Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > FreedomPop > 100% Free Wireless Internet w/ SuperNova 4G LTE/3G Hotspot - FreedomPop

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It's a good backup, but nothing more.
Pros: - Small footprint
- If you have excellent sprint coverage this will work (otherwise don't bother)
- can connect up to 8 devices
- simple interface to connect and get online
- Works great as a backup when power goes out (live on the coast where rain can take out the power quickly)
Cons: - You have to call customer care to activate the device and get true "free" service. I you sign up online you will have to pay a min of $25.00/month. If you call customer care they sign you up and transfer you to billing to take off the premier services which can't be avoided during activation.
-Battery is pathetic and drains very quickly.
- Charger that is provided is too weak to charge the device. It comes with a 1 amp charger and if you leave it all night, it will go to a 60% max charge. You have to have a stronger USB charger for this device.
- Can only use LTE (sprint) for free service. If you want a backup of 3G you have to pay for that as a premier service.
- Data speeds range 5-20 Mbps down and 1-5 Mbps up. The max I have gotten is 3.2 Mbps down and 1.4 Mbps up.
- drops signal while trying to handover to a new cell tower
-web interface is the only way to access this device for configuration. Other hotspots you can access configuration on an on screen display.
-Customer care is open 9AM-5PM PST M-F. Seriously?! It's free so I guess I can't complain!
Other Thoughts: This device is good if you are looking strictly for a backup or something you want to use on the road for extra data. Otherwise, you will be writing a negative review.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/23/2016 6:21:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > FreedomPop > 100% Free Wireless Internet w/ SuperNova 4G LTE/3G Hotspot - FreedomPop

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!
Pros: I guess if you could afford the service, it'd work.
Cons: What they don't tell you.
Free Wireless Internet.... if you pay $25 a month for Premier Service which seems to give you 11 different services which are for mobile phones only. ( One of which is 'Wifi Hotspot' o_Ó )
I did research, but not until the point I go to Check-Out/Activate did this charge appear.
$45 a month for the 2gb plan... and $60 for the device? How is any of this affordable?

I called customer service & they just kept avoiding & circling the issue of which I was calling.
I'm returning this device.
Other Thoughts: My only expectations are not to be lied to & not to be jerked around.
They failed on both endeavours.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/22/2016 1:40:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG WI-FI All-Share Cast HUB EAD-T10JDEGSTA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good investment
Pros: Works just like it says with my tv and samsung phone. Quick and easy.
Cons: Haven't found any issues yet
Reviewed By:Frankie M.,5/13/2016 10:01:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > CradlePoint, Inc. > Cradlepoint Mobile Hotspot Devices Compatible with 100+ Network Devices w/ 3G&4G / WiPipe Powered (MBR900)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, life saver!
Pros: We used this product for 3 years to provide our home with internet service while waiting to get wired service. It did its job until retired.
Cons: none known
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/12/2016 6:27:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > Aluratek > Aluratek 3G Wireless USB Cellular Router (CDW530AM)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works with freedompop
Pros: This has lots of features at a very low price and works with my freedompop stick.
Cons: It didn't initally recognize my modem, and it took too much time messing with settings to get it working. The quickstart guide and Wizard mode are worthless.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/10/2014 10:24:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > CradlePoint, Inc. > Cradlepoint Mission-Critical Broadband Router (MBR1400)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very reliable product
Pros: I got the MBR-1400v2 with the MC200LE side attachment and swapped out all the antennas with high gain counterparts.

I've been using that setup paired with unlimited 4G data on Verizon for nearly two years now.

So far, the device has not let me down... Any disruptions are on the carriers end. You can set up many fallback connections as backups in case a connection fails.

The device itself is very sturdy and modern/robust in appearance, absolutely love the design.

Feature wise, it has everything AND the kitchen sink.

All sorts of graphs, specific data, system level logging, etc.
There are quite a few tunnels, VPN, BGP, Proxy type connections/protocols.

Updating the firmware for the device and attached devices is extremely easy, just click a button and it automatically downloads and installs it for you. They provide very nice release notes with every update, and it seems to be actively and regularly updated.

You can even SSH into the device. It seems to run some sort of lightweight version of linux... Not sure. I prefer the web interface. Top notch.

The amount of features is so chalk full, this hands down beats any consumer router I have ever used. (This is far from regular consumer grade gear!)

As I just said, this is definitely not something you would run down to your nearest box store to buy...


I live in an area where the local cable company refuses to offer any service too me, even though they have a 10 Gig fiber line running a few feet in front of my house. Politics... (Charter Cable...)

The only option for service was DSL, and that is not going to cut it for what I do. I run a business full time and require a reliable high speed connection 24/7.

So I managed to get a hold of an unlimited data account with Verizon, and bought this device directly from Cradlepoint.
(Was about $800 with the modem! Newegg definitely is the way to go nowadays.)
A small investment, but it has definitely payed off.

So far I have pushed well over 10 terabytes through the device and the attached 4g modem... I know, Verizon hates me.

I upload and download very large files on a regular basis, stream HD movies, play FPS games... Latency and bandwidth is no problem. (<50ms usually).

Now I can laugh at the DSL provider, as I get around 50/15 mbps.
(They keep sending me spam mail begging me to sign a contract with them.. Too funny.)
Cons: Not much to put here really...
A few compromises with this device over other, more consumer/niche devices.

I really wish they had included an RJ45 connector, not for DSL/etc, but for using any phone capability that comes with the attached modem (More specifically the MC200LE, also made by Cradlepoint specifically for this device). It's a shame that the plan with my carrier gives me text/talk ability, but I cannot use it on that line. It would have been a good feature.

I believe the device can receive SMS, but not send.. (If you can it is very convoluted.)

That's the only thing that I really wanted from this device but it didn't have. But it's no big deal, provided I basically have a mobile connection that is much better than your average permanent cable connection.
Other Thoughts: Overall, very happy with this device.

Every other mobile router with the capability to use 4G as a means of WAN has been absolutely terrible at it. (Yes I am looking at you, Netgear MBR1515, MiFi Hotspot 4620L)

Other means of connectivity before I found this router was using the hotspot feature on many, many smartphones.
I eventually settled on the Galaxy S3's hotspot mode, was decent at it, but I eventually pushed so much data through it (Terrabytes) that it failed presumably from heat. (Device was too hot too touch during operation, ruled out battery failure).

So, please excuse the length, backstory and scattered writing behind this review...

I just can't imagine where I would be without this device, as it has spared me 2 years of pain and suffering.
Reviewed By:Joannou1,10/28/2014 6:48:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > CradlePoint, Inc. > Cradlepoint Wireless N Portable Router CTR35

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works well with clear dongle
Pros: compact
can be powered from usb with an additional cable
works with a clear dongle
Cons: doesn't seem to power the clear base on usb power
Reviewed By:mej,2/20/2014 8:38:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 4G LTE Mobile Hotspot Verizon SCH-LC11

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A VERIZON 4G LTE SIM CARD IS REQUIRED TO USE THIS DEVICE (NOT INCLUDED).
Pros: Absolutely None. WARNING- DO NOT BUY THIS USELESS, EXPENSIVE DEVICE. Only to find that even the Verizon Sales or Customer Service agents do not know how to get you the right sim card or service plan to use it!
Cons: It is not "Universal" as stated in the Specification information under "Compatible Phone Manufacturer". In order to use this device with any other service provider you must change the APN which this device does not allow you to do. Verizon does not allow you to use any prepaid plans for it. You must apply for a contract service plan that charges more for the sim card service which is just data than their share all plans which offer Unlimited minutes, text and data. It is not a phone so you can not take advantage of those offers, you must order a Hotspot or Jetpack Sim that only incldes data limits 4GB ($30), 5GB ($40) and so on plus a line fee of $20 a month.
Other Thoughts: By the time I got all the right information about this device my 30-day return had expired. I actually ordered service for this device from Verizon only to receive a call 10 days later stating that the plan I ordered is not available for this device!!! TWICE! This can only be done by calling their 18009220204 number and having them order the wrong or unavailable service plans for it. You can not order it on line nor at the local Verizon stores!
Reviewed By:mlucero67,2/5/2014 12:51:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > Netgear Inc. > Netgear 3G /4G Mobile Broadband Wireless-N Router (MBRN3000)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 4g lte device beware
Pros: No comments.
Cons: I bought this router after checking that it works with my Pantech ULM290 device, but didn't connect to Verizon at all. After spending numerous technical support with Netgear, they said it's not compatible. Bummer.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/23/2013 4:21:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Hot Spots > CradlePoint, Inc. > Cradlepoint Small Business Mobile Broadband Router MBR1200B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Small Business Router
Pros: Wireless WAN using USB data stick, wifi-as-WAN, automatic failover/failback, ability to turn DHCP off for main wireless network and on for guest wireless network; WAN load balancing, GRE and VPN tunneling, and lots of other enterprise-grade features in an economical package.
Cons: None that I have found so far.
Other Thoughts: Simply the best small business router that I have come across. The ease of use for setting up the wireless WAN and failover alone makes it worth the price. Excellent help menu that pops up when you hover the mouse over a setting that you don't understand, AND it's all grammatically correct! There have been two firmware updates released since I've owned the router, so it's nice to know they support their products. I'm a big Cradlepoint fan now, and I'd buy this thing again in a heartbeat.
Reviewed By:flanigan,3/5/2013 11:39:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.