Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mobile Video > BOSS AUDIO SYSTEMS > BOSS AUDIO HIR7UBL 7" Headrest with USB & SD Card Port ,Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Deal
Pros: Easy to install in cars that will accept it. It didn't work in my car, as the headrests could not be removed, but it did end up fitting in my wife's car, which worked out, as this is the car our daughter was more upset in anyway. Works great out of the box, easy install. Compatible with a reasonable number of image/video formats. DIVX (that is, MPEG4, part2, with mp3 audio) works well as the encoding format. You can use the following to encode this in linux (ubuntu):

mencoder baby_techno.mp4 -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg4:vbitrate=1000:mbd=2:v4mv:autoaspect -vf pp=lb -oac mp3lame -lameopts fast:preset=standard -o baby_techno.avi
Cons: It doesn't seem to have speakers inside it. So, one needs to use headphones or an external speaker. For babies, which can't use headphones, one can use an external speaker. What we do is to run an _extra_ cable from the unit's headphone jack to the car's audio "aux" input plug. This way it plays through the car's system. That's not really the best way to do it... It would be nice if there were more audio-out options than just the headphone jack. Internal speakers would be nice, at a minimum. Maybe when our kid is older, the headphone jack will make more sense.
Other Thoughts: Overall, for the price, I think it's a really good unit.
Reviewed By:avose,11/22/2014 10:59:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Video > BOSS AUDIO SYSTEMS > Boss BV11.2MC Car DVD Player - 11.2" LCD

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 complicated install
Pros: Works great once installed.
Cons: The installation is very complicated. Some of the wiring is very cheap. Recommend professional install on any roof mount dvd player.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/29/2014 5:51:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Video > PYLE AUDIO > Pyle - 6.95'' Double-DIN Touchscreen Video DVD/MP4/MP3/CD Player With Hands-Free Bluetooth, GPS w/USA/Canada/Mexico Maps, USB/SD, Aux-In

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Value DVD Navi Reciever
Pros: Value

80 watts x 4 channels

RCA output X 2, RCA input x 1

Backup Camera output

Multiple file support JPEG,MP4,MP3,WMA Playback

Micro SD Card x 2 (one dedicated gps, card included)

Mini USB port Mini Type B

IPOD access cable included

Separate Sub-woofer output

Navigation system Multiple Options Voice turn by turn multiple language options

Radio 18 FM presets, 12 AM presets

useful system settings

Multiple Audio Setting Bass Boost (Labeled: Loud)

Bluetooth
Cons: owners manual lacking system options and operations

Phone tech support lacking

Touch Screen lacking sensitivity

IR remote sub par

Mini USB Type B Slow

Some SD card playback issues (video choppy)

Screen Difficult to see in bright sunlight

system settings not explained well

wiring guide not very clear (sticker on unit)
Other Thoughts: I got this for my Dad for Fathers Day 2024 and installed it while it was not that difficult to install. l but a wiring harness to plug into the factory harness is a MUST! Some applications will require a installation kit, although the 2004 Honda CR-V I installed it in did not require an install kit it fit perfectly, (Honda CR-V 1997-2006 perfect fit) One thing to help with wiring wires: KEY1&KEY2 are for steering wheel audio controls, BROWN (coffee): Backup wire needs 2 B connected to Positive backup wire (to activate backup cam function with camera installed) PINK parking wire: ground to the stereo housing this is to be attached to the parking brake to allow video to play when brake activated to bypass this so video can play while vehicle moving ground to stereo housing. The wiring guide was lacking this information and I was told about the parking wire when I called PYLE. Remember playing video while driving can get you fined for distracted driving. To wrap it up all in all for the price the unit does a good job. I have more pro's and con's but this gives you a general idea about the system. If you are reading this you most likely were interested due to price, and as I have said it is a good value for the price. Pyle has been around since the 1960's and make quality affordable electronics. If you decide the Pyle View PLDNV 695 enjoy...
Reviewed By:xj1100,6/22/2014 9:16:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Video > Power Acoustik > New Power Acoustik Phdm103 10.3" Headrest Monitor 1050P Dig Media 3 Color Skins

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Power Acoustic PHDM-103 10.3" Headrest Monitor
Pros: This is a nice headrest monitor that works great with our family of 3 kids, and for the price seems to have a great combination of features that most families would enjoy.

-Plays MP4/MOV/VOB videos from a single USB slot (we have 32GB SanDisk SDCZ33)
-FM audio on any frequency you want (to send to your car's headunit)
-Supports infrared wireless headphones (so you don't have to mess with physical cords for your little ones)
-Supports 3 main modes: Photos/Music/Videos Within each of the modes you can browse through the USB drive's file system and find the file(s) you want to play.
-Remote control feels solid and works pretty well.
-Supports video feed to another monitor within the car (or another PHDM-103)
-Has RCA audio out (stereo) that you can use to "hard wire" to your car's aux audio input
-Runs on 12V DC power, only needs 2Amp per unit.
-Continuous video play (keeps going through all of the videos in a folder automatically)
Cons: -Filesystem wants to order files by Date Modified, not by name of the file. So this is a bit strange at first, but I think you get used to it. Didn't see any way to change this in any menu.
-In very cold winter weather (0F-10F) sometimes the unit we have doesn't want to power on. Once the car is warm, the issue goes away and it powers up with no problem.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a great little unit, we are buying a 2nd one of these for the other driver-side headrest. Haven't tried the MiniHDMI + USB port from a mobile device, but apparently you can hook this up to your smartphone(with a $50 adapter) and play video/games/audio from your phone on the screen.
Reviewed By:tubbytreats,3/9/2014 4:57:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Video > Planet Audio > Planet Audio PNV9680 DVD/MP3/USB 6.2" LCD Car Receiver with Bluetooth/Navigation

