Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > Neato Robotics > Neato XV-21 SD Pet & Allergy Automatic Vacuum Cleaner, Colors May Vary, Manufacturer Refurbished (Scratch And Dent)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Non starter
Pros: Dont know. It never worked for more than a minute
Cons: Did exactly what the sparse instructions asked one to do. IT worked for one minute and then said it was low on battery (after 12 hours of charging), so charged it for another 12 hours. Same story. Stopped working after one minutes.

While it was fine that New Egg was nice enough to send a RMA who is to repay me for a weekend of aggravation.
Other Thoughts: Please TEST a refurbished product before shipping it
Reviewed By:onemilen,4/27/2015 8:47:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > iRobot > iRobot 560 Roomba Vacuum Cleaning Robot

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Beware of Pet Hair, Noise, Maintenance
Pros: Automatic operation, simple to set up and use. There's something to be said for having a machine that does a boring, drudge of a task like vacuuming. The house does stay cleaner.
Cons: Poor design and material choices, high maintenance, noise.
In operation, Roomba is noisy, not only with its cheerful beeps but fan whines, brush noise, etc. Maybe no louder than a traditional vacuum but a traditional vacuum doesn't run for hours at a time. If you are home all day, whether working from home, retired or raising a family, this will eventually get on your nerves.
After living with the Roomba 560 for several years, I finally gave up. The time saved by automatic vacuuming is lost with the amount of time it takes to keep the silly thing clean. In a home with pets, the pet hair destroys the brush mechanism and the smallish air filters clog easily. After every use, I had to swap the filter (I bought a spare so I could wash one while using the other) and spend 15 -20 minutes unwinding pet hair from the brush unit. Even with religious servicing, hairs would find their way into the clockwork gearbox that drives the brushes, wrapping around the turning bits. This, in turn, caused the plastic gears and housing to heat up, melt and necessitate full replacement of the gear/brush unit. The first was replaced under warranty; others carried a high out of pocket cost. A search of the internet found DIY solutions that replaced bushings with sealed bearings to eliminate the problem. IMO, this is a fundamental design flaw that has never been successfully addressed by the manufacturer. Why would they? The replacement parts are a great ongoing revenue stream. In the end, our Roomba went to the closet and ultimately to an electronics recycler.
iRobot was the first to address the issues of logic and operation; their robotics skills are not in question. At the end of the day, though, a robot vacuum must function as a vacuum, not just a robot; in this, Roomba is lacking.
Other Thoughts: I still like the *idea* of a robot vacuum. I may check out Miele, Dyson and even Neato, but I'll pass on iRobot products from here on out.
Reviewed By:Tigerdog,4/26/2015 6:53:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > iRobot > iRobot 560 Roomba Vacuum Cleaning Robot

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Buy
Pros: does what it is supposed to. Picks up dog hair very well. Great Price on sale.
Cons: small dust bin.
Reviewed By:Will,4/26/2015 4:34:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > iRobot > iRobot Roomba 790 Vacuum Cleaning Robot for Pets & Allergies

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It works OK!
Pros: It really does improve environment for allergy sufferers. When the floors and carpets are clean, Vacuuming under the beds is so welcome. I am inspired to do the dishes, dust, empty the trash, and power through the unrelenting torrent of mail and email. The Roomba is inspirational and we will buy a 2nd for our condo in Malaysia when a 790 is again on sale at 26% off,
Cons: Does not handle sequences of rooms very well despite 3 "lighthouse and wall" gadgets. It tends to work its battery to death in the center room of a 3 room sequence. A 620 - 770 might be just as good with or without the external signals.
Other Thoughts: While it will circle chair and table legs, the Roomba likes a clear path. To get best job job move chairs to table top or to a room not on the schedule. It seems to not like the carpet dents made by chair legs. The Roomba appears to grind away on them with a few extra passes.
Reviewed By:Omar,4/19/2015 5:41:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > Neato Robotics > Neato XV-21 SD Pet & Allergy Automatic Vacuum Cleaner, Colors May Vary, Manufacturer Refurbished (Scratch And Dent)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No support without registration
Pros: It works as a robot vacuum
Cons: It is sitting in a corner of my home, but I'm at work and found out about an update that is supposed to increase battery life and such. Neato demands serial numbers, purchase information, and the rest before you can get to their support site. I have no idea what the serial number is. All I want to do is update it and they won't let me unless I jump through a bunch of hoops. This isn't support, it's tracking and marketing.
Reviewed By:tz,4/16/2015 8:50:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > Neato Robotics > Neato XV-12 Automatic Vacuum Cleaner, Colors May Vary - Manufacturer Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Nothing, it is dead!
Cons: item arrived with no user manual, after turning the unit on the lcd shows it is charging even when it is away from the charging station, it shows two errors, bumper error and battery error!
Reviewed By:n,4/9/2015 9:42:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > Neato Robotics > Neato XV-21 SD Pet & Allergy Automatic Vacuum Cleaner, Colors May Vary, Manufacturer Refurbished (Scratch And Dent)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Battery life
Reviewed By:N/A,4/5/2015 7:38:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > iRobot > iRobot Roomba 790 Vacuum Cleaning Robot for Pets & Allergies

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 First Impression 3-1/2 eggs maybe 4
Pros: I like the Roomba - Carpeting and ceramic tile look much better than biweekly clean with an upright vacuum. it is a great gadget for a single person who needs a bit of help keeping an apartment looking and smelling better. The Roomba does seem to have relieved allergies and is an inspiration for a lazy guy to improve his housecleaning.
Cons: To get the most out of the Roomba requires re-positioning of chairs and tables and reorganizing the floor clutter. The Roomba needs at least 4 1 hour runs to get about the same dust and bits as one hour spent with a cheap upright "Eureka Airspeed 1". The upright was 1/10 the cost of the Roomba. A replacement Roomba battery is twice the cost of the upright vacuum!
Other Thoughts: All the extra brushes and beaters delivered with the Roomba 790 are worrisome. Based upon my experience with rechargeable power tools, I cannot imagine the Roomba battery surviving for more than 6 to 12 months. Operational cost of the Roomba may be the real surprise.
Reviewed By:Omar,4/4/2015 10:51:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > Neato Robotics > Neato XV-21 SD Pet & Allergy Automatic Vacuum Cleaner, Colors May Vary, Manufacturer Refurbished (Scratch And Dent)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Initial Impressions: Acceptable Cleaning & Budget Friendly
Pros: While this is the first time I've owned a robot cleaner, it makes weekly chores as simple as a touch of a button. Its surprisingly ability to navigate over any obstacle and (somewhat) methodical approach to cleaning is its top selling points. I believe the newest firmware that is installed on the refurbished machines allow it to clean closer to cabinet edges however there are some down sides to that as explained later. The LCD shows its operation including any problems its running into.
Cons: Based on my first impression, it suffered in these departments:
- has some difficulty climbing over 1-inch thick floor mat
- its ability to clean close to edges is great but in turn, makes many passes over the same object (ie. chair and table legs)
- brush got stuck on first run (granted it picked up a lot of long hair)
- the device is kind of thick with just barely passing under the fridge door
- still rather expensive for a glorified vacuum
- cat is deathly afraid of the loud noise (but runs quieter than a full size vacuum)
Other Thoughts: Cleaning hardwood/laminate/tile floors works wonders but I have yet to try it on carpet. I feel confident it does a thorough enough clean if you run it once a week but its ability to schedule for daily cleaning is a great plus. Just make sure you do your part and move things off the ground so it has a clear path. It's a great cleaning device especially if you have pets that tracks dirt, litter, hair everywhere. My floors definitely feel a lot cleaner. It’s fun to watch it run over things like slippers as it can’t distinguish to go around it.
Reviewed By:KLVN,3/31/2015 11:13:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Robotic Vacuums > iRobot > iRobot Braava 320 Floor Mopping Robot

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Useless
Pros: Cheaper than other models, replaceable cloths, low profile.
Cons: I dislike the Braava 320.

I frequently have to get up to rescue it from idiotic light codes. When I say frequently, I mean typically under 5 minutes. The longest unattended run has been 30 minutes, but typically it stops every 2. When I say idiotic light codes I mean there are three - one is a 2 beep code sensibly meaning it is stuck under something, and the other two are 14 and 15 light codes respectably declaring it is either overheated or confused of it's location. Yup, once every few minutes I have to stare at it for 20 seconds to determine if it blinked 14 times or 15.

This was a birthday present for my wife so I was determined to make it work. I have tried it in different rooms, different locations in the same room, cleaned it, kept the cloth tight or loose, and walked around with it for hours over weeks to try to learn why it fails so much. Most often after wiping the exact same space several times and obviously struggling to map a wall, it gives up. Even this is not as bad as when it occasionally senses invisible objects and jitters back and forth endlessly stuck between these phantoms.

After weeks of trying, I give up. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. A broom is less work. When I can next stand to look at the blessed thing I'll be making a Youtube video recording a fight between it and a bowling ball.
Other Thoughts: Buy a really nice broom.
Reviewed By:Daf,3/24/2015 7:27:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.