Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Aposonic > Aposonic A-BR21B4-CF 4 Ch H.264 960H Real Time DVR with 4 x 700 TVL Day & Night Camera, Mobile Viewing, Mac OSX Fully Supported

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Cameras + DVR ok, but cables defective
Pros: The DVR and kit were easy to install and configure. I installed a 2TB drive, no problem. Configured the kit and connected 2 cameras without problem. The network configuration for the Mac and Android are not so easy. Still trying to get TapCMS (Android app) to work for remote viewing. The cameras are good quality and have great image.
Cons: Two of the four cables were defective, on delivery. Still coiled up and wrapped in cling film, they will not get signal from the cameras. I had to try several combinations of cables/cameras to ensure the cameras were all ok, but 50% of the cables were broken. Others have also commented that the cables are very sensitive to bends, but these had not even been unspooled and were already defective. All the cables had QC stickers - they didn't do the QC well it seems.
Other Thoughts: I have contacted the manufacturer for replacement cables so that I don't have to dismount the two installed cameras and return the entire kit. I wait for their response and will post follow up to see how responsive they are. If they send me replacements, I will adjust the rating to 4 or 5 stars, the kit is good, the cameras are good.
Reviewed By:borg,9/28/2014 6:31:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV- KDV1804B6BP Complete 8 CH 960H Security DVR System w/ 500GB HDD Easy DIY 4 Infrared Surveillance Cameras

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Value System
Pros: After all this the quality is better then I expected for this price. Overall I am quite satisfied with the whole package. Cameras are plastic but I don't plan on throwing them around too much.

Bought this after deciding a $500-$1000 HD system is not practical for a home setup in a good neighbourhood. Be warned the system is capable of 960H, but the cameras are only good for D1 resolution (704x480) I do like that you can buy 960H cameras to add on, perhaps use better ones in more important areas. I really like that these should work in extreme cold weather, but time will tell as winter has not arrived yet.
Cons: Can be difficult to fully setup for non technical people. See below for me troubleshooting.
Other Thoughts: Notes to help other with installation and setup. First, the networking to view remotely is not as easy as they make it sound. I suspect the average person will have issues as most people do not get static IP addresses. I manually set a static internal IP on the DVR (192.168.1.64 for example). I forwarded all 3 ports on TCP in my ASUS router for that IP address. I still had trouble connecting and realized my ISP has a modem-router combo, so I had to forward those ports to the internal IP of my ASUS router on that router (can be confusing for some). I then signed up and setup a free DDNS service through No-IP and put the settings for that in my DVR.

I tried connecting using the app on my Android phone using the DDNS address I made and could not connect. I tried it on my computer at home and also could not connect. I was perfectly able to connect by putting in the IP address (192.168.1.64) of the DVR into my web browser (Chrome). I then realized that you cannot connect to the DVR through a DDNS address when you are connected through the same network the DVR is on (might have something to do with the port forwarding). I turned off the wifi on my phone and was then able to connect to the DVR using my DDNS address. I then made another device on my phone app to connect internally at home, by using the internal IP address of the DVR. So now I just use one when at home and the DDNS address when I am away.

Lastly is the camera settings on the device and the connected devices. This took some trial and error, and was about to return it because of the atrocious quality when remote viewing. Setting the cameras and all settings for the matter for the DVR, are easier to do through a web browser connected computer. Under camera settings and video setting, I set the resolution to 704x480, bitrate type to constant, frame rate to 8 (can do 30, but it will use a lot more memory on the hard drive and you will not get very many days of recording), max bitrate to 3072 (max available), and applied it to all cameras. The remote viewing was still terrible, and realized devices default to something called sub stream, which is designed to use very little bandwidth. This may be a good option if you have a bad upload rate on your home network, or are very limited on mobile data. I do not have those problems so I had to change each device you use to connect to use main stream instead of sub stream. On the web browser version, it is under local configuration. On the app, you have to do this for each device, and if you have more than one as I do to use the app on the same network as my DVR, you still need to set each of these too. It is the 4th icon from the left on the bottom after you successfully connect to the device (square window with diagonal lines through it), then go into custom and change stream type to main.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/28/2014 1:22:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > GW Security Inc. > GW 1080P HD-SDI 8 Channel Real Time DVR (6TB HDD) 2.1 Megapixel 2.8~12mm Varifocal Lens High Definition CCTV Surveillance Kit Security Camera System, 22" HDMI Monitor, PC & Cellphone Viewable

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Don't have any pros as I'm unable to install the kit without better instructions. Once I get the system up and running, I will update my opinion.
Cons: I purchased the GW 1080P HD-SDI 8 channel system and it arrived a couple of days ago. The instructions that came with the indoor and outdoor cameras were identical with the exception of the pictures of the camera on the front of the instructions. Those instructions with the cameras are totally useless for a do-it-yourself installation. For one thing, the outdoor camera has three cables coming out of the camera, one red, one yellow and one green. I assume the red and yellow are video and power. I have no idea what the green is for as the green is not mentioned in the instructions. Also, the kit only comes with two cables for each camera (Siamese) so what do I use for the green cable coming off the outdoor cameras and what does it attach to? There are other cables in the kit that have no explanation as to their use or how they are to be installed. One is a thin wire with a small eye-washer attached to one end. I could use better instruction as I am not a professional installer who doesn't need instructions.
Reviewed By:Hurl,9/28/2014 12:50:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KDV2608W1 16 Channel H.264 Level 960H 16CH HD Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY 8 x 1000TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good system
Pros: Works as advertised. Night-time picture is not the best possible, but enough to see the perps and their faces. Make sure you have motion lighting in the area near the "most critical" cameras to help at night.
Regarding the negative review here - sure you get occasional defective hardware anywhere so long as you buy stuff often enough. Mine was nicely made and I couldn't see any craftsmanship defects.
Cons: None so far. Peer-to-peer is not working and their website instructions don't match up with the software that mine came with, but this is not a big deal for me. For remote viewing I just opened the ports on the router and navigate directly to the DVR (use their DDNS, it works or you can have your own too) - they have instructions on that.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/28/2014 12:11:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Q-See > Q-See QS4474-436-5 4 Channel H.264 Level 7" LCD Observation System with Built-In 4 Channel DVR with 4 Color Cameras

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Pretty Nice!
Pros: I was pleased with the quality of the cameras and DVR for the price. While cables are unsightly, they can make you feel a little more secure. A good bang for the buck is my take! Network ready and good night vision are some more pros I should mention.
Cons: I prefer wireless myself!
Reviewed By:gpoplin,9/27/2014 3:23:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S-1TB 4 Channel H.264 Level 4 Channel All-in-One sPoE NVR Kit w/ 1TB HDD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S-1TB
Pros: Not that hard if you know a little about networks... I will buy ZMODO again.........................................
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I have bought several cheap systems .this a cheap system! and its GREAT compared to all others. The LaView I bought had great camera adjustment capability but no where near the video quality
Reviewed By:bEENtHEREdONEtHAT,9/26/2014 8:19:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KDV2804W1 8 Channel H.264 Level 960H 8CH HD Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY 4 x 1000TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great System for the Money!!!
Pros: My favorite things about this system is that it is very small in size, it produces very little heat, no fan motors (so very quiet), and the picture quality is great for an analog camera. The cameras are also high quality and compact. Additionally this systems works extremely well with CAT5e baluns. Lastly I have had the system for a couple months now and there have been multiple power hits with no issues.
Cons: The cons are very relative in my opinion. Basically I feel you get quite a bit for the money you pay. The software still needs some upgrades, additionally the software between the different platforms varies, which is confusing. But again, I can complain due to how much you pay for the system. Use documentation/instruction could be a lot better
Other Thoughts: Overall I am extremely please with my LaView 8 CH system. I have already bought 4 more cameras to max out my system. I have recommended this system to a number of people and I look for LaView to see a lot of them in the future.
Reviewed By:vabeachwaterboy,9/25/2014 8:05:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4 Channels sPoE NVR w/ 4 Day/Night Outdoor HD 720P IP Camera System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: Very simple setup. I have been using for several months now. I love the email notifications. When someone enters my property I immediately know. This took a little bit to get the sensitivity set properly, but now it is ROCK SOLID!!!!!
I am very happy with this and will be ordering another 4 camera system soon.
Cons: Not really a con but information. I did not catch in the order that there is no hard drive installed. You will have to order a hard drive and install it before use. Hard drive is pretty inexpensive though and you can get a 2tb drive and be able to record a lot more.
Other Thoughts: I recomend this camera to anyone that needs a good quality, inexpensive system.
I will say it again. I will be ordering another system soon.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/24/2014 9:01:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD3488D-T1 Complete 8 CH HDMI Security DVR System w/ 1TB HDD Easy DIY Eight 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 decent Surveillance Camera
Pros: Plenty of storage space
Plenty of cameras and the associated hardware
Web/Remote access via phone/laptop/tablet
Good software for various configuration from notification/monitoring
Average camera resolution
Cons: Very LOUD VDR . Not happy with it at all
Night time Resolution not very good
Day time resolution beyond 20~30 feet is not very clear.
Instructions are not intuitive. You will need to search or call the tech support.
Other Thoughts: Considering the price I paid for this system, I am pleased with the overall product. I think it can be improved, specially the Fan noise on the VDR. I will have to place the VDR in a closet or some other location not to hear the fan.
If you are looking for higher resolution, then don't get this platform. I think there is another package the company offers with much better resolution.
Reviewed By:tek-dash,9/22/2014 8:36:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Aposonic > Aposonic A-BNPXB4-A 4 Channel Surveillance NVR Kit w/ 4 x MegaPixel 720P PoE IP Camera (No HDD Included)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 First NVR
Pros: Video quality looks really good, night vision works pretty good as well, easy set up. Comes with very long cables i think they are 75'
Cons: Motion Dection does not work, Manual is not very helpful. model is not listed on aposonics web-sight, no firmware available or online documentation to help troubleshoot. Not sure if its the Lan port or the cables but the bottom 2 ports only work when i prop the cat5 cables up little bit to make a good connection. If the NVR is bumped the slightest i lose connections to cameras 3 and 4 . i think its just the cables it comes with they look pretty cheap
Other Thoughts: Can only record 24/7 none of the alarm or motion detect functions work, Manual says to set detection area and sensitivity for motion detection but those options are missing all together. There are other features in the alarm section not explained in manual. one called Video Blind which i think is privacy masking that does not work and one other called video loss that i have no idea what is for. Firmware on the system is dated 10-16-2013
Reviewed By:Turdpeterson,9/20/2014 9:54:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau