Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Canon USA > Canon EOS 7D 3814B004 Black 18.0 MP Digital SLR Camera - Body Only

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not waste your money
Pros: Have not found any, since I could not use it without an error showing up
Cons: I bought 7D from Newegg and can never use it without Error 20 showing up. When I received it, it stopping working with Error 20 which cannot be fixed by ourselves. I did not have time shipping it to their repair center and waiting for a quote for fixing this problem coming with this brand new machine. The only thing I could do is to buy another cheaper camera body from a local store, from which I can return a defective item easily.
Reviewed By:Celine,4/28/2015 7:50:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Nikon Inc > Nikon D5300 1522 Black 24.2 MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm Lens

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 D5300
Pros: The camera has worked flawlessly. The pictures have been much better than I thought I was able to take. The sharpness of images and the ability to work with the depth of field is a joy to work with. Low light images remain sharp and clear. I love it.
Cons: I had to work hard to earn the money I needed to purchase it. It was worth the effort.
Other Thoughts: If you are ready to move up from the masses of point and shoot folks and become more creative with your own style, I highly recommend this camera. I am a very pleased owner.
Reviewed By:Kurt,4/26/2015 6:32:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Nikon Inc > Nikon D5500 1547 Red 24.2 MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm VR II Lens

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 D5500
Pros: I was looking for a camera body to invest in as an initial foray into photography. I had used point and shoots before but was never satisfied with the noise they often had.

The Nikon D5500 was as pricey as I was looking to go for something to learn on and I have to say that I'm not disappointed I bought it.

The images that it produces are crisp and visually match what I'm viewing with my naked eyes. It also cycles quickly which means I can shoot a quick succession of shots without having to worry about the buffer being filled mid series (though I'm sure the class 10 card I'm using helps).

It's a fairly light body, somewhere around 1lb and has good ergonomics for my hands. It never feels like it's going to slip and my fingers aren't cramped.

The TTL metering is done well, with it being spot on in most shots. There are situations where it can be wrong for what you're trying to do with a certain subject but I've read that is a common occurrence with custom style shots.
Cons: I haven't found any real cons just yet, I've only logged 20 hours on it in the month or so I've had it.

My only real dislike thus far is the button placement. On this body the function button is on the left side near the flash button. This might not be an issue depending on taste but I have it set to allow for ISO control via the control wheel and would have prefered it be placed around the aperture, shutter release and command wheel cluster.

It isn't a massive problem, just a slight inconvenience with how I hold the camera when shooting.
Other Thoughts: When I first got the camera and put the battery on for its initial charge I didn't get much life out of it the first time. I was worried I had a bad battery out of the box but after the second charge it is lasting significantly longer. The first charge lasted around 175 shots. The second charge has lasted for over 200 and maintained 3 bars shooting in RAW (nef).

The noise reduction option helps a lot when shooting at higher ISO exposures, though that should really be avoided if possible. I'd also recommend shooting in NEF as it allows so much more correction tolerance in post-processing. I had one shot of a bird under a shrub that, mid-day with no flash, that would have been ruined if shot in JPEG. I was able to overexpose it in Ps and then tone down the whites and increase the blacks. It came out better than I had expected it to, almost to the point of looking professionally done.

All told this is a great body to shoot with if you're just starting out. You get a nice set of features without being overwhelmed by them while still having the flexibility to shoot your subjects as you want.
Reviewed By:SpecTRe X,4/22/2015 7:12:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Nikon Inc > Nikon D3300 1533 Red 24.2 MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 nikon D33
Pros: easy to use and set up
Takes very good pictures especially with vibration reduction
Lens is good quality and works well with camera
Cons: somewhat complicated but manual is decent and you should read
Other Thoughts: Would buy again.
Good quality construction. Decent bundle. Battery seems to have longer life than our little canon
Works fine with Ubuntu Mate
Reviewed By:Old Miguel,4/7/2015 11:49:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Nikon Inc > Nikon D5300 1519 Black 24.2 MP Digital SLR Camera - Body

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great value
Pros: -Dynamic Range of the sensor is great for the price (see DXOmark) and better than Canon for Landscapes
-Flip out screen is worth upgrading to this camera for-- allows for better angles, screen preservation when traveling, and use of tripods (don't listen to Ken Rockwell, you need a tripod for some things)
- If you set up the controls right, you can adjust ISO, aperture, and shutter speed just as easily as the D7100, IMO
- This thing is super small and light relative to other DSLRs
- WIFI means your camera connects to your phone-- not to the internet.. Still, this replaces the need for a remote!
Cons: - Wifi app is somewhat wonky and leaves some polish to be desired
- Live view is somewhat sluggish
- All of the "modes" on the dial are a waste of space... Not saying they may not be valuable to you-- but I wish they used that space in a different way.
Reviewed By:Greg,3/30/2015 4:49:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Canon USA > Canon EOS Rebel SL1 8575B003 Black 18.0 MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm IS STM Lens

