Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Card Readers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GSR203 USB 2.0 Portable Smart Card Reader (TAA Compliant)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Smart Design
Pros: Small. Allows me to take it anywhere without taking a lot of space. Lightweight and durable design. Cord tucks into the actual device.
Cons: The cord could be longer when using for different applications but works well when I just need it on the go to plug into my laptop. Probably not something you would buy when you require a long cord or plugged into your desktop. May be hard at times to insert your card but goes right in during most cases.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/26/2015 7:31:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Card Readers > Enermax > Enermax ECR301 internal card reader w/ Super Charge USB Port (2.4v), USB 3.0 x1. 5-in-1 card readers: CF I/II/MD, Micro SD, SD/SDHC/SDXC/MMC/RSMMC, MS/MS PRO/MS PRO DUO, M2(MS MICRO)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not bad....
Pros: Works well. Reads cards and USB ports work. Have not tested SATA port yet.
Cons: The USB ports seem flimsy. They wiggle in the case. This makes me question the durability of this item. Time will tell if they last. Ports should be strong due to the heavy usage they get from operator plugging and unplugging.
Due to this, automatic 4 stars. Rating will be lower if these ports prematurely fail.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/26/2015 4:08:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Card Readers > Tek Republic > Tek Republic TUC-2000 3.5" USB 2.0 CF/SDHC/SDXC/microSD/MicroSDXC/miniSD/MMC/MS/XD All-In-One Internal Card Reader

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 This reader has been good until...
Pros: This card reader has many card reading features for all types of cards and has an extra USB port for the front of the case. It has a metal housing that makes it easy to install and I can get all 4 screws in to mount it into a standard case, where as some card readers are plastic mount and barely make it to use 2 screws.
Cons: I just installed a new PC for a client who was complaining that when they shutdown the PC, then the next day, try to boot it up it sticks on the logo screen and won't boot. This is a Gigabyte GA-H97M-D3H motherboard. So I go to troubleshoot and when I unplug the card reader it boots fine. I tried another card reader (the same kind) and I get the same result. It boots up if the power is unplugged for 10 sec then plugged back in, but not on a simple reboot.
I am going to try a USB PCI card with a internal header to solve this problem. There is one that Rosewill makes (N82E16815166001) that may work. I am thinking that since the PCI card is not part of the integrated USB on the MB it will not affect the boot process. So now my card reader deal will cost another 12 bucks.
Other Thoughts: I have used this card reader multiple times without problems and have been happy with it. I just hope I don't run into any more compatibility issues on other motherboards. But for the price it is worth the risk.
Reviewed By:Conceptor,2/26/2015 2:54:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Card Readers > Atech Flash Technology > AFT PRO-57U USB 3.0 5.25" Bay, CompactFlash/SDHC/SDXC/microSD/microSDXC/miniSD/miniSDHC/MultiMediaCard/Memory Stick/xD-Picture Card. All-in-one Internal Media Card Reader

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 BEST OUT THERE
Pros: I have both of them the XM-37U and the PRO-57U I am running as my back up machine an ASUS A88X PRO (MB) and the A10 7850K (APU)
I flashed the bios to the latest and greatest and the one before this last one lasted only a couple of weeks and I couldn't figure out why suddenly the AFT XM-37U suddenly showed as on in the bios as it showed all the ports however it showed a yellow caution sign in "Device Manager" and no matter what I did it wouldn't stop showing the problem indicator. However the next bios flash CORRECTED THE PROBLEM
I have never had a problem with either of them and consider this the best CARD READERS out there because they are self powered via duel USB 3 hook up. and they have USB 3 showing on the face for a direct USB 3 hook up. I have USB 3 on board and routed to the top front of my V9 case but this gives an extra not to mention all the ports for all the cards. I love the 20 pin USB 3 (I have a 20 pin USB 3 HEADER on the mother board) so it doesn't take up a USB 3 on the rear of the computer or actually 2 of them because if you don't have a 20pin USB 3 inside on the mother board you'll either have to get a card to provide (PCI or PCI-E) to create the required two USB 3 inputs to plug the USB hook up cable to. Mine had a breakout in that the USB 3 20 pin connector was a separate connector that plugged into the motherboard then the straight forward USB 3 plugs plugged into it. I hope that helps. I will post this to the other one as well the XM-37U I have had them since 10SEP12 and they have never had a hick up except the 37 with the bios
Cons: OTHER THAN BIOS ISSUE IN PROS NONE
EXCEPT THEY DISCONTINUED THE PRO-57U
Other Thoughts: STILL the best one going
Reviewed By:chewbuya,2/26/2015 11:12:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Card Readers > Atech Flash Technology > AFT XM-37U USB 3.0 3.5" Bay, CompactFlash/SDHC/SDXC/microSD/microSDXC/miniSD/miniSDHC/MultiMediaCard/Memory Stick/xD-Picture Card. All-in-one Internal Kiosk Card Reader

