Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Polk Audio > Polk Audio Monitor40 Series II Two-Way Bookshelf Loudspeaker (Black) Pair

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good for the price, but calling them "monitors" is pushing it.
Pros: Solid construction. Attractive finish. Shielded. Three driven speakers. Good soundstage in smaller rooms.
Nice option if you don't have the space or the budget for towers.
Easily beats Pioneer and Sony products selling in the same price range.
Cons: Placement may be a challenge in some situations (not for me, though).
Not much bass below 50 Hz. Hole in the upper midrange? Overly bright?
Other Thoughts: The Polk Monitor40 Type IIs are not five-star speakers by any stretch, but at $125 - $150 a pair they're a great buy if you're putting together a sound system on a budget.

At nearly 16 inches high they are larger than your average two-way speakers, because they include a second (driven) woofer in place of the more common front-firing port. The rear-firing port means you need to leave some space between the speakers and the wall. Turns out this is the perfect configuration for my situation, with the speakers on low pedestals next to a stereo bench.

They also work on bookshelves if you turn them on their sides, and in this configuration they actually look pretty good with their grilles off. You'll want to place them with the rear ports to the outside and the speakers angled toward the center.

I'm using these Monitor40s for stereo music (vinyl and streaming) in a modest size living room, and I was pleased at the spread of instruments across the soundstage. The second 5 1/4-inch woofer adds a bit of oomph to the bass, but you'll want to add a subwoofer if you care about frequencies below 50 Hz.

Sound is in the ear of the beholder. To my ear to there's a dropout in the upper midrange. Or maybe it's the effect of a high-frequency bump. Whatever it is, you sometimes get the sense that something's missing, and occasionally the high frequencies cross the line from bright to harsh. A couple of jazz tracs with brushes on snare drums were nearly unlistenable.

Overall, not an audiophile product, but good consumer speakers if you understand their limitations. Good for music, and they would also work well for TVs and surround-sound.
Reviewed By:PAUL N.,7/22/2016 10:32:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Klipsch > Klipsch PRO 6800 80W 2-Way In-Ceiling Home Audio Speaker

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Looks good
Pros: high end look, feels good to the touch-not plastic feeling, has heft to them, feels like a solid build
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I can't review the performance yet because they will not be hooked up for a while, but since there is such a lack of reviews for this product I would at least describe the item. first off it is packed extremely well, thick box, lots of dense Styrofoam and many layers of protective foam sheets and bags. the item once removed from packaging just looks absolutely amazing. really has a high end look. it also has some heft to it and feels good to the touch it isn't real plastic feeling. the back side looks well put together and the binding posts look strong and I believe should accept 12 gauge wire. the grills are very nice and the magnets hold them in place well. the grills say they are paintable but on the interior of the grill is a fabric liner, I am not sure if that is to be removed or not I will have to read instructions or call Klipsch, I def would not paint them with the fabric in place. Anyway I will follow this up once they are hooked up. based on appearance and build quality alone I believe these will be a good purchase.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/19/2016 5:22:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Polk Audio > Polk Audio Monitor60 Series II Floorstanding Loudspeaker (Black) Single

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Speaker at a Great Price
Pros: Works great with the Powered sub, but even stand alone the base is crisp. Definitely recommend.
Cons: They are pricey if you don't get them on sale
Reviewed By:Michael K.,7/18/2016 9:31:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Infinity Entertainment Group > Infinity Primus PS410BK 10" Powered Subwoofer - Black Single

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor quality
Pros: Sounds great when it works
Cons: Broken in around 4.5 years
Other Thoughts: Buy other brands
Reviewed By:Baisong H.,7/13/2016 9:56:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Polk Audio > Polk Audio Monitor40 Series II Two-Way Bookshelf Loudspeaker (Black) Pair

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great "small" speakers
Pros: Amazing sound clarity. Pretty great bass from a "small" speaker.
Cons: A little big and heavy for a "bookshelf" speaker, but I made it work. NOTE the port on the back pushes a lot of air, if you put these in a bookshelf make sure there is room for air movement or be prepared to cut a hold in the back of your bookshelf (which is what I did).
Other Thoughts: I got these and the matching center channel with the 8" sub for my living room. I have actually disconnected the sub and just use these speakers, they put out plenty bass for me all by themselves except for low rumbling movies. I have them "hidden in plain sight" in bookshelves next to my TV, they take up a whole shelf by themselves. And I had to cut a hole in the back of the bookshelves to allow for air movement, the rear port on these speakers really moves a lot of air. Except for really deep bass these sound better than my old tower speakers, without taking up the space.

