Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Elements Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBUZG0010BBK-EESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hidden Fees
Pros: WD normally makes great products
Cons: You only get a 30 day trial for the software which you must use to operate the drive. After that it will cost you another $20.00 to buy the software which should be included for free, I have not found any free software on their site that works with this drive. Shame on WD. On top of that when I tried to download the trial software I received a broken link email. Junk
Reviewed By:Steven F.,8/30/2016 2:42:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 Model STDR4000902 (Red)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 No server software
Pros: Solid drive, does what's expected of an external HD.
Cons: Dashboard software does NOT run on any servers.
Other Thoughts: I've been using Seagate drives for at least 30 years and have never had trouble with one. I also like their dashboard software for keeping track of backups and have used it on several small business systems. I recently took on a small network at a library and the first thing I discovered was that there are no backups. Being such a small network with a single low-end server and an equally low-end budget I went for a solid low-end backup such as an external drive with off-site (cloud) availability. I was VERY disappointed to find out that the dashboard software will NOT install on the server under any compatibility mode.
Reviewed By:Bret C.,8/30/2016 10:28:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA4000400 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very quiet, very large data size, very small size, very inexpensive. Perfect for backup.
Pros: I bought my first nearly 3 months ago, and have 2.9 TB of data backed up on it. Today I will order another

-- I can't believe they can get this much data on such a small drive.
-- It's nearly silent. I don't hear it in normal operation.
-- Light weight.
-- Small size makes it perfect for travel.
-- Sustained data transfer rate is good for a 5400 rpm.
Cons: I would not use this as my primary drive. 7200 rpm drives are faster.
Other Thoughts: I suspect that some of the reported drive "drops out" are because the power is not quite enough. Try using a different port.

Avoid trusting any electronics for a month or two. That's the infant mortality period (if there is a defect, it will show up then).
Reviewed By:James B.,8/28/2016 10:11:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 1TB Armor A30 Shockproof Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model SP010TBPHDA30S3K Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great so far
Pros: I have purchased three so far and am very satisfied.
Cons: Haven't found any so far
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product
Reviewed By:steven d.,8/27/2016 9:32:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Elements Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBUZG0010BBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste of money
Pros: None
Cons: Lasted one year, then it died out on me. Clearly it's cheap quality.
Reviewed By:Anthony E.,8/26/2016 1:09:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Blue My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBGPU0010BBL-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great price on a great product
Pros: Works perfectly, like everything else I have purchased through Newegg.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Harold S.,8/25/2016 12:54:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 500GB My Passport Ultra Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBPGC5000ABK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Back Up Hard Drive
Pros: The Passport Ultra Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 makes it easy to back up my home and business laptop!
Cons: There are no cons - it was easy to install the software and perform the back ups.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this product to other home and business laptop owners!
Reviewed By:Patricia L.,8/25/2016 8:01:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB My Passport External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBBEP0010BRD-NESN Red

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 External storage.
Pros: External drives are just for backups where you would like to get junk off the PC, file transfers, and temporary storage. The general public needs to understand that this is not an archiving device for permanent storage. All you folks crying about lost data, shame on you. Important data needs to be backed up to the cloud, cd/DVD/blue ray disks, or tape. For the most part, manufacturers use their cheapest quality drives for these, notice they have very little or NO warranty. So, buyer beware, if you don't read the fine print, you will get burned. It's not if, it's a matter of when it happens, do YOU have an archive.
Cons: Keep your drives protected, I can only imagine how some of you treat these delicate devices with moving parts, and spinning platters. I've had one 500GB hard disk for 9 years now. How? I treated it exceptionally well. Learn what that means folks.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2016 2:02:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 4TB Black My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBBKD0040BBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Another great WD product
Pros: 1: No external power supply
2: Small enough to fit in a pocket
3: Works with any laptop or computer (except Apple but that is NOT worthy of being called a PC)
4: "So far" every TV I plug it into recognizes it and plays the content I've placed on it
Cons: Could be slightly cheaper, but not really complaining about it at the 130.00 I paid.
Other Thoughts: I wish hard drive companies in general could fix the lost space issue when formatting drives because the larger the drive the more space you lose to the format, but I guess one could dream.
Reviewed By:David D.,8/22/2016 1:11:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA4000400 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Generally Excellent
Pros: Excellent price, quick delivery.
Cons: Not recognized by all my devices.
Other Thoughts: I reformatted this drive to NTFS and have used it successfully with Linux and Windows devices. However it is not recognized by a media player and a router with a USB port. I have successfully used 1T and 2T drives on these devices and failure may be due to a size limit.
Reviewed By:Bob D.,8/21/2016 3:46:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.