Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > FlyLinkTech > Flylink SC13 Mini Hidden Pinhole Camera Spy Car Key Chain DVR Cam Video Camcorder

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Surprised at the quality of the video recording. Good bang for your buck.
Cons: Wish there was a zoom in and out, and date is wrong even when you correct but not really worried about it.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/17/2014 7:45:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > X10 USA > X10 Appliance Wall Switch (WS13A)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Replaced XPFM2 to control a Pool SAM light
Pros: Allows direct control of my SAM pool light. Great product that arrived earlier than expected.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: the contractor who built my pool years ago installed an XPS2 switch to operate the pump for the water falls, and an XPFM2 to control the SAM light (which was installed internal of the control box). My Intermatic control box can accommodate two wall switches and I never understood why the light did not have a direct switch (XPS3) since the XPFM2 requires a separate X10 controller to turn the light on and off. I now have more flexibility in turning on the pool light via the new XPS3 switch which has worked great.
Reviewed By:Steve,9/8/2014 9:33:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > Next Generation Home Products > IR to RF to IR Remote Control Range Extender Kit, 433 MHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great item. Works well with my Tivo Premiere
Pros: Works well with my Tivo to control it a room away (maybe 50'). Don't even need direct access as you could point it in any direction and it seems to work!
Cons: NONE
Reviewed By:LW,9/6/2014 11:02:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DCH-M225 Wi-Fi Audio Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good idea, needs polishing
Pros: - Obviously the ability to listen to music anywhere is paramount. Otherwise, why buy this? :)
- Easy setup, even in manual mode (see other thoughts below)
- Nice exterior design
- Easy to read/follow instructions
- Had success playing music via various DNLA methods as well as Apple Airplay. All in all everything worked fine for me. I know some have had issues with Android. The app that seemed to work well for me was Streambels AirPlay Chrome DLNA on the Google Play store. Has a nice interface too. Be sure you select the DNLA connection though as it shows multiple ways to connect to it. DNLA was the most stable.
Cons: I would have given this 3 1/2 eggs if I could have and here is why.

First and most importantly: why in the world can't I disable the wireless extender function? I have multiple access points in my house with everything fine tuned and I don't need nor want this function as it only creates extra congestion on the already congested 2.4 GHz band. This should be a no brainer. If someone from DLINK reads this, please consider making this an option. Leaving it on by default is fine for most I suppose, but for those of us who require this option, please give it to us.

Secondly, and this isn't just a complaint to DLINK but to all manufactures out there: please please PLEASE include 5 GHz radios in your products. The 2.4 is congested and slower than that 5 GHz band. I get that for compatibility 2.4 is desired because not all users will have 5 GHz, but if we are to all adopt 5 GHz as we should, we really need to start including it in more and more devices.
Other Thoughts: Ok so here's a bit of instruction for those of you who are complaining about wireless extender speeds. Since this is what I do for a living (IT and wireless deployments), let me impart some wisdom.

2.4 GHz speeds at 20 mhz widths which is the standard is 150 megabit, not 300 megabit. It is POSSIBLE to achieve 300 Megabit on 2.4 with 40 mhz wide channel selections, however due to 2.4 ghz congestion and interference 20 mhz widths or 150 megabit is 99.9% of the time more desirable.

Now that that's out of the way, and we understand that 150 megabit is really what the device is connecting at, here's another thing you should be aware of: when speeds are advertised, pay close attention to the fine print. Because of overhead, interference, and a lot of other technical reasons, wireless connections tend to only achieve about 33% or 1/3 of advertised speeds. That means that a 300 megabit connection maximum expected speeds should be around 100 megabit and 150 megabit connection maximum expected speeds should be about 50 megabit.

Now some of you may be saying, "well hey now, I'm not even getting THAT with my DLINK device on the extender speeds." That is true. So here's the last piece of the puzzle. When you "extend" a wireless signal your speeds will be cut in half. So that 50 megabit that we had before turns into 25 megabit now (sound about right for the speeds you are getting?). This goes for ANY device that extends wireless. This is because now your extender device has to connect to the primary router or a nearby access point and then repeat that signal for you. This creates double the wireless overhead/traffic load.

I hope all of this makes sense. Don't blame DLINK for the poor wireless throughput for extending wireless connections. It's just plain, old radio signal physics. :)

I hope you now realize why before I suggested to DLINK to allow that feature to be turned off. It's much more advantageous to purchase a separate access point or router that has an access point mode (Asus routers do this) and plug it into a dedicated line so you don't have signal degradation. Wireless extenders really should only be used as a last resort.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2014 9:34:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > Bose > Bose MIE2I mobile headset

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: This is my second set of these headphones and I will probably never use different brand. I absolutely love them! The only reason I had to get another pair is cause I lost the first ones. :( I will always recommend these to anyone. The ear pieces are soft and comfortable, the sound is pretty good, and they put up with more than 20 hours a week of use.
Cons: Slightly pricey but I've researched other headphones that were a lot more expensive and not as good.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2014 4:53:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > Platinum Tools > EZ-RJ45 Cat-6 Connectors & Strain Relief 30-Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like a champ
Pros: Installed fiber optic network at work and this works awesome! You must have the crimping tool as well, but you can strip, cut, and crimp. Now we are enjoying Gigabit speed with the hybrid fiber optics, and Cat-6.
Cons: no none
Other Thoughts: You must have the crimper part of the system.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2014 2:32:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DCH-M225 Wi-Fi Audio Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great ! D-Link Tech Support 5 Eggs
Pros: Small
Unobtrusive
Attractive
White NOT BLACK !!!!!
My wife thought it an air freshener
Toll Free tech support by great people
Default configuration data on unit
Wallet size configuration card

To save space in the other thoughts section I will write some here.

I was not able to use the audio extender feature of the M225. I have no doubt that it works but my tablet while some literature states it has DLNA, I wonder. I downloaded several apps and spent considerable time on the project. One needs powered speakers and a DLNA music app. I am disappointed that I could not make a go of it.

I was able to make the connection to my non-DLink router using the router's WPS button and following
the quick start prompts. It was as simple as pushing the router's WPS button then pushing the DCH-M225's
WPS button. The unit has a 3 color LED. Solid red while booting. Amber when not connected but
negotiating the connection and then Green for connected. The initial connection took only a couple minutes.

CONTINUED in OTHER THOUGHTS
Cons: Confirmed by tech support, Chrome incompatibility (at least on my rig).
Size of unit may block a wall outlet, dependent on what size plug you also want to plug in.
Unit's side WPS button. I pushed it several times while removing from outlet but it didn't seem to matter.
Only documentation included is the dreaded quick start guide. End user must download manual from website.
REALLY? Put a mini CD in the box...it would fit !
Other Thoughts: Where I ran into problems was using the web-based configuration utility in Chrome. The address provided
by DLink to log in is dlinkap.local. On initial login I was prompted to upgrade the firmware. After downloading and installing the update I again loaded dlinkap.local in Chrome.
I was not able to continue. I could not log in. No password is required. Chrome would take me nowhere.

DLink has toll free tech support. On my first call to support I talked with Carlos AR004279. He was patient
spoke and understood English quite well and as he told me was on the DCH-M225 dev team in some capacity the I can't
exactly recall. What is important, he knew the unit forward, backward, inside and out. After doing a reset (which must
be done while the unit is plugged in) we began to troubleshoot. Carlos suggested we try IE. Using IE I was able to log in. Carlos told me he was going to pass the Chrome issue along. Carlos suggested I stay online and we could do a few things. We set up my tablet then made sure I was indeed using the DCH-M225 as my connect point. Then Carlos suggested we might change the name and password for my convenience.
That was a nice touch...who wants to remember dfdfjjdfd-155sdaas if all you need to remember is dfd.

I had occasion to call tech support a second time and spoke with George (Jorge) AR0004202. My question was specific and George(Jorge) knew the answer. He was patient while I fumbled a bit.

There is a ton of bad tech support out there but I did not find any at D-Link Thanks Guys.

This unit is designed to do two things. First and foremost it is a WiFi extender. There are no dead spots in my home. I do have two areas with weak signal though. The library, uh hum,
and the upstairs. Once the DCH-M225 is set up it can be uplugged and placed anywhere without further configuration.
Upstairs while connected through the DCH-M225 I get a constant 300 Mbps with the unit only a few feet away. When
using my router signal the strength is variable from 90 Mbps to 160 Mbps. A marked improvement.

I spend a lot of time in my detached garage The WiFi out that far ~120 feet thru walls is to weak to be useful.
So if I have an internet question while working on a project
I have to come inside. Not easy when dirty. I plugged the DCH-M225 into the garage outlet. It did negotiate
the connection but lost it after a few seconds. To far, too many obstacles. If I had let it go at that ? But I didn't.
I plugged it into the upstairs bedroom; closer with fewer signal obstacles and was very happy to get 45 Mbps on my laptop
and 13 Mbps on my tablet. The word is experiment.

