Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Foscam > Foscam C1 Indoor HD 720P Wireless Plug and Play IP Camera, with IR-Cut, Night Vision, 115 degree Super Wide Viewing Angle, PIR Detection, Rich Media Message Push (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Trying to add more security to home!
Pros: Easy software on windows 7 or android (not 10). Typical setups. FTP is great on my local storage. Camera needs some light to see distances at night. A lot of setting and cloud.
Cons: Outdated security implementation makes my computer rejecting camera IP connection. Norton sees ocxIPcam Control plugin not trusted and deletes it. Camera runs hot!!!
Other Thoughts: Most sensors degrade over time. My cheap dash cam lasted for 3 years in the sun of NM, so I hope this will last ... 3 years+.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/15/2017 5:18:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 130 Degree View, Night Vision, Works with Alexa using IFTTT (Special Offer 12 Month Cloud Storage w/ 7 day Playback)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Little Camera
Pros: Not bad video, better than most CCTVs, easy to use, easy to setup. Small and compact design. I love the magnetic base and included metal plate. That really opens up where you can install it. Awful blue light can be turned off, IR can be turned off too, for discrete recording. (Wouldn’t recommend in pitch black room or you won’t see nothing.) I love the pinch zoom, and can only imagine one of their newer models that would have a zoom lens to really open up this feature! The night vision is great other than the IR lights needing to be on to take full advantage of it.

Didn’t take too much effort to setup on iPad. Was much quicker on iPod touch. Had to enter security code on back of camera as the video is encrypted! What a fantastic way to curb the perverts who drive around looking to peek in on unsecure cameras!

At home, I use my iPad to view the camera and at work I can check in on my iPod! It is fantastic how easy it was to get going! (Once I got past the not finding the software on iPad at first!) This does a fantastic job as a security camera and a room monitor! A parent’s best friend to end those “He said/she said” sibling rivalries. A great device to help kids/people take ownership of their actions!
Cons: iPad users will need to select iPhone to even see the app to download. Works well with iPad once you figure it out. Pulling down on image refreshed the image and you think HORRIBLE! Tap the image brings you to the live feed. Much better! Slight delay of maybe 3 seconds, but it will certainly show you who is in the room. Could use more information in the instructions. USB cord is a bit on the short side. Lucky I had a few extenders available.


You can disable the IR light if you want the camera to remain hidden. A good feature if you have other ambient lighting in the room that can help you to see or if you no longer have the cloud subscription and you worry a crook would just take off with the camera if he finds it. The image if horrible without the IR in a completely dark room. You should play with the feature and see the red IR lights to determine how this will work for you in your environment. (Tip: If you have more than one of these, the IR will work from one camera to provide the visual details for another. Thus you may trick an unwanted visitor into taking the camera they see, but the camera they don’t will have their act recorded. (Or you subscribe to that cloud service once your year trial runs out!)
Other Thoughts: I’ve tried many different security cameras and I am familiar with the lack of quality you find in them. If you don’t know the person on the screen, chances are you won’t be able to identify them. Lucky for us, times are changing. There is still a lot of work for outside cameras, but we should be good to go with indoor ones. You can spend twenty times or more on a higher end security camera, but if you just want to monitor a room without presenting the video to a jury, this should be just fine for you! Small note, I set it up with no problem with the Comcast hardware and high speed internet.
Reviewed By:Kenith H.,1/15/2017 12:15:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Husky HD 1080p Outdoor Wi-Fi or PoE Video Security Bullet Camera, 16GB MicroSD, Works with Alexa using IFTTT

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not buy
Pros: The camera's specs seem good.
Cons: Here are your options for using this device:

- Proprietary, cloud-based, pay-to-access website,
- nothing else,
- really, nothing else,
- you have no other way of using this device,
- no, that's not even a joke,
- just stop reading reviews and buy something else.

And it's not even a very good cloud website.

Don't go reading the specs wondering "is this what I need or not?" It's not.

f you are an average Joe who doesn't care either way, you're still better off with something that supports open standards (or at least some standards) that allow local recording, non-cloud viewing, etc. And if you're not an average Joe, you will have no use for this thing because you need it to fit in a reasonable security setup, which this will not do.
Other Thoughts: I'm sorry, it's 2017. You can't put out a camera for $100+ and not support open standards for people to use with their existing systems, to store locally, to store to a network PC or drive, etc. Totally unacceptable. Period. Would give 0 stars if possible.

