Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > SHIELDeye > SHIELD Series RSCM-0704B042 - 4-Channel, H.264-Level DVR Surveillance Kit + Four 700TVL Cameras - Night Vision Up to 65 Feet, Remote Viewing Supported (HDD Not Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It Works!!!
Pros: it was less than $500, in fact, it was less than $100! I couldn't believe for that price you get a DVR, 4 cameras with mechanical IR cut (that's what you want), 4 sets of cables, a mouse, and power supply. Now back to the product. everything took a total of 20 minutes to plug in and get working. controls seem simple enough, and night vision seems to work well (although it was not pitch black inside). video quality is much better than expected.
Cons: Menu seems a bit clunky. It will take some time to figure out all the options and settings. your video will not look like like it was shot on a 4k resolution camera.
Other Thoughts: I only had time to plug it in and make sure everything works. I will not be using remote access so this is not an issue for me, as others have stated. If you want 8 channels and to be able to see what the date of the quarter someone is holding don't buy this. If you want something cheap that works, buy this. will update on durability of product after it is installed
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 3:41:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl NVR10-441 Full HD1080p Network Video Recorder w/ 1TB HDD & 4 Night Vision 1080p HD Outdoor PoE IP Cameras

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 I expected better
Pros: PoE which is nice
Nice cameras a little grainy
Cons: I expected the NVR to have a solid web interface, you cannot view without a pc or mobile client
I expected to be able to set motion sensitivity via a web interface, instead you have to use the local mouse and remote - this is a bad way of doing things
Other Thoughts: all in all the price I paid its worth is with 4 cameras and 1 TB drive

but I wouldn't recommend this NVR
Manufacturer Response:Good Afternoon Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and we will communicate your recommendations to our research / development team for review. You are correct, you can remotely view your NVR system directly from your Apple or Android smart device, PC and / or MAC. You are also correct in that we do not currently offer the ability to change the sensitivity settings via any other method besides it being done locally (by the NVR). Based on feedback we have recieved from most customers in the past, we have determined that the ability to change motion sensitivity settings has not been in demand. That being said, we constantly strive to improve the functionality and ease of use of our products so we will look at possibly adding the motion sensitivty settings feature to our remote viewing platforms. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please be sure to contact us via phone (561-265-5272) or email (sales@nightowlsp.com).

To view your NVR system via your smart device, simply scan the QR code once your NVR has been connected to your router, enter your user / network credentials and you will begin viewing your cameras.

Night Owl HD Application Quick Setup Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lvb9nEaTdZI
Night Owl HD Application Video Manual: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j2yMK6xXDiI

To view your NVR system via your PC or MAC, simply download the Night Owl Surviellance Client Software for either PC or MAC from your included software CD or Nightowlsp.com, enter your user / network's credentials and you will begin viewing your cameras from anywhere in the world.

Night Owl Surviellance Client Setup Guide: file:///Z:/Downloads/How%20to%20Setup%20Night%20Owl%E2%80%99s%20Surveillance%20Client%20(PC)%20(1).pdf

Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2015 6:27:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KDV2404W1 4 Channel H.264 Level 960H 4 CH HD Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY 4 x 1000TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible rubbish
Pros: - Complete turnkey kit
- Decent cameras
- Easy to set up basic operation
Cons: - Web-UI requires an ActiveX plugin to view video or even save logfiles
- Have to use its clunky mouse-only UI for many features
- No documentation on other network features like RTSP streaming or event notification
- Poor support: manufacturer could not provide any documentation, just some sketchy Windows software they presumably got from the chipset vendor
- Unstable: it killed the first disk I put into it, a spare Seagate, which I replaced with a WD Purple (DVR) disk
- Unreliable: it lost connection to the WD disk until I rebooted it, causing a 5 week gap in my security recordings.
Other Thoughts: This product is a case of over-promising and under-delivering: it technically has lots of features, but they come with so many caveats as to be irrelevant. I could overlook that as long as it did the core job of recording video, but it failed at that. No alarms were raised, it just behaved as if the disk was missing.

Since I have no confidence it'll stay working, I'll be replacing it as soon as I've done the research to find a unit which delivers on its promises.
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer,

Thank you very much for purchasing LaView products. Sorry for the troubles you encounter.
Our technical support team is available from 9 AM to 6 PM Pacific Standard Time PST, Monday through Friday to help you resolve the technical issue.
Please call our team at 626-289-4988 or email us at info@laviewusa.com.

LaView offers a year warranty for all products. Once our team has diagnosed the issue, we will be able to take proper actions.

Please leave a voice mail or send an email stating your purchasing from Newegg, if your call doesn’t go through. Our technician will get back to you ASAP.

Best,

LaView team

Reviewed By:N/A,7/16/2015 2:56:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Aposonic > Aposonic A-BR1B4-C250 4 Ch 960H Full D1 DVR + 4x 700TVL Bullet Cameras + 500GB pre-installed HDD with Mobile Access Surveillance Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good buy
Pros: One of the more intuitive setups I've seen in an inexpensive DVR. The cameras are outdoor rated and come with all the hardware needed to mount and connect them.
Cons: Unable to make out faces or license plates at 20 ft.
Other Thoughts: Bought this for a customer recently and it's my second Aposonic device in 7-8 years. I've been impressed by how it just works.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/16/2015 12:52:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD5188D-T1 Cube Series 8 CH Security DVR Cloud System w/ 1TB HDD Easy DIY Eight 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Bad security system
Pros: Easy setup
Intuitive menu
Decent picture quality
1 Tb HDD
Cons: I bought this system for my friend's birthday, the biggest con is that he installed it only after 5 months after i gave it to him, otherwise i would return it in a sec. First of all, the picture quality is horrible, you can barely recognize the person in the camera, you can only see the silhouette of that person, but wait to see more.
The biggest con that i got frustrated about this system is networking on this camera. It never works, and if it does, that's only for couple of hours. I'm a network specialist and i know what i'm saying. The network connection always goes offline and you can't do remote viewing. And in order to restore it is by manually rebooting the DVR. That's the main reason why my friend wanted a security camera, so he can access his cameras when he travels abroad. Another reason is security on this camera system. You can't change the default admin password, and it can be accessed by anyone. When i check the log files, there's an unauthorized user connecting to the cams. I will never recommend this brand to anybody i know.
Also the menu on this camera system is a little complicated and if u'r not a tech person, it's going to be hard to understand.
I also later found out that this DVR only records in D1 4 channels at25~30 fpps,
the rest of them only 6fps.

I own a security camera system from another brand which i will not name for commercial purposes, owned it for 2 years now, installed it day one and it works till now without any interruptions and problems at all, and remote viewing is 24/7.
Can't return it.
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer,

Thank you very much for purchasing LaView products. Sorry for the troubles you encounter.
Our technical support team is available from 9 AM to 6 PM Pacific Standard Time PST, Monday through Friday to help you resolve the technical issue.
In the meantime, you can try to connect the system using another adaptor if you have one, since the unstable network connection may be caused by power failure.

I strongly encourage you to contact our tech team to troubleshoot the issue. LaView offers a year warranty for all products. Once our team has diagnosed the issue, we will be able to take proper actions.

Please call our team at 626-289-4988 or email us at info@laviewusa.com.
Please leave a voice mail or send an email stating your purchasing from Newegg, if your call doesn’t go through. Our technician will get back to you ASAP.

Best,
LaView team

Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2015 9:39:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Aposonic > Aposonic A-BR21B4-CS 4 Ch H.264 960H Real Time DVR with 4x 1000 TVL Day & Night Camera, Mobile Viewing, Mac OSX Fully Supported

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 does what its suppose to do
Pros: does what its suppose to. No issues installing or setting up.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,7/12/2015 6:56:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZM-SS718-1TB 8 CH NVR + 8 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera w/ 1TB HDD Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Work Great!
Pros: Its easy to set up. Mount cameras, run wire, plug into unit, turn on and away you go.
Good video quality.
Literally plug and play.
Best bang for your buck by far!
Cons: None so far!
Other Thoughts: Wish it would give detailed information about the email notifications and remote viewing. It does not tell you if it is a direct connection phone to NVR, or if it is all routed through a secondary server.
Reviewed By:Mule,7/10/2015 6:35:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl NVR10-441 Full HD1080p Network Video Recorder w/ 1TB HDD & 4 Night Vision 1080p HD Outdoor PoE IP Cameras

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't buy this.
Pros: Always a good experience shopping at Newegg.
Cons: I received this system, hooked everything up in my living room and everything seemed to work fine. I installed the cameras, ran the wires and now nothing works. I would not recommend this system. Customer service that I have dealt with was good, but not knowledgable enough about their own products.
Manufacturer Response:Good Afternoon Sir,

We greatly apologize for the negative experience you have encountered with your Night Owl security system and would like to communicate with you to rectify the situation. Can you please call us directly at 561-265-5272 or email us at sales@nightowlsp.com so we can assist you? We are not able to troubleshoot the issue you are encountering based on the details you provided. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to resolving the issue to ensure you are a happy Night Owl customer.

Reviewed By:N/A,7/5/2015 6:06:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl NVR10-441 Full HD1080p Network Video Recorder w/ 1TB HDD & 4 Night Vision 1080p HD Outdoor PoE IP Cameras

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work.
Pros: Fast delivery by Newegg as always.
Cons: After spending 2 days trying to get this to work, I am ready to give up. Don't buy this, look at other systems.
Manufacturer Response:Good Afternoon Sir,

We greatly apologize for the negative experience you have encountered with your Night Owl security system. Please contact us at 561-265-5272 or sales@nightowlsp.com to assist you in troubleshooting and rectifying the issue.

Reviewed By:N/A,7/4/2015 6:54:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KH944FT4A8 Premium 1080p/720p HD DVR 4 Channel TVI Security System w/ 4 HD 720p Night Vision Outdoor Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very good system
Pros: Relatively inexpensive
Straight forward setup
Good picture quality
Cons: Documentation was a bit sparse.
Other Thoughts: I did a lot of research when I decided to get a home camera security system. There are many of brands out there with all sorts of reviews ranging from it's junk to it's the greatest thing since sliced bread.

What convinced me to go with LaView was the fact that they have quite a few setup videos available on YouTube. That made it really easy to setup the basic system and to enable remote viewing. You will need to buy your own HDD, however. I went with a Western Digital Purple 1TB.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 10:50:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.