Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBI100 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Take that phone company
Pros: I will assume most of you that are looking at this product you know what it is and what it does, however if you do not it is a small box that allows you to use SIP telephone service with the analogue phones in your home or small office. Why would you want to do this? Maybe you are like my folks and still have a land line since they do not have reliable cell phone coverage in there area. Maybe you have a cell phone but don’t want to rely on it in a minor emergency when it is pretty much guaranteed that the cell network will go down. Or maybe you just like having a house phone but don’t like that the phone company makes you pay $50 for any service at all.

If so then this is GREAT product, assuming you have some technical knowledge and patience to get it set up. In my case my folks are looking to get away from their telco provided land line for which they have to pay $60 a month and extra for long distance calls (a disgusting business practice but this is not the space for such rants…). I have them set up with a reliable internet connection and a solid router that I can configure QoS on so they have the basic requirements covered. I’ve been getting them used to using Google Voice on their PC with a headset I bought them, so the idea of making internet calls is no longer strange to them either.

The harder part of installing this was getting an ethernet cable to the best place for the Obihai box, as it does not have wifi. To be honest this may be a pain in installation but for something like this it is for the best, as a hard wire eliminates a lot of potential problems for such a device. Once I got the ethernet in place, I connected the phone port on the OBI100 to a wireless handset so they can get used to the service and make sure they don't have any problems.

Getting things set up was not as smooth as I would have liked, but after trying 4-5 times through their website I was able to get the device added to the Obihai dashboard. I honestly am not sure what made it take so many tries, it may have been some browser plug ins or not but after about 10 minutes of trying it was accessible and I could add the service. Adding the google voice service was very easy, as I just used a gmail account with google voice already configured and that was it.

The device itself has a pretty solid web UI which I used to update the firmware and change the default password, which all went smoothly. I then went into their router and gave the device top QoS priority so that they can have calls going which they are streaming Netflix or doing anything else that might use a lot of bandwidth. That was it, and they have been using it for a few weeks with no problems, and say the voice quality is great. The next thing to do will be to add another SIP service that has E911 so that they can then cancel their existing voice service.

In short, a great product that will save them a lot of money. Definitely recommended if your phone company is gouging you.
Cons: As I said above I had some issues getting the box added to the Obihai dashboard which was pretty frustrating but resolved after about 10 minutes. Also I would not recommend this to someone with little or no technical knowledge, as it is close to plug and play but might be a problem for some.
Other Thoughts: I like this box, and will probably pick one up for myself just so I have an option at home instead of my cell. If you use google voice its basically the cost of the box for free in home phone service, so whats not to like?

1 egg off for config frustration but aside from that a good product.

Also I will update this review after I get the box set up with a second SIP service for E911.
Reviewed By:frostyman,12/16/2014 2:13:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBI100 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 OBI100 works with Google Voice
Pros: Great voice call quality, Free calls through Google Voice (see other thoughts). Small and compact. Shipping was excellent (DHL and USPS)
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: If you're planning on using the OBI100 with Google Voice, you must have a "Google chat" option available in your Google Voice settings. If your primary Google account id is a gmail id, then you should have this option. If you don't , the OBI100 won't work with Google Voice.

OBI100 can be used with other voip services. 911 call service cost extra.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/15/2014 10:03:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBI100 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Total waste of money!
Pros: kinda works if you don't mind being tied to google.
Cons: Obi cust. svc. is useless - if you can even connect with them.
Online help is a joke.
CANNOT get money back from Obi if you are not happy with this device!
Other Thoughts: If you like Google & regularly use gmail & other Google svcs., you will probably like this device.
If you don't, stay away from this.
the Obi is capable of doing many amazing things, IF you have the time & patience to configure these 'many things'.
If you just want a cheap voip phone svc., I recommend Nettalk.
I bought this thinking it would be better than Nettalk because Obi SEEMED to have better cust. svc..
After trying to set Obi up, I don't advise relying on Obi cust. svc.
Biggest con for me is Obi WILL NOT refund my money if I'm not happy.
They only REFUND for device defects.
Unless you have a need for extra fancy phone svc. configs., do yourself a big favor & just purchase a Nettalk device which will come with 1st year of service for free & will be much easier to setup & use.
I'm on a fixed income & this was THE WORST purchase I have ever made
on Newegg!
Reviewed By:wilbur,12/11/2014 1:04:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Up and running in 5 minutes
Pros: Small unit
Inexpensive
Works with Google Voice
Cons: Requires broadband internet service (internet is down, so is phone service)
iOS application is horrible
***No 911 service***
Other Thoughts: Looking for a cheap replacement for phone service? This little unit works great. Less than 5 minutes to set up and works just fine with Google Voice for free calls in the USA. Works with various providers for cheap international calls as well.