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 BEST OUT THERE
Pros: I have both of them the XM-37U and the PRO-57U I am running as my back up machine an ASUS A88X PRO (MB) and the A10 7850K (APU)
I flashed the bios to the latest and greatest and the one before this last one lasted only a couple of weeks and I couldn't figure out why suddenly the AFT XM-37U suddenly showed as on in the bios as it showed all the ports however it showed a yellow caution sign in "Device Manager" and no matter what I did it wouldn't stop showing the problem indicator. However the next bios flash CORRECTED THE PROBLEM
I have never had a problem with either of them and consider this the best CARD READERS out there because they are self powered via duel USB 3 hook up. and they have USB 3 showing on the face for a direct USB 3 hook up. I have USB 3 on board and routed to the top front of my V9 case but this gives an extra not to mention all the ports for all the cards. I love the 20 pin USB 3 (I have a 20 pin USB 3 HEADER on the mother board) so it doesn't take up a USB 3 on the rear of the computer or actually 2 of them because if you don't have a 20pin USB 3 inside on the mother board you'll either have to get a card to provide (PCI or PCI-E) to create the required two USB 3 inputs to plug the USB hook up cable to. Mine had a breakout in that the USB 3 20 pin connector was a separate connector that plugged into the motherboard then the straight forward USB 3 plugs plugged into it. I hope that helps. I will post this to the other one as well the XM-37U I have had them since 10SEP12 and they have never had a hick up except the 37 with the bios
Cons: I had a slight bios mishap referred to in the body of pros.
No clue why they discontinued the PRO-57U
odd since they are both the same
and who has or what case has a 3.5" floppy bay any more thankfully mine V9 did/does
Other Thoughts: drive bays very handy still for input and output
Reviewed By:chewbuya,2/26/2015 11:09:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Card Readers > Transcend > Transcend TS-RDF5K USB 3.0 Support SDHC (UHS-I), SDXC (UHS-I), microSD, microSDHC (UHS-I), and microSDXC (UHS-I) Flash Card Reader

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Very Tight Going In!
Pros: Unit worked great with my microSD card, as I was able to transfer nearly a gig of files with no problems at all. However, I wasn't able to use my regular sized SD cards, though. Read the cons to see why.
Cons: Unit takes a little force to plug in and pull out of the USB 3.0 ports on my Phanteks Enthoo Pro Case. It felt like I was going to break something, to be honest.

Also, my Phanteks Enthoo pro Case has a flip-up panel that hides the front USB ports. I can only use the card reader with a microSD card in these particular USB ports, as the larger sized cards interfere with the flip-up panel keeping it from plugging all the way in. Something to consider if your case has a flip-up panel. My back USB ports are all taken up with other USB devices, so the front panel was my only option. I will be unable to use this device with all my regular sized SD cards, which is very disappointing. I'll now have to find something else to use.
Other Thoughts: I took 2 eggs off due to the unit taking a little force to plug in and pull out, which feels like it could cause some damage to the USB port with repeated use. Just be careful when plugging it in and pulling it out and you should be fine.

This reader just don't work well with my particular computer case, at least with the front USB ports. I can't blame the reader for that, so I didn't take off any eggs for that.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/24/2015 7:44:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Card Readers > Rosewill > Rosewill RDCR-11004 5.25" 2 Port USB 3.0 / 4 Port USB 2.0 Hub / eSATA Multi-in-1 Internal Card Reader w/ USB3.0 Connector

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: works well
Cons: Doesn't fit my case perfectly but was able to rig it easily.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/24/2015 8:52:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Card Readers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GFR209A USB 2.0 Support SD, SDHC, microSD, microSDHC, Mini SD, MMC, Memory Stick, and MS Duo, 12-in-1 Pocket Card Reader/Writer White

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Still working. Which is good, since it was cheap!
Pros: It was inexpensive and it continued to work, which is more than I can say for other adapters I've had which didn't even accommodate so many card types.
Cons: Cheap feel, sometimes it's hard to get the cards in just right. I'm always worried I'll break one.
Other Thoughts: I have used this with older laptops as well as putting in the car which had a USB input, in order to use old SD cards for music whilst driving.
Reviewed By:StarMan,2/24/2015 12:12:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Card Readers > Transcend > Transcend TS-RDF5K USB 3.0 Support SDHC (UHS-I), SDXC (UHS-I), microSD, microSDHC (UHS-I), and microSDXC (UHS-I) Flash Card Reader

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This Transcend 3.0 USB Card Reader
Pros: I can use it with any of my computers or my friends, and it's backwards compatible to use with 2.0 and 1.0 USB's as well. Great item Transcend....
Cons: I can think of any.
Other Thoughts: None at this time.
Reviewed By:LNS-Front242,2/22/2015 12:23:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Card Readers > BYTECC INC > BYTECC U2CR-318/Hub USB 2.0 3.5" Bay, CompactFlash/Extreme CF/Extreme III CF/Ultra II CF/HS CF/XS CF/CF Pro/CF Txtra Pro/CF Pro II. All-in-1 Card Reader

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Simple and Functional
Pros: Quite frankly, it works. After reading some not so stellar reviews I decided to take the gamble for 12 bucks( thats what I paid anyway}. I've had it since 2012 and the card slots and usb still work. I do have to admit to not knowing if the cf card slot works though as I don't use those. Overall, pretty OK for cheap and can definitely reccomend as long as you're willing to take the bet. I'm pretty happy.
Cons: As others have said, the light is annoying. It's not insanely bright or anything but it is always on. My rig is on the floor though so I only really notice when going to bed.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/20/2015 7:01:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.