Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Ice Maker > Sunpentown > Sunpentown IM-101 Portable Ice Maker With LCD

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice product!
Pros: Works as advertised!
Cons: Straight out of the box, the LCD panel was detaching from the main unit (this was more of a aesthetics issue than a functional issue so didn't RMA it). Around February/March something happened to the arm mechanism that moves the ice from hopper to hopper and it broke (made of cheap plastic). Contacted the manufacturer & it took over 3 weeks for a reply back. Got fed up with waiting for a reply back, and managed to find a 3 party manufacturer for replacement parts and fixed it on my own, and then sometime after finally got a reply back. Don't expect prompt customer service from the manufacturer's support department. While browsing around - I also found out that many customers reported issues with the LCD version (same model that I purchased) and that the plastic internal components tend to break a lot.
Other Thoughts: Works as advertised. This particular model is no longer made (at least that's what's on the manufacturer's website). Manufacturer's customer service response needs to improve a lot. Simply could not give this more than 3 eggs due to customer service response time (3 weeks to hear anything back at all? really?) and because of obvious design flaws with the LCD panel (cheap vinyl/plastic that's glued to a stainless steel surface which eventually starts coming apart; obviously part of the reason why this model is no longer made).
Reviewed By:BJD,7/19/2014 2:30:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Ice Maker > Koldfront > Koldfront Ultra Compact Portable Ice Maker - White

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 OK ice maker
Pros: Cost
Makes ice quickly when it works
Cons: Jams frequently, first one was DOA, livingdirect returns are slow and cumbersome
Other Thoughts: I've had a standalone ice machine since 2008, and know what to expect. The last machine was a Magic Chef which had a faulty water pump. This machine looks like it won't last even a year. The first one ran for 1 day then never ran again. It also arrived very dirty. It took a long time to get livingdirect to get me a shipping label to return it, but after that I got a new machine which arrived scratched but functional. It will work fine for a couple of days, then will jam and not make ice. If this persists, I'll be doing another return.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/6/2014 6:39:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Ice Maker > EdgeStar > EdgeStar 65 lb. Capacity Full Size Ice Maker - Stainless Steel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Edge Star Daily Ice Maker
Pros: Convenient Size, easy to install, Ice last long enough, Automatic shoot off, Easy to reach Ice, Ice always ready. I use it on my commercial smoothie place and It makes Ice enough for my daily tasks.
Cons: So far non
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product I would need to go over time to go into the cleaning process yet.
Reviewed By:eggnando,4/27/2014 8:00:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Ice Maker > Koldfront > Koldfront Ultra Compact Portable Ice Maker - White

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Worth the Price!
Pros: This little ice maker is worth the low price you will pay. It has been a great little appliance for my family of 5. We use this at least 3-4 days a week for over a year, and it has held up to our demand for ice. It sits nicely on my counter next to my coffee maker. I would recommend to anyone.
Cons: The only con I can think of is it's a little noisy upon start-up.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you give enough space allowance for the fan on the side to circulate properly. If you don't the ice will be smaller than normal.
Reviewed By:Nisha,2/9/2014 8:34:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Ice Maker > MAXI-MATIC > Maxi-Matic MIM-5802 Portable Ice Maker

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad Luck...
Pros: Small
Cons: Shipped as packaged for a store shelf. Not the best idea for something with a compressor. The unit had a lot of fluid all over the inside of the box. It looked as if it was compressor oil. Needless to say -- it didn't work.
Other Thoughts: Looks like I'm going to have to learn the return process.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/25/2013 7:28:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Ice Maker > EdgeStar > EdgeStar Portable Ice Maker - Titanium

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 They're all the same, and not that good
Pros: Fast, efficient, lots of ice output
Cons: Fragile, noisy
Other Thoughts: This is my third ice maker of this genre in 5 years. They all come out of the same factory in China, they all have the same oval control panel on the front, they all have the same oval window on top. The only thing that changes is the brand badge, so you should shop for value on that basis. They work well until they break, but they are built to break. The plastic freezing chamber and the little blade that moves the ice into the collecting bin are not as strong as the motor that drives them on one side, or the ice that piles up on the other. Unless you are using ice as fast as it is made (which is pretty fast), these parts get caught in the middle, and fail. They typically last 1 to 2 years; more if you're lucky, less if you're not.

