Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-NVR104K All in One Surveillance NVR Kit w/ Pre-installed 1TB HDD, 2 x HD PoE Outdoor IP Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good at a glance
Pros: NVR system all in one. You can actually install the cameras independently on a server. Each camera comes with a disk with the software. Fairly easy to set up if you are not trying to network the system. Otherwise it takes a lot of time and patience to resolve issues that should be fairly easy. Like assigning IP addresses to the camera.
Cons: Massive ghosting in playback. I didn't notice it at first but once I began pausing playback there was massive trailing ghosting. Everything from a car to even a person walking by has ghosting causing the play back video to be almost worthless. Terribly disappointed. I have used other camera systems and this one, at least at this moment, is not worth the money.
Other Thoughts: Difference between 1.3 megapixels and 3.0 is massive. Go with the 3.0 if you can. The difference is like 720p versus 4k resolution. Significantly noticeable.
Reviewed By:That one guy,5/5/2015 9:27:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P86A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 6 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I'm watching You!
Pros: Plenty of cord for camera's, decent camera's, simple setup and hard drive installation.
Cons: Ah I had some issues trying to get all 6 camera's to display Hd streams simultaneously. It has something called "main stream" and "sub stream" feeds that each camera can stream. The problem is that if you max out the quality and resolution of all 6 camera's the recorder hits a bandwidth limit that does not allow live view or recording at maximum resolution. So I found I had to lower all 6 camera's to 1 setting below maximum quality ie: 4096kb/s vs 8000kb/s. Then it seems to run all 6 at decent quality. Also the only way I could tell what stream the camera's were using was thru the internet interface, not thru the software of the dvr...
Other Thoughts: Also the ip cable comes with little weather protectors for the connections at the camera's but from what I could tell their useless unless you cut one end off to feed it thru the hole. I guess if you had the tool and connectors to replace one end then this would be useful, but if not the connections are left open to the elements...
Reviewed By:Nemisis,5/3/2015 5:25:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl L-85-8511 8 Channel 960H DVR with HDMI Output, 500 GB HDD, 8 x 480TVL Day/Night Cameras

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Its perfect for home security.
Pros: This is my second one. I bout one about 7 years ago... it didn't have e-mail alerts. It still works. Well this one has email alert... this was for the upgrade. It was easy to set up. Just Remember to forward your ports in your modem. So you smart phone app will work.
Cons: Cams are low grade. green are purple color.
Reviewed By:chazz2009,5/3/2015 3:30:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZM-SS718 8 CH NVR + 8 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far so good
Pros: Easy to install. Good image quality at a decent price. The 720 line cameras are better than the "TV" quality, but not nearly as expensive as the 1080p cameras.

Night vision is quite impressive.

This is my first go with a surveillance system and aside from climbing up and down a ladder way too much, it was pretty easy to get set up and working the way I wanted it to.
Cons: Haven't figured out how to get the HDMI output working yet. Still some troubleshooting to do there. The VGA output works fine for now, but the HDMI would let me remote the monitor from the NVR easier.
Other Thoughts: I pulled my own Cat.5 runs and connectorized them myself. The cables that come in the box are fine, but might not survive a harsh "pull through". It's a standard pinout on the RJ-45, just like any other LAN cable.

Keep in mind though, the Zmodo cameras only use four wires, so you won't be reusing the camera cables for any other applications.

The mouse that comes with the NVR is junk, but hey at least Zmodo included one. I had a spare wireless USB mouse and it works fine. Eventually, the NVR will get mounted out of sight. The wireless mouse makes it possible to control easily while still keeping the NVR concealed.
Reviewed By:Mike H,5/2/2015 4:30:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S-1TB 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera w/ 1TB HDD Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 everything is there to make it good, but its not
Pros: -Everything you need for an easy install
-Cameras are small and somewhat esthetically acceptable
-Cameras powered by the network cable, no need to supply electrical outlet at every viewpoint
-good basic kit for a home in a low risk neighbourhood, as making camera visible is a deterrent on its own (as long as they dont know all the trouble it is to actually access what ever was recorded or if the recording actually had visible images)
-enough cable length supplied to cover normal sized house from every corner
-Zmodo community forum can help you solve some minor issues
-Zmodo has some youtube video with good help to setup things like router programming.
Cons: -Mounting brackets are weak and screwing holes come in pre-stripped so get yourself some white electrical tape to secure them into position.
-Image quality gets terrible between total darkness or total brightness. (Dusk and dawn)
-Sometime the cameras get stuck into blurry grainy vision until next light level change (next day...)
-Archaic unfriendly UI from Zviewer is incomplete, some functions can only be accessed trough Internet explorer ONLY which will give you tons of error before you can actually get it to open. (you need to configure lots of things in internet options)
-playback on computer is not Hi-Res unless you figure out how to download from the internet explorer window as native Zviewer app will not let you download it
-Mobile app is terribly designed, lacks access to recording if you are away, virtually useless if you are not home. it will give you lots of "network error detected"
-Mobile app playback (when home) does not allow for fast reading, so you better know exactly when it happened if you want to review it or waste a day watching
-briefly put, you better hide the NVR so they don’t steal it, but you'll need quick and easy physical access to it to operate it and get videos out of it (and a monitor hooked to it)
-Movement alarm is either extremely paranoid or totally blind.
-Rebooting cameras to prevent them from crashing SHOULD NOT be done during nighttime because they wont come back on in night mode.
-No NVR access for linux users, even though the whole darn thing is probably programmed in linux
-ZMODO service is nonexistent, no reply to emails, no answer to the "live chat" fortunately they have a community forum.
-4 channels only, impossible to add cameras to the NVR
Other Thoughts: I wish I had not been so stressed because of the break-in that lead me to buying those and waited to have an extra 150$ and get the lorex 8 cam kit

worst of it is most issues (except for the brackets) could be fixed by minor firmware and software upgrade of all components. But Zmodo is so absent from the game, we do not know if any of this will ever be fixed
Reviewed By:Rick leRenard,5/1/2015 7:06:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV- KDV1404B6BP Complete 4 CH 960H Security DVR System w/ 500GB HDD Easy DIY 4 Infrared Surveillance Cameras

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent system, next to no docs, cameras are ok
Pros: Good value, but I guess you get what you pay for...
Cons: I'm not sure if I would buy this again. The documentation is a joke. The interface seems like it's capable of a lot, but there is literally, NO documentation for the GUIs. Taking one star away for that, and another star for lackluster camera performance.
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer,

Thank you very much for purcashing LaView products. Hard-copy quick start guide or quick start CD ususally comes in the box.

You can also download them from our offcial website ->support -> download center.

If you need additional documetations, our tech support team is more than happy to help. Our Technical Support team is available from 9 AM to 6 PM Pacific Standard Time PST, Monday through Friday. Please call our team at 626-289-4988 or email us at support@laviewusa.com.

Best,

LaView team

Reviewed By:N/A,4/29/2015 9:31:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Aposonic > Aposonic A-BR1B4-C250 4 Ch 960H Full D1 DVR + 4x 700TVL Bullet Cameras + 500GB pre-installed HDD with Mobile Access Surveillance Kit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 mixed bag
Pros: price
Cons: had to replace 2 of the 4 cameras in 2 years and the DVR seems to be of low quality, the picture cuts out several time / day, i.e. it says 'no connection', then magically re-appears for hours, then at some point will disappear again
Other Thoughts: good product when it works...which unfortunately has not been a consistent characteristic of my unit
Reviewed By:N/A,4/28/2015 9:02:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S-1TB 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera w/ 1TB HDD Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hard Drive Failur
Pros: I wrote a review after 1 month of ownership - all was good.
Cons: Now it's close to 3 month, and the Hard Drive has failed. I'm getting "No storage medium!" message, and all recording are gone. Rebooting the device does nothing.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Gregory,

Sorry to hear about the hard drive issues you are experiencing. If you can give us a call, our support will gladly work witih you try and get this issue resolved. Our support hours are 8am to 8pm CST and can be reached at 217-903-5037. We look forward to hearing from you so that we may work with you directly.

Best regards,
Zmodo Sales and Support

Reviewed By:N/A,4/27/2015 12:19:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KHI8-YARUZ4ZN-1T 8 Channel H.264, 960H DVR Security System w/ 1TB HDD and 4 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 false
Pros: arrived
Cons: does not have audio capability. Had to return it. Was a waste of my time and resources
Reviewed By:N/A,4/27/2015 11:32:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD5144B Cube Series 4 CH D1 Security DVR Cloud System w/ Easy DIY Four 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Laview Cube
Pros: OK cameras, OK night vision, cheap when on sale
Cons: Low resolution cameras but better then some entry level ones.
Other Thoughts: Bought this guy on a good sale becuase I'm getting tired of people coming into my yard and drive way to steal things and walk to the park 2 houses away.
Cameras have good daylight video, and OK night time mono video. Resolution could be better as it's hard to see face details or license plates but overall you can see fairly clearly what is going on and the latest versions of their software for windows and Android work well.
Was easy to instal a spare 400 gig drive I had and cameras were easy enough to run wires and install.
Plan to get some better resolution cameras for it someday and see how it does but a great starter setup for the money when on sale.
Reviewed By:Dartman,4/25/2015 12:01:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.