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Canon Rebel SL1
Pros: Awesome camera. I had used other people's SLR cameras and fell in love with them. I never had the opportunity to grab my own until this company (through Newegg) put the SL1 on sale for $479. I had my heart set on Canon since that's the only brand I've ever owned. I already had a tripod, bag, and cleaning tools. This camera has everything I expected and more. I'm learning new things everyday, and I love all the custom settings - and there are a TON. Even out of the box, your shots will be ten times better than they ever were. Love the presets, and the ability to adjust the settings under them. Great 3" screen that is very crisp and detailed. I still mistakenly use the buttons sometimes to navigate, forgetting it's a touchscreen. Solid neck strap, great lens cover, and the battery charges very quickly. Overall a great purchase, but for the price - I just could not pass it up!
Cons: This isn't really a con, but if you're used to using the camera on your phone or a point-and-shoot, be ready for a steep learning curve because this is a professional camera.
Other Thoughts: I've always used Canon cameras (my brother's or parent's when I was a kid) until I received my first 35mm Canon camera. I have had 2 Canon point-and-shoot cameras, and now the SL1.
Reviewed By:Kevin,3/19/2015 2:26:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Sony > SONY SLT-A58K Black 20.1 MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm Lens

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just Great
Pros: -LOTS of pros
-I caught it at a cheap price, just $398
-Does every thing I need a DSLR camera to do
-Originally got this for a college class but use it almost everyday
-Very high Iso
-20.1 mp looks amazing in full frame
-Full zoom don't take away from the quality
Cons: -No real cons yet, its been holding up to all the stress I've put it through.
Other Thoughts: It does do auto HDR shooting but that can be over looked. The shipping for it was excellent, it came just in time for my class given that I order it late.
Reviewed By:Dre,2/22/2015 7:19:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Canon USA > Canon EOS 7D MARK II 9128B002 Black 20.2 MP Digital SLR Camera - Body

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Completely amazing!
Pros: 65 point AF, all cross type.

you can autofocus with a teleconverter down to f8.

20.2MP is good enough for anyone's needs.

ISO usable up to about 10,000 (depending on your needs. just for family gatherings? 10,000 still looks pretty freaking good, but for paid work id say keep it below 6,400.

autofocus while recording videos.

mic and headphone jack.

live view autofocus is infinitely faster than my first camera (1100d)

easy to use controls.



I could go on forever, but these are the points that quickly come to mind. completely blown away by this camera.
Cons: no video autofocus while at 1080 60fps
Other Thoughts: have it coupled with the bg-e16 battery grip and it is quite heavy. about 3 pounds. not a huge deal at all but just something to think about if youre used to cheap, mostly plastic cameras.
Reviewed By:Adam,2/12/2015 9:22:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Canon USA > Canon EOS 70D (8469B016) Black 20.2 MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-135mm STM f/3.5-5.6 Lens

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not completely terrible, until it died (<1 yr. after purchase)
Pros: I like the wide range of zoom on the lens. It shoots video. It has the standard features of a DSLR in this price range. Overall, it is a functional camera. They claim the autofocus is great, but I can't substantiate that.
Cons: Died stone cold dead after <1 year, during a shoot. Also, not great for video shooting - no headphone output, no AC power supply, only records 30 mins before stopping without notifying you, the WiFi function isn't available in video mode, etc.
Other Thoughts: I am a professional videographer and this was going to be my main production camera. That was a bad idea. It's a photo camera that is capable of recording video with significant limitations, but which is being market for video shooting. The biggest problem, aside from how it died, was a tie between not being able to record audio on the camera (since I can't monitor the audio in any way, even via HDMI apparently), and not being able to record more than 30 mins. That means as the videographer, you have to stop the whole set - interviewer, interviewee who's just broken into tears about how their mother was bla bla bla, and say "Hold on a second - I have to start the camera rolling again. Can you back it up a few seconds and start again?" Overall, working with this camera has generally turned me off of shooting video on DSLRs.
Reviewed By:Ty,2/4/2015 2:38:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DSLR Cameras > Nikon Inc > Nikon D800 (25480) Black 36.3 MP Digital SLR Camera - Body Only

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Still like Nikon
Pros: High pixel count, great video quality, good battery life even with external gps, works well with inexpensive battery grip if using the live view more. can zoom live view to focus video, face detection focus mode works well for video. Love the controls, that are similar to d300 for me, which I was looking to upgrade. Ton's of features. very rugged. I like that it can take my older "d" lenses that lack motors. the Eye-Fi pro card works well with it and is cheap enough. custom menu!
Cons: Very heavy. especially to carry all day, specially with grip. Size can be intimidating to your subjects but they get used to it. Very difficult to focus hand-held, sharp/without blur compared to D300 due to higher pixels and heaviness of camera and it's more apparent when reviewing later than on camera. I think I would have liked to have the D810 60fps 1080p mode.
Other Thoughts: Could be too much camera for me, but didn't have much choice at time. I do think I like the old-school controls, compared to the newer d750 or 7000. Lots of people seem to be jumping ship to mirrorless makers, for weight and size, but I like the proven Nikon dslr lenses despite having to change them (I seem to favor primes). I bought some cheaper 128gb 1066 komputerbay flash that works great with it, even though its not on the compatiblity list. Transfer software works better with camera (not as fast though), than with usb 3.0 sd card reader on certain laptop/cpus' ... be sure to verify your NEF's opening full view before deleting from card, you may never see error with readers/laptop speed/bitlocker, etc... with all the menus and options, the custom menu is your friend!
Reviewed By:joe_b,2/2/2015 12:37:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.