Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive STDR2000101 Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great backup solution!
Pros: Small, fast, USB3.0 speed, silent, powered via USB so no separate cable nor supply
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Backups only happen if they're fast and easy. This drive makes that happen. Spend the money, it's a cheap insurance policy against the agony of a failed hard drive. I bought a second one (different color to keep track easier) and rotate them for additional security.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/30/2015 3:18:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive STDR2000101 Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great backup solution!
Pros: Small, fast, USB3.0 speed, silent, powered via USB so no separate cable nor supply
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Backups only happen if they're fast and easy. This drive makes that happen. Spend the money, it's a cheap insurance policy against the agony of a failed hard drive. I bought a second one (different color to keep track easier) and rotate them for additional security.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/30/2015 3:11:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio Basics 3.0 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable Hard Drive HDTB110XK3BA Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Product
Pros: Good when it was new, got while on sale.
Cons: Worked good for less than a year, now takes long time to be recognized by computer, unable to do a complete format it never finishes. Can only do quick format. When drive is over half full it sometimes causes computer BSOD. Can no longer trust for valuable data..............
Other Thoughts: Are there any good manufacturers left out there?
Reviewed By:N/A,1/29/2015 6:44:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST TOURO S 1TB USB 3.0 High-Performance Ultra-Portable Drive 0S03694(HTOSPA10001BHB) Gray

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Smart purchase
Pros: The device is great, it performs as listed. I purchased for use with my xbox one.
Cons: Was not recognized by my xbox one at all, this was fixed by purchasing a different usb 3.0 sync cable.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/29/2015 6:28:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio Basics 3.0 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable Hard Drive HDTB210XK3BA Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great deal
Pros: Great deal from Newegg! The HDD has solid construction and can take a beating. Great value
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,1/29/2015 2:18:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 2TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive WDBMWV0020BTT-NESN Titanium

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best External Hard Drive Out There!
Pros: The WD My Passport Ultra 2TB is a very nice external hard drive when you need to store/access a lot of data quickly or frequently on the go. It is small for the amount of memory it can hold and is very reliable. I use it to transfer data to and from my home computer, my laptop, as well as computers at the college I attend. This is very convenient for many large projects in my class because there are often many files of great size that I need to transfer quickly in between classes. The USB 3.0 and fast speed of the hard drive itself makes this a breeze and has not once lost any data.
There are some features for this hard drive that separates itself from others like it that are optional. For example there is an encryption function that locks and encrypts all the files on the hard drive so that you need a password to use it. Once again, this is nice for when I'm at the college and I need to be sure my hard drive isn't stolen and data isn't pulled from it.
Also, I mentioned the hard drive is reliable and I haven't lost any data. You may think "duh, that's what it's supposed to do" but many hard drives out there don't hold up as good as this one. I've had hard drives in the past that have failed after a few weeks and all the data on them was lost. It is common for cheap brands, but I've never had a problem with Western Digital hard drives.

Pros:
Lightweight
Fast
High storage capacity
Reliable
Password functionality
Price
Cons: Another feature is the backup service it advertises. Essentially it's the one thing they could have done better. They don't have private servers somewhere that back your data up for you, it is just advertising a Dropbox account. Granted, some people may find backing their files up on a Dropbox account to be helpful, but personally, I think it's bad advertising.

Cons:
Dropbox
Other Thoughts: As you can see, this external hard drive is great all around and is cheap for it's functionality and storage capacity. It often goes on sale and is definitely worth the cost when it does.
Reviewed By:Adotis Reviews,1/29/2015 1:09:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio Connect 1.5TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive HDTC715XL3C1 Blue

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: convenieant, easy setup, small and portable
Cons: I have yet to find them
Reviewed By:gabe208,1/29/2015 10:56:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Elements 1TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive WDBUZG0010BBK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Western Digital Elements 1TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive WDBUZG0010BBK-NESN Black
Pros: Very Small, Slim and light.
USB3.0
Its short USB cable disconnects so you can replace it if worn out.
No need for external power supply.
No backup software so no price increase paying for something you don't need or want, other WD models have BU software.
Cons: The short cable is just that about 6-8 inches so you need to have your laptop and the drive on a flat surface.
This would be a nice drive to plug into your router as a network drive but cable may (I stress may) be long enough or it might.
Other Thoughts: The short cable is short due to POWER requirements for the drive. you could use a longer cable but you may get failures due to voltage droop of a longer cable due to inductance of said cable reacting to a sudden large increase in current, like during a drive spin up. But this is a sweet little backup drive that fits in your pocket, use it for back up or file transfers.
Reviewed By:Don A,1/28/2015 8:27:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power Armor A30 1TB USB 3.0 White Shockproof Portable Hard Drive SP010TBPHDA30S3W

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fine External Hard Drive
Pros: I've had it for several weeks and it does what I need it to do: stores backup information, and downloads it in a reasonable period of time. AND it's small enough to carry in one hand.
Cons: None come to mind.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 6:12:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 2TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive WDBMWV0020BBL-NESN Blue

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk (x2)
Pros: None. Fails at what's it supposed to do.
Cons: Can't list any pros when the drives fail and their sole purpose is to backup and store data. We started buying these at my tech company for work. One drive full of sensitive data failed within 6 months (HDD failure, clicking) and a 2nd drive failed in just about a year (logic board died.) WD is making garbage products now. Encryption prevents you from just swapping in another board to recover your data. Board interface is USB 3.0 only, so you can't remove the drive and plug into a SATA dock / port either if you're having issues.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time. Buy a good, reputable bare drive and put it in it's own external enclosure. If I could, I'd leave multiple negative eggs for this product.
Reviewed By:SoCal,1/28/2015 1:06:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.