The DCH-M225 is a great product backed by 1st class support. I recommend it without reservation.
Reviewed By:Ahumado,8/15/2014 6:24:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > ON-Q LEGRAND > On-Q/Legrand 802.11n Wireless Access Point (DA1101)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Quality
Pros: When it works it works well.
Cons: I have owned this product for 9 months, but only had it installed for 6 months. During that 6 months it has malfunctioned and has needed replacement TWICE. I can understand the first time, perhaps I got a lemon, but twice in 6 months? For the kind of money I paid for this I expected higher quality.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/9/2014 7:21:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DCH-M225 Wi-Fi Audio Extender

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Sort of works…
Pros: Very good sound quality. Easy to set up. Will indeed stream MP3s from your phone to a remote speaker.
Cons: For years I've wished for a way to control a whole-home sound system from any room, and I thought this was finally it. Real close, but not quite. I did learn that DLNA is a good way to spend many hours of your life fruitlessly. Dozens of programs and apps, most of which don't seem to work. This is probably an area where the Apple ecosystem shines (perhaps that's why this device is shiny white), though I wasn't able to test this. But in the android and PC world, incompatibility and frustration abounds.

Theoretically, DLNA should allow me to control a music player on my PC with an android app, and stream the music to the D-Link DCH-M225, but it just wouldn't work. I finally called D-Link tech support, and after being switched between three departments, finally their crack team of "new product" specialists informed me that this device can't do that. In fact, it turns out they were wrong, and I eventually was able to stream music from my PC using either Windows Media Player or MediaMonkey – with one problem. DLNA can only play a file, not a folder, so you must direct it to a playlist. Except that DLNA can't handle a playlist with more than 200 to 300 songs. So if you want to play your entire library, sorry.

So the closest I came to my dream system was to load up my phone with as much music as it can hold, and stream from it. This isn't ideal – the phone only holds 32 gigs, and streaming music over Wi-Fi will quickly exhaust the battery – but hey, there was some success.

Another reviewer seemed to be able to use the M225 to stream Internet radio, but I have no idea how.
Other Thoughts: There are other ways to approach this problem – various apps that can move music between smart phones and PCs in various ways. For me, the M225 offered no real advantage to these other (often free) solutions. And as has been noted, it's abilities as a Wi-Fi extender are limited at best.
Reviewed By:electronman,8/6/2014 12:23:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sensor & Accessories > D-Link > D-Link DCH-M225 Wi-Fi Audio Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 All in one box, wifi extender plus music e
Pros: Compatibility with my Samsung Galaxy Note 3 and other android phones.
Easy to configure right out of the box
Software is easy to use
User interface (web) is simple and NOT too complex
Small and compact form factor
Quality material / plastic construction
Fits right onto the wall plug
It remembers my wifi signal and password even after unplugging it over and over again.
Pricing not too steep for this type of device
I like that it has a 3.5" mm headphone jack so I could plug into speakers.
Audio quality was good, I didn't feel like it lost any sound quality at all.
Cons: I wish it had a small USB port to charge my MP3 player. I had an older SanDisk MP3 player laying around, which I used to test, and the SanDisk has a USB head for charging and playing rather than using all WiFi only devices.

Although it's great for streaming music wirelessly, the WiFi extension part of it was a little lacking. Some times, when I connected onto the D-Link WiFi extender, my signal was less than when it connected directly into my router...and I had the plug right next to my computer.

When connected to the D-Link WiFi extender, I had a hard time connecting to my NAS and playing HD movies. I was able to do music fine but HD content was stuttering.

Just like some other bluetooth speakers out there; there is a 1 second lag between where the music is played on my phone (or PC) and what is being heard from my speakers.
Other Thoughts: After getting the D-Link extender all set up with my wifi, these were the setups that I had tested.

The first setup was simple: play music from my Samsung Galaxy Note 3 while having the D-Link extender hooked up to my older receiver (Sony 5.1 Stereo receiver). This worked out really well. No flaws at all and no stuttering.

The second setup was very similar, except that playing the music was from my laptop instead of my Galaxy Note 3...this setup was also flawless since everything was on the same network.

Of course, if you had other smaller speaker setups, you could plug that instead of plugging it onto a big receiver like I did...

After those setups, I have to say that I love this D-Link extender...as a music extender to my receiver...as for the WiFi extending capabilities, I think there's more work that can be done there from D-Link. It was more of a miss than a hit for the WiFi extending capabilities. I have a lot of devices connected to my network (11 devices) and that may be one of the issues, but who knows?

As for my recommendation: if you need a great performing music extender, this one is for you. I would highly recommend it.

It is high quality, small and compact, it remembers the wifi password without having to re-enter it every time you unplug it and the quality is loss-less.

If you want a wifi extender, it works but doesn't justify the pricing for it. I find that the wifi extending capabilities are another "perk" you get for getting a music extender.
Reviewed By:AlphaSludge,8/5/2014 2:59:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau