Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA 500GB USB 3.0 Canvio Slim II Portable Hard Drive HDTD205XS3D1 Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice pocket drive
Pros: Good speeds, nice looking. Has an indicator light that is blue when connected to USB 3.0, white when it's USB 2.0. Got it for forty-six dollars shipped.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: This is my first pocket external drive (I own many full size externals) and this little guy does not disappoint.

Avg speeds I get (tested with large files to/from an SSD):
USB 3.0> between 110-112mb/sec read&write
USB 2.0> between 37-38mb/sec read&write
Reviewed By:Jerry in WA,5/5/2015 5:10:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Touro Mobile 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable Hard Drive 0S03801 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well
Pros: Works simply as expected. Amazed at how small this unit is! LOL!
Cons: I would not install the included software, but that depends on what you want. Would not work for me. I use Backup Maker that has the features I am looking for.
Other Thoughts: I use this the backup the 1 TB internal HD on my Windows 8 system.
Reviewed By:BlackIce713,5/2/2015 7:01:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1.5TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable External Hard Drive STBX1500401 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for home use
Pros: Fast for home use. Average transfer rate of about 70-80Mbs on an Asus P8Z68 board using the Asustek boost on the USB 3.0 ports at the back.

Plug and play, no hassle whatsoever.
Cons: Nothing as of now...
Other Thoughts: As with any type of storage, I'm concerned about durability before it starts to break apart but I've always had great experience with Seagate drives. I still have working ones that I bought in the 90's.

Hope this one lasts as long.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/1/2015 12:11:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable External Hard Drive STEA1000400

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Good
Pros: This product hooks up out of the box with 931 GB to use as expected. Works great so far, but the real test will happen after a year or so after hard use.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for good quality and good price you've found the right external HD.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/30/2015 9:37:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable External Hard Drive STBX1000101 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Awful hard drive
Pros: small and light......that's it.....
Cons: Wants to install unnecessary software and you can't fight it or the hard drive will screw up on you. If you do manage to win and get info on the drive, you will find that all of your data will be corrupted and useless. Also would only work in one of my 4 USB 3.0 ports even though I know the others work
Other Thoughts: Buy a Western Digital or Toshiba instead. Never had problems with them
Reviewed By:N/A,4/30/2015 6:40:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 500GB WD Elements Portable USB 3.0 Hard Drive Storage (WDBUZG5000ABK-NESN)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Works great in Ubuntu 14.04
Cons: Doesn't make dinner
Other Thoughts: I'm using this to air gap my backed up photos and such in unlikely chance of a Linux ransomware attack. Paranoid? Yes, but who doesn't enjoy having extra hard drives?
Reviewed By:cwmaguire,4/29/2015 10:35:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1.5TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable External Hard Drive STBX1500401 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Compact and practical
Pros: I was looking for an external hard drive for my xbox one because the internal drive fills up quickly and decided on this one. Very easy to set up, you just plug it into your xbox, format it, and it's ready to use. Once formatted, I believe it leaves you with about 1.3 TB of usable space, which is plenty for me. I can't speak on the longevity of the product, but as of this moment, I'm a fan.
Cons: None at the moment.
Other Thoughts: Nice small drive if you are looking to add some additional storage to your xbox one.
Reviewed By:Shane,4/29/2015 2:22:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 1TB USB 3.0 Premium Portable Storage WDBZFP0010BTT-NESN Titanium

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Speedy
Pros: Small, fast, looks sharp
Cons: None, does everything you expect of portable storage.
Reviewed By:VyReN,4/27/2015 11:47:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive STDR2000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 53Mo/s writing
Pros: cure
Cons: only 53Mo/s in writing
130Mo/s in reading
Reviewed By:N/A,4/27/2015 7:59:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio Basics 1TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive HDTB310XK3AA Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Drive Failed
Pros: Set up was easy. Recognized the drive right out of the box.
Cons: Driver failed the second day.
Other Thoughts: Could just be bad luck, but I'm not impressed crashing after 24 hours of use.
Reviewed By:Nwacapo,4/27/2015 4:28:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.