Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Canon > Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is the "Nifty Fifty" with a twist.
Pros: Excellent portrait lens for both Full Frame and Crop Sensor bodies. Equates to approx. 85mm focal length on Canon 1.6 crop sensor cameras.

New STM (Stepping motor) for silent and fast (although not blazing fast) focusing

Very sharp lens. Do not let the price fool you. This is used by many pros in the industry and is quite a savings from the 1.4 version which is 100's of dollars more.

Best bokeh for the buck. Well for $-/+200/US. Creamy blurred backgrounds as expected, but not comparable to the f1.4 version. Which clearly outperforms this lens in every test.
Cons: Not really a con, but Smaller filter size (smaller than the standard f1.8 50mm Canon without STM. I recommend bying a step up or step down ring for filters anyways to keep your filter arsenal ready for most any lens in your gear bag.

Full frame users might opt for the 85mm prime as opposed to this as this lens requires you to get quite close to your subject.

Works just the opposite for Canon crop sensor owners...this 50mm will give you the optimum focal length (approx. 85mm) for fashion and other portrait photography,

STM stands for stepping motor and is whisper quiet for video production and rather fast when speaking of AF function but not blazing fast(tends to search more noticeably in low light situations.
Most intermediate to advanced photographers will opt to use manual focus for this prime lens anyways.
Other Thoughts: This is a must have lens to have in your gear bag. It's a great lens to throw on your body (either crop or not) and get right out there and do some incredible portrait and street photography. You will not be disappointed.
Reviewed By:Matthew S.,3/27/2016 12:15:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Tamron > TAMRON AF005Nll-700 SP 70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di VC USD for Nikon

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Eggselect Service Again
Pros: Easy ordering and fast shipping again. I've been buying stuff from Newegg for years and they are DEPENDABLE !
Huge shout-out to your organization.
Thanks again.
Cons: Only Good things can be said about this company.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/24/2016 1:13:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Nikon Inc > Nikon 2183 SLR Lenses 35mm f/1.8 AF-S DX G 52mm Lens Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great lens and sharp.
Pros: I like it because it's small and has sharp pictures. However, not like as much as my Nikon 50mm f/1.8G AF-S.
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: Yes
Reviewed By:Thach N.,2/17/2016 9:56:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Nikon Inc > Nikon 2183 SLR Lenses 35mm f/1.8 AF-S DX G 52mm Lens Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A fine lens
Pros: A fine lens. Small, light and FAST.
Cons: Avoid Always.Deals. They advertise as having the full five year Nikon warranty but ship grey market imports with ZERO warranty.
Other Thoughts: If it's Bokeh you're after, take a look at the 50mm instead. Better for portraits on an APS-C/DX body too.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/10/2016 12:40:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Tamron > TAMRON A011 AFA011N-700 SP 150-600mm F/5-6.3 Di VC USD Lens for Nikon Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What can I say!!! I really like it!!
Pros: This is a very good quality.lens., It is light weight for a 600mm telephoto, Auto focusing is fast, faster than I expected. This lens is very capable of producing sharp pictures.
Great price for a lens with this kind of capability and quality.
Newegg is an authorized Tamron dealer, So Tamron's 6 yr warranty is valid.
Cons: This lens meets or exceeds my expectations, So I can't complain, No Cons!!
Other Thoughts: I did quite a bit of research on this lens and competitors lenses in this price range, The Tamron 150-600 is very popular, and I can certainly see why.
I consider myself to be an enthusiast level photographer. I know more than your average entry level photographer with a DSLR on auto settings, but I am by no means a pro. I use this lens on a Nikon D7100. You will need to use f/8 to f/11 to get the sharp pictures hand held. The Vibration compensation works very well, but this is still a long focal length. so any movement is magnified. The lens is at it's sharpest between 150mm - 450mm It begins to get a little soft after 450 or so to 600mm it still produces good quality pictures.just a bit on the soft side. Any lens of this type will have similar characteristics, If you want to do wildlife or sports photography without blowing the budget, I highly recommend starting with this lens. There are plenty of photos on line taken with this lens. If you search a bit, you can probably find some taken with this lens on your camera. When I bought this lens, Tamron offered a rebate. I received the rebate check less than three weeks after I sent in the paperwork.. I have never had this kind of good service with any rebate offer with any other company, I will definitely consider Tamron for future lens purchases. Newegg, as usual was also very prompt in shipping my purchase.
Reviewed By:Steven H.,12/30/2015 11:25:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Nikon Inc > Nikon 2183 SLR Lenses 35mm f/1.8 AF-S DX G 52mm Lens Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Lens, no 5yr warranty
Pros: Great lens
Cons: Do Not Buy from Always.Deals they are selling grey market, does not have Nikon USA 5 Yr Warranty, refused to pay return shipping even thought they are deceiving customers.
Reviewed By:Kevin S.,12/27/2015 5:46:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Tamron > TAMRON AF 18-200mm F/3.5-6.3 XR Di-II LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Zoom Lens with Built in Motor for Nikon Digital SLR

