So, I have to use this drive to temperately store my travel picture. I thought it should be ok since I only need this drive to work until I can storage very thing back to my desktop.
I think the drive stop working because of USB 3.0 to SATA adapter failure. I was not able to connect this drive to SATA because of special PCB for USB 3.0
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2015 9:42:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 2TB USB 3.0 Game Drive for Xbox STEA2000403

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Drive.
Pros: This Drive is 2TB (or 2000GB) the Original Xbox One is only 500GB so this is four times the storage space.
You simply plug it in, and go. maximum read speed is 128.2MB/second. average read speed is 97.7MB/s
The original Xbox One (500GB) hard drive is a SAMSUNG Spinpoint M8 ST500LM012. which reads at 105MB/s. with average about 90MB/s. So this external will be slightly faster.
Cons: plastic drive enclosure could be a bit more durable, the corners feel pretty tough, but the center middle and bottom feel really thin.
It does not feel like it would survive a 5 foot drop onto a hard surface without breaking apart. "you shouldent drop it anyways"
The usb 3.0 connector has some wiggle to it so it's probably a good idea to be delicate with it.
Other Thoughts: This drive is actually just a standard 2TB external. It works with PS4, PC, and anything else that works with standard external hard drives.
make sure it gets some airflow. it does get a bit warm from extended use.
the cheapest 2TB external USB3.0 drives start at around $80. and offer identical performance. you are paying a bit extra for the Xbox logo on the drive. The internal drive is a Samsung HN-M201RAD Momentus SpinPoint. which is actually a pretty reliable drive according to 60+ reviews here on newegg.
The usb cord is 18 inches from end to end.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 6:11:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate STDR1000102 Backup Plus Slim 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable Hard Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great bargain!
Pros: Crazy cheap price of $45. It's also a sharp looking external and very thin.
Cons: slower then what I expected.
Other Thoughts: Overall I am extremely happy with this external given the price paid. I purchased this for my xbox one so was hoping for faster performance similar to the externals I currently own or at least the benchmarks I seen for this drive online. It doesn't seem to be any slower then what is installed internally on the xbox so it's still a great buy. Despite the sound of my review I am extremely happy and it works great. If you are looking for what is at times the cheapest 1tb external around and don't mind just average speed then don't hesitate picking this up when it goes back on sale. For the standard price there are better and faster options that cost the same.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 4:44:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 2TB USB 3.0 Game Drive for Xbox STEA2000403

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Designed for Xbox, good drive!
Pros: Works great. Tested on Xbox360, formats, saves etc just fine. It looks like the price similar to other 2TB portable drives, but with the added Xbox styling and logo, as well as a "promise" of sorts from Seagate that it is designed especially for Xbox.

Of course it can also be used as a "normal" external HDD for your laptop or PC, but you'll want to reformat the drive if you've been using it with your Xbox.

Other pro's include USB3.0 speed -- transfers to and from the PC averaged 117MB/s (big file), which is about as good as you are gonna get from a 5400 rpm sataIII drive, which is what is inside this thing.

If you're an Xbox fan-boy-girl you might just like to have this drive because of its cool Xbox styling, and just use it as a normal drive. That'll work just fine.
Cons: It seems there is a slight price premium for the Xbox styling and the promise that it has been designed for Xbox. Its a little unclear what this means (other than putting it in a green case with an Xbox logo). Perhaps there was some additional "magic" or testing that was done to ensure the drive would work consistently or well with Xbox devices. We may never know, but if you remember the days of trying to hack Xbox's to change or increase storage, and the frustration that accompanied, you might appreciate the super authorized nature of Seagate's offering.
Other Thoughts: As with all these drives, 2TB means 2,000,000,000,000 bytes of storage. According to my computer, this drive gives 2,000,396,742,656 bytes of available storage (NTFS formatted), so a bit extra space for good measure. Thanks Seagate!

(Sorry, couldn't resist. HDD makers get infinite grief about this, so I thought Seagate deserved a little hat tip for giving us a 2TB drive with MORE than 2 trillion bytes of capacity. 1.81TB naysayers can google "Why windows reports tebibytes as terabytes?" )

While the branding may add a bit to the price, I suspect that sale prices will be very similar to the best 2TB prices out there, so no complaint here.

By the way, if you do let it format on your Xbox, change your mind, and then want to use it with your PC, note that Xbox makes a bunch of partitions you'll want to delete before reformat.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 9:47:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power Armor A80 2TB USB 3.0 2.5" Military Grade Portable Hard Drive SP020TBPHDA80S3B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great drive
Pros: Love the feature of this external hard drive, waterproof and shockproof. Just what I want to store my photos and videos. There are two cables included, the short one is easy for me to carry, and the long one is perfect for me to connect to my desktop at home.
Haven’t really tried the waterproof function yet. Hopefully never!
Great drive for a decent price!
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 9:49:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 2TB USB 3.0 Game Drive for Xbox STEA2000403

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Zippy little drive
Pros: This is a pretty fast and resilient external drive. It's marketed as an external drive for Xbox 360 and Xbox One, but it works out of the box on PC as well once formatted to your OS of choice. I found it to have excellent read and write speeds for a 5400 RPM drive over USB 3.0, and it would be more than enough to install games to, play media and movies from, and store files for a computer. So far no issues with plug and play compatibility on Windows, OS X, or Linux (It appears to be a pretty standard USB controller.

For the sake of science I decided to crack open the enclosure to find out what drive was used internally and found it to be a Samsung Spinpoint HN-M201RAD/AV1. The drive has excellent native speeds over SATA III and has fantastic reviews from users who have used it in laptops and as an expansion drive for consoles.
Cons: The only issue I have with this drive is that the whole bundle (The Seagate 2TB drive as packaged here) has a 1 year warranty, whereas the base drive that's inside (Samsung Spinpoint HN-M201RAD/AV1) has a 2 year warranty. I'm not sure why the warranty period is reduced on the whole enclosure, but it was worth noting.
Other Thoughts: Just about any external USB drive will work for Xbox 360 and Xbox One, but having one designated specifically for those two consoles at the same price as buying another external drive is great. I would definitely recommend this if you needed to expand your storage or just use this drive as an external portable drive for a laptop or desktop.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 4:16:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 1TB USB 3.0 Secure Portable External Hard Drive WDBGPU0010BWT-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect
Pros: Plugged it in, it got recognized immediately and runs fast and smooth. I bought it for school so that I can store all my projects and files on it vs. my tablet which has a much lower disk space. Its sleek and pretty light weight compared to my last one which I lost somewhere. It comes with some great programs on it for security purposes, if you want to use it as a back up drive, or just file storage.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 10:32:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.