Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Universal Remotes > Logitech > Logitech 915-000230 Harmony 350 Control

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible remote. Does not work like other Harmony Remotes I've owned. I returned mine first day.
Pros: Can be programmed for up to 8 devices online. No need to remember codes.
Cons: Only can set up one 'ACTIVITY'
Battery compartment difficult to open
Watching any device such as Blu Ray or Roku becomes just as complicated, or more complicated, as using multiple remotes
Other Thoughts: This remote has such limited functionality you might be better with several separate remotes. It does not function like other Harmony remotes I've owned, not even a model I have which was their bottom of the line 12 years ago.

I should have read the one star reviews before purchasing it. While you can program it to control up to 8 devices you can not program it for more than one activity. The activity most people will program is watching TV and it will do that OK as long as you don't need complicated options. So if you've programmed the one activity to watch TV then you can't program it to watch a DVD (and/or Blu-Ray/and or Roku, etc). Oh it will control the DVD, but there is no easy way to switch the TV to the input you need for your DVD or turn the DVD on automatically when you hit the DVD button. Same with other devices. So you end up having to go through a very confusing sequence of steps or, easier yet, keep multiple remotes on hand.

The other Harmony remotes I've had did multiple 'ACTIVITIES', in addition to watching TV. So if you wanted to watch, for example, the DVD all you had to do was hit the Watch DVD button and it would turn on the DVD, and switch the TV (or receiver) to the DVD input settings automatically and turn off any devices that were on for the last activity that are no longer needed. You could also program any button within that activity to issue any command for any other device (such as changing the input on the TV when the DVD is selected). Not so with this model.

I'd recommend either getting a Harmony that can do many different ACTIVITIES or just sticking with your mess of old seperate remotes.
Reviewed By:LAWRENCE S.,2/10/2016 6:31:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Universal Remotes > SMK-LINK > SMK-LINK VP4910 PC / MAC RF RemotePoint Jade

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Capable unit (Original title:Laser works. Remote does not (will probably return for replacement))
Pros: The remote has a good feel to it with a matt finish that is easy to hold. The green laser is bright. Has four programmable buttons.
Cons: See Update, below.

The unit I received does not work as a remote. I went through all the obvious things, including replacing batteries. A reply I got from filling the web support form did not help (suggested all the things I had doned). I have not had a response to my reply, and I have not managed to get phone support. If I do not get tech. support that fixes the problem I will return it for replacement. If It works well I will bump up the number of eggs I award it.
Other Thoughts: Update: I managed to talk to a tech, and he thought it was a bad transmitter, so he sent me a replacement immediately. However, that did not work, so I sent it back to Newegg (the tech had given me that option). The replacement forked fine. I have not used it for a presentation since the original presentation had passed, but it seems to work fine. The one-egg reduction is mainly to do with price. Other than that, the unit performs as advertised. I expect the programmable buttons will be useful (e.g., for starting a movie in a presentation).
Reviewed By:James L.,2/7/2016 11:39:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Universal Remotes > Rosewill > Rosewill RRC-126 - Windows Vista / 7 / 8 MCE Infrared Remote Control with Netflix Function

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Loved it so much I bought a second when on sale
Pros: Sleek design
Pick up is good with included dongle and wide pointing area, can point in about 180 degree direction of tv and it will still register.
Long batter life, My old one lasted over a year with cheap Panasonic Dollar Tree batteries.
Cons: There are no cons, Works great with WMC on win 7 64bit. I guess if I had to pick a con I would be hard pressed to come up with one.
Other Thoughts: I've owned one of these for almost 3 years and just picked up a second one when they were on sale a couple weeks ago for $10. If you use WMC for the HTPC DVR these work great. Cant comment on other programs as I've not tested them outside of WMC
Reviewed By:Ashley H.,2/2/2016 1:49:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Universal Remotes > Logitech > Logitech 915-000201 Harmony Ultimate Remote with Customizable Touch Screen and Closed Cabinet RF Control - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's refurbished, so you'll probably like it
Pros: -Price
-Condition of unit
Cons: For me? None.
Other Thoughts: I ordered this before Christmas (2015) because I'm not paying full price for it, but let's be honest, I'm going to end up owning it one way or another, so I'd rather save a good chunk of money. The package came promptly, in good condition, and with everything included. IR blasters, all cabling, manual, even the peel off plastic dust/fingerprint shields were attached still. That being said, I got lucky. But that's what you're betting on when you buy something refurbished.

Somebody purchases something and claims it doesn't work. So they send it back (hopefully with everything included, but not always) and if it's fixable it's fixed and sold. I'd guess the issue with mine was a bad battery and they replaced it, because everything was absolutely like new and I couldn't be happier. But I feel bad for the other guy who reviewed this and was not so fortunate. But.. that's the gamble of refurbished. I've been bitten before, in the same way.

Bottom line: Even if it doesn't come with all the cables & documentation, buy it, because it's the coolest, handiest remote you will ever own that can also turn your lights on/off. Who wouldn't want that?
Reviewed By:Patricia S.,1/31/2016 3:02:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Universal Remotes > Rosewill > Rosewill RHRC-11002 - Windows 7 Certified MCE IR Remote Controller / Win 8 MCE + Small USB Dongle Type with Netflix CD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Addition to WMC HTPC
Pros: Easy set up, gives the full TV remote, flippin' channels experience to WMC. Will also control Blu Ray and DVD playback in WinDVD and WMC.
Cons: Doesn't have a previous channel button. With a Keyboard, the space bar will take you to your last channel.
Other Thoughts: I know WMC is dead end, but a previous channel button would make this remote perfect.
Reviewed By:Jeff M.,1/13/2016 10:54:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Universal Remotes > Logitech > Logitech 915-000201 Harmony Ultimate Remote with Customizable Touch Screen and Closed Cabinet RF Control - Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great Price but Incomplete
Pros: Price
Cons: No IR blasters
US cable provided does NOT fit in the remote
No manual
frustrating workaround to hub to actually work
Other Thoughts: MAKE SURE when you are setting up the hub that you set the remote up first through MyHarmony WITHOUT the hub because the OS that's on it is so old they won't communicate yet. After the remote is updated, click the update section and NOW update your hub. There are ZERO IR blasters in this package. You get two clunky AC to USB for power and a USB cable that doesn't fit into the actual remote for syncing the unit. It's a good buy still but zero manual, USB cord that fits and zero IR blasters.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/8/2016 6:52:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Universal Remotes > RCA > RCA RCRH02BR 2-Device Universal Remote

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Mediocre
Pros: Nice big buttons and simple form.
Cons: Did not fully function as a replacement for my Orion NOFTV2701. Power and volume worked, but channel changing did not work until I pressed menu, bringing up the TV menu and causing the remote red power LED to blink for about 30 seconds, if I press menu again to exit the TV menu I can switch channels until the LED stops blinking, at which point it sends the menu signal to the TV again and channel switching no longer works.

Tried all three codes in the booklet along with about two dozen more I found online without any luck.
Reviewed By:Keith T.,1/5/2016 11:33:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Universal Remotes > Rosewill > Rosewill RRC-126 - Windows Vista / 7 / 8 MCE Infrared Remote Control with Netflix Function

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent for Linux!
Pros: Plug and play with my 15 year old Dell pre-built machine I have running Kodibuntu, could not have been easier.
Cons: I didn't buy more of these on sale!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/5/2016 4:55:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Universal Remotes > Logitech > Logitech Harmony 650 Remote

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disappointed
Pros: Nice display.
Cons: Terrible software. Lots of time wasted just trying to get activities and devices to appear in a logical order on the display without success. My older Harmony remote with the older (7.7.0) software worked great but this new software is less functional and much harder to use.
Other Thoughts: Would not buy again or recommend to others.
Reviewed By:Steven M.,12/29/2015 1:56:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Universal Remotes > Rosewill > Rosewill RRC-126 - Windows Vista / 7 / 8 MCE Infrared Remote Control with Netflix Function

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Gets the job done
Pros: Still using this after almost 4 years for my HTPC. Tried several, always come back to this one.
Cons: If you're using XBMC/Kodi, some of the buttons aren't mapped by default. That's the case with most of these IR remotes, I've found. The important functions work out of the box though.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended.
Reviewed By:Wayne H.,12/20/2015 10:10:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.