Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-NVR2208 (v1.0R) 8-Channel HD NVR

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Extremely dissapointed
Pros: Price, features
Appears to have nice interface at first look
Cons: Large amount of frames dropped on recorded video.
Will not retain 16384kbps setting for data rate from camera in record/video settings; resets to 8192kbps after restart.
Will not do motion recording inexplicably.

I've been struggling with this thing for about 3 weeks. I have two Dahua hfw4300s cameras that I've used individually with it and it drops frames with just a single camera set at 15 fps/1080p. When I run the camera at 30fps the frame drops get worse. The video it displays in "live view" is OK - appears to have little to no frame drops and looks the same as when I stream through VNC on my PC. I have it on a dedicated network with just the POE switch and the camera, just to isolate it, to ensure the network is not the issue. It is supposed to be able to handle 8 cameras at 1080p, 30 fps. It cannot handle one at 15 fps.

Also, getting the motion detection recording to work now appears impossible. I've had it configured to motion detect record 24 x 7, and it was working for a week but it will no longer motion detect record. I've verified the schedule is still there and appears to be in effect. This problem persists across a power down and restart. I could restore to defaults to see if that would resolve it, but that's not acceptable. I don't want to have to restore to defaults on a regular basis just to get it to motion record.

I installed a WD Purple NV Surveillance 4 TB hard drive which I bought especially for use with this box. This drive is supposed to be made especially for NVRs. I cannot imagine it is the cause.

I have what is the latest firmware according to the Trendnet Web site - 3.3.4, which is what it had out of the box.

I didn't even mention the weirdness is has with setting its IP address and trying to get it to use DHCP, since I consider that something I could have worked around.
Other Thoughts: I really wanted this box to work, given the price, features and stated performance compared to similar products. I am within the return window so unless Trendnet puts out a magic firmware update to resolve all these problems in the next couple of days, I am going to return it.
Manufacturer Response:"Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you experienced an issue with the 8-Channel HD NVR, TV-NVR2208. Please email me at adrian@trendnet.com and we will have a support representative assist you. Please include a link to this review.

Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support
"

Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/12/2016 7:46:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP562WI 720P HD Wireless Day/Night Micro SD card, 2 Way Audio IP Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 OK for the price
Pros: Affordable, easy setup, so far reliable
Cons: Resolution could be 1080p, picture quality (especially at night), software is mostly Windows only
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/21/2016 7:18:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > VONNIC > Vonnic VVR8704 4 x BNC Real Time DVR System ( Hard Drive Not Included)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Awful
Pros: Hasn't caught fire...yet.
Cons: Complete junk. Locks up, mobile app doesn't work and is third party. Last Vonnic product I ever buy.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/7/2016 3:48:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Works great if you want your whole wireless network to run under WEP security.
Pros: It worked for a few days.
Cons: All browsers stopped supporting it and disqualified their certificate of security. My D-Link router even blocks it as insecure. Too bad it only runs on Java. Don't know why they still sell them or don't have a firmware update to it to HTML5 player.
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend right now.
Reviewed By:Paul P.,5/28/2016 3:15:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl F6-DVR8 8 x BNC 1 x 4TB (No HDD Included) 8 Channel Video Security System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Night Owl F6-DVR8 8 x BNC 1 - Also DVR is Night Owl HD Not Night Owl Light. :)
Pros: Perfect home camera system replacement dvr, we like our BNC Out to show exactly what the other outputs are showing and this does that.
Cons: When I purchased it, I expected it to have a way to mount my 3.5 Hard drive and was surprised to find no such mounting support. I installed a laptop hard drive into the 4 screw holes on the bottom and booted it up, runs wonderful.
Other Thoughts: I Plan on buying another, just incase my DVR gets hit by Lightning or whatever happened to my original Q-See dvr after only 2 years. Being without a back-up stinks and it is hard to find a GOOD dvr like this for the money, notice it is not Night Owl Light, but HD. Makes a difference on how many cameras you can view at once on mobile app ect..
Reviewed By:Matt F.,5/22/2016 7:21:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 not very easy to use
Pros: You can get live feed and playback some times if you fool around with it for a while
Cons: You can get play back but cant capture video sections
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend this product I have windows 10 it doesn't work with it and costumer service doesn't have the DNR-202L on there recording when you call and email tell you to down load firmware that descent work so I'm stuck with about $230 dollars worth of junk
Reviewed By:Richard W.,5/3/2016 10:45:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl F6-DVR8 8 x BNC 1 x 4TB (No HDD Included) 8 Channel Video Security System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Goos unit for price
Pros: Easy to use. Lots of features. Price.
Cons: Only 8 cameras can be hooked up
Reviewed By:Scott,4/9/2016 1:08:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > VIVOTEK Inc. > Vivotek - ND8322P-2TB-4IB69 - ND8322P-2TB-4IB69-8 Channels-2 HDD Slot . Max 12TB. 1 x eSATA Port

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lies.
Pros: None.
Cons: Wrong product. They send you just the NVR with a 1tb hard drive. This was all after they ensured me over email that it was on fact the 8 channel nvr with 4 outdoor bullet cameras. Would not use this seller again. Will also be contacting newegg to inform them of this sellers operation and ip camera warehouse for a refund.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/30/2016 12:26:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl F6-DVR8 8 x BNC 1 x 4TB (No HDD Included) 8 Channel Video Security System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Night Owl F6-DVR8 8CH (No HDD)
Pros: - No Hard Drive is a plus. Purchase your own drive is a plus, because the HD Warranty will be valid. Many don't know hard drive manufacturers do not apply their Warranties on hard drive inside 3rd party equipment. These hard drives are from typical OEM bulk purchases.
- Supports CCTV cameras up to 960H
- User friendly PC Software and Mobile APP and both can remotely access DVR.
Cons: - Only 1 CH 960H/D1 at 30 FPS live video recording.
- Only 4 CH Maximum 960H/D1 at 25 FPS live video recording.
- If all 8CH used and set to 960H/D1 can ONLY be set to 15 FPS live video recording - very chopped video.
Other Thoughts: - Good for home owner.
- Not recommended for a business that requires quality image surveillance.
Reviewed By:John P.,3/27/2016 5:55:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible
Pros: None
Cons: Had to return first item, would not detect or nt Hard Drive.
Software works 1 time and refuses to live display or schedule correctly or record after first application run.
Viewer application displays invalid site security certificate warning when opening
DLink customer service prompt but no help
Other Thoughts: I would recommend running away from this product and look for anything else
Reviewed By:Randall C.,3/15/2016 8:19:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.