Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Single-Serve Brewers & Pod Machines > Keurig > Keurig® 2.0 K450 Brewing System with a Keurig™ Carafe, 2.0 Starter Kit including one filter, 4 K-Carafe™ packs and 6 K-Cup® packs

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Keurig Brews Consumer Discontent
Pros: Brews small 4-cup carafe in addition to single serve.
Brews very fast..
Allows each user to choose their favorite beverage; even the brew strength
Cons: Keurig makes a good brewer, and they invented the K-Cup, the first single-serve, self-contained coffee pod. But success has twisted their perception of appreciation and humility. Keurig thinks that customers need to be protected from the evils of using any coffee, tea or cocoa for which the maker did not pay licensing fees for the privilege of compatibility. To restrict the use of equipment owned by consumers, they have added slick spyware to peek on customers after a purchase!

Imagine a car that tests each tank of gas—not for quality or compatibility, but for legal compliance with a licensing authority. Or how about a TV that blocks any program that fails to include a broadcast license from Sony? That's what Keurig has done. But it is HOW they do it that is really troubling. A spy camera lives INSIDE Keurig 2.0 brewers (no kidding!). Using DRM technology, it analyzes inks on the K-Cups & Vue pods to prevent owners from using coffee of choice, unlicensed pods and even Keurig's own K-Cups (still within expiration!) In fact, you can no longer use the My-K-cup adapter that Keurig continues to sell for owners of legacy brewers. It's astonishing marketing blunder! Was anyone over 25 in the room when CEO Brian Kelley decided to add a spy camera to a coffee maker?! Somehow, he missed the lesson of DRM with iTunes and DVDs. It shows profound contempt for customers, rather than respect and appreciation.

Inserted a Green Mountain K-Cup into my brewer, a TV screen informs me: "Oops! That coffee isn't compatible with our incredibly high standards! We want you to enjoy the best experience possible. Besides, you wouldn't enjoy the flavor of coffee from a roaster that refuses to pay us for the privilege of compatibility."

Seriously! It says something just like that. At least, to anyone who can read between the lines. To view the actual message, and my further comments, check out the full review in the Blog below. (search for Keurig).

Green Mountain Coffee has a limited time to recover from this fiasco. Here is my humble marketing advice:

1. Change the heartless restriction into an on-screen sales pitch. Be a good guy!
2. Accept existing K-Cups. Your consumers already own these. I have dozens.
3. Offer an adapter that allows consumers the same privilege of occasionally brewing their favorite store-bought coffee.

And for G-d's sake, Keurig, stop spying on your users! With a downward-facing camera 10 inches above my kitchen counter, I wonder if your next software update will monitor my midnight snack or activate a microphone. Please Keurig: Get off our backs. Respect customers!

Newegg limits review length. I expand on this analysis & review on my Blog. I also imagine a a hypothetical letter from Green Mountain CEO to shareholders. It could give smile. If only it were a joke.

[Ellery Davies reviews the intersection of economics and
tech at AWildDuck (d0t) com. He is a frequent contributor
to CNet, Engadget and The Wall Street Journal.
Reviewed By:Ellery,11/25/2014 4:24:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Single-Serve Brewers & Pod Machines > Cuisinart > Cuisinart SS-700 Keurig K-Cups Single Serve Brewing System Silver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 less than impressed
Pros: 5 year warranty
Cons: having to use the warranty in less than a year with limited use,

having to pay shipping to get it to Cuisinart,

being told the replacement unit is on "backorder" & they have no idea on when my replacement will arrive
Other Thoughts: I bought 2 of these machines, 1 for the office & 1 for home. The one for home which was used on soft water was the one that failed
Reviewed By:kraftykristal,11/25/2014 1:54:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Single-Serve Brewers & Pod Machines > Keurig > Keurig® 2.0 K550 Brewing System with a Keurig™ Carafe, 2.0 Starter Kit including one filter, 4 K-Carafe™ packs and 6 K-Cup® packs

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Keurig 2.0 K550
Pros: This is a new design for Keurig.
While it performs much better, than the previous models
It has major draw back. That is why 2 eggs
Cons: The Major Con with this new design is the feature that they don't tell you about, and you don't find out about till you go to use it. And it is Big one Keurig has made this unit to accept only their approved K-Cups. Which means if you have K-Cps left from previous Keurig units they are useless, so are any other store brtand and other famous brands that do not have the new Keurig LASER READ SEAL on the K-Cup. In order to use this unit you are forced to buy from Keurig or Keurig approved K-Cups seem like a Monopoly to me. They call it proprietary.
I feel if they are going to do this PUT IT ON THE BOX and In the advertisements for it.
Other Thoughts: It would be not only nice, but I think should be required that Keurig be required to tell buyer of this.
Reviewed By:JM,11/17/2014 6:22:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Single-Serve Brewers & Pod Machines > Mind Reader > Mind Reader TRY26PC-BLK ‘Hero’ Black Color Coffee Pod Drawer, 36 Capacity for Keurig K-Cup Single Serve and 42 Capacity for CBTL Coffee Pods

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Mind Reader TRY26PC-BLK ‘Hero’ Black Color Coffee Pod Drawer
Pros: Nice platform for my coffee machine and good price.
Cons: Due to the fact that this unit is plastic it tends to flex a bit once the coffee machine is set on top of it. I am worried that someday soon the weight of the coffee maker will cause the top to sag enough that it will interfere with the drawer functionality. Only time will tell.
Reviewed By:RTM,11/16/2014 8:08:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Single-Serve Brewers & Pod Machines > Keurig > Keurig® 2.0 K350 Brewing System with a Keurig™ Carafe, 2.0 Starter Kit including one filter, 4 K-Carafe™ packs and 6 K-Cup® packs

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Keurig® 2.0 K350 Brewing System
Pros: It makes great coffee but....
Cons: The reason it makes great coffee is that you must use the Keurig approved K-cups which, of course, only use more premium coffees. That comes at a steep price. Keurig fails to clearly explain on the box that even though some K-cups are usable in Keurig systems - the K-cups for 2.0 Keurig coffee makers must have the Keurig seal on the cups.

Yes, the coffee maker is that smart. But that is where the genius ends because, while I can over look the additional expense for a good cup of coffee, I don't like being tricked into buying something then getting it home and finding out my options are limited and at any time Keurig can jack up their royalties making my habit more expensive than I would like.

That scam aside, on the sixth day of use the machine refused to spit out more than a third of a cup of coffee. Attempts to change K-cups did not resolve the problem so after hunting on the Keurig website for 15 minutes and waiting over 35 minutes on the phone I finally a customer service representative which sounded relieved that I didn't scream at her before she walked me through the steps of cleaning two small needles to dislodge coffee that had plugged the system. I was informed that I should do this every six days to ensure proper working order. Right....
Other Thoughts: The K350 is a pretty smart machine, complete with a touch screen and phone jack in the base. I wouldn't be surprised if Keurig thought of the exclusive K-cup scheme and if it didn't work they can reprogram the 2.0 coffee makers to disregard the Keurig seal check. There is no mention of the use of the phone jack in the owner's manual and it wasn't put there for decoration. Frankly, if I was the Keurig CEO, I would be immediately disseminating a method to turn off the Keurig seal check and hire more customer service reps. Spending over an hour fixing a very expensive coffee maker on day seven is ludicrous. Having to buy only Keurig approved coffee is even more so but I can see how they must control what the machine uses to minimize the clogging problem. Anyways, the leaders at Keurig better forfeit their bonuses and put that money into fixing some big problems else that company is going under. I will never buy another Keurig - not just because the 2.0 makers are expensive junk but because of their unscrupulous means of capturing and manipulating the coffee market.
Reviewed By:ibupnorth,11/13/2014 9:45:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Single-Serve Brewers & Pod Machines > Keurig > Keurig® 2.0 K550 Brewing System with a Keurig™ Carafe, 2.0 Starter Kit including one filter, 4 K-Carafe™ packs and 6 K-Cup® packs

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DRM on coffee
Pros: Good coffee
Cons: Can't use anything but Keurig's little coffee pods, can't use your reusable pod.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/13/2014 2:04:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Single-Serve Brewers & Pod Machines > Keurig > Keurig® 2.0 K350 Brewing System with a Keurig™ Carafe, 2.0 Starter Kit including one filter, 4 K-Carafe™ packs and 6 K-Cup® packs

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Keurig the brand, is nearly DEAD!
Pros: None! Run AWAY!
Cons: I was given this K350 for a birthday present. It was purchased at Newegg on 10/31/2014. I had a Keurig about 3 years ago, enjoyed it for about 4 months, and it quit. Replacement machines quit similarly 2 more times until Keurig refused to send another. I guess this current machine was thought to be a perfect gift. WRONG! The Keurig branded machines are no more reliable than the old machines (built-in failure potential) that gave horrible service. Also, the new draconian DRM scheme to force unsuspecting customers to purchase Keurig K-cups ONLY will certainly be the death of this shyster company. And good riddance. Please do not give Keurig products to anyone you are friends with, or any of your loved ones. They don't need the grief that this company causes.
Other Thoughts: Don't get caught up in the seasonal sale prices on Keurig products. They are in trouble and their chance of survival is slim at best. Find another means to make delicious coffee. You'll be MUCH HAPPIER with your purchase.
Reviewed By:Wiley,11/13/2014 9:12:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Single-Serve Brewers & Pod Machines > Keurig > Keurig® 2.0 K350 Brewing System with a Keurig™ Carafe, 2.0 Starter Kit including one filter, 4 K-Carafe™ packs and 6 K-Cup® packs

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 never again
Pros: None
Cons: I have used Keurigs for a number of years now but recently upgraded to give my old one to my daughter in college. I have been getting a certain type of coffee at Sam's club that I have used in my Keurig for years but now the Keurig will ONLY work with Keurig approved cups. I could understand if they gave the coffee makers away free and that is how they paid for their technology, but the machines are NOT free and actually cost a substantial amount of money for a coffeemaker. To demand that you purchase their overpriced coffee on top of an already expensive coffeemaker is excessive. No longer a Keurig fan!!!
Reviewed By:fuzzsd,11/2/2014 12:48:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Single-Serve Brewers & Pod Machines > Keurig > Keurig® 2.0 K550 Brewing System with a Keurig™ Carafe, 2.0 Starter Kit including one filter, 4 K-Carafe™ packs and 6 K-Cup® packs

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Keurig One pods NOT compatible
Pros: Looks good. Works with KEURIG pods.
Cons: Don't let the description fool you. If you buy this, ALL your current keurig pods are worthless. This only works with RECENT keurig brand only pods. This is a complete money grab by Keurig because they hate other companies making cheaper pods for their system.
Other Thoughts: I ended up returning mine and I got the Hamilton Beach coffee maker than can brew a pot of coffee, or a single k-cup.
Reviewed By:Instigator,10/25/2014 5:47:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Single-Serve Brewers & Pod Machines > Keurig > Keurig® 2.0 K550 Brewing System with a Keurig™ Carafe, 2.0 Starter Kit including one filter, 4 K-Carafe™ packs and 6 K-Cup® packs

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Keurig
Pros: easy to use
Cons: priced and special coffee pods only still
Reviewed By:decamella,10/22/2014 3:04:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.