Match the rest of your speakers with similar Polk and you'll have an awesome sounding experience.
Reviewed By:William R.,7/13/2016 7:30:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Klipsch > KLIPSCH Reference Series 10-Inch Powered Subwoofer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Oh the BASS!!
Pros: Oh, my Bass I have found you again!!!! Thank you for all you do for me. No seriously I really can not believe I did not buy this 3 years ago.. The bass from this sub woofer fills me with extreme pleasure!!!! It is so good I bought a 2nd one. One in the living room and one in my room.
Cons: I waited and suffered with an inferior sub woofer for 3 years, UNTIL I bought this one!!!!! I should not have waited, since all my other speakers are KLIPSCH (and I love them).
Other Thoughts: Unless you know from personal experience you want something else, stop thinking about this decision now. Please do not get a lessor sub woofer... Buy this one!!!
Reviewed By:William C.,7/12/2016 7:53:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Klipsch > Klipsch Reference Series R-25C 2-way Center Channel Speakers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Klipsch Reference Series R-25C 2-way Center Channel Speakers
Pros: Oh man, I purchased the speaker. It was delivered, but I waited for the weekend to hook it up. Oh man, the change in sound was really noticeable. The sound is crisp & clean. I think I'll buy the matching floor standing speakers.
Cons: Haven't found anything negative about it yet.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product, for the value and definitely the sound.
Reviewed By:gabriel M.,7/11/2016 9:29:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Polk Audio > Polk Audio TSX550 T Black High Performance Towers with two 5.25 inch drivers and 2 8-inch Woofers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent choice in floorstanders
Pros: Looks great next to my TV. Highs, mids, and lows are very clear. In fact, the lows from these dual 8" woofers are significantly clearer/tighter than the lows emanated by my sub. I've only got these speakers single-amped and they sound amazing. I can only imagine the improvement if I were to bi-amp them. The wood-grain vinyl finish is very nicely done and appears to be real wood.
Cons: I would've liked the grilles to fully cover the speaker face instead of leaving it open on the top and the bottom (see product photos) and allowing dust to easily get in this way, but that's a very minor issue.
Other Thoughts: Prepare to be blown away!
Reviewed By:Steven B.,7/8/2016 5:03:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Polk Audio > Polk Audio Monitor60 Series II Floorstanding Loudspeaker (Black) Single

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing - more than can be used in an apartment
Pros: I chose these to match the cs1 center and obviously they match
The bass is more than necessary for my apartment- I set the crossover higher and do not use my sub (For a REAL system these are not a sub replacement, but in an aprtment they are darn close!)
They look great
The $99 free shipping each was unbeatable-I'd gladly pay $150 each for replacements, if ever needed
Newegg's price match and fast shipping made this a no-brainer!
Cons: for the price range and the speakers I have owned- I have no cons for these. They easily met or exceeded all expectations.
Other Thoughts: Consider the cost of bookshelves and speaker stands vs buying just these. In hindsight, while I love my studio40 rear bookshelves, another pair would have cost the same when including cheap speaker stands.
Reviewed By:Patrick C.,7/7/2016 7:12:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Kanto > Kanto YU3 Powered Bookshelf Speakers with Bluetooth Technology (Matte White)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sound amazing!
Pros: Buying from Newegg.com is A+++. Easy to buy, easy to download the app, and easy to track.

Speakers:

Pros: love the matte white, sound is amazing, no need for a sub. These are loud if you want and soft if you don't. When hooked up to AT LP120 sounds great!
Cons: Con: the small light on the front is bright. I wish it came with better speaker wire.
Reviewed By:AShields,7/5/2016 3:43:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.