Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl B-PE85-47 Security Surveillance System, 8 Ch. 960H DVR + 4 x 700TVL Night Vision Outdoor Camera, w/ 500GB HDD

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Night Owl 8 CH DVR Model PE DVR8-5GB w/500GB HD
Pros: I needed to upgrade from 4 ch to 8 ch DVR for my home security camera system. Since the price was very competitive, I decided to purchase.
Cons: The provided 500 GB hard drive is a small 2.5" Samsung Seagate Momentus drive with only a 5400 RPM spindle speed. This drive is very slow.
So I upgraded the internal hard drive with a 1TB WD Purple 3.5" hard drive designed for home Security DVR systems. The installation was a little rough, because both SATA and power cables are too short for upgrading to a larger 3.5" hard drive. I had to replace the SATA cable with a longer cable, and the power cable barely fit. The yellow wire on the power cable is slightly stretched. I have ordered an extension SATA power cable to relieve the tension.
Other Thoughts: I'm using Night Owl's free DNS service and Night Owl Pro mobile app, and sometime I can ONLY see 4 of the 8 channels on my DVR. This is very strange, and I'm working with Night Owl's Tech Support to resolve.
Reviewed By:coolmellowdude,1/28/2015 7:24:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Aposonic > Aposonic A-BR21B4-CS 4 Ch H.264 960H Real Time DVR with 4x 1000 TVL Day & Night Camera, Mobile Viewing, Mac OSX Fully Supported

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent System
Pros: Excellent camera resolution (1000TVL), Super clean GUI, Easy to setup, DVR box as well as cameras are well made.
Cons: None So Far!
Other Thoughts: I have bought 3 other systems from different MNF. and all of them were low quality. Also the advertised TVL was always lower then what they have stated. I almost gave up on generic brand DVR security video systems until I have purchased this one. Its quality made, resolution is excellent day and night. I really love the GUI its simple and looks clean. I'm able to view cameras on my mobile phone with no issues. If you are looking for something under $200 with 4 cameras this is it. KEEP IN MIND you need to add SATA II 3.0gbs 500GB+ Hard Drive (Super Easy To Install With Provided Instructions)
Reviewed By:PiO,1/24/2015 2:46:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KDV0404B6S Complete 4 Channel Security DVR System Easy DIY Four 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Aweful
Pros: Nice box?
Cons: First, it does not come with the basics. IE; HDMI cord, Video cord, HDD. Things that you would expect to be included in the purchase. The unit I got was unresponsive. It didn't work, so thinking they might have half decent customer service at Laview. Oh how I was wrong. It took two days to get a person. Calling whenever there was a chance, we only got an answering machine. They told us to get this, buy that. When in the end it didn't work. All we wanted was a new DVR. We got the info to send it back to the company, got it all packed then they told us we couldn't ship it to the US company it had to be the Canadian one, so we called again. Another 2-3 days of waiting for a human being. All in all, pretty big waste of time and money for this.
Other Thoughts: Work on your customer support and maybe include the basics.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 11:01:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Aposonic > Aposonic A-BR1B4-C250 4 Ch 960H Full D1 DVR + 4x 700TVL Bullet Cameras + 500GB pre-installed HDD with Mobile Access Surveillance Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 More Secure Now
Pros: Great price
Solid Software
DIY
Cons: Replaced stock Toshiba drive http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822149380&cm_re=toshiba_DT01ACA050-_-22-149-380-_-Product
with a WD 2Tb Purple http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822236661
with no issues.
Stock drive was not defective, but reviews suggest it might not be the best for the job. Any job, really.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 3:45:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: The cameras seem to have a pretty good picture quality. The kit is inexpensive.
Cons: Where to begin. The video out to a monitor is fuzzy. Ghosted a little I guess. I really just wanted this kit for the cameras, as I have a setup I wanted to add them to, and not even use the NVR. No dice, since these cameras are nonstandard, which has me wondering how they're ONVIF compliant. So you can't just plug them into a standard POE switch and go. No problem, I'll just use the included NVR as a switch. No dice there either. The cameras drop off from the network interface at random, and all the firmware in the NVR will let me have over the network is 640x480. There's an option for this in the firmware that's grayed out.

Ok, on to playing with it as the standalone setup it's meant to be. I installed a hard drive, and when the NVR boots up it says it needs to be formatted. I click ok to format, and it never formats. So now I can't really use it even as it is intended.
Other Thoughts: I'm a couple of days outside my 30 day window to return it for a refund, otherwise that's what I would do. I'll contact Zmodo for support and see if they can resolve some of the issues, or maybe give me a firmware that actually makes this thing work.
Reviewed By:JB,1/21/2015 8:36:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD514FD7S 4 Channel H.264 Level CUBE Plus Advanced Face Detection 4 Channel DVR + 4 x 700TVL Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 UPDATE
Pros: They still work very wonderful ,, they do have IR range more than what they say , I'm getting close to 100' with very little light ,, I live in the country side with little or no light at all in some areas & they still light my house up good enough for me to see what's going on or make out what my house looks like ,,,,,,,, I will buy more if they ever go on sale again
Cons: The only CON that I've came across is that you don't want to put these outside with part of the sky showing in the lens view , the reason why is that the IR's will flicker on & off when it's just starting to become dawn , I do have one mounted on my back porch pointed somewhat in a down angle & it's not effected but I have three that are partially facing the sky & that's when the IR's will flicker but other than that they work wonderful ,, just make sure that you have them in a somewhat downward angle without the sky partially in the view of the lens
Other Thoughts: The cables that I have these on are LTS 125' because they are a thicker wire & stronger too , I will also be buying more of these too
Reviewed By:TWISTED,1/20/2015 4:46:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD5184B Cube Series 8 CH Security DVR Cloud System w/ Easy DIY Four 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 definition of low quality you get what you pay for
Pros: cheap. thats also its pitfall
Cons: ive had this just less than 2 weeks. its already fried 2 brand new HDDs. on WD blue and a WD Red.
Other Thoughts: the UI isnt very friendly. certain things are much harder to find than they should be. cameras are of utmost basic quality. its fried 2 hard drives. one of which was built for and intended to be used in DVRs. spend the extra money and get a quality item. you get what you pay for in the electronics industry
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer,

I am sorry for the frustration you might have experienced.
From our experience, it is extremely unusual that dvr would damage any hard drive.

Our customer support is there to resolve NOT only setup issues BUT ALSO situation that you are experiencing.
Your system comes with one year warranty and it is our commitment to you.

I would encourage you to reach out to our tech support by visiting http://laviewusa.com/contact/

Thanks for your business”
LaView

Reviewed By:N/A,1/19/2015 10:56:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD3484B Complete 8 CH HDMI Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY Four 520TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD) - Retail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 And yet again
Pros: Camera works
Cons: Night vision is nearly non existent, and there is zero in the so-called manual about infrared. Can't see a thing unless you're like 5 to 10 feet in front of it, and then not enough to recognize anyone. This unit isn't worth 10 bucks if they are advertising infrared and it does nothing, I'm convinced between this and the mouse that doesn't work at all (and it doesn't work plugged into anything else either but my own computer mouse does work on the unit if I plug it in...mouse is just junk). 50 ft "infrared", maybe they really mean like 5 inches!
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer,

I am sorry for the frustration you might have experienced.

Our customer support is there to resolve NOT only setup issues BUT ALSO situation that you are experiencing.
Your system comes with one year warranty and it is our commitment to you.

I would encourage you to reach out to our tech support by visiting http://laviewusa.com/contact/

Thanks for your business”
LaView

Reviewed By:N/A,1/17/2015 8:02:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD3484B Complete 8 CH HDMI Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY Four 520TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD) - Retail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Are you serious?
Pros: Cameras
Cons: I tried to open a support ticket on their site, they have this stupid validation thing where you give the answer to like 1=1 or 1 plus two, etc. It keeps telling me my answer is wrong!!
Other Thoughts: After this experience with their website this is going back for a full refund.
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer,

I am sorry for the frustration you might have experienced.

Our customer support have successfully helped many customer resolved all kinds of issues they have.
Your system also comes with one year warranty and it is our commitment to you.

Other than our ticketing system, which is a channel for customer during non business hours, you can also reach out to us through our support hotline that can be found on http://laviewusa.com/contact/

Thanks for your business”
LaView

Reviewed By:Matt,1/17/2015 4:26:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD3484B Complete 8 CH HDMI Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY Four 520TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD) - Retail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 The mouse doesn't work
Pros: The 2 cameras I hooked up so far worked.
Cons: The mouse doesn't work at all! None of the ports. I'm going to send it back unless support can tell me what the H*** is going on. Multiple reboots. BAD first experience.
Other Thoughts: The mouse doesn't work. Horrible.
Reviewed By:SM,1/17/2015 4:20:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.