It _does_ require broadband internet service, so if you don't have that, then this is useless for you (but you shouldn't be shopping for it in that case anyway)!

Recommend this unit for anyone wishing to ditch expensive phone service.
Reviewed By:scottjl,12/10/2014 5:00:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Nice device
Pros: Setup Easy. Google voice quality super
Cons: Not so far
Reviewed By:JZ,12/7/2014 5:22:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBI100 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 for 911 need to pay additional..GoogleVoice issues
Pros: Setting up is easy
Cons: Google Voice works, but incoming directly went to voice mails, not sure how and why this is happening. Also heard google voice will be going away, and want to return it as no satisfaction at first setup. My need is international calling and use it as land line...but somehow I feel this is not a good option.
Reviewed By:Sudhakar,12/5/2014 12:38:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does exactly what it says it does.
Pros: Easy set up. Works like a charm. Good quality calling over IP.
Cons: None so far!
Other Thoughts: Great way to better utilize Google Voice.
Reviewed By:Texas Wildhorse,12/4/2014 1:43:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > ooma > Ooma OOMATELO2 Free VoIP Home Service (Telo 2)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Can't beat it for the price!
Pros: I have had this unit/service for 6 months. Setup was very easy. I didn't need the premier features and can't comment on those. However, for less than $5 a month, you just can't beat Ooma. Call quality is as good or better than cell phones and most of the time is as good as my land line.

After using Ooma for six months, it has always been reliable.

If you are looking for a reliable, yet inexpensive voice solution, this is it.
Cons: The only con that I have is that occasionally, the call quality is poor. However, when that happens, I just hang up and do another call. I would estimate that this happens maybe five percent of the time and really isn't a big deal.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/4/2014 9:07:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Tely Labs > Tely Labs 11-TelyHD-01-01 Skype HD Video Calling Device

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent Skype TV Cam, But Veryu Dependent on Internet Bandwidth
Pros: * Easy configuration
* Ease of use via carousel UI design setup
* Integrated design for use on top of LCD or Plasma TV
* Web browser feature included
* Autoanswer feature available via Skype Privacy settings
* Can import photos to be shown on screen
Cons: * Limited Skype functionality -- still required Skype desktop for contact management, etc
* Does not save Skype Online Status, so when device is restarted, it goes to default (Online)
* Very sensitive to network bandwidth availability and does not seem to be able to support lower bandwidths very well (both video and audio become choppy and even freezes)
* No remote management support, even though this feature was promised "in a year from now", and I had asked two years ago
Other Thoughts: Purchased the TelyHD Base Edition to replace my Logitech Skype TV Cam, which died after 1.5 years of service and Logitech no longer sells and supports the Skype TV Cam. I was able to do Skype HD video conferencing with my 88-year old mother using the Skype TV Cam. However, the TelyHD unit immediately started to pixel-ate and audio became choppy when I replaced the Logitech unit. I made sure the TelyHD was running the latest firmware and all other network settings were the same as before. Had to increase the Internet service to a higher bandwidth tier at the remote end (where the unit was installed) to properly support Skype HD video. Logitech unit did not have this same issue, and I Skyped at least 3 times a week with my Mom.

The other weirdness with the TelyHD was its configuration setup. You can set a wallpaper, but it is not used in a Skype window, just the main carousel menu level. Skype Online Status resets itself to default upon restart. There is no way to turn off features you do not want to use (like web browser), which may be necessary for remote installations.

In my opinion, the Logitech Skype TV Cam was better in core functionality than the TelyHD Base Edition, but the TelyHD has additional features not available in the Logitech unit. Since TelyHD is the only standalone Skype TV unit available, you will have to work with its quirks and limitations.

I think next time I need a Skype TV Cam or TelyHD-like unit, I would first explore using a Windows 8 touchscreen all-in-one PC in kiosk mode running only Skype. At least I can remote manage the unit for my Mom and even have solitaire card game available to play on the touchscreen :-)
Reviewed By:treet007,12/3/2014 11:39:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBI100 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super easy and simple.
Pros: Works with Google Phone and sounds & works just like a lineline!
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:Kevin,12/3/2014 10:51:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.