Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KH944FT4A8 Premium 1080p/720p HD DVR 4 Channel TVI Security System w/ 4 HD 720p Night Vision Outdoor Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very good system
Pros: Relatively inexpensive
Straight forward setup
Good picture quality
Cons: Documentation was a bit sparse.
Other Thoughts: I did a lot of research when I decided to get a home camera security system. There are many of brands out there with all sorts of reviews ranging from it's junk to it's the greatest thing since sliced bread.

What convinced me to go with LaView was the fact that they have quite a few setup videos available on YouTube. That made it really easy to setup the basic system and to enable remote viewing. You will need to buy your own HDD, however. I went with a Western Digital Purple 1TB.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 10:50:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good product
Pros: Solid metal housing for the camera, good video quality, easy set up.
Cons: No HDMI port, no audio record.
Other Thoughts: I use several hours to run the cables, and it's very easy to set the remote access through phone. Althoug there is no HDMI port nor audio record, but think about the price, it's still very good product.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2015 6:33:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Update from last review
Pros: Affordable.

Camera quality is alright enough. One of the four cameras seems a bit out of focus as the image is blurrier than the others though, but generally it is okay.
Cons: System was okay at first. Over time I learned that the cables included are not weather proof despite it being an outdoor system. This caused a camera to black out for a few days.

That wasn't too bad, but then the DVR stopped recording to my drive. It was set to over-write old footage and it did so for months without error or issue. I tried a factory reset, no luck, would not record. I though it was a drive issue after this, so tried to re-format the drive and could not. I actually had a new drive handy so I swapped the old bad drive out and put in a new drive, and still the device would not record...

Well, that sucked and had me looking for a new system. I woke up the other day and the DVR was powered off. Strange. I go and cycle the power, it won't turn on. Check the connection, it was plugged in, it just won't turn on.

I take the cover off, inspect the board and sure enough there is a part that looks like it shorted out and it left a burn mark and residue on the board.

The DVR was in an open air environment in a room I keep cold (bedroom) so I can rule out 'overheating' due to placement.

I'm really bummed now. I've had this setup for less than a year and now my DVR is completely dead and I have to spend a lot of money to buy a good one now.
Other Thoughts: You get what you pay for sometimes.

The system is 'okay' when it works. Hopefully if you buy one it will work longer than mine as i'd otherwise have not bothered with replacing it but now I see no choice.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2015 3:57:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KDV2804W1 8 Channel H.264 Level 960H 8CH HD Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY 4 x 1000TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome kit!
Pros: I was skeptical at first but took a chance anyway. And I'm glad i did. I didn't expect such great quality for such an expensive kit. Quality for both day and night are somewhat very good for such an expensive system. The quality of the video for day surveillance is really good. I can see my neighbors across the street somewhat reasonable well. Night surveillance is not as detailed as day, but it's still decent. You can make out faces somewhat reasonable well under 15 ft with night surveillance with just moonlight. Overall, it is great inexpensive starter system. I got it on special for $179.00, and I'm very happy with my purchase!! I
Cons: HD is extra & customer service is nonexistent. Be prepared to be on your own. The manual is not detailed. Very basic!!!
Other Thoughts: I'm using it with TP-link router. I'm able to monitor my system remotely with the Laview plus app. for Android. Since the system supports UPnP, you don't really have to forward ports, but I still forwarded the required ports. It works great. I don't trust P2P due to potential security issues, thus I deactivate it and use port forwarding instead to monitor my system remotely via the internet. Use YouTube to help you configure your system. There lots of videos. There are some other features that I'm having trouble configuring like email. Costumer service is nonexistent. I haven't been able to get a hold of customer service after several phone calls to ask them how to configure the email option. Other than that, it is a great system and has been reliable for over 3 months for me, thus far.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 6:17:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy installation
Pros: Very easy setup, crystal clear images in daytime and at night too, app for phone is great.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Completely happy with my purchase. I wanted something that was easy to install and use and that is what I got. I would highly recommend this system. Saved me a lot of money being able to set this up myself.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/24/2015 11:20:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P86A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 6 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome System(Config Details Listed)
Pros: The cameras put out some really great images. If you take the time to configure each camera(configure during light and dark to get the optimal picture), then this product will really excel for you.
Cons: If you do not have the patience or technical aptitude, this system may frustrate you. For that reason, please feel free to contact me with any configuration questions.
Other Thoughts: The NVR(Recorder) uses the common IP addressing scheme(192.168.1.xxx). The cameras, on the other hand, use a slightly modified addressing scheme(192.168.254.xxx) Each camera has a wealth of config options. I HIGHLY recommend that you take the time to change the setting/configure each camera. After about 5 minutes of holding a laptop while trying to configure the cameras(direct connect via LAN cable from unused port on the NVR, to the LAN port on my laptop), I thought that there has to be a better, easier, more comfortable way to go about this task. I decided that I wanted to dedicate one of my old, unused wireless Linksys routers to this task. I loaded DD-WRT firmware to the old router, changed the configuration to make it act like a bridge, and turned off the DHCP setting. Then I set the router's IP address to an address in the same sub net as the cameras(192.168.254.77) for example. Once that was done, I used an unused laptop to connect to the router via its SSID. This allowed me to comfortably sit anywhere in the house to configure the cameras. Simply launch a web browser and navigate to the IP address of the camera(192.168.254.xxx). If you have any questions, please post a question to the product listing or send me a message.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/23/2015 8:47:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > SHIELDeye > SHIELD Series RSCM-0704B042 - 4-Channel, H.264-Level DVR Surveillance Kit + Four 700TVL Cameras - Night Vision Up to 65 Feet, Remote Viewing Supported (HDD Not Included)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Update on Storage
Pros: Update on Storage capacity.