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Does what i need it to do for the most part
Pros: Affordable. Nice display. Great sound!
Cons: Display buttons do not stay lit. Bad radio reception.
Other Thoughts: Navigation is great and easy to operate. All other functions operate well. Radio frequencies arent clear. Not sure if there is a setting to fix this but I've tried just about everything. The 3 buttons on the left of the display do not stay lit @ night so you have to kind of find the right button to press.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/27/2014 1:40:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Video > PYLE AUDIO > Pyle PLHR77 7" Active Matrix TFT LCD Car Display

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as intended
Pros: I'm using it as a mobile display for a Raspberry Pi. With a few caveats (see other thoughts) I have to say it works pretty well for that application even though it's not exactly what it was intended for.
Cons: None really, it does what it claims to do.
Other Thoughts: For anyone else hoping to use this with a Raspberry Pi, you need to use the overscan options in the /boot/config.txt to ensure all edges of the display are visible. Also, because of the small size of this display, the resolution is not great and some text can be difficult or even impossible to read using the default font settings, so you'll want to enlarge them.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/23/2013 3:12:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Video > PYLE AUDIO > Pyle - Mobile SD/USB/MP3 Compatible Player w/ Built-In FM Transmitter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The most bang for your buck.
Pros: Looks pretty good.

The remote is really handy.

Sounds great if you set it to channel 87.7 (there is no static).

Had this thing for over a year and it's still going strong :)
Cons: The plastic feels cheap.

The buttons on the actually device are pretty hard to press (which is why I stick with the remote).

If you use a SD card or flash drive, the Random/Shuffle feature does shuffle the music but it shuffles them the same way every time which is pretty annoying (so every time I hit shuffle I know which Biggie song is gonna be next).

Aux cable snapped after a few months.
Other Thoughts: One of the biggest reasons I bought this one is because it connects directly to the car, I hate the look of those little battery powered ones that just hang around.

Anyway, don't let the cons detour you I'm pretty happy with my purchase and for the low price a few small issues don't bother me.
Reviewed By:Nick,6/13/2013 11:49:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Video > PYLE AUDIO > PYLE Plug In Car FM Modulator / Transmitter Model PLMP3C31B

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Acceptable
Pros: I had a device similar to this; its only function was to broadcast audio input to FM. It had a frustrating radio static sound and wasn't very loud. This new one is much better sound quality. It works very well and has no background static.

As far as the Bluetooth car kit function, it works fairly well. The call quality is good.

The setup is pretty easy and barely requires any thought.
Cons: I expected several things from this device, and unfortunately it was lacking.

First, I assumed (probably not a smart move but I assumed anyway) that the audio jack on the device would be 3.5mm since virtually every mp3 player and smartphone anymore uses 3.5mm output. This device has a 2.5mm port, so I had to buy a separate adapter for 3.5mm to 2.5mm. Which was only a problem because...

The Bluetooth connection only functions for phone calls, and not for music. I was hoping I would be able to get in my car and press play on my smartphone and the device would transmit the audio through my radio. This is not the case. It was disappointing since this was the main reason I bought this. The description didn't say it would play audio via Bluetooth, but it didn't say that the Bluetooth only functioned with phone calls either.

When I place phone calls, the microphone volume is fairly low. I have to practically shout in order to be heard by the recipient.

The remote control is all but useless. If you need to change the frequency fairly fast then it's pretty good, but it doesn't appear to work the phone call functions well (Answer, Hang Up, dial numbers).

The small LCD screen is incredibly bright when you're driving at night. If you're driving in a city with a great deal of outside lighting then it's probably not a problem, but if you're driving out where it's mainly dark then this is practically like having small flashlight plugged into your power port, though the screen does hinge and you can probably rotate the screen down or away from the driver seat.
Other Thoughts: I like this because it's better than what I had, but I don't like it because it didn't serve the purposes for which I bought it. It plays better quality audio than my previous transmitter, and that's the only reason I didn't return it. Probably not a good value for the money.

I have not tested its capability or use with USB input or memory card input.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/6/2013 11:38:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Video > PYLE AUDIO > PYLE In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 7" Motorized Touch Screen Model PLTS77DU

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Well, it worked for a while
Pros: Does exactly as advertised. Well labeled wires for easy install. Lots of video inputs and outputs. With the proper adapters, it could be an aux display for a carPC.
Cons: Not suitable for computer display. Only has RCA video inputs. No touchscreen outputs. Did not survive a fender bender. Ribbon cable socket on screen broke. Voided warantee to discover this.
Other Thoughts: Excellent basis for an entertainment system in your car. Plays DVDs and audiobooks without issue. Can drive two additional displays (Headrest?) Backup camera worked perfectly once I worked out how to connect it (12v from backup lights powers camera and triggers screen)
Reviewed By:Tony Evil,4/3/2013 6:45:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Video > BOSS AUDIO SYSTEMS > BOSS AUDIO 2-Din DVD Receiver w/ 7" Touchscreen & Bluetooth Model BV9560B

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Its alright and does the job
Pros: It has all the features I wanted at a good price and does everything it says it can do.
Cons: It sticks out of the face of my dash much farther than I would like but I'm not sure if all aftermarket double dins are like that or just this one. The phone on the bluetooth works but if your wanting to stream audio from your phone to the unit do not buy it. The bluetooth sound quality just is not there. Good enough for a phone but there is a slight static sound when playing music. It might not be noticed by everyone but it was enough to make me not use it.
Other Thoughts: If you want a cheap aftermarket player it works great as long as you don't stream music using the bluetooth. For the price and what I need to do with it I am satisfied though.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/24/2013 1:53:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.