Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ 16 Channel 1080p Analog Security System with 3TB HDD, 8 Weatherproof 1080p Bullet Cameras and 8 Dome Cameras

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This was a great package deal
Pros: Having been a professional security technician for over 30 years, I'm speaking from experience. I've installed commercial grade analog HD CCTV systems that cost much more and have had less DVR features. Everything worked out of the box with no issues or failures. The fact that you can play back previously recorded remotely is the feature I use the most. I no longer have to be at the site to play back, that is wonderful. The camera image quality matches the same of those very expensive systems my company sells and I couldn't afford to purchase for my own house. The recorded events play back as clear as if you are watching it live. When you need to save something to a USB thumb drive, it is done so in MP4 format, no special software needs to be loaded to view a propriety video format. I have already recommended EZVIZ brand to others who need a quality recording at an affordable price.
Cons: I feel the cables provided could be a little better quality. When I use a commercial grade coaxial HD video cable tester I use to test existing cables on older composite video system we are upgrading, these cables fail the HD analog signal test. I had a cabling already in place for 8 camera system I replaced. The supplied cables did work OK when I connected a camera to the DVR although normally I do not use a cable that fails the HD video test professionally. I will use these supplied cables when I install the remaining 8 cameras to my system, this is for my house and I do not have to guarantee the integrity of the system I installed as I do in my profession.
Reviewed By:Edward K.,7/24/2016 8:52:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KHI8-YARUZ8ZN 8 Channel H.264, 960H DVR Security System with 8 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor quality, no customer service
Pros: Easy setup. Remote viewing app works good.
Cons: Cheap cameras, barely works at night outdoors. Sun has to be high in the sky to switch to daylight (color) viewing. Chain link fences cause chromatic distortions. DVR won't record properly and killed the WD purple 2TB drive. No technical support from Zmodo. RMA only. Which means uninstall all the cams and cables and return the whole kit just for a defective DVR.
Other Thoughts: I thought I had a cheap system already but the Zmodo makes it look like a first class unit. I cannot recommend this kit. Spend a little more money and get some quality.
Reviewed By:Fred W.,7/24/2016 4:49:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ 4 Channel 1080p Analog Security System with 1TB HDD and 4 Weatherproof 1080p Bullet Cameras

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: -Inexpensive
-Clear quality
-Not too hard to set up
-Night vision is pretty decent as well
Cons: -The software is a little something to be desired but after messing around with it for 30 minutes you get the hang of it.
Other Thoughts: First time buying security cameras and was unsure with which ones to buy, glad to have found these ones as they work perfectly for me, would recommend.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/22/2016 8:56:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KHI8-YARUZ8ZN 8 Channel H.264, 960H DVR Security System with 8 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not worth the cheap price
Pros: - Decent daylight camera resolution
- Mobile app pretty good
Cons: - Poor night resolution
- Reliability
- Setup can be a little difficult for people without networking experience
Other Thoughts: I was pretty happy with this when I first installed it. The cameras have a nice wide angle view and the color was pretty good. I have had this installed for three months and I have already lost channel #3 on the DVR and one camera has failed. I had a previous Zmodo system that was up and running for five years without much problems and decided to get this one for the better cameras and eight channels. Looks like I made a mistake.
Reviewed By:Michael S.,7/20/2016 10:06:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KDB8-CARQZ8ZN-1T 8 Channel H.264 DVR Kit (1TB HDD), 8 X 600TVL, 3.6mm Wide Angle Lens, 24 IR LEDs for 65ft Night Vision

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice System
Pros: Nice system, Works great... Play back and recording works very well. Can log into system with Cell Phone, super +....
Cons: 4 out of 8 cameras failed.... Contacted support... Sent me to another dept...Said they would contact me... Never did...
Had to buy the( ZMD-P4-YARUZ4ZN-N) 4 camera bundle to replace the failed cameras...They are white, do not match the black cameras that came w/ the system..Still have failed cameras..
The only reason why Im not giving the deserving 1 STAR, and still giving them 5 stars is because the system works great,and the mobile APP to log into the system via Andriod works great....
Other Thoughts: Would be nice if they replaced my failed cameras ! Purchased system on 4/16/15...
Reviewed By:James P.,7/19/2016 11:00:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ 4 Channel 1080p Analog Security System with 1TB HDD and 4 Weatherproof 1080p Bullet Cameras

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Limited configuration - Lack of P2P
Pros: Great quality cameras.
Easy to use once online.
Cons: Too simplified. In comparison to other security systems I've used it lacks higher level configuration settings.

No browser GUI? The only way to access the cameras is to use the HDMI out, or connect via internet or phone APP that must connect to EZVIZ server. Why not at least have a port 80 interface accessible to local LAN?

No P2P? Again you must connect via the EZVIZ servers, which quite frequently flake out temporarily/intermittently. This can be quite frustrating if you have just received an alert, but get camera failures due to EZVIZ server connectivity issues. P2P would be a nice addition so one could simply connect directly to the camera system via internet - thus eliminating third party server failure issues.

I chalk this up to learning experience. System MUST have P2P and preferably HTTP application to meet my level of remote security needs.
Other Thoughts: implement HTTP and P2P access.
Reviewed By:Benjamin R.,7/17/2016 11:29:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ 4 Channel 1080p Analog Security System with 1TB HDD and 4 Weatherproof 1080p Bullet Cameras

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Ezviz 4 Channel 1080p Camera, Good system for the price.
Pros: Initially was looking for a home security company to install an alarm system at my home. After researching various companies and pro & cons I decided it would be wiser for me to install my own. With a contract of typically 3+ years it would cost several thousand to complete the contract. With Apple coming with the Home kit for automation as well as Google the technology will some be available for the masses to not only control but also secure your home. I found the Ezviz and for the cost fits my needs. The cameras are good quality and the overall operation is stellar and also cost effective. As mentioned by some, my biggest concern was the ability to view remotely from my iphone, and ipad as stated on other sites,I can confirm the problem has been resolved. As one post stated, lay out and connect the system and operation of cameras and remote viewing.
Cons: - The software is lacking in capability, you can't have different setting for the camera for day and night. When on day you can adjust the cameras for a sharp picture, but at night it will be too dark or washed out and you have to adjust again. Also you can't adjust remotely from your phone, you must use the main system. Minimal adjust for picture correction.
- You can adjust the camera angle, but I would have like better articulation for camera mounting.
- The documentation is lacking, I initially was unable to get remote operation or log in. You set your password and the system will basically not accept the password and continue to ask for the password. My work around was to go to the phone and go to the internet setting and enter the password for your home wifi and then it will come up with a screen to scan a QR code and once scanned (from your monitor you will scan with your phone) it let me in. Some say enter the verification code on the bottom of the Ezviz main unit.
- Unable to find if an updated firmware is available, you can upgrade from the unit, but what am I upgrading.
- Last but not least, if you are a do-it yourself er, running the cables was the biggest pain, take time to plan each run and look for some short cuts to make snaking the cables easy as possible. Also before you mount, try to place temporarily to look to see if you got the best angle
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend purchase, cost effective peace of mind.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/14/2016 11:09:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZM-SS718 8 CH NVR + 8 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buyer beware - OK for price, but know what you are getting.
Pros: Very cheap. Blue Iris compatible via included (junk) NVR
iPhone app works fairly well
Cons: IP65 rating is bogus. I've lost 4 cameras due to moister.
Fake POE. This unit uses "sPOE" which is proprietary, so you can't ditch the included NVR.
Web viewing and configuration only works via Internet Explorer. Make sure you add the IP to trusted sites and enable all ActiveX.

Other Thoughts: 2 cameras failed during the first drizzle. 2 more failed when I sprayed off cob webs that were triggering the software motion sensors. IP65 means it is dust proof and and can sustain 3 minutes of direct water jets. Clearly not the case.
Reviewed By:Joel R.,7/14/2016 9:38:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZM-SS718 8 CH NVR + 8 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 So far so good - NO LONGER
Pros: Easy to install. Good image quality at a decent price. The 720 line cameras are better than the "TV" quality, but not nearly as expensive as the 1080p cameras.

Night vision is quite impressive.

This is my first go with a surveillance system and aside from climbing up and down a ladder way too much, it was pretty easy to get set up and working the way I wanted it to.
Cons: Updated July 11, 2016: E-mail notifications DO NOT work. Zmodo refuses to fix software issue that has been known since at least October 2015. Zero interest from Zmodo to correct problem. Cannot recommend any longer. Get something different.

Haven't figured out how to get the HDMI output working yet. Still some troubleshooting to do there. The VGA output works fine for now, but the HDMI would let me remote the monitor from the NVR easier.
Other Thoughts: Updated July 11, 2016: Check out the Zmodo community forums. The e-mail problem is widespread and known to hundreds of users - Zmodo totally uninterested in fixing. If you want push e-mail notifications, look elsewhere.

I pulled my own Cat.5 runs and connectorized them myself. The cables that come in the box are fine, but might not survive a harsh "pull through". It's a standard pinout on the RJ-45, just like any other LAN cable.

Keep in mind though, the Zmodo cameras only use four wires, so you won't be reusing the camera cables for any other applications.

The mouse that comes with the NVR is junk, but hey at least Zmodo included one. I had a spare wireless USB mouse and it works fine. Eventually, the NVR will get mounted out of sight. The wireless mouse makes it possible to control easily while still keeping the NVR concealed.
Reviewed By:Michael H.,7/11/2016 6:22:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > SHIELDeye > SHIELD Series RSCM-0704B042 - 4-Channel, H.264-Level DVR Surveillance Kit + Four 700TVL Cameras - Night Vision Up to 65 Feet, Remote Viewing Supported (HDD Not Included)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Quit working after barely 1 month
Pros: Good quality video for the price, at least for the 2 weeks it actually worked.
Fast shipping.
Cons: Out of box, the only issue I could find was it was unable to connect to the internet to setup cloud recording and remote view. Tried using known-working ethernet cables, different ports on switch, no luck on getting it online whatsoever after hours of troubleshooting. DHCP function wasn't working, neither was static IP, couldn't ping. Eventually logged into router and found out that the router wasn't even detecting the device so I determined that it had to be the port on the actual DVR. Still, I didn't want to go through the trouble of sending it back, so I decided to just deal with it. 2 weeks later, after all cameras have been setuo and recording just fine, not being messed with; one of them just quits. I try plugging the non-working camera into a different port on the back of the DVR, and bam! It works, so it's not the camera. The 4th port on the back of the DVR is out, so now I have 4 working cameras, but can only see through 3 of them at a time! But wait, give it another 2 weeks, and the 3rd port on the back goes bad! Again I hope it's just the camera, not the DVR, (The camera would be cheaper to replace) but sadly, it's the port! So now I have a DVR with 4 cameras, but can ONLY see through 2. Now my front door is fair game for anyone who wants to just walk right in! Thanks Shield!! I'm sure by the time I get home tonight, a 3rd port will be out; leaving me with 1 camera.. I can't believe they can sell a piece of garbage like this for $130+ ... I seriously might as well be throwing money out my window! I really thought I liked it when I first got it set up and was impressed by the "quality" but this is the last time I will be ordering from this company, for sure!
Other Thoughts: The instruction manual was for 3 different systems! Not just the one it came with, just a sign right there that they don't take pride in their products. And looking for help online? You might as well be looking for a cure for cancer, or building a time machine so you can go back in time and prevent yourself from buying this piece of junk, because you're not going to find any help anywhere.
I would absolutely NOT recommend this product, or even brand/manufacturer.
Reviewed By:Jareth N.,7/8/2016 6:59:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.