Running 2 camera's, highest resolution, 10 fps (see below) for about a month used only 100GB. The reason is that the software compresses the video to H.264 before storage.

So any old hard drive will work, I'd recommend a slow (5200) low temp spinner.
Cons: still none
Reviewed By:N/A,6/23/2015 7:31:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KH944FT4A8 Premium 1080p/720p HD DVR 4 Channel TVI Security System w/ 4 HD 720p Night Vision Outdoor Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great upgrades
Pros: I bought it to replace my old analog system. The kit is reliable and nicely built. The DVR is decent so are the 4 cameras that come with the kit. The image quality of the recording is better compared to my previous 960H system. It records at 720p at full frame for all the channels so I can see a lot more details than the old system I have. I tested with the old RG-59 cable and the connection is good. The new cables from kit are thicker and heavier. Remote viewing is straightforward to set up on my iphone using the app. I also set up on my computer to login for recordings without troubles.
Cons: The night vision for the cameras does not work as great as the daytime image. But it is still of good quality. The quick start guide is good but a more detailed document will be helpful.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/18/2015 11:52:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S-1TB 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera w/ 1TB HDD Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hard Drive Failure wasn't a failure
Pros: 3rd review - wish newegg would just let me update reviews instead.
So I bumped down my overall review because I thought I had a hard drive failure. I was away for a few days and couldn't physically be there to check it out. I got great support from Zmodo. The first automatic re-format of the hard commonly fails (according to their phone support), so once I got there I just re-formatted it again, and it was fine! They gave me an RMA if I wanted to send the DVR back for a new one (but I didn't have to)!


I've had it for a few months now and have caught a lot of fishy activity. Most notable a guy peeking over my fence and a USPS person throwing my package.
Otherwise:
*Great picture quality, was able to very easily make out the details of those people. For example, not enough quality to read license plates driving by, but plenty enough to see the rest of the details of the car.
*DDNS still working
*Infrared still working
*Haven't had to reboot the DVR even once
*Made it through the wind and rain of a few thunder storms
Cons: *Wish they provided one or 2 cameras with a different lens. I really really like the wide angle (allows you to see a huge perspective), but it would be nice to have a more "zoomed-in" picture in some locations.
*Still no Firefox and/or Chrome compatibility
* The camera mounts aren't great, as I stated in my 1rst review. One mount I've had to re-tighten because the camera angle shifted.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/15/2015 10:32:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > SHIELDeye > SHIELD Series RSCM-0704B042 - 4-Channel, H.264-Level DVR Surveillance Kit + Four 700TVL Cameras - Night Vision Up to 65 Feet, Remote Viewing Supported (HDD Not Included)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great for live viewing
Pros: Hardware is deceit and the cameras are good enough for what I'm using them for. Backup to usb works great.
Cons: No remote viewing. Network doesn't see this device.
Other Thoughts: I've tried everything possible to get this recognized by my network with no luck. Installed the software on my PC and hooked it directly to the DVR using just 1 camera. Didn't give me access to the camera. Same when I installed the software on my laptop and hooked it direct. Cable shows data flowing between DVR and laptop but cannot view the camera. I give up after trying every configuration.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Keith,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

We are sorry to hear that, please contact our support team to assist you with troubleshoot and/or warranty options.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Monday - Friday 8AM - 5PM PST

Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com


We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:N/A,6/14/2015 1:39:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.