Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > MIDI > Alesis > Alesis QX25 USB/MIDI 25-Key Controller w/ Faders - New

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Functional
Pros: Plenty of keys for high and low note variation without needing to change octave
All of the main control buttons work; Piano Keys, Octaves, Pitch shift, commands, Roll Fader and "other" roller.
Digital Display relays info back without fault at all times.
Cons: The fader knobs and 'what you would think are' sample pads are basic and seemingly unusable.
The sample pads themselves only operate four different keys that the keyboard already manages so they i personally only use them for when im in a different octave and need to reference what the instrument originally sounds like, rather than using it to drop samples during production recording, like i had expected i could do with them.
You have to strike the keys fairly hard for them to register as full velocity. Otherwise will easily hit 70 or below with a typical press causeing the note to record fairly quietly and inconsistently leveled. Mainly i pound the key for each note hoping i just hit 100 BECAUSE:
There is no way to turn off the "Velocity-sensitive" feature. That being said, i can only put up with instruments that force the note to register at 100 velocity at all times no matter what so that i dont have to mash the keys for a clear and consistant note.
It only seems to work with Ableton as far as i have found. I bought this keyboard in hope to use it with various DAW's and it turns out that it doesnt work with my main go to of "Magix Music Maker" (dont judge. does all i need and more) so whenever i use this keyboard, it can only practically function as a background synth coordinater since i have to record and export my play out and then import it into Magix and disregard the fact that i have a keyboard altogether from here. This is pretty frustrating since i dont care much for the orientation of how ableton works vs what i know and like and can fluently use already.
The manual doesnt explain how to program all of the keys. The faders in particular aren't explained, and all ableton can say is to install the drivers.
Other Thoughts: Its a great toy for beginners for sure, such as i am to the keyboard market, but i would have appreciated it more if i could disable some features or have had wider applicable use for this rather than in just ableton.
I haven't tried the Midi capability just yet or using it with mixers or the like so i can't say how that goes but im sure its not much better than average.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/17/2015 2:25:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MIDI > Alesis > Alesis Q61 USB/MIDI Keyboard Controller - New

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Impressive
Pros: -Light weight
-Sturdy
-Keys, slider, and dials feel good
-Easy to hook up, just a usb
-Comes with Ableton Live 8 Lite and Ignite
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I am hard to impress but Alesis did a great job on this keyboard. The whole thing feels high quality and I don't think I will have any problems with it.
Reviewed By:Andrew,1/2/2015 9:46:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MIDI > Alesis > Alesis QX25 USB/MIDI 25-Key Controller w/ Faders - New

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 bad keys
Pros: decent mini keyboard
Cons: some of the keys are completely off and poorly distanced from one another. and some are terrible at sensing velocity. I knew I should have went with an akai.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/22/2014 2:14:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MIDI > Korg > Korg padKONTROL USB Drum Pad Studio Controller, Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible DOA
Pros: worked once or twice with my saw, decent pad
Cons: stopped working PFF both USB and aux power. terrible quality korg pad. barely got a chance to use it, with how busy I am.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/22/2014 2:11:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MIDI > Alesis > Alesis Q61 USB/MIDI Keyboard Controller - New

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Just the basics, but still a decent keyboard controller.
Pros: Overall construction is fairly solid, or at least as solid as plastic can be in a keyboard meant for people on a budget (it's very lightweight). The keys have a good feel (having 61 of them helps). Installation was completely painless. I use the USB cable to connect it to the machines where I do my recording (both a Mac mini and a Windows 8 laptop), and in using it with almost a DOZEN different digital audio workstations -- ranging from GarageBand to Logic to Cakewalk SONAR -- it has *never* failed to work properly. It also doesn't require a separate power cable if you connect it via USB.
Cons: More expensive keyboards might be sturdier, but at this price point, does it matter?
Other Thoughts: I've owned this Alesis Q61 keyboard controller for almost a year, and it has served my needs very well. To give you an idea, what it replaced was actually a full-blown Alesis QS7 *synthesizer* -- yes, that's right, a full-blown synthesizer with its own sounds that set me back a pretty penny when I originally bought it years ago. But now that I'm using soft synths pretty much exclusively, all I need is something to simply tell the PC what to do. And this does it. Mind you, what this keyboard has going for it is that it's meant to cover the basics at a very attractive price. So, if you need a keyboard controller with a larger plethora of buttons to fiddle with, you might want to look elsewhere. But for me, the most important things that I care about are there, such as pitch/modulation, a simple means of data entry, and a few other essential functions like that. Everything else I don't mind doing through my recording software's interface. In short, I'm happy to be an owner of the Alesis Q61, and I look forward to continue using it in my future musical endeavors.
Reviewed By:msdos622wasfun,8/13/2014 7:09:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MIDI > Alesis > Alesis QX61 USB/MIDI 61-Key Controller w/ Faders - New

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Service!!!
Pros: Ordered this keyboard for its Midi features. Everything looks, feels, and works GREAT!!! Very happy with it and the Great service I received from Rook Audio.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:The Kaysee!!!,4/6/2013 7:57:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MIDI > M-AUDIO > M-Audio Keystation 88es 88-Key Semi-Weighted USB MIDI Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for the minimalist build and price
Pros: Cheap 88 keys.
"Bare bones" design, therefore saves space (width is about as small as it gets.) If you're looking for a midi controller for your software/DAW, and just that, then it probably won't get better than this unless you want hammer action. That will bump the price around 400-500 more dollars.
Cons: Rough plastic key corners (could be painful to fingers when brushed upon, might wanna sand the corners down at your own discretion). If you're a true pianist, could take some getting used to the "semi-weighted" keys.
Other Thoughts: Own a real Yamaha upright piano, played it for 20+ years with classical training.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/20/2012 1:47:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MIDI > M-AUDIO > M-Audio Keystation 88es 88-Key Semi-Weighted USB MIDI Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice midi controller
Pros: 88 keys. Key play & feel better than expected. Easy setup including software (using Ableton).
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Got the pedal too (SP-2) and both work great.
Reviewed By:brodee,2/17/2011 12:29:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MIDI > Korg > Korg padKONTROL USB Drum Pad Studio Controller, Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A steal ! Newegg shippment was to fast I was very surprised,thanks for the hard work.
Pros: well built,japan technology,it was easy to set up with Ableton live,velocity sensor works great,has a pad sensor to modulate the sound you produce when you press, go vertical will change volume,horisontal will change speed...other features didnt use yet..
Cons: nothing so far..
Reviewed By:Metaphesis,1/5/2011 7:50:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MIDI > M-AUDIO > M-Audio Keystation 88es 88-Key Semi-Weighted USB MIDI Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great MIDI controller
Pros: 88 keys. Feels better than other keyboards (not controllers) around the same price range.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Owned it for 6 months or so, and I love it. It works great with Garage band, and I have the mac hooked up to a bass amp. If your looking for a big controller where you can actually play serious music, this is the one to buy.
Reviewed By:Other guy,8/5/2010 8:19:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.