The refrigeration unit itself is quiet. The noise -- and it is very noisy -- comes from the ice dropping into the shelf below the freezing tray, and then from the ice falling into the collecting bin when it is pushed off that shelf. Since the unit is basically a plastic box, it serves as an echo chamber for this noise. Worse, the noise sounds like a door being broken through, not what you want to hear in the middle of the night. The unit automatically stops making ice when the collecting bin is full, so letting the collecting bin fill up does stop the noise to some extent, but then the ice sits there and degrades. The ice degrades in two ways: First, by melting, which means that even when the bin is full, the unit will eventually need to make more ice. Second, by the cubes freezing together, which makes the ice difficult to use, since it becomes one big chunk. Breaking up the ice in the collecting bin is risky, because it, too, is plastic and looks fragile.

Finally there is the matter of cleaning and drainage. The unit is self-contained -- there is no water inlet. It makes ice from the water you pour into it, and then from water recycled from the ice that melts. If you do not regularly drain the unit and clean it, you risk building up contaminants in the water and potentially even mold or mildew in the unit. There is an outlet that allows you to drain the unit. This is located at the bottom of the unit on one side, so in order to drain the unit you need to elevate it, or place it next to a sink. The drain outlet consists of a tube, a small silicone plug for the tube, and a cap that screws onto the tube and holds the plug in place. If you are not careful when opening this assembly over a sink, when the cap is removed the plug can pop out on its own and end up getting washed down the drain by the stream of water draining from the unit . Once the unit is drained, the accessible areas are not that accessible, making them difficult to clean.
Reviewed By:MikeR,9/18/2013 8:34:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Ice Maker > Magic Chef > MAGIC CHEF MCIM22TS 27-lb portable mini ice maker ,silver

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Finicky, fragile, difficult to clean, noisy
Pros: Makes great ice quickly
Cons: Freezing tray cracked and became useless with prolonged use. Finicky in cycling and determining ice quantity. Difficult to clean with various hard to reach nooks and crannies. Makes a lot of worrisome noise when dumping ice.
Other Thoughts: This ice maker starts producing quality ice within minutes after being turned on. Unfortunately, it continues to make ice long after the receptacle basket is full. This is the source of the eventual breakdown, since the freezing tray also operates as a shovel to dump the newly made ice. The pile of ice that builds up in the basket on one side of the shovel and the motor that drives it from the other side are both stronger than the plastic in the middle, and it eventually fails.

The ice is dumped into the receptacle basket with a lot of loud clattering and crunching noise. At night you will think your house is being broken into (we did) until you get used to it. Or you put it in a room where you can isolate the noise by closing the door (we didn't have that option).
Reviewed By:MikeR,9/2/2013 5:46:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Ice Maker > MAXI-MATIC > Maxi-Matic MIM-5802 Portable Ice Maker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Maxi-matic MIM-5802
Pros: Works very well. No water line needed. Perfect size for my Wife and I. Makes plenty of ice. Nice little portable Ice Maker.
Cons: No Cons found.
Reviewed By:Lary,8/18/2013 2:04:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Ice Maker > Koldfront > Koldfront Ultra Compact Portable Ice Maker - White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Koldfront Ice Maker
Pros: Product did not work! Everything else worked on the ice maker except the part that is supposed to make the ice. I suppose it is the compressor, or condenser, or evaporator that makes the ice.
Cons: If I were you, I would avoid purchasing this product. The case, cover, and the outside look good, but the internal workings, the parts you can not see are no good!
Other Thoughts: I want to get an RMA and my money returned!
Reviewed By:k.c.,8/16/2013 1:36:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Ice Maker > Koldfront > Koldfront Ultra Compact Portable Ice Maker - White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Why did I wait.
Pros: I needed a ice maker, and this one is. GREAT. Forget the fact it isn't installed in your freezer. This machine is better IMO. Simple to operate, and it is self contained. Shuts off automatically when it is full.
Cons: A little noisy when you first turn it on, but I understand why and the Mfr instructions mention it as well. Once it starts making ice, I can fill a bucket in 10 minutes.
Other Thoughts: Glad I bought it. Shipped fast.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/5/2012 9:39:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau