Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Recorders > Q-See > Q-See QT8216-2 2TB 16 Channel 720P & 1080P NVR

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not ONVIF compliant
Pros: -Packaged well
-Looks nice -- although your security DVR isn't really something you should want people looking at.
-Network setup is very simple
-Android app works well
-PC based remote monitoring works well
-Q-See provides a DNS redirect service that works with the DVR so you can remotely access it from your own unique subdomain.
-Has alarm/sensor inputs in addition to cameras.
-Stays very cool
Cons: The biggest con for this unit is that it does not support ONVIF compliant IP cameras as advertised.

Rather, I was given a list by Q-See customer support of cameras they do support:
http://qsee.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2233

So, the issue I ran into was that it would not record on motion sensing. Without that, this is a brick.

It does, however, connect and work with the cameras just fine. Which is very strange. My very limited understanding of how ONVIF works would tell me if it connects and displays the picture, motion sensing should work.

Some other annoyances:
-It has a buzzer that you can't shut off. If someone steals a camera - it starts beeping and won't stop until the camera is removed from the configuration. If someone is stealing my cameras, I do not want to tell them where to find the DVR!

-The interface is very clunky.
-You can not attach a keyboard, so you type with the mouse and on-screen keyboard.
-When you tell the DVR to shut down, it will not power off all of the way. A giant sticker on top says NEVER to power it off directly. But, there is no other way.
-Firmware updates are another example of the 'unpolished' work behind the curtain. In the firmware update I attempted - it showed that is was installing, then said it was rebooting, then went to a black screen and the fans never turned off or video come back on. So, I gave it overnight to see if magic would happen. Still a brick in the morning, I gave it a hard reset - despite the giant warning sticker... and it came back up and the firmware update was applied. A firmware update which fixed a lot of issues I was having -- actually. Initially, out of the box, the cameras connected and all was well but the main 'multi-view' screen would not show the camera pictures. Also, it would randomly drop the camera picture even if you were on the single view screen. After the update, many of those things work -- which makes me think this is just a very unpolished product.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line, I won't trust Q-See products again. If they don't support all ONVIF standards compliant cameras, they shouldn't be advertising that their products do.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/23/2015 4:27:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 It works...
Pros: Simple Setup...
Cons: Only works with d-link cameras
Requires Java to view
iPhone App only connects via their service (you can't point to your own static IP)
Other Thoughts: Generally it does what it should. But in the end, I think I'm going to DIY it with a RasberryPI. It supports 8 cameras with only 4 recording at ta time. Right now I can't figure out how to change around the 4 it's recording from.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/16/2015 11:34:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-322L Network Video Recorder

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quick install, useful features
Pros: Easy to install, just drop in two drives, hook up power and internet, easy to configure. Lots of options for video format, audio. Automatic search for existing cameras. Easy to create offline backups via ftp/http, although you need an existing ftp service (I use a NAS system which provides ftp). Viewing live and playback video is fairly easy, the playback interface has many useful options. The system is also available via D-Link's "mydlink" site, which allows control and monitoring from a remote site. For every page there is a "Helpful Hints..." section on the side which has a quick reference that I found pretty useful.
Cons: Setting up the ftp backup feature was a little messy, but most of the problem is making sure the ftp server itself is configured as the DNR-322L setup is actually pretty good. It doesn't remember the multiple camera video setup (you can set up a matrix of multiple cameras on the live video page).
Other Thoughts: As with any network device it is important to update the firmware immediately. In my case it addressed a problem with finding cameras on my network (which actually could have been due to something else).
Reviewed By:sanslos,4/12/2015 8:42:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl CS-SUNB-4GB 4GB Micro SD Card (Up to16GB) Covert Video Sunglasses

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I got them for free...
Pros: The idea that you can protect your eyes from the sun AND record while driving. Just wanted to play with them. Also, I won them at a work raffle. They were FREE.
Cons: They broke after one use. Drove to the store, recorded while listening to music. After uploading the video when I arrived at home, the video was "decent" for sunglasses with a camera, but the sound was horrid. After uploading the video, they never turned on again.
Other Thoughts: Camera is either crooked, or my head is. Video was skewed to the right and I'm pretty sure my noggin is on straight.

Sound was horrible. Sounded like I was in a paper bag.

I was really excited to win these, but seriously disappointed they broke so quickly. If they weren't free, I would make more of a fuss.
Reviewed By:Ohiowit,3/29/2015 10:00:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice products
Pros: Badge # AR004611was my tech support person and he walked me thru any issues i was having. Now all 6 cameras work fine as well as my DNR 202L RECORDER. Really like the Pan and Tilt camera. Would not recommend any camera without day and night vision, but i recommend the other dlink cameras and the recorder.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:Doe,3/4/2015 2:01:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > ACTi > ACTi ECD-1000 16 x BNC 16-Channel Megapixel H.264 Video Decoder

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great at what it does
Pros: Nice stand alone system in a box for decoding multiple H.264 IP Cameras.
PoE (802.af Stand A).
USB port for mouse/keyboard.
VESA compliant (100 mm, 75 mm).
Cons: There is no web interface for configuring cameras and layouts. The web interface is strictly for viewing the configured layout. To date, there is no firmware update to resolve this. This was the big reason to reduce 1 egg from the product. I feel that in today's standard for IP devices, this should be able to be configured from a web interface.

When using 16 channels, this device can only decode i-frames. This is normally not an issue since most devices can output iframes at almost real-time rates. This is going to be an issue for cheaper cameras that can only display iframes at a low rate.
Other Thoughts: As of 2 March 2015, this item is not advertised correctly. This is NOT a 16x BNC device. This device decodes IP H.264 streams and allows you to output to a single BNC or HDMI device.

Being PoE, you can run a single cable to the device for power and data. This saves time during installation and you will only have to manage the 1 wire. The device comes with a DC power transformer in case your setup does not allow for PoE.

I found that using this on a 32" HDTV (1080p) with the 9 camera (or lower) setup was very nice. This VESA mount has through holes, allowing you to mount the device to VESA device as will as a wall mount with no additional hardware.

This device is running Linux in the background, but you should never have to get into the OS to mess around.
Reviewed By:Rob M.,3/2/2015 6:04:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 DNR-202L
Pros: It took a couple of tech support tries to get it rolling but with help from a great tech specialist George (ID AR004206.), we got the unit and cameras working just great. Mac does have an issue with Java which we fixed with a workaround and George said that Dlink is working to rectify the problem quickly.
Cons: A bit complex for your non tech person to install. But overall quality and price and options very good.
Reviewed By:coastsound,2/1/2015 6:14:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Aposonic > Aposonic A-S1602R25 960H 16 x BNC 1 x 3.5" SATA HDD up to 4TB H.264 Video Compression Multiplex Standalone DVR with HDMI Output, Mac OS X App fully supported

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No Hdmi
Pros: None
Cons: I bought this standalone for my newly built home , I`d planned on installing it after my home was finish. I drive a semi for a living, so it hard to get things done. The build of my home started last summer and build was finish, in NOV 2014. now it is time to install all of the items I bought early to save money. One of them were the Aposonic A-S1602R25-960H Newegg claim that this DVR has a lot of features, the one feature I liked the most was that it had an HDMI outlet. Now it time to install my DVR, WOW it doesn`t even have an HDMI outlet. So I logged into my account to see what did I ordered. they are still selling and the spec are the Aposonic A-S1602R25 960H, has an HDMI outlet. well since my DVR was order 3yrs ago, I can`t return it , now I have to order another one, I`ve also visited Aposonic.com, and saw the same DVR Aposonic A-S1602R25 960H does have a HDMI outlet. This is the DVR I thought I was buying from Newegg. I was so wrong.........
Other Thoughts: When buying check it out well, don`t just look at the spec, check the photos if none don`t buy..........
Reviewed By:Zeke,1/20/2015 12:38:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl CS-Mini-DVR-4GB 4GB Micro SD Card (Up to 16GB) Mini Video DVR

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 newegg is off my list
Pros: The product works fairly well, as I have purchased one some time ago...but...I did not get the product I ordered.
Cons: Received only one when I ordered two and the packing list reads two, it was the wrong item, from some off brand company, that I am unable to find the manufacture on the box, and It is missing parts.
Other Thoughts: newegg will not back up my order.

I have purchased thousands' of dollars worth of products through newegg, throughout the years (recommended by an acquaintance) and was glued to their outstanding service.

No more. I do not like being ripped-off, let alone by a company I use to trust.
Manufacturer Response:Good Afternoon,
We apologize for the negative experience you have encountered with our product, please email rhernandez@nightowlsp.com so we can ship you any missing or incorrect components you have recieved. Thank you in advance and we look forward to rectifying this situation and maintaining you as a loyal Night Owl customer.

Reviewed By:N/A,1/2/2015 5:35:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 G-Link DNR-202L
Pros: Works fine,
Cons: Took one Star away cause i have to restart my phone app each time i want to replay a recording. firmware a little buggy.
Other Thoughts: Well i my change my mind on my Review time will only tell.
Reviewed By:Dan,12/31/2014 8:58:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.