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect Walking Lens
Pros: I am an amateur hobbyist photographer with a strong interest in taking beautiful photographs and not necessarily in ever becoming a professional photographer. For over a year now this lens has not left my D3200. It allows me the versatility to shoot very nice (not amazing) macro shots and still gives me the reach I NEED to take a quality picture at quite a distance from my subject with little hesitation. It is not perfect for a professional - it has idiosyncrasies that, compared to its much more expensive kin, would be limiting factors. However, for any amateur photographer who is looking for a quality lens with great versatility so they don't have to lug around more than one lens and keep switching out for their zoom, this lens IS perfect.

With a steady hand it shoots marvelously in low light conditions and has come through like a champ in scraping up whatever existing light it can find resulting in far-better-than-expected shots from terrible conditions without a flash. If you're not so steady, a tripod fixes that problem. I've successfully used it for artistic shots and the bokeh is STUNNING (if you like that sort of thing).

I strongly recommend this lens for others with interests similar to myself looking for more versatility from their kit without breaking the bank.
Cons: Not enough to deduct an egg, but as mentioned in other reviews, this lens will develop creep. It is not, in my opinion, a game changer as I have developed a habit of setting the lock when I'm done with a shot. If you walk with this lens facing down and not locked it will fully extend.
Other Thoughts: This lens is all that I had hoped for and more than I expected. It suits my hobbyist photographer needs perfectly and has not let me down.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/23/2015 7:45:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Tamron > TAMRON AF09NII700 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD Aspherical (IF) Autofocus Lens for Nikon SLR

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Tamron 24-75 f2
Pros: Price is the Pro. This lens does a great job. You cant go wrong buying this len and adding to your collection. The 24-75 is great for wide and close up shoots,, like Parties and Weddings. the 2.8f stop allows you to tailor your cameras ISO to allow a blur free shoot in low lite. Outdoors this camera takes great pictures.
Cons: Wished it shot wider than 24mm. 18mm would have been nice. Sometimes if you are not careful at what you are doing you may end up with a blown out picture because of the 2.8f stop. remember 2.8 will give you a background that is blurred so be careful to increase f stop if you want to capture a group shot and have the group come out clear.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this lens. for the price it takes great pictures and I think the build Quality is great for the Price. Just do it you wont regret it.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/29/2015 6:34:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Canon > Canon 1910B002 SLR Lenses EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM Ultra-Wide Zoom Lens Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This lens is crazy
Pros: Ultra sharp image quality.
Aperture is f2.8, it has such a big amount of light that I don't even need a tripod even if weather is bad.
It's waterproof and dust-proof.
Cons: I cannot find any con right now.
Other Thoughts: If you own this you'd better to buy a polarized filter too.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/10/2015 11:57:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Canon > Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great lens
Pros: this lens is a great lens the boken and compression you get from this lens is incredible
Cons: this lens is heavy
Reviewed By:N/A,7/3/2015 11:16:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.