I give honest, mostly positive reviews, and I've always given manufacturers the benefit of the doubt, but giving this thing a try and keeping an open mind just made me feel like I'd been duped. This is the first negative review I've given as an EggXpert reviewer, and I'm -- frankly -- pretty disappointed in everyone. The manufacturer for (see above), Newegg for selling this type of junk, and me for agreeing to review it. Maybe it's better that experts are weighing in (and not too positively) to steer people away, but everyone still comes away from this expert-review-process feeling bad.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/13/2017 1:18:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Foscam > Foscam R2B Indoor 1080P FHD Wireless Plug and Play IP Camera with Night Vision Up to 24 ft, Wide 110 degree Viewing Angle, Motion Detection, with Cloud & Local SD Card Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good Video with a Hidden Undocumented Flaw
Pros: Good video quality. Easy to set up and configure. The browser plugin gives you a lot of administrative control over the camera and its network and storage options.
Cons: I bought two of these cameras. I choose Foscam because of the SD storage option. I bought SanDisk UltraPlus microSD 64GB cards to use with them. However, no matter what I did the cameras would not recognize the presence of a card in the slot. I've spent the better part of a week corresponding with upper tier Foscam support only to be told that the R2 only supports SDHC format. No where on the Newegg site, or the Foscam site, or the "installation guide" in the box is it specified that there is any restriction regarding the format of the microSD card being used.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product to anyone unless the limitations regarding local SD storage is explicitly stated in the features grid.
Reviewed By:Jack S.,1/12/2017 7:58:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Husky HD 1080p Outdoor Wi-Fi or PoE Video Security Bullet Camera, 16GB MicroSD, Works with Alexa using IFTTT

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 optical image
Pros: Hooked this up over my garage powering it with a POE injector via ethernet cable. Camera provides a great wide angle image, rain or shine. Very clear at night. The recent rain in my neighborhood gave it no problems.

Love the EZVIZ brand. Solid camera technology, fair price points and easy to set up and access via APP or web interface.
Cons: Needs a subscription service but I think it's worthwhile only $10.99 a month for seamless cloud storage.
Other Thoughts: would like to buy more of these cameras and an EZVIZ dvr for monitoring and security.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/10/2017 12:19:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 130 Degree View, Night Vision, Works with Alexa using IFTTT (Special Offer 12 Month Cloud Storage w/ 7 day Playback)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice, Inexpensive WiFI Security Camera
Pros: -Inexpensive compared to other brands
-Good quality HD video and audio for a tiny camera
-Loads videos really fast (almost instantly) even when using cell phone internet service. (you know who is at the front door right away without having to wait for the app to load the image)
-Easy to set up and connect to home WiFi (using their app and following instructions)
-Notifications can be put on a schedule: days and times. (ie. only send alerts friday and saturdays between 1am-3am..,etc)
-Remote monitoring. Watch live or recorded video over the internet (when you are not connected to home network)
-AC power ( no expensive batteries)
-Save to a memory card so you dont have to use the cloud service (I purchased item # N82E16820301310)
Cons: -Must use EZVIZ App to set it up and use. (iPhone or Android)
-Someone can just steal or destroy the camera and you lost your evidence if you dont use the Cloud
-Cant access the device using a webrowser. -- at least I couldnt connect with Chrome, IE11, and MS Edge
-ezvizlife.com does not have a forums or online community on its website
-Device is not discoverable or able to connect over a home network. Cant backup the memory card over the network.
Other Thoughts: Suggestions:
1. EZVIZ should improve their website and offer a way to connect using a popular web browser.
2. Create online forums for troubleshooting and build up a loyal community fanbase.
3. Allow network file system access to the device to backup and manage the information on the internal memory card.

The hardware is there, the software just needs a few improvements before I would consider this a 5-star product. But if you are looking for a security camera that lets you watch live and recorded video over the internet then this is a great buy.
Reviewed By:Chris B.,1/9/2017 6:45:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Uniden > Uniden APPCAM25HD Video Surveillance Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 it works but not happy with it
Pros: motion Notifications on you mobile device works good.
Cons: Over priced for what you get.
Can only be managed with the Android, or apple app. (cant view on standard camera management software)
Live view in 720P but only records in 640X480 <--- Really!!! that is the most impotent part of a security camera, (record in High res for a clear image)
Records locally on to a micro SD card, and can only be downloaded to a mobile device. (cant auto upload to server) (if someone takes the camera they have the video of them taking it on the camera not you)
Other Thoughts: I Do not recommend this camera, it is way overpriced for what it can do.
Reviewed By:Richard K.,1/7/2017 5:04:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > HIKVISION > HIKVISION DS-2CD2032-I, 3 MP IR Mini Bullet Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best bang for your buck
Pros: - Video quality is top notch for a 3MP camera
- Compact design
- Easy to install
- IR is excellent at night but EXIR bullet model has better night vision range but is a bigger camera
- Software rich features (iVMS-4200) and mobile (iVMS-4500)
- Can be installed anywhere: under eaves, side wall.
- Lens is protected by top visor which helps during rainy days if exposed to the elements but if it ever rains sideways due to heavy winds, then you are out of luck :) visibility can be diminished just like any other camera, i.e. dome.
Cons: No cons for now
Other Thoughts: I did buy this camera from another vendor but just wanted to help out potential neweggers looking for a surveillance camera. Dahua makes goods cameras as well but I prefer Hikvision for product support on their website and firmware updates. I know a lot of these Hikvision cameras are not firmware upgrade friendly but I have discovered others who were successful at upgrading the cameras firmware, it's possible but be careful as you can brick the camera. I also have another Hikvision varifocal 3MP dome camera and it has performed super great for the last 3 years. Champagne quality on a beer budget...you can't go wrong.

Also, you'll have to play with the software configuration features to get the camera to your liking, however the default features do a good job as well.
Reviewed By:Tony G.,1/6/2017 7:06:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini Plus HD 1080p WiFi Home Security Camera with 16GB microSD Card, Motion Detection, 135 degree View, Night Vision, 2 Way Audio, Works with Alexa using IFTTT (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Camera
Pros: Easiest setup to date, Appstore or Google play either one works. It recognized the camera in a minute. The longest part of the setup is unwrapping it. Great picture at 1080p, small size can fit anywhere. I set it up to look outside through a window, keeping tabs on who comes to my door. I've had several brands over the years and this one is the best so far. The tech just gets better and better each year. Throw your old ones away and get this one, you will love it.
Cons: No cons, it's an affordable camera for surveillance at home.
Other Thoughts: I would dedicate a PC with a few of these in any home.
Reviewed By:Peter V.,1/5/2017 3:33:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini Plus HD 1080p WiFi Home Security Camera with 16GB microSD Card, Motion Detection, 135 degree View, Night Vision, 2 Way Audio, Works with Alexa using IFTTT (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty Solid Camera with Some Flaws
Pros: This is the second small, cheap wi-fi camera I have used and coming into this, my hopes were pretty low - the last one was woefully bad, both in software and physical hardware.

However, this camera has pleasantly surprised me. I'm still not a fan of proprietary apps and such, but the EZVIZ app is pretty easy to set up and use. The instructions for pairing the camera to your network were pretty straightforward and the camera connected on the first try.

Video quality is actually pretty good! I assumed I would always want it on 1080p, but having it mounted right at the front door to my house I found that the middle quality setting was adequate for my needs (and will surely provide more recording time on the storage card). Speaking of which, this unit does come with a built in 16 gb memory card! The field of view is fairly wide, too, meaning that you can get a pretty solid view of an entire room.

The mounting system, while not particularly robust, is creative and convenient. You simply fasten the metal baseplate to a surface using the including screws, then stick the camera to it - the magnetic base in the camera has a pretty strong grip on the plate. This allows minor adjustments if you don't quite get the plate installed perfectly straight.

The motion detection seems to work pretty well, though the sensitivity adjustment could use some tweaking. I can't quite seem to pinpoint the protocol for how long it records after detecting motion; sometimes its only 15 or 20 seconds, others its a minute (or more).

The device also comes with a 10' long micro-usb power cord; I'm sure if you wanted you could find an even longer micro usb cord to use.
Cons: Like I said, I'm not a fan of every Dic and Jane requiring you to use their specific app, especially when the camera will not record to a network drive - you are limited to the memory installed on the camera or paying what I assume is a ridiculous amount for EZVIZ server space. For me, not a deal breaker, but if I was setting up a whole home security system rather than just one unit, it definitely would be.

While the app is easy to use, it is pretty basic. It allows you to change some settings on the camera, view recordings, and stream live. However, it is often hesitant to rotate on my phone screen, and will refuse to stream (recorded or live) about 20% of the time, requiring me to close and reopen the app. It supports push notifications, but you can't clear them on your phone without actually opening the notification (maybe that's just me, though?) Also, when viewing video (live or recorded), there are buttons to take a snapshot or download the video to your phone, neither of which work.

You can adjust the sensitivity of the motion detection, though your choices are somewhere between "think I saw a fly" and "nah, that guy isn't important". I am on the second less sensitive setting now and it positively notifies me of the mailman stopping by, the garage door opening, and the front door opening (all clearly in the middle of the frame), but also picks up on a car driving by 100 feet away in the very top corner of view...which of course results in a notification I can't clear without opening it. It reliably does this 2-3 times every day. I can't say how many cars go by, but I am in a relatively quiet residential neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: I haven't bothered with the audio since I don't really care to use it (I don't need to hear my cat meowing when I'm not home). I appreciate the long power cord, but I wish the device supported PoE so I could just run some Cat6 to it and have a more stable connection and not have to worry about using extension cords.

I cannot comment on the night vision capabilities of the camera as my driveway is fairly well lit up at night.

As long as you are okay with placing the camera near an outlet and only being able to save the video to the camera without paying, I think this is actually a great unit.
Reviewed By:Dean M.,1/5/2